Final Girls
“The first great thriller of 2017 is almost here: Final Girls, by Riley Sager. If you liked Gone Girl, you’ll like this.” — Stephen KingTen years ago, college student Quincy Carpenter went on vacation with five friends and came back alone, the only survivor of a horror movie–scale massacre. In an instant, she became a member of a club no one wants to belong to—a group of similar survivors known in the press as the Final Girls. Lisa, who lost nine sorority sisters to a college dropout’s knife; Sam, who went up against the Sack Man during her shift at the Nightlight Inn; and now Quincy, who ran bleeding through the woods to escape Pine Cottage and the man she refers to only as Him. The three girls are all attempting to put their nightmares behind them, and, with that, one another. Despite the media’s attempts, they never meet.Now, Quincy is doing well—maybe even great, thanks to her Xanax prescription. She has a caring almost-fiancé, Jeff; a popular baking blog; a beautiful apartment; and a therapeutic presence in Coop, the police officer who saved her life all those years ago. Her memory won’t even allow her to recall the events of that night; the past is in the past. That is, until Lisa, the first Final Girl, is found dead in her bathtub, wrists slit, and Sam, the second, appears on Quincy’s doorstep. Blowing through Quincy’s life like a whirlwind, Sam seems intent on making Quincy relive the past, with increasingly dire consequences, all of which makes Quincy question why Sam is really seeking her out. And when new details about Lisa’s death come to light, Quincy’s life becomes a race against time as she tries to unravel Sam’s truths from her lies, evade the police and hungry reporters, and, most crucially, remember what really happened at Pine Cottage, before what was started ten years ago is finished.“The Final Girls need you. . . . The Final Girls are tough, everything survivors should be. But the new threat is clever, ominous, even closer than you suspect. You are about to gasp. You might drop the book. You may have to look over your shoulder. But you must keep reading. This is the best book of 2017.” —Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author of Find Her

Final Girls Details

TitleFinal Girls
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherDutton
ISBN1101985364
ISBN-139781101985366
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreThriller, Mystery, Fiction, Mystery Thriller, Adult

Final Girls Review

  • Miriam Smith
    March 5, 2017
    I seem to be on a run of really good books at the moment but this one totally blew me away! "Final Girls" by Riley Sager was just SOOOO good!! I was drawn into this intense story from the very first page until the tremendously gripping end. I started this on a Saturday morning and I was a ghost in my house until it was finished Sunday night it is that unputdownable and addictive!"Final Girls" is about three girls, Quincy, Sam and Lisa, sole survivors of three separate murderous killing sprees bu I seem to be on a run of really good books at the moment but this one totally blew me away! "Final Girls" by Riley Sager was just SOOOO good!! I was drawn into this intense story from the very first page until the tremendously gripping end. I started this on a Saturday morning and I was a ghost in my house until it was finished Sunday night it is that unputdownable and addictive!"Final Girls" is about three girls, Quincy, Sam and Lisa, sole survivors of three separate murderous killing sprees but linked by their trauma. When Lisa dies mysteriously and Sam suddenly turns up on Quincy's doorstep, a series of events following their new friendship ensues. Who can Quincy trust and will she totally remember the events of that terrible night she endured many years ago.You just don't know where this story is going at times it's so well plotted and written - just when you think you may have worked everything out you realise in the final chapters you are so wrong! Twists and turns will keep you guessing all the way!There's two stories running alongside each other, the present day Quincy and the unfolding events that occurred the night she survived her ordeal at Pine Cottage with the horrid anticipation of what's going to happen clearly palpable. I love this style of writing which for me always adds to the enjoyment of the plot. I'm not normally easily freaked out but I have to admit that there were times that there was slivers of ice running down my spine and I'm not sure I would like to read this late at night and on my own! Adrenaline was searing at my senses during the highly climatic end! This was one hell of thrilling ride, I know Riley Sager will do really well with this book - I wouldn't be surprised if this was made into a horror/thriller movie.I more than recommend "Final Girls" and I will certainly read more by this author in the future. For a writer to be able to engage the reader as well as this debut author has done, is just amazing and this hotly anticipated book will resolutely be the talk of 2017!! A huge 5 stars!
    more
  • Emma
    November 23, 2016
    This is one of those thrillers that properly got me. I read a lot of these books, watch a lot of stories, and i’ve turned into one of those annoying people that guess the ending and accidentally ruin films/tv shows for other people by pointing out the probable culprit or plot direction early on. After correctly guessing the central twist of The Sixth Sense, and blithely commenting my thoughts to my then partner, he told me never to speak during cinema visits again. Apparently ‘but it’s so obviou This is one of those thrillers that properly got me. I read a lot of these books, watch a lot of stories, and i’ve turned into one of those annoying people that guess the ending and accidentally ruin films/tv shows for other people by pointing out the probable culprit or plot direction early on. After correctly guessing the central twist of The Sixth Sense, and blithely commenting my thoughts to my then partner, he told me never to speak during cinema visits again. Apparently ‘but it’s so obvious…’ is not an acceptable justification. Who knew? Yet this book, this story, did not take me where I expected. I was guessing madly as each snippet of information revealed by the author twisted the narrative in a new direction, or tantalisingly offered a seemingly innocent action or comment that was, in fact, a massively huge, big fat red herring. But Sager has created something that’s more than just shock value. When I think back to the book, it’s not just pleasure and awe at being misled, it’s the well drawn characters, the clever unfolding of person and plot, the language and style, even the tone of the whole novel. It’s all these things together that make this a masterpiece of the genre and it deserves to be one of the big books of 2017.Long time till this one comes out but if you're a reviewer, get hold of it if you can... it's a cracking crime read. *** My opinion has been seconded by Stephen King, no less. He calls this the 'first great thriller of 2017' ***ARC via Netgalley
    more
  • Lala BooksandLala
    January 15, 2017
    Well that took me on quite the damn ride.
