The Bookshop at Water's End
The women who spent their childhood summers in a small southern town discover it harbors secrets as lush as the marshes that surround it...Bonny Blankenship's most treasured memories are of idyllic summers spent in Watersend, South Carolina, with her best friend, Lainey McKay. Amid the sand dunes and oak trees draped with Spanish moss, they swam and wished for happy-ever-afters, then escaped to the local bookshop to read and whisper in the glorious cool silence. Until the night that changed everything, the night that Lainey's mother disappeared.Now, in her early fifties, Bonny is desperate to clear her head after a tragic mistake threatens her career as an emergency room doctor, and her marriage crumbles around her. With her troubled teenage daughter, Piper, in tow, she goes back to the beloved river house, where she is soon joined by Lainey and her two young children. During lazy summer days and magical nights, they reunite with bookshop owner Mimi, who is tangled with the past and its mysteries. As the three women cling to a fragile peace, buried secrets and long ago loves return like the tide.READERS GUIDE INSIDE

The Bookshop at Water's End Details

TitleThe Bookshop at Water's End
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherBerkley Books
ISBN0399583114
ISBN-139780399583117
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

The Bookshop at Water's End Review

  • Theresa Alan
    June 5, 2017
    This is a sweet story of two grown women who are now mothers. Bonny is an ER doc trying to find her way out of a loveless marriage. After an accident in the ER, she needs some time to regroup, so she returns to Watersend, a small sea side town where she and Lainey became friends when they were thirteen years old. Back then, they had been inseparable. They were known as the Summer Sisters. They had the Girls’ Detective Club, inspired by Nancy Drew mysteries, and their safe haven was a bookstore r This is a sweet story of two grown women who are now mothers. Bonny is an ER doc trying to find her way out of a loveless marriage. After an accident in the ER, she needs some time to regroup, so she returns to Watersend, a small sea side town where she and Lainey became friends when they were thirteen years old. Back then, they had been inseparable. They were known as the Summer Sisters. They had the Girls’ Detective Club, inspired by Nancy Drew mysteries, and their safe haven was a bookstore run by a woman named Mimi. Bonny brings her teenage daughter, Piper, with her to Watersend, and, even though Lainey has terrible memories of Watersend, Bonny convinces her to leave her husband in California for a few weeks and bring her two small children out to the beach house. Initially, Piper feels like she’s being punished because she flunked out of her freshman year of college. In addition to that blow, she’s also reeling from her boyfriend not just breaking up with her but immediately falling for another girl and taking off to Europe with her. By making friends with a local boy and Mimi and babysitting Lainey’s six- and four-year-old children, Piper slowly begins to heal. Bonny has to decide what to do with her career and her life. Lainey wants to solve the thirty-five year old mystery of what happened to her mother.Told from multiple first-person points of view, the complexity of the characters are good. I also like the mystery of Lainey trying to figure out what happened to her mother, a search that has played a large role in her life. The novel is not a completely fluffy summer read, although it does have a sweet mostly-happily-ever-after ending. Thanks to NetGalley and Berkeley Publishing Group for the opportunity to review this book. For more of my reviews, please visit: http://theresaalan.net/blog
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    June 16, 2017
    This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I really enjoyed this book. I was really pulled in by the writing and ended up loving the characters. The story was a little bit different than I had thought it would be based on the title but it ended up being a good surprise. Once I started reading this book, I found myself picking up this book every free moment I had until I reached the last page. I am really glad that I decided to give this book a try.Bonny and Lainey called them This review can also be found at Carole's Random Life in Books.I really enjoyed this book. I was really pulled in by the writing and ended up loving the characters. The story was a little bit different than I had thought it would be based on the title but it ended up being a good surprise. Once I started reading this book, I found myself picking up this book every free moment I had until I reached the last page. I am really glad that I decided to give this book a try.Bonny and Lainey called themselves the Summer Sisters when they were children. Their families would spend the summer together at a little house on the water in Watersend every year. They both looked forward to those summers and became lifelong friends even after a tragedy ended their summers together. When Bonny hits a difficult time in her life, Lainey suggests that she spend some time at the summer house and they end up returning together.This story is told from three points of view. Bonny is an emergency room doctor that is forced into taking a leave of absence. She is in the process of leaving her husband and all of her plans seem to be going wrong. Piper is Bonny's 19 year old daughter who seems to be having a difficult time. Her first year of college has not went well and she feels somewhat trapped at the house with her mom. Lainey is an artist that is happily married with two young children. I really liked each of the three voices and thought all of their stories were unique and well developed.I think that thing that really made this book hard to put down was the quality of the writing. The book had such a nice flow and I always wanted to read just a bit more. I thought that the story had a very realistic quality to it. I feel like all of the events in this story could happen anywhere. I really enjoyed the way that the past and present came together for Bonny and Lainey. There were a few scenes that were really filled with emotion and I felt myself really empathizing with these characters.I would recommend this book to others. I enjoyed this story of three women really discovering who they are and what they want out of life. This was the first book by Patti Callahan Henry that I have read but I would love to read more of her work in the future.I received an advance reader edition of this book from Berkley Publishing Group via First to Read.Initial ThoughtsI really enjoyed this book. The characters were wonderful and the things they were going through just felt very real.
