The Backstagers, Vol. 1
All the world's a stage . . . but what happens behind the curtain is pure magic literally! When Jory transfers to an all-boys private high school, he s taken in by the only ones who don t treat him like a new kid, the lowly stage crew known as the Backstagers. Not only does he gain great, lifetime friends, Jory is also introduced to an entire magical world that lives beyond the curtain. With the unpredictable twists and turns of the underground world, the Backstagers venture into the unknown, determined to put together the best play their high school has ever seen. James Tynion IV (Detective Comics, The Woods) teams up with artist Rian Sygh (Munchkin, Stolen Forest) for an incredibly earnest story that explores what it means to find a place to fit in when you're kinda an outcast."

The Backstagers, Vol. 1 Details

TitleThe Backstagers, Vol. 1
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherBOOM! Box
ISBN1608869938
ISBN-139781608869930
Number of pages112 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Graphic Novels Comics, Young Adult, Comic Book, Glbt, Queer

The Backstagers, Vol. 1 Review

  • Maria (Big City Bookworm)
    April 2, 2017
    *Note: The first issue of The Backstagers by James Tynion IV was provided to me via NetGalley through the publisher Boom! Box. This does not effect my opinion in any way.--Well wasn’t that just fun and adorable. I don’t remember the last time I read something so happy and colourful. I know, I have no soul apparently. Anyways, this was just a refreshing and unique read compared to what I’m used to and I absolutely loved reading it! I read it as individual issues and it was so hard to be patient a *Note: The first issue of The Backstagers by James Tynion IV was provided to me via NetGalley through the publisher Boom! Box. This does not effect my opinion in any way.--Well wasn’t that just fun and adorable. I don’t remember the last time I read something so happy and colourful. I know, I have no soul apparently. Anyways, this was just a refreshing and unique read compared to what I’m used to and I absolutely loved reading it! I read it as individual issues and it was so hard to be patient and wait a month for each new issue! I’m not sure if this story is continuing or if it was a stand alone graphic novel, but I’m already itching for more!--What I LikedThe story. It was fun and refreshing and terribly cute. I love the idea of a story about the stage crew rather than the actual actors/drama group on stage. I mean, we all know the crew has more fun right?The adventure. Not only was it super cute and refreshing, but it was jam packed full of adventure. Not just your regular everyday adventure either. Oh no, this was magical and eccentric and all kinds of amazing.The diversity. There is just so much representation throughout this entire series. It’s one big giant LGBTQIA+ love fest and I loved every minute of it.The colours. This is probably one of the most colourful and vibrant comics I have ever read! Totally not anything like the dark and dreary stuff I usually read. It was a nice change for me to read something so bright!The characters. I loved each and every single on of them. Each member of the stage crew is unique and I loved them all for very different reasons.--What I Didn’t LikeA little juvenile. As mentioned, I usually read comics that are a little more dark and depressing, so I’m not sure if it was because this story was so happy and cute, but it did feel a little too juvenile at times for my tastes.--Overall, this was everything that I needed in a comic at the moment. It was completely out of my norm in terms of comics that I tend to drift toward and I’m so glad that I decided to take the chance and try something new! This was cute, fun and all kind of adorable.
    more
  • Sheilah
    February 6, 2017
    I have always had a love for graphic novels, but I have to enjoy the art style. Even if the story is amazing, it won't hook me unless the pictures speak to my creative soul.I liked the looks of this graphic novel from the start. It was colorful and had a teenage quality that fit the synopsis. It revolves around a new kid at school named Jory. The story follows him on his first day as he tries to find a place he can fit in. What I liked most about this story is that it took an awkward, self-consc I have always had a love for graphic novels, but I have to enjoy the art style. Even if the story is amazing, it won't hook me unless the pictures speak to my creative soul.I liked the looks of this graphic novel from the start. It was colorful and had a teenage quality that fit the synopsis. It revolves around a new kid at school named Jory. The story follows him on his first day as he tries to find a place he can fit in. What I liked most about this story is that it took an awkward, self-conscious teen and gave him a home with the stage crew kids that are often overlooked. It reminded me of my own high school years and the different places kids gravitated towards.This is a story written for the geeky kids, the kids who are maybe not the most popular, the ones who find families in friends that are a bit awkward like themselves.The story was vibrant and magical and catered to the often overshadowed kids. I thought it was a truly beautiful little tale.https://cellardoorbooks.wordpress.com...
    more
  • CeeMarie
    February 12, 2017
    I really enjoyed this comic and am eager to see where the story goes. I liked the art and thought the idea of what is going on backstage of the drama club and making this whole other mysterious and sometimes dangerous world behind the scenes where the average person has no idea what's going on to be a unique and fun set up for this series. It works well for a comic series and I like it!
    more
  • Mehsi
    January 30, 2017
    Review to come in July.
