Don't Close Your Eyes
A gripping novel of psychological suspense centered on two sisters whose lives have taken them apart, and the shocking family secrets that bind them together.Twin sisters Robin and Sarah haven’t spoken in years.Robin can’t leave her house. A complete shut-in, she spends her days spying on her neighbors, subtly meddling in their lives. But she can’t keep her demons out forever. Someone from her past has returned, and is desperate to get inside.Sarah can’t go home. Her husband has kicked her out, forcibly denying her access to their toddler. Sarah will do anything to get her daughter back, but she’s unraveling under the mounting pressure of concealing the dark secrets of her past. And her lies are catching up to her.The novel takes readers back in time to witness the complex family dynamics that formed Robin and Sarah into the emotionally damaged, estranged young women they’ve become. As the gripping and intricate layers of their shared past are slowly peeled away, the shocks and twists will keep readers breathless long after the final page.

Don't Close Your Eyes Details

TitleDon't Close Your Eyes
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherBallantine Books
ISBN1101885890
ISBN-139781101885895
Number of pages336 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Suspense, Thriller, Mystery, Mystery Thriller

Don't Close Your Eyes Review

  • Linda
    March 10, 2017
    Seriously.......Do NOT close your eyes on this one. You might miss a strand of this tangled web entrenched in extremely strange family dynamics.Ah, the neighbors. Our kids go to school with their kids. We have picnics together and fun sleepovers. Our values seem to mesh with theirs......until they don't anymore.The Marshalls and the Grangers share so much in common. Hilary and Derek Granger have a young son, Callum. Jack and Angela have a lively set of twin girls, Robin and Sarah. Robin would do Seriously.......Do NOT close your eyes on this one. You might miss a strand of this tangled web entrenched in extremely strange family dynamics.Ah, the neighbors. Our kids go to school with their kids. We have picnics together and fun sleepovers. Our values seem to mesh with theirs......until they don't anymore.The Marshalls and the Grangers share so much in common. Hilary and Derek Granger have a young son, Callum. Jack and Angela have a lively set of twin girls, Robin and Sarah. Robin would do anything for the skittish Callum and she takes on the role of protector of his dark secrets. Sarah lives to please and she preens the nest by arranging secrets of her own on concealed shelves in secluded corners.But time passes and Robin and Sarah have not spoken in years. Robin, once in a successful rock band, has taken to a reclusive lifestyle and has become a voyeur of the neighborhood glimpsing activity behind closed curtains. And all that will change when her sister Sarah shows up on her doorstep. And what of the sad, withdrawn Callum? Oh, keep turning the pages.Holly Seddon presents a very twisty, psychologically imbued read here. I can't believe that I have not read her first book yet, Try Not to Breathe. Will be reaching for that one soon. This one has all the bells and whistles that will keep you locked in. And your mind will be outpacing any boxer on a jump rope. Fast and furious until someone gets tripped up........I received a copy of Don't Close Your Eyes through NetGalley for an honest review. My thanks to Random House (Ballantine Books) and to Holly Seddon for the opportunity.
    more
  • Jan
    June 26, 2017
    LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this!! 5+++++ stars!Tightly woven, character driven, edge of your seat, page turner that is a MUST READ for anyone who loves psychological suspense at it's best.Family drama is center stage, told from 2 POV, twins Robin and Sarah. The chapters are short but powerful, bouncing from past to present and covering the same time period, but of course being told from each twin's perspective. This way of unfolding the past and building up the tension to present day was BRILLIANT! So mu LOVE, LOVE, LOVED this!! 5+++++ stars!Tightly woven, character driven, edge of your seat, page turner that is a MUST READ for anyone who loves psychological suspense at it's best.Family drama is center stage, told from 2 POV, twins Robin and Sarah. The chapters are short but powerful, bouncing from past to present and covering the same time period, but of course being told from each twin's perspective. This way of unfolding the past and building up the tension to present day was BRILLIANT! So much was revealed in each time period, yet there was still so much left untold that kept me riveted. This is a complex story about families and the relationships within. Love, hate, jealousy, abuse-it's all here. Adults making decisions that forever change the lives of those they care for, even with the best of intentions. These characters are at times weak, pathetic, conniving and self absorbed. Some have scars that won't heal, and emotional damage that oozes out of their pores. Yet even with all of this, the reader can't help but feel the pull of the love that still binds, and the hope they still long for. This book grabbed a hold of me from the get go and didn't let go until I devoured the last words. This was one emotional journey--one that I recommend everyone needs to experience.I wouldn't be surprised to see someone buying the rights to this and making it into a movie. I know I'd spend money to go see it!ARC provided by NetGalley
    more
  • Melisa
    May 9, 2017
    Here's the thing about his book: it was a slow, slow burn for the first 90%, then the last 10% slapped me in the face and had me questioning everything I thought was true. I did NOT see that twist coming!While this book read like a coming of age story, I felt it was lacking in the suspense that I crave with my psychological thrillers. It felt slow and drawn out in parts, but it all came together like a bulldozer in the end. There are many serious topics addressed here, this story is chock full o Here's the thing about his book: it was a slow, slow burn for the first 90%, then the last 10% slapped me in the face and had me questioning everything I thought was true. I did NOT see that twist coming!While this book read like a coming of age story, I felt it was lacking in the suspense that I crave with my psychological thrillers. It felt slow and drawn out in parts, but it all came together like a bulldozer in the end. There are many serious topics addressed here, this story is chock full of drama, all of which is handled very well by the author. I can't wait to get my hands on Holly Seddon's previous book after finishing this one. Well done!Thank you to the author, the publisher and Netgalley for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    May 10, 2017