    more
  • Patty
    April 26, 2017
    I received this book from NetGalley and the publisher Berkley in exchange for an honest review. This is a great summer read, not to heavy but still there is depth to the story of two friends who reunite at the river house where one of the friends lost her mother. Bonny's parents bought the house when she was a child and each year they would return for the summer. It was here that she met Lainey and her brother Owen who would also along with their parents come to the house each year. Bonny and La I received this book from NetGalley and the publisher Berkley in exchange for an honest review. This is a great summer read, not to heavy but still there is depth to the story of two friends who reunite at the river house where one of the friends lost her mother. Bonny's parents bought the house when she was a child and each year they would return for the summer. It was here that she met Lainey and her brother Owen who would also along with their parents come to the house each year. Bonny and Lainey would become great friends. However, there was an unfortunate incident, Lainey's mother just disappeared one night.Bonny inherited the house in Watersend SC, which is just outside of Charleston. She is a physician and there has been a serious incident at the emergency room and she may no longer be able to practice medicine, and her marriage is all but done. She needs to get away for awhile so she invites Lainey and her two small children to join her. Piper, Bonny's daughter will be coming along as well, partly as punishment for failing at school and partly to help watch the two children. It is a time for all three of them to deal with issues in their lives and to think about their lives and what direction they might want to move towards. It is a time for reflection and a time for realizing what they already have right in front of them. Sometimes all you need is a little beach time. Lainey is a renowned artist who lives in California with her husband and two small children. Lainey's mother disappeared from the river house the last time she was there and is concerned about ghost from her past reeking havoc with her soul. On one side of the house is the river and on the other side is the ocean. It is the small beach town. Patti Callahan Henry does an incredible job of transporting the reader to this quaint little town, with the local bookstore, grocery store and other characters that call this place home year round. Piper has been struggling with college and her self esteem is low. She will be helping to get the place ready for the arrival of her mother and Lainey and she will be helping to take care of Lainey's kids, which she is not looking forward to, at least not at first. She meets a young man her age who helps her to see that she is fine just the way she is. One other important character is Owen, Lainey's brother, who was also at the river house when their mother disappeared. He has always had a thing for Bonny and might want to revisit that. He travels all over the world and rarely contacts his sister which causes her a great deal of pain. He is the only family she has other than her husband and her two children.Everyone in this story, except the bookstore owner has a self esteem problem, but I guess that is true of so many women and men. I really want to recommend this book to readers that like what I call beach reads, sometimes the message is deep but the story is comforting, almost always about women and their friendships which can be complicated and intertwined. There is a bit of a mystery here about what happened all those years ago to Lainey's mom.Patti Callahan Henry took me to the beach and for that I will read her books again and again. Who doesn't want to travel when they read!
