Unsub (UNSUB, #1)
A riveting psychological thriller inspired by the never-caught Zodiac Killer, about a young detective determined to apprehend the serial murderer who destroyed her family and terrorized a city twenty years earlier.Caitlin Hendrix has been a Narcotics detective for six months when the killer at the heart of all her childhood nightmares reemerges: the Prophet. An UNSUB—what the FBI calls an unknown subject—the Prophet terrorized the Bay Area in the 1990s and nearly destroyed her father, the lead investigator on the case.The Prophet’s cryptic messages and mind games drove Detective Mack Hendrix to the brink of madness, and Mack’s failure to solve the series of ritualized murders—eleven seemingly unconnected victims left with the ancient sign for Mercury etched into their flesh—was the final nail in the coffin for a once promising career.Twenty years later, two bodies are found bearing the haunting signature of the Prophet. Caitlin Hendrix has never escaped the shadow of her father’s failure to protect their city. But now the ruthless madman is killing again and has set his sights on her, threatening to undermine the fragile barrier she rigidly maintains for her own protection, between relentless pursuit and dangerous obsession.Determined to decipher his twisted messages and stop the carnage, Caitlin ignores her father’s warnings as she draws closer to the killer with each new gruesome murder. Is it a copycat, or can this really be the same Prophet who haunted her childhood? Will Caitlin avoid repeating her father’s mistakes and redeem her family name, or will chasing the Prophet drag her and everyone she loves into the depths of the abyss?

Unsub (UNSUB, #1) Details

TitleUnsub (UNSUB, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherDutton
ISBN1101985526
ISBN-139781101985526
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery Thriller

Unsub (UNSUB, #1) Review

  • Linda Strong
    May 18, 2017
    The Prophet terrorized the Bay Area 20 years ago. He left 11 victims behind each killed in a horrific way ... and then he disappeared.Caitlin Hendrix is a new Narcotics Detective when The Prophet seems to reappear. This is the monster she has nightmares about. Her father, Mack, was the lead detective when The Prophet was first known. Mack almost lost his sanity over his failure to catch this guy .... his partner was killed ... and Mack tried to kill himself.Now Caitlin must face her biggest fear The Prophet terrorized the Bay Area 20 years ago. He left 11 victims behind each killed in a horrific way ... and then he disappeared.Caitlin Hendrix is a new Narcotics Detective when The Prophet seems to reappear. This is the monster she has nightmares about. Her father, Mack, was the lead detective when The Prophet was first known. Mack almost lost his sanity over his failure to catch this guy .... his partner was killed ... and Mack tried to kill himself.Now Caitlin must face her biggest fear. Two bodies are found, each bearing the same injuries as his earlier victims. The bodies are mutilated and he sends notes ... the only clues he leaves for the police.Although her father tries to warn her as she draws closer to the killer with each new killing.Is it a copycat, or can this really be the same Prophet who haunted her childhood? Will Caitlin avoid repeating her father’s mistakes and redeem her family name, or will chasing the Prophet drag her and everyone she loves into the depths of the abyss? (from book synopsis)Excellent psychological thriller! Kept me glued from the very first page to the explosive sending. I have read a few of this author's earlier books ... she has really mastered her craft. The characters are credible and I really enjoyed the relationship between Caitlin and her father.... and the relationship between Caitlin, her FBI boyfriend, Sean, Sean's ex-wife and daughter. Another book featuring Caitlin Hendrix will be out sometime next year. INTO THE BLACK NOWHERE. I will be watching for it ... will you?Many thanks to the author / PENGUIN GROUP Dutton / Netgalley for the digital copy. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Jim
    April 9, 2017
    3.5 StarsThis is the first book by Meg Gardiner that I have read. Initially I was going with 3 stars. Another serial killer on the loose in California, causing panic, and people staying behind locked doors from sundown to sunup. The ending though was full of page turning suspense. A countdown ... literally. And it would seem that this book is the first in a new series. As a result I am bumping this up a half star. The story and characters are not very believable but it is nonetheless exciting. I 3.5 StarsThis is the first book by Meg Gardiner that I have read. Initially I was going with 3 stars. Another serial killer on the loose in California, causing panic, and people staying behind locked doors from sundown to sunup. The ending though was full of page turning suspense. A countdown ... literally. And it would seem that this book is the first in a new series. As a result I am bumping this up a half star. The story and characters are not very believable but it is nonetheless exciting. I think it would transition to a television movie easily.In the 1990's a serial killer, nicknamed the Prophet, terrorized the San Francisco Bay area. Caitlin Hendrix's father, Mack, was the lead investigator. The Prophet not only destroyed the families of his victims he also destroyed Caitlin's family. Her father was driven to the brink of madness and her parents divorced. Then the Prophet disappeared. The killings stopped. Twenty years later two bodies are found in a corn field and the killings appear to be the work of the Prophet. Caitlin is now a narcotics detective but she has never escaped the shadow of her father's failure to solve the case. Has the Prophet returned? Or is this a copycat? Whichever the case he seems to have set his eyes on Caitlin and is determined to break down the barrier she has tried to maintain to leave the job at the station. To avoid dangerous obsession which drove her father to the brink. But now she finds herself drawn into the case. And she will have to reach out to her father for his knowledge and expertise on the Prophet. The Prophet likes to leave cryptic clues and messages. To taunt the police. The hook? Can Caitlin solve the cryptic clues and stop the terror? Or will she suffer the same fate as her father and let obsession bring her down and destroy her life and career? As I mentioned at the beginning the ending was a page turning race. And it would seem that we haven't seen the last of Caitlin Hendrix.This book appears to have been inspired by the Zodiac Killer who terrorized Northern California in the late 1960's. The killer remains unknown.I would like to thank Goodreads and Dutton for this Advanced Reading Copy!
