Where the Light Falls
Set in Revolutionary Paris, a rich and sweeping novel about courage, duty, sacrifice, and love by the bestselling author of Sisi, Allison Pataki, and her brother, Owen Pataki.From the courtrooms to the battlefields to the alleyways of Paris, with cameos from infamous figures in French history, the Patakis have crafted an epic, action-packed novel of the French Revolution as it has never been seen before. Three years after the storming of the Bastille, Paris is enlivened with the ideals of liberty, equality, and fraternity. The monarchy has been dismantled and a new nation, for the people, is rising up in its place. Jean-Luc, a young optimistic lawyer, moves his wife, Marie, and their son to Paris, inspired by a sense of duty to contribute to the new order. André, the son of a former nobleman, flees his privileged past to fight in the unified French Army with his roguish brother. Sophie, a beautiful young aristocratic widow and niece of a powerful, vindictive uncle, embarks on her own fight for independence.Underneath the glimmer of hope and freedom, chaos threatens to undo all the progress of the revolution and the lives of these compatriots become inextricably linked. As the demand for justice breeds instability, creates enemies out of compatriots, and fuels a constant thirst for blood in the streets, Jean-Luc, Andre, and Sophie are forced to question the sacrifices made for the revolution. Liberty proves a fragile, fleeting ideal, and survival seems less and less likely—both for these unforgettable individuals, and indeed for the new nation itself.

Where the Light Falls Details

TitleWhere the Light Falls
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherDial Press
ISBN0399591680
ISBN-139780399591686
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreHistorical, Cultural, France, Fiction, European History, French Revolution, Literary Fiction, Literature, 18th Century

Where the Light Falls Review

  • Angela M
    June 12, 2017
    I don't know very much about the French Revolution or really very much about this time in French history at all. While I was interested in the historical aspects of this book, my choice to read it was mostly based on the descriptions of the characters in the book blurb which appealed to me, as well as the desire to just read something different. It was through some fascinating characters, some fictional, some real people and some based on real people that the events of the times and the spirit o I don't know very much about the French Revolution or really very much about this time in French history at all. While I was interested in the historical aspects of this book, my choice to read it was mostly based on the descriptions of the characters in the book blurb which appealed to me, as well as the desire to just read something different. It was through some fascinating characters, some fictional, some real people and some based on real people that the events of the times and the spirit of the times were brought to life for me . It did though take me a while to get into the story, but once I did I was captivated by the lives of the four main protagonists even though we do meet the likes of Robespierre and Napoleon. Jean-Luc St. Clair, an young attorney, dedicated to the new government and the ideals of freedom and equality takes a job in Paris. His wife Marie, one of my favorite characters is strong and full of loyalty to the causes of freedom as well. Andre de Valiere, a nobleman stripped of his "de" which classifies him as of that class is a soldier also dedicated to moving France forward after the revolution. Sophie is the young widow that Andre falls in love with and because she is being "protected" by her Uncle, really the epitome of evil, Andre's life is in peril. How the paths of these four characters cross and how their lives become connected represented one level of the story - these individuals, the love and friendship, hopes and dreams. The bigger picture also is of what was happening in the country and the role these people played is also depicted. I was especially impressed by the strength and courage of Sophie and especially Marie at a time when women had no rights. I appreciated the authors' note about which characters were real, which were fictional and which were based on real people. It appears that the story was well researched. It is 3.5 stars because of how long it took me to really be engaged but rounded up to 4 stars for the strength of the second half of the book. Recommended to readers of historical fiction. I received an advanced copy of this book from The Dial Press/Random House Publishing Group-Random House through NetGalley and Edelweiss.