    more
  • Mrs. Europaea
    June 4, 2017
    3.5 Stars This rating seems really low for a novel with such great writing but I really didn't connect to any of the characters or the plot. You start off with a prologue to Mimi, the Title Wave's bookshop owner, and Piper, Bonny's daughter's first encounter in the bookshop. Mimi's narrative I feel was the strongest in all of the novel and I was very disappointed to see that her perspective is only given a couple of times when it seemed like Mimi's character was where Henry did her strongest wr 3.5 Stars This rating seems really low for a novel with such great writing but I really didn't connect to any of the characters or the plot. You start off with a prologue to Mimi, the Title Wave's bookshop owner, and Piper, Bonny's daughter's first encounter in the bookshop. Mimi's narrative I feel was the strongest in all of the novel and I was very disappointed to see that her perspective is only given a couple of times when it seemed like Mimi's character was where Henry did her strongest writing.Bonny and Lainey are the Summer Sister's that are forever bonded to one another no matter the difficult situations or events that threaten their relationship. When Owen, Lainey's brother comes back into Bonny's life, chaos ensues and nothing will ever be the same.I liked the way Henry handled the dissolution of Bonny's marriage. I felt that Bonny finally found her self worth and no one, not even Owen, was going to make her change directions this time. I think there was very little attention paid to Piper's feelings on her parents separation and impending divorce. The teenage daughter who has multiple perspectives given to her throughout the book is surprisingly silent on the break up between her parents which I found quite odd. The mystery surrounding Lainey's mother's disappearance was interesting but the ending didn't sit quite right with me. Emotionally it seems unrealistic and again with all the different perspectives of the women, you get only a very narrow view into the emotions of the three ladies when you'd expect much more due to the numerous point of views and build up to solve this mystery throughout the book.
    more
  • Amanda
    April 25, 2017
    I won this novel in the Goodreads Giveaways! I'm such a sucker for beach reads that take place in the Low Country and this book did not disappoint! I was thrilled to win this book!The book is told from three different female perspectives: Bonny, her summer sister Lainey, and Bonny's nineteen year old daughter Piper. After a medical procedure gone wrong and in the midst of a bad marriage, ER doctor Bonny heads back to Watersend, SC to the summer home her parents had left to her. She also brings h I won this novel in the Goodreads Giveaways! I'm such a sucker for beach reads that take place in the Low Country and this book did not disappoint! I was thrilled to win this book!The book is told from three different female perspectives: Bonny, her summer sister Lainey, and Bonny's nineteen year old daughter Piper. After a medical procedure gone wrong and in the midst of a bad marriage, ER doctor Bonny heads back to Watersend, SC to the summer home her parents had left to her. She also brings her daughter who failed out of her freshman year of college to try to help her get back on her feet. Lainey, Bonny's best friend from summers spent at the summer home, reluctantly leaves her husband and comfort to bring her two young children to stay with Bonny and Piper at Bonny's insistence. The last time Lainey was there was when she was 13 and her mother walked away from her and her brother Owen and was never heard from again. All three women are there to try to heal wounds and find themselves and face their pasts.I thoroughly enjoyed this book! All three women were likable characters that I found myself rooting for them to find their happiness throughout the book. The author did a great job of describing the Low country of South Carolina. It was a book that was hard to put down!
    more
  • Michelegg
    June 26, 2017
    I adore a book that is character driven, one that lets me see in to a life and helps me understand what makes that person tick. This book did just that for me. I came to love the characters in this book, especially Bonny, Lainey and Piper. As the story unfolded and I came to understand why each one made the choices they did and what drove them, I just loved them even more.The setting of WatersEnd was pure perfection, and a little town I'd love to live in myself. I can see why it was special to e I adore a book that is character driven, one that lets me see in to a life and helps me understand what makes that person tick. This book did just that for me. I came to love the characters in this book, especially Bonny, Lainey and Piper. As the story unfolded and I came to understand why each one made the choices they did and what drove them, I just loved them even more.The setting of WatersEnd was pure perfection, and a little town I'd love to live in myself. I can see why it was special to each of them and even when I understood what drove Bonny and Lainey away, I was so glad they came back. I think my heart really loved Piper the most. I loved watching her grow and search for herself and find acceptance and love in WatersEnd. I highly recommend this one to everyone who loves fabulously written characters that you can identify with and come to cherish. This was a beautiful book!
