Women In Sports
Women in Sports highlights notable women's contributions to competitive athletics to inspire readers young and old. Keeping girls interested in sports has never been more important: research suggests that girls who play sports get better grades and have higher self-esteem--but girls are six times more likely to quit playing sports than boys and are unlikely to see female athlete role models in the media. A fascinating collection full of striking, singular art, Women in Sports features 50 profiles and illustrated portraits of women athletes from the 1800s to today including trailblazers, Olympians, and record-breakers in more than 40 different sports. The book also contains infographics about relevant topics such as muscle anatomy, a timeline of women's participation in sports, statistics about women in athletics, and influential female teams.

Women In Sports Details

TitleWomen In Sports
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherTen Speed Press
ISBN1607749785
ISBN-139781607749783
Number of pages128 pages
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Sports and Games, Sports, Biography, Feminism

Women In Sports Review

  • Sarah
    July 25, 2017
    Sports have always played a big role in my life. Whether I was playing them or watching them with my friends and family, I have loved them always. Growing up, I did gymnastics, ballet, roller bladed, biked, swam, played softball and skated like a fiend. I skiied, played basketball, and was nearly recruited to Brown University as an ice hockey goalie. My sister played soccer and tennis, my dad was a gymnast and sailor, my mom was a three sport athlete and my grandfather played four sports and for Sports have always played a big role in my life. Whether I was playing them or watching them with my friends and family, I have loved them always. Growing up, I did gymnastics, ballet, roller bladed, biked, swam, played softball and skated like a fiend. I skiied, played basketball, and was nearly recruited to Brown University as an ice hockey goalie. My sister played soccer and tennis, my dad was a gymnast and sailor, my mom was a three sport athlete and my grandfather played four sports and for the Philadelphia Eagles. To say sports are in my blood is an understatement. The first book I ever finished writing was about a teenage hockey star.Downside, I wasn't really great at any sport, not a one. The jokes about ice hockey goalies were true for me - I was not a great skater. Upside, I loved it, so I worked hard and I practiced. When I found out that the author of Women in Science was writing about women in sports, I started begging our rep to send me an ARC (advanced reader copy) or finished copy of the book. Nine months ago. I knew I had to have this book.I love this book - of all the compendium books of great women, this is by far one of my favorites. The art style is perfect for the style of book - think infographics, but with a bit more text. The decisions for which wonderful women to include must have been a challenging one, but it is definitely a worthy list - variety of sports and backgrounds of each of the women is diverse. If you are looking for inspiration for yourself, your daughter, your niece, your student, your granddaughter AND (or) your son, nephew, grandson, this is a fabulous book to encourage them to be their best and to never stop trying to excel.
    more
  • ankita
    July 15, 2017
    I received an advanced digital copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Another great and inspirational read by Rachel Ignotofsky. After I read her book Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World, I became a huge fan and immediately requested this book on NetGalley. It's so important to have books and other media that represent all of the extraordinary things that women have accomplished, regardless of what field they're in, and are still accomplishing. While I had I received an advanced digital copy from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Another great and inspirational read by Rachel Ignotofsky. After I read her book Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World, I became a huge fan and immediately requested this book on NetGalley. It's so important to have books and other media that represent all of the extraordinary things that women have accomplished, regardless of what field they're in, and are still accomplishing. While I had heard of several of these amazing athletes, there were still many I didn't know even existed until I read this book. I'm so glad that Ignotofsky is taking the time to research, write about women who have pushed past barriers, and create these beautiful illustrations to commemorate their accomplishments. I can't wait for more of this series!
    more
  • Daisey
    July 16, 2017
    Sports are not something that really grab or hold my interest, so this was a perfect way to read about some amazing female athletes from the late 1800s to the present. The format of the book with bright illustrations and concise one page biographies is great. I truly appreciated the diversity of the women and the sports represented. This book shares a positive message of strength and determination on every page. * I received an electronic copy of this book through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Kristin Davison
    July 30, 2017
    I would like to thank netgalley and Ten Speed Press for the opportunity to read this book. Filled with lots of world leading sports women this is an important book. The illustrations are beautiful and I love the diversity of the women included.
