The Story of Arthur Truluv
A beautiful, life-affirming novel about a remarkably loving man who creates for himself and others second chances at happiness.A moving novel about three people who find their way back from loss and loneliness to a different kind of happiness. Arthur, a widow, meets Maddy, a troubled teenage girl who is avoiding school by hiding out at the cemetery, where Arthur goes every day for lunch to have imaginary conversations with his late wife, and think about the lives of others. The two strike up a friendship that draws them out of isolation. Maddy gives Arthur the name Truluv, for his loving and positive responses to every outrageous thing she says or does. With Arthur’s nosy neighbor Lucille, they create a loving and unconventional family, proving that life’s most precious moments are sweeter when shared.

The Story of Arthur Truluv Details

TitleThe Story of Arthur Truluv
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherRandom House
ISBN1400069904
ISBN-139781400069903
Number of pages240 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Adult Fiction, Adult

The Story of Arthur Truluv Review

  • Diane S ☔
    April 10, 2017
    3.5 It is hard not to absolutely adore Arthur, an 82 year old gentlemen. He misses his wife terribly, she passed on the year before ands everyday he goes to the cemetery, taking his lunch and lawn chair, to spend time by her grave. This is where he meets Maddy, 17, doesn't seem to fit in anywhere, not at home where it is just her and her father and certainly not at school. Lillian, is Arthur's elderly next door neighbor, she bakes the most amazing things, but is lonely. These three people will c 3.5 It is hard not to absolutely adore Arthur, an 82 year old gentlemen. He misses his wife terribly, she passed on the year before ands everyday he goes to the cemetery, taking his lunch and lawn chair, to spend time by her grave. This is where he meets Maddy, 17, doesn't seem to fit in anywhere, not at home where it is just her and her father and certainly not at school. Lillian, is Arthur's elderly next door neighbor, she bakes the most amazing things, but is lonely. These three people will come to play important roles in each others lives.This is a sentimental read, a sweet and simply told story. Underneath though are some important themes, the loneliness of the elderly, the importance of family, the one you make, and the one you were born into, the desperation of those who feel that they do not fit in anywhere, and friendship, how extending friendship even those with a huge generation gap, can make a huge difference. This is one of those feel good books, their is no great depth of characterization because there isn't meant to be, this is just centered on a certain spate of time and how it changed everything and those involved. One of those books that we all sometimes need. One where you finish and just think awwwwww, in joy and sadness.ARC from Publisher.Published July 25th by Random House.
    more
  • Karen
    June 6, 2017
    There are three people who this story is about.Arthur Moses (Truluv), a sweet widower, 85 yrs old.Maddy, a 17 yr old senior in high school, lost her mother to a car accident shortly after her birth, very unpopular at school, a loner.Lucille, an elderly neighbor of Arthur's that has never been married and is quite boisterous and a great baker.Sad circumstances bring these three lonely people together and it's a beautiful story! Thank you to Random House and NetGalley for the ARC!
    more
  • Angela M
    April 19, 2017
    It's sweet, predictably sad yet uplifting , maybe a little sappy , and I loved reading it ! Nothing earth shattering happens except in the small world of eighty five year Arthur who has lost his wife and seventeen year old Maddy who lost her mother at birth and loses her father to his grief. They meet at the cemetery where Arthur visits his wife's grave every day toting his lawn chair and lunch and talking to his beloved Nola. Maddy goes there to escape the kids from school who hate her and to s It's sweet, predictably sad yet uplifting , maybe a little sappy , and I loved reading it ! Nothing earth shattering happens except in the small world of eighty five year Arthur who has lost his wife and seventeen year old Maddy who lost her mother at birth and loses her father to his grief. They meet at the cemetery where Arthur visits his wife's grave every day toting his lawn chair and lunch and talking to his beloved Nola. Maddy goes there to escape the kids from school who hate her and to suffer in silence from the years her father pretty much ignored as he just can't seem to communicate with her. She reminds him too much of her mother. There's the kind, bossy neighbor Lucille also lonely, who rounds out this unlikely trio who become an odd family as they help each other dissipate the loneliness that has engulfed them . It a short book so not much more to say except that this is a lovely, touching (cliche I know) story. Good for the soul. I received an advanced copy of this book from Random House Publishing Group - Random House through NetGalley.
    more
  • Abby
    April 27, 2017
    This book makes overtures to the popular A Man Called Ove-- complete with childless widower, cat annoyance, bossy neighbor, and bittersweet life lessons learned all around-- but with a mere fraction of the charm.Arthur Moses visits his wife's grave every day. He doesn't have much human contact outside of his neighbor, Lucille, who is a general irritation to him even if she does bake amazing cookies. Every day at the graveyard, he is surrounded by the stories of the deceased to keep him company. This book makes overtures to the popular A Man Called Ove-- complete with childless widower, cat annoyance, bossy neighbor, and bittersweet life lessons learned all around-- but with a mere fraction of the charm.Arthur Moses visits his wife's grave every day. He doesn't have much human contact outside of his neighbor, Lucille, who is a general irritation to him even if she does bake amazing cookies. Every day at the graveyard, he is surrounded by the stories of the deceased to keep him company. Then he notices the teen girl who hangs around the cemetery sometimes. She'd be a very pretty girl if not for that nose ring.For whatever reason, life has deemed it appropriate to give Maddy Harris a raw deal. When she was a baby, her mother died in a car accident, and her father never got over it. In his grief over his lost wife, he barely notices that Maddy is still alive. The kids at school treat her like an outcast, and Maddy has never been able to figure out why they hate her so much. Her first boyfriend is a total jerk to her. And then she gets pregnant in the most medically improbable (impossible?) manner, a situation which more or less leaves her homeless.Lucille is in her eighties, and, at long last, her first love has come back to her. She's been alone for a long time, but there's still time for a second act. She finally sees the appeal of living into her nineties. But then a tragedy strikes and sets Lucille adrift.This book is about Arthur, Maddy, and Lucille slowly finding each other and forging an unlikely friendship. I suppose it's meant feel heartwarming, but it didn't work for me. I didn't connected with the author's writing style at all. There's lots of words in itallics and lots of exclamation points! I feel like readers can be trusted to place the proper emphasis on words without such copious help. Secondary characters are two dimensional, like Maddy's father and her boyfriend, both of whom serve no purpose beyond making readers feel sympathy for Maddy. In lieu of well-developed characters, this book takes the easy road to jerk tears from readers: birth and death. At 240 pages, this slim volume felt a lot longer.I received an ARC of this book courtesy of the publisher and NetGalley.