    more
  • Dottie Legatos
    June 25, 2017
    First, I’d like to thank Netgalley and Berkeley Publishing Group for an advanced copy of The Bookshop at Water’s End. I was intrigued by both the cover and the title, as I had never read anything by Patti Callahan Henry. Besides recommendations from some of my friends, this is usually how I like to try new authors. I was not disappointed. Told from different character’s perspectives and different time periods, this was a story of two women, Bonnie and Lainey, who spent summers as young girls in First, I’d like to thank Netgalley and Berkeley Publishing Group for an advanced copy of The Bookshop at Water’s End. I was intrigued by both the cover and the title, as I had never read anything by Patti Callahan Henry. Besides recommendations from some of my friends, this is usually how I like to try new authors. I was not disappointed. Told from different character’s perspectives and different time periods, this was a story of two women, Bonnie and Lainey, who spent summers as young girls in Watersend, South Carolina with their parents. These were magical summers for these lifelong friends, until tragedy strikes and ends their annual trips. Fast forward to the present where Bonnie asks Lainey to once again spend a summer at Watersend to help her cope with a most difficult situation in her life. Lainey reluctantly agrees and now must also deal with the results of the tragedy from so long ago. This was a beautifully written story which kept me turning the pages to see how these families find out how to begin again to find the one thing in life they are meant to do. I highly recommend!
    more
  • Cian O hAnnrachainn
    June 15, 2017
    Just as each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way, so too are writers verbose in their own way. So many words in THE BOOKSHOP AT WATER'S END. So much description, so much inner dialogue and lengthy ponderings.For some readers, this is the sort of thing they can get lost in, while the rest of us cut through the verbosity with a machete. The story at the heart of this novel centers on the relationship between two women who became BFFs over the course of three summers, one BFF's brother, and th Just as each unhappy family is unhappy in its own way, so too are writers verbose in their own way. So many words in THE BOOKSHOP AT WATER'S END. So much description, so much inner dialogue and lengthy ponderings.For some readers, this is the sort of thing they can get lost in, while the rest of us cut through the verbosity with a machete. The story at the heart of this novel centers on the relationship between two women who became BFFs over the course of three summers, one BFF's brother, and the other's daughter. They are all exploring life issues and going through a period of personal growth, hence the need for a lot of words. Yes, there is a well-developed tale in THE BOOKSHOP AT WATER'S END. The author just takes her time in telling it.While this is not my preferred style, those who are fans of "lyrical prose" will find a narrative that keeps them engaged throughout. Bonny returns to a childhood summer home after a crisis, and calls in BFF Lainey to join her in a farewell to the house that Bonny plans to sell. Ah sure but the old ghosts of a long-ago summer return and the ladies are dealing with harsh memories of the night Lainey's mother went missing after a drunken spree.Then there's daughter Piper, teen in search of herself, and Lainey's older brother who has long loved Bonny from afar.They come together, they hash out their problems, the mystery of the mother's disappearance is revealed, and the strings are all neatly tied together in the conclusion.For those who like a lot of prose in their summer reads, when the story is thin so the words are used to plump things up, this latest offering from Patti Callahan Henry will be welcome. But if you want your author to come to the point, you'd best find a different writer.Review copy provided by Penguin Random House, with thanks as always.
    more
  • Ellen
    May 28, 2017
    Well written, filled with heartfelt emotion and renewal, this is a story of friends, family, mistakes and loss. Lainey and Bonny are "Summer sisters" having spent three summers in a small beach town with their families. Lainey's mother disappears that last summer, impacting her ability to grow and move on. Bonny's daughter, Piper, has been making many mistakes, which have led her to have low self esteem. As said in the novel, this book is an alchemy of stories and wisdom and experience. Recommen Well written, filled with heartfelt emotion and renewal, this is a story of friends, family, mistakes and loss. Lainey and Bonny are "Summer sisters" having spent three summers in a small beach town with their families. Lainey's mother disappears that last summer, impacting her ability to grow and move on. Bonny's daughter, Piper, has been making many mistakes, which have led her to have low self esteem. As said in the novel, this book is an alchemy of stories and wisdom and experience. Recommended.
