Wicked Grind (Stark World, #1)
Sometimes, it feels so damn good to be bad …From New York Times and #1 International bestselling author J. Kenner, the first in an all new series of fast-paced, provocative novels centering around the ambitious, wealthy, and powerful men who work in the glamorous and exciting world of the Stark International conglomerate … and the sexy and passionate women who bring them to their knees.Photographer Wyatt Royce’s career is on the verge of exploding. All he needs is one perfect model to be the centerpiece of his sexy, controversial show. Find her, and Wyatt is sure to have a winner.Then Kelsey Draper walks in. Stunning. Vibrant. And far too fragile for a project like this. Wyatt should know—after all, he remembers only too well why their relationship ended all those years ago.Determined to break free from her good girl persona, Kelsey wants spice. Adventure. And she’s certain that Wyatt is just the man to help.But when Wyatt agrees to give her the job only if he has complete control—on camera and in his bed—Kelsey can’t help but wonder if she’s in too deep. Because how can a good girl like her ever be enough for a man like Wyatt?

Wicked Grind (Stark World, #1) Details

TitleWicked Grind (Stark World, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
Rating
GenreRomance, Adult Fiction, Erotica, Contemporary, Adult, Contemporary Romance

Wicked Grind (Stark World, #1) Review

  •  Sonya ♕Chatterbooks book blog♕
    June 9, 2017
    Second chances romance are like my kryptonite so when I saw this, I knew I had to read it. From life getting in the way or whether it was just bad timing, you can’t deny the feeling you get when you know you’ve been handed another chance at getting your old love back. This was a story of love, forgiveness, sexual desires, and finally becoming your own person. Wyatt Royce is successful photographer. He sees things differently from you and I and having that type of eye, is what’s made him one o Second chances romance are like my kryptonite so when I saw this, I knew I had to read it. From life getting in the way or whether it was just bad timing, you can’t deny the feeling you get when you know you’ve been handed another chance at getting your old love back. This was a story of love, forgiveness, sexual desires, and finally becoming your own person. Wyatt Royce is successful photographer. He sees things differently from you and I and having that type of eye, is what’s made him one of the most sorted after Photographers of his time. Gearing up for his upcoming exhibit that’s going to showcase the most sensual and enthralling pieces he’s ever created, Wyatt knows he’s missing one thing. The perfect model and not just any type of model. This woman has to have it all: the innocence mixed in with a sexual prowess she didn’t even know she had, and being so bold to the point that any reservations she’s ever felt, are quickly thrown out the window. That is what Wyatt is looking for and when his past comes flying into his door, he knows without a doubt that he’s found her. But old wounds still leaves scars and with a past like theirs, there’s no telling who’s going to be left standing this time around. Kelsey Draper is innocence personified. She doesn’t break the rules because the last time she did that, her entire world blew up. Having learnt her lesson for the past twelve years, the only thing Kelsey is focused on is taking care of her younger brother. Having dreams of being a professional dancer is no longer on her radar, and getting fifteen thousand dollars in a small amount of time seems damn near impossible. That is until she literally walks into a blast from her past and every feeling she’s ever had, quickly resurfaces ten fold. But even after twelve years of hurt and pain, how can Kelsey and Wyatt finally move forward?Whenever I read a story that has past flashbacks in it, my only hope is that it’s done well soon I can get a better understanding of everything else. Thankfully in this case, the past was portrayed beyond well and if I’m being quite honest, I enjoyed it more than the present. From meeting each other for the first time, to watching how the friendship grew into something more overtime, was the highlight for me and I secretly wanted more. I loved Wyatt’s character and even though he was a bit standoffish in the beginning, he quickly redeemed himself for me. My only complaint in this one was Kelsey’s reaction. I wanted her to be more tough in certain situations and every time she had the opportunity, she disappointed me until towards the end. I understood her hesitations and everything she was going through but I think she could’ve dealt with it differently IMO. If you’ve followed the author’s previous books for the Stark World, then I think you’re going to enjoy this immensely.