    more
  • ☮Karen
    April 4, 2017
    Some of my greatest reading pleasures have come from Elizabeth Berg, so I was very happy to receive an uncorrected proof on Kindle of her latest offering from NetGalley and Random House. Now that I've finished, I wish I had the actual book so I could give it a big bear hug. I've never hugged my tablet before, but I guess I could start now....No, it's just not the same but will suffice for now.There seems to be a trend, as the population ages, for books about old folks, and I found myself compari Some of my greatest reading pleasures have come from Elizabeth Berg, so I was very happy to receive an uncorrected proof on Kindle of her latest offering from NetGalley and Random House. Now that I've finished, I wish I had the actual book so I could give it a big bear hug. I've never hugged my tablet before, but I guess I could start now....No, it's just not the same but will suffice for now.There seems to be a trend, as the population ages, for books about old folks, and I found myself comparing Arthur to A Man Called Ove, and Lucille's situation to that in Our Souls at Night. But let me be clear -- this book is not a knock off. Ms. Berg's characters and story are not only original, but unique, loving, and expertly crafted from her heart and soul. I loved Ove, but Arthur is not the cantankerous geezer Ove was. Arthur is his own person, a man grieving and remembering his deceased wife by visiting her grave every day, but also a man who still loves living. He honors Nora and their memories, and has no one now but his neighbor, Lucille. At the cemetery, he meets a troubled teen named Maddy and their friendship transforms both of their lives.This book has charm, warmth, and will bring back all the good memories of parents and grandparents now passed. Home cooking, rose gardens, and family -- the one you were born to or the one you make.It will tug at your heartstrings.
    more
  • Sharon Metcalf
    April 21, 2017
    3.5 stars This was a lovely short read which I happily devoured in one session.    It was a touching account of octagenarian Arthur and the life he created for himself in the  months after his dearly beloved wife Nola passed away.      It was also the story of teenaged Maddy who had lived a lonesome and somewhat unhappy life with her single father,  and for reasons unknown had become victim to the school bullies .   And there was Lilian, Arthurs neighbour, terrific baker, a bit bossy but good at 3.5 stars This was a lovely short read which I happily devoured in one session.    It was a touching account of octagenarian Arthur and the life he created for himself in the  months after his dearly beloved wife Nola passed away.      It was also the story of teenaged Maddy who had lived a lonesome and somewhat unhappy life with her single father,  and for reasons unknown had become victim to the school bullies .   And there was Lilian, Arthurs neighbour, terrific baker, a bit bossy but good at heart and lonesome.   Arthur and Maddy initially met at the local cemetary.       Each day Arthur ate lunch at his wifes grave whilst Maddy found peace there, escaping the torture of lunches at school.      An unlikely friendship develops between them and despite their many differences they fill needs in each other.There was alot to like about this book and Elizabeth Bergs characters were delightful.   Arthur was not your typical grumpy old man.   Instead he was patient, understanding of generational differences, considerate and thoroughly supportive towards Maddy and Lilian.      Which is not to say he was a saint.    He had a cheeky sense of humour and we were privy to some internal dialogue that he was far too polite to express out loud.  Early on he reflected, and perhaps regretted,  that he had not been spontaneous enough throughout his life with Nola.  From the behaviours we witessed he was either judging himself harshly or he had made major changes in that respect.  To me he was spontaneity personified - but definitely in a good way.      I loved the way Berg delivered some weighty messages within this sweet story. I'm always happy when I like the main characters and when the story is ultimately uplifting.    When that book also extracts from me a few laughs and a couple of tears it's a winner. This one ticked all those boxes.Thanks to Elizabeth Berg, Random House and NetGalley for the free advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Toni
    March 29, 2017
    Well, Elizabeth Berg, you"re back with a hit! Arthur (Truluv) Moses and his great story in the winter of his life brings the Spring into mine! Wonderful, enchanting characters that lift from the page and move into your heart. Even boisterous Lucille, slightly loud, a mean baker, and energy for three people. Maddy, lovely, young and lonely, she lost her Mom two weeks after she was born, and her father doesn't quite know how to raise a girl, let alone a young woman. And finally Arthur, lost his lo Well, Elizabeth Berg, you"re back with a hit! Arthur (Truluv) Moses and his great story in the winter of his life brings the Spring into mine! Wonderful, enchanting characters that lift from the page and move into your heart. Even boisterous Lucille, slightly loud, a mean baker, and energy for three people. Maddy, lovely, young and lonely, she lost her Mom two weeks after she was born, and her father doesn't quite know how to raise a girl, let alone a young woman. And finally Arthur, lost his lovely Nola just six months ago, but he still has lunch with her every single day. He takes the bus to the cemetery with his fold-up chair, his brown-bag lunch, and spends a delighted hour at Nola's grave-site. And he's happy to do it; it's the highlight of his day. Now, the story for you dear reader, is to discover how these three people meet, what really brings them together, and no, not the obvious (loneliness), well a tad, but way more than that.They become entwined with each other in fun and very caring ways. I can't tell you more because I'll give it all away! I definitely recommend this book.Thank you Netgalley and the Publisher, and Elizabeth Berg!