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    May 20, 2017
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I really enjoyed this one. I have never read anything written by Meg Gardiner before picking up this book but after reading the description, I knew that I would have to give this book a shot. I am very glad that I did. The books opens with a lot of excitement so I was immediately hooked. There was never a moment where I felt like I wanted to put this book down even though I had to every once in a while due to various responsibilities This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I really enjoyed this one. I have never read anything written by Meg Gardiner before picking up this book but after reading the description, I knew that I would have to give this book a shot. I am very glad that I did. The books opens with a lot of excitement so I was immediately hooked. There was never a moment where I felt like I wanted to put this book down even though I had to every once in a while due to various responsibilities including my job and other such boring things. This was one of those stories that really got into my head and didn't let go until I got to the last page.The Prophet killed one person after another, sometimes more than one at a time, before suddenly stopping over twenty years ago. He was never caught and he killed his victims in different ways so that it was hard for the police to get ahead of him. Mack Hendrix was one of those detectives tasked with catching this ruthless serial killer. He was never able to catch the murderer and the case ended up destroying his life.Caitlin, Mack's daughter, became a detective even after everything her father has went through. She has worked in narcotics but as soon as a murder occurs similar to that of the Prophet, she gets a call. Is it a copycat or could the Prophet be back? She is highly motivated to catch this killer but also fears losing herself in the case as her father did.I really liked the characters in this one. They just all felt really authentic to me. Caitlin seemed like she really cared about her job but she worked hard to have a life outside of it. I really felt that all of her emotions during the case were very well done. Sean was amazing. He knew exactly how to be supportive without being overbearing. I thought that Sean and Caitlin were wonderful together. The secondary characters were equally well done.I thought that the mystery was exciting and pretty complex. This wasn't one of those books where you figure out what is going on early on. I don't think I ever figured anything out before the author wanted me to but I never stopped trying. All of the descriptions in the story really helped bring the story to life.I would highly recommend this book to fans of mystery thrillers. This story does involve a serial killer so there are a few more graphic scenes as you would expect in this kind of story. I am really looking forward to future book in this series.I received an advance reader edition of this book from Penguin Group Viking - Dutton Books via First to Read.Initial ThoughtsI like this one. It kept me guessing until the end and it was pretty exciting.
