Make Me Stay (Panic, #2)
Secret identities, second chances, drama, desire: It’s all going down in Miami Beach in this tantalizing novel from the bestselling author of Pull Me Close, which was hailed by Aurora Rose Reynolds as “a heart-gripping story about . . . the power of love.”  April: Walking away from Matt Moreno was the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Lying to him was a close second, but for his safety, I had no other choice. I was undercover, working to put some nasty people behind bars. But when Matt nearly recognizes me on Lincoln Road a year later, all those very real feelings come rushing back. Now that my assignment’s almost over, will he understand why I lied? Why I had to leave? Most important, can he ever forgive me?  Matt: I was madly in love with June Simpson . . . or, at least, with the woman I thought was June. Then she just disappeared while my family’s nightclub went through hell. And after months of searching, when I think I’ve finally found that sexy, raspy voice and those exquisite blue eyes, she slips away once more. Turns out, “June” is actually Detective April White. She’s been playing me the whole time. And she’s about to rock my world all over again.  Praise for Sidney Halston’s first Panic novel, Pull Me Close   “A magnificent story full of deep emotion that will get you straight in the ‘feels.’ . . . Sidney Halston nailed it with this one.”—New York Times bestselling author Sawyer Bennett  “Pull Me Close is a heart-gripping story about one of the most beautiful things in the world: the power of love.”—New York Times bestselling author Aurora Rose Reynolds  “An intriguing tale of anxiety and depression so authentic that readers will feel as if they are in the story with the characters. The plot is fresh and tackles a fascinating topic. The relationship between the main characters is very intense and consuming. . . . A great read!”—RT Book Reviews   And look for all of her hard-hitting MMA romances:AGAINST THE CAGE | FULL CONTACT | BELOW THE BELT| LAID OUT | FIGHTING DIRTY | STACKED UP  Includes an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

Make Me Stay (Panic, #2) Details

TitleMake Me Stay (Panic, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherLoveswept
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary

Make Me Stay (Panic, #2) Review

  • .Under the pages
    June 25, 2017
    OUT NOW! Meet Matt Moreno, a lawyer who also runs Panic, a nightclub, along with his twin brother and father. Running such a famous nightclub in Miami, he’s used to have women all over him any month of the year. But then June Simpson walks in, completely unware of her charms and June becomes his favorite month of the year.But June is not who everyone thinks she is. June Simpson is actually April White, a detective working on an undercover operation on Panic. She wasn’t supposed to develop any k OUT NOW! Meet Matt Moreno, a lawyer who also runs Panic, a nightclub, along with his twin brother and father. Running such a famous nightclub in Miami, he’s used to have women all over him any month of the year. But then June Simpson walks in, completely unware of her charms and June becomes his favorite month of the year.But June is not who everyone thinks she is. June Simpson is actually April White, a detective working on an undercover operation on Panic. She wasn’t supposed to develop any kind of feelings for one of her suspects but life happens and so as soon as she finished the op, she ran away from him so things wouldn’t get worse. But one year later they face each other again and life will make them stay together. ------------------------------------------The storyline of this book is incredible. I was blown away by it. At first, it was obvious that she was keeping something from him. And that led me to believe that the book was a joke because it was so predictable. But it is not. This book is so so good. So many twists that I really didn’t see coming. The characters are also good and really well created. Matt is just that bad boy who’s used to have any woman he wants. But I actually like him a lot. The way he tries to do the right thing by June is impressive. And I also loved the fact that he’s completely against lies.April is such a good character. She is as strong woman as well as hardworking. She’s also really independent as both her mother and father died when she was a baby, so she went from foster home to foster home for some time. I also loved her because she is a serious woman who won’t get in bed with a man on the first date. It’s not that she plays hard to get, it’s just that she’s a person with values and I loved her for that. To me, the best thing about this book is by far the story line as I already said. The outcome of the book, although it’s a happy ever after, is so unpredictable. I honestly didn’t expect something so good out of this book but I’m really glad it did. So, I highly recommend it if you love a true love with some difficulties in between. I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sabrina
    April 8, 2017
    NOW LIVE!Amazon * Barnes &Noble * KoboMake Me Stay is the story of Matt and and April, aka June, and it's not an easy one. Split into two parts, this book introduces of to these characters when they're first getting to know one another as Matt and June. And then Part 2 comes and gives us Matt and April, and we get to see them discover each other all over again. I'm usually not a big fan of books that have different Parts from different time periods but in this book it made a lot of sense why NOW LIVE!Amazon * Barnes &Noble * KoboMake Me Stay is the story of Matt and and April, aka June, and it's not an easy one. Split into two parts, this book introduces of to these characters when they're first getting to know one another as Matt and June. And then Part 2 comes and gives us Matt and April, and we get to see them discover each other all over again. I'm usually not a big fan of books that have different Parts from different time periods but in this book it made a lot of sense why there was that time jump so I actually loved it. I was instantly captivated by Matt falling for April and thought there relationship was a pretty strong one, even though it all started as a lie. Their connection was just really evident and seeing them together had me smiling almost the entire time I was reading.The second part of the story brought a little angst, and a lot more intrigue. It also brought on a twist that I did not see coming. I really wasn't sure where Sidney was going with it either, but then once it was all worked out I loved that she put it in the story. Vague enough for you? Overall. I adored this couple and their story and I highly recommend reading it. I really don't want to say more than I already have because I think it's a book that's better if you go into with little to no idea of the plot. But seriously, read this book! ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    April 7, 2017
    I LOVE the covers for the books in this series. Great use of graphis. Fabtastic representation of the story. Great composition and interesting typography.When I read Pull Me Close last year it ended up being one of my favorite reads. So I was super excited to get my hands on book two and Matt's story. Unfortunately, it didn't quite live up to the greatness that was book one. I am not a fan of books that go back in time, and part one does just that. I found myself bored and skimming to get throug I LOVE the covers for the books in this series. Great use of graphis. Fabtastic representation of the story. Great composition and interesting typography.When I read Pull Me Close last year it ended up being one of my favorite reads. So I was super excited to get my hands on book two and Matt's story. Unfortunately, it didn't quite live up to the greatness that was book one. I am not a fan of books that go back in time, and part one does just that. I found myself bored and skimming to get through it so I could get to part two and the present-day part of the story.Part two was certainly the better part of the book. We get a good amount of angst and drama. But I just never warmed up to Matt. He was nowhere close to being as amazing as Nick was. In fact, I found him whiny and childish in his behavior for a 33-year-old man (snorting cocaine in front of the heroine because he was angry) and his anger lasted way too long (basically right until the end of the book).So ya, wasn't a fan of this one. That said I am still onboard to see what the author throws at us for book three.
