Deadfall
Hunting a killer within New York's urban jungle becomes the biggest case of Alexandra Cooper's career in New York Times bestselling author Linda Fairstein's latest unputdownable thriller. A wild heart beats within New York City. Amid concrete and skyscrapers, the Wildlife Conservation Society works to preserve and protect the animal kingdom both within and beyond the borders of the five boroughs. But dangerous creatures don't always have claws and fangs, as Assistant DA Alexandra Cooper and NYPD detectives Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace know all too well. Predators lurk close to home, and in the aftermath of the shocking drive-by murder of an important city employee someone Alex has worked with for years the trio must discover who the bigger snake is: the killer or the victim.Investigations into the death provide more questions than answers, as a tangled mess of secrets slowly comes to light. From bribes to secret societies, from big-game hunting to the illegal animal trade, from New York City zoos to behind closed doors in government buildings, Alex will have her work cut out for her if she wants to uncover the truth and uphold the integrity of the office she has so proudly served.

Deadfall Details

TitleDeadfall
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherDutton
ISBN110198404X
ISBN-139781101984048
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery, Thriller

Deadfall Review

  • Linda Strong
    June 8, 2017
    The 19th book in this amazing series opens with the shooting death of Alex's boss, the District Attorney, Paul Battaglia. Alex finds herself being treated more as a suspect than a witness when the FBI steps in. The US Attorney seems to have a problem with Alex, but they've never met, so what could he have against her?NYPD Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace are trying to investigate the case even though they've been ordered to stand down. That has never stopped them before ... it certainly won't sto The 19th book in this amazing series opens with the shooting death of Alex's boss, the District Attorney, Paul Battaglia. Alex finds herself being treated more as a suspect than a witness when the FBI steps in. The US Attorney seems to have a problem with Alex, but they've never met, so what could he have against her?NYPD Mike Chapman and Mercer Wallace are trying to investigate the case even though they've been ordered to stand down. That has never stopped them before ... it certainly won't stop them now.The more answers they find, the more questions they need to ask. Who would want the DA dead? Why had he seemed to be angry with Alex for months before his death? Who would have anything to gain?DEADFALL takes the reader on an astonishing journey from the the steps of the Metropolitan Museum of Art to an animal sanctuary in Montana to a stint in a mental hospital to the Bronx Zoo. They meet good people and lots of bad people. With each and every book in this series, I have learned more about the history of New York City than I would never have known otherwise. And of course, there is always Final Jeopardy to count on.I have followed this author for years and always look forward to a new Alex Cooper book. All these books can be read as stand-alones, but it's so much more entertaining to start at the very beginning.5 Stars for DEADFALL. 5 Stars for the series.Many thanks to the author / Penguin Group Dutton / Netgalley for the advanced digital copy of DEADFALL.
    more
  • Magdalena aka A Bookaholic Swede
    June 19, 2017
    To be reviewed!
  • Alisa
    June 1, 2017
    3.5 starsThis story picks up immediately where the last book finished. The DA had been murdered and Alex witnessed the entire thing. She's struggling with the fallout and her already fragile mental health. As the investigation begins Alex can't stop herself from getting involved as it seems the investigating offices are looking at her for the crime. Of course Mike and Mercer have her back and they all start looking at people who could have wanted Paul dead.Their questions lead them to a group of 3.5 starsThis story picks up immediately where the last book finished. The DA had been murdered and Alex witnessed the entire thing. She's struggling with the fallout and her already fragile mental health. As the investigation begins Alex can't stop herself from getting involved as it seems the investigating offices are looking at her for the crime. Of course Mike and Mercer have her back and they all start looking at people who could have wanted Paul dead.Their questions lead them to a group of people who hunt big game animals in the US and it also leads them into the world of smuggled animals and animal parts. As in all of these books, the author incorporates parts of New York and it's history into the plot. (Honestly it's my favorite thing about this series and the reason that's I'm still reading them all these years later.) In this one we learned about the history of the Bronx and Central Park Zoos. Interesting stuff.This was a pretty entertaining story and I enjoyed it more than the last book. I'm a bit weary of Alex's personal problems but it seemed by the end that maybe that plotline will be coming to an end soon. Overall this was good and I think fans of the series will like it. If you haven't read any of the other books in the series though I would not recommend starting with this one. Too much of the plot ties in to the last book.**ARC provided by the publisher through Netgalley**
    more
  • Sue
    June 27, 2017