  • Abby (Crime by the Book)
    January 21, 2017
    I have the HUGE pleasure of working as a publicist for this book at my job, so I won't be reviewing it anywhere. (That would be a conflict of interest!) I'll just say, I'm totally thrilled/humbled/excited to be working on this beauty!!
  • Susan
    March 18, 2017
    The press have labelled them the ‘Final Girls’ – after the young, pretty victim who remains standing at the end of a horror movie. There are Quincy Carpenter, Samantha Boyd and Lisa Milner. Separately they survived massacres that should have killed them – that did kill many others – and they remain survivors, ‘tethered to tragedy’ and with the press interested in their lives and endless websites, true crime podcasts and blogs fascinated by their stories.Ten years after a trip to a remote cabin w The press have labelled them the ‘Final Girls’ – after the young, pretty victim who remains standing at the end of a horror movie. There are Quincy Carpenter, Samantha Boyd and Lisa Milner. Separately they survived massacres that should have killed them – that did kill many others – and they remain survivors, ‘tethered to tragedy’ and with the press interested in their lives and endless websites, true crime podcasts and blogs fascinated by their stories.Ten years after a trip to a remote cabin with her friends, which resulted in Quincy Carpenter being the only survivor, she has re-built her life. She now has a nice apartment, a boyfriend and has thrown her energies into a baking blog. She still has a tendency to take the odd pill, and still meets up with Coop, the police officer who rescued her that terrible night, but otherwise she is coping. Much of this, she feels, is due to her inability to being unable to remember what happened that dreadful night. Still, the new life she has carefully built up, is about to be invaded by the past that always threatens to intrude on the present.Lisa Milner is found dead, in a suspected suicide. Quincy is horrified; this was the woman who wanted to mentor her and who wrote, “The Will to Live.” The woman who seemed determined to be a survivor, even if Quincy shied away from meeting her and Samantha Boyd has gone into hiding. Now the press is full of stories about Lisa and Samantha Boyd suddenly turns up on Quincy’s doorstep. Quincy’s boyfriend, Jess, is understandably concerned about the past shattering his and Quincy’s carefully constructed life, but she feels that they must offer Samantha a place to stay. However, is Samantha who she says she is? Why has she appeared now, what was Lisa Milner attempting to tell Quincy before her death and why is Samantha so keen for Quincy to discover what happened so long ago at Pine Cottage? This really is a great crime novel. We have the current storyline, of Quincy beginning to realise that she must confront her past, plus the images from her past, as she gradually begins to remember what happened so long ago. There are lots of twists and turns, the plot is never quite going the way you think it is and, if you like fast paced novels with plenty of action and good characters, you will really enjoy this. I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via NetGalley, for review.
    more
  • Rebecca Carter
    April 2, 2017
    I've read a few psychological thrillers lately, but this one really had me transfixed. It moves along at a startling pace, and has you wondering what happened, right up until the final few chapters and it's startling conclusion. Quincy and five of her friends from college, have gone up a cabin for their friend Janelle's birthday weekend. It's meant to be a weekend of fun; hiking, cooking, drinking and partying. However, it all seems to go wrong when they go for a hike up to a rock at the top of I've read a few psychological thrillers lately, but this one really had me transfixed. It moves along at a startling pace, and has you wondering what happened, right up until the final few chapters and it's startling conclusion. Quincy and five of her friends from college, have gone up a cabin for their friend Janelle's birthday weekend. It's meant to be a weekend of fun; hiking, cooking, drinking and partying. However, it all seems to go wrong when they go for a hike up to a rock at the top of the hill. On the return they spot someone outside the cabin. He's around their age and claims to have broken down. They invite him to join them as night is falling. After getting ready for dinner and eating, the partying commences. So does the nightmare. All of Quincy's friends are murdered that night, leaving her the sole survivor of the Pine Cottage Massacre. A few years before Pine Cottage, two other women - Lisa who survived a college sorority mass murder spree, and Sam, who was the only person to escape with her life after a massacre at a motel - also endured and survived horrible massacres. As they were the only survivors of similar situations, the press nicknamed them "The Final Girls". Eight years after the event, Quincy still has no memory of what happened that night, and is suffering from repressed memory syndrome. She's managed to start afresh and runs a successful baking blog, lives with her boyfriend Jeff, and has a guardian angel in the form of police officer Coop. Sam went off grid and Lisa was living a nice life in a small country town. This all changed the day Lisa was found dead. Now only two final girls remain. None of them had ever met, until one day, not long after Lisa's death, when Samantha turns up out of the blue on Quincy's doorstep. Sam seems intent on making Quincy remember what happened at Pine Cottage all those years ago. Which makes Quincy wonder what she really wants, and whether she's hiding something? When the media breaks new details about Lisa's death, Quincy starts to try to untangle the messy web of what Sam wants and where she's been, Lisa's death, and what actually happened that grim night at Pine Cottage. Final Girls is an intriguing, twisty and utterly compelling novel. It's extremely well written, with the characters slowly showing more sides to themselves, which pulls you further and further into the book. It's written from the first person point of view, apart from the chapters which flash back to the day leading up to the massacre and the following police interviews, which are in third person. It's an easy, yet gritty and brilliant read, which will see you flying through the chapters wanting to know more about what happened at the cabin that night. I ended up second guessing each character along the way, with the many turns the story takes. By the end of the book I felt like I had had the rug ripped out from underneath me; there are more than a few gasp out loud moments. Highly recommended to all fans of dark and suspenseful thrillers. Thanks to NetGalley, the publisher Penguin Random House UK, Ebury and the author for the opportunity to read an advance copy of this book, in return for an honest and unbiased review.
