The Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy, #0.6)
A prequel to the USA Today bestseller and Goodreads Choice finalist Stolen Songbird (The Malediction Trilogy).Below Forsaken Mountain, a plot is being hatched to overthrow the tyrant king of Trollus, and Marc is the right-hand man of its leader. His involvement is information more than one troll would kill to possess, which is why he must keep it a secret from everyone, even the girl he loves.After accidentally ruining her sister’s chance to become queen, Pénélope is given one last opportunity by her father, the Duke d’Angoulême, to make herself useful: she must find proof that the boy she’s in love with is conspiring against the crown. If she fails, her life will be forfeit.Marc and Pénélope must navigate the complex politics of Trollus, where powers on all sides are intent on using them as pawns, forcing them to risk everything for a chance at a life together.Except being together may turn out to be the greatest risk of all.

The Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy, #0.6) Details

TitleThe Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy, #0.6)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherAngry Robot
ISBN0857666975
ISBN-139780857666970
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

The Broken Ones (The Malediction Trilogy, #0.6) Review

  • Nenia *the flagrant liberal* Campbell
    June 3, 2017
    GR review to come, or read it early HERE.
  • Melissa Robles
    November 29, 2016
    I. AM. DEAD. *cries all the tears* My heart hurts so much. This prequel novel, I needed it, but I didn't know how much I needed it until I read it. :(Marc & Penélope, forever. ❤
  • Danielle Jensen
    May 14, 2017
    I've been asked quite a few times about my recommended reading order, so here it is:1. STOLEN SONGBIRD (Book One of The Malediction Trilogy)2. HIDDEN HUNTRESS (Book Two of The Malediction Trilogy)3. THE BROKEN ONES (Prequel to The Malediction Trilogy)4. WARRIOR WITCH (Book Three of The Malediction Trilogy)THE BROKEN ONES is, for the most part, a standalone, but I DID write it with the fans of the trilogy in mind. As such, there will be some minor spoilers if you read it before the first two nove I've been asked quite a few times about my recommended reading order, so here it is:1. STOLEN SONGBIRD (Book One of The Malediction Trilogy)2. HIDDEN HUNTRESS (Book Two of The Malediction Trilogy)3. THE BROKEN ONES (Prequel to The Malediction Trilogy)4. WARRIOR WITCH (Book Three of The Malediction Trilogy)THE BROKEN ONES is, for the most part, a standalone, but I DID write it with the fans of the trilogy in mind. As such, there will be some minor spoilers if you read it before the first two novels of the trilogy, and there will be some aspects of the world building that might be slightly confusing if you haven't read at least STOLEN SONGBIRD. It takes place two years prior to STOLEN SONGBIRD.
    more
  • Bekah AwesomeBookNut
    May 31, 2017
    AAAAAHHH MY HEART!!!! full review to come...
  • Patricia Crowther
    May 17, 2017
    Advanced copy received via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.As you can see I gave this five stars so I think that kind of speaks for itself. It was everything I wanted it to be. It was a story in itself and not just an introduction to the Malediction trilogy. It had mystery and intrigue, action and romance. It was heartfelt and heartrending, especially that epilogue. Jensen’s writing is great, its beautiful but also easy to read and she writes her characters so flawlessly. That’s not to s Advanced copy received via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.As you can see I gave this five stars so I think that kind of speaks for itself. It was everything I wanted it to be. It was a story in itself and not just an introduction to the Malediction trilogy. It had mystery and intrigue, action and romance. It was heartfelt and heartrending, especially that epilogue. Jensen’s writing is great, its beautiful but also easy to read and she writes her characters so flawlessly. That’s not to say they don’t have flaws, they do, they have many and I love them even more for them. I just love that the villains have equal depth and charisma as our much loved heroes do.Just one more point I wanted to mention, it’s not recommended that you read this prequel novel before Stolen Songbird (book one) or Hidden Huntress (book two in The Malediction Trilogy) as there are some minor spoilers for the future plot. And whilst it can be read as a standalone, I do highly recommend you go read Stolen Songbird and Hidden Huntress first because then you will get to meet and fall in love with Marc and Tristan as I did and this prequel will mean so much more to you.