    Many series grow old and readers get tired of the same old formula but I can guarantee you that after 18 previous book, Alexandra Cooper has not gotten old and her character and the plot are as fresh as book 1. Thanks to First to Read for an early copy of this book to read and review.One of the things that I've liked most about the series is that the author picks a landmark in NYC and along with setting the story there, she shares a lot of information about that location. In this book, the landm Many series grow old and readers get tired of the same old formula but I can guarantee you that after 18 previous book, Alexandra Cooper has not gotten old and her character and the plot are as fresh as book 1. Thanks to First to Read for an early copy of this book to read and review.One of the things that I've liked most about the series is that the author picks a landmark in NYC and along with setting the story there, she shares a lot of information about that location. In this book, the landmark is the Bronx Zoo. As usual, Cooper is investigating a case that she's been told to stay away from. When the DA is killed on the steps of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, where he has come to confront Alex and falls into her after he is shot, she becomes one of the main suspects in the case. Her two good friends from previous books, Mike and Mercer help investigate the case even though they've been told to stay away from it because of their involvement with Alex. As the three of them try to untangle the secrets surrounding the DA's shooting, they get deeper into the case. It's a real page turner until the end to find out the answer to all that has caused the shooting.Note -- this is a series that really should be read in order because there's a lot in each book that refers back to the previous book. That is especially true with this book because it happens right after book #18.This is a great fun roller coaster of a read and it's a fantastic series.
    more
  • Candy Hart
    June 24, 2017
    Probably the best series around. Excellent degree of research and the details show it. History and places are seamlessly interwoven into the story. The crimes are realistic and the solutions are handled in believable ways.
  • Shirley
    June 1, 2017
    Thrilled to have been able to read this ARC version of the latest in the Alex Cooper series. Once again Fairstein hits one out of the park! "Deadfall" opens where "Killer Look" ends - on the steps of the Met. But what happens next will keep you on the edge of your seats! As in each of the Alex Cooper novels, we learn something new about a famed NY establishment. In this novel, it's the Bronx Zoo but we are also taken out west to Montana to explore and learn more about big-game hunting. Of course Thrilled to have been able to read this ARC version of the latest in the Alex Cooper series. Once again Fairstein hits one out of the park! "Deadfall" opens where "Killer Look" ends - on the steps of the Met. But what happens next will keep you on the edge of your seats! As in each of the Alex Cooper novels, we learn something new about a famed NY establishment. In this novel, it's the Bronx Zoo but we are also taken out west to Montana to explore and learn more about big-game hunting. Of course, Alex, Mike, and Mercer have a major role in this novel. They are always there for each other both personally and professionally. That is part of what makes the Cooper stories unique and fun to read. It's like "seeing" a friend who you haven't "seen" in a while and picking up where you left off.No spoilers but be sure to run, don't walk, and get "Deadfall" when it hits the shelves in July!
    more
  • Joseph
    June 20, 2017
    This was my first Linda Fairstein novel, and I enjoyed it tremendously. I had a preconception what “Deadfall” meant, and my idea wasn’t any of the three meanings we’re given early in the book. So much for my deduction ability.SLIGHT SPOILER ALERT: I had two quibbles with the book.First, Fairstein details the actual death and aftermath of a famous real person, and comes very close to saying he knew about exotic animal smuggling and participated in killing them. I found that distasteful. Second, s This was my first Linda Fairstein novel, and I enjoyed it tremendously. I had a preconception what “Deadfall” meant, and my idea wasn’t any of the three meanings we’re given early in the book. So much for my deduction ability.SLIGHT SPOILER ALERT: I had two quibbles with the book.First, Fairstein details the actual death and aftermath of a famous real person, and comes very close to saying he knew about exotic animal smuggling and participated in killing them. I found that distasteful. Second, she spends a dozen pages or so describing the Bronx Zoo and many of its animals. I found that boring and it wasn’t necessary to go into that much detail for the story.Other than those two matters, I liked the book. Delineated characters, steady progress on the plot, crisp writing. The end of the book sets us up for the next novel. Good job.
    more
  • Mary
    June 25, 2017
    **ARC from Penguin First to Read. This episode in the continuing saga of Alexandra Cooper is marginally better than the last one, but still not on the same level as earlier books.I get that Alex is still somewhat traumatized by the events in an earlier book, but she still way too whiny and clingy in this book. I am hoping that the next book gets her back on track.
    more
  • Melanie
    June 8, 2017
    Alex Cooper is still on leave after a traumatic experience, spoiler as I haven't read the earlier ones. While attending a gala, her boss, the DA is murdered, causing him to fall on her. He was on his way to confront her, so the investigation turns to her. Can she and her boyfriend, a detective, figure out what's going on before she's the next target?
    more
Write a review