    more
  • Holly
    April 3, 2017
    So a couple of years ago there was a Meg Gardiner book that I wanted to read but never got around to it. I've heard several times that I should pick up one of her books. When I saw this offered on Netgalley I requested it right away and I'm so thankful that I was accepted because I will never hesitate again to pick up a Meg Gardiner book!This was an unpredictable mystery. After Caitlin watched her father diminish from trying to capture the Prophet as a young child, when the time comes for her sh So a couple of years ago there was a Meg Gardiner book that I wanted to read but never got around to it. I've heard several times that I should pick up one of her books. When I saw this offered on Netgalley I requested it right away and I'm so thankful that I was accepted because I will never hesitate again to pick up a Meg Gardiner book!This was an unpredictable mystery. After Caitlin watched her father diminish from trying to capture the Prophet as a young child, when the time comes for her shot at doing something her father couldn't, she goes all in. The Prophet is back and intent on dragging Caitlin into the investigation. From there, the action doesn't stop. This book pulled me in and didn't let go till the last pages and even after that I wanted more!! The ending was a WTF kind of moment and I just know that I'll be eagerly awaiting more.**Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Denise
    March 5, 2017
    Nonstop action and suspense, this serial killer chiller was impossible to put down!Narcotics detective, Caitlin Hendrix, is called into Homicide for the desperate search for a serial killer who her father, former Detective Mack Hendrix, could not catch. The Prophet. After a killing spree in the 1990s, this UNSUB went dark for 20 years and has now come back with a vengeance. The Prophet leaves notes and plays games with the investigators leading them to scenes out of hell itself. Caitlin and her Nonstop action and suspense, this serial killer chiller was impossible to put down!Narcotics detective, Caitlin Hendrix, is called into Homicide for the desperate search for a serial killer who her father, former Detective Mack Hendrix, could not catch. The Prophet. After a killing spree in the 1990s, this UNSUB went dark for 20 years and has now come back with a vengeance. The Prophet leaves notes and plays games with the investigators leading them to scenes out of hell itself. Caitlin and her team work frantically to anticipate what this maniac is going to do next, and try to figure out WHY. The clues and murders continue and Caitlin is falling down the rabbit hole into obsession, just as her father before her did. Great story line and writing, it kept me engaged with just the right amount of tension. The characters were typical of this genre, always a little messed up psychologically, but believable. I got the feeling that this might be the first of a new series, so will be on the lookout for another featuring Caitlin Hendrix.Thank you to NetGalley and PENGUIN GROUP Dutton for the e-book ARC to review.
    more
  • Judy
    May 20, 2017
    Well-written thriller - gritty and gory. Based on the Zodiac Killer and the start of a new series. I really like the character, Caitlin Hendrix. She's strong and intuitive as she chases the killer through some very strange clues. I will look forward to the next book.Thanks to Meg Gardiner and Penguin Group Dutton through Netgalley for an advance copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • OutlawPoet
    March 28, 2017
    Oh, this was a wild ride of a book.It’s gruesome, unpredictable, and seems to be first in a series. There’s a cliffhanger here, folks, though the book does tie most things up pretty well.Now, I’ll be honest. I never really bought into our earnest young cop. The only things she seems to have going for her are her last name and a hot boyfriend. Yet, she ends up on the homicide task force chasing a horrendous serial killer. And some of the revelations she has during the case stretched my credibilit Oh, this was a wild ride of a book.It’s gruesome, unpredictable, and seems to be first in a series. There’s a cliffhanger here, folks, though the book does tie most things up pretty well.Now, I’ll be honest. I never really bought into our earnest young cop. The only things she seems to have going for her are her last name and a hot boyfriend. Yet, she ends up on the homicide task force chasing a horrendous serial killer. And some of the revelations she has during the case stretched my credibility a bit.However, I was a bit too intent on finding out just what was happening and who was doing it to care. The author gives us a series of grotesque and very unique scenarios here. I was surprised each time –and given the number of thrillers and mysteries I read, it can be hard to surprise me.I want the next book now. I have a suspicion and I wonder if I’m right. Now, every blasted one of my suspicions in book 1 was completely wrong, so I think I’ll be wrong in book 2 as well, but I can’t wait to find out!A very good thriller!*ARC provided via Net Galley
    more
  • Chava
    April 9, 2017
    This book just took off and didn't let me go. The ending was so surprising, I hung on the whole ride and didn't want the book to finish. Loved it, I hope there will be a sequel
  • Stacy
    May 15, 2017
    Read this through the First to Read program. Gardiner's style has changed. Less humor, more thrills--but that could also be that this is a thriller as opposed to a mystery novel. At any rate, she provides a real page turner here.
  • Michelegg
    May 24, 2017
    What a fabulous, chilling, gory, unputdownable book. I loved every page. I raced through this book at lightening speed, unable to stop reading because of the need to know how it was all going to work out in the end. And it was worth every moment spent flipping pages. Seriously amazing.Caitlin was fascinating, as was her father, Mack. I enjoyed getting to know them, discovering what made them tick and what ultimately unraveled him and what drives her. For both of them it's The Prophet. For Mack i What a fabulous, chilling, gory, unputdownable book. I loved every page. I raced through this book at lightening speed, unable to stop reading because of the need to know how it was all going to work out in the end. And it was worth every moment spent flipping pages. Seriously amazing.Caitlin was fascinating, as was her father, Mack. I enjoyed getting to know them, discovering what made them tick and what ultimately unraveled him and what drives her. For both of them it's The Prophet. For Mack it's his failure to apprehend him, and for Caitlin it's the need to. And so begins a game of cat and mouse that is awesome to behold.The murders and the crime scenes are grisly, the Propher was one unhinged fellow. And the police work is fascinating. I love reading about this process. I highly recommend this book to lovers of police procedurals, twisted serial killers and books that you simply cannot put down until you've turned the last page. This was a stunner!
    more
  • Susan
    April 21, 2017
    Unsub by Meg Gardner is the first book that I've read from this author. And it certainly won't be my last. Unsub is a tension filled thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat! Great characters and a creepy serial killer kept me turning pages quickly. I'm hoping Caitlin will get her own series. *ARC provided by NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Jay
    April 9, 2017
    The most fun I've had reading a serial killer book in a long time. I will definitely read the sequel. I read an advance copy of this book received through a Goodreads Giveaway drawing.