    more
  • Katherine Karas
    April 12, 2017
    If you have not read the Malediction Trilogy, which starts with Stolen Songbird, then I'd advise you don't read this review or this book yet. Come back later. If you are not convinced: It's better to read Stolen Songbird first because Marc's story is a bit of a subplot in that book, and it's also better to get first impressions of the characters from there. SS is also where you get the introductory world building so don’t complain if you read this and it’s lacking, because you should already kno If you have not read the Malediction Trilogy, which starts with Stolen Songbird, then I'd advise you don't read this review or this book yet. Come back later. If you are not convinced: It's better to read Stolen Songbird first because Marc's story is a bit of a subplot in that book, and it's also better to get first impressions of the characters from there. SS is also where you get the introductory world building so don’t complain if you read this and it’s lacking, because you should already know.When I found out this prequel book was coming out, I was like obviously I'm going to read it but do I truly want to put myself through that heartbreak again? The answer is yes. You know in Harry Potter where Ron reads Harry’s tea leaves and is like “you’re gonna suffer, but you’re gonna be happy about it,” That is an accurate wrap up of me for this whole book.Man, does this woman know how to play the political intrigue or what?! They're always so well thought out plots, ploys, strategies, twists, turns. I really and truly respect Danielle L Jensen for the work she does. Often prequels and sequels to the original works tend to stray from the facts or the mood of the story but I felt Jensen's writing, narrative, mood in this book was perfectly cohesive to the other books. The same levels of anxiety, tears, heartbreak. Another thing with prequels/sequels, other books tend pull at strings just to make another book but The Broken Ones showed us a story that was already there but we never really knew the details of. It was in no way boring either as others are for lack of plot. Marc’s story, we can now see, contributed in so many ways to the trilogy.Of course I was very conscious the whole time of events that happened to see if they matched the original story in the first book and I feel Jensen did a wonderful job of keeping to the facts which a lot of others seem to stray on.This story, like Stolen Songbird, kind of followed the same rhythm and also like the first book I was in the same perpetual state of heartbreak, tormentation, and anxiety. (The anxiety, here, mostly because we all know how the the story will end) These are all good things so don’t worry, ‘suffer but be happy’ remember. Jensen has this amazing way of storytelling where it seems every character is a ploy but who is pulling their strings? I don't know!!!! Because the motivations and scheme revelations leave me like AAAAHHHH WHERE DID THAT EVEN COME FROM, I COULD’VE NEVER GUESSED THAT ON MY OWN!!!!!In SS it kind of felt like we walked into a story that was already happening. In The Broken Ones we get more of the back story and what was it was like before Cecile. While I absolutely loved this book and the story it told, I'm glad the trilogy started with SS and not this story because A. it makes this story all the more tragic and B. I usually don't like when a random character is plopped in (it would be ceclie in that case) and I'm expected to adjust to them. But that's just a personal thing. However I do feel this story was fundamental.This was one of those books where you know more than one of the narrators does and you're yelling at them the whole time like you're. so. stupid. And therefore the heartbreaking hurts all the more. Also every time a character made an assumption about the future I was like YOU ARE WRONG!!!!It was such a treat to see how life in Trollus was before Cecile came around. How Tristan behaved without the reader knowing he was hiding something that we knew through what Cecile sensed. We got to see him being selfish and how other people understood and interpreted his reasons for it. I never truly saw Tristan as “evil” in SS but in this book we got a better sense of how he had to act to keep up his charade.I didn't expect Marc to be like the Marc I know because this tragic event had to have happened in order for him to be the person we see in the first book of the malediction trilogy. However, I do remember Marc being a bit smarter, and more observant. I’m sure when i re-read SS in the future I will keel over with despair and sorrow for Marc. Within The Malediction Trilogy, I suppose we do not quite see the depth of what was going on inside Marc. Why he was so torn, in the second book, after Tristan's hold over him ceased. I don’t think I truly understood his torment until now, and I am so grateful to this book for revealing that to me. My mind just kept going back to Marc in the trilogy and the things he did there and how they connected to his past/the story in The Broken Ones.Penelope was perhaps the greatest mystery walking into this book. While we were well acquainted with all the other characters, we knew little about her. The bottom line was that she was Marc wife, he loved her more than anything, and he lost her to her affliction but Tristan forced him to survive the bond. We got to know her so well and by the end of the story, it made it even more heartrending than I could’ve guessed.It was undoubtedly a tragic love story that included many great truths and revelations not only about the connection between the two but also reasoning behind Tristan. Definitely more than worth the read. Hey, and it’s even more of an opportunity to hate Duke d'Angouleme and Lessa.Sadly this is the last story we shall see in the world of Trollus. It breaks my heart but at the same time, I don’t think my heart could take much more. I am sincerely looking forward to Jensen’s future works. The way she storytells is one I will stick around for.5 of 5 Star Rating-Katherine Karas