    more
  • Dali
    June 23, 2017
    Sexy, angsty and addicting. Make Me Stay, literally made me stay glued to my seat from start to finish. She never intended to fall in love, much less while working undercover and yet the pull Matt Moreno had on her was irresistible. Even though she had to lie to him, she wouldn’t trade those five incredible moths they had together. But she had a duty uphold and bad guys to put away, so she vanished from his life for almost a year until her assignment was over. Can she convince him to give th Sexy, angsty and addicting. Make Me Stay, literally made me stay glued to my seat from start to finish. She never intended to fall in love, much less while working undercover and yet the pull Matt Moreno had on her was irresistible. Even though she had to lie to him, she wouldn’t trade those five incredible moths they had together. But she had a duty uphold and bad guys to put away, so she vanished from his life for almost a year until her assignment was over. Can she convince him to give them a second chance? More importantly, can she persuade him to forgive her deceit? The only relationship Matt ever had was with his work, as an attorney and helping out his father and brother with their nightclub. He wasn’t a commitment-phobe, he just didn’t have the time until June Simpson, the most alluring woman he’d ever seen, walked into his club and completely mesmerized him, made him fall head over heels in love and then disappeared. Not being able to move on, he looked everywhere for her until he saw her on the news as Detective April White. He had been honest to a fault with her and she played him for a fool making it impossible for him to forgive her. Or so he thought, until life throws a curve ball that will change their lives forever. I feel as though Sidney Halston keeps getting better with every books she writes. Make Me Stay hits all the right buttons with a story that’s seductive and angsty, well developed characters and twists I never imagined but had me captivated from start to finish.Matt is no angel by any stretch of the imagination. For some, he might not be easy to like in the beginning, but the way he falls in love with June without hesitation and making no excuses is difficult to resist. And even when things get beyond complicated and he’s put in an impossible situation, he does the right thing. Vague much? A bit. But trust me, it’s better this way. The point is, he’s the kind of hero you root for. June/April had had a difficult life growing up, but I think few things had been more strenuous than having to choose between her personal happiness and the greater good. There are other reasons to like her, but that alone, but making the right call was enough for me. These two have incredible chemistry, they burn up the pages with it. But attraction is not the sole foundation of a good, lasting relationship and they will certainly face more difficulties than normal couples do. The question is, will their love be able to survive them?Make Me Stay is book #2 in the Panic series by Sidney Halston. It is a standalone, full-length contemporary romance with intense drama and consuming desires. I can’t wait what she comes up with next. Told from two points of view with a happy ending. Amazon -> http://amzn.to/2tfyFk7* I was given an ARC of this book courtesy of the author via NetGalley. The excerpts taken are from that copy. *More reviews * Stalk us on FaceBook * As well as Twitter * Pinterest Board for Book Teasers
    more
  • Wendy'sThoughts
    June 25, 2017
    4 Was It All a Lie Stars* * * * Spoiler Free Terrible things go on everyday in this world and using Undercover Police is one of the ways to stop these things. They somehow blend into the "target's" place of business or life gathering evidence to mount a case. When the information they have gathered adds up to enough to arrest, the force will go in and round up the suspects. The undercover agent then moves on to another case.But what happens when the agent/police officer becomes entangled with a 4 Was It All a Lie Stars* * * * Spoiler Free Terrible things go on everyday in this world and using Undercover Police is one of the ways to stop these things. They somehow blend into the "target's" place of business or life gathering evidence to mount a case. When the information they have gathered adds up to enough to arrest, the force will go in and round up the suspects. The undercover agent then moves on to another case.But what happens when the agent/police officer becomes entangled with a target..one who is clean and not doing any of the actions of the others... Is there any way for these two people to have any type of relationship once all of this comes to light...That is the major question of Make Me Stay (Panic, #2) by Sidney Halston. Last year I read her first entry in this series and was quite impressed. She gave us twin brothers raised in Miami by a father who had THE CLUB for years. The father was getting up in years so the sons returned to help keep the club happening. Little did they know, their father was not the person they thought...and the club was raided for drugs and sex trade. Everyone was arrested..The brothers were proved to have absolutely nothing to do with any of the illegal actions and were released....But the damage was done. Nick and Matt saw who their real friends were, Matt lost his place at the Law Firm due to the "Bad Publicity" and the Club needed to be saved. But even with the father being convicted and sent away, Matt's pain was magnified by June Simpson's disappearance out of his life. Matt had fallen hard for this woman and thought they had a chance of being the Real Deal. She had come into the club, caught his eye from the start and slowly they started to learn about each other. Matt was this guy who always held his feelings in...putting out this happy, easy way. He worked extremely hard, doing his law practice in one place and then coming to Miami on the weekends to assist in running the club with his brother Nick. These men were striking and Matt was never in need of companionship...but when this woman, June walked in his club...She was a force of strength, beauty and he could not look away.This June was there because of her job...and once she started to connect with Matt in more than a Target way...Things became complicated...Feelings started to crossover...Being June with Matt was not exactly what she wanted... She was falling hard and towards the end...Loving Matt was what happened...This couple has all the intensity and hotness you could want... but there is a type of loving coming from Matt which is so sweet, yet masculine... that will make you want Matt for yourself. We experience all of this and much more. These characters both are full of feelings and issues...They loved each other, lost each other and then are confronted with the challenges of whether...They can rebuild on a shaky foundation...Either can let go of guilt, anger and pride...I will say the journey Matt takes us on will be hard...He has a huge mountain to climb...Being able to trust, being able to let go...he could be inconsistent at times...But overall he comes out of the darkness ready to be the man he wants to be...There are other elements to this tale. This series has taken on the challenge of presenting situations people live with everyday that are difficult to manage. This book has this element too. It is worked in as part of June's character and doesn't feel forced at all. There is another entry coming and we are teased a bit with who will be the focus. Naturally it revolves around Miami's hottest club, Panic.A gifted copy was provided by Random House Publishing Group - Loveswept via NetGalley for an honest review..For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • Snow