    more
  • Nicki
    November 23, 2016
    OMG,This book is Absolutely Brilliant,fast paced,packed full of twists and totally and utterly unputdownableLisa,Sam and Quincy,three young women who have survived unimaginable horror.Three victims of separate massacres who have been grouped together by the media and been labelled The Final Girls.When something bad happens to Lisa,Quincy and Sam finally meet.Each has dark secrets and as events from the past reach out their bloodstained fingers into the present each one will never be the same aga OMG,This book is Absolutely Brilliant,fast paced,packed full of twists and totally and utterly unputdownableLisa,Sam and Quincy,three young women who have survived unimaginable horror.Three victims of separate massacres who have been grouped together by the media and been labelled The Final Girls.When something bad happens to Lisa,Quincy and Sam finally meet.Each has dark secrets and as events from the past reach out their bloodstained fingers into the present each one will never be the same again.The book is written in the third person and mainly follows Quincy although there are some later chapters that are all about events in Sam's past and the reasons why she has decided to try to get to know Quincy.Interspersed throughout the book are chapters set before and in the weeks after the events that happened at Pine Cottage which is where Quincy`s personal horror occurred ten years before.Quincy and Sam are polar opposites character wise,Quincy does not want to accept that she is a Final Girl,she just wants to be normal and is very happy dedicating her life to her baking and her lawyer boyfriend Jeff.She can't remember what happened that horrible night at Pine Cottage and she just wants things to stay that way.Volatile,impulsive Sam with her wild goth style and don't give a damn attitude cannot understand why Quincy will not accept that they are both Final Girls.As far as Sam is Concerned Quincy needs to face up to the truth and stop living in denial.It's a character driven story and Quincy is a complex,well thought out believable character.I had my doubts as the events from the past unfolded wether Quincy knew more than she would admit.The rest of the cast of this heart pounding twisty thriller are also realistic and believable and all the way through the book I had no idea what really happened on that terrible night ten years ago and why Sam suddenly reappeared after years in hiding and turned up on Quincy`s doorstep.It's a totally gripping,twisty story that hooks the reader in from the thrilling,heart pounding prologue right to the truly shocking and totally unexpected final twist.It's a very well written debut book and I look forward to reading more books by this author in the future.Many thanks to penguin random house uk,Ebury publishing for a arc of this book via netgalley in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Dannii Elle
    December 20, 2016
    I received this in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. Thank you to the author, Riley Sager, and the publisher, Ebury Press, for this opportunity.Meet the final girls. The survivors. The ones who lived through a massacre. The ones who survived unthinkable horrors at the hands of a crazed individual. The predator might be different, the prey might be different and the setting might be different; but when an individual goes on a killing spree and there is a sole female survivor they loos I received this in exchange for an honest review from NetGalley. Thank you to the author, Riley Sager, and the publisher, Ebury Press, for this opportunity.Meet the final girls. The survivors. The ones who lived through a massacre. The ones who survived unthinkable horrors at the hands of a crazed individual. The predator might be different, the prey might be different and the setting might be different; but when an individual goes on a killing spree and there is a sole female survivor they loose their former identity and now become a part of the elite few - the final girls. And these final girls are left to fight off another piranha - the press. And the press are in a feeding frenzy when beloved final girl, Lisa, commits suicide. How did this strong survivor become the cause of her own early demise? This is what fellow final girl Quincy Carpenter must find out.With a slew of thrillers being chugged out daily, it seems, I find it hard to find a synopsis in this genre that feels unique and immediately captures my attention. This synopsis promised an individual story-line, fast-paced plot and unguessable twists. And lived up to it.I have little to fault with this. The idea behind this made for truly captivating reading and I had no idea of the directions the narrative would diverge in. The characters were relatable and real. The ending had me slack-jawed with shock as I had absolutely no idea of what the outcome would be.My only negative is that the central portion of this felt a little too elongated but with the surpises in store in the final portion I can forgive this all its sins.I can see why horror master, Stephen King, has dubbed this the thriller to read in 2017!