    more
  • Angelica
    April 26, 2017
    If there is one thing that I took away from this book, is that I need to jump back into the world of The Malediction trilogy. I missed these characters and this plot in a way I didn’t even realize. I now want to drop everything and go read the rest of this series. That’s how good this was.Admittedly, I didn’t like this book as much as I did Stolen Songbird, the first book in the series, but I do love the world. I love the intrigue, and the schemes, and evil plots. I love the magic and the messed If there is one thing that I took away from this book, is that I need to jump back into the world of The Malediction trilogy. I missed these characters and this plot in a way I didn’t even realize. I now want to drop everything and go read the rest of this series. That’s how good this was.Admittedly, I didn’t like this book as much as I did Stolen Songbird, the first book in the series, but I do love the world. I love the intrigue, and the schemes, and evil plots. I love the magic and the messed up nature of it all. And I want everyone to go check it out!I read Stolen Songbird back in 2015 and I loved it. After finishing it went and bought the the sequel, Hidden Huntress, but never really got to it. Now that I’m back in the mood to finish the series, I of course went and bought the last book in the trilogy, Warrior Witch.While this is the prequel, I do not recommend reading it before reading at least the first book in the series, or preferably, the series as a whole.This book deals with Marc’s story and who he was before Cecile came to Trollus and their entire world was changed. It is a story of doomed love, and the court intrigue I loved so much in Stolen Songbird. It is a story of the birth of a revolution and the sacrifices that went into making it happen.Having only read book one, there is much that I do not know about the world and the characters. But, from I got from book one, I know that the mind of a Danielle L. Jensen is a cunning and dangerous place. This woman writes intrigue like no one else. She schemes and plots and weaves for us a tale of twists and turns. She did this in the first book, and she outdid herself on this one.The world is Trollus is very complex and very dark, literally. If you have not read at least book one, much of the world building will be lost. The nature of the trolls and their situation is not explained here in detail, but that’s alright, it doesn’t need to be. The world has already been set up at this point and we can focus on the characters.The charters themselves are very different from what I remember in Stolen Songbird, showing the amount of character development they must have gone through. Surely the events of this book marked all of their lives, but when I return to the series I will not ever be able to see Marc the same way again. Even Tristan, who was spoiled and good willed and manipulative, will never be the same in my eyes.This is a book that I definitely recommend, after reading the other books in the trilogy, of course. **I received an advance copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own.**
    more
  • Sarah (Books Before Bandaids)
    April 20, 2017
    Danielle L. Jensen’s prequel novel to The Malediction Trilogy, The Broken Ones, is a heartrending tale of love, political intrigue, and vengeance. Clearly building on the plot of Stolen Songbird, The Broken Ones is an ode to the heartbreak that defines Marc. The Broken Ones focuses on the backstory of Marc showing his hidden love for Penelope and what lengths he is willing to go to protect the ones he loves. Protecting Penelope comes with a price and if Marc is willing to pay the price his futur Danielle L. Jensen’s prequel novel to The Malediction Trilogy, The Broken Ones, is a heartrending tale of love, political intrigue, and vengeance. Clearly building on the plot of Stolen Songbird, The Broken Ones is an ode to the heartbreak that defines Marc. The Broken Ones focuses on the backstory of Marc showing his hidden love for Penelope and what lengths he is willing to go to protect the ones he loves. Protecting Penelope comes with a price and if Marc is willing to pay the price his future may change the course of a revolution. Jensen’s characters are complex, flawed and fascinating. Each storyline brings to life a heartrending tale loss woven with intrigue. A large portion of the necessary world building to truly feel at home in The Broken Ones came from Stolen Songbird so it helps to read this prequel after reading at least that novel in the trilogy. Jensen’s ability to stay true to the original trilogy was stunning, with a cohesiveness that felt natural. I feel like I should go straight to reading the trilogy again because the desperation and anxiety won’t leave me alone. Jensen’s ability to create a mood is nothing short of brilliant, engaging and full of torment. Her ability to track the political scheming and constant intrigues leads to finales that are both tragic and unpredictable. A wonderful addition to a brilliant trilogy! Note: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Olivia Farr
    April 12, 2017