  • Purple Country Girl (Sandy)
    May 9, 2017
    I received a copy of Unsub via Penguin’s First to Read program in exchange for an unbiased review.4.5Unsub is definitely an on the edge of your seat thriller. I read it in practically in one sitting because it was impossible to put down. It’s one of those books that never slows down and it leaves you anxious - in a good way! - as you read it. It’s not for the squeamish and it’s not for those who like everything resolved in the end.Caitlin Hendrix has followed in her father’s footsteps and become I received a copy of Unsub via Penguin’s First to Read program in exchange for an unbiased review.4.5Unsub is definitely an on the edge of your seat thriller. I read it in practically in one sitting because it was impossible to put down. It’s one of those books that never slows down and it leaves you anxious - in a good way! - as you read it. It’s not for the squeamish and it’s not for those who like everything resolved in the end.Caitlin Hendrix has followed in her father’s footsteps and become a police officer. Her father, Mack, was a homicide detective and Caitlin is a detective working narcotics. When Caitlin was a child, her father was obsessed with finding a serial killer, nicknamed the Prophet, who terrorized the San Francisco Bay area for five years, taunting Mack and leaving a trail of gruesome murders and broken lives in his wake. The case landed Mack in a psychiatric hospital for six months and destroyed his marriage and weakened his relationship with his daughter. The killer was never arrested.Over twenty years later, two bodies are discovered that bear the Prophet’s signature: the sign for Mercury. Is the Prophet back after two decades of silence or is this a vicious and cunning copycat? Caitlin is transferred to the homicide division to assist in tracking down the killer. The killer leaves disturbing and cryptic messages at the scenes like the Prophet did in the 90s. He also is killing in pairs which is another hallmark of the Prophet. When he starts to reach out to Caitlin directly (as the Prophet did with her father), the homicide team can’t deny it is a strong possibility that the Prophet is really back and has made Caitlin the focus of his attention.Caitlin seeks out her father for help since he is the expert on the Prophet. At first, he dismisses her and tells her to walk away from the case. He does not want her to end up broken like him. Eventually, and after the killer starts contacting Caitlin, Mack is more cooperative, giving her everything he has on the Prophet. It is still an uneasy alliance but Caitlin needs his help. She also has help from her boyfriend, Sean, who is an ATF agent. She assures them that she will not let the killer get inside her head and turn her pursuit of him into an obsession. Easier said than done...So often with thrillers, the characters read like cardboard cutouts. Thankfully, that is not the case here. I really like the characters - they feel very real and flawed. The writing is first rate and the tension is through the roof. The story is very clever and it exceeded my expectations. There are a few things I could nitpick but there is nothing major except the cliffhanger ending. Cliffhangers drive me nuts. It feels like this book is setting up a series and I really hope so because I really want to read more about these characters. This was my first book by Meg Gardiner and it most definitely will not be my last. Highly recommended for serial killer thriller fans!