    more
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    June 19, 2017
    Thanks to Goodreads, the authors, and the publisher for the early copy of Where the Light Falls. If you remember anything about the French Revolution from history class, you remember The Terror; and that is vividly depicted in this book. There was clearly a great deal of research to write this novel, and I love that the authors are siblings. I have read and enjoyed The Accidental Empress by Allison Pataki and have been looking forward to WTLF. This was a slow-building historical, which worked we Thanks to Goodreads, the authors, and the publisher for the early copy of Where the Light Falls. If you remember anything about the French Revolution from history class, you remember The Terror; and that is vividly depicted in this book. There was clearly a great deal of research to write this novel, and I love that the authors are siblings. I have read and enjoyed The Accidental Empress by Allison Pataki and have been looking forward to WTLF. This was a slow-building historical, which worked well for me until I got to the middle, and then it felt a little draggy. It picked back up again towards the latter half. I was easily drawn into the characters' lives. I have read some other books about the French Revolution, Napolean, and time period, and this book offered different perspectives - one of a a former noble/military captain, an underpaid lawyer working for the Revolution, and two empowered women for the time. It is hard to fathom how the want for positive change wound up being so blood thirsty and tumultuous. This book had its flaws, but overall was enjoyable for me. I think my friends who enjoy slower-moving historicals will like it, especially if they are already fans of Allison Pataki's writing.2017 Summer Vacation Book #2
    more
  • Jen
    May 22, 2017
    The era of the French Revolution is not my normal choice for historical fiction, so this book definitely took me by surprise! Thank you to Andrea over at Great Thoughts, Great Readers and NetGalley for the pleasure of getting to read this advanced copy. The groundwork and research that went into this novel is fascinating and I absolutely loved reading something I haven't really read more of in the past. The characters are well written and the story develops and intertwines quite nicely throughou The era of the French Revolution is not my normal choice for historical fiction, so this book definitely took me by surprise! Thank you to Andrea over at Great Thoughts, Great Readers and NetGalley for the pleasure of getting to read this advanced copy. The groundwork and research that went into this novel is fascinating and I absolutely loved reading something I haven't really read more of in the past. The characters are well written and the story develops and intertwines quite nicely throughout the book. Where the Light Falls is a fantastic work of historical fiction in a book world where we see a lot of WWII novels. I highly recommend picking this one up.
    more
  • Barbara
    June 25, 2017
    I have to admit that my knowledge of French Revolution history is minimal. I tend to focus on WWI and WWII, but this story of the French Revolution was so engaging that I plan to go back and learn a bit more. The story takes place after the storming of the Bastille, many titled people have already gone to the guillotine and the new republic is trying to take hold. The story is really 2 stories ones, that of Andre, Army captain whose father was guillotined, but he has sworn his allegiance to the I have to admit that my knowledge of French Revolution history is minimal. I tend to focus on WWI and WWII, but this story of the French Revolution was so engaging that I plan to go back and learn a bit more. The story takes place after the storming of the Bastille, many titled people have already gone to the guillotine and the new republic is trying to take hold. The story is really 2 stories ones, that of Andre, Army captain whose father was guillotined, but he has sworn his allegiance to the new republic and his pursuit of love in an unsettled time and that of Jean-Luc, a young lawyer, husband, and, father working for the new republic, but trying to bring a sense of normalcy to the chaos of the revolution. The authors seamlessly weave historical people such as Robespierre and Louis and Antoinette into the story to lend authenticity. It's a sweeping story that give us a peek a tumultuous time in world history without being dull or dry in any way.
    more
  • Susan Peterson
    June 4, 2017
    Where the Light Falls is compelling historical fiction; a sweeping saga which takes place during the French Revolution, from the battlefields to the courts of law to the modest homes of its citizens and even to the horrors of La Place de Revolution where the guillotine performed its ugly deeds. This story is centered around four protagonists; a young idealist lawyer and his wife, and a former nobleman turned soldier and the woman he loves. These four bring heart and emotions to this story as we Where the Light Falls is compelling historical fiction; a sweeping saga which takes place during the French Revolution, from the battlefields to the courts of law to the modest homes of its citizens and even to the horrors of La Place de Revolution where the guillotine performed its ugly deeds. This story is centered around four protagonists; a young idealist lawyer and his wife, and a former nobleman turned soldier and the woman he loves. These four bring heart and emotions to this story as we follow their journey during this turbulent time. The authors do a brilliant job of putting us in the scenes; readers will feel the fear, the pride, and the determination of all the participants. They have woven a tale that conveys the extremes of the times; good and evil, love and hate, hope and despair. This book is historical fiction at its best; bringing historical facts to life with human emotions. While I learned a lot about the French Revolution, I also cared deeply for the characters in this book.
