Midnight at Madame Leota's (Tales from the Haunted Mansion #2)
The Haunted Mansion's resident librarian, Amicus Arcane, has returned with another set of spooky stories to share. Follow along with him as he tells new terrifying tales while leading the Mansion's newest visitor to a secret seance with the mysterious Madame Leota.

Midnight at Madame Leota's (Tales from the Haunted Mansion #2) Details

TitleMidnight at Madame Leota's (Tales from the Haunted Mansion #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherDisney Press
ISBN1484714717
ISBN-139781484714713
Number of pages240 pages
Rating
GenreChildrens, Middle Grade, Horror, Fantasy, Paranormal

Midnight at Madame Leota's (Tales from the Haunted Mansion #2) Review

  • Brenda Ayala
    June 27, 2017
    I would have been madly in love with this when I was younger. It's everything I want--multiple creepy stories but with a premise around the Haunted Mansion at Disneyland (my favorite ride). As an adult, I still freaking love it and I am so glad I picked this up at Yallwest. I wasn't too interested when I initially saw it so huge kudos to these writers for blowing my socks off.I haven't read the first one, but it seems like our narrator is very slowly introducing us to the 999 happy haunts within I would have been madly in love with this when I was younger. It's everything I want--multiple creepy stories but with a premise around the Haunted Mansion at Disneyland (my favorite ride). As an adult, I still freaking love it and I am so glad I picked this up at Yallwest. I wasn't too interested when I initially saw it so huge kudos to these writers for blowing my socks off.I haven't read the first one, but it seems like our narrator is very slowly introducing us to the 999 happy haunts within the Haunted Mansion. Our main story follows a man named William who is desperate to connect to his dead sister. During his journey, he hears about three different stories. Each one represents one of the ghosts and paints a picture of how they got there in the first place.Seriously, I freaking loved this. I was half tempted to keep the book to grace my bookshelf but I have so many damn books already that I'm not willing to give up that I can't fit anything else. I love ghost stories and this did a surprisingly good job of building atmosphere. For the record, this book names the three hitchhiking ghosts you see at the end of the ride. As I named them myself when I was very young, I'll have you know this book lies--their real names are Eddie (the fat one with a top hat), Boris (the tiny old man) and Frankie (the tall skeletal-looking one). Eddie, Boris, and Frankie, you got that?!
    more
  • Jen
    June 23, 2017
    Hair raising ghost tales for the juvenile crowd. But it managed to scare me some too.
  • Liezl Ruiz
    May 30, 2017
    Now, here's a book that will have your heart hammering even if it's a middle grade book meant to be read by kids. Other writers out there, you should take from this and not blame me for being a crabby adult. As an adult, I'm giving it four thumbs up (I had to include my big toes). The narration will carry you away with its flowing words. The author didn't do heavy descriptions, as he doesn't need to, just a manner of storytelling that will have you up on your toes.Review will be posted on Zirev. Now, here's a book that will have your heart hammering even if it's a middle grade book meant to be read by kids. Other writers out there, you should take from this and not blame me for being a crabby adult. As an adult, I'm giving it four thumbs up (I had to include my big toes). The narration will carry you away with its flowing words. The author didn't do heavy descriptions, as he doesn't need to, just a manner of storytelling that will have you up on your toes.Review will be posted on Zirev.comFinishing this book puts a smile to my face. It's not always that I feel so nostalgic and this book has taken me back to my imaginative childhood. Needless to say, I like it a lot.Kids of all ages will definitely enjoy this book. Midnight at Madame Leota's has a lilting prose that will make it easy to follow among kids. The author was really good at his craft of horror storytelling. The stories in the book were simple but ones that will gnaw on your head for its blazing uniqueness despite using overused references like the Vampire Count himself, a zombie with a singular purpose, and a haunting of an army of hideous insects (which is reminiscent of Stephen King's works). Oh wait, this book is supposed to be middle grade. Anyhow, kids who don't have background with popular horror icons (or those who just live under a rock) will still get the creeps as the author's writing style captures real terror no matter how simple the plot is.Before I forget, I love horror stories set on carnival haunted houses (yes, the book has it as its first card). I consider it a trope but one that the author was able to utilize well. The last story in the book wasn't scary to me but the incident tugs at my heart. My heart would like to reach out to the poor 13-year old girl, Camille, at the hands of an abusive aunt. She had suffered too much and suffered enough. The aunt wasn't the typical abusive (she might be had Camille lasted more than a week with her) but what she did that led to the child's demise was just unacceptable.I'm actually surprised with the ending. The ones I consider to be bad entities turned out the be guests and therefore, decent ghosts. That was just a nice turn of events for me. I was anticipating some tragic thing to happen (despite the book being laced with tragic things) to William, our protagonist, since that's what the voice was implying (yes, that annoying one which tries hard to be scary). No, I'm not annoyed by the voice. I actually find it funny. By the voice, I'm referring to this disjointed texts that have their own creepy font (it's a separate voice directly addressing the audience).The book was chiefly written in third person and just I love the style of directly addressing the reader. With it, I would say that the best part of the book is the humor. The book is so punny that it's so funny (puns everywhere, get it?). The house (house for fans of the series) will be packing as I truly enjoyed this book despite being new to the story. To new readers out there, welcome and enjoy your stay at the Haunted Mansion.