    more
  • Michelle
    June 6, 2017
    ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review Wicked Grind by J. Kenner is a sexy, sinfully enticing erotic slow burn second chance romance!!! With Kenner’s intoxicating prose, she stages and develops a romance that will have you begging and craving for more as two former lovers reunite and discover the second time around was worth the wait.They say a picture is worth a thousand words. Well that couldn’t be more true for Wyatt Royce, a high in demand photographer who has an upcoming ex ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest review Wicked Grind by J. Kenner is a sexy, sinfully enticing erotic slow burn second chance romance!!! With Kenner’s intoxicating prose, she stages and develops a romance that will have you begging and craving for more as two former lovers reunite and discover the second time around was worth the wait.They say a picture is worth a thousand words. Well that couldn’t be more true for Wyatt Royce, a high in demand photographer who has an upcoming exhibit that will showcase his highly anticipated photography. Wyatt knows what he wants his exhibit to entail. He wants the feel of eroticism, sensuality, boldness, vulnerability and beauty. While majority of his photos are ready to go, the final masterpiece is not ready as he is having trouble finding the right model. After countless searches, he couldn’t find the one that evoked every element he wanted that is until she walked into his studio demanding a shot to be his model.Kelsey Draper is the girl next door. The girl who has big hopes of becoming a dancer but had to settle being a teacher. She was the girl who followed all the rules her father set except one. She was suppose to stay away from Wyatt but being a young teenager, she couldn’t stay away. She felt a connection to him. She loved him. But her love for him, was not enough for the burden she had to bear. So fast forward to several years later, Kelsey finds herself walking into the lion’s den when she is reunited with her first love, Wyatt. Kelsey is in desperate need of the money and she knows that this modeling gig to be the muse for Wyatt is her only shot in making enough money to help with her brother’s medical needs. She is well aware that Wyatt is angry at her when she had to leave suddenly that summer since she never properly explained why. Naturally, Wyatt doesn’t want Kelsey to be the model even though she is what he is looking for. As Kelsey persuades Wyatt to give her a shot, slowly we see Wyatt letting go his guarded heart. Very slowly, we see Wyatt and Kelsey being drawn together as their chemistry and connection were like a moth to a flame. But as Kelsey slowly gives herself to Wyatt and makes herself vulnerable to him, will Wyatt’s resentment of the past push Kelsey away? And will Kelsey’s insecurities and fears force her to walk away from Wyatt a second time?Wicked Grind is definitely one of those romances that catapults you as reader to feel the passion, intensity, lust, desire, heartbreak and love that Wyatt and Kelsey have for each other. It didn’t matter how long they were separated, their timing to be together was never right and so Kenner allowed the readers to see and understand that they both needed to grow individually and discover their strengths and weakness. So if you are looking for a love story that was beautifully well developed that captured all the feels, then I would recommend you to read this book. And just remember love is like a picture, we develop from the negatives and focus what it is important. And in this particular case, the only thing Wyatt is capturing and focusing on is the woman that danced and etched her way into his heart. J. Kenner
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    March 24, 2017
    COMING SOON ☺ ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    June 5, 2017
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    June 29, 2017
    Release Date: July 11, 2017 Genre: Erotica. Romance. Once again, J Kenner releases another hot and sexy novel that will drop readers to their knees! Wicked Grind; the first book in the Stark World series where each book can stand alone, is devilishly good, wickedly hot, and filled with the kind of spice that will make readers sweat! Kenner knows how to write sexy and sassy romances and she successfully does every time she hits publish. Normally, I don't read erotica (or books with a ton of se Release Date: July 11, 2017 Genre: Erotica. Romance. Once again, J Kenner releases another hot and sexy novel that will drop readers to their knees! Wicked Grind; the first book in the Stark World series where each book can stand alone, is devilishly good, wickedly hot, and filled with the kind of spice that will make readers sweat! Kenner knows how to write sexy and sassy romances and she successfully does every time she hits publish. Normally, I don't read erotica (or books with a ton of sex) because they get boring after a while (I get it, you like to bone, your bring woman to your knees, and you are a sex god). However, whenever J. Kenner writes something I immediately jump to grab it- erotica or not. This tells you something about her books, yea? Fans of J. Kenner, and those who like dirty and sensuous romances, you need to pick up her latest novel. I promise, you won't be disappointed. I know I wasn't! SWOON!!!!! Recommended Read
    more
  • Erin Lewis
    June 7, 2017
    This was a new author to me and be assured this will not be the last book I read. I love a second chance of love story which is what Wicked Grind is.Wyatt Royce is a photographer who career is about to take off. If and it's a big if he can find the perfect model to be the centerpiece of his sexy and controversial show. Kelsey Draper wants to change her good girl image and she believes Wyatt is the man to help her.However, these two have history together. Is Kelsey in too deep? Will Wyatt and his This was a new author to me and be assured this will not be the last book I read. I love a second chance of love story which is what Wicked Grind is.Wyatt Royce is a photographer who career is about to take off. If and it's a big if he can find the perfect model to be the centerpiece of his sexy and controversial show. Kelsey Draper wants to change her good girl image and she believes Wyatt is the man to help her.However, these two have history together. Is Kelsey in too deep? Will Wyatt and his insistence on dominating in and out of the bedroom be too much for Kelsey, after all it was before? Will Wyatt and Kelsey be able to move on from the past? Can Wyatt forgive her for breaking his heart 12 years ago? Can he trust thar she won't run again? Can Kelsey overcome her fears and fight for the man she loves?It was obvious that neither had outgrown their love for one another. Told from dual POV's it moves between the past and present. i thoroughly enjoyed Wyatt and Kelsey's story and look forward to reading more in the series. I received an ARC through the publisher and Netgalley and voluntarily reviewed.
    more
  • Jennifer
    June 14, 2017
    Review to follow on tour.
  • K.