    more
  • Jean Kolinofsky
    May 9, 2017
    I would like to thank NetGalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for a review. Set in Paris in the years after the revolution, Allison and Owen Pataki have written a story that reflects the chaos and terror of the time. Opening with the last days of aristocrat Alexandre de Valiere, they take you from his prison cell to La Place de la Revolution where the guillotine awaits. Andre Valiere, son of the doomed aristocrat, has renounced his title and lands and serves in the army, hoping t I would like to thank NetGalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for a review. Set in Paris in the years after the revolution, Allison and Owen Pataki have written a story that reflects the chaos and terror of the time. Opening with the last days of aristocrat Alexandre de Valiere, they take you from his prison cell to La Place de la Revolution where the guillotine awaits. Andre Valiere, son of the doomed aristocrat, has renounced his title and lands and serves in the army, hoping that this will save him from the same fate. After falling for the niece of an influential general who bears resentment toward him and his family, even his military service may not save him.Jean-Luc St Clair is a young lawyer from the south of France who has left his position in his father-in-law's firm to do his part for the new government in Paris. While his wife struggles with food shortages and caring for their young son, he is assigned to inventory the contents of estates seized from condemned nobles. Hoping to advance, he makes connections with a powerful lawyer. As his own influence grows, so do the dangers facing him and his family.This is a fascinating look at an important part of French history. Although there are small changes in the timeline of events, the narrative gives the reader the ability to experience these events and their effects on the people of France. From the war with the Prussians to the rise of Napoleon and his Battle of the Pyramids, it was a turbulent time that has been beautifully portrayed by the authors.
    more
  • nikkia neil
    May 27, 2017
    Thanks Random House Publishing Group - Random House and netgalley for this ARC.The Pataki's have succeeded in writing a fresh, unique, and stimulating novel about the revolution. I loved the personal stories all converging into a explosive finale.
  • Brian
    June 3, 2017
    I received (actually my wife did) this book through a Give-away on Good reads in exchange for an honest review.I originally rated this book a 4, but after a couple of weeks of thinking about this review, I upped it to a 5. I really enjoy Allison Pataki's writing style. For me it is very easy to read, and flows along smoothly. I enjoy the details of description, but they never become overbearing. That being said, I noticed a difference in the ebb and flow in certain sections of the book. For exam I received (actually my wife did) this book through a Give-away on Good reads in exchange for an honest review.I originally rated this book a 4, but after a couple of weeks of thinking about this review, I upped it to a 5. I really enjoy Allison Pataki's writing style. For me it is very easy to read, and flows along smoothly. I enjoy the details of description, but they never become overbearing. That being said, I noticed a difference in the ebb and flow in certain sections of the book. For example, the battle scene in Egypt. It seemed a little herky jerky, and left me thinking. Huh? How did he (Andre) do that. I have to assume those portions were more heavily written by Owen. Understand, the difference was not enough to change the overall perception of the book, just noticeable differences I never experienced while reading The Accidental Empress or The Traitors Wife.But, back to the book. The overall feel and historical overtones were excellent. It is evident the author immerses herself in the history and culture of the areas she is writing about. She seems to pick up the feel and vernacular, even the rhythm of speech regardless if the character is in Paris, Budapest, or New York. But again, back to this book, I found the characters to be very well developed and in some cases almost too real. There were those who were so hateful and evil that I wanted to skip that section because of what I thought they might do next. Then, there were characters that you could not help but like and think that I could really get along with them. I give the book a 5 star rating because of the realism of the characters, and the realism of the setting for this story. Yes, some of the story does not follow actual history, but for those who seem to pounce on that fact my advice is: Get over it! This is a novel, not a textbook! (and by the way, READ the authors notes!!!)