    more
  • Ludwig Riviera
    May 26, 2017
    Twenty years ago, a well-known serial killer - referring to himself as The Prophet - went on a complete killing spree in the Bay Area, leaving cuts and carved Mercury signs on his victims' flesh. And now, he's back. With newer skills and plans for the city he has once left for good.Caitlin Hendrix takes on the investigation - the same one that destroyed her father a long time ago- and is determined to solve the case as the killer continues to send her messages that she's compelled to decode, alo Twenty years ago, a well-known serial killer - referring to himself as The Prophet - went on a complete killing spree in the Bay Area, leaving cuts and carved Mercury signs on his victims' flesh. And now, he's back. With newer skills and plans for the city he has once left for good.Caitlin Hendrix takes on the investigation - the same one that destroyed her father a long time ago- and is determined to solve the case as the killer continues to send her messages that she's compelled to decode, along with mind games The Prophet likes to play.What was The Prophet doing all these years? Was he just on the run, or was he conspiring for something even more sinister and terrorizing? This read was with no doubt worth my time, as it was nothing like what I've read before.UNSUB isn't just another typical crime novel, and The Prophet surely isn't just another fictional serial killer. His precision is sharp, and his endeavors are beyond expectations. With the killings he commits, he proceeds to put on a show for all the world to see on their home televisions - as the crime scene is still in motion when the Detectives arrive. The author gives us insight on where the serial murderer comes from, and includes his point of view that features his thoughts later on in the book and only through a medium chapter, which is enough to make the reader shiver and look over their shoulder. The ending was a definite page-turner, as the reader is not only fascinated by the outcome of the final battle between The Prophet and Detective Hendrix, but the shocking realization that is discovered afterwards. As for Caitlin Hendrix; she's so far one of my favorite fictional Detectives. Cait is easy to like; she's down-to-earth and kind, and the author shows to us how her personality grows and strengthens through the tragedies that come to occur to the ones around her and the killer's mind tricks that almost drive her to complete madness. I'm tremendously eager to read more about her and what's in store for her in the second book.Fans of Beukes' The Shining Girls or readers who await for Mark Edwards' upcoming book The Lucky Ones, will immensely appreciate this book.***Thank you to Penguin Group Dutton and Netgalley for my copy of UNSUB in exchange for an honest and unbiased review***
    more
  • Deb R
    May 29, 2017
    Wow...just wow! This is an amazing book. I loved it! It is one of the best books I have ever read!The Prophet is an unsub whose reign of terror nearly destroyed the life of Caitlin Hendrix's father, the lead investigator of a series of murders in the 1990s. It's now 20 years later, and the Prophet is back and killing again. Caitlin has become a detective and is determined to do what her father could not, stop the carnage. The real question is whether this new series of massacres is the work of t Wow...just wow! This is an amazing book. I loved it! It is one of the best books I have ever read!The Prophet is an unsub whose reign of terror nearly destroyed the life of Caitlin Hendrix's father, the lead investigator of a series of murders in the 1990s. It's now 20 years later, and the Prophet is back and killing again. Caitlin has become a detective and is determined to do what her father could not, stop the carnage. The real question is whether this new series of massacres is the work of the original Prophet or a copycat.The beginning of the book was slow for me, and I had some trouble developing interest for about the first 25% of the book. The events seemed disjointed, and the story was hard to follow. After getting through that initial background material, it really picked up. I could barely put the book down and couldn't wait to finish it, although I really hated to see it end. It appears that there will be a sequel, and I can't wait for it! What I found, though, is that as I read the book, there were references to earlier events that I only sort of remembered from the first part of the book. I decided to reread the first 25% that I found to be sluggish, and what a difference it made! There were so many juicy details that I didn't understand when I read them that now made the whole story richer. I'm so glad I reread the beginning because it really enhanced the book overall. So as you are reading, pay particular attention to all the little details.I can't recommend this book highly enough. If it seems to start slow, hang in there because you are in for a real treat. The book is one of the most complex stories I have ever read, and as Caitlin figures out what the unsub is doing, I was blown away. What a novel!As I said, I can't wait for the sequel, and I plan to reread Unsub before starting the sequel so that the transition between the two books will be seamless. Run to your bookstore and buy this book as soon as you can! You won't regret it.
    more
  • Angela
    May 11, 2017
    Heart-pounding psychological thriller. The writer put a lot of obvious attention to the research that was required to make all of the pieces come together on this one. The intricacy between the killer’s motivation and how the author was able to keep everything flowing smoothly is truly impressive. This was an excellent read. It hits all the right buttons for a murder mystery/cop thriller. A likeable, complex protagonist who is struggling with the ghosts of not only her own past as a cop’s daught Heart-pounding psychological thriller. The writer put a lot of obvious attention to the research that was required to make all of the pieces come together on this one. The intricacy between the killer’s motivation and how the author was able to keep everything flowing smoothly is truly impressive. This was an excellent read. It hits all the right buttons for a murder mystery/cop thriller. A likeable, complex protagonist who is struggling with the ghosts of not only her own past as a cop’s daughter, but with her father’s inability to capture and stop The Prophet. The killer has been dormant for 20 years, just long enough for our protagonist, Caitlin to grow up and find her own place in the department. Then tragedy strikes, and she gets sucked back into the world of the Prophet, having mostly put it from her mind after stumbling upon her father’s murder room where he kept all his research into the case. The killer is now fixated on Caitlin and determined to suck her and everyone she cares about into his world. The pace is fast and tense, ebbing and flowing at just the right moments to keep the reader on the edge of their seat without burning them out with constant build up. When someone Caitlin truly cares for is taken from her can father and daughter come together one last time to find the man that’s been in the periphery of their lives for decades? Complete with a surprise twist at the end, Unsub is intense from start to finish and should be on your “must read” list.