    more
  • Tanninsandtales
    February 14, 2017
    Lisa, Sam and Quincy are three young women who survived mass murders. The media decided to borrow from film nomenclature and nickname them "Final Girls".The story is told in first person through the eyes of Quincy. She lives with her boyfriend and earns a living as a baking blogger. At the beginning of the book, she learns that Lisa has died and braces herself for the press avalanche that is bound to come her way. What she does not expect is that Sam, who's been living off the grid, will come ou Lisa, Sam and Quincy are three young women who survived mass murders. The media decided to borrow from film nomenclature and nickname them "Final Girls".The story is told in first person through the eyes of Quincy. She lives with her boyfriend and earns a living as a baking blogger. At the beginning of the book, she learns that Lisa has died and braces herself for the press avalanche that is bound to come her way. What she does not expect is that Sam, who's been living off the grid, will come out of hiding and look for her.Final Girls is a character-driven book and I found it to be lacking in plot. Basically, the story is dependent on Quincy's poor judgement and fantastic ability to jump to conclusions/actions without thinking things through. (view spoiler)[Sam has shown up on my doorstep? Great, I'll ask her to move in! Why did Sam choose this moment to contact me? She must have killed Lisa and I am next! You know, that police officer did mention she has a criminal record. Drunken brawls, unpaid speeding tickets... That is not very far from murder! (hide spoiler)]As you will have noticed, I did not like Quincy and not liking the main character in a first-person narrative does not bode well for the overall enjoyment of a book.Not a title that I would personally recommend. (Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for the review copy!)
    more
  • Sarah
    March 28, 2017
    Holy twists and turns batman!!Now I read a lot of mystery/thriller books and most of the time I can work out who it is or what's happening either because I've guessed or process of elimination but this one, THIS ONE, had no idea, no idea whatsoever!!The Final Girls are girls who have survived a massacre or the spree of a serial killer, there are only 3 of them at the moment, Lisa, who survived a sorority house massacre, Sam, who survived the rampage of the Sack Man and Quincy, who survived the P Holy twists and turns batman!!Now I read a lot of mystery/thriller books and most of the time I can work out who it is or what's happening either because I've guessed or process of elimination but this one, THIS ONE, had no idea, no idea whatsoever!!The Final Girls are girls who have survived a massacre or the spree of a serial killer, there are only 3 of them at the moment, Lisa, who survived a sorority house massacre, Sam, who survived the rampage of the Sack Man and Quincy, who survived the Pine Cottage massacre.When Lisa is found dead, Sam turns up at Quincys address to bond with her, asking her questions about what happened at Pine Cottage, Quincy can't remember and we follow her as the details become clear in her head. Here starts the story proper, we're thrown information, twists and turns at every opportunity, we don't know what's really happening or who to believe as we work our way to the shocking conclusion.I really enjoyed this story, when I picked it up I could not put it down! Bella, my brothers dog, wasn't best pleased about it as it meant less cuddles and belly rubs for her but I needed to know what happened!If the next book by this author is as good as this I will definitely be reading it. So very good.My reviews may seem a little jumpy but that's how my brain works and I hope you get all the relevant info you need from them. :)*Huge thanks to Riley Sager, Random House UK, Ebury Publishing and NetGalley for this copy which I chose to read and all opinions are my own*
    more
  • Tracy Fenton
    November 28, 2016
    Final Girls is a cracking psychological thriller which will be huge in 2017 when it's published in July. The story centres around Quincy Carpenter who is the sole survivor of a massacre in a wood cabin 10 years ago when her friends get murdered. Along with Lisa and Samantha, also sole survivors of horrendous massacres the 3 girls have been dubbed The Final Girls by the press. This story is a real page turner which kept me reading long after Iights out! Gripping and tense and highly recommended.
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    January 14, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley, Random House Uk and Riley Sager for the opportunity to read this book for an honest review. You can find my review on both Goodreads and Amazon from publication date. On Goodreads under my name of Karen Whittard and on Amazon under my name K.e.whittard. This is a high paced, twisted and twist galore book that had me on the edge of my seat. I was captivated by this book as soon as I started to read it. I had no idea where the author was taking me but I was more than happy Thank you to Netgalley, Random House Uk and Riley Sager for the opportunity to read this book for an honest review. You can find my review on both Goodreads and Amazon from publication date. On Goodreads under my name of Karen Whittard and on Amazon under my name K.e.whittard. This is a high paced, twisted and twist galore book that had me on the edge of my seat. I was captivated by this book as soon as I started to read it. I had no idea where the author was taking me but I was more than happy to go along for this exhilarating ride. Everyone should go out and buy this when it comes out at the end of the month as this is definitely a must read for physiological thriller fans in 2017. I wish for this to be made into a movie. It was that good. A massive thank to Random House Uk. Who saw me wish for this book on NetGalley and granted my wish just before Christmas. I was super excited to read it and it was everything I wanted it to be abc more. Happy reading everyone
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    August 5, 2016
    Genuinely excellent psychological thriller with great character insights and a twisted yet believable vibe to the narrative. More nearer publication and in a "ones to watch in 2017" post on the blog soon.