    April 13, 2017
    4 "Matt" starsIn the first book of Panic series we meet the twins Nico/Nick and Mateo/Matt Moreno, the co-owners of the Miami nightclub Panic and even though book 1 follows the story of Nick & Katherine/Kate, I have noticed Matt's character from mile away...and to wait for his story was in fact an excrutiatingly angsty anticipation.Now, Make me stay delivers an insight into the man who fell hard for a feisty, sassy woman June Simpson who capativated him from the first moment he laid his eyes 4 "Matt" starsIn the first book of Panic series we meet the twins Nico/Nick and Mateo/Matt Moreno, the co-owners of the Miami nightclub Panic and even though book 1 follows the story of Nick & Katherine/Kate, I have noticed Matt's character from mile away...and to wait for his story was in fact an excrutiatingly angsty anticipation.Now, Make me stay delivers an insight into the man who fell hard for a feisty, sassy woman June Simpson who capativated him from the first moment he laid his eyes on her in the Club and what they had was a step forward for Matt's previous player behavior. He was ready for the next step, he was ready to throw away his old habits and actions, he was ready to open his heart to this beautiful, captivating woman...until she was gone. The woman I was in love with. The woman who disappeared off the face of the earth. just like that, she disappeared, without a trace and no lead for Matt to find her, leaving him shocked, stunned and confused...then all of a sudden he's being arrested, along with his brother and father, who was charged and convicted for drug trafficing inside the premises of the Club.Now, a year later, Matt is trying to save the club along with his brother Nick. But he's nowhere near the man he used to be. He was broken hearted, and so fuckin angry, and he was still without any answers - of June's whereabouts, or what happened to her. Until one day he recognizes the voice of the woman he once loved, of the woman whose face has haunted him for the last year...and now she's suddenly here, but she's different, in looks and manners...and his rage just spills out...And now he realizes that not only he doesn't know who this person is, anymore, but he wonders if all the feels were just an illusion, a big fat lie...cause now, in front of him are the eyes of the person I once thought I loved but who betrayed me. And she now goes by the name April White. Detective April White. And she was working undercover to bring the drug trafficing down hence bringing his father along with it. And she's confessing...the truth I shouldn't have fallen for you. But I did. And I'm sorry for leading you on and lying, but Matt, i'm not sorry I fell in love with you. What happened between us was unexpected not something I planned. BUT Matt finds it too hard to forgive her, or to give in to her pleas, she betrayed him, used him, hurt him, by destroying his life, his family, his everything...along with every single beat of his heart.He sents her away roughly, denying her and refusing her apology or confession...letting his rage rule over, he only wants to forget and move on...or so it seems.BUT then something happens to April, that will change the game plan. She's been brutally attacked by an informer from her latest undercover case and the circumstances demand Matt's presence. She needs his help and although with the grudge, he accepts to help her...cause not only does she NOT remember who she is, BUT she has no one on her side of the family...there's a second chance lingering behind the corner for them both...will they take the next step and move on over the anger, over the bitter sense of betrayal... She's no longer the same person, she's not June that hurt him, she's April but she's blank with vague flashes and vague recognitions. Her re-appearing flashbacks are more of notions/sensations that she somehow feels within the range of some familiarity towards this man, this stranger and yet...he presents himself as her friend.As they spend the time together while she heals they get to know each other again...but the doubts and regrets and bitter notions still linger...and when her memor finally comes back, the bitterness shows her ugly face again cause now April not only deals with the fear of rejection but with the emotions towards Matt. June may have been fake, but not all of June's feelings were fake. When we were together, that was me. Those were my true feelings, Matt. I really did love you. I still do. And she's not sure that he can ever forgive her for what she's done, so she decides to let him go.BUT that's not what Matt needs or wants...cause he did move on, he moved on with her in mind, he took the second chance, after all... "You're not leaving, sweetheart. I told you I'd come chasing if you ran, remember? So don't fucking runa away anymore. I'll just bring you right back. Yes, I was hurt, and yes, things haven't been easy. But you and me - that's not something I want to give up.""Are you trying to make me stay?""Sweetheart, you're damn right I am." Even tough it might seem like I just delivered the whole book to you with quotes and description of the storyline LOL the fact is I barely scratched the surfice. It's really hard to capture the essence of the plot cause it's not really all about the storyline, it's about the emotional grip behind it.The characters of Matt and June/April function better together in the first part of the story, as the "fake" June persona really struggles against the forbidden feelings she developed for the man who was a part of the ongoing investigation. She was really well portrayed and her antsy angst and guilt was palpable. The second part of the story where she was supposed to grovel for forgivness wasn't quite as I expected. It was mellowed, simmered down with the turn of the unfortunate event that turned her into a victim therefore releasing her of the "groveling". Instead the second chance they both got was basically formed by this circumstance and the willing part of Matt's character to accept the new situation and a chance to move on. So the second part entirely belongs to Matt Moreno, as this hero showed huge span of human emotional state that can either completely overwhelm you or deter you from looking at it with a just a little bit of resentment that this HEA was formed and pre-destined from the very beginning. The only thing worth keeping in mind is that vivid, palpable emotional span displayed by the main character.Even though I liked the first book better, this was still a story i have enjoyed in, particulary cause of the main hero. :)***ARC provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review!***
    more
  • Sidney Halston
    April 7, 2017
    I promise that there is no cheating in this book! Not even a flirty eye glance!Things are not always as they appear...give Matt a chance!