    more
  • Heather Rochon
    July 11, 2017
    I received a free e-ARC of Tales from the Haunted Mansion, Volume II: Midnight at Madame Leota’s from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Goosebumps meets Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark in Disney’s new series that centers around the live-in spooks of the famous Haunted Mansion. Our ghost host and author, Amicus Arcane, is the Mansion’s resident librarian and keeper of tales. This is a fun and entertaining series, especially for those who are fans of the Haunted Mansion.In this second v I received a free e-ARC of Tales from the Haunted Mansion, Volume II: Midnight at Madame Leota’s from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.Goosebumps meets Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark in Disney’s new series that centers around the live-in spooks of the famous Haunted Mansion. Our ghost host and author, Amicus Arcane, is the Mansion’s resident librarian and keeper of tales. This is a fun and entertaining series, especially for those who are fans of the Haunted Mansion.In this second volume of Tales from the Haunted Mansion, Arcane spins the story of William, a visitor seeking a seance with the famous Madame Leota in order to find out what happened to his sister many years ago. Along the way, William learns the spooky stories of a few of the Haunted Mansion’s ghosts. (Fun fact: these are based on actual ghosts that are seen in the theme park ride.)Geared towards ages 8-12, this book is the perfect amount of creepy without being terrifying. The stories are simple, yet with enough twists and turns to fit the age range. It even manages to have a bit of morbid humor through fourth wall breaking interjections by Arcane. The design of Midnight at Madame Leota’s, which is to look like an old book from the Mansion’s library, fits excellently into the style of the book, with creepy illustrations and ghostly figures hiding between the pages.Read at your own risk!4/5 Stars.
    more
  • Lynndell
    July 24, 2017
    Thanks to NetGalley and Disney Book Group for the opportunity to read and review Midnight at Madame Leota's (Tales from the Haunted Mansion #2) by Amicus Arcane. The disclaimer of the ARC is even written in Haunted Mansion-ese, clever and sets the spooky stage from the beginning. This book tells the tale of William and his visit with Madame Leota and contains several stories within a story. William wants to talk to his deceased sister, but has to listen as librarian Arcane reads spooky tales to Thanks to NetGalley and Disney Book Group for the opportunity to read and review Midnight at Madame Leota's (Tales from the Haunted Mansion #2) by Amicus Arcane. The disclaimer of the ARC is even written in Haunted Mansion-ese, clever and sets the spooky stage from the beginning. This book tells the tale of William and his visit with Madame Leota and contains several stories within a story. William wants to talk to his deceased sister, but has to listen as librarian Arcane reads spooky tales to him first. The first tale is about a truly haunted house attraction at a traveling carnival. The second is the history of a vampire resident of the Haunted Mansion. Third is a spooky horror story about a man losing his beloved theatre and the last story tells a young girl's tale and how she came to be at the Haunted Mansion. Finally, William meets Madame Leota and gets what he's been asking for. Fun and spooky. 5 stars for this creepy addition to the Haunted Mansion volumes!