  • Sam (Clues and Reviews)
    December 18, 2016
    For all my reviews check out Clues and Reviews https://cluesandreviews.wordpress.com/Quincy Carpenter is the sole survivor of a massacre that killed six of her friends while they were on vacation at Pine Cottage ten years earlier. The media dubbed her one of the Final Girls; joining Lisa and Samantha, who were also survivors of murderous rampages. These girls screamed louder, ran faster and fought harder. They survived. Quincy is trying to move on with her life, and is doing well until Lisa is f For all my reviews check out Clues and Reviews https://cluesandreviews.wordpress.com/Quincy Carpenter is the sole survivor of a massacre that killed six of her friends while they were on vacation at Pine Cottage ten years earlier. The media dubbed her one of the Final Girls; joining Lisa and Samantha, who were also survivors of murderous rampages. These girls screamed louder, ran faster and fought harder. They survived. Quincy is trying to move on with her life, and is doing well until Lisa is found with her wrists slit in her bathtub; an apparent suicide. Leaving Quincy reeling, Samantha shows up on her doorstep, making Quincy relive bits of her past that she has fought so hard to forget. As the details surrounding Lisa’s death become clearer, Quincy begins to unravel the truth, Sam’s truths and her own, to remember that night at Pine Cottage…the night she became a Final Girl.Final Girls is the debut novel by Riley Sager. It is an intense, on the edge of your seat, completely addictive mystery thriller. I refuse to believe that this novel was a debut. It was that amazing. From the first page, I knew this would be a book that I would need to read in one sitting. I finished this one in an afternoon easily. The concept for this novel is completely original; Quincy is a Final Girl, like the girls at the end of the horror movie who stumble out of the woods and flag down an unassuming vehicle. Except, that this was not a movie. This was her life. She stumbled out of the woods, covered in blood, and escaped becoming HIS (she will not speak his name) final victim that night at Pine Cottage. As she works through her past demons, she is surprised when Samantha, another Final Girl (having survived a massacre at a motel) arrives at her home. Sam quickly throws Quincy’s life upside down as she brings up past memories and calls into question everything that Quincy knows. From the initial moments, this novel proves to be a suspenseful, engaging read. The plot was intricate and smart. The novel is narrated by Quincy, both in the present and in flashbacks to the past, before and after the massacre, as she tries to piece together her lost memories. This one has many twists and turns; I was left reeling. Just as I was beginning to understand what was happening or guess where Sager was leading me, it turned out to be a red herring and I was left baffled. By the ending of the novel, when all the pieces come together and the revelations are made, I was in complete shock. I also loved the character development in this one. Quincy Carpenter is both tough and vulnerable. I loved watching her experience her survival’s guilt, struggle to deal with her loss and see the media circus that follows her. I also loved watching her piece together what happened that night. Frankly, I believe that Final Girls by Riley Sager is a book that everyone will be talking about in 2017. I would also be shocked if this one didn't get picked up for its film rights. If you are a fan of the mystery/thriller genre, or just a fan of an extremely well-developed narrative, you’ll want to add this one to your TBR pile and pre-order lists. This one releases (and starts taking the literary world by storm) July 2017. Thanks to Dutton, Riley Sager and Netgalley for granting me an e-copy of this book; it was my pleasure to provide an honest review.
    more
  • Brandie
    January 23, 2017
    This was so good! When I thought I had it all figured out, the author managed to surprise me at the end.
  • Helen
    November 25, 2016
    Horror films come to life in The Final Girls. Three different women are left as the only survivors of random massacres in a sorority house, a cabin in the wood, and an isolated hotel. Fast paced and gripping, and full of twists and turns that kept me guessing. Just as I thought I had it figured out Sager threw another twist in there! I thought I knew about three different times, but no, I was wrong. The characters were well thought out and developed, although I didn't like Quincy much. At first Horror films come to life in The Final Girls. Three different women are left as the only survivors of random massacres in a sorority house, a cabin in the wood, and an isolated hotel. Fast paced and gripping, and full of twists and turns that kept me guessing. Just as I thought I had it figured out Sager threw another twist in there! I thought I knew about three different times, but no, I was wrong. The characters were well thought out and developed, although I didn't like Quincy much. At first she's bland and melodramatic, but she does improve as the book goes on. Samantha was a much better character.There were a couple of points where I couldn't understand why the characters acted the way they did, and it was surprisingly neatly wrapped up at the end. They're minor issues with it though and they didn't stop me enjoying it. Nothing was obvious and I didn't guess the final twists before the end. This is a great debut from Sage, and I really enjoyed reading it!I received a free copy from the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Brandon
    February 11, 2017
    oh. my. holy. SHIT.I honestly don't think there's a better phrase to describe this book...I LOVED it. Fucking. Wonderful.Review to definitely come.
  • Maraia
    April 22, 2017
    Addictive from start to finish! 4.5 stars
  • Susan
    November 22, 2016
    Final Girls By Riley Sager is a mystery and thriller read. Each girl survived an unthinkable horror. Now someone wants them dead...They were called The Final Girls.Three young women who survived unimaginable horror. Three victims of separate massacres grouped together by the press. Three strangers bound by similar traumas.Lisa. Quincy. Samantha.When something terrible happens to Lisa, put-together Quincy and volatile Sam finally meet. Each one influences the other. Each one has dark secrets. And Final Girls By Riley Sager is a mystery and thriller read. Each girl survived an unthinkable horror. Now someone wants them dead...They were called The Final Girls.Three young women who survived unimaginable horror. Three victims of separate massacres grouped together by the press. Three strangers bound by similar traumas.Lisa. Quincy. Samantha.When something terrible happens to Lisa, put-together Quincy and volatile Sam finally meet. Each one influences the other. Each one has dark secrets. And after the bloodstained fingers of the past reach into the present, each one will never be the same.OMG what a roller coaster of a read. Absolutely fantastic read. With brilliant characters. Had me all over the place. Highly recommended. 5*. I voluntarily reviewed an advanced copy of this book from netgalley.