  • Lianne - Literary Diversions
    March 7, 2017
    Backstagers Vol. 1 is a weird little ditty about Jory who has recently moved to a new high school. Forced to look for an after-school club to attend whilst his mother works in the evenings, Jory stumbles his way towards the Drama Club and finds himself in the strange underground (or rather under-stage) world of The Backstagers.This one was really disappointing for me for a handful of reasons.Our main character Jory is a lot of capital letter things: New Kid, Classic Geek, Funny Guy etcetera and Backstagers Vol. 1 is a weird little ditty about Jory who has recently moved to a new high school. Forced to look for an after-school club to attend whilst his mother works in the evenings, Jory stumbles his way towards the Drama Club and finds himself in the strange underground (or rather under-stage) world of The Backstagers.This one was really disappointing for me for a handful of reasons.Our main character Jory is a lot of capital letter things: New Kid, Classic Geek, Funny Guy etcetera and whilst some of these character traits work really well together, so many of them all crammed together read a little like they’ve been lifted from a Create A Character 101 list. Whilst Jory’s dialogue was pithy, well-placed, well-timed, and funny, just as I felt myself getting into the swing of it and thoroughly expecting everyone to be on the same level ala a Joss Whedon script, we are then introduced to two Extremely Effeminate Very-Heavily-Implied Gay Brothers (the main actors) who screech and bitch in the most stereotypical way possible, bursting any bubble. Annnnnnd then they treat Jory, the only black character, as a porter and a fetch-and-carry boy from the second they set eyes on him. Which was pretty much where my tolerance ended. I was really, really uncomfortable with the representations in this one. As well as Jory being the only black character and the Gay Do You Hear Me GAY?! Brothers, there was one other character who may have been Asian (it was difficult to tell from the illustration) and so, OF COURSE, was their token technology geek and then one other kid who seemed to have mental health issues (specifically a lower mental age than everyone else) in a way that was exploited for comic effect.On top of all of this, I feel like the main effort put into the art was skewed to exaggerating Key Features – also capital letters – for some of the things we’re meant to pay attention to as we’re being clued in. Jory’s afro is insane, the kid who has mental issues is miniscule compared to everyone else, the Gay Brothers have quaffed and stunning hair… In short, despite the fact that this one is marketed on its LGBTQIA+ inclusiveness, I felt like Backstagers has a lot of work to do before it’s going to convince anyone of its intentions.Sidenote after posting: I'm aware that James Tynion identifies as bisexual and Rian Sygh is trans and that this does make this series Own Voices (as I believe it becomes more diverse as it goes on) but as I'm only reviewing a single issue here, I can't comment on how this may further influence the series except to say that I hope the representation improved and that I find it somewhat more problematic that things were handled so poorly in this first volume.
    more
  • Weezie
    January 26, 2017
    I've been trying to get more into comics and graphic novels... and The Backstagers was definitely a great addition. Everyone knows the stage crew has way more fun than any of the actors.
  • Laura (bbliophile)
    January 25, 2017
    This was such a fun read! The art was very cute and colorful, the cast was diverse (and I'm seeing a potential squad forming!!) and I'm very tempted to buy #2 right now.
  • Lujane
    February 11, 2017
    OMGG SOO CUTEEEE!!!!