    June 9, 2017
    4 Stars! This was another great read by J. Kenner. Wicked Grind is a spinoff series from the Stark Series. If you've never read the Stark Trilogy have no fear you won't be lost. This follows Wyatt and Kelsey who fell in love twelve years ago when they were teenagers. After a summer of love goes wrong, both are left mad and heartbroken. Fast forward to a chance meeting that may stir up old feelings of love and anger. Will these two forgive and forget? Can they get the HEA they both deserve? Can K 4 Stars! This was another great read by J. Kenner. Wicked Grind is a spinoff series from the Stark Series. If you've never read the Stark Trilogy have no fear you won't be lost. This follows Wyatt and Kelsey who fell in love twelve years ago when they were teenagers. After a summer of love goes wrong, both are left mad and heartbroken. Fast forward to a chance meeting that may stir up old feelings of love and anger. Will these two forgive and forget? Can they get the HEA they both deserve? Can Kelsey afford to take this job and keep her heart out of it? Or will Wyatt make a move that will destroy his career and Kelsey? Wyatt grew up in the spotlight. He comes from a very famous family, but he's always wanted to make something of himself without his family's connection. When he meets Kelsey he loves that she sees him for him, but what his family can do for her. But is she too good to be true? Kelsey is the shy girl no one notices. She is pretty much kept on a leash thanks to her overbearing jerk of a father. Kelsie doesn't know who she is and is afraid to live her life. When she meets Wyatt, he's a breath of fresh air. He sees her and likes what he sees. Or is it all a lie? The teen love story was sweet and I liked getting the history of them. It gave some depth to their characters. The romance that blossoms years later turns hot and is swimming with hate and sexual tension. Both are hurt and yet they want each other. So many misunderstandings and secrets that I was afraid to much damage might be done. Can these two forge ahead into the unknown or will the past be too much to bear? I will continue to say I love second chance romances. There is just something about it that gives me the feels and makes me believe that love can stand the test of time. Forgiveness and regret always plague these stories, but it's the falling in love and discovering that even though mistakes may have happened love wins. I love that J. Kenner brought in my old favorites to the story. Even though it's only glimpses of them, I can never get enough. Wyatt and Kelsey are another great addition to the Stark family. You need to read this and experience the story that Julie wove together brilliantly. I hope that we get a book with Kelsey's brother because I am definitely intrigued by him! ARC received for honest review for Books Need TLC
    more
  • Corey
    June 22, 2017
    Wicked Grind is a Hot Contemporary Romance. Set in beautiful Santa Monica California, this is a story of two people in the prime of their lives, looking for a way to move forward, personally & professionally. Wyatt is a driven artist, on the dawn of bringing his vision to the masses & finding the success he's been working toward for a very long time. Kelsey, still holding back on what she wants, for the sake of those she loves, needs money, fast & for a good cause. She's willing to d Wicked Grind is a Hot Contemporary Romance. Set in beautiful Santa Monica California, this is a story of two people in the prime of their lives, looking for a way to move forward, personally & professionally. Wyatt is a driven artist, on the dawn of bringing his vision to the masses & finding the success he's been working toward for a very long time. Kelsey, still holding back on what she wants, for the sake of those she loves, needs money, fast & for a good cause. She's willing to do whatever it takes to get it. Can they work through their pasts – with their families & between themselves, long enough to get what they want most?This very sexy, second chances romance is told in third person, from dual perspectives with a lot of necessary & well written flash-back action throughout. Moving along at a steady pace, very emotionally driven with - wicked sexiness, young love, loss, personal tragedy, desire for redemption & the wonder of being true to yourself –in spite of it all. “Innocence. Longing. Ecstasy.” “Strength and sensuality. Innocence and power. Passion and gentleness.” I liked the genuine love & respect Wyatt has for women - he really treasures them, their sweetness, seduction, confidence & so much more. And enjoyed the character development between him & his muse, the “… walking contradiction. Sensual yet demure. Sexy yet sweet.”. I love the angst in the flash-backs & honesty of the stolen moments shared in teenage love. Although I liked the intensity of how well these characters know each other right into adulthood, I felt that the rekindling of the relationship so quickly after so many years apart, took away from the depth of the love & loss they share. Sultry sweet, sexy & endearing, I loved seeing these characters work through their fears in search redemption, take a risk & tap into that spark, to become “Lit from the inside. Alive.”ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sarah Tandy
    June 23, 2017
    If ever I want a light read, something not too angsty and dark then J Kenner is a good choice. Her books just flow and it's easy to fall in love with the characters. This is a second chance slow burn romance. It was also great to have a guest appearance by the man himself... Damien Stark.This is one of those books that has you frustrated with the characters; by the time you have read the first 50 pages you are shouting at your kindle for the two MC's to just talk to each other. It would save a w If ever I want a light read, something not too angsty and dark then J Kenner is a good choice. Her books just flow and it's easy to fall in love with the characters. This is a second chance slow burn romance. It was also great to have a guest appearance by the man himself... Damien Stark.This is one of those books that has you frustrated with the characters; by the time you have read the first 50 pages you are shouting at your kindle for the two MC's to just talk to each other. It would save a whole load of heartache. But where's the story in that right?!? Each MC has their secrets and knowledge they think they know about the other but like to sit and brood over it without taking through it together. Kelsey carries a whole of guilt around with her amplified by her dad's unreasonable way he treats her. She annoyed me at times and I just wanted to shake her but mental abuse does a lot to undermine a person's self esteem and belief in themself ; this came through really well in J Kenner's writing. It wasn't overdone.The reason I have knocked a star off is because the book is written as first POV for Kelsey and third person for Wyatt. I'm not a lover of third person POV's; however I have read some amazing books written that way, book the whole book is in third person. When the book chops and changes with no warning at the beginning of each chapter notifying the reader which character is taking the lead then it takes me a while to catch up with the change. I also consider that authors that write the male POV as third person is because they don't know the character well enough to get inside their head. I wouldn't have said that is generally the case with J kenner books, so I can't understand why she has chosen to write this way. The book is steady paced but not without it's usual ups and downs.If you enjoy J Kenner's writing then you'll love this book, if you haven't sampled anything of hers then give this book a try. A light romance that won't leave you disappointed.*** ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review ***