    more
  • Lavender
    January 1, 2017
    3,5 StarsThis book has everything a good thriller needs. There is a gruesome murder story, unreliable characters and a good plot. But somehow it did not get me. It started so well but it started bugging me.Quincy is a Final Girl. This is a horror-movie-term. The Final Girl is the girl who is still alive after a massacre and maybe she even killed the killer. 10 years ago Quincy survived the attack of a disturbed young man. He killed her five friends while they spent a weekend in a cabin in the wo 3,5 StarsThis book has everything a good thriller needs. There is a gruesome murder story, unreliable characters and a good plot. But somehow it did not get me. It started so well but it started bugging me.Quincy is a Final Girl. This is a horror-movie-term. The Final Girl is the girl who is still alive after a massacre and maybe she even killed the killer. 10 years ago Quincy survived the attack of a disturbed young man. He killed her five friends while they spent a weekend in a cabin in the woods. Unfortunately she can’t remember what happened during this dreadful hour. She just knows that she survived by running through the woods where a police officer found her. She is fine now, has a nice boyfriend and runs a successful baking blog. Beside her, there are Final Girls knocks on her door. Samantha, who hid for several years because of the press, wants to know if she is all right. Quincy, who feels guilty because of Lisa, invites Sam to stay with her and her boyfriend for a couple of days. But Sam is up to something. She eagerly wants Quincy to remember what happened that night in the cabin.This book is perfectly all right. It starts very intriguing, and Sam and Quincy a very interesting characters. So it seems. But after a while the story is treading water. The tension stops, there is a lot about the press which is eager to get hold of the girls to get a story. Sam misleads Quincy to do some weird things which made me curious but even more it unnerved me. There are some false leads and you can keep guessing what happened that night in the cabin and who was responsible. But somehow it was not gripping. The twist felt forced. They don’t come subtle, they are really forced into the story. Quincy really annoyed me. She is a character who had a horrible experience but I just could not feel connected to her. She just annoyed me. She does stupid and disturbing stuff. I found it hard to understand that almost everybody in the book was so amazed by her and thought she was strong and just wonderful. I disliked her so much. As a reader I would like to at least understand a little bit why she is obviously so amazing to everybody. But somehow the author failed to show this to me. I can imagine that this book could be a huge success and a lot of readers like it and write enthusiastic reviews about it. For me it somehow failed to work. I received an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Aaron Nash
    January 4, 2017
    My first novel of the year finished!Imagine the burden of being referred to constantly as a final girl. A girl who is the sole survivor of a terrible massacre that has taken place where everyone else died, be it friends, or just other people that were unfortunate enough to be around at the time. 3 girls all dubbed the final girls. Each of them surviving something horrific. Quincy is the 1st girl, a sole survivor who has a blank in her memory as to what happened to her and her friends on that fat My first novel of the year finished!Imagine the burden of being referred to constantly as a final girl. A girl who is the sole survivor of a terrible massacre that has taken place where everyone else died, be it friends, or just other people that were unfortunate enough to be around at the time. 3 girls all dubbed the final girls. Each of them surviving something horrific. Quincy is the 1st girl, a sole survivor who has a blank in her memory as to what happened to her and her friends on that fateful night. Years after the massacre, after all the buzz has died down, she leads a normal life as a baker, with the help of xanax, her husband and the comfort of knowing that the policeman who saved her all those years ago is still around whenever she needs him. A comfort blanket of sorts. Lisa is the 2nd, someone who has embraced the title, written a book about her ordeal and now helps other girls who are in peril. The 3rd and final is Sam. She has disappeared off the grid.The 3 girls dont have any connection with each other, other than what happened to them, that is until Lisa is found dead in her bathtub and Sam comes knocking on Quincys doorWho is Sam? What does she want? Will Quincy finally remember what happened to her all those years ago?This is a fresh and confident debut with some of the most believable dialogue i have ever read. The novel has chapters that alternate between Quincys life now and what happened all those years ago. It builds to an incredible climax that i did not see coming even though i thought i had it sussed many times. A scorching read and a great start to 2017.Thanks to Netgalley for an advanced copy.
    more
  • Claire - The Coffeeholic Bookworm
    February 1, 2017
    Quincy Carpenter, Samantha Boyd and Lisa Milner - what do these ladies have in common? They survived three different kinds of massacre. They were the last women standing. They were the Final Girls. Ten years ago, Quincy and her friends met a horrific tragedy in the remote Pine Cottage, but only one girl survived. The press people hounded her for months, her story was vehemently featured in all TV news channels, newspapers, tabloids, podcasts and on the interwebs. She endured it all, until she co Quincy Carpenter, Samantha Boyd and Lisa Milner - what do these ladies have in common? They survived three different kinds of massacre. They were the last women standing. They were the Final Girls. Ten years ago, Quincy and her friends met a horrific tragedy in the remote Pine Cottage, but only one girl survived. The press people hounded her for months, her story was vehemently featured in all TV news channels, newspapers, tabloids, podcasts and on the interwebs. She endured it all, until she could finally moved on. Until Lisa Milner, the original Final Girl was found dead. The second survivor, Samantha Boyd who initially had gone missing suddenly appeared in Quincy's doorstep, and soon they found themselves in Pine Cottage again, reliving the manslaughter that happened a decade ago, fearful, anxious, scared to death. Literally.This has been a bone-chilling, mouth-gaping, mind-boggling suspense thriller that had me wide awake at night even after reading it. The deaths, the ripper, the screams, the blood, the weapons, the murderer - everything was a haze and for the rest of the story, I thought I got the murderer right. Until I was deep into the latter chapters when I realized, my guess was wrong. I was mistaken not just once, but thrice.I won't further go into detail about the plot or story because I don’t want to spoil it for you. But know this, Riley Sager's writing is clean and fresh and chilling and something to look forward to. If you're a fan of thrillers/suspense/whodunnit mysteries, Final Girls is a good pick!