    “The Broken Ones” is a prequel to the Malediction Trilogy. I’ll admit that I have not read the trilogy, but since this was a prequel, I was hoping it wouldn’t matter. The world-building is lacking, however, in this prequel, and for that reason, I would say it is mainly intended for people who have already read the trilogy. This one seems to provide a backstory for a few key characters in the trilogy (further research led me to their roles in the trilogy as well as information about the world). H “The Broken Ones” is a prequel to the Malediction Trilogy. I’ll admit that I have not read the trilogy, but since this was a prequel, I was hoping it wouldn’t matter. The world-building is lacking, however, in this prequel, and for that reason, I would say it is mainly intended for people who have already read the trilogy. This one seems to provide a backstory for a few key characters in the trilogy (further research led me to their roles in the trilogy as well as information about the world). Here, in Trollus, trolls are born primarily with powers in a fae-like manner and those who are not pure-blooded (e.g. half-bloods) are treated very poorly- as are the pure-bloods born without enough powers, like Penelope. There is a revolution underfoot (seems like maybe two), each one supporting one of the sons of the King who rules with an iron fist. They are both in the closet/not clearly out, as this would be treason. Penelope’s younger sister, Anais, was betrothed to the elder son, Tristan, and it is mentioned that this was broken but not why. Anais is still in love with Tristan, but his feelings towards her are less clear. Tristan’s right-hand man, who has been helping with the revolution, Marc is disfigured but powerful. Marc and Penelope have been secretly in love with the other for years- but their friendship has led both to disguise their feelings. Penelope, without powers, is doomed to live a short life. If she were to bond with anyone (a marriage-type ceremony controlled by the King), it is likely that they would die when she died (although not everyone does, most do die when their bonded does). Penelope’s father, the Duke, is behind the other planned revolution with Roland, the King’s young and mean son, which he controls. Just after Penelope finally admits her feelings to Marc, her father wants to use them to his twisted ends, and forces her to get closer to Marc in order to root out his secrets/what he knows about the rebellion. Penelope doesn’t want to do it, but it seems to be the only thing keeping her father from ending her life. It’s a sad tale, as she is fighting stereotypes, her father, and her own feelings. The viewpoints alternate between Penelope and Marc. Overall, I really enjoyed the love story but wish I had more background to understand this alternate world- it certainly made me want to read the trilogy! This is a well written book with a beautiful love story that will be a must for people who love the Malediction Trilogy. Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Lulai
    May 24, 2017
    --- I received this book through NetGalley against an honest review. ---I was fortunate to have this book ahead on netgalley and I liked to being back into that universe even if our heroes were not Tristan and Cécile.I sincerely think this book is a kind of gift to the fans of the serie. Moreover, it contains many spoilers and I advise to read this book after volume 2 or 3, but not start with this prequel. I took pleasure in being back in the universe of the goblins, we discover it here, with tw --- I received this book through NetGalley against an honest review. ---I was fortunate to have this book ahead on netgalley and I liked to being back into that universe even if our heroes were not Tristan and Cécile.I sincerely think this book is a kind of gift to the fans of the serie. Moreover, it contains many spoilers and I advise to read this book after volume 2 or 3, but not start with this prequel. I took pleasure in being back in the universe of the goblins, we discover it here, with two characters who have lived in it for a long time. They are certainly privileged by their status of nobility, but soon we realize that their condition is far from perfect and we understand why Tristan, Marc and Anaïs decided to act and form the rebellion.Moreover, the big discovery of this book is Penelope, until then, we only heard of her, especially by Mark, but in this prequel we are in her head and she is a remarkable young girl. She has always been at the mercy of her father and her physical condition which must be hidden, she is rather a sweet girl full of dreams, but she shows a lot of courage. When she learns that her friends are part of the rebellion, she will support them in her own way and try to protect them from her father, she acts at best and I appreciated what she has done.As far as the plot is concerned, we clearly know where the story leads us and the end is just as sad as I thought it was going to be. However, I can not help but tell myself that this book is not necessary to love the trilogy, it really is a gift from the author to her readers, it remains distracting, but I reserve it for the fans.
    more
  • Erin Arkin
    May 31, 2017
    This was a fantastic addition to the Malediction series. I loved getting to learn more about Marc's story and his relationship with Penelope. It was great to see a younger Tristan.Check out this series if you haven't already. It is one of my favorites!
    more
  • Louisa
    April 18, 2017
    Oh, wow, this book is fantastic! It was hard to read, knowing how it was going to end, but it was so great!
  • Barzah
    April 6, 2017
    Marc's prequel story?? with whole 352 pages?? this is like the best worst thing to ever exist *cries* it even has enemies love trope why not just slay me.