    more
  • Crystal's Book World ~ Crystal Cordova
    June 25, 2017
    J. Kenner introduced us to the Stark books, and now she is opening it up into Stark World with Wicked Grind. I love that Wyatt gets his story heard. If you have read any of the Stark books previously with Nikki and Damien, you will remember Wyatt as Nikki's hot photographer friend. We all knew that he had some skeletons from the past, but never got into much of it until now!Wyatt is ready. He is ready to put himself out there without his family name. That is until Kelsey walks into his studio to J. Kenner introduced us to the Stark books, and now she is opening it up into Stark World with Wicked Grind. I love that Wyatt gets his story heard. If you have read any of the Stark books previously with Nikki and Damien, you will remember Wyatt as Nikki's hot photographer friend. We all knew that he had some skeletons from the past, but never got into much of it until now!Wyatt is ready. He is ready to put himself out there without his family name. That is until Kelsey walks into his studio to audition to be a model in his story that has been years in the making. I love that Cass and Siobhan are more involved in this story. I love that J. Kenner gives us glimpses of previous characters, but also makes sure they do not take the spotlight away from Wyatt and Kelsey. Wicked Grind will take this second chance romance to new heights. There was some missing links from the past that will now make sense in the present. Wyatt has always been a catch, but we see a new side of him. It is time for him to shine. Not just in the sense of the story line, but just in general. You will love the wicked sexy scenes, and see the beauty in a woman's form. I loved Wicked Grind and so excited to explore Stark World a little bit more.
    more
  • Mom's Guilty Pleasure
    June 19, 2017
    Wicked Grind (Stark World book 1) written by J. KENNER5 starsI love that familiar faces from previous series are mentioned in this book. I can never get enough of all the characters and previous storylines...I love that we get snippets of them along with each new series. J Kennedy never disappoints~her books just get better and better. Kelsey Draper and Wyatt Royce have history from twelve years ago. Neither of them really knows the true story of how things ended between them right when they wer Wicked Grind (Stark World book 1) written by J. KENNER5 starsI love that familiar faces from previous series are mentioned in this book. I can never get enough of all the characters and previous storylines...I love that we get snippets of them along with each new series. J Kennedy never disappoints~her books just get better and better. Kelsey Draper and Wyatt Royce have history from twelve years ago. Neither of them really knows the true story of how things ended between them right when they were actually just getting started. They both have regrets and it has shaped who they are today. You can feel their pain, insecurity, need, want and hesitation and yet as toxic as it all sounds you want them to make the leap of faith to see if they can overcome the past and trust again. “You know you’re not playing fair.” “Maybe not,”... “But I like the way it feels to finally be in the game.”Wyatt is working on a project that he has dreamed about for years. He's not sure he can pull it off, because his muse is no longer in his life and no else comes close to his vision. “She was hotter than sin, and at the same times she was as cold as ice.”Kelsey has so much guilt and regret from a mistake years ago. She is trying to right her wrongs, but may have to slip into more regret to save the person she should have protected years ago. She always thought she would do anything for her brother, but can she go through with Wyatt’s proposition? Can she finally step outside the box she has been trained to stay in? Will her heart be able to go through with it and walk away at the end unharmed? “He reached down, grabbed another bottle, twisted off the cap, and took a long swallow. Because what the hell. He was already sore from the knife she’d stuck in him. Might as well anesthetize the wound.”
    more
  • Rosa Sharon (iScream Books)
    June 20, 2017
    "Love doesn't have a safety net." I don't think J. Kenner could write a bad story if she tried. I keep reading, just to be sure, but she always gives me exactly what I'm looking for and I'm able to check all the boxes. Just seeing her name on a book cover gets me excited, I don't even need to read a synopsis. She doesn't disappoint.This new series is exciting because while it's a beginning, it still includes some of my favorite characters that are part of the Stark world. They don't have to do "Love doesn't have a safety net." I don't think J. Kenner could write a bad story if she tried. I keep reading, just to be sure, but she always gives me exactly what I'm looking for and I'm able to check all the boxes. Just seeing her name on a book cover gets me excited, I don't even need to read a synopsis. She doesn't disappoint.This new series is exciting because while it's a beginning, it still includes some of my favorite characters that are part of the Stark world. They don't have to do much, or say much, just showing up makes me smile. I'm a big fan of the arts, so this books was especially entertaining for me because it included photography and dance. I love a good second-chance-romance, so I really enjoyed traveling back in time to relive the event that caused the tension between Wyatt & Kelsey. Of course the author had to build my curiosity before she satisfied it. The suspense kept me glued to my kindle as I waited to find out why I was getting different vibes from each of the main characters. As the story was told in dual POV, I was able to know what they were thinking, and what they were missing. It killed me to know, and not be able to do anything about it. I wanted to whisper in their ears one minute, and in the next I was glad they weren't aware of my presence as I was being a virtual voyeur (wink-wink).Wicked Grind is a great beginning to what I'm positive will be a very successful series. I can't wait to spend more time with these characters, and to meet the new ones that will be joining the Stark family. The line forms here...