  • Carvanz
    June 30, 2017
    This is a mid-angst, face paced, steamy read about a couple that build what appears to be a beautiful relationship, only to be separated the very day they confess their love for each other.June/April was undercover when she met Matt. There is an instant attraction which works well for her because she is investigating his family’s nightclub for illegal activities. Matt falls hard pretty fast. He wasn’t looking for a relationship because he’s got a lot going on in his life and adding a woman to th This is a mid-angst, face paced, steamy read about a couple that build what appears to be a beautiful relationship, only to be separated the very day they confess their love for each other.June/April was undercover when she met Matt. There is an instant attraction which works well for her because she is investigating his family’s nightclub for illegal activities. Matt falls hard pretty fast. He wasn’t looking for a relationship because he’s got a lot going on in his life and adding a woman to the mix would surely increase his stress levels that he covers up with fake smiles. He soon realizes that when he’s with June he is at peace and he wants to keep her in his life always.Unfortunately, things don’t work out for him and the next year finds him battling denial, anger, hurt and heartbreak. When June/April reenters his life and he learns her secret, he is unforgiving and resolved to keep her away.The first part of this book is written completely in Matt’s point of view, of which I was a big fan. The second part is a combination of both their POVs and this is where the angst cranks up. While the first book was pure magic, Make Me Stay was able to cast its own spell upon me and I enjoyed every bit of it. I cannot wait for the next installment in this series. ARC provided through NetgalleySafePotential Triggers – drug use
    more
  • Jennifer
    April 28, 2017
    ARC received for review4.5 starsThis book starts back 18 months before book one. We get to see June and Matt's relationship from the beginning plus parts of Nico and crazy Naomi's. Then we jump into the present and Matt "reunites" with June/April, and it's not pretty at all. A whole bunch of bad stuff happens, and Matt falls back in love her. It wasn't easy but it was worth the fight. Previous couples make lots of appearances and there are hints for the new book with Fox and Lola. What's she hid ARC received for review4.5 starsThis book starts back 18 months before book one. We get to see June and Matt's relationship from the beginning plus parts of Nico and crazy Naomi's. Then we jump into the present and Matt "reunites" with June/April, and it's not pretty at all. A whole bunch of bad stuff happens, and Matt falls back in love her. It wasn't easy but it was worth the fight. Previous couples make lots of appearances and there are hints for the new book with Fox and Lola. What's she hiding?
    more
  • Mandy
    June 26, 2017
    Truthfully, I was a little hesitant to read this book after meeting Matt in Pull Me Close. I wasn't sure he would be the type of hero I would like. I've liked every other book I've read by this author so I decided to take a chance on this one and I'm so glad I did! I went into this book without reading the description so I was a little surprised by June/April's secrets. This book is broken into two parts, the past and the present. Matt and June met and developed feelings for each other. June dis Truthfully, I was a little hesitant to read this book after meeting Matt in Pull Me Close. I wasn't sure he would be the type of hero I would like. I've liked every other book I've read by this author so I decided to take a chance on this one and I'm so glad I did! I went into this book without reading the description so I was a little surprised by June/April's secrets. This book is broken into two parts, the past and the present. Matt and June met and developed feelings for each other. June disappears after they've been together for 5 months. The second part of the book picks up around a year later. Matt has hired a private investigator to find her without success. When they finally do see each other again, it is explosive and not in a hot and sexy kind of way. Matt is angry because of the lies, secrets and feelings he can't let go of. There is so much more to this book and I don't want to give away anything else but I will say that the second half of this book was super angsty and different than I was expecting. I really enjoy this authors writing - it had me hooked from the prologue and I didn't want to put this book down. I can't wait for the next book in this series! Also, for anyone like me that was a little worried about the kind of hero Matt after all that time apart from June (view spoiler)[ Matt does not sleep with any other women in their time apart. He stays faithful to her even though he has no idea what happened to her. I was surprised because it didn't appear that way from the first book but he explains what we saw in that book and that he hasn't been with anyone since June! yay! (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Beth
    June 25, 2017
    This is the second book in the Panic series and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book when I finished Pull Me Close because I loved Matt. The book was really good, but in my opinion, not as good as the first.This book goes back in time before Nico and Kates relationship in Pull Me Close and the stories then run parallel. My heart broke for both April and Matt when the preverbal you know what hit the fan. Matt has a hard and fast rule that you never lie and he feels the ultimate betrayal w This is the second book in the Panic series and I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this book when I finished Pull Me Close because I loved Matt. The book was really good, but in my opinion, not as good as the first.This book goes back in time before Nico and Kates relationship in Pull Me Close and the stories then run parallel. My heart broke for both April and Matt when the preverbal you know what hit the fan. Matt has a hard and fast rule that you never lie and he feels the ultimate betrayal when he finds out that June/April was actually an undercover agent that got his father put in prison for his drug trafficking crimes and racketeering. Matt and Nico were also arrested but April had left enough evidence behind that proved that Matt and Nico were innocent and the crimes solely belonged to their father. While Matt was hiring private detectives to try and find the MIA June/April, she was working another undercover job until the trial was complete. A year passes and when Matt finally found out about the betrayal, he went off the rails! He was broken, he was angry, he was bitter and he hated June/April and told her this to her face when she came to apologize for the way things went down. She had wanted to try and see if their relationship could be salvaged. As you can guess, they both fell deeply in love prior to the arrests and that wasn’t part of the plan for April. Matt was not forgiving and he wouldn’t hear her out.Can Matt ever forgive the betrayal and be able to move on with April? You are going to have to read the book and find out. There are a few twists that happen that I didn’t see coming. I loved Matt and April’s characters and the secondary characters were a great supporting cast. On the down side, after all the buildup, I was a little disappointed that the book ended a little too quickly for me, but all in all, it was a very good read. I can’t wait for the next book!If you love a second chance romance with a twist, then give this book a try.ARC kindly provided by NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Jean
    April 17, 2017