    more
  • Julia
    April 11, 2017
    Any horror movie fan is familiar with the "final girl" trope. The one girl who makes it out alive from the massacre going on in the movie. Usually, she ends up killing the killer. This book looks at what life is like for the "final girl" after she is rescued and safe. Having to deal with the fame, and the constant media presence, people who just want a piece of her.Quincy is a final girl, having survived a massacre at an isolated cabin in the woods. Lisa and Sam are also final girls, and the pre Any horror movie fan is familiar with the "final girl" trope. The one girl who makes it out alive from the massacre going on in the movie. Usually, she ends up killing the killer. This book looks at what life is like for the "final girl" after she is rescued and safe. Having to deal with the fame, and the constant media presence, people who just want a piece of her.Quincy is a final girl, having survived a massacre at an isolated cabin in the woods. Lisa and Sam are also final girls, and the press keeps trying to lump all three of them together. Quincy is against meeting them, until she hears about Lisa's death. Initially thought of as suicide, there is something suspicious about her death. And something suspicious about Sam, who shows up on Quincy's doorstep shortly after Lisa dies. Quincy does not remember most of what happened to her the night she and her friends were attacked. But she is unwillingly drawn into finding out what happened to Lisa, and what really happened to her that night in the woods.This book was very exciting. The action was non stop and I was always interested in what was going to happen next. The story of Quincy in the cabin is parceled out slowly over the course of the book. By the end, we know the truth and so does Quincy. The ending was a real WTF moment for me. I did not see it coming, and I am not sure how I feel about it. I loved seeing what happens to these women after the initial violence is over. The psychological damage is profound, yet they try to get on with just living a normal life. I enjoyed reading this book very much. 4 1/2 stars out of 5!I received a free ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Maggie
    March 26, 2017
    You've all seen the films- mass murder in a dorm, camper carnage in the woods. Bloodied, bruised & battered but alive;the one survivor-the Final Girl! Quincy, Sam and Lisa were the girls from three separate atrocities. Lisa has become a psychologist and spends her time trying to help other girls who have gone through trauma. Quincy can't remember much about the night that took her friends. She remembers running out of the woods and Coop the cop who found her and saved her by shooting the man You've all seen the films- mass murder in a dorm, camper carnage in the woods. Bloodied, bruised & battered but alive;the one survivor-the Final Girl! Quincy, Sam and Lisa were the girls from three separate atrocities. Lisa has become a psychologist and spends her time trying to help other girls who have gone through trauma. Quincy can't remember much about the night that took her friends. She remembers running out of the woods and Coop the cop who found her and saved her by shooting the man running after her. Years later she is building a life for herself.When Lisa is found dead- apparently having taken her own life & Sam turns up at her door her hard won peace flies out the window.This is an absorbing novel where you struggle to find the truth. I loved it! Thanks to Netgalley & the publisher for giving me the chance to read it. I'm sure it will be a bestseller when it is published in July ( I thought it was this month which is why this is so early!)
    more
  • Vikki Patis
    January 23, 2017
    I know, I know, another book with "girls" in the title. But Final Girls actually works. It's the term given to the last female character standing in a horror film. Even though these female characters have obviously been through hell and back, they're still referred to as girls. But what's worse is that this term is applied to real women who go through hell and come out the other side. Misogyny at it's finest.Quincy (sorry, horrible name) is a Final Girl, as the lone survivor of a massacre at Pin I know, I know, another book with "girls" in the title. But Final Girls actually works. It's the term given to the last female character standing in a horror film. Even though these female characters have obviously been through hell and back, they're still referred to as girls. But what's worse is that this term is applied to real women who go through hell and come out the other side. Misogyny at it's finest.Quincy (sorry, horrible name) is a Final Girl, as the lone survivor of a massacre at Pine Cottage, a cabin in the woods, when she was nineteen. It's the typical slasher storyline - a bunch of teenagers are drinking in a cabin in the middle of nowhere, their phones are all left in the car, there's sex and booze and a weird stranger that turns up and gets invited to stay, to join in the fun. And the birthday girl, Janelle, is your typical slasher movie victim. Despite any descriptions, I envisioned her as a blonde cheerleader, curvy, excitable, experienced. She encourages Quincy to sleep with Craig, and when Quincy changes her mind (hello almost rape-not-rape scene, where Quincy says stop and Craig says come on, we agreed, let's do this), Janelle fucks him instead. Quincy sees them, her feelings are hurt, but does she turn to murder? Mystery, mystery. It really couldn't be more predictable. This review sounds negative, but actually, Final Girls was extremely enjoyable. Despite - or, perhaps, because of - the predictability, you're lulled into a false sense of security. Come on, you think, as you read with bated breath. It's got to be X, or Y. You can't fool me, Sager! But actually, Sager can, and did, fool me. The ending took me by surprise, and the final 30-ish% was utterly engrossing. Quincy is your typical unreliable narrator, doped up on Xanax and hiding away from her memories of Pine Cottage. She's not a Final Girl, she says, her mother says, her boyfriend says. She's moved past it. She's bigger than that, stronger. But when she hears of Lisa's suicide, and Sam shows up on her doorstep, it becomes clear that Quincy is barely holding on. Just an odd side note: Anitrophylin is mentioned a few times as an antidepressant that is also used as a sleep aid. After a quick Google, it became clear that anitrophylin doesn't exist. Perhaps the author meant amitriptyline? Because I'm on amitriptyline for fibromyalgia, & I can confirm that it is quite capable of knocking someone out. I'm not sure if the author meant to make a name up, or if they just couldn't remember amitriptyline, but there it is. Anyway. Final Girls is thrilling. It's one of those engrossing guilty pleasures, like those slasher films that still make you jump, even though they're crap. But Final Girls isn't crap. It's full of twists and thrills that will mess you up, and keep you hooked. Apparently it won't be released until July, so, if you want to read it, sucks to be you. https://dracarya.wordpress.com/2017/0...