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    May 8, 2017
    <33 I can't wait to read this one!!!    
  • Debbie Hanson
    June 20, 2017
    Wicked Grind J. Kenner 4 there will never be enough Stark stars.I’ve got to say, I love everything about Damien Stark and the Stark empire, so hello another story, this time the men who hold roles in the Stark Conglomerate. In Wicked Grind we meet Wyatt Segal and the woman who brings him to his knees, Kelsey Draper. When she showed up on his doorstep, to take on a modelling role, things were not pleasant. This pair shared a torrid past that has carried to their older years. The way she walked ou Wicked Grind J. Kenner 4 there will never be enough Stark stars.I’ve got to say, I love everything about Damien Stark and the Stark empire, so hello another story, this time the men who hold roles in the Stark Conglomerate. In Wicked Grind we meet Wyatt Segal and the woman who brings him to his knees, Kelsey Draper. When she showed up on his doorstep, to take on a modelling role, things were not pleasant. This pair shared a torrid past that has carried to their older years. The way she walked out on him, left him years earlier have forever played on his mind, he should despise her, hate her but that hate turns his imagination to her body, the body he needs as his muse for his upcoming show.Good, sweet little Kelsey finds herself wanting to take on the role, but with Wyatt’s apparent revenge scheme, Kelsey sees no other way to get the money for her brother. What Wyatt doesn’t know is the reason she walk away, up and left him those years ago. She had loved him but THAT night changed everything, for her, for her family and the future. Now 12 years later, Kelsey needs to change, her father’s horrible treatment constantly plays in her mind. She needs Wyatt in more ways than one, he can make or break her. She is the perfect woman for his show, he must forgive and forget the past and Kelsey must push mental images of her father away to push forward. She will be in for the biggest fight to win against Wyatt. Together, Wyatt and Kelsey will journey through lust, hate, bringing up the past, the hurt that occurred and finally love. It doesn’t come easily but worth the end result. Wyatt will learn what Kelsey dealt with after that night, and Kelsey will open up to the only man that has truly awaken her inner woman.
    more
  • Shelly Crawford Reynolds
    June 24, 2017
    What a great second-chance love story! I'm a sucker for them! Kelsey and Wyatt fell in love as teenagers, only to be ripped apart by tragedy. Crossing paths again over a decade later, both in desperate, yet different situations, they undoubtedly need each other. They are each a means to the other's end. But the hurts from the past, and the lingering anger, probably make working together a bad idea. or is it? Can misunderstandings be explained? Can they let down the walls they've built? After all What a great second-chance love story! I'm a sucker for them! Kelsey and Wyatt fell in love as teenagers, only to be ripped apart by tragedy. Crossing paths again over a decade later, both in desperate, yet different situations, they undoubtedly need each other. They are each a means to the other's end. But the hurts from the past, and the lingering anger, probably make working together a bad idea. or is it? Can misunderstandings be explained? Can they let down the walls they've built? After all those years, the pull is strong between them. should they ignore it, or embrace it. Loved this story and can't wait to see what's next!!
    more
  • Pauline Edbrooke
    June 22, 2017
    I love Julie Kenner books and especially the Stark series . Damien and Nikki are my favorite characters and I was so glad to see them cameo in this book . This is a book about second chances , young love, to rediscover love and to forgive the past . Wyatt is the son off a famous film producer , and the grandson of a famous actress . He has changed his name so that he can become successful in his own right . He is a talented photographer who is working on an exhibition of erotic and evocative pho I love Julie Kenner books and especially the Stark series . Damien and Nikki are my favorite characters and I was so glad to see them cameo in this book . This is a book about second chances , young love, to rediscover love and to forgive the past . Wyatt is the son off a famous film producer , and the grandson of a famous actress . He has changed his name so that he can become successful in his own right . He is a talented photographer who is working on an exhibition of erotic and evocative photos that tell the story of women. In walks Kelsey Draper whom Wyatt has not seen in 12 years , and he doesn't know how he feels about that . She vanished after a night of passion and he doesn't know if he wants to punish her for walking out on him or hold her and never let her go . I thoroughly enjoyed the writing in this book and I certainly felt engaged in their lives . I love it when characters from Julia's other books make cameo appearances , somehow it gives that sense of family .