    more
  • Christine Moore
    June 21, 2017
    This was an amazing historical fiction book. I haven't read any books that took place during this time period and I thoroughly enjoyed learning about this time period. This book takes place during the French revolution . I liked the 4 main characters and enjoyed how their stories intertwined. The book was beautifully written and you felt like you were there as you are reading. Thank you to NetGalley and Dial Press for an ARC of the book in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Candice Valdez
    May 28, 2017
    This book is amazing. I did not know much about the French revolution and this book brought it to life for me. The details were written beautifully and I felt like I was right there in the action. Loved the story of the four main characters and how they became interconnected. This is definitely a must read.I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Katherine
    June 21, 2017
    What an engrossing story--French Revolution devolving into the Reign of Terror. Simply horrifying. The rabble bound to have freedom, equality and fraternity are frightening enough but the men who managed to wrest power from the nobility are ruthless. For simply questioning the need to use the guillotine so universally one could find oneself summarily carted off to prison, given a joke for a trial and find yourself one of its next victims. It mattered not what the rank of the person nor the situa What an engrossing story--French Revolution devolving into the Reign of Terror. Simply horrifying. The rabble bound to have freedom, equality and fraternity are frightening enough but the men who managed to wrest power from the nobility are ruthless. For simply questioning the need to use the guillotine so universally one could find oneself summarily carted off to prison, given a joke for a trial and find yourself one of its next victims. It mattered not what the rank of the person nor the situation and company in which such doubts are expressed--none are safe. In reading of the threats and insidious betrayals of friends I could not help but think of the similar conditions in Russia during their revolution, of the rise of Hitler in Germany and many subsequent events in South and Central America and also in the Mideast. In one character's defense of the rampant death sentences, when another character compared the relatively bloodless success of the American revolutionaries, he said that the American's were not surrounded by other countries willing to invade them and to support resisters within. Therefore, he continued, it was essential to eliminate the enemies within totally so that they could not stop the Revolution when aided by these other monarchies which did not wish to see its success. An interesting point. Yet, so many of those who were condemned to death were people whom the new leaders held personal animus toward or whose possessions were envied and therefore had to be taken from them. Into this maelstrom of chaos and revolt enter the characters who wish change in France and who are willing to help the cause but who are not leaders in it. The young idealistic lawyer from the South of France, Jean-Luc St Clair who moves to Paris with his wife, Marie and their young son, Mathieu. Jean-Luc finds a job with the government doing the inventory of the clothing, furniture etc taken from nobles' homes and from various Churches and convents. He also acts as lawyer in suits brought by common Citizens against members of the nobility. Not a very highly paid position but the young couple are glad to be of service and are barely noticed. That is, until Jean-Luc's trust in the law and justice cause him to take on a very dangerous case.Then there is Andre Valiere and his brother, Remy. Both are soldiers in the French Army, where they hope they will be safe, since in actuality their surname is de Valiere and their father has already lost his head, having been a land rich noble from the North. His accuser, his former friend and fellow officer, General Murat and his prosecutor, Guilliame Lazare. Neither man will rest until they have been able to have Andre and Remy thrown in jail and eventually killed. This cat and mouse game carries us through the rise of Bonaparte and his invasion of Egypt. It ends ironically with his own crowning as Emperor. The revolt started with the almost total eradication of those nobles who remained in France, the beheading of a King and his Queen, The Terror with its blade that ran the cobblestones of Place de la Revoltion red with blood and ended with yet another crowned head assuming control of a country whose people were somewhat freer but still starving, where neither equality nor fraternity reigned though now all were citizens or citizenesses rather than monsieurs or mesdames. This is a review of an advanced uncorrected proof provided by Goodreads for that purpose.
    more
  • Maureen
    June 1, 2017
    I wish that Goodreads allowed for 1/2 stars because this book is better than average, but does not quite achieve a four star rating from me.This is my second book by Allison Pataki. The setting of this book was what interested me initially. I really don't know much about the French Revolution. Like many historical novels that I have read, I found myself needing to google information to give me a fuller background to better understand the time frame and setting.Like the previous novel I read by P I wish that Goodreads allowed for 1/2 stars because this book is better than average, but does not quite achieve a four star rating from me.This is my second book by Allison Pataki. The setting of this book was what interested me initially. I really don't know much about the French Revolution. Like many historical novels that I have read, I found myself needing to google information to give me a fuller background to better understand the time frame and setting.Like the previous novel I read by Pataki, I found that while I love her writing style, the story does not move very quickly. This book did not really seem to have that much of a plot and while I didn't find myself bored, neither did I find myself engrossed in it. I won't bother really with summarizing what the novel is about - you can read that in other reviews. Pataki's descriptive writing style does a nice job with providing a good historical setting, both with the battle scenes and Paris during the Revolutionary years. However, the plot line was slim and characters were not quite fully developed. I think I would have enjoyed it more if there had been a bit more development of the characters in the years leading up to when their paths all began to cross.I think there is definitely an audience for this type of novel and many readers who like Pataki's previous novels will most likely enjoy this one. It's not one that I would probably go out of my way to recommend to my friends unless I knew they were really into this type of historical fiction and enjoy savoring the writing rather than to friends looking for a novel that will completely engross them. I enjoyed it but wish there had been a more intriguing plot.I received this book through a Goodreads Giveaway.