    3.75 Stars* (rounded up)A Dysfunctional Family & Psychological DramaThis is a story about a dysfunctional family, relationships and siblings: specifically twin sisters Robin and Sarah, and their step brother Callum, and their parents - whose intertwining relationship fractures the family to its core. The siblings’ relationship has never been an easy one. Though they love each other desperately, there have been rivalries, a myriad of secrets and a ton of animosity brewing between the lot of t 3.75 Stars* (rounded up)A Dysfunctional Family & Psychological DramaThis is a story about a dysfunctional family, relationships and siblings: specifically twin sisters Robin and Sarah, and their step brother Callum, and their parents - whose intertwining relationship fractures the family to its core. The siblings’ relationship has never been an easy one. Though they love each other desperately, there have been rivalries, a myriad of secrets and a ton of animosity brewing between the lot of them. It’s no surprise that this causes the siblings to grow apart.As time passes, Robin becomes reclusive, never leaving her home, even after previously having had a successful career as a musician. Sarah, gets into serious trouble and realizes that she needs her sister Robin’s help, but she has no idea how to find her. Once Sarah finds Robin, everything changes.The flow of the book is easy and was completely enjoyable and then I hit the 90% mark and BAM! everything I thought I knew about the storyline was false and it completely threw me for a loop. It grabbed my attention and changed THE WHOLE SHEBANG. Alternating between the past and the present and switching from Sarah to Robin’s POV, Holly Seddon, did a great job of telling a nice well rounded story. Unfortunately, I didn’t connect with any of the characters, thus I didn’t really care what happened to them. That said, the ending was phenomenal and it completely punched up the story for me and that is what made me give this 3.75 stars v. 3 stars (which will be rounded up).“Don’t Close Your Eyes” is a well written, easy to read novel that flows well. I definitely enjoyed reading it and the ending made it well worth it.Thank you to NetGalley, Random house Publishing Group - Ballantine and Holly Seddon for an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review.Published on NetGalley and Goodreads on 5.10.17.**Will be Published on Amazon on 7.4.17.
    more
  • Pauline
    May 27, 2017
    After reading Holly Seddon’s first novel Try Not to Breathe, I eagerly awaited her new book Don't Close your Eyes and I was not disappointed. A brilliant psychological thriller that gripped me from the first page. I could not put this book down.I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for my e-copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carol (Bookaria)
    June 29, 2017
    This book tells the story of twin sisters Sarah and Robin and also of their dysfunctional family. It is told from the alternating points of view of the twins and the timeline is divided between the present and the past.The novel is interesting and easy to read, and as you progress it reveals the events that have shaped the characters. The more you read the more you want to know. Callum, the step-brother is completely lovable and became the character I was looking forward to get to know more. Eve This book tells the story of twin sisters Sarah and Robin and also of their dysfunctional family. It is told from the alternating points of view of the twins and the timeline is divided between the present and the past.The novel is interesting and easy to read, and as you progress it reveals the events that have shaped the characters. The more you read the more you want to know. Callum, the step-brother is completely lovable and became the character I was looking forward to get to know more. Everything was going great until I hit the 91% mark and BOOM: what has just happened? Well, let me tell you I could not stop reading until I finished the book. You'll know what I mean as soon as you read it and get to that part.This book is very different to other books I've read about twins, in the sense that the twins in the other stories have a hard time being apart from each other for long-periods of time. In this case the twins had been apart for a while. Overall, I really liked this book! I recommend it to all those who love a good story.Oh and one last thing...(end of review) Thanks to NetGalley, Random house Publishing Group - Ballantine and Holly Seddon for an ARC of this novel in exchange for an honest review. About the author:WebsiteTwitterReview also posted on blog
    more
  • Petra
    June 9, 2017
    I stayed up way past my bedtime last night to finish this. Just couldn't stop reading.Told from the points of view of twins, Sarah and Robin, and switching between the present and the 1990s when the girls were growing up in the South of England, this was an intricately woven story of two families whose lives became intertwined. I'm intentionally vague because I think this will be enjoyed more the less you know about it before you start. It's full of drama and the short chapters and frequently sw I stayed up way past my bedtime last night to finish this. Just couldn't stop reading.Told from the points of view of twins, Sarah and Robin, and switching between the present and the 1990s when the girls were growing up in the South of England, this was an intricately woven story of two families whose lives became intertwined. I'm intentionally vague because I think this will be enjoyed more the less you know about it before you start. It's full of drama and the short chapters and frequently switching POVs, one in first- the other in third-person, and two different timelines made it easy to read just one more chapter and then another one. Some of the shocking things that happened were relatively easy to predict, there was some great foreshadowing, but that was perfectly fine in this case. I think the reason for this was that I felt involved in the story and cared about (some of) the characters. I may even have screamed something like "oh, no, no, no" several times. Towards the end, the story became more fast-paced and very twisted. The author totally floored me with a huge twist somewhere around the 90% mark. I had not expected that at all.Last year, I really enjoyed Holly Seddon's debut Try Not to Breathe, but wow, with this second novel she really stepped up another gear. Holly Seddon handled several serious topics with sensitivity and psychological insight. A very cleverly layered plot and beautifully written.Highly recommended if you enjoy dark stories exploring family dynamics. I received an ARC via NetGalley.