    more
  • Shawna P.
    November 28, 2016
    Bye Felicia. This book is pretty much my favorite read this year. Initially, I pined for it because the title made me think it was like the movie. Then I read the synopsis and my desire to read it intensified even more. Quincy is a Final Girl. A club, few have joined. She is the sole survivor of a massacre. Years go by, and she receives word that the Final Girls are now down from three to two members. Quincy is trying to move past the horrific tragedy with the help of baking and her boyfriend Je Bye Felicia. This book is pretty much my favorite read this year. Initially, I pined for it because the title made me think it was like the movie. Then I read the synopsis and my desire to read it intensified even more. Quincy is a Final Girl. A club, few have joined. She is the sole survivor of a massacre. Years go by, and she receives word that the Final Girls are now down from three to two members. Quincy is trying to move past the horrific tragedy with the help of baking and her boyfriend Jeff. That all comes to a screeching halt when Sam, the second Final Girl shows up. I honestly have so much to say about this book, but feel I should summarize my main notes. 1. This is not a debut novel. I refuse to believe it. It's THAT good. 2. Better than most horror movies of the day. 3. Super intense, engaging, suspenseful. I was guessing and guessing and guessing. 4. The characters and imagery in this novel are insane! The atmosphere with the flashbacks in the cabin....wow. Just wow. 5. I am never going to be able to stay at my father in laws cabin in the woods on the edge of Pennsylvania...ever...again. 6. I was such a nervous wreck with this book that I downed half a bag of pretzels and a side of chocolate fudge. (In honor of Quincy's baking skills I'll never have). .....I was trying to make an even ten, but we'll go for 6. Seriously, make this book a "to read" soon!
    more
  • Lynn Mccarthy
    January 25, 2017
    This book is a firm 5 stars plus.This book has everything a good thriller needs a murder unreliable characters and a good plot plus I didn't guess the ending which is a good plus.I was lucky enough to get this book from netgalley as I wished for it and got picked to read it.Thank You.A must read.
    more
  • Becky
    July 27, 2016
    This book is being advertised as the next Girl on The Train - I would disagree. This is better! I thoroughly enjoyed this narrative and really didn't see the twist coming. Excellently plotted and with vibrant dialogue I whizzed through this book! I had to put it aside due to other commitments but picking it up again I was back into the plot with such ease. You're in for a treat!
    more
  • Samantha Luce
    March 30, 2017
    Wow! Do not start this book unless you can devote a day or so to finish it. It's so addicting! Just a couple chapters in and I had a hard time putting it down. Characters to root for and and to hate. Vivid settings and details. Creepy, exciting, and filled with believable twists and turns. Loved it.Thank you Netgalley for the ARC received in exchange for an unbiased review.
    more
  • OutlawPoet
    March 16, 2017
    Sit back and enjoy the show!If you watch or read horror or thrillers, the Final Girl is a favorite trope. This is the beautiful girl who, through a combination of luck and cunning (and with a lot of blood and screaming), survives our killer.Of course, as we know, it’s never the Final Girl’s last scream. There’s always a part 2 (or 3 or 4 or 44 3D).Quincy is a Final Girl. She survived the murders at Pine Cottage and now lives a pretty normal existence. Until her past comes back…with a vengeance.F Sit back and enjoy the show!If you watch or read horror or thrillers, the Final Girl is a favorite trope. This is the beautiful girl who, through a combination of luck and cunning (and with a lot of blood and screaming), survives our killer.Of course, as we know, it’s never the Final Girl’s last scream. There’s always a part 2 (or 3 or 4 or 44 3D).Quincy is a Final Girl. She survived the murders at Pine Cottage and now lives a pretty normal existence. Until her past comes back…with a vengeance.Final Girls is a popcorn read. Pure adrenaline, shady characters who you just can’t trust, and the suspicion that even our Final Girl isn’t exactly who she seems. The suspense here is spot on – both the psychological suspense and some full on hell-bent-for-leather slice and dice slasher pic fun. The author teases us with flashbacks of the past until we finally discover what really happened that bloody night…and why Quincy may need breath enough for one last scream.This is pure popcorn fun!*ARC Provided via Net Galley
    more
Write a review