  • Aditi Nichani
    May 5, 2017
    AS SEEN ON: A THOUSAND WORDS A MILLION BOOKS I received an eARC from Angry Robot Books in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. Have you NOT heard me gushing about this series before today? The Malediction Trilogy is TRULY one of the best fantasy series’ out there! It’s filled with magic, curses, politics, strong female characters and the prince of your dreams if you haven’t read it yet, you NEED TO GET YOUR HANDS ON IT!The Broken Ones is a full length pr AS SEEN ON: A THOUSAND WORDS A MILLION BOOKS I received an eARC from Angry Robot Books in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own. Have you NOT heard me gushing about this series before today? The Malediction Trilogy is TRULY one of the best fantasy series’ out there! It’s filled with magic, curses, politics, strong female characters and the prince of your dreams if you haven’t read it yet, you NEED TO GET YOUR HANDS ON IT!The Broken Ones is a full length prequel novel, which revolves around the Prince of Trollus, Tristan De Montingy’s (aka the Second Love of my Life after Rhysand) cousin and best friend, Marc and his love affair with Penelope, Anais’ sister!Long Story Short: I LOVED THIS BOOK! I loved being back in Trollus, I loved learning more about Tristan, Marc, Anais, Vincent and Victoria (even though we barely saw them here) and I LOVED MEETING PENELOPE. LOVED IT. This book brought me back to all the magic under the mountain and I cannot recommend it enough. My Thoughts: • When the AMAZING Danielle Jensen announced that there was going to be another book, I WAS SO EXCITED! I thought my journey in this world ended in SO MANY TEARS and I was so excited to hear that we would be getting to go back! • It was a little strange reading a book that I knew the ending off. I knew how Marc’s and Penelope’s story ended, which characters were there in the sequels (And hence obviously, weren’t killed) but I STILL LOVED IT. • Re-entering this world was SEAMLESS. I adored being in Trollus, in the Glass Gardens, walking with Marc, Tristan and Anais and learning so much more about them. I love and miss them so much. I ALSO HAD FLAILING/ FANGIRL moments when we met secondary characters like Christophe and Elise and Tipps! I loved how this showed up how everything came together.• Another characters I really loved meeting was the Duke d’Angouleme. In the sequels, we’re only introduced to him as a villain and we don’t really hear much of how he works, but he was such a big character in The Broken Ones. I liked his schemes and his cunning nature. I feel like I understood him better and definitely respected him better. • I also loved Penelope. I honestly didn’t give her much thought in the sequels, and Marc seemed like such a silent, background character that he was sort of left in the shadows of Tristan and Cecile’s story. I LOVED THE TWO OF THEM TOGETHER, AND I SHIPPED IT SO SO HARD. They were PERFECT for the other and my heart is officially broken. • Honestly, Danielle Jensen couldn’t have picked a more perfect back story to tell. I loved learning about these characters, but most of all, I LOVED THE FEELING LIKE I WAS BACK AT HOME IN TROLLUS. *sighs in contentment*Thank you, Danielle Jensen, for taking me back to Trollus. I loved it – every single second of it. There’s honestly no better time to binge this entire series – I absolutely COULD NOT RECOMMEND IT MORE! 5 STARS.
    more
  • Meghan Lloyd
    May 14, 2017
    **If you have not read the Malediction trilogy yet, be aware that my review brings up a subject that you may not know about and thus could be considered a spoiler.**...I loved the first two books in the Malediction trilogy (and haven't yet read the third book, unfortunately), and I was excited to read about one of my favorite secondary characters, Marc! His compassion for people and generally good soul made him a favorite in my heart from the start. However, his tragic past was masked a bit in t **If you have not read the Malediction trilogy yet, be aware that my review brings up a subject that you may not know about and thus could be considered a spoiler.**...I loved the first two books in the Malediction trilogy (and haven't yet read the third book, unfortunately), and I was excited to read about one of my favorite secondary characters, Marc! His compassion for people and generally good soul made him a favorite in my heart from the start. However, his tragic past was masked a bit in the trilogy, and so I was intrigued that Danielle Jensen decided to tell his story to those of us who wanted to know. I knew it would be sad, given that the trilogy occurs after his love, Penelope, died, but I vastly underestimated the depth of my sadness by the end of this book. It made Marc's character even more of a tragedy to me, and it wrenched my heart even more to know how happy he could have been if Penelope lived.Marc Biron is the nephew of the king of Trollus and a member of the revolution which hopes to overthrow the king in favor of his son, Tristan. While Marc knows his duty should be to his people and his cousin, his admiration for Penelope d'Angouleme has begun to blossom into a dangerous desire to throw it all away for love. Penelope was born with an affliction, which causes her to be unable to heal in the ways most trolls, and this means she will never be allowed to bond with another troll, let along a royal one like Marc. When her life is threatened by her father and she runs to Marc for help, they set in motion a chain of events which threaten to destroy not only themselves but everyone in their world. Sometimes love doesn't conquer all...Penelope was as sweet as I imagined her to be! It made me angry how her sister and friends wouldn't let her in on their plans, that they looked at her as weak and a liability. The fact that her relationship with Marc made her just that was both depressing and frustrating. I could feel her pain when she knew she would die, and I could feel her love when she did what she had to in order to save Marc and the revolution. They were such a tragic couple, like Romeo and Juliet up until the end. It was magical, romantic, and ultimately a heart-wrenching story of love gone horribly wrong.I would highly recommend reading this book before the trilogy, because it helps you better understand how everything came to be for the first book in the series. You will have a better appreciation for all that Anais has gone through as well, as Penelope's sister and Tristan's one-time love.**I received a free copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Erry