    I was so anxious for this book and Matt's story! We are left at the end of Pull Me Close with that WTF moment and I couldn't wait to see it all play out. It's hard to tell you much without spoilers, but put it like this April is not who Matt knew her to be. We get the background of them coming together in the beginning of this book. And then she disappears with no warning, no note, nothing. Jump ahead a year or so and things are way different. I loved the last half of this book! I did not see th I was so anxious for this book and Matt's story! We are left at the end of Pull Me Close with that WTF moment and I couldn't wait to see it all play out. It's hard to tell you much without spoilers, but put it like this April is not who Matt knew her to be. We get the background of them coming together in the beginning of this book. And then she disappears with no warning, no note, nothing. Jump ahead a year or so and things are way different. I loved the last half of this book! I did not see the little twist that would bring Matt to her. With all of his resentment, betrayal, and hate that had built up, I felt for him. I don't know how he got past it honestly.I did love the book, but Pull Me Close has a special place in my heart. It was great to have Katie and Nick as part of this book. I must add that the covers of both books are stunning! I was provided an ARC of this book through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • AJ
    May 20, 2017
    “Tell me something to make me stay.”4.5 starsA romantic, emotional second-chance-romance with a wonderful twist and lots of feels. Such a fantastic read, I loved it!The first book in this series, Pull Me Close, completely blew me away, and it also introduced us to Matt Moreno. Twin brother of Nick from book #1, Matt is a lawyer who also helps to run his family’s Miami night-club, Panic. A confident, fun-loving sweetheart, I loved him in the first book and have been eagerly waiting for his story “Tell me something to make me stay.”4.5 starsA romantic, emotional second-chance-romance with a wonderful twist and lots of feels. Such a fantastic read, I loved it!The first book in this series, Pull Me Close, completely blew me away, and it also introduced us to Matt Moreno. Twin brother of Nick from book #1, Matt is a lawyer who also helps to run his family’s Miami night-club, Panic. A confident, fun-loving sweetheart, I loved him in the first book and have been eagerly waiting for his story after the hint that was dropped about story to come, but this book can also easily be read as a standalone. The book is split into two parts. The first part is set in the past with Matt meeting June at his bar. There is an instant spark between them and amidst awesome flirting, banter and some serious chemistry, they fall hard for each other. Their relationship is fun, flirty and super sexy, and I loved every moment of them together. “You have my jacket, which I bet you sleep in. That’s what girls do, right? Sleep in their boyfriend’s T-shirts?”“Yeah, T-shirt. Not an expensive silk Armani suit jacket.”“Aw, look, you noticed all of that. You were sniffing it, weren’t you? Just admit it.”“You have a dirty mouth, Mr Moreno.”“Woman, my mouth is the least dirty part of me.” But right when things are looking like it might be pointing to forever, June disappears – right when he is facing disaster as his nightclub is the focus of a police investigation that reveals dark secrets and tears his family apart. Matt searches for her for over a year for June with no luck, and then all of a sudden he sees her again, except she looks completely different, and he soon learns that she is not who he thought she was. June is actual April White – a detective who was working undercover on the investigation that changed everything for him. It broke April’s heart to walk away from Matt the way she did, but she knows that she did the right thing and ultimately protected the man she had fallen so hard for. Now that she’s finally free of undercover work, she wants to make things right and see if she and Matt can rekindle what they once had, but Matt’s anger and devastation over what he perceives as April’s betrayal seems too big to overcome. “I know this doesn’t mean anything to you, Matt. But I wasn’t lying when I said I love you. I still do.”“Yeah, well, I fucking hate you.” It seems impossible, but a surprising twist will change everything for Matt and April, giving them a unique opportunity to move on from their past and discover each other all over again. I don’t want to go into any more detail than that because this book just has to be experienced, but the journey that these characters go on is unexpected, captivating, and beautifully emotional. I could feel everything that they were going through, and I think the author did a fantastic job at exploring both Matt and April and getting us to the heart of all that they were feeling. “Whatever happens, remember this. This is me and you. This is real.” I just loved these characters. I loved them together, and as a couple, and the uniqueness of their issues, and the way that they move forward created a truly unforgettable read with a romance that absolutely melted my heart. Nick and Katie from the first book both make very welcome appearances, as well as some of the other side characters, and I loved the hint given for the next book, which I cannot wait for. A beautiful story, I loved it!4.5 stars. An Advanced review copy was generously provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Monique V
    April 11, 2017
    Thank you Netgalley for providing me with an early copy of this book.4 stars. I really enjoyed this book. A very sexy page turner. I was dissapointed when it ended so quickly. It was such a small book that I wish would have had more pages. I feel like the ending was rushed. I did enjoy this book though and I would recommend it!
    more
  • ~Mandi~
    June 20, 2017
    Make Me StayPanic #2Sidney Halston4 ⭐⭐⭐⭐This is Matt and April's story. Matt meets April while she is undercover. Although he doesn't know that she is an undercover cop. He falls for her but she is gathering evidence against his dad. After disappearing for a year, April returns to Miami and runs into Matt. Matt finally puts two and two together after seeing a news report. He is so angry with April. April gets attacked and now has amnesia. Matt takes her home to help her heal and recover her memo Make Me StayPanic #2Sidney Halston4 ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️This is Matt and April's story. Matt meets April while she is undercover. Although he doesn't know that she is an undercover cop. He falls for her but she is gathering evidence against his dad. After disappearing for a year, April returns to Miami and runs into Matt. Matt finally puts two and two together after seeing a news report. He is so angry with April. April gets attacked and now has amnesia. Matt takes her home to help her heal and recover her memory. Even though he still hates her for what she did. After spending more time with her, Matt realizes he is still in love with her. This was such a cute romance. I enjoyed reading this one. I will be recommending this to my reader friends. Can't wait for the next Panic story to come out. Thanks to NetGalley for the arc in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Carol
    April 21, 2017
    4.5 stars.I was excited to review this as "Pull me Close" (Panic #1) was such a hit with me and the teaser for this one at the end of book one already had me hooked. This book was clearly such a different book from the first one but I really liked the different spin the author added to it. Matt and June/April's story was split into 2 parts with a year in between. Not wanting to add any spoilers to this review but suffice to say that the woman Matt knows as June suddenly disappears on him with no 4.5 stars.I was excited to review this as "Pull me Close" (Panic #1) was such a hit with me and the teaser for this one at the end of book one already had me hooked. This book was clearly such a different book from the first one but I really liked the different spin the author added to it. Matt and June/April's story was split into 2 parts with a year in between. Not wanting to add any spoilers to this review but suffice to say that the woman Matt knows as June suddenly disappears on him with no warning and no trace. All his attempts to find her fail until she finally resurfaces as April and from there it is a story that generates a lot of emotion. It is a love story based on lies and deception and as everything unravels there is a lot of hurt and pain involved. I really enjoyed this book and I am becoming such a fan of the hugely talented Sidney Halston. I can't wait to see what the next book " Kiss me Back" has in store for her readers.ARC received from netgalley in exchange for an honest review.  