    more
  • Maxine (Booklover Catlady)
    May 19, 2017
    Holy moly! This book literally just blew me away. It started with a slow rumble before becoming an avalanche unable to be stopped. The last two chapters had me in shock, open mouthed, no sign of the freight train coming.This is straight into my Top 17 Reads of 2017. Skipping the long and the short list. It deserves to be there! It's so bloody good! This is family drama plus plus plus and dysfunctional broken characters that you will have so many mixed feelings about.It tackles some hard topics a Holy moly! This book literally just blew me away. It started with a slow rumble before becoming an avalanche unable to be stopped. The last two chapters had me in shock, open mouthed, no sign of the freight train coming.This is straight into my Top 17 Reads of 2017. Skipping the long and the short list. It deserves to be there! It's so bloody good! This is family drama plus plus plus and dysfunctional broken characters that you will have so many mixed feelings about.It tackles some hard topics and scenarios but in such a real way. Kudos for that. In life sometimes life just sucks big time and this novel isn't pretending life is all pretty flowers. This is exceptionally brutal. It's got to be made into a movie or I'll scream.My brain is in a tumble dryer after reading this book. The writing is exceptional, the plot terrific and the way the intensity builds up and up is breathtaking. This one cannot be ignored by you this year. It's a must read novel.Two sisters, twins. Their journey that shocked me and spun me on my axis. I couldn't have predicted plot direction in a billion years. There is nothing not to like. One of the best books of the year and a favourite ever. That ending! Oh..my..God!5, no 6 stars for this sensational novel that transformed my reading time into something unforgettable. Don't miss this one readers!I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley. All opinions are my own and totally unbiased.
    more
  • Lucy Banks
    June 4, 2017
    I received a copy of this book from Netgalley, in return for an honest review.An intense examination of the damage caused by one wrong decision in life.I do so love it when I read a book without any idea as to what it's about, then it exceeds my expectations. To say I was thoroughly gripped by Don't Close Your Eyes would be an understatement. The story follows two narratives, split between the past and the present - Sarah, and her twin sister Robin. They're completely different kids - Sarah is p I received a copy of this book from Netgalley, in return for an honest review.An intense examination of the damage caused by one wrong decision in life.I do so love it when I read a book without any idea as to what it's about, then it exceeds my expectations. To say I was thoroughly gripped by Don't Close Your Eyes would be an understatement. The story follows two narratives, split between the past and the present - Sarah, and her twin sister Robin. They're completely different kids - Sarah is pliable and a 'good girl', Robin is a feisty, loud-mouthed rebel.When young, they meet Callum, a new boy at school, who they become friends with. Soon, the whole family are hanging out together, but as with any good story, the harmony doesn't last for long. Deception drives the families apart - to the extent that the twins are separated, Robin staying with her placid father in the UK, Sarah travelling to the US with her mother. Due to the narrative style, it almost feels like fate as the twins suffer misfortune after misfortune - and there's a horrible sense throughout that, if their parents had made better decisions, it could have been avoided. In adult life, Robin cowers in a house in Manchester, terrified that she's under attack from an unknown stalker. Sarah is desperate to track her down, though not for the reasons we might suspect. The ending is cataclysmic - and completely unforeseen - powerful stuff!Overall, this is a fast-paced, powerful read. I love the brevity of the narrative style, it really drives the plot along wonderfully. My only minor criticism is that the end felt a little rushed - perhaps the shock ending could have been seeded in slightly more smoothly. However, it didn't impede my enjoyment in the slightest. Definitely well worth reading, folks!
    more
  • Gillian McAllister
    January 31, 2017
    What a brilliant book. Childhood looms large into adulthood as this beautifully-written psychological drama reaches its horrifying climax.
  • Liz Barnsley
    April 21, 2017
    Heart breaking and heart stopping in equal measure.Review closer to publication. But this following on from Try Not To Breathe puts Holly Seddon right up there on the must read list. Genuinely clever and beautifully written psychological drama. Proper writing innit ;)
    more
  • Tracy Fenton
    April 27, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoyed Holly Seddon’s debut novel Try Not to Breathe (review here) and when I saw on Twitter that her new book Don’t Close Your Eyes was being read by some bloggers obviously my FOMO kicked into action and being me, I messaged Holly and her lovely publishers sent me a copy via Netgalley to read. Don’t Close Your Eyes grabbed me by the throat from page one and kept me gripped until the very last page. With short chapters alternating from past to present and fascinating characters I I thoroughly enjoyed Holly Seddon’s debut novel Try Not to Breathe (review here) and when I saw on Twitter that her new book Don’t Close Your Eyes was being read by some bloggers obviously my FOMO kicked into action and being me, I messaged Holly and her lovely publishers sent me a copy via Netgalley to read. Don’t Close Your Eyes grabbed me by the throat from page one and kept me gripped until the very last page. With short chapters alternating from past to present and fascinating characters I didn’t just read this book I think I may have inhaled it as I read it so quickly. This is a fabulous twisted and dark story which will keep the readers guessing throughout and certainly will delight all fans of psychological thrillers.http://www.compulsivereaders.com/revi...