  • Hristina
    March 18, 2017
    In a nutshell, The Backstagers is a comic about a group of friends who meet in a room that has the words 'STAGE DOOR' written on it. I read a snippet of the volume, and I was really intrigued by what I read. While I can't make a strong comment about the story behind the comic, since I read just a chunk, I can make the following argument on why this comic is good: the art is amazing.I can't wait to read more of it.
    more
  • Simon
    February 16, 2017
    A funny, colourful, and modern adventure for everyone.tl;dr at Overall, as alwaysBackstagers is a book from BOOM! Studios about a single-gender group of adventurers that get into difficult, fun, and thrilling situations. Yes, that does sound remarkably like Lumberjanes. No, it's not a carbon copy. With that out of the way - here is why it deserves your attention.Backstagers is bold - it's characters versatile with varying background, sexual orientations, and personalities. It's creative - some o A funny, colourful, and modern adventure for everyone.tl;dr at Overall, as alwaysBackstagers is a book from BOOM! Studios about a single-gender group of adventurers that get into difficult, fun, and thrilling situations. Yes, that does sound remarkably like Lumberjanes. No, it's not a carbon copy. With that out of the way - here is why it deserves your attention.Backstagers is bold - it's characters versatile with varying background, sexual orientations, and personalities. It's creative - some of the jokes lean on the absurd sense of humor, so if "tea party, hosted by giant birds" sounds amusing to you, this is the title for you. It's bright - I'm not 100% sold on the cartoonishness, but colour palette here is just insanely delightful (emphasis on "insane").The dialogues are snappy, the emphasis is placed on interactions between the heroes, not random wackiness, and mysteries abound, as this world's lore expands with every issue. Honestly, I don't want to compare this to Lumberjanes as this is very much its own thing, but the comparison works well, as both comics are delightful, family-friendly, cast-showcasing adventures. This feels a lot like cartoons from the 90's: Duck Tales, Rescue Rangers and such. But with the added benefit of representation, deeper stories replacing the somewhat tiring "monster of the week" format, and beautifully optimistic views on modern life and love. What's not to love?Overall, original, diverse, utterly insane, laugh-out-loud look behind the scenes of theatre and magic. Worth your time if you like to give your attention to good, pretty, and engaging comic books. I'm not a big fan of James Tynion IV's body of work (I hate most of it, to be completely honest), but this is a pleasant surprise and I urge everyone to give this a chance.
    more
  • Tara
    February 15, 2017
    I received this arc from Netgalley for an honest review.I really enjoyed this new graphic novel series. Jory is the new kid in his all boys school and he isn't impressed. His mom wants him to get involved in a school activity, but he would rather hang in the bushes. He eventually joins the backstagers, a group of guys that don't treat him like the new guy and the antics begin. Looking forward to the next installment.
    more
  • Kristina
    January 27, 2017
    Thank you to the publisher for providing me with an e-copy of this volume.I just love this comic.It's cute, it's pastel, it's funny, it's diverse, it's full of love and friendship.The first volume was great, pulling you into the magical backstage (which reminded me a bit of The Room of Requirements, but not completely), and you get to learn about all sorts of stuff. I loved the adventures Jory and his friends had, and I think my favorite character so far is Sasha, or maybe Hunter.Anyway, the end Thank you to the publisher for providing me with an e-copy of this volume.I just love this comic.It's cute, it's pastel, it's funny, it's diverse, it's full of love and friendship.The first volume was great, pulling you into the magical backstage (which reminded me a bit of The Room of Requirements, but not completely), and you get to learn about all sorts of stuff. I loved the adventures Jory and his friends had, and I think my favorite character so far is Sasha, or maybe Hunter.Anyway, the ending surprised me very much, and I can't wait to get my hands on the next volume.
    more
  • TheTick
    January 26, 2017
    The Backstagers (written by James Tynion IV, Detective Comics) is a YA story about a kid named Jory, who transfers to an all-boys school and has trouble fitting in. He's prodded into checking out the Drama club, and is shocked to learn there's a whole supernatural world behind the curtains that only the stage crew is aware of. Rian Sygh handles the art, with colors from Walter Baiamont. Again, cute and fun, if not exactly shaking the foundations of sequential art.
    more
  • Ashley
    February 26, 2017
    I loved the start to this graphic novel. It's colorful, clever, and the cast is fun. Jory has just started a new all boys' school, and is nervous about joining an after school club. He decides to go to Drama Club and gets sucked into the wacky world of the Backstagers.What a fun read! I can't wait to see what happens next.
    more
  • Chelsey
    June 14, 2017
    What a fun, creative ride! This has a bit of a Lumberjanes vibe to it, but with a more cohesive overarching plot. It toes the ridiculousness line admirably, and I can't wait to find out what happens to this stage crew!
  • Rafal
    June 10, 2017
    the art is so beautiful, so is the color palette!