  • Tara
    March 4, 2017
    I received this book from Netgalley for an honest review.This book couldn't come out at a better time. Celebrating women in general and those who competed in sports is important to do, especially the ones in the beginning when women weren't allowed to compete. There are women from long ago that most people don't know about and there are more recent women, like Simone Biles. There are great pictures and infographics that go with each story too.
    more
  • Andréa
    June 15, 2017
    Note: I received a digital ARC of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
  • Kristy
    March 21, 2017
    This was an ARC from Netgalley.This was such an interesting and enjoyable book. The focus of the book was not just women in the more commonly known sports such as swimming, gymanstics, soccer, or basketball. There were women breaking barriers in everything from ping pong to shooting to BMX and also featured women from around the globe. It still leaves me dumbfounded when I hear about women being the weaker sex or playing sports will be too harmful to the female body. These women and many more pr This was an ARC from Netgalley.This was such an interesting and enjoyable book. The focus of the book was not just women in the more commonly known sports such as swimming, gymanstics, soccer, or basketball. There were women breaking barriers in everything from ping pong to shooting to BMX and also featured women from around the globe. It still leaves me dumbfounded when I hear about women being the weaker sex or playing sports will be too harmful to the female body. These women and many more prove just how false those statements are.
    more
  • Eve
    May 6, 2017
    When I saw this book I was so super happy. As a girl, I've actually always preferred male sports and been parts of Cricket, Golf, Football, Badminton and now weight lifting groups as well.We often get judged for it and unfairly so and a book about women doing great in sports is just what is needed in society to be celebrated more.The book goes through a timeline of history as well as including a wide range of sports. It talks of the challenges the women faced and some consequences were even deat When I saw this book I was so super happy. As a girl, I've actually always preferred male sports and been parts of Cricket, Golf, Football, Badminton and now weight lifting groups as well.We often get judged for it and unfairly so and a book about women doing great in sports is just what is needed in society to be celebrated more.The book goes through a timeline of history as well as including a wide range of sports. It talks of the challenges the women faced and some consequences were even death in past times!This book would be brilliant for schools, in modern day we need women and young girls to not give up on sports and think its for boys and it's a subject I am passionate about greatly. An empowering and inspiring book with many modern athletes we know doing great today from Serena Williams to Simone Biles and Nicola Adams.Thanks to the publishers for allowing me a copy to review!
    more
  • Paul Franco
    July 21, 2017
    Though it clocks in at 128 pages, it felt a lot longer. Formatted in tiny chapters, each section of prose is accompanied by a cartoonish painting with hard-to-read words in tiny script floating around the outsides. It mostly just states facts in a boring manner; every chapter starts with “she was born on” and then “she started to play.” They are good intros to each person, but the lack of style is such that I doubt it would inspire anyone to find out more. I realize this is for kids, but it unde Though it clocks in at 128 pages, it felt a lot longer. Formatted in tiny chapters, each section of prose is accompanied by a cartoonish painting with hard-to-read words in tiny script floating around the outsides. It mostly just states facts in a boring manner; every chapter starts with “she was born on” and then “she started to play.” They are good intros to each person, but the lack of style is such that I doubt it would inspire anyone to find out more. I realize this is for kids, but it underestimates the intelligence of its young readers.The only chapter that I found remotely interesting—not that the women weren’t interesting, it’s the presentation that lacks—was about the final game of the 1999 Women’s World Cup, where over 90,000 spectators packed the Rose Bowl to watch the United States beat China in penalties. Why did I find this interesting? Because I was there.
    more
  • Chloe
    July 31, 2017
    Inspiring as can be. I learned a ton about women's athletics and women's sports history, things I never would have known about if not for this book. The media statistics were the most shocking to me: in 2015, women's sports coverage was actually down by a significant percentage compared to the 80s. Unbelievable! So inspiring to read about women who broke barriers, did the impossible, and in some cases are still doing amazing things today. An excellent feminist pick-me-up. I have to get my hands Inspiring as can be. I learned a ton about women's athletics and women's sports history, things I never would have known about if not for this book. The media statistics were the most shocking to me: in 2015, women's sports coverage was actually down by a significant percentage compared to the 80s. Unbelievable! So inspiring to read about women who broke barriers, did the impossible, and in some cases are still doing amazing things today. An excellent feminist pick-me-up. I have to get my hands on Women in Science now!