    more
  • Janel
    June 21, 2017
    Told in alternating chapters between twins, Robin and Sarah, and an alternating timeline between the present day and the past, Don’t Close Your Eyes is a gripping psychological thriller. Coupled with its extremely short chapters, this novel has that ‘just one more chapter’ feeling, allowing you to devour this story.Both Robin and Sarah were interesting characters, and I know you shouldn’t pick favourites when it comes to twins but… Robin was easily my favourite and I enjoyed her storyline in the Told in alternating chapters between twins, Robin and Sarah, and an alternating timeline between the present day and the past, Don’t Close Your Eyes is a gripping psychological thriller. Coupled with its extremely short chapters, this novel has that ‘just one more chapter’ feeling, allowing you to devour this story.Both Robin and Sarah were interesting characters, and I know you shouldn’t pick favourites when it comes to twins but… Robin was easily my favourite and I enjoyed her storyline in the present day the most. Seddon wrote a great storyline for Robin, Seddon used Robins one location, her house, and gripped me alone with Robin’s time spent people-watching, and despite being agoraphobic, Robin had the ability to meddle from afar.Regarding the childhood narratives, it was indeed one of the cruellest things – to separate the twins. Again, I preferred Robins childhood trauma to Sarah’s, and that’s because I saw Sarah’s trauma coming a mile away – it was so predictable it felt as though it was written to be figured out and it was a case of what’s the aftermath going to be as opposed to ‘the reveal’ itself.There was a good sublot running throughout the novel that I really enjoyed, featuring Callum, the twins ‘step-brother’, although these events impacted both twins, they were more linked to Robin, again making, for me, Robin’s storyline the most interesting.Sarah, as an adult, did have an interesting storyline but I found parts of it predictable. Even though I was unable to guess the twist I was underwhelmed by it, so, by default I was underwhelmed with the ending of the book. There was nothing wrong with its delivery but I guess when you read so many psychological thrillers, it becomes harder to shock you. Although I was underwhelmed, I’d still recommend this book for its ‘page-turner’ ability – I do suspect I flew through this one because I kept wanting to get back to Robin’s story. Nonetheless, this is a good psychological thriller and an author I’d read more from.*My thanks to the publisher (Corvus) for providing me with a copy of this book*
    more
  • Deborah O'Connor
    January 6, 2017
    I loved Holly Seddon's first novel but I actually think this one is even better. At the heart of the story is a family saga, a story about two families torn apart....about siblings and the complex web of relationships and secrets that can sometimes manifest in step family situations...and then layered on top of that is a very, very cleverly layered plot that you'll think you'll have all figured out, but you'll be wrong. The ending is perfect. A total surprise and yet when you look back you'll re I loved Holly Seddon's first novel but I actually think this one is even better. At the heart of the story is a family saga, a story about two families torn apart....about siblings and the complex web of relationships and secrets that can sometimes manifest in step family situations...and then layered on top of that is a very, very cleverly layered plot that you'll think you'll have all figured out, but you'll be wrong. The ending is perfect. A total surprise and yet when you look back you'll realise that all the clues were there all along. Reading this book reminded me of watching those brilliant and now iconic movies of the 80s and 90s, movies like Single White Female and The Hand That Rocks The Cradle and Fatal Attraction......you know the ones, where you go so deep into the heads of the main characters that when things start to go wrong you really feel it, almost as if you were there in the scene yourself.A writer at the top of her game, come summer 2017 I reckon this book is going to be massive.
    more
  • Blodeuedd Finland
    June 29, 2017
    I did not know what to expect. I kept waiting for that something, and it came, and I was all damn! But I can not say more, just, I did not see that coming! ;)The book starts with Sarah getting kicked out by her husband and a lot of allegations are laid against her. So did she really do those things? What is going on? He seems so ruled by his parents.Then there is Robin who does not leave her house and spies on her neighbors. What happened to make her have such a break down?The book alternates be I did not know what to expect. I kept waiting for that something, and it came, and I was all damn! But I can not say more, just, I did not see that coming! ;)The book starts with Sarah getting kicked out by her husband and a lot of allegations are laid against her. So did she really do those things? What is going on? He seems so ruled by his parents.Then there is Robin who does not leave her house and spies on her neighbors. What happened to make her have such a break down?The book alternates between seeing them growing up. There is family drama. Sarah is the good girl, Robin is the one who follows along. Like all families there are issues but those are just issues. Slowly the tale does unravel.I really liked the ending. I so wish I could say more, but oh you know, spoilers darling, spoilers.It's a good book that keeps building up to something and you just do not know what that something is. If that is her style then I would certainly read more by her, I like twists and surprises. Books that have me guessing and never getting it right.