    more
  • Sam Sattler
    April 17, 2017
    Arthur, a man in his mid-eighties, has lunch with his wife Nola every day of the week. No big deal, you are probably thinking. Where else is a man of that age more likely to have lunch than at home with his wife? In Arthur’s case, it’s not quite that simple. Nola, you see, is dead, so Arthur brings his lunch and a little folding chair to the cemetery every noontime so that he can talk to Nola while eating. Some would say that Arthur is pretty obviously ready to cash in his own chips so that he a Arthur, a man in his mid-eighties, has lunch with his wife Nola every day of the week. No big deal, you are probably thinking. Where else is a man of that age more likely to have lunch than at home with his wife? In Arthur’s case, it’s not quite that simple. Nola, you see, is dead, so Arthur brings his lunch and a little folding chair to the cemetery every noontime so that he can talk to Nola while eating. Some would say that Arthur is pretty obviously ready to cash in his own chips so that he and Nola can be together again – and maybe there’s some truth there. But then Arthur meets Maddy, a teenager who spends almost as much time at the cemetery as he does, and his world gets interesting.Maddy, whose mother died in an auto accident when Maddy was just two weeks old, is as lonely as Arthur, and as the friendship between the old man and the teen becomes more and more important to each of them, Maddy (because she is so impressed with Arthur’s lasting love for his deceased wife) tags him with the nickname “Truluv.” Things really get interesting when Arthur’s elderly next-door neighbor Lucile, having observed the new relationship between Maddy and Arthur, decides that she wants to get in on some of the fun herself. The Story of Arthur Truluv is one of those rare coming-of-age novels that are just as much about the end of life as they are about growing up. Two of its three central characters are very near the end of their lives, and the third is just on the brink of beginning hers. The beauty of the novel is that all three of them bring something unique to the communal relationship, something that adds to the feeling of family that soon develops between them. Bottom Line: The Story of Arthur Truluv is a little too predictable to keep the reader guessing much about how it all will end, and that’s a shame because there are some great moments in the novel. But even though there is never any doubt that things are going to work out well for Arthur, Maddy, and Lucile in the end, Elizabeth Berg is good enough a storyteller to keep readers turning the pages anyway.
    more
  • Sue Fernandez
    March 25, 2017
    Thank you to Net Galley and Random House Publishing for an ARC of this title. All opinions are my own. I have long loved books by Elizabeth Berg. This title initially had me scratching my head, but once you find out how that came to be, that is out of the way. Family isn't just blood, and I believe we can all learn from each other on this journey...during bad and good times. This book is about that, it's about aging, growing up, making the best when life isn't so good to you. Read this book...th Thank you to Net Galley and Random House Publishing for an ARC of this title. All opinions are my own. I have long loved books by Elizabeth Berg. This title initially had me scratching my head, but once you find out how that came to be, that is out of the way. Family isn't just blood, and I believe we can all learn from each other on this journey...during bad and good times. This book is about that, it's about aging, growing up, making the best when life isn't so good to you. Read this book...the characters will stay with you for a long, long time. One of my favorites of the year so far.
    more
  • Amanda
    June 1, 2017
    I received an advance copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway. When I first picked this book up, I wasn't sold. It took me 40 pages or so to settle into the story and start enjoying it. I don't think I can express how glad I am that I decided to stick with it. This is a simple, beautiful story of a person who is truly good, kind without any ulterior motives, and the world needs so much more of that type of positivity. The friendship between Arthur, Maddy and Lucille is something I won't soon f I received an advance copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway. When I first picked this book up, I wasn't sold. It took me 40 pages or so to settle into the story and start enjoying it. I don't think I can express how glad I am that I decided to stick with it. This is a simple, beautiful story of a person who is truly good, kind without any ulterior motives, and the world needs so much more of that type of positivity. The friendship between Arthur, Maddy and Lucille is something I won't soon forget.
    more
  • Bluerose's Heart
    May 27, 2017
    The content kept me from truly enjoying this book. The F-word is used frequently. (There's also a few sex references.) This is a short, very quick read, so it's a lot packed into such a small story. (Yes, I've been called a prude plenty of times. ;) I'm not judging anyone else, though, I assure you.) Aside from the content, it is a nice choice for a rainy day. It has its sweet moments. (Arthur is the best!) It also has its annoying moments! It's not a deep read, by any means, but it does pull on The content kept me from truly enjoying this book. The F-word is used frequently. (There's also a few sex references.) This is a short, very quick read, so it's a lot packed into such a small story. (Yes, I've been called a prude plenty of times. ;) I'm not judging anyone else, though, I assure you.) Aside from the content, it is a nice choice for a rainy day. It has its sweet moments. (Arthur is the best!) It also has its annoying moments! It's not a deep read, by any means, but it does pull on the heartstrings. If you're like me and don't care for "extra" content, pass this one up. If you don't mind the content, and want a quick and light read on the sentimental side, this might be just what you want.*I got an ARC through Amazon Vine.
