Poe Dameron, Vol. 2
Continuing the adventures of the ace pilot hero of Star Wars: Episode VII The Force Awakens! Poe Dameron faces the wrath of a vengeful Agent Terex! But how does Terex always seem to know what Black Squadron is doing? Could there truly be a traitor in the Squadron's midst? Poe will undertake a secret mission from General Organa herself...to escort none other than C-3PO on a dangerous mission to the planet Kaddak! But what will be revealed in a peek into Terex's past?COLLECTING: POE DAMERON 7-13

Poe Dameron, Vol. 2 Details

TitlePoe Dameron, Vol. 2
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 3rd, 2017
PublisherMarvel
ISBN1302901117
ISBN-139781302901110
Number of pages144 pages
Rating
GenreMedia Tie In, Star Wars, Sequential Art, Comics, Science Fiction, Superheroes, Marvel, Graphic Novels

Poe Dameron, Vol. 2 Review

  • FanboyBen
    June 22, 2017
    The first arc of Charles Soule’s “Poe Dameron” series was about as “fine” a set of issues as you were likely to find. The story and character work? Fine. The art by Phil Noto? Fine. The development of the state of the post-Return of the Jedi galaxy? Fine. There was little in it that was offensively bad, but also little that make it all that memorable, either. For a story that was more or less supposed to serve as a direct prequel into “The Force Awakens,” Marvel’s “play-it-safe” approach to the The first arc of Charles Soule’s “Poe Dameron” series was about as “fine” a set of issues as you were likely to find. The story and character work? Fine. The art by Phil Noto? Fine. The development of the state of the post-Return of the Jedi galaxy? Fine. There was little in it that was offensively bad, but also little that make it all that memorable, either. For a story that was more or less supposed to serve as a direct prequel into “The Force Awakens,” Marvel’s “play-it-safe” approach to the series was curious and a bit disappointing.Thankfully, the second volume is a marked improvement on the first, with Soule wisely jettisoning many of the elements that didn’t work-giant kaiju egg, I’m looking at you-and electing instead to place an emphasis on the dynamics between his characters rather than on the series’ relevance within the broader Star Wars galaxy. The result is an arc that is remarkably compelling issue to issue, with a tone-both in story and in Noto’s art-that feels light, yet also filled with stakes (it also doesn’t hurt that in Terex, Soule has provided us with one of the best villains of the new Star Wars canon). If this is the type of approach that we can expect from “Poe Dameron” going forward, sign me up for more.
    more
  • Michael Mills
    April 24, 2017
    A huge improvement over the first volume. As far as inevitable endpoints go, finding Lor San Tekka isn't the theft of the Death Star plans, but Charles Soule's having fun exploring the period immediately prior to The Force Awakens. It's a time of cold war between the New Republic and First Order, which Soule plays as akin to Britain/America and the Nazis circa 1936 (as with Doctor Aphra, Indiana Jones casts a long shadow).With the films understandably keeping the future of the Star Wars Universe A huge improvement over the first volume. As far as inevitable endpoints go, finding Lor San Tekka isn't the theft of the Death Star plans, but Charles Soule's having fun exploring the period immediately prior to The Force Awakens. It's a time of cold war between the New Republic and First Order, which Soule plays as akin to Britain/America and the Nazis circa 1936 (as with Doctor Aphra, Indiana Jones casts a long shadow).With the films understandably keeping the future of the Star Wars Universe to themselves, this series inevitably ends up drawing on the better established period of the original trilogy for a lot of its material – but again it's well leveraged. Terex, who came across as a generic moustachioed Imperial in the first volume, is here fleshed out to fanboy-ish delight.Unexpectedly, Poe Dameron is one of the best Star Wars comics Marvel are putting out.
    more
  • Ramon
    April 21, 2017
    Twisty, turny, with some real consequences. Appreciated Terex's backstory, and like the idea of Threepio having a spy network of droids.
  • *GIZMO* .Jay.
    January 3, 2017
    #7 - New badass blue female character, Suralinda. She is Poe's old friend and it's nice to see Poe interact with old and new friends. I want to know everything about him! It shows that the art was not made by Noto though. It lacks a little personality. Movie characters look painted on top of pictures, while the original characters look like 2000's 3d animation.#8 - So last issue did not have any impact on the rest of the story? wment as a characterhere's Suralinda? :( Anyway, I half expected it. #7 - New badass blue female character, Suralinda. She is Poe's old friend and it's nice to see Poe interact with old and new friends. I want to know everything about him! It shows that the art was not made by Noto though. It lacks a little personality. Movie characters look painted on top of pictures, while the original characters look like 2000's 3d animation.#8 - So last issue did not have any impact on the rest of the story? wment as a characterhere's Suralinda? :( Anyway, I half expected it. On a positive note, The villain's flash backs to his storm trooper past are really interesting, and the mystery about the new mission is really well done.#9 - C3PO and Poe have a cool dynamic. and C3PO is kind of an entrepreneur.#10 - 5 stars#11 - fun, a nice reveal, some action.#12 - fun, a sassy droid and a funny c3po, but a little shortoverall I liked the new planet kaddak (?) and the villain's developpem
    more
  • Lestat
    June 26, 2017