    more
  • Lillian
    August 1, 2017
    The premise of this book is interesting, however, it was very clearly written in the US, as most of the women, especially the more recent athletes are american. It was interesting to read about the different challenges these women faced and their determination. There is a lot of information in this book and it can be read in pieces or as a whole - but as a whole it is a little overwhelming.
    more
  • Jeimy
    July 24, 2017
    I loved Women in Science and Women in Sports did not disappoint. Ignotofsky presents trailblazing females in visually appetizing one-page vignettes. In this book we meet female athletes who have been opening doors, breaking records, winning championships--and even Olympic medals--in a wide variety of sports.
    more
  • Laura
    January 29, 2017
    This book was designed really well and I loved the graphics for each athlete. I also appreciated the variety of women and sports that Ignotofsky chose to highlight. Some of the bios were felt a little too glossed over, but overall I really enjoyed this book.Received from NetGalley.
    more
  • Rebecca
    January 25, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for an ARC of this book,I really really loved this. I've wanted to read Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World by Rachel Ignotofsky for a while, so when I saw another book by her on NetGalley I had to request it. I have to say I'm more interested in science than sports but even so I feel like reading about women in any type of job that is usually male-dominated is empowering, and this book really made me excited about the idea of bei Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for an ARC of this book,I really really loved this. I've wanted to read Women in Science: 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World by Rachel Ignotofsky for a while, so when I saw another book by her on NetGalley I had to request it. I have to say I'm more interested in science than sports but even so I feel like reading about women in any type of job that is usually male-dominated is empowering, and this book really made me excited about the idea of being fit and strong- even if it's not in a competitive way.The illustrations are beautiful and it's written in a way that is educational but simple enough for children to read- I think if you have kids this book would be a really good one to inspire them and teach them, but it's also great for adults too.The e-book wasn't the easiest thing to read, and I think that's because it's an ARC, and I think it was missing some information, but I'm planning on buying this and the science one because I think they're the kind of things I'll want to re-read and get the full impact of the physical copies.It's not the most detailed book ever- the biographies of each woman are quite short so if you already know a lot about these sportswomen then you probably won't get much from it, but for someone who doesn't know a lot about sports, (I think I'd heard of maybe 3/50 of the women it talks about...) it was a great introduction, and I feel like it was a great starting place for me.
    more
  • Maya
    October 31, 2016
    Can't wait for it.
  • Sammm
    January 30, 2017
    A digitized ARC of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
  • Kristin
    April 14, 2017
    Fighting mad, fearless and determined to forge their way in a man’s world of sports, these fifty female’s feats are worth recognizing and rejoicing. Ever since the 1800’s, women have had to kick, scratch and battle to break every barrier placed upon them. Meet Sue Sally Hale, polo player extraordinaire who pretended to be male for 20 years to compete or parachuting pioneer Georgia Ann “Tiny” Thompson, who completed the first free-fall jump in history AND survived. Filled with facts concerning wo Fighting mad, fearless and determined to forge their way in a man’s world of sports, these fifty female’s feats are worth recognizing and rejoicing. Ever since the 1800’s, women have had to kick, scratch and battle to break every barrier placed upon them. Meet Sue Sally Hale, polo player extraordinaire who pretended to be male for 20 years to compete or parachuting pioneer Georgia Ann “Tiny” Thompson, who completed the first free-fall jump in history AND survived. Filled with facts concerning women’s strides, stats and pay scales, familiar figures like Simone Biles, Ronda Rousey and Lyndsey Vonn, “Women in Sports: 50 Fearless Athletes Who Played to Win,” is a fantastic feat of female fortitude!
    more
  • Lisa Boyd
    April 26, 2017
    I love the artwork and information placed around the borders of the pages. It is good to have a nice book like this as a quick reference to the great things that many women have accomplished in sports.
Write a review