    more
  • Karen
    June 30, 2017
    THE STORY OF ARTHUR TRULUV Written by ELIZABETH BERGYou can always count on Elizabeth Berg to give you a peaceful, gentle setting where life seems nostalgic and simpler. She has created a loveable character in eighty-five year old Arthur Moses. His daily routine brings him to visiting his wife Nola in the cemetery who has recently passed away. Arthur brings his lunch and comes equipped with his fold up chair. He is eighty-five years old and has never had children, but has a positive outlook abou THE STORY OF ARTHUR TRULUV Written by ELIZABETH BERGYou can always count on Elizabeth Berg to give you a peaceful, gentle setting where life seems nostalgic and simpler. She has created a loveable character in eighty-five year old Arthur Moses. His daily routine brings him to visiting his wife Nola in the cemetery who has recently passed away. Arthur brings his lunch and comes equipped with his fold up chair. He is eighty-five years old and has never had children, but has a positive outlook about them. He has Nola's cat at home to keep him company and a neighbor named Lucille who he checks in on who is eighty-three.Arthur befriends a troubled teen-ager named Maddy who instead of going to school spends her time in the same cemetery as Arthur. Maddy's mother has also passed away when Maddy was just a baby and she lives with her father, who she has a strained relationship with. Arthur befriends Maddy by inviting her back to his home for lunch on a rainy day.The three character's interact and prove that you can find companionship in the goodness of other's. Arthur continues to visit Nola and has a habit of imagining a whole lifetime for each deceased person's grave marker he encounters based on what is engraved on their tombstone. This is a lovely story about the friendship's we make despite our life's circumstances. Elizabeth Berg has a talent for bringing together relationships made with the opportunities and circumstances that we all possess as individuals. We can find family if we remain open minded and are accepting of each other.Thank you to Net Galley, Elizabeth Berg and Random House for providing me with a digital copy in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Celia
    June 11, 2017
    The Story of Arthur Truluv is a book by Elizabeth Berg which Random House expects to publish in July of 2017.It is the story of three people who have all lost a loved one. But the three improbably come together to support each other and learn how to live again. One is Arthur, age 82, the second is Maddy, age 18, and the third is Arthur’s nosy neighbor, Lucille, a spinster of undetermined old age.Elizabeth Berg has written a lovely story and has further enhanced it with beautiful phrasing and tru The Story of Arthur Truluv is a book by Elizabeth Berg which Random House expects to publish in July of 2017.It is the story of three people who have all lost a loved one. But the three improbably come together to support each other and learn how to live again. One is Arthur, age 82, the second is Maddy, age 18, and the third is Arthur’s nosy neighbor, Lucille, a spinster of undetermined old age.Elizabeth Berg has written a lovely story and has further enhanced it with beautiful phrasing and true life aphorisms. Maddy has had a sad and lonely life. She goes through a bunch of ‘what ifs’. She concludes with this thought: If she (Maddy) hadn't lived here, would she ever have come to such an appreciation of what old people have to offer? Her thoughts brought a smile to this older and experienced reader’s face! The book is short and a quick enjoyable read. Arthur, Maddy and Lucille came together to forget their own sorrows and learn to share life’s special moments with each other.
    more
  • Cheryl
    April 23, 2017
    Mandy is a high school senior whose mother has died. She now feels estranged from her withdrawn father. Bullied and ostracized by her classmates, she often seeks refuge at the town cemetery where she takes photographs and relishes the peace she finds there.Arthur is an elderly widower whose life revolves around his daily visits to his wife’s grave at the cemetery. He finds peace and comfort in these visits.Lucille is Arthur’s elderly neighbor. She has never been married and regrets that life see Mandy is a high school senior whose mother has died. She now feels estranged from her withdrawn father. Bullied and ostracized by her classmates, she often seeks refuge at the town cemetery where she takes photographs and relishes the peace she finds there.Arthur is an elderly widower whose life revolves around his daily visits to his wife’s grave at the cemetery. He finds peace and comfort in these visits.Lucille is Arthur’s elderly neighbor. She has never been married and regrets that life seems to have passed her by.These three lonely and marginalized people begin to find purpose as their lives become intertwined in Elizabeth Berg’s beautifully written novel. The characters are realistic and endearing, and the reader is drawn in to their stories. This wonderful novel is a story of kindness, acceptance, love, and the true meaning of family. Thank you to Net Galley, Random House Books, and author Elizabeth Berg for giving me the opportunity to read this outstanding novel which is scheduled to be released in July.
    more
  • Lynn Jarrett
    May 10, 2017
    Elizabeth Berg has once again woven her magic with another great read. This time it is about life between a teenager and two elderly adults. All three have suffered devastating tragedies in their lives and yet they have found a way to blend their lives together to find contentment. Berg has a wonderful way of describing her characters and their interactions with each other. You seem to be able to identify a little bit of yourself in each character. This book was a quick read and leaves you think Elizabeth Berg has once again woven her magic with another great read. This time it is about life between a teenager and two elderly adults. All three have suffered devastating tragedies in their lives and yet they have found a way to blend their lives together to find contentment. Berg has a wonderful way of describing her characters and their interactions with each other. You seem to be able to identify a little bit of yourself in each character. This book was a quick read and leaves you thinking about the characters long after you finish the book.
    more
  • Cathe Olson
    June 6, 2017
    An elderly widower, Arthur and his heartbroken elderly neighbor, Lucille form an unlikely friendship with a teenage misfit. While this seems a bit of a Man Called Ove wannabee, it was a sweet, albeit predictable story that provides a nice escape for a few hours. The next part contains a bit of a SPOILER so if you haven't read the book, you can stop reading here (though this comes up fairly early on in the book):I gotta know -- wasn't anyone else bothered by this whole virgin pregnancy thing? I m An elderly widower, Arthur and his heartbroken elderly neighbor, Lucille form an unlikely friendship with a teenage misfit. While this seems a bit of a Man Called Ove wannabee, it was a sweet, albeit predictable story that provides a nice escape for a few hours. The next part contains a bit of a SPOILER so if you haven't read the book, you can stop reading here (though this comes up fairly early on in the book):I gotta know -- wasn't anyone else bothered by this whole virgin pregnancy thing? I mean, give me a break! I don't know why Berg would have her get pregnant without penetration or any mention of semen getting in or even near a vagina. Maybe it's so the reader will think Maddy is still a "good girl" or so that Anderson wouldn't be accused of statutory rape, I really don't know. But that unbelievable scenario and the fact that no doctor or anyone even mentions that she's still a virgin during any examinations almost ruined the whole book for me.