    After an uninspiring first volume, these issues up the ante as Poe must fight to survive against new antagonist Terex. In this volume we are introduced to the man behind the name and the circumstances that lead Terex to become the notorious figure he is today. Given the emphasis on this character, Poe's own character development takes a back seat, which is disappointing as we want to learn more about this charismatic figure. This volume also features C3PO, but the writers handle him in an uneven After an uninspiring first volume, these issues up the ante as Poe must fight to survive against new antagonist Terex. In this volume we are introduced to the man behind the name and the circumstances that lead Terex to become the notorious figure he is today. Given the emphasis on this character, Poe's own character development takes a back seat, which is disappointing as we want to learn more about this charismatic figure. This volume also features C3PO, but the writers handle him in an uneven fashion. First up, he gives Poe a long, explanatory spiel about why he needs his help - he wouldn't do that; Leia would understand the requirement, send him to Poe with orders to carry out this clandestine mission and the two of them would get the job done or die trying. No one would ask questions, that's how militaries work. Second, Poe in the film comes across as someone who loves all living things, mechanical or not. His occasional mistreatment of Threepio and other droids is out of character. He'd never be rude to Threepio, no matter how dire the situation, because he's not like Han or Leia. It just didn't sit well with me. I wonder the brief or reasoning behind the series storyline. We aren't learning anything much about Poe or his background or his relationships. We've read online that Leia is his hero, but he hardly interacts with her and never talks about her. He doesn't get to spend time with the Black Squadron, so we don't know how they were formed or what their special connection is. If the writers have to wait for the films to expand on the character, then I see no point of there being a series at all.Entertaining as this series is, with moments of humor and genuine compassion shown by Poe, these continue to feel like fillers that help tide us through to the release of the next film, rather than fill in the gaps of character and story.
    more
  • Ricky Ganci
    July 2, 2017
    This is Star Wars comic book writing, and the work of the LucasFilm Story Group, at it's very best. What a terrific volume of comics, featuring the best and most positive new character from the New Trilogy.It's got a bit of everything: space battles, undercover intrigue, humor, and lore. Seven issues, rather than six, was absolutely the right call for this story, as it avoided what has been common in some of the Star Wars books (as with many comics): a hurried conclusion. Instead, issue #13 (Par This is Star Wars comic book writing, and the work of the LucasFilm Story Group, at it's very best. What a terrific volume of comics, featuring the best and most positive new character from the New Trilogy.It's got a bit of everything: space battles, undercover intrigue, humor, and lore. Seven issues, rather than six, was absolutely the right call for this story, as it avoided what has been common in some of the Star Wars books (as with many comics): a hurried conclusion. Instead, issue #13 (Part VII) was the best of the run, featuring one of the best moments of crossover storytelling since the canon relaunch, mixing elements of The Force Awakens, the current Poe Dameron series, and Chuck Wendig's trilogy-of-increasing-quality, Aftermath. It took a series of good moments throughout the era and made them, and their characters, great. The reader gets to step into Poe's shoes and just enjoy it, and I'm hard pressed to remember a more satisfying moment in the last year of the comics.Poe might be the best book of the six going right now, and I'm thrilled that Soule is going to keep this one going beyond the short run that Kanan enjoyed. Hopefully it, and its quality, continues on as long as it can, and that they'll ind a way to dovetail its ending with the beginning of TFA in a manner befitting Poe.
    more
  • Monica (Tomes Project)
    May 7, 2017
    This is so much better than the first volume in that the story feels far more natural, as opposed to the issue-by-issue adventure that we saw in the last one. This has a more cohesive story and more connecting dots. We also get such added depth to all of our Black Squardron members. It's interesting going into a story where you know the overall endpoint, finding Lor San Tekka, but Soule is having fun with it and that's what I wanted. And as always, Noto's art is some of my absolute favorite.
    more
  • Jason
    May 14, 2017
    Enjoyable enough but only 3 stars because the characterization of C-3PO goes a bit against his normal annoying self. He acts more like R2-D2 which wouldn't be a problem if it was more in line with his character across 7 movies and countless books and comics.
    more
  • Koolwijk
    July 1, 2017
    After the dissapointing filler feeling Poe Dameron Vol 1, this one ticks all the boxes. Universe building, character building, development, etcetera. Didn't care about vol 1, but after reading vol 2 i'm really curious where vol 3 will take us.
  • Sevia
    May 11, 2017
    3,5*O poznání zajímavější než první volume. Zase jednou se mi potvrdilo, že se ne vždycky vyplácí se sérií po nic moc začátku hned skončit.
  • Alex
    July 7, 2017
    А вот продолжение уже лучше. Как то действие стало веселее, и рисовка уже не кажется скучноватой. C3-PO просто няшка, впрочем как обычно. Стало гораздо лучше.
    more
  • TJL
    July 8, 2017
    The Mr. Bones thing was so darkly hammy and hilarious, I loved it. Mostly because I wasn't expecting it in the least."Meat-paste!"
  • Kyle Austin
    July 1, 2017
    Fantastic and thank Soule for finally giving C3P0 his due.
  • G-E
    May 2, 2017
    J’ai trouvé ce comics plus ou moins fluide. Il se situe dans une prison avec Terex et Grakkus le Hutt, se veut une suite logique et divertissante aux tomes précédents. Par contre, on reconnait de moins en moins de personnages et j’ai trouvé que le style graphique de Noto manquait cruellement de vie et sans détails.
    more
Write a review