    more
  • Rhonda Brant
    June 19, 2017
    There's one thing you know you're going to get when reading a Julie Kenner book, it's consistently well written, keeps you very engaged and there's always at least one hot steamy character that jumps out at you off the pages. Wicked Grind is certainly no exception, and I love the new spin off series that she has come up with. Wyatt and Kelsey's story is full of heartache, passion that we've all come to expect out of Julie's books, and a story that takes you through 12 years of this young couples There's one thing you know you're going to get when reading a Julie Kenner book, it's consistently well written, keeps you very engaged and there's always at least one hot steamy character that jumps out at you off the pages. Wicked Grind is certainly no exception, and I love the new spin off series that she has come up with. Wyatt and Kelsey's story is full of heartache, passion that we've all come to expect out of Julie's books, and a story that takes you through 12 years of this young couples lives together and apart from one another. Griffin's situation is heartbreaking, loved Nia, and Anika is just like Evelyn, you gotta just love those influential old ladies! I think the only thing that grated on my nerves was they way Kelsey kept bringing up her fathers view of her, got old after the 4th reference, but I guess it's what gives the story's meaning on why she has the issues she does. Loved the scene with all of the characters from the Stark and SIN series, great way to keep the books intertwined. Great new series, loved the ending!I voluntarily reviewed an ARC copy of this book.
    more
  • Shayna
    June 5, 2017
    Review to come...
  • Jackie Wright
    June 17, 2017
    What a great start to J. Kenner's new series Stark World. Wicked Grind is a spin off from the Stark Series and in book one we meet Wyatt and Kelsey.Wyatt and Kelsey fell in love twelve years ago when they were teenagers but the timing wasn't right, meeting in secret meant hearts got broken, misunderstanding on both sides tore them apart will they be able to forgive and forget or will the feelings of anger and hate win again. Blame can sometimes be hard to overcome........I loved both of these ch What a great start to J. Kenner's new series Stark World. Wicked Grind is a spin off from the Stark Series and in book one we meet Wyatt and Kelsey.Wyatt and Kelsey fell in love twelve years ago when they were teenagers but the timing wasn't right, meeting in secret meant hearts got broken, misunderstanding on both sides tore them apart will they be able to forgive and forget or will the feelings of anger and hate win again. Blame can sometimes be hard to overcome........I loved both of these characters, both so very different, one is a guy who grew up in the spotlight the other is a girl who's father kept her under the thumb but somehow they complement each other if they can only leave the past in the past. I loved that we got snippets from the characters of the Stark Series but they didn't take over. Second chance romance is one of my favourite genres and this author writes a great love story which not only hooked me from the first page it kept me on the edge of my seat to the very end. Looking forward to book 2 in this series.
    more
  • Kel (Faerie-bookworm)
    June 28, 2017
    Review to come...
  • Maria
    June 19, 2017
    Kelsey and Wyatt has a summer romance twelve years ago that ended bad and left both of them heartbroken and hurt. Wyatt is now a photographer and he needs a centerpiece for his show with erotic pictures. He has been looking for the perfect model but with no luck. One day the agency is sending a new girl over and it her. The girl he could never forget Kelsey. Kelsey is in desperate need for money and really needs this job but is it too late for the two of them and can they forget and forgive each Kelsey and Wyatt has a summer romance twelve years ago that ended bad and left both of them heartbroken and hurt. Wyatt is now a photographer and he needs a centerpiece for his show with erotic pictures. He has been looking for the perfect model but with no luck. One day the agency is sending a new girl over and it her. The girl he could never forget Kelsey. Kelsey is in desperate need for money and really needs this job but is it too late for the two of them and can they forget and forgive each other ? Another fantastic book from J. Kenner and she's done it agin. It is a beauty story about true love. It was sweet and romantic and it made me smile. I had a great time reading it and I am looking forward for moore
    more
  • Lana-White Hot Reads
    June 14, 2017
    Wyatt Royce knows what its like to be part of a famous Hollywood family. He's lived it his whole life and has truly never know if someone was friends with him because of his name or who his family is. Royce is a photographer hoping to make it big in the industry without throwing his family name around. He can succeed but he needs to find his "it" girl in order to finish his huge showcase. He can't seem to find her then she walks into his gallery and he can't believe its her. Kelsey, his Kelsey f Wyatt Royce knows what its like to be part of a famous Hollywood family. He's lived it his whole life and has truly never know if someone was friends with him because of his name or who his family is. Royce is a photographer hoping to make it big in the industry without throwing his family name around. He can succeed but he needs to find his "it" girl in order to finish his huge showcase. He can't seem to find her then she walks into his gallery and he can't believe its her. Kelsey, his Kelsey from twelve years ago. You see, these two know each from the past but had no idea they would ever run into each other again. The shock, confusion, anger and hurt is written all over their faces as they realize they have to deal with the issues from the past in order for everything to work out. Will they be able too? Only time will tell. I love how Julie mentions a lot of her characters from the other Stark series since this is set in the Stark world. Another awesome read!!!Lana- White Hot Reads
    more
  • Wendy Hodges
    June 9, 2017
    Lots of angst in this Stark spin off, it follows Wyatt a photographer known by both Nikki and Damien and Kelsey a dancer and kindergarten teacher. They met when teenagers and became friends in secret, Kelsey comes from a very strict father and apart from dancing lessons she has no freedom. One night changes everything and they do not see each other for 12 years, desperate for money Kelsey goes to an audition for a model. If you want to know more buy the book, honestly it is a great read. Intense Lots of angst in this Stark spin off, it follows Wyatt a photographer known by both Nikki and Damien and Kelsey a dancer and kindergarten teacher. They met when teenagers and became friends in secret, Kelsey comes from a very strict father and apart from dancing lessons she has no freedom. One night changes everything and they do not see each other for 12 years, desperate for money Kelsey goes to an audition for a model. If you want to know more buy the book, honestly it is a great read. Intense and at times suspenseful, it is well written and compliments the other books along the Stark theme. I have read and loved each and every one of these books but this can be read without having read any of the others. I was caught and lost from beginning to end, I felt for both characters their young fledgling love torn and never resolved, misunderstanding on both sides causing angst and maybe a little misplaced hate. Blame can be a horrible thing until the truth and understanding resolve the issues, as well as being misplaced. J Kenner as always weaves a complex, entertaining and gripping story, with lots to interest and keep me coming back for more.