    more
  • Jacob Collins
    June 23, 2017
    All of my reviews can be found at: http://jacob-reviews-books.blogspot.c...Don’t Close Your Eyes is the much anticipated second novel by Holly Seddon. If you’re going to start reading this one, you’re going to have to make sure that you don’t have any plans for the rest of the day, it’ll grab you from the first page and you literally won’t be able to put it down until you have finished, prepare to be hooked by Holly. In Don’t Close Your Eyes we meet Robin and Sarah, twins who are both still reel All of my reviews can be found at: http://jacob-reviews-books.blogspot.c...Don’t Close Your Eyes is the much anticipated second novel by Holly Seddon. If you’re going to start reading this one, you’re going to have to make sure that you don’t have any plans for the rest of the day, it’ll grab you from the first page and you literally won’t be able to put it down until you have finished, prepare to be hooked by Holly. In Don’t Close Your Eyes we meet Robin and Sarah, twins who are both still reeling from something terrible that happened in their past. Robin never leaves the house. She is suffering from a severe case of agoraphobia and won’t even answer the door when someone has a delivery for her. Sarah is distraught after being separated from her partner Jim and her daughter, Violet, she is determined to do whatever it takes to get them back, but she needs to find her sister to help her. The only problem is she hasn’t seen or spoken to her sister in years. How can she possibly find her? The novel is told across two timelines, when Robin and Sarah are both younger and living with their parents in the late eighties and early nineties and in the present day. I loved how Holly peeled back their relationship in this book and how she revealed what really happened in their past which made for some shocking revelations. The plotting and writing were exceptional and I really liked how Holly drew everything together in the end, some thrillers can feel a little rushed towards the end but I didn’t get that feeling here, everything fell into place. I think I have discovered a new favourite author. This book is definitely up there with some of the best books I have read this year. Highly recommended. Thank you to Kate Straker at Corvus books for sending me a copy to review.
    more
  • Patty
    June 18, 2017
    Don't Close Your EyesByHolly SeddonWhat it's all about...This was a rather chilling mystery about families gone wrong. These families started off as friends but ended up way too entwined with each other. So...we have adultery, homosexuality, child abuse, agoraphobia, and just plain crazy. These families ended up separating twins and were constantly in denial of all kinds of behavior from all family members whether it be direct abuse or just denial. Why I wanted to read it...The book was divided Don't Close Your EyesByHolly SeddonWhat it's all about...This was a rather chilling mystery about families gone wrong. These families started off as friends but ended up way too entwined with each other. So...we have adultery, homosexuality, child abuse, agoraphobia, and just plain crazy. These families ended up separating twins and were constantly in denial of all kinds of behavior from all family members whether it be direct abuse or just denial. Why I wanted to read it...The book was divided mostly into past and present issues as narrated by the twins...Robin and Sarah. The issues were interesting and led to a sort of perplexing ending. What made me maintain interest in this book...I never really knew what was going on with Sarah. This made the ending kind of jolting.Why you might want to read it, too...I didn't love this book but I never wanted to not finish it. The characters were sort of lost in their own dysfunctional behaviors. As in all books some characters were more interesting than others and some characters...Drew...were creepier than others. If dysfunctional characters appeal to you as a reader...this book might work for you.
    more
  • Michelle Ryles
    April 13, 2017
    Having loved Holly Seddon's amazing debut, Try Not To Breathe, I could not contain my excitement when I picked up a copy of Don't Close Your Eyes. You really can't put Holly's books down; they immediately draw you in to an intriguing storyline, making it quite possible to finish Don't Close Your Eyes in one sitting. I didn't quite manage it as my brain ignored the instruction and my eyes unfortunately started to close as it was way past my bedtime.Robin and Sarah are twins, although they are lik Having loved Holly Seddon's amazing debut, Try Not To Breathe, I could not contain my excitement when I picked up a copy of Don't Close Your Eyes. You really can't put Holly's books down; they immediately draw you in to an intriguing storyline, making it quite possible to finish Don't Close Your Eyes in one sitting. I didn't quite manage it as my brain ignored the instruction and my eyes unfortunately started to close as it was way past my bedtime.Robin and Sarah are twins, although they are like chalk and cheese, and we meet them as they are growing up in the late 80's/early 90's. There is no doubt as to the era with references to Jordan Knight from NKOTB (although I was a Donnie Wahlberg fan) and Opal Fruits (not the yellow ones). Robin becomes close friends with her neighbour, Callum, as the two neighbouring families begin to socialise together, but she could never have expected her life to intertwine so intricately with Callum's. In a cruel turn of fate, Robin and Sarah are separated by the Atlantic Ocean as Sarah goes to live in America.Fast forward to present day and if you think the 'past' was full of drama, you ain't seen nothin' yet! Robin is agoraphobic and spends her time looking out of her window at her neighbours' lives. She is clearly very damaged and you wonder what on earth happened to her, this girl who was once confident enough to be in a band. Sarah meanwhile, is equally lost after her husband, Jim, stages what appears to be an intervention which separates her from her beautiful daughter, Violet. Jim has a list of misdemeanours, but surely Sarah can explain them?I can't really say too much more without giving away some of the story, but what an amazing book this is. Don't Close Your Eyes is filled with so much drama that it makes Eastenders look like an episode of Songs of Praise. Holly Seddon really knows how to get under your skin, creating characters that are as multi-faceted as the rarest diamond. It's not only a book that I will continually recommended, but a book that I will definitely read-again.Seriously good, you won't want to blink, never mind close your eyes, until you have finished it.I chose to read an ARC and this is my honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Jessica White