    more
  • Janet
    May 20, 2017
    Arthur, a spry eighty-five-year young man, has lunch with his wife Nola every day of the week. He brings his lunch and a little folding chair to the cemetery every noontime so that he can talk to Nola while eating. He stops to visit her neighbors, reading their headstones and imagining the lives they had lived when alive. Some would say that Arthur is pretty obviously ready to give in and join Nola in her heavenly abode – and maybe there’s some truth there. But then Arthur meets Maddy, a teenage Arthur, a spry eighty-five-year young man, has lunch with his wife Nola every day of the week. He brings his lunch and a little folding chair to the cemetery every noontime so that he can talk to Nola while eating. He stops to visit her neighbors, reading their headstones and imagining the lives they had lived when alive. Some would say that Arthur is pretty obviously ready to give in and join Nola in her heavenly abode – and maybe there’s some truth there. But then Arthur meets Maddy, a teenager who spends almost as much time at the cemetery as he does, and his life becomes extraordinary.Maddy, whose mother died in an auto accident when Maddy was just two weeks old, is as lonely as Arthur. She is comforted by the graveyard. In life, she is a loner, a loser, a motherless girl with a distant father. As the friendship between the old man and the teen becomes more important to each of them, Maddy (seeing how Arthur embodies true love not only for his lost Nola but also for the lost Maddy and unloved Lucille) tags him with the nickname “Truluv.” Things really get interesting when Arthur’s elderly next-door neighbor Lucile, having observed the new relationship between Maddy and Arthur, decides that she wants to become a part of this new beginning as well. Luckily Arthur's untapped capacity for love expands and embraces Maddy, as well as his cranky elderly neighbor Lucille. The Story of Arthur Truluv is one of those rare coming-of-age novels that are just as much about the end of life as they are about growing up. Two of its three central characters are very near the end of their lives, and the third is just on the brink of beginning hers. The beauty of the novel is that all three of them bring something unique to the communal relationship, something that adds to the feeling of family that soon develops between them. It also probes the depth of loneliness and depression in the elderly and the young, bringing disparate characters into clear focus, revealing their common humanity and mutual need. This charming, quiet novel will appeal to many readers. It reminds us to love one another... the cranky, the misfits, the girl with the nose ring, the ineffectual father, the unborn… and ourselves. Though a predictable novel, it’s “feel good” rich characters make this a must-read for all of us who still believe in magic. I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank NetGalley, Elizabeth Berg and the publishers for allowing me to experience a feel good world with Mr. Arthur Moses (TruLuv).
    more
  • Betty
    June 21, 2017
    What a truly delightful read! It’s like “A Man Called Ove” but without the crabbiness. Arthur Moses, 85, has lunch each day with his wife Nola – at the cemetery. Nola has been dead six months. Arthur is a truly sweet man and has a positive attitude toward pretty much everything.Eighteen-year-old Maddy often visits the cemetery to get away from the other kids at school. It is here that Arthur and Maddy meet and develop an unusual friendship. Because of his devotion to Nola and his kindness Maddy What a truly delightful read! It’s like “A Man Called Ove” but without the crabbiness. Arthur Moses, 85, has lunch each day with his wife Nola – at the cemetery. Nola has been dead six months. Arthur is a truly sweet man and has a positive attitude toward pretty much everything.Eighteen-year-old Maddy often visits the cemetery to get away from the other kids at school. It is here that Arthur and Maddy meet and develop an unusual friendship. Because of his devotion to Nola and his kindness Maddy gives Arthur the nickname “Truluv”. Maddy’s mother died in a car crash when Maddy was only two weeks old. She doesn’t get along with her father and the kids at school pick on her. To ease her loneliness, Maddy escapes into her world of photography. Also dealing with loneliness is Arthur’s elderly neighbor Lucille. While quite nosy, their lives all change as the three of them form a compassionate bond creating their own version of a little family – oh, and mustn’t forget Gordon, the cat – to deal with life’s struggles and to find hope and a new purpose in life.This book is a delightful escape from with these delightful people – and Gordon. Smile, laugh, cry – I love a book that taps into my emotions and makes me what the characters in the story feel. That is great writing.
    more
  • Stacy McCain
    June 29, 2017
    THE STORY OF ARTHUR TRULUV by Elizabeth Berg is a beautiful piece of fiction that will last in your heart long after the last page. In this short novel, Berg develops three big characters and shows that despite their age difference, the size of a person's heart isn't dependent on their years on earth. The love and compassion in this novel, the definition and devotion to family, the complications of fitting in, and the way all of them are brought together is engaging and lovely. Though I was gran THE STORY OF ARTHUR TRULUV by Elizabeth Berg is a beautiful piece of fiction that will last in your heart long after the last page. In this short novel, Berg develops three big characters and shows that despite their age difference, the size of a person's heart isn't dependent on their years on earth. The love and compassion in this novel, the definition and devotion to family, the complications of fitting in, and the way all of them are brought together is engaging and lovely. Though I was granted an advanced copy of this novel by NetGalley, I will definitely buy my own copy when it's published and add it to my library of personal favorites.