    more
  • Hollis
    June 15, 2017
    I'm going to preface this review by saying I read book one in Halston's Panic series solely because I was approved for this title. So while I wasn't necessarily interested in book one, I was interested in book two. And I would not have thought that, of the two, book one would be the stronger, and more enjoyable, read. After PULL ME CLOSE went from having a lot of potential to having some problematic and 'it's not you, it's me' issues, it reinforced my thoughts that MAKE ME STAY was the better fi I'm going to preface this review by saying I read book one in Halston's Panic series solely because I was approved for this title. So while I wasn't necessarily interested in book one, I was interested in book two. And I would not have thought that, of the two, book one would be the stronger, and more enjoyable, read. After PULL ME CLOSE went from having a lot of potential to having some problematic and 'it's not you, it's me' issues, it reinforced my thoughts that MAKE ME STAY was the better fit, story-wise. And so I'm shocked at how almost from the opening pages I was struggling with this one.Book two takes place during events, and situations, that predate book as well as come after. I was looking forward to the backstory around the take down of the Moreno brothers' father, especially the cop who turned Matt's head, and what would happen when they reunited after he discovered she was undercover. And yet.. I didn't like any of it.Despite the fact that he was my favourite of the two brothers in book one, I never found myself liking Matt. Didn't hate him but never warmed to him. So in that sense he did better than April/June.. who I did not like. After their reunion events occur that cause April to lose her memory, a plot direction that seems sorta like cheating to force a reconciliation between these two characters; we have Matt, who doesn't know who April really is, if "June" was all a lie, and now April doesn't even know herself.Spoilers ahead.However. I could maybe have moved past the amnesia plotline had the memory loss been consistent. Initially it's determined she remembers nothing from the last few years, yet the only clear memory she has is graduating the police academy.. ten years earlier. So, what is it, only two or three years lost (including the memory and identity of her undercover partner) or a whole decade gone? She also conveniently forgets her lifelong illness. So, that doesn't add up. Then, weeks later when she's adjusting, she makes a comment about always being athletic and not just to get through the police academy, and yet seems surprised she can fight..? You're a fucking cop.Also, I'm no doctor, but should someone who is nearly beat to death, put in a coma due to fractures to her skull, be discharged after only two weeks..? And walking around fine and dandy a few days later? I feel like no.I also didn't like that the "June" we knew through experiencing scenes with Matt when she was undercover comes across as the worst actress in the world. Shady, worried, hesitant, not smooth at all with some of the aspects of her coverstory. Yet in a few flashbacks we get via Matt's POV, of moments we never saw, there's none of that awkwardness. Is it the rose coloured glasses? Or was "June" just written poorly as a way to foreshadow the reveal of her fake persona? I don't know, but it was annoying, and made it hard to accept that this woman was somehow put undercover as an agent for this major drug take down. She could barely lie her way out of a wet paper bag.I wish I could remember. I want to give him some sort of reason. A justification for why I pretended to be someone else.Oh my god it isn't hard. You were undercover. He was your in to get to his father. This has been explained. The fact that this 'woe is me' angst was still being hashed over and over again at the 89% mark.. I have no words.While I was looking forward to this middle installment in the Panic series I have to admit that this series, and this author, isn't for me. I won't be reading the final installment. I don't particularly enjoy her writing, find the dialogue to be pretty weak (especially the early exchanges between the brothers), found some transitions to be awkward (which may just be the ARC) and I'm just no longer interested. Especially as the brief glimpse of book three's couple did nothing to hook me for anything further. Sorry, would not recommend.1.5 stars** I received an ARC from NetGalley and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • The Book Junkie Reads . . .
    June 28, 2017
    Loveswept has allowed for Sidney Halston to sweep me away again in the beauty of Miami Beach and the alluring, danger, drama, desire, and intrigue of the nightclub atmosphere. This time round we are back at Panic and Matt has continued his search for the one woman that set his world on fire. Then she is there. With secrets, drama, and an all-consuming desire that each have held onto. April never meant to fall in love. She never wanted to bring Matt in to her world of lies, deceit, and alternate Loveswept has allowed for Sidney Halston to sweep me away again in the beauty of Miami Beach and the alluring, danger, drama, desire, and intrigue of the nightclub atmosphere. This time round we are back at Panic and Matt has continued his search for the one woman that set his world on fire. Then she is there. With secrets, drama, and an all-consuming desire that each have held onto. April never meant to fall in love. She never wanted to bring Matt in to her world of lies, deceit, and alternate identities. She was a woman with a job to do. She just never expected to find that one love of her life.Matt and April had so much to put back together and so much to lose. This was a read that took me all the way. It gave me more and then more. The angst, drama, desire, respect, secrets, lies, love, passion, and so forth. The read did no leave me needing. I get both the story of before and the story of now. They had a connection but she had a job. We see how they fell in love in the beginning. We also get to watch as that love brings them back together to build something new and lasting.Sidney Halston gives me a read that pulls me in in more than one way. She draws on the depth of her characters, the richness in the plots, and combines this with the drama, passion, and support characters. The way she melds the before and after makes the read make sense. There was no huge gaping hole that left me wanting more. April and Matt find there but with challenges. If you read book one then you need to very much pick up book two of this series. If you have not read book one and want to start this series go ahead pick up this one and see Matt’s struggle to find that love that he knows will complete him. While April works to fix her world, and regain her love. This was a second chance romance that gave you the whole story.Panic series:Pull Me Close – Panic, #1Make Me Stay – Panic, #2Kiss Me Back – Panic, #3
    more
  • April Symes
    June 26, 2017
    Make Me Stay is book 2 in the Panic series. This is the story of Matt and April, aka June. It is not an easy story to read, it is full of angst, anger, bitterness and feelings of betrayal. Split into two parts, this book introduces us to these characters when they are first getting to know one another as Matt and June; then Part 2 comes and gives us Matt and April, and we get to see them discover each other all over again. Their relationship was a strong one, even though it all started as a lie Make Me Stay is book 2 in the Panic series. This is the story of Matt and April, aka June. It is not an easy story to read, it is full of angst, anger, bitterness and feelings of betrayal. Split into two parts, this book introduces us to these characters when they are first getting to know one another as Matt and June; then Part 2 comes and gives us Matt and April, and we get to see them discover each other all over again. Their relationship was a strong one, even though it all started as a lie which is where the angst and betrayal and bitterness comes in on part 2. It also brought on a twist that I did not see coming . Oh its angsty and full of will they or wont they. I did love Matt and April’s love story. Its wasn’t all rainbows and unicorns but full of suspenseful drama and secrets-just remember things aren’t always as they appear. I enjoyed how Ms. Halston wrote this beautiful and deep 2nd chance romance story. I now an eagerly awaiting Fox’s romance story.My Rating: 4.5 stars *****"I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book in exchange for an honest review***