    more
  • Claire Fullerton
    March 28, 2017
    Every line in The Bookshop at Water’s End is soulfully written in seamlessly crafted chapters. Beginning in the emergency room of a Charleston, South Carolina hospital, this enchanting story never loses its page-turning sense of urgency, and yet it is delivered softly, as a deeply insightful, thought provoking character study on two women, whose lives are significantly entwined. Author Patti Callahan Henry knows her way around the nuances of women, and writes with uncommon fearlessness, as she t Every line in The Bookshop at Water’s End is soulfully written in seamlessly crafted chapters. Beginning in the emergency room of a Charleston, South Carolina hospital, this enchanting story never loses its page-turning sense of urgency, and yet it is delivered softly, as a deeply insightful, thought provoking character study on two women, whose lives are significantly entwined. Author Patti Callahan Henry knows her way around the nuances of women, and writes with uncommon fearlessness, as she tells the story of Bonny and Lainey, in their mid-forties now, who formed a life-long friendship at the age of thirteen while on family vacation in the small South Carolina coastal town of Watersend. Then and there, the wheels were set in motion of a dynamic that resonated forward with such resounding effect that even they were not aware of its repercussions. But there is no running from cause and effect, and when Bonny and Lainey have cause to return to Watersend, the threads of this story reverberate in love and longing, mystery and self-discovery, all woven together in one plausible tapestry.Bonny Blankenship’s life and identity is centered upon her medical profession, whose seeds were planted at thirteen by uttering a fateful wish in one magical, belief-driven moment alongside Lainey, as the two swam in the river at Watersend. That her wish came true sets the foundation for Bonny’s side of the story, just as Lainey’s simultaneous wish materializes, in what is ultimately an outgrowth from her anguished childhood. Lainey is an acclaimed artist, whose medium involves creating visual stories by piecing them together, an act, the reader suspects, that has much to do with piecing together the unresolved mystery around the disappearance of her mother. It is this singular, cataclysmic event that shapes the future for Lainey and her older brother, Owen, whom Bonnie secretly loves. It is the fear of friendship’s betrayal and Owen’s mercurial nature that keeps Bonny’s love for Owen in arrested development. It is the longing of the heart and the reasoning of the mind that burdens her with the push and pull of love’s unrealized potential, even as her life path finds her married to another and raising a daughter named Piper. The character, Piper Blankenship, seems to me the conscience of this story. She is nineteen, maladjusted, and written with such accurate sensitivity that I repeatedly pictured her at the heart of a great YA story. Her perspective gifts the reader with a view from the edge, and her pivotal placement in the story shows us unflinchingly who each of the adult characters are, as they try to find their footing amidst shifting tides. The Bookshop at Water’s End is a story that never stops searching, and that many of its events are tied to Watersend’s local bookshop is brilliantly symbolic. The bookshop is an anchor in full possession of the past’s facts, and its proprietress, Mimi, plays her cards close to the vest as she faithfully waits for the players in this story to discover the clues that will allow the looming puzzle affecting them all to fall into proper place. Three cheers for author Patti Callahan Henry. She has given us a heart-wrenching, mesmerizing story of characters beautifully flawed and made them beautifully human. Proud to say I won the ARC of this book in a Goodreads giveaway!The Bookshop at Water's End
    more
  • Mindy Tysinger
    June 23, 2017
    "The Bookshop at Water's End" tells the story of two women coming back to their summer home for the first time since a terrible tragedy fortysome years before. Bonny and Lainey became best friends at a young age when their parents shared their vacations at the summer home of Bonnys parents. When Lainey's mother disappears one night it forever changes their lives. As they come back to the house to help Bonny cope with an accidental death at work secrets begin to unfold. The story jumps back and f "The Bookshop at Water's End" tells the story of two women coming back to their summer home for the first time since a terrible tragedy fortysome years before. Bonny and Lainey became best friends at a young age when their parents shared their vacations at the summer home of Bonnys parents. When Lainey's mother disappears one night it forever changes their lives. As they come back to the house to help Bonny cope with an accidental death at work secrets begin to unfold. The story jumps back and forth from both Lainey and Bonnie's views between present day and their summers when they were young. Also, we here from Bonnys 20 something daughter. I enjoyed the book immensely. The plot was strong and I liked having the story from three different perspectives. Three strong woman looking for answers and using each other for support. Thank you to firsttoread for the opportunity to read an advanced copy. Two thumbs up👍👍
    more
  • Teresa
    June 30, 2017
    3.5 stars I enjoyed this little beach read. It is told from the perspectives of Bonny, her teenage daughter, and her childhood friend Lainey, which added some depth to the story. The mystery is surrounding Lainey's mother, who disappeared when Lainey was just a child. Overall, it was a little predictable and cozy. The word bookshop in the title caught my eye originally. I would have liked more scenes there. I loved Mimi, the bookshop owner who always knew just the right thing to say or the right 3.5 stars I enjoyed this little beach read. It is told from the perspectives of Bonny, her teenage daughter, and her childhood friend Lainey, which added some depth to the story. The mystery is surrounding Lainey's mother, who disappeared when Lainey was just a child. Overall, it was a little predictable and cozy. The word bookshop in the title caught my eye originally. I would have liked more scenes there. I loved Mimi, the bookshop owner who always knew just the right thing to say or the right book to recommend. I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway.