    more
  • Tanya
    May 20, 2017
    Sweet story! Elderly Arthur visits his wife's grave every day and one day he meets Maddy, a high school senior, at the cemetery where she is exercising her love of photography with the headstones. The pair strike an interesting friendship that heals them of their sorrows. Beautiful novel about old and young and the palipable story of people's lives who live short or long. Berg never fails me as a writer.
    more
  • Marika
    April 22, 2017
    Families that create themselves are families built on love. Meet Arthur, an elderly widow who visits his wife's grave everyday for lunch. Meet Maddy, a lonely, troubled teen who observes Arthur's love and devotion and is drawn to it, and to Arthur. Then meet Lucille, Arthur's nosy neighbor who has always been lonely and you realize that life is meant to be shared. A moving story of how everyone in life deserves love, and 2nd chances.I read an advance reader's copy and was not compensated.
    more
  • Sandy
    April 11, 2017
    5+ I absolutely loved this book. I laughed, I teared up, I out and out cried. I've been a fan of Berg's for eons, adored the "Katie" series, but The Story of Arthur Truluv is far and away my new favorite. Beautifully rendered, emotionally evocative. Arthur Truluv, the character and the book, is a treasure.
    more
  • Nancy
    May 8, 2017
    For six months Arthur Moses has packed a bag lunch and taken a bus to the cemetery to eat lunch with his wife Nola. He stops to visit her neighbors, reading their headstones and imagining the lives they had lived when alive. At Nola's graveside, Arthur sets up his folding chair and eats his sandwich. Arthur is eighty-five years old. His doctor congratulations him; he could live to be one hundred. It would be an empty life, now Nola Corrine the Beauty Queen is gone.But on this spring day when the For six months Arthur Moses has packed a bag lunch and taken a bus to the cemetery to eat lunch with his wife Nola. He stops to visit her neighbors, reading their headstones and imagining the lives they had lived when alive. At Nola's graveside, Arthur sets up his folding chair and eats his sandwich. Arthur is eighty-five years old. His doctor congratulations him; he could live to be one hundred. It would be an empty life, now Nola Corrine the Beauty Queen is gone.But on this spring day when the buds 'are all like tiny little pregnant women' and Arthur wishes Nola, like spring, would return again, even as a new born baby, Arthur notices he is not alone with his dead.A teenage girl, who should be in school, is sitting under a tree. He has seen her before. This time, he waves. Her hand flies to her mouth, and thinking he has frightened her, Arthur leaves.Maddy watches the old man walk to the bus. She is comforted by the graveyard. In life, she is a loner, a loser, a motherless girl with a distant father. She likes to take photographs of little things, blown up big. She sneaks out of the house at night to meet a handsome older boy. They don't talk much.Arthur befriends Maddy, changing both their lives.The Story of Arthur Truluv probes the depth of loneliness and depression in the elderly and the young, bringing disparate characters into clear focus, revealing their common humanity and mutual need. Arthur's untapped capacity for love expands and embraces Maddy, and then his cranky elderly neighbor Lucille. Named Truluv by Maddy, Arthur embodies true love not only for his lost Nola but also for the lost Maddy and unloved Lucille.This charming, quiet novel will appeal to many readers. At first, though, I wondered what made it different? What made it worth reading over other books about friendship between the old and young or between the elderly?In the Acknowledgements, Elizabeth Berg says, "When you write a novel as delicate as this one seemed to me to be, you can only hope that readers will see beyond the simple words on the page to the more complex meanings behind them."And it hit me. This story is a kind of parable. "'Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind'; and, 'Love your neighbor as yourself.'"“Who is my neighbor?”Love your neighbor. And who is my neighbor? My neighbor is any person God has put in my path.This gentle story reminds us to love one another. The cranky, the misfits, the girl with the nose ring, the ineffectual father, the unborn--and ourselves. Can we ever hear this message enough? It is today as revolutionary as it was millennium ago, going against common sense and financial sense, even against this administration's governmental goals.Our inability to love one another is the greatest threat to democracy today. We have cut ourselves off, categorizing our fellow human companions on this small planet as 'other', inferior, contemptible, unnecessary, mistaken and misguided. Who should we love? The Parable of the Good Samaritan is not about helping those who are like us, supporting people of our ilk, class, race, faith. We are to love whoever God puts into our path. Right there, next door to us, the person mourning at the cemetery across from us, even the person who has caused another to feel unloved and rejected. We are to love the stranger, those who grieve, those who are angry, those who have been rejected, those who are warped, and those who cannot love themselves.Arthur Truluv's example teaches us that by our acts we can impact the world for generations. Love your neighbor as yourself. If each of us resists the world's wisdom by this radical act, what a wonderful world it would be. I received a free ebook from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for a fair and unbiased review.
    more
  • Brenda
    May 28, 2017
    This is the story of Arthur an 82 year old man who goes to the cemetary every day with his chair and lunch and he has lunch with his recently deceased wife Nola. He meets 17 year old Maddie who has gotten thrown out of her Father's home for being pregnant, Her Mom died in child birth, she refuses to give the baby up or abort. Maddie hangs out at the cemetary, she seems to feel comfortable there and that is where she meets Arthur.. Arthur has a neighbor named Lucille who bakes the most amazing co This is the story of Arthur an 82 year old man who goes to the cemetary every day with his chair and lunch and he has lunch with his recently deceased wife Nola. He meets 17 year old Maddie who has gotten thrown out of her Father's home for being pregnant, Her Mom died in child birth, she refuses to give the baby up or abort. Maddie hangs out at the cemetary, she seems to feel comfortable there and that is where she meets Arthur.. Arthur has a neighbor named Lucille who bakes the most amazing cookies, etc., but he finds her irritating.I've read only one other book by Elizabeth Berg, her first book which was fantastic! This book was really hard to push through. I remember looking and my kindle said I was 44% through and I still hadn't enough information on the characters to see where the story was going. She pulled it together after that and I was quite happy with the latter half of the book, but I just wish this book would have been been more interesting early on.I received this book from netgalley.com in exchange for an honest review!The description of the book as found on Good Reads: A beautiful, life-affirming novel about a remarkably loving man who creates for himself and others second chances at happiness.A moving novel about three people who find their way back from loss and loneliness to a different kind of happiness. Arthur, a widow, meets Maddy, a troubled teenage girl who is avoiding school by hiding out at the cemetery, where Arthur goes every day for lunch to have imaginary conversations with his late wife, and think about the lives of others. The two strike up a friendship that draws them out of isolation. Maddy gives Arthur the name Truluv, for his loving and positive responses to every outrageous thing she says or does. With Arthur’s nosy neighbor Lucille, they create a loving and unconventional family, proving that life’s most precious moments are sweeter when shared.