    more
  • Dee Kay
    May 30, 2017
    In UNSUB, Meg Gardiner weaves a thrilling story about a 20-year-old serial killer, the Prophet, who has come back to continue his game. He is killing again and taunting the police with his enigmatic messages. Only now, his focus has centered on Detective Caitlin Hendrix, daughter to Mack Hendrix, who years earlier worked the original case until the Prophet taunted Mack into a mental breakdown and a medical retirement from the police force.I was riveted by this story from the first page to the ve In UNSUB, Meg Gardiner weaves a thrilling story about a 20-year-old serial killer, the Prophet, who has come back to continue his game. He is killing again and taunting the police with his enigmatic messages. Only now, his focus has centered on Detective Caitlin Hendrix, daughter to Mack Hendrix, who years earlier worked the original case until the Prophet taunted Mack into a mental breakdown and a medical retirement from the police force.I was riveted by this story from the first page to the very end. Ms. Gardiner can string words together that are both exciting and engrossing. This book was a “can’t put it down” story that I actually went back and read bits and pieces to make sure I didn’t miss anything. I highly recommend this for those who enjoy thrillers. Because that’s exactly what it is: a THRILL to read!Thank you to the First to Read program, Penquin Random House, and Meg Gardiner for allowing me the opportunity to read this fantastic novel before publication.Wishing Happy Reading to All!!
    more
  • Alyssa Becker
    May 20, 2017
    This is such a fantastic book by Meg Gardiner. A twisted psychological tale that follows Caitlin Hendrix, a detective following in her fathers footsteps. That takes a more literal turn when the same killer that consumed her father's life has returned and is back with a vengeance. Now she must work to save the lives of the innocents, as well as fight to reclaim the sanity stolen from her father. This story follows the narrative of Caitlin, who has a great story-line and voice. I felt like I could This is such a fantastic book by Meg Gardiner. A twisted psychological tale that follows Caitlin Hendrix, a detective following in her fathers footsteps. That takes a more literal turn when the same killer that consumed her father's life has returned and is back with a vengeance. Now she must work to save the lives of the innocents, as well as fight to reclaim the sanity stolen from her father. This story follows the narrative of Caitlin, who has a great story-line and voice. I felt like I could easily identify with Caitlin, and she was instantly likeable. I do wish the reader had a little bit more context on her outside life beyond the killer. However, this is easily overlooked.Overall this was a 9/10 for me. Good plot, good narrative, compelling story and characters. Definitely looking forward to the next book in the series if there is one!*Thank you to Penguin Random House for providing the ARC for a review*
    more
  • Emily
    May 11, 2017
    Thanks to First to Read for the ARC in exchange for an honest review. UNSUB by Meg Gardiner is the first novel by the author I have had the pleasure of reading but I will definitely be checking out her other work as well. This fast-paced thriller hooks you from the first page and doesn't let go. Caitlin Hendrix grew up hearing about the Prophet since she was a little girl because her father was a lead detective on the case. Unfortunately, The Prophet disappeared after a disaster happened at the Thanks to First to Read for the ARC in exchange for an honest review. UNSUB by Meg Gardiner is the first novel by the author I have had the pleasure of reading but I will definitely be checking out her other work as well. This fast-paced thriller hooks you from the first page and doesn't let go. Caitlin Hendrix grew up hearing about the Prophet since she was a little girl because her father was a lead detective on the case. Unfortunately, The Prophet disappeared after a disaster happened at the last crime scene that sent her father to a psych ward. Twenty years later, Caitlin has followed in her father's footsteps and has become a police officer and a murder has occurred that has the Prophet's signature. Caitlin has to use her own intellect and her father's insider information to hopefully break the case and catch the killer. Emotional, gripping and creepy, this story will stay with you and make you lock your doors at night. Definitely recommend.
    more
  • Steve
    May 4, 2017
    UNSUB ⭐⭐⭐⭐1/2Meg Gardiner's new book UNSUB is fantastic. It's filled with strong characters, plenty of action, and so many edge of your seat moments that I lost count. Detective Caitlin Hendrix has just gotten home after an evening raid by her drug task force team when she is summoned to a crime scene. Once there Homicide Sergeant Guthrie escorts her to the victim. It is there that she sees the killers mark. The Prophet has returned after a 20 year absence. The Prophet who on his first go round UNSUB ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️1/2Meg Gardiner's new book UNSUB is fantastic. It's filled with strong characters, plenty of action, and so many edge of your seat moments that I lost count. Detective Caitlin Hendrix has just gotten home after an evening raid by her drug task force team when she is summoned to a crime scene. Once there Homicide Sergeant Guthrie escorts her to the victim. It is there that she sees the killers mark. The Prophet has returned after a 20 year absence. The Prophet who on his first go round was pursued by Caitlin's father Detective Mack Hendrix before Mack went over the edge and tried to kill himself. Now Caitlin must try and stop him before he kills more innocent lives and before he drives her down the same path as her father.Author Meg Gardiner has created something eerie and evil here with The Prophet, and when matched against the smarts and determination of Caitlin Hendrix should make UNSUB the book everyone is dying to read this year.