    more
  • Jenny GB
    May 24, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book through Goodreads Giveaways. Thank you!This novel is set after the start of the French Revolution and continues to the rise of emperor Napoleon. Jean-Luc is a young idealistic lawyer in Paris who hopes to make a difference fighting for those who most need his help. Andre is a former member of the nobility who serves in the army while hoping to avoid a terrible fate and gain his own share of the glory. As the country unravels in the bloodshed of the revolution, I received a free copy of this book through Goodreads Giveaways. Thank you!This novel is set after the start of the French Revolution and continues to the rise of emperor Napoleon. Jean-Luc is a young idealistic lawyer in Paris who hopes to make a difference fighting for those who most need his help. Andre is a former member of the nobility who serves in the army while hoping to avoid a terrible fate and gain his own share of the glory. As the country unravels in the bloodshed of the revolution, Jean-Luc and Andre fight for their lives and the lives and safety of those they love. They face down enemies in the law (Lazare) and the army (Murat) that are bent on destroying them.I loved the setting and characters in this book. The book capitalizes on the tension and drama in this time period to deliver intense drama and fear for our main character’s lives. I was satisfied that no character was safe from destruction during the novel. I particularly enjoyed the addition of the battle descriptions supplied by the expertise of Pataki’s brother. I think it added a great sense of realism to Andre’s story and I found those scenes the most interesting parts of the book. I wish that the women, Sophie and Marie, were given more voice to tell their own stories rather than learning their character through the eyes of the men who love them. I thought they were two intelligent and fascinating characters and I wish we could have their POV, especially for Marie. I love well written historical fiction and this was a satisfying and entertaining read.
    more
  • Annette
    June 5, 2017
    This book brings interesting historical facts skillfully woven into the story with vivid imagination of the chaotic French Revolution. However, the most interesting parts are short, leaving to wish more for such scenes. For example, a lawyer representing poor widow expelled from her property. This reveals not only a dramatic situation of the common people of that period, but also an ancient law of the Landlord Right. Instead the book is filled with stagnant scenes not moving the story forward or This book brings interesting historical facts skillfully woven into the story with vivid imagination of the chaotic French Revolution. However, the most interesting parts are short, leaving to wish more for such scenes. For example, a lawyer representing poor widow expelled from her property. This reveals not only a dramatic situation of the common people of that period, but also an ancient law of the Landlord Right. Instead the book is filled with stagnant scenes not moving the story forward or moving at snail pace.The story starts in 1792, when Louis XVI and Marie Antoinette are already imprisoned. Jean-Luc St Clair, a lawyer from the South of France, moves his family to Paris as he believes in freedom of common people. His noble cause puts his family, wife and baby, through poverty. His work deals with cataloguing property seized from the wealthy families.Andre Valiere and his brother Remy leave their privileged lives or the events force them to do so (not clear in this story) in order to join the unified French Army.Sophie, young aristocratic widow, lives with her controlling uncle – general in the army. Different events connect those people. They all fight for the same cause, but at the end they question the sacrifices they made for the revolution.