    more
  • Dawn Byers
    April 24, 2017
    I won this book and was excited to read it as I have never read a book by this author and it sounded intriguing.Some of the best memories are summers spent with a friend in a little town by the waters edge.Bonny was a trusted doctor with her marriage failing and then the night that things fell apart at the hospital.So a move with her daughter back home is much needed and with it the secrets of childhood are found.A wonderful book.
    more
  • Michael
    May 14, 2017
    Outstanding story from beginning to end. Being from South Carolina, I love that it is set at the Carolina coast. The story just draws you into it and you relate to the characters so well. It challenges so many emotions as you progress thru it. I particularly loved the ending which leaves many things "open". I highly recommend this book as it is a fantastic read. I will definitely read it again. I won this book in a GoodReads Giveaway!
    more
  • Carol
    June 18, 2017
    The Bookshelf at Water's End by Patti Callahan Henry gives you a light and sometimes intense family and friends story. Bonnie and Lainey only met during the summer at the Water's End. Their regular homes were too far apart during the rest of the year. But their friendship was very close. This book goes back and forth from the present to the past is told in alternating voices. There is a sort of yearning for home and sadness over the past. Bonnie felt that she had to return to where she spent goo The Bookshelf at Water's End by Patti Callahan Henry gives you a light and sometimes intense family and friends story. Bonnie and Lainey only met during the summer at the Water's End. Their regular homes were too far apart during the rest of the year. But their friendship was very close. This book goes back and forth from the present to the past is told in alternating voices. There is a sort of yearning for home and sadness over the past. Bonnie felt that she had to return to where she spent good summers with her best friend because her life was falling apart, her career was in jeopardy, her marriage broken and her daughter Piper failing her first year of college and started turning to alcohol for an escape from being dropped by her boyfriend and not finding herself at college. Lainey is a successful artist with two energetic toddlers and a brother who neglects seeing. Her husband is supportive. Lainey's mother had a drug and alcohol addiction that reached a point where her father told her to leave the family. But Lainey had good memories of her mother before the addiction and missed her with all her heart. She had not given up hope of finding her.Lainey's brother, Owen always felt that Bonnie was his one true love and Bonnie felt the same way but he never seemed ready to commit himself and the torment of having him leave her life so many times was so great that she did not want to go through it again. Owen also had not been much of a brother to his sister, he did not contact her much. He was sort a person who is there suddenly and then takes off. I have know people would are like so I really enjoyed that the author put that characteristic into her tale. I also loved the details of the life of an ER physican, the calming quality of the sea and the truth of what a home really means. I highly recommend this book.I received an Advanced Reading Copy as a win from FirstReads but that in no way influenced my thoughts or feelings in this review.
    more
  • Jencey/
    June 30, 2017
    Thank you to Berkley and Tandem Literary for a copy of The Bookshop at Water’s End by Patti Callahan Henry. I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. I received no financial compensation. Patti Callahan Henry is one of the most popular writers in my area. I had not found any new books from her in a while. So I was pleased to learn about her new title The Bookshop at Water’s End. I also recently learned that she changed publishing houses from St. Martin’s Press to Berkley. Berkley i Thank you to Berkley and Tandem Literary for a copy of The Bookshop at Water’s End by Patti Callahan Henry. I was given this book in exchange for an honest review. I received no financial compensation. Patti Callahan Henry is one of the most popular writers in my area. I had not found any new books from her in a while. So I was pleased to learn about her new title The Bookshop at Water’s End. I also recently learned that she changed publishing houses from St. Martin’s Press to Berkley. Berkley is an imprint of Penguin. Synopsis:Bonny Blankenship has been a doctor at a Charleston Hospital for years. She works in the emergency room. One night while at work she gives the wrong dose of pain medicine to a patient. He then dies. Since Bonny works a lot, she has all this vacation time to decide her future. She makes the decision to go back and visit Watersend South Carolina where her family has a summer home. She recruits her daughter Piper and best friend Lainey with children in tow. Bonny needs to think through decisions about her future, her marriage, and a new job. Lainey comes back with some trepidation because of the past. The last time she was there her mother disappeared. Her search for her mother is taking a toll on her family. When tragedy strikes will Bonny and Lainey be able to set aside the past for the future?My Thoughts: I have always liked Patti Callahan Henry’s work in the past, but did not love it. I loved The Bookshop at Water’s End! I had a patron where I work at the library compare her work to Elin Hilderbrand. I can say now that I agree. Berkley is a good fit for her. I look forward to seeing what is next. This book had it all from great characters to a beautiful setting. A mystery was also incorporated into the story. I would love to visit this setting.