    May 6, 2017
    So, this may seem really strange… but, I have read/own only one book of the Malediction Trilogy, Stolen Songbird… and read it years ago but I loved it! But because college and life and what not, I hadn’t gotten around to reading the rest of the Trilogy, when I requested the e-book on Netgalley. That being said when I started the book it was kind of hard to remember the troll/fae lore of Jensen’s world as well as the fact that I didn’t know if I simply didn’t know what I was missing from other bo So, this may seem really strange… but, I have read/own only one book of the Malediction Trilogy, Stolen Songbird… and read it years ago but I loved it! But because college and life and what not, I hadn’t gotten around to reading the rest of the Trilogy, when I requested the e-book on Netgalley. That being said when I started the book it was kind of hard to remember the troll/fae lore of Jensen’s world as well as the fact that I didn’t know if I simply didn’t know what I was missing from other books.The premise of the book follows Marc and Penelope, both who are pawns in a war for the throne of Trollus. Marc is the right-hand man of the rebel leader and is trying to overthrow the tyrant king that sits on the throne. Pénélope, daughter of the Duke d’Angoulême, and is afflicted with a sickness that makes her worthless. She is given one task to prove her worth to her father, seduce Marc to find more about the rebellion. Both this Marc and Penelope must learn to trust each other as they navigate the web of lies and intrigue that surround the court.Okay, I love Danielle L. Jensen she is a genius when it comes to writing. Generally, I am not a huge fan of first-person POV in my fantasy/historical fiction novels, but Jensen is able to pull it off. She is also capable of writing in more than one perspective, a skill that I deeply admire.I loved the characters within this prequel, the characters were beautiful and yet flawed, going to great extents for those that they love. The story was so intriguing and I finished the whole book in one sitting, and at the end, I kinda just sat there stunned. This book was amazing and I love it so much!OTHERSDo I Own A Copy? → Yep.Final rating → 10/5 Stars (Is that allowed?)Aesthetic Covers → I LOVES IT!
    more
  • Natalie (TheTruthAboutBooks)
    May 9, 2017
    *eARC received from publisher through netgalley in exchange for an honest review*This was the prequel I never knew I needed!Marc and Penelopes story was always one I wanted to know more about. Marc is easily one of my favorite characters from Stolen Songbird and he has a very heart breaking past. We know the story between Marc and Penny when he tells Cecile briefly what happened with his own bonding in Stolen Songbird.This was so much more then perfect. Penelope is not a character we know other *eARC received from publisher through netgalley in exchange for an honest review*This was the prequel I never knew I needed!Marc and Penelopes story was always one I wanted to know more about. Marc is easily one of my favorite characters from Stolen Songbird and he has a very heart breaking past. We know the story between Marc and Penny when he tells Cecile briefly what happened with his own bonding in Stolen Songbird.This was so much more then perfect. Penelope is not a character we know other then a bit of her tragic story. It was wonderful getting to meet the girl that Marc gave up so much for. It was also amazing getting to see what Marc was like before all this happened. He is definitely changed by these events and it is apparent in the difference in his character between Stolen Songbird and this book.I have so much more appreciation for Marc as a character. Even with the events at the end of the book he does so much to protect those he loves. And this is a story that makes that even more apparent. It was was a heart breaking ending but we find out more about how Marc survived the ending of his bond.Overall I was so pleased with this book and loved it so much! :)
    more
  • Theresa
    May 5, 2017
    Review of an ARC kindly provided by Netgalley.THIS BOOK BROKE MY HEART. Knowing how it ended made it so much harder to read, but also more impactful. Definitely recommend reading this AFTER the Malediction trilogy rather than before, because it just means so much more this way.I loved reading about Marc and Pénélope's love story, even though at times this book did feel quite rushed and the plot could have been fleshed out further, but I guess that is the problem with prequels - you need to stick Review of an ARC kindly provided by Netgalley.THIS BOOK BROKE MY HEART. Knowing how it ended made it so much harder to read, but also more impactful. Definitely recommend reading this AFTER the Malediction trilogy rather than before, because it just means so much more this way.I loved reading about Marc and Pénélope's love story, even though at times this book did feel quite rushed and the plot could have been fleshed out further, but I guess that is the problem with prequels - you need to stick to what you've already established and that can be kind of limiting.On a sidenote, I could've done without the Tristan x Anais sort-of-romantic-involvement situations but that's just jealousy on behalf of Cécile talking - of course it needed to be in the book, but it was like I was watching him cheat on her and that didn't sit right with me :POverall, SO happy I got to read this book, will definitely be filming and uploading a more detailed review of this in anticipation of its release on June 6th here: www.youtube.com/user/ivymuse
    more
  • Christi
    May 25, 2017
    I struggled a little with this book because my preconceived notion of trolls is ugly, nasty creatures. The author challenged my preconception and presented me with a unique story. I was wrapped up into the world of Trollus and the fates of Tristan, Marc, Penelope and the King. Fans of Fantasy should give this series a try.http://loveofthewrittenword.blogspot....