    more
  • Cecilia Cress
    June 1, 2017
    I'm very happy to have received this book through a Goodreads giveaway.I'm not usually one for historical fiction; I don't hate it, but it's not my favorite genre. However, the French Revolution is a time in history that has always fascinated me and proved an exciting study. In reading Where the Light Falls you get forbidden romance, exciting battle scenes, heartfelt character relationships, and personal rivalries, all under the background of the French Revolution. The only critique I have wit I'm very happy to have received this book through a Goodreads giveaway.I'm not usually one for historical fiction; I don't hate it, but it's not my favorite genre. However, the French Revolution is a time in history that has always fascinated me and proved an exciting study. In reading Where the Light Falls you get forbidden romance, exciting battle scenes, heartfelt character relationships, and personal rivalries, all under the background of the French Revolution. The only critique I have with this book is with the character development, especially of the "villains" of the story. (view spoiler)[ When I got to Lazare's climax (his unexpected and.. pointless abduction of Sophie), I felt like I still had no idea what his real intentions were, and of course General Murat's background was briefly explained. However, this still didn't cut it for me. I really wish there was more character development in this area, sometimes it felt as if Lazare and Murat were just there for the point of being the 'evil villainous guys that every hero needs to ultimately defeat'. (hide spoiler)] Overall, this book was a good read, a great source of info and background on the French Revolution, and definitely worth your time.
    more
  • Tasha
    May 25, 2017
    The story started out kind of slow to me, but I guess that's because they had to set up the story for what happens later in the book. The first half took me several days to read through, just because I couldn't get into it like I usually do. After that it did pick up speed, and I read the rest of the book fairly quickly. Keep in mind, I work full-time and my kids are out of school for the summer so my reading has slowed significantly. Overall, it was a good story. I liked the mixture of fictiona The story started out kind of slow to me, but I guess that's because they had to set up the story for what happens later in the book. The first half took me several days to read through, just because I couldn't get into it like I usually do. After that it did pick up speed, and I read the rest of the book fairly quickly. Keep in mind, I work full-time and my kids are out of school for the summer so my reading has slowed significantly. Overall, it was a good story. I liked the mixture of fictional characters and real people from history. I've not read much into the French Revolution, so I went into it with only a little previous knowledge. I did read the authors' notes at the end and it helped me understand some bits a little more. The ending was abrupt. It left me wondering how André made it back and how his reunion with Sophie went. They did leave it open to further the story with Jean-Luc, though, so I wouldn't be surprised to see a book about him and what he does for Napoleon.I received this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kim McGee
    May 13, 2017
    Allison Pataki took on the American Revolution and now she tackles the French Revolution . Young idealists and former members of the aristocracy are trying to find their way as citizens of the new republic and stay away from the killing machine that seems to slicing heads day and night. Jean Luc is a young attorney who has moved his family to Paris and must try to find his way in the courts who are eager to prosecute anyone with connections to the noblemen. Andre and his brother came from noble Allison Pataki took on the American Revolution and now she tackles the French Revolution . Young idealists and former members of the aristocracy are trying to find their way as citizens of the new republic and stay away from the killing machine that seems to slicing heads day and night. Jean Luc is a young attorney who has moved his family to Paris and must try to find his way in the courts who are eager to prosecute anyone with connections to the noblemen. Andre and his brother came from noble birth but have changed their name and now fight in the French army. Andre is in love with a young widow but they must hide that love as her possessive uncle has other plans for her. Each tries to defend what they feel is right and noble and each will be held accountable. For these two couples Liberty, Equality and Fraternity will mean much more if they can survive. The author brings this turbulent time into focus and the characters and their struggle feels real. My thanks to the publisher for the advance copy.
    more
  • Annie
    June 11, 2017
    Allison and Owen Pataki’s Where the Light Falls is the story of two parallel lives during the tumultuous years of the French Reign of Terror and the wars immediately after. André is the son of a marquis who struggles to escape the taint of being an aristocrat. Jean-Luc is an idealistic young lawyer who moved to Paris to be a part of the new government. Both of these naïve young men quickly learn that the truth is not enough to save them when they become the targets of men who are more than willi Allison and Owen Pataki’s Where the Light Falls is the story of two parallel lives during the tumultuous years of the French Reign of Terror and the wars immediately after. André is the son of a marquis who struggles to escape the taint of being an aristocrat. Jean-Luc is an idealistic young lawyer who moved to Paris to be a part of the new government. Both of these naïve young men quickly learn that the truth is not enough to save them when they become the targets of men who are more than willing to use the mob’s bloodlust to settle old scores...Read the rest of my review at A Bookish Type. I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley for review consideration.