    more
  • Dana Portwood
    June 26, 2017
    I have a list of author’s I turn to when I need a little comfort, when what I want is a happy ending and a better opinion of humanity as whole when I walk away. Elizabeth Berg is on the list of those authors. Her books are all about human connection and relationships, and the unlikely places we find the help we need to carry on. Enter Arthur Moses.The Story of Arthur Truluv is in the vein of A Man Called Ove, which I am sure will lead to some criticism. However, I believe firmly there are a mill I have a list of author’s I turn to when I need a little comfort, when what I want is a happy ending and a better opinion of humanity as whole when I walk away. Elizabeth Berg is on the list of those authors. Her books are all about human connection and relationships, and the unlikely places we find the help we need to carry on. Enter Arthur Moses.The Story of Arthur Truluv is in the vein of A Man Called Ove, which I am sure will lead to some criticism. However, I believe firmly there are a million ways to tell a story. Ove doesn’t own the platform of finding relationships after losing your wife late in life. It’s an experience shared by hundreds of people in hundreds of places every day. There’s more than enough room for someone else’s story.Arthur has recently lost his wife Nola when he meets Maddy Harris, a social misfit who hides from school bullies in the local cemetery. Maddy knows a something about loss, having lost her mother only two weeks after her birth in a freak accident. Maddy’s father never recovered from this loss and Maddy lives a life of isolation, sorrow and desperation to feel a connection with someone, anyone.Meanwhile, Arthur’s neighbor Lucille is about to find happiness in a way she never expected, only to lose it again in a way so unexpected and devastating, she fears she will never find happiness again. At least, until these three find their lives intertwined in ways they would never have predicted in a thousand years.Full of hope and wisdom and the search for a place of acceptance and comfort, The Story of Arthur Truluv is a gentle and amusing way to spend a day or two in a well written story which delivers exactly what it’s meant to – a sense of comfort and hope in humanity once more.
    more
  • Chaya Nebel
    June 24, 2017
    Arthur Moses lost his beloved wife, Nola, a half-year ago, and goes to have lunch with her every day at her grave site. His neighbor, Lucille, is a retired schoolteacher who loves to bake and has no one to feed her creations to. Maddy is a 17-year-old outcast brought up by a widower who doesn't know how to show his fierce love for his only child. These three very lonely people somehow find their way to each other in this touching if sometimes overly sentimental and predictable novel. In this sim Arthur Moses lost his beloved wife, Nola, a half-year ago, and goes to have lunch with her every day at her grave site. His neighbor, Lucille, is a retired schoolteacher who loves to bake and has no one to feed her creations to. Maddy is a 17-year-old outcast brought up by a widower who doesn't know how to show his fierce love for his only child. These three very lonely people somehow find their way to each other in this touching if sometimes overly sentimental and predictable novel. In this simple story, Arthur learns to love again, Maddy finds the love she desperately craves in these old but lovable fogies, and Lucille finds how to use her talents. This is a feel-good book with not much depth, but not much is needed to convey the simple themes of loneliness and its cures, friendship and its myriad forms, growing up, facing the end of life, and families that are made up of things other than blood.The novel has similarities to A Man Called Ove (including its cover), from its widower protagonist, to the young woman who takes a place in his heart, and even to the annoying cat, but I found this one more simplistic and predictable, and overly sentimental. The character of Arthur is finely drawn, as the perspective here is mostly his. He is an old codger, set in his ways, but he's a lovable coot. Maddy is also a deeply sympathetic creature, craving love and not knowing how to be an object of affection or even positive regard of her schoolmates.Characters like Maddy's father and boyfriend are less finely drawn, and seem to serve the sole purpose of moving Maddy into place in her new family. Overall a really nice (and short) read. Thanks to the author and publisher for a review copy.
    more
  • Andrea
    May 21, 2017
    I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.4.5--hovering but...This short book is a sweet, sad, moving story about three people [primarily two--Arthur and Maddy] who make new lives for themselves by opening up to each other.Arthur, (re)named Truluv, by Maddy, is an 85-year old widower. Maddy, a loner, ostracized at school, is an 18-year old pregnant teen. She lives with her dad, a widower, who rarely talks. Arthur goes to the cemetery every day to visit Nola, his deceas I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.4.5--hovering but...This short book is a sweet, sad, moving story about three people [primarily two--Arthur and Maddy] who make new lives for themselves by opening up to each other.Arthur, (re)named Truluv, by Maddy, is an 85-year old widower. Maddy, a loner, ostracized at school, is an 18-year old pregnant teen. She lives with her dad, a widower, who rarely talks. Arthur goes to the cemetery every day to visit Nola, his deceased wife. He brings his lunch, talks to Nola, and imagines the lives of the other people buried there. He meets Maddy at the cemetery and gradually they become friends. Lucille, Arthur's neighbor, is a retired teacher; a lonely woman who loves to bake. Her story is separate from Arthur's and Maddy's--until it is not. I liked the before; I loved the after. When Lucille enters Arthur and Maddy's newly-formed household it is quite the home.And Gordon, Arthur's cat, has his own persona--which also often was humorous.Some of the lines brought a smile to my face. For example--Maddy has a nose ring which Arthur notes is "... hanging out the bottom like a booger." Lucille's snoring is described as "[she]... could be her own percussion section in the St. Louis Symphony Orchestra." And, Maddy sees her father as "constant bad weather."This book reminded me of Plainsong [whch I also liked a lot]--where two elderly men take in a pregnant teen. I was engaged immediately. Why? Perhaps because I liked the characters and felt them all well drawn. At times predictable, my interest never waned. Complaint: too short! Heartwarming, bittersweet, a good read!