    more
  • Peggy R
    June 1, 2017
    Another excellent read from J. Kenner. I love these spin-off books about the characters we meet in the Stark world. This is Wyatt and Kelsey's story and it is one of second chances and finding the courage to live your life despite what others might think of your choices. These two met 12 years prior to this story and resulted in heartbreak. Now, they are unexpectedly reunited by circumstances and this time around they need to decide if reuniting is right for them. J. Kenner does a great job of w Another excellent read from J. Kenner. I love these spin-off books about the characters we meet in the Stark world. This is Wyatt and Kelsey's story and it is one of second chances and finding the courage to live your life despite what others might think of your choices. These two met 12 years prior to this story and resulted in heartbreak. Now, they are unexpectedly reunited by circumstances and this time around they need to decide if reuniting is right for them. J. Kenner does a great job of weaving the past and the present together so that the reader gets the entire story for this couple. I enjoyed learning more about Wyatt's history and why he refuses to use his famous last name. I also enjoyed watching Kelsey come into her own and live on her own terms.I voluntarily read an advanced reader copy provided to me by the publisher through Netgalley.
    more
  • Hannasbookobsession
    May 21, 2017
    Second Chance Romance. One Summer 12 years ago changed everything they feel in love then she broke his heart. Now shes back I Enjoyed This Book so Much!! This Second chance romance went back and forth between the present and the Past! I Love it!! Wyatt and Kelsey are a couple who found their way back to each other and have to figure out of it is worth it to be together again!Wyatt has grown up in the spotlight. With a Famous Grandmother,Mother and Sister, he is used to people using him because h Second Chance Romance. One Summer 12 years ago changed everything they feel in love then she broke his heart. Now shes back I Enjoyed This Book so Much!! This Second chance romance went back and forth between the present and the Past! I Love it!! Wyatt and Kelsey are a couple who found their way back to each other and have to figure out of it is worth it to be together again!Wyatt has grown up in the spotlight. With a Famous Grandmother,Mother and Sister, he is used to people using him because he's famous. Twelve Years Ago he met Kelsey! She was different she didn't want him for his fame she wanted him for him and he fell in love with her,but she has her own demons and this demon sent her away and she never came back leaving Wyatt with a broken heart. Now here she comes his Love from twelve years ago walks through his door! She broke him back then and he doesn't know if he can let her back in.Kelsey has always been told that everything you do for yourself will come with a punishment. Her Father has Scarred her. Twelve Years ago she met Wyatt and she wanted to let go of her fears her father instilled in her! Wyatt was different and soon she was falling in Love With him too. Then something bad Happened she left and hadn't talked to him since. Then she Walks into his studio and the Love of her life is back! She never forgot Wyatt but she still can't get over what happened last time they were together. The more time they spend together the more they realize that they still love each other. They just have to get over the past.This book was so good!! It was Slow burning romance! With Dual Point of Views and Past and Present time lines. It was so great! I Loved Wyatt and Kelsey and I Can't wait to read books Two and Three in this series!
    more
  • Stephanie
    May 23, 2017
    J. Kenner has done it again!!! I had a hard time putting this book down. I love that we keep getting stories about the secondary characters from the Stark books and get to know them. This was hot and steamy and everything I love about a J. Kenner book. I liked learning about Kelsey and Wyatt's past and learning what really happened between them. Julie did a great job with the flashbacks and giving us just the right information at the right time to make all the pieces fall into place. And watchin J. Kenner has done it again!!! I had a hard time putting this book down. I love that we keep getting stories about the secondary characters from the Stark books and get to know them. This was hot and steamy and everything I love about a J. Kenner book. I liked learning about Kelsey and Wyatt's past and learning what really happened between them. Julie did a great job with the flashbacks and giving us just the right information at the right time to make all the pieces fall into place. And watching them reconnect, get their bond back and understand what each other had been for was amazing. This was one of those books where I couldn't wait to read it again as soon as I finished it.