    more
  • Nerdy Dirty & Flirty
    June 26, 2017
    She did the one thing he couldn’t forgive…Oh Matt, I couldn’t wait for your story… I LOVED Nick and Katie’s story in Pull Me Close and Matt was a big part of that five-star read. He was there to be supportive, funny and a pain in the ass like only the best of brothers can be. I wanted only good things for the seemingly happy go lucky guy and what awaited him was good, angst-y and oh so satisfying…This is a standalone story but Matt and April’s bumpy courtship has everything to do with what came She did the one thing he couldn’t forgive…Oh Matt, I couldn’t wait for your story… I LOVED Nick and Katie’s story in Pull Me Close and Matt was a big part of that five-star read. He was there to be supportive, funny and a pain in the ass like only the best of brothers can be. I wanted only good things for the seemingly happy go lucky guy and what awaited him was good, angst-y and oh so satisfying…This is a standalone story but Matt and April’s bumpy courtship has everything to do with what came before. There is an instant connection between them, obvious in their flirty banter and their mutual attraction you can feel it is so strong. And it’s all about the feels as the characters live and breathe joy and happiness as well as fear, anger and sadness. Sounds like a pot-boiler and it is. A cauldron of broiling emotion that takes over their hearts, minds and lives… “Panic is all about numbness. The illusion of being worry-free, alcohol making you brave and forgetful, lust motivating you to be wicked.” Matt is a good guy with edges galore. Even when he didn’t want to be good – he wanted to be angry and bitter and hurtful, he wanted to wallow in all the hurt. April was his equal. She wanted to do what was right and do it the right way. Hurting Matt was the last thing she wanted. Life doesn’t always play along though and their relationship was going to be tested to the breaking point. And I was thrilled to be along for each moment of it…The turmoil, the inner battles – they were real, strong and impossible not to feel… Awesome!
    more
  • Dísir
    April 9, 2017
    The review for ‘Make Me Stay’ is a hard one to write for sure; not because it’s a bad read (far from it), but because it’s so far from what I thought it would be that it has put me at a loss for words. Split into 2 parts, the first is the predictable flashback, a long, detailed recounting of the days after Matt Moreno meets June Simpson and how they fell for each other, even though June really isn’t who she seems. Part 2, however, turned the entire book around with events that I didn’t see comin The review for ‘Make Me Stay’ is a hard one to write for sure; not because it’s a bad read (far from it), but because it’s so far from what I thought it would be that it has put me at a loss for words. Split into 2 parts, the first is the predictable flashback, a long, detailed recounting of the days after Matt Moreno meets June Simpson and how they fell for each other, even though June really isn’t who she seems. Part 2, however, turned the entire book around with events that I didn’t see coming at all. But I was sorely disappointed not to see that same kickass cop I was hoping to see—this time coming into things in a blaze of glory—as the twist in the plot meant that the strong, take-no-prisoners detective had morphed into a broken, defeated woman who barely knew what she was doing. It was hard to reconcile this woman with the one we saw in the first part, but I had to constantly remind myself that this was contemporary romance rather than action or suspense. It’s an adjustment that takes for work for me, but reading about April (formerly known as June) and Matt rebuilding their relationship almost accidentally was engrossing to say the least, particularly so when they were now doing it for once, when no secrets were between them. April and Matt were by and large likeable characters as well, which, in my opinion, made the book. Matt’s loyalty was indisputable, as was April’s own personal sense of justice and Sidney Halston writes both of them so flawed in a way that you can’t help but want them to succeed, even though the journey is an angsty one and paved with tears, anger and so much love. Even the epilogue doesn’t quite guarantee the perfect sunset, but it’s a realistic acknowledgement that the road to forgiveness is a rocky one, written with just the right glimmer of hope for the both of them. *ARC by netgalley(always grateful, mind)
    more
  • Brooke
    April 26, 2017
    **This book was given to me by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**This is the second book in the Panic series and was honestly a very, very tough act to follow. Pull Me Close (the first in the series) has become one of my all time favorites. I LOVED that book and gave it a 5 star review--which I rarely do. Make Me Stay is an excellent addition to the series. Without revealing too much, the romantic element is complex and I could certainly understand the struggles Matt had when thrown in **This book was given to me by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review**This is the second book in the Panic series and was honestly a very, very tough act to follow. Pull Me Close (the first in the series) has become one of my all time favorites. I LOVED that book and gave it a 5 star review--which I rarely do. Make Me Stay is an excellent addition to the series. Without revealing too much, the romantic element is complex and I could certainly understand the struggles Matt had when thrown into an awkward and frustrating situation with April--the woman he loves.The bottom line is that no matter what Halston writes, I seem to love it. She brings emotions to the surface and has become one of my favorite authors in the romance genre. If you haven't read any of her books, you're missing out.
    more
  • Strider28
    April 14, 2017
    This book takes place in Miami, Florida. It centers around a bar called Panic and has been an iconic place for the wealthy and famous to be seen. It's owned by Matt Moreno, his brother Nick and their dad Victor. Matt never wanted to run the nightclub so he's a successful lawyer during the week and then he helps his family out on the weekends. But Matt becomes more interested in the bar after meeting June Simpson. There's instant chemistry but June travels a lot for work so they spend what little This book takes place in Miami, Florida. It centers around a bar called Panic and has been an iconic place for the wealthy and famous to be seen. It's owned by Matt Moreno, his brother Nick and their dad Victor. Matt never wanted to run the nightclub so he's a successful lawyer during the week and then he helps his family out on the weekends. But Matt becomes more interested in the bar after meeting June Simpson. There's instant chemistry but June travels a lot for work so they spend what little time they have together not just having great sex but getting to really know one another. But not all is as it seems. June disappears out of Matts life and he's devistated! He searches for her for over a year. But when she suddenly reappears she brings shocking news that will change his families lives forever. This book is character driven. As I've come to expect from Sidney Halston she weaves an intriguing story that left me unable to put the book down! There is love, suspense, betrayal and the desire for forgiveness. I highly recommend this book. I voluntarily reviewed this book.