    more
  • Shelly Donaghey
    May 21, 2017
    THE STORY OR ARTHUR TRULUV by Elizabeth Berg will have you smiling and hoping and maybe even crying a little. Arthur Moses is a recent widower well into his retirement age. Every lunch he goes out to the cemetery to visit with his beloved Nola. One lunch there he meets a high school senior named Maddy. She seems lonely and, after a short while, they begin talking. She likes that he is so devoted to his late wife, so much so that she nicknames him Truluv. He worries that she might be in trouble THE STORY OR ARTHUR TRULUV by Elizabeth Berg will have you smiling and hoping and maybe even crying a little. Arthur Moses is a recent widower well into his retirement age. Every lunch he goes out to the cemetery to visit with his beloved Nola. One lunch there he meets a high school senior named Maddy. She seems lonely and, after a short while, they begin talking. She likes that he is so devoted to his late wife, so much so that she nicknames him Truluv. He worries that she might be in trouble at school and home. Arthur's neighbor, Lucille, thinks she has found romance in her life when her old high school love reemerges into her life. She sees things through a brighter prism, but when tragedy strikes, Lucille almost gives up hope. The three form a make shift family, each bringing their own special heart break to the group, but each acting as a salve to the others woes. Together they manage to make their way through the short time before Maddy has to go off to art school. This is a small story about big people, about love and redemption, about finding yourself by giving yourself to others, and it is about forgiving yourself. Throughout it all, there is also sunshine in every cloudy day, and in this story, there are lots of cloudy days. This is a gem of a story, small but sparkling. I found myself wanting more of the history of Arthur, a most remarkable man, but know that knowing more isn't always going to make for a better tale.
    more
  • Jordan Stivers
    June 21, 2017
    Such a sweet and charming tale. It’s the kind of book that just warms your heart as it aches with the sadness each of the characters feel. Despite the simplicity of the prose (which I feel is perfect for this book), there is a lot underneath the surface about loneliness, loss, regret, and life after all three pass. While the main three are all well-done, the true shining star is Arthur. He’s just the loveliest character. I found myself smirking at so many of his thoughts and even once laughing a Such a sweet and charming tale. It’s the kind of book that just warms your heart as it aches with the sadness each of the characters feel. Despite the simplicity of the prose (which I feel is perfect for this book), there is a lot underneath the surface about loneliness, loss, regret, and life after all three pass. While the main three are all well-done, the true shining star is Arthur. He’s just the loveliest character. I found myself smirking at so many of his thoughts and even once laughing aloud. Was it predictable? Absolutely. But, somehow that didn’t bother me. It’s a satisfyingly heartwarming story that wraps up just how you would expect. I didn’t feel like it cheapened the story in that respect and I sped through the whole book in less than a day. I have two complaints though. One, chapters. Why are there no chapters when you switch between three characters? It irked me not to have a good stopping place. Two, and without giving a spoiler, something that seems medically-impossible occurs. It felt a little black-box to me and I just can’t let it go. Overall though, it was lovely and I enjoyed it.Note: I received a free Kindle edition of this novel via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I would like to thank them, the publisher Random House, and the author Elizabeth Berg for the opportunity to do so.
    more
  • Kathy
    May 23, 2017
    Arthur Moses climbs the steps of a bus every day with a packed lunch and a fold up chair to have lunch with his deceased wife, Nola. Arthur is eighty-five years old and hopes to live to be one hundred. Since he started going to the cemetery, a part of a person's life story reaches Arthur as he passes the tombstone. It doesn't happen for everyone, just a few, but somehow he knows that what he sees is true about the person buried there. It is at the cemetery that Arthur sees Maddy for the first ti Arthur Moses climbs the steps of a bus every day with a packed lunch and a fold up chair to have lunch with his deceased wife, Nola. Arthur is eighty-five years old and hopes to live to be one hundred. Since he started going to the cemetery, a part of a person's life story reaches Arthur as he passes the tombstone. It doesn't happen for everyone, just a few, but somehow he knows that what he sees is true about the person buried there. It is at the cemetery that Arthur sees Maddy for the first time and wonders why she isn't in school. He's not sure of her age, fourteen or fifteen, dressed in a t-shirt, ripped jeans with spiky black hair, she looks ready to run when she realizes he has noticed her. Maddy often visits the cemetery to take pictures and hang out until school is over for the day. When Maddy inevitably meets Arthur and hears his story, she nicknames him Arthur Truluv because of his love for Nola. Maddy is bullied at school and has no friends so Arthur is happy to take her under his wing. Arthur's next door neighbor, Lucille, is lonely, loves to bake, and invite Arthur to keep her company. All three bond by their loss, love, and need for understanding and friendship. Read my review at http://pennyformythoughts-nona.blogsp....
    more
Write a review