  • Michelle Doering
    May 18, 2017
    THIS IS REALLY CUTE AND REALLY DIVERSE AND REALLY WELL-WRITTEN. I highly recommend.
  • Magnolia
    March 12, 2017
    From Magnolia Reviews: Three PetalsRecommending this story is very hard because I was only provided the first twenty-five pages on Netgalley. I liked what I was given, and the characters and magic were definitely interesting, but without the full story I can't say whether the overall book was good or not. I'll let you make your own decision when the full story eventually comes out. Read the full review on Maggie's website: http://magnoliareviews.weebly.com/rev...
    more
  • Genna
    March 9, 2017
    Awesome! Love this funny, original, and bold new series. I think it's representative of many typically misunderstood perspectives. It's a welcome edition to the YA graphic novel scene. I can't wait to see what's in store for the Backstagers.
  • McKenzie
    March 6, 2017
    Mystery and magic abound in this graphic novel about a new school, new friends, and fitting-in. While some of the characters are stereotypical, this story is anything but - you never know what will happen next behind the curtains.
  • Bryce Van Vleet
    March 2, 2017
    Whoops - just realized I never actually posted a review for this! The Backstagers was such a fun volume! I was really engrossed in the characters and world building. I was an actor for most of my time in high school, but became a stage manager my junior year. My freshmen year of college I also worked as a freelance lighting designer and an assistant stage manager for a local community theater, so it was fun to see such a quirky look at life as a high school technician. I was also obsessed wi Whoops - just realized I never actually posted a review for this! The Backstagers was such a fun volume! I was really engrossed in the characters and world building. I was an actor for most of my time in high school, but became a stage manager my junior year. My freshmen year of college I also worked as a freelance lighting designer and an assistant stage manager for a local community theater, so it was fun to see such a quirky look at life as a high school technician. I was also obsessed with the relationships the teens had with one another. My favorite, though, was the mockery of actors (who I love, of course, but who are also the hardest part of my job). This was a really fun, non-pretentious series and I'm so glad I stepped out of my comfort zone to read it!
    more
  • Lisa
    February 12, 2017
    I put in a "wish" to received a snippet of this graphic novel on Netgalley in exchange for a review. Obviously, a full review won't be available till publication, especially as you do only received the first volume, which is a depressingly short 25 pages, but I can easily say that I'm very excited for this graphic novel to release in July 2017. (It does look like the book is already out in separate editions? But I'm not sure how that works; graphic novels are still very new to me. Honestly, I'm I put in a "wish" to received a snippet of this graphic novel on Netgalley in exchange for a review. Obviously, a full review won't be available till publication, especially as you do only received the first volume, which is a depressingly short 25 pages, but I can easily say that I'm very excited for this graphic novel to release in July 2017. (It does look like the book is already out in separate editions? But I'm not sure how that works; graphic novels are still very new to me. Honestly, I'm quite happy to wait for the physical copy, but who knows, maybe I'll become impatient...)The art style is very cute and bright and colourful, the characters seem fun and unique, and everything just looks to be leading to some quirky, fantastical adventures. I can't wait! And so, for now, my honest "review" is a rating for 4 stars for what I saw. Maybe this will change when I get my hands on the book, maybe it won't. And although I won't be counting this towards my reading goal right now, it's definitely in my list of books I'm excited for in 2017.
    more
  • Christy
    December 22, 2016
    Let's crawl into our impossible magic underground world where things make sense. The Backstagers is so damn great! No surprise that the writing and art equally make this book a must-read for fans out there. Highly recommend!
  • MyWolfs_Booktaste
    January 24, 2017
    **eArc given through Netgalley for Honest Review**I honestly couldn't get into the graphic novel. I like the art, it was different but I just couldn't connect but just cause it wasn't for me doesn't mean it won't be for you. Rating:
  • Imogene
    April 21, 2017
    As a Backstager myself, I can confirm that this is exactly what happens. Also, everyone is getting a copy of this, especially my gay theatre loving teenage son who knows how to run a sound desk, follow spot, and smoke machine amd so cou,d titally be a character in this book
    more
  • Jamie-Lee
    January 29, 2017
    An intriguing idea with an exciting set-up! Can;t wait to see what's in store next for the backstagers!
  • RemiV Foliage
    February 26, 2017
    I enjoyed reading this comic. The 'backstagers' idea is new. People always focus on people on the stage rather than people behind the curtain.
Write a review