    more
  • Bin
    May 24, 2017
    I received this book from First to Read. Wow! Twisty, deep, and sinister. Grips you and drags you down into the depths of hell, literally. At times I had to stop and take a breath even as I wanted to read right through to the end. Caitlin was a deeply flawed, passionate character who I was surprised by how much I identified with. She was smart and strong but had a deep vulnerability she couldn't quite hide that made her relatable. Instead of the usual hard as nails, almost ruthless lady cop who I received this book from First to Read. Wow! Twisty, deep, and sinister. Grips you and drags you down into the depths of hell, literally. At times I had to stop and take a breath even as I wanted to read right through to the end. Caitlin was a deeply flawed, passionate character who I was surprised by how much I identified with. She was smart and strong but had a deep vulnerability she couldn't quite hide that made her relatable. Instead of the usual hard as nails, almost ruthless lady cop who takes no ones crap, we get to see the nerves, anxiety and bravery Caitlin uses to follow this killer down his crazy rabbit hole. I liked the twist of a cliffhanger and can't wait to met up with Caitlin again in the next book.
    more
  • Sarah
    May 25, 2017
    I was given an ARC of this book from First To Read in exchange for a review. I've not read anything by Meg Gardner previously, but am a huge fan of Alex Kava's Maggie O'Dell series, police procedurals, shows like Criminal Minds, and true crime anything. In this book, Gardner has created a thrilling, chilling, and slightly gory tale that feels like you've stepped into a Criminal Minds episode. I found myself drawn into Caitlin's world and hoping against hope that she would catch the Prophet befor I was given an ARC of this book from First To Read in exchange for a review. I've not read anything by Meg Gardner previously, but am a huge fan of Alex Kava's Maggie O'Dell series, police procedurals, shows like Criminal Minds, and true crime anything. In this book, Gardner has created a thrilling, chilling, and slightly gory tale that feels like you've stepped into a Criminal Minds episode. I found myself drawn into Caitlin's world and hoping against hope that she would catch the Prophet before another murder had taken place. I was rooting for Caitlin, Sean, and hoping that her father would find redemption in helping to catch the killer. This book is pretty intense and leaves room at the end for a potential sequel, for which I will be watching.
    more
  • Samantha Osborne
    May 11, 2017
    i received this for a honest review This was an unpredictable mystery. After Caitlin watched her father diminish from trying to capture the Prophet as a young child, when the time comes for her shot at doing something her father couldn't, she goes all in. The Prophet is back and intent on dragging Caitlin into the investigation. From there, the action doesn't stop. This book pulled me in and didn't let go till the last pages and even after that I wanted more!The ending though was full of page tu i received this for a honest review This was an unpredictable mystery. After Caitlin watched her father diminish from trying to capture the Prophet as a young child, when the time comes for her shot at doing something her father couldn't, she goes all in. The Prophet is back and intent on dragging Caitlin into the investigation. From there, the action doesn't stop. This book pulled me in and didn't let go till the last pages and even after that I wanted more!The ending though was full of page turning suspense.It’s gruesome, unpredictable. I loved this book it had a twist ending i wasn't prepared for it was shocking.i am going to tell everyone i know to read this this was great.