    more
  • F.J. Soto
    May 16, 2017
    As I know very little, if anything, about French History and the French Revolution, I read this book with eager anticipation. Now, after reading the other reviews, I feel somewhat foolish and really incapable of writing any kind of "honest" reaction to the book.Since I knew nothing about the "real" revolution, but seemed to have witnessed it visiting certain spots when I visited France, all I know is that it is a most interesting read about that incredible time. I am amazed that anyone, in any t As I know very little, if anything, about French History and the French Revolution, I read this book with eager anticipation. Now, after reading the other reviews, I feel somewhat foolish and really incapable of writing any kind of "honest" reaction to the book.Since I knew nothing about the "real" revolution, but seemed to have witnessed it visiting certain spots when I visited France, all I know is that it is a most interesting read about that incredible time. I am amazed that anyone, in any time, comes to the fore for democracy and an overthrow of a corrupt "old rule," and this seems to play out over and over again.I'm glad to have read this book but now I have to wonder how much of it is "real" and how much is fiction. I'm re-reading the other reviews to help me sort that out. It's still a good book with a beautiful title.I received this book as a giveaway.
    more
  • Emily
    June 10, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book through the GoodReads First Reads giveaways.I really enjoyed Where the Light Falls by Allison Pataki and Owen Pataki. This is a historical novel set during the French Revolution. Even though the authors took some liberties on the actual historical timeline of the French Revolution, I still found it educational and found myself wanting to learn more about this time period. I thought that the storyline was well thought out and entertaining. I definitely was rout I received a free copy of this book through the GoodReads First Reads giveaways.I really enjoyed Where the Light Falls by Allison Pataki and Owen Pataki. This is a historical novel set during the French Revolution. Even though the authors took some liberties on the actual historical timeline of the French Revolution, I still found it educational and found myself wanting to learn more about this time period. I thought that the storyline was well thought out and entertaining. I definitely was routing for the good guys, Jean-Luc St. Clair and Captain Andre Valiere. I really enjoyed their stories and I look forward to finding out more about their lives. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys an adventure. You do not need to be a history buff to enjoy this book.
    more
  • Linda Epach
    May 21, 2017
    In Paris the times are treacherous as young idealists and former members of the aristocracy try to avoid the guillotine. They are fighting for “Liberty, Equality and Fraternity”. This historical novel follows the lives and loves of brave soldier Andre Valiere and the honest and principled lawyer Jean-Luc St. Clair three years after the start of the French Revolution. Andre is a former noble who fights against the Austrian and Prussian invasion at the Battle of Valmy. He is in love with Sophie, a In Paris the times are treacherous as young idealists and former members of the aristocracy try to avoid the guillotine. They are fighting for “Liberty, Equality and Fraternity”. This historical novel follows the lives and loves of brave soldier Andre Valiere and the honest and principled lawyer Jean-Luc St. Clair three years after the start of the French Revolution. Andre is a former noble who fights against the Austrian and Prussian invasion at the Battle of Valmy. He is in love with Sophie, a young widow, but her evil uncle General Murat has other plans. Eventually, their paths cross and their lives and futures entangled. I do not have a solid knowledge of French history, but it seemed to paint a fairly realistic picture of the time.
    more
  • Bonnie
    June 1, 2017
    I received an ARC for an honest review. History wasn't one of my favorite subjects in school at that time of my life. We covered the French revolution a little bit, but I didn't retain much of the information learned. I enjoy historical reads now. I really thought this collaboration between the two authors was an engrossing read about the time during the French Revolution when it wasn't good being a part of nobility. It really covers the sacrifices made and the courage of the citizens who fought I received an ARC for an honest review. History wasn't one of my favorite subjects in school at that time of my life. We covered the French revolution a little bit, but I didn't retain much of the information learned. I enjoy historical reads now. I really thought this collaboration between the two authors was an engrossing read about the time during the French Revolution when it wasn't good being a part of nobility. It really covers the sacrifices made and the courage of the citizens who fought for liberty and equality, and then questioned what they were fighting for. This was an enjoyable, riveting read.