    more
  • Christina (A Reader of Fictions)
    May 21, 2017
    3.5 stars
  • Pili
    April 18, 2017
    I was so happy when Danielle announced that she was writing a prequel and it would be the story of Marc and Penelope! I knew the story was heartbreaking but it also gives us so much insight about the characters we meet in the Malediction Trilogy and really helps us understand them better too!Reading from both Marc and Penelope's POV was the perfect way to see their friendship and love emerge, even if they both thought it was one-sided in the beginning. I had wanted to know more about Penelope an I was so happy when Danielle announced that she was writing a prequel and it would be the story of Marc and Penelope! I knew the story was heartbreaking but it also gives us so much insight about the characters we meet in the Malediction Trilogy and really helps us understand them better too!Reading from both Marc and Penelope's POV was the perfect way to see their friendship and love emerge, even if they both thought it was one-sided in the beginning. I had wanted to know more about Penelope and not only reading about her story but having her POV was the best way to see how strong she was and how messed up her family really was. The power plays and the political intrigues more common than any sort of affection. Marc I had always liked as a character but in this book I got to love him even more. Torn between duty and his heart and trying to juggle what's right with what he wanted and see him struggle with the choices he had to make and see others make was so heartbreaking!We meet and get to know Anäis as a different person that the girl she has become in Stolen Songbird, and her love for her sister and how she behaves and puts the cause and others before her own ambition made me see her in a very different way. Tristan we get to see from Penelope's eyes and from Mark's eyes and it's so clear how he presents himself to the world and how she has to hide his cause and what he wants to do. Tristan does have quite a bit of growing up to do in this book, and it really broke my heart how he treated Marc sometimes.For some reason I expected the story to be centered about Marc and Penelope and had completely forgotten how very shrouded in power struggles and political manouvering everything was in Trollus, and how their story could not have been otherwise. The Duke of Angouleme and his power games with the King and how he tries to manipulate everything, how Tristan tries to hide his real self and real purpose, how Marc and Penelope struggle to find their own happiness within that maelstrom, it was all both fascinating and so very heartbreaking!If you've read The Malediction trilogy, you really NEED to read this one and if you haven't read the trilogy yet, what are you waiting for??
    more
  • Krutula
    January 18, 2017
    At the time of reading this book, it had been three years since I read Stolen Songbird, so I was mostly going into it without much idea of the plot of that story, except for some key characters in it. This prequel, The Broken Ones, is about Marc and his wife, Penelope, and is told in their alternating narratives, as well as an epilogue from Tristan's. It gives a glimpse into life in Trollus before Cecile's arrival and the whole prophecy setting in motion. This is about the problems with the trol At the time of reading this book, it had been three years since I read Stolen Songbird, so I was mostly going into it without much idea of the plot of that story, except for some key characters in it. This prequel, The Broken Ones, is about Marc and his wife, Penelope, and is told in their alternating narratives, as well as an epilogue from Tristan's. It gives a glimpse into life in Trollus before Cecile's arrival and the whole prophecy setting in motion. This is about the problems with the trolls who were afflicted, and how their lives were affected by the curse upon them, and the centuries of living underground thereafter.In terms of court intrigue, the story serves a smorgasbord of mystery, and plots. There is the resistance growing in the sidelines, Tristan's and Marc's relationship with their friends being tested, Penelope and her sister thrown into it as spies, and the Duke (their father) setting trap after trap for them all. It was wildly unpredictable and wholly thrilling to read this book - I honestly couldn't put it down because I was so busy, my eyes burning through the pages as I was afraid what might befall the characters. I mean, I remembered some characters being in SS and some not, so I could guess at some things, but Jensen still kept me on my toes. And in a week of disappointing books, this one has lifted my spirits. As a prequel or as a story in itself, this book is outstanding. If you are planning to start with this series, however, please read Stolen Songbird first, at least, so as not to be spoiled for the latter. Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review from Angry Robot Books, via Netgalley.