    April 17, 2017
    OH. MY. GOSH.Okay, so you guys all know I loved Try Not to Breathe, but Don't Close Your Eyes is 4,000X better. Holly Seddon creates another thrilling twist of fate between twin sisters Robin and Sarah. They had been together their whole life when their mother has an affair and tears their family apart. Sarah moves to the States and Robin gains a new brother. Don't Close Your Eyes is not only told through alternating viewpoints between Robin and Sarah, but it is also told through alternating ti OH. MY. GOSH.Okay, so you guys all know I loved Try Not to Breathe, but Don't Close Your Eyes is 4,000X better. Holly Seddon creates another thrilling twist of fate between twin sisters Robin and Sarah. They had been together their whole life when their mother has an affair and tears their family apart. Sarah moves to the States and Robin gains a new brother. Don't Close Your Eyes is not only told through alternating viewpoints between Robin and Sarah, but it is also told through alternating time frames that start in the '90s and working its way up to 2017. But how could this be a thriller?Well Robin becomes a hermit. Never leaving her house, spying on neighbors, and paralyzed by virtually everything.Then there's Sarah.... Sarah lost a child, maybe even two. She needs to find her sister to help her execute a plan to get her little girl back.So, which sister is it?Which sister do we know nothing about?Which sister is telling lie after lie and deceving the ones she loves? Find out July 4th when Don't Close Your Eyes hits shelves!Check out my review of Try Not to Breathe and exclusive author interview with Holly Seddon!!Big thank you to NetGalley for providing me an advanced copy of Don't Close Your Eyes!This review and more can be found at A Reader's Diary!
    more
  • Heidi
    April 6, 2017
    In 1989, twins Sarah and Robin are the much-loved daughters of Angela and Jack Marshall, living in an ordinary household in Essex, hanging out with their friends and going to school. On weekends, the Marshalls spend time with their neighbours, Hilary and Derek Granger, who have a son the same age as the twins. There are family barbeques and game nights and weekends away, and everyone gets on famously. Life is good.Fast forward to 2017, and Robin is a virtual prisoner in her own home, whilst Sara In 1989, twins Sarah and Robin are the much-loved daughters of Angela and Jack Marshall, living in an ordinary household in Essex, hanging out with their friends and going to school. On weekends, the Marshalls spend time with their neighbours, Hilary and Derek Granger, who have a son the same age as the twins. There are family barbeques and game nights and weekends away, and everyone gets on famously. Life is good.Fast forward to 2017, and Robin is a virtual prisoner in her own home, whilst Sarah has been kicked out of her house and denied access her toddler Violet. What has happened in the years between to derail the two sisters’ lives so completely? What terrible family secret has severed their strong childhood bond and is still standing between them after more than 20 years?As in her debut novel Try Not to Breathe, Holly Seddon is not afraid to explore the dark and sinister side of family life in her new book Don’t Close Your Eyes. Whilst the beginning seems innocuous enough, don’t be fooled – this is an author who knows how to skilfully sow seeds of unease which soon bloom into dread as her increasingly dysfunctional characters start on their path of self-destruction. Life is good – until it isn’t. One wrong step has blown the fuse, and no one will ever be the same again.With fundamentally flawed characters, who not only destroy their own lives through the poor choices they make, but also the lives of those close to them, the sisters’ life story reads like a tragic tale of how childhood trauma and dysfunctional family dynamics can shape our lives. I was stunned and shocked about some of the terrible decisions the parents in Seddon’s latest book make on a regular basis, and the fallout was terribly sad in every way. Constantly vacillating between disbelief, anger and sadness, this was an emotionally exhausting read for me, and one that hovered in sepias and greys in my mind as I watched it unfold with cold dread clutching at my heart. Family dynamics lie very much at the centre of this character driven novel, which to me read more like a family drama than a psychological suspense story, although there are several surprises in store for the reader at the very end of the book. Whilst I did not love the story as much as Try Not to Breathe, which was one of my favourite reads for 2016, I thoroughly enjoyed Seddon’s writing style and her brutal honesty with which she exposes her characters’ darkest secrets. Perhaps I just never bonded with Robin or Sarah as I did with the alcoholic Alex, which made me feel more like a spectator than a participant in the story. Nonetheless, Don’t Close Your Eyes is a skilfully woven tale, which will appeal to lovers of domestic noir and those who appreciate the extra tension unreliable narrators manage to instill into the storyline.Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me with a free electronic copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. *blog* *facebook*
    more
  • Jessica
    June 29, 2017
    July is another month full of upcoming psychological thrillers! DONT CLOSE YOUR EYES by Holly Seddon is one of the more anticipated ones. We follow twin sisters, Robin and Sarah, they haven't spoken in years, but when Sarah turns up on Robin's doorstep, all their secrets from their past begin to catch up with them. Robin and Sarah are twin sisters that lead very different lives. Sarah's husband has kicked her out and won't allow her to see her child. Her past is catching up to her and so are her July is another month full of upcoming psychological thrillers! DONT CLOSE YOUR EYES by Holly Seddon is one of the more anticipated ones. We follow twin sisters, Robin and Sarah, they haven't spoken in years, but when Sarah turns up on Robin's doorstep, all their secrets from their past begin to catch up with them. Robin and Sarah are twin sisters that lead very different lives. Sarah's husband has kicked her out and won't allow her to see her child. Her past is catching up to her and so are her dark secrets - but she will not lose her daughter - so Sarah goes looking for her sister. Robin