    more
  • Jaymi Couch
    June 13, 2017
    Where The Light Falls⭐⭐⭐⭐I received an advanced copy of this book from Netgalley and the Great Thoughts Ninja Review Team in exchange for my honest review. This was an enjoyable read and an educational one too! Set in the late 1700s during the French Revolution, the story follows Andre and Sophie, Jean-Luc and Marie through a very violent time in history. The villains, Lazare and Murat were especially bloodthirsty and extreme in their hatred. Years pass and along with the suffering and agony, th Where The Light Falls⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️I received an advanced copy of this book from Netgalley and the Great Thoughts Ninja Review Team in exchange for my honest review. This was an enjoyable read and an educational one too! Set in the late 1700s during the French Revolution, the story follows Andre and Sophie, Jean-Luc and Marie through a very violent time in history. The villains, Lazare and Murat were especially bloodthirsty and extreme in their hatred. Years pass and along with the suffering and agony, there is also hope and patriotism and justice. This brother/sister author duo did a wonderful job of bringing this time period to life with authentic characters and a powerful love story.
    more
  • Charles Hollensed
    June 28, 2017
    I like historical fiction. I must admit I am only vaguely familiar with the french revolution. I enjoyed this book. I particularly like that the authors followed a select number of inter-related characters. I found the story line compeling and the plot twists not predictable. Even if you are not into history I think the book would still be an interesting read. I found the the character to be well portrayed.
    more
  • Douglas Thornley
    June 17, 2017
    My winning an advance copy of WHERE THE LIGHT FALLS in no way affected my opinion of the book. It is a fascinating look at the state of affairs in France after the revolution and the events that took place. I really found this book to be a very entertaining novel that I would recommend to anyone who likes historical fiction.
    more
  • SS
    June 20, 2017
    4 1/2 starsThis is an excellent novel covering the period following the Storming of the Bastille, the Terror, and the beginning of Napoleon's reign. Highly recommended.More to this review to follow.I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway. Lucky me!!! My thanks to the authors, publisher, and Goodreads for making this giveaway possible.
    more
  • Pam
    June 13, 2017
    This book was very good. I loved reading about the lives of our 4 protags along with the gruesome details of The French Revolution and more. If you are interested in French history, this is the book for you. This was an excellent historical fiction with lots of detail without being overdone.Thanks to netgalley and Dial Press for this advanced readers copy.
    more
  • Amy
    June 24, 2017
    Where the Light Falls is set the revolutionary era in Paris, France. I thought this novel to be pretty good. It is rich in historical detail that I found to be intriguing and interesting. I was captivated by the characters, Jean-Luc, Marie, Sophie, and Andre. Such a fascinating piece of French historical fiction. 4 1/2 stars
    more
  • Diane Moyle
    May 7, 2017
    Allison Pataki has joined with Owen Pataki to write another spellbinding historical fiction novel. The authors combine fact and fiction to write a story that is both informative and entertaining. The characters are colorful and fully developed and the plot is intriguing and keeps you wanting to read more. Ms. Pataki has made a slight change for this novel. In her previous novels, the main characters are real and she writes the stories around them. For this tale, the main characters are fictional Allison Pataki has joined with Owen Pataki to write another spellbinding historical fiction novel. The authors combine fact and fiction to write a story that is both informative and entertaining. The characters are colorful and fully developed and the plot is intriguing and keeps you wanting to read more. Ms. Pataki has made a slight change for this novel. In her previous novels, the main characters are real and she writes the stories around them. For this tale, the main characters are fictional and she weaves them into the events of the French Revolution.The story begins in 1792, with the haunting narrative of the beheading of French citizens whose only crimes were to be wealthy. This sets the stage to introduce our four main characters. Jean-Luc S. Clair and his wife Marie, a poor young lawyer who wants to make a difference for the common people caught in the revolution and his wife, who has a secret of her own. On the other end of the spectrum is Captain Andre Valiere and Sophie de Vincennes both from noble families who could lose their heads by just a small accusation. The characters are thrown together in these turbulent times. They come to realize that gallantry is not limited to class, neither is cruelty.This story can be read by teen to adult readers. Although there is some violence, it is not extremely graphic. If you are a fan of Allison Pataki, you will definitely want to pick up this book. Once again, she has written a story that is both education and diverting.I have requested from and reviewed this book for NetGalley.
    more
  • Nita
    June 18, 2017
    This marvelous book has everything that I love in a historical fiction! It is well written and has excellent research! There is mystery, a bit of romance and heart wrenching tragedy! I received an advance copy from Great Thoughts Ninjas. All opinions are my own.
    more
Write a review