    more
  • Tori
    May 13, 2017
    ****I received a copy of this ARC to read from Penguin's FirstToRead program in exchange for an honest review!****I'm a huge unsolved mysteries buff. Constantly watching videos about them, reading books, etc., but fiction novels inspired by them can be so hit or miss with me. Sometimes it comes off as too close a copy where you just cut and paste different names or places, but Gardner's Unsub does not fall victim to that trap. The killer here is completely his own beast, with his own motives and ****I received a copy of this ARC to read from Penguin's FirstToRead program in exchange for an honest review!****I'm a huge unsolved mysteries buff. Constantly watching videos about them, reading books, etc., but fiction novels inspired by them can be so hit or miss with me. Sometimes it comes off as too close a copy where you just cut and paste different names or places, but Gardner's Unsub does not fall victim to that trap. The killer here is completely his own beast, with his own motives and personality when dealing with the police and press. Obviously anyone can see the connections drawing to the Zodiac Killer (that's also on the billing) but it can stand on its own just fine.The characters are very well written and I especially enjoyed Mack trying to redeem himself and what ended up happening with him and the reason behind his actions. My only real complaint is the use of countdowns. It's frustrating, because like in movies and shows it's always a cheap way to up the ante, while completely unrealistic. The space between actions seems much too long for the minute that it is supposed to be happening in. I just wish the action could come to a boil with some other, not overused, technique. That's where the -1 star comes from, unfortunately.(view spoiler)[ Having Mercury die at the hands of his predecessor (knowingly apparently) was also a really nice touch and is a great way to set up a second novel. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Stephanie
    May 30, 2017
    Many thanks to the Publisher and Penguin First to Read for the opportunity to read! As a fan of shows like Criminal Minds I really enjoyed this book! Though the book was heavily inspired by the Zodiac Killer and the concept itself was nothing new, this was a page turner for me from the very beginning. Caitlin's character is not loveable and she's a bit contrived. Other characters in the book are not particularly memorable, but the story itself is good and entertaining. I will definitely read boo Many thanks to the Publisher and Penguin First to Read for the opportunity to read! As a fan of shows like Criminal Minds I really enjoyed this book! Though the book was heavily inspired by the Zodiac Killer and the concept itself was nothing new, this was a page turner for me from the very beginning. Caitlin's character is not loveable and she's a bit contrived. Other characters in the book are not particularly memorable, but the story itself is good and entertaining. I will definitely read book two!
    more
  • MalRoseMallory
    May 22, 2017
    Thank you, Penguin and First to Read for the opportunity to read this ebook. This was interesting from the beginning. It started off well and ended well. The characters were complex and had real oomph. It really made the storyline easy to read because the main character, Caitlin was terrific. Her background and her history with her father was most interesting to read about.I really liked the authors' spin on the Zodiac Killers case from the 70s. It's very terrifying, but it was a good base for a Thank you, Penguin and First to Read for the opportunity to read this ebook. This was interesting from the beginning. It started off well and ended well. The characters were complex and had real oomph. It really made the storyline easy to read because the main character, Caitlin was terrific. Her background and her history with her father was most interesting to read about.I really liked the authors' spin on the Zodiac Killers case from the 70s. It's very terrifying, but it was a good base for an excellent storyline.I will definitely be reading more from Meg Gardiner.
    more
  • Barbara
    May 16, 2017
    Thank you to Penguin First To Read for the ARC in exchange for my honest review. I read a lot of thrillers and true crime. I especially enjoy books about serial killers. I've long been a fan of Patricia Cornwall, Kathy Reichs, and loved Thomas Harris' Silence of the Lambs. Unsub was a very good read and would be excellent for fans of these authors. I can see the characters of Caitlin and boyfriend Sean making a comeback in a series. The tension built at a steady pace and I found the clues based Thank you to Penguin First To Read for the ARC in exchange for my honest review. I read a lot of thrillers and true crime. I especially enjoy books about serial killers. I've long been a fan of Patricia Cornwall, Kathy Reichs, and loved Thomas Harris' Silence of the Lambs. Unsub was a very good read and would be excellent for fans of these authors. I can see the characters of Caitlin and boyfriend Sean making a comeback in a series. The tension built at a steady pace and I found the clues based on Dante's Inferno to be another big draw, possibly for Dan Brown readers.
    more
  • Sara
    May 16, 2017
    I received an advance copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.----------------------------------------------------------------------There's nothing particularly original about this book, but that's not a criticism. In my opinon, a book doesn't have to be completely original to be a good read. This is a great example. I thoroughly enjoyed this author's writing style and the fast pace and subject matter of this book. Recommended if you like serial killer-y page-turners.
    more
  • Laura
    May 24, 2017
    Sadly, this one didn't do anything for me. It added nothing to the genre, relying on well-worn tropes. The killer is rip-off of the Zodiac killer. The main character is picking up where her father left off. She's a strong woman who can only date men in simila fields because they're threatened by her. You truly can imagine the rest.Gardiner does show promise in her pacing, and her development of the main character. If you pick this up, you will finish it. And there's a lot to be said for that. Ge Sadly, this one didn't do anything for me. It added nothing to the genre, relying on well-worn tropes. The killer is rip-off of the Zodiac killer. The main character is picking up where her father left off. She's a strong woman who can only date men in simila fields because they're threatened by her. You truly can imagine the rest.Gardiner does show promise in her pacing, and her development of the main character. If you pick this up, you will finish it. And there's a lot to be said for that. Getting readers to continue to read a couple hundred pages is its own accomplishment. I will look for her future works, to see how she develops.My thanks to the publisher and First to Read for an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Mary Kinser
    March 20, 2017
    3.5 out of 5 stars
Write a review