is a complete shut in, but her new hobby is spying on her neighbors and meddling with their lives in subtle ways. Her world is flipped upside down when someone from her past comes back into her life. The story is told in the alternating perspectives of Robin and Sarah - it also jumps from childhood flashbacks to present day. Back in their childhood, the girls made a new friend at school, Callum. The two families get along great until deception tears them apart. The girls are separated - one off to England with their father and the other to the United States with their mother. Holly Seddon did an incredible job weaving such an intricate story. The short chapters and switching perspectives helps keep the pace throughout the book. Robin and Sarah's childhood is full of secrets, lies, and they are constantly enduring misfortunes. How does Callum fit into all of this? Well, you better start reading to find out!This was a great domestic and psychological thriller. Seddon perfectly captures family dysfunction and how the effects carry on into adulthood. These characters are so well developed and complex - you love them, you want to know more about them. She laid out the story in a way that made you keep turning the pages, and with the short chapters I found myself constantly saying, "Just one more!".If you want a good psychological and domestic thriller with one hell of a twist, then I'd highly recommend this one!I give this 4/5 stars!A big thanks to Ballantine Books for the advanced copy in exchange for my honest review!
    more
  • Nicki Southwell
    May 31, 2017
    Twin sisters, the same family and upbringing, but very different views on life.Their parents (Jack and Angela) become friendly with another couple and begin a routine of exchanging houses for hosting, Their son Callum is at school with the girls, so are known to them.Every weekend the hosting couple pull out all the stops and produce better and better meals. Both of these families are dysfunctional and become even more so, as times goes on.Holly winds up as an ex-musician who appears to have bur Twin sisters, the same family and upbringing, but very different views on life.Their parents (Jack and Angela) become friendly with another couple and begin a routine of exchanging houses for hosting, Their son Callum is at school with the girls, so are known to them.Every weekend the hosting couple pull out all the stops and produce better and better meals. Both of these families are dysfunctional and become even more so, as times goes on.Holly winds up as an ex-musician who appears to have burned out and lives as a hermit, Everything about life is frightening and her days are spent pacing around her house and watching the lives of neighbours.Sarah has all she has ever wanted - a man and beautiful baby Violet, who she thinks the world of and cherishes. John her husband begins to wear her down and makes her believe that she is a negligent mother.Callum makes his own way in life, but his lifestyle choice angers his family, especially his father. He cannot understand why his son would choose to be gay. The couples “swap partners” and take up each other's lives. In the middle are the twins and Callum. It is decided that Sarah goes to live in the USA with her mother, Angela and Drew. Callum and Robin stay in the UK with Jack ad Hilary.This very complicated family saga starts off with new friendships. Things progress, and not in the way one would expect.I chose to read this book and all opinions in this review are all my own and completely unbiased. My thanks to Netgalley for this opportunity.
    more
  • Celine Godfrey
    May 28, 2017
    Terrific psychological thriller. I love psychological thrillers but I've read so many, it's hard NOT to see where the story is going and I am often disappointed by those which promise "didn't see that coming". This one didn't disappoint!Told in present day and flashbacks from the perspective of twin sisters in short, easy read chapters. Their parents are very friendly with a neighbourly couple. The girls are very friendly with their same age son. Soon the relationship changes and this has a huge Terrific psychological thriller. I love psychological thrillers but I've read so many, it's hard NOT to see where the story is going and I am often disappointed by those which promise "didn't see that coming". This one didn't disappoint!Told in present day and flashbacks from the perspective of twin sisters in short, easy read chapters. Their parents are very friendly with a neighbourly couple. The girls are very friendly with their same age son. Soon the relationship changes and this has a huge and continuous impact on their dynamics for the rest of their lives.Nice, slow build up until the change then several twisty turns until at (as other reviewers have also commented on), 90% .... and YES, I did NOT see THAT coming!!I paced myself on this book (lack of time actually) but once I hit that 90% mark, I couldn't stop. Very well written and descriptive of the drives and emotions of each of the main characters. I could understand the reasons each of them behaved and acted the way they did. I highly recommend this book.Thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for the advanced copy.Now I must go see the author's previous book and hope it's as good as this one.
    more
  • Marisa
    February 21, 2017
    This novel has a lot of thought provoking themes running through it: family, growing up, social climbing, acceptance of one self and others. Told from differing times of their lives and in alternating voices of twin sisters who were fractured due to the choices their social climbing mother made. Sinister at times but never crosses the line into gruesome. I fully connected with the characters and loved the foreshadowing. Each time you think you have a twist figured out in this novel you will need This novel has a lot of thought provoking themes running through it: family, growing up, social climbing, acceptance of one self and others. Told from differing times of their lives and in alternating voices of twin sisters who were fractured due to the choices their social climbing mother made. Sinister at times but never crosses the line into gruesome. I fully connected with the characters and loved the foreshadowing. Each time you think you have a twist figured out in this novel you will need to think again! Love the time period, the images and the story itself.this is a strong sophomore attempt by an author who is sure to be around a long time! While waiting for this novel to come out on July 4 check out her other novel TRY NOT TO BREATHE.