    more
  • Nina
    May 31, 2017
    Make Me Stay is Matt's story [Nick's twin brother from Pull Me Close]. The story is written in two parts, the past and the present. Matt is a hard working lawyer during the week and co-owner of Panic, a Miami nightclub, on the weekends. When he meets June/April one weekend whilst working, she rocks his world and leaves him questioning his lifestyle. Little does he know she carries a secret that will change everything... especially after she suddenly disappears then Matt, Nick and their dad are a Make Me Stay is Matt's story [Nick's twin brother from Pull Me Close]. The story is written in two parts, the past and the present. Matt is a hard working lawyer during the week and co-owner of Panic, a Miami nightclub, on the weekends. When he meets June/April one weekend whilst working, she rocks his world and leaves him questioning his lifestyle. Little does he know she carries a secret that will change everything... especially after she suddenly disappears then Matt, Nick and their dad are arrested.When the couple is finally reunited in the present, it isn't exactly a happy reunion. Matt is hurt, full of hate, and seeking answers to his questions. But he also cannot deny how he feels about April. There is a twist in this book that turned my little world upside. This couple will have to fight with everything they have to claw their way back. This book was everything! Matt and April captivated me from the very first chapter and took me on an emotional journey. They were two people who really deserved to find love and happiness. I love Sidney Halston and her writing. This is a great series so far and I can't wait for Foxes' story!
    more
  • Laurel
    April 9, 2017
    I was given an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest and independent review. It's a pleasant change to read a romantic suspense novel which is not entirely predictable. I really liked the storyline. Interesting characters,lots of passion and romance and lots of angst. 3.5 ***
    more
  • Myst
    May 10, 2017
    Note: I've read book 1 right after reading this.Omg, this as really good! I didn't expect the use of that trope bring used here to move the story along. There was just enough angst and tender moments while they figure out. I can't wait to find more about Lola. After reading book 1: Oh wow, that cliffhanger at the end to tie into this! Trying to remember if they touch on that in book 2.This is a voluntary review via netgalley my thoughts are my own!
    more
  • Amber
    May 22, 2017
    Without spoiling too much, Make Me Stay is somewhat of an unconventional love story between a lawyer/nightclub owner and a pharmaceutical rep. The pair happen to meet one night at Matt's bar and hit it off from there. I thought the book was pretty good up until the third act and thats where the author lost me. I felt that subplot, in particular, was unnecessary and over the top. it also ruined what could have been a great book. Besides that, the characters were great and the writing was also don Without spoiling too much, Make Me Stay is somewhat of an unconventional love story between a lawyer/nightclub owner and a pharmaceutical rep. The pair happen to meet one night at Matt's bar and hit it off from there. I thought the book was pretty good up until the third act and thats where the author lost me. I felt that subplot, in particular, was unnecessary and over the top. it also ruined what could have been a great book. Besides that, the characters were great and the writing was also done well.*ARC received from publisher via Netgalley*
    more
  • Mary
    June 7, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. A guy and a girl meet, fall in love and girl disappears. A year later, the guy sees the girl on the street and the girl denies that she's the same person. Later she tells him who she really is. She's the person who planted the bugs to find evidence to put his father in prison and cost him his career as a lawyer. He's upset and can't forgive her, until she's severely beaten by a thug who blames her for him going to prison.As I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. A guy and a girl meet, fall in love and girl disappears. A year later, the guy sees the girl on the street and the girl denies that she's the same person. Later she tells him who she really is. She's the person who planted the bugs to find evidence to put his father in prison and cost him his career as a lawyer. He's upset and can't forgive her, until she's severely beaten by a thug who blames her for him going to prison.As Matt takes care of April during her recovery, he begins to realize that not everything is black and white, that the shades of grey is where the truth lies.I enjoyed this book, but the flashbacks - from both points of view - made it hard for me to stay in the continuum of this book.~~Wicked Reads Review Team~~
    more
  • Misty Walker
    April 15, 2017
    Oh Mateo, if I wasn't devoted to Nico... you'd be my #1. We meet Mateo, or Matt, in book 1 (Pull Me Close), he's Nic's more straight laced and easy going twin. While he is working 60 hours a week as a lawyer and then moonlighting at Panic on the weekend, he meets June. She sweeps him off his feet and makes him start questioning the exhausting life he is leading. That is when everything hits the fan. Matt, Nic and his dad are arrested and June is gone. Vanished. A year later, we get to find out w Oh Mateo, if I wasn't devoted to Nico... you'd be my #1. We meet Mateo, or Matt, in book 1 (Pull Me Close), he's Nic's more straight laced and easy going twin. While he is working 60 hours a week as a lawyer and then moonlighting at Panic on the weekend, he meets June. She sweeps him off his feet and makes him start questioning the exhausting life he is leading. That is when everything hits the fan. Matt, Nic and his dad are arrested and June is gone. Vanished. A year later, we get to find out why and what happened. There is something special about Sidney Halston's writing. There's no fairytale, no extenuating circumstances, no crazy storyline. It is so real and so viable that you can almost start to believe in it. I love this the most about her writing. It proves that writing doesn't have to be outlandish to be good. Readers can still believe in a story and also be obsessed. I loved Matt's story. I loved how head over heels he fell with June, I loved the twists and turns that their story took, I loved what a brave and forgiving soul Matt was. There just aren't enough good things for me to say about this book.
    more
  • Tami
    April 17, 2017
    3.5I skipped and skimmed through the flashback of the first half of the book. I really enjoyed reading the second half though. It definitely redeemed itself. This review is based on the ARC provided by the author and/or the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
Write a review