    more
  • nikszti
    April 24, 2017
    I received a copy of this book in exchange of a honest review. “Our world is cursed. Everyone is sick or twisted or dying from the iron and the darkness.” It shows antecedent events and Marc's life before Stolen Songbird. Marc's life isn't easy because he's in love with Pénélope in secret. And while he helps Tristan's plans, that Tristan can take the throne and so he will save the half-bloods. That may sound easy, but the more cunning King especially Duke. “I've lived nearly my entire life belie I received a copy of this book in exchange of a honest review. “Our world is cursed. Everyone is sick or twisted or dying from the iron and the darkness.” It shows antecedent events and Marc's life before Stolen Songbird. Marc's life isn't easy because he's in love with Pénélope in secret. And while he helps Tristan's plans, that Tristan can take the throne and so he will save the half-bloods. That may sound easy, but the more cunning King especially Duke. “I've lived nearly my entire life believing I'd be alone.” Pénélope suffers a lot from her father's anger. Only her sister, Anais can only defend her from it. The sisters' relationship is strong and tight. I liked their bonds' portrayal and I hated their father. Their father is cruel and cunning, he's the evil one himself. “Was it selfish of me to want more?” Marc's strong character. He and Tristan have a brotherly love even if they aren't, but their bonds' strong as well. Marc protect Pénélope at all costs. If he still have to pay a big price. He have to choose, but he loves both of them, so the choice is difficult. Both of them need him. Pénélope is waiting for rescue from her father. Tristan expects to help from him to saving half-bloods and he doesn't become a cruel than his father. “I love you. I've always loved you. Always wanted to be with you. But I never thought I'd get the chance.”“I want to be with you, Pénélope. I need you to know that. And if being with me is what you want, then I'm willing to fight to make it happen.” Marc and Pénélope' love is similar to Romeo and Juliet. At the beginning they tried to keep the distance from each other, but their feelings are much stronger. They come out close to each other, so they can't hide their feelings anymore.I loved them very much. They were so cute together. I liked their fight for each other. Marc was hero and Pénélope was him princess. Unfortunately I knew in advance that they don't expect a happy ending. But even so it broke my heart. Their farewell was so beautifully written. ( “All my life I've loved you. You're the only one who made me believe that I was good enough as I am. Pénélope, if there's a place we go in death, I'll follow you there. I'll find you.” ) “I hope one day you know a love strong enough that your heart will overrule your mind.” Pénélope doesn't even know that it will come true. Tristan will experience the same strong love with Cécile in the Stolen Songbird. Somewhere it changes him. He increasingly will fight for his people.It's a beautiful and painful love story. It warmed my heart so that it could finally crush that one. It's a beautifully written story with excitements and likeable or obnoxious characters. Story was exciting, too. But it mostly focused on the two main characters. The political game isn't over yet. The King and Duke still live, and there is the curse as well.
    more
  • Nicole
    April 9, 2017
    I received this book from net galley for an honest review. Thank you!!I read the Malediction trilogy and enjoyed it. The Broken Ones gave more incite as to how the rebellion came about and to Marc and Penelope's tragic love story. I truly enjoyed this prequel. This novel contains romance, betrayal, and sacrifice.Marc and Penelope have been in love with each other but feel the other does not hold the same desire. Marc and Tristan, along with Vincent, Victoria, and Anais, are involved in a plot to I received this book from net galley for an honest review. Thank you!!I read the Malediction trilogy and enjoyed it. The Broken Ones gave more incite as to how the rebellion came about and to Marc and Penelope's tragic love story. I truly enjoyed this prequel. This novel contains romance, betrayal, and sacrifice.Marc and Penelope have been in love with each other but feel the other does not hold the same desire. Marc and Tristan, along with Vincent, Victoria, and Anais, are involved in a plot to bring down the king of Trollus. Marc has been the middle man between the half bloods and the true leader of the rebellion, Tristan. Marc and Tristan are cousins and Tristan needs Marc. Penelope and Anais are sisters and daughters to the duke d'Angouleme, who wants to overthrow Tristan's father, the king, and but Tristan's brother on the throne as a puppet king. Due to Penelope's affliction, the king breaks the engagement between Tristan and Anais, which angers the duke and gets Penelope to act as a spy.Penelope is kept in the dark about her friends true motives, but eventually figures it how. Marc tried but could not keep things from Penelope, especially when she provided information about the duke's intentions. In order to save Penelope, Marc and her do the bonding ceremony. This angers happy, but some are happy since it helps with their plans. Marc would do anything for Penelope, but it is Penelope who ends up making the greater sacrifice to save the man she loves.
    more
Write a review