    more
  • Sara
    June 2, 2017
    Twin sisters Robin & Sarah have not seen each other for years. Each in turn has their own problems to deal with. Robin a recluse & Sarah has been kicked out by her husband Jim and forced to leave her daughter Violet.A little slow in places but I did really enjoy it nonetheless. I was waiting for something really juicy to happen and then bam, I didn't see that one coming.I would recommend this book. Definitely a slow burner but worth it. My thanks to the publisher & NetGalley for the Twin sisters Robin & Sarah have not seen each other for years. Each in turn has their own problems to deal with. Robin a recluse & Sarah has been kicked out by her husband Jim and forced to leave her daughter Violet.A little slow in places but I did really enjoy it nonetheless. I was waiting for something really juicy to happen and then bam, I didn't see that one coming.I would recommend this book. Definitely a slow burner but worth it. My thanks to the publisher & NetGalley for the advance reader copy.
    more
  • Miki Jacobs
    June 20, 2017
    Very intriguing - the story centres on non identical twins Sarah and Robin And events that changed he their innocent childhood forever. Very twisty and turny. Very readable.
  • Bibliophile Book Club
    June 17, 2017
    Review to follow!
  • River Scott Tyler
    May 3, 2017
    My Review for Don't Close Your Eyes!Robin and Sarah are Twins non identical twins, they are very different they have their own personality and their own journey, the story is told in the past & the present in the narrative of Robin and SarahRobin and Sarah are young girls growing up with there mum and dad in what they thought was a happy loving family home, the twins couldn't be more different from each other but there love and bond with each other at there young age shows, they become frien My Review for Don't Close Your Eyes!Robin and Sarah are Twins non identical twins, they are very different they have their own personality and their own journey, the story is told in the past & the present in the narrative of Robin and SarahRobin and Sarah are young girls growing up with there mum and dad in what they thought was a happy loving family home, the twins couldn't be more different from each other but there love and bond with each other at there young age shows, they become friends with young boy called Callum and his family and they hit it off and soon start to spend a lot of time together spending weekends at each others home but what starts as fun times with family's getting together and Robin,Sarah and Callum having fun turns in to something much different that will change all there lives forever for better or worse something that will tear the twins apart and and change there family's forever and there futures!this story is about Robin and Sarah's journey but i also think its about Callum's too even though he doesn't have a narrative part he features in the heart of this story and is a crucial part of Robins journey and maybe to some point even Sarah's... i loved this book from the moment i Started reading it but i don't want to say to much about "Don't Close Your Eyes" because i don't want to give to much of the Story away.. this book deals with many hard topics mental health,pregnancy,homosexuality also Drug abuse! this book and story is very special to me because i can relate to Robin's journey in her adult years its something that ill not say in my review but when you read the book you will understand i felt i could understand Robin to the point i could feel her in my heart and brought a tear in my eyes because i could understand i could feel her fear something that's hard to talk about but Holly Seddon has clearly done her research on mental health issues and has told this sensitively along with other issues in this book and i thank you Holly Seddon for bringing this topic and other issues in this story!"Don't Close Your Eyes" is a highly addictive compulsive unputdownable book that has so many Twists that you genuinely will not see coming and will have you shouting at the book re-reading it saying OMG did that just happen? it will shock you! Holly Seddon has this ability to have the reader hooked real you in and don't let go till you have read the very last word on the page! if i could rate this book more then 5 star's i would rate it 10 star's!thank you to the publishers & Netgalley for my copy but thank you Holly Seddon for writing this story you have no idea how much this story and Robin mean to me thank you!
    more
  • Abby Watson
    June 8, 2017
    This book is told from the perspectives of twins Robin and Sarah, with the story flicking between present day and various years of their childhood. (I love stories told like this). They're both complex and flawed characters, and as a result your thoughts and feelings on who you prefer. like/dislike, and sympathise with are constantly changing. It's a really brilliant book!The twists and the turns in this story had me hooked. When you think you know where the story is going another twist is revea This book is told from the perspectives of twins Robin and Sarah, with the story flicking between present day and various years of their childhood. (I love stories told like this). They're both complex and flawed characters, and as a result your thoughts and feelings on who you prefer. like/dislike, and sympathise with are constantly changing. It's a really brilliant book!The twists and the turns in this story had me hooked. When you think you know where the story is going another twist is revealed which catches you off guard. The final third of this book was brilliant and the final few chapters were insane in the best way possible, I didn't see any of it coming.If you enjoy something that keeps you guessing then this is one for you.Thanks to NetGalley, Corvus and Holly Seddon for my ARC.
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    April 23, 2017
    A wonderful twisty turny edge of your seats read. One seriously not to be missed. Holly you just go from strength to strength and I eagerly await your next book. Brilliant.
Write a review