    more
  • Trisha Perry
    July 7, 2017
    This was a really cool book about a man who came to the mansion looking for the famous Madame Leota so he could talk to his dead sister on last time, instead he encountered the mansions librarian (what a awesome job if I do say so myself) and was made to listen to several hair raising tales, (and I assure you reader, some are very creepy).This book is really good for those middle grade readers looking for the creepy tales like goose bumps, but these come with a Disney twist as this mansion is th This was a really cool book about a man who came to the mansion looking for the famous Madame Leota so he could talk to his dead sister on last time, instead he encountered the mansions librarian (what a awesome job if I do say so myself) and was made to listen to several hair raising tales, (and I assure you reader, some are very creepy).This book is really good for those middle grade readers looking for the creepy tales like goose bumps, but these come with a Disney twist as this mansion is the one of fame from the Disney park. This book will make a awesome addition to any library even the haunted ones.
    more
  • Brian
    June 6, 2017
    When hinges creak in doorless chambers.... This is a book about the Haunted Mansion, or more specific, tales about it. The premise is about a young man who lost his sister who comes to the Mansion to meet Madame Leota. He (And us) are forced to endure some tales that are supposedly scary. Except that they're not really scary at all. They make almost no sense. I did enjoy all of the references to the attraction throughout the book, including some random quotes that just seemed thrown in there. Al When hinges creak in doorless chambers.... This is a book about the Haunted Mansion, or more specific, tales about it. The premise is about a young man who lost his sister who comes to the Mansion to meet Madame Leota. He (And us) are forced to endure some tales that are supposedly scary. Except that they're not really scary at all. They make almost no sense. I did enjoy all of the references to the attraction throughout the book, including some random quotes that just seemed thrown in there. All in all, a miss for me.
    more
  • Jamie
    June 20, 2017
    ***I received a galley through Netgalley in return for my honest review.***I enjoyed the tales in this story more than the first. I did find the title to misleading and was hoping for more of a background on the ghosts that you see in the ride (though you do get some small insights). I did predict the ending and didn't find it to be much of a twist. I think upper elementary and middle school kids who enjoy scary stories will enjoy this series as well as those who love the ride at Disney.
    more
  • Fran
    April 2, 2017
    I am a huge fan of the Haunted Mansion. I liked volume 1, but this volume was much better. Scary stories and of course, the "ghost host" narrator is a wonderful touch. Hope they keep this series going. Hard copy for my collection is preordered.
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    March 29, 2017
    I had bought the first volume for my daughter who is a huge fan of the Haunted Mansion movie and ride at Disney World. She really loved that book so of course I'll be buying her the second.I feel like any fan of Disney's Haunted Mansion would benefit more if they read the first volume before this. The book even starts off referencing that you should've read that one in a letter to the reader. The various letters to the reader in between stories are an added bonus to make this feel like a realist I had bought the first volume for my daughter who is a huge fan of the Haunted Mansion movie and ride at Disney World. She really loved that book so of course I'll be buying her the second.I feel like any fan of Disney's Haunted Mansion would benefit more if they read the first volume before this. The book even starts off referencing that you should've read that one in a letter to the reader. The various letters to the reader in between stories are an added bonus to make this feel like a realistic collection from someone's personal library that they're sharing. The first volume focused on four kids who loved scary stories and this one changed focus so be prepared to find new thrills. A young man who lost his sister is on a journey to find her. Who doesn't love a spooky carnival especially if murder is involved? Vampires are a must for any scary collection, and these aren't your Twilight versions either. Ghosts make their required appearance with no sign of Casper tempering things with his friendliness. Then they added roaches, ROACHES! I think my skin is still crawling, UGH!!The illustrations were spooky but not too bad considering the age level the volume is aimed at; the details went perfectly with the surrounding stories. I think if you liked the first volume then you'll like this one.
    more
  • Jes
    July 2, 2017
    A fun, spooky, quick and quirky read. Easily my favorite part was the creepy worn and stained look to the pages and the beautifully dramatic illustrations and the shout-out to their clear inspiration, Bernie Wrightson. The story overall was a bit Goosebumps, and was more morbid than outright scary. That said as a kid I know this would have been exactly enough to make it feel cool and spark my similarly morbid interest. Also fun were the references to the park and ride, not enough to go out of yo A fun, spooky, quick and quirky read. Easily my favorite part was the creepy worn and stained look to the pages and the beautifully dramatic illustrations and the shout-out to their clear inspiration, Bernie Wrightson. The story overall was a bit Goosebumps, and was more morbid than outright scary. That said as a kid I know this would have been exactly enough to make it feel cool and spark my similarly morbid interest. Also fun were the references to the park and ride, not enough to go out of your way to read the book for, the book is loosely based on the ride at best, but a nice touch nonetheless.
    more
Write a review