    more
  • Lee Lowerre
    June 21, 2017
    Once again, Julie Kenner scores 10 stars with this beautiful second chance contemporary romance. She is the most brilliant writer I have enjoyed reading...from the moment I opened the book and read the prologue I knew I would be forever enthralled. Words like "forbidden, terrifying, yet tempting" how can you not be....The one man who changed everything. Yes I knew I would be in deep!Talk about second chance romances this one is sensational...it captivates you with these characters and their chem Once again, Julie Kenner scores 10 stars with this beautiful second chance contemporary romance. She is the most brilliant writer I have enjoyed reading...from the moment I opened the book and read the prologue I knew I would be forever enthralled. Words like "forbidden, terrifying, yet tempting" how can you not be....The one man who changed everything. Yes I knew I would be in deep!Talk about second chance romances this one is sensational...it captivates you with these characters and their chemistry its breathtaking but they have to be able to overcome their painful past or it could potential destroy them.Wyatt Royce aka Wyatt Segal is the one man who longs to be recognized for his extraordinary work as a photographer, not because of his famous grandmother and mother, he has lived in that spotlight all of his life... a man who was always surrounded by beautiful, sexy, provocative, temptress, naked and forever wanting him..... but he only had eyes for one woman.... a woman he couldn't find.... He was working on a project and was in a desperate search for "her" the one woman who would bare all of what was pure, innocent, sensual, alluring.... after going through dozens of models he was about at his wits end when "she" walked through the door to his gallery.... his past appeared the sweet beautiful woman who left him 12 years ago.... Kelsey appeared like the angel she was to him..... his life ran before him and she was just as shocked. Little did she know it was "him" Wyatt the boy she met during the summer she worked at a country club, the one she gave herself to..... and he was the one who searched for her after that night she disappeared into the night and he never saw her again until now..... the emotions, the feelings, the outbreaks of anger, hate, surprise were all brought to the surface of this amazing second chance romance. Kelsey needed the money for her brother desperately so she fought hard for the job, while Wyatt didn't know if he should worship her or punish her..... ultimately together they faced their histories, their pasts, and they recognized their love was stronger. Loved the way JK entwined, Nikki, Damien, Siobhan, and Cassidy into this story..... I'm going to really enjoy this ride into the Wicked Starks World..... A 10 STAR RATING FOR ME!
    more
  • Courtney
    June 30, 2017
    Holy hotness!! I need a damn cigarette after reading this one - and there was barely any sex in it - Yea, the sexual tension and build up to it was hot as hell!! DAMN!! J Kenner really knows how to write a novel that keeps you right at the edge your seat the whole time - talk about sexual suspense. Geezus!! I normally have a problem with the majority of the book being a huge build up, but when that crescendo hits and it plays out correctly, I have no issues with it and this is one book that does Holy hotness!! I need a damn cigarette after reading this one - and there was barely any sex in it - Yea, the sexual tension and build up to it was hot as hell!! DAMN!! J Kenner really knows how to write a novel that keeps you right at the edge your seat the whole time - talk about sexual suspense. Geezus!! I normally have a problem with the majority of the book being a huge build up, but when that crescendo hits and it plays out correctly, I have no issues with it and this is one book that does right!!Wyatt and Kelsey met when they were both young. Kelsey lived a different life than Wyatt but his persistence paid off and he won her over. But then one night, everything falls apart and they never talk again. Because they were young and stupid, they never worked it out. Now, twelve years later, they find each other again. But this time, in a situation they never expected.Wicked Grind is told from both Wyatt and Kelsey's POVs and also goes back and forth from past to present. The way Julie writes this book is amazing. I am never once confused who's POV I am reading from and not once do the memories cause me to fumble in my reading. Everything flows perfectly; I found myself completely emerged in this story. Even though I as the reader knew the trust behind everything, it's watching Wyatt and Kelsey slowly work things out, that make this story so enticing.This is one series you definitely want to read this summer. I am loving this Stark World series and getting glimpses of pervious characters along with meeting the new ones. And from what I heard, we won't be waiting long in between each story to read the next one.
    more
  • Whitney
    June 21, 2017
    I love books that have characters from other stories and how they all tie together. Kelsey Draper and Wyatt Royce originally met when they were in high school, he was a social-elite and she was a country club worker that wiped down tables under the watchful eye of her controlling father. Wyatt pursued Kelsey, even when she tried her hardest to brush off his advances. He finally earned her trust and showed her a part of her life that she had been missing living and never knew that she could have. I love books that have characters from other stories and how they all tie together. Kelsey Draper and Wyatt Royce originally met when they were in high school, he was a social-elite and she was a country club worker that wiped down tables under the watchful eye of her controlling father. Wyatt pursued Kelsey, even when she tried her hardest to brush off his advances. He finally earned her trust and showed her a part of her life that she had been missing living and never knew that she could have. While they were sneaking around a horrible life changing event happened for both characters and they lost trust, faith and each other. Twelve years later, their paths cross. Kelsey is a Kindergarten teacher and dancer, and Wyatt is a photographer that is trying to finish a sensual project about women. Kelsey’s friend Nia offered Kelsey the job being that she needed money for her brother and Wyatt happens to be that job. The money is hard to turn down, but what about her pride? The roller coaster that these two go on is fun to follow . . . The back and forth between Kelsey and Wyatt is taunting and J. Kenner paints such a great picture that you can see every detail of what they are doing and seeing. This is another book where you can feel the insecurity, shame, guilt, desire and pain in each character. “Love doesn’t have a safety net.” ~ Nia
    more
Write a review