    more
  • Jane Sibley
    June 3, 2017
    Sometimes there is nothing better than a good family story with a sprinkle of a mystery while revisiting your childhood beach home and town. I know these kind of books are written time and time again but the author manages to keep this one interesting and her writing just flows. I love the whole feeling of the hope in adversity message. What I also like is the interesting dynamics within families and now well you get to know the characters. How the highs and lows of their lives have shaped them. Sometimes there is nothing better than a good family story with a sprinkle of a mystery while revisiting your childhood beach home and town. I know these kind of books are written time and time again but the author manages to keep this one interesting and her writing just flows. I love the whole feeling of the hope in adversity message. What I also like is the interesting dynamics within families and now well you get to know the characters. How the highs and lows of their lives have shaped them. While the bookshop is not the center of the story in some ways it sets of a whole chain of events. I really enjoyed the fact that one of the main characters had such a passion for books and how that had helped her through life. And yet again more strong females young and old in a novel is just what I love to see. Thanks to NetGalley and Berkley for an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. Publication July 2017.
    more
  • Jodi
    May 26, 2017
    I received a copy of this book free of charge from First to Read in exchange for my honest opinion.I loved this book. It was so easy to get into it and feel like you knew the characters and could understand why they did what they did.This quote summed up the book for me. "We were all doing the very best we could: As women, as mothers, as daughters."Bonny is an ER doctor that makes a tragic mistake. Trying to get her life back she and her daughter go back to where Bonny had vacationed as a kid. H I received a copy of this book free of charge from First to Read in exchange for my honest opinion.I loved this book. It was so easy to get into it and feel like you knew the characters and could understand why they did what they did.This quote summed up the book for me. "We were all doing the very best we could: As women, as mothers, as daughters."Bonny is an ER doctor that makes a tragic mistake. Trying to get her life back she and her daughter go back to where Bonny had vacationed as a kid. Her childhood best friend, Lainey and her kids join them. Mimi is the owner of a local bookstore who always seems to know what book her customers need. Some secrets form the past come back and need to be addressed. Each of the women are trying to make the best life choices they could. This was a great story about the bonds between mothers and daughters and friends.
    more
  • Donna
    June 19, 2017
    I won this book through a Goodreads contest and will give an honest review. This story focuses on many characters that have to accept the past to get to the future. The main characters, Bonny and Lainey as best friends meet back at their summer place, to get through tough times and a tragic past. Their lives will come full circle, with their children and problems, at their side. New issues cause them to see their lives and past come spilling over and they have to accept who they are now and move I won this book through a Goodreads contest and will give an honest review. This story focuses on many characters that have to accept the past to get to the future. The main characters, Bonny and Lainey as best friends meet back at their summer place, to get through tough times and a tragic past. Their lives will come full circle, with their children and problems, at their side. New issues cause them to see their lives and past come spilling over and they have to accept who they are now and move on. I was taken in by the small town and the people in it. The beginning and the end of the story, revolve around the bookshop at water's end. I truly enjoyed this book and the stories behind each character. A must read.
    more
  • Robin Wieder
    May 25, 2017
    I received this book thru First To Read...for an honest review.I loved this book, took me to a place only dream of. The South...the beach, with small town comfort, loving neighbors..and lifelong friendships.Lainey and Bonney are summer sisters, spending their summers vacations at Say La Vie- a summer home, with the parents, and siblings, one in particular, Bonneys lifetime love, Owen...Owen is one that could never be tied down, an adventurer...in and out of Bonneys life...This book is about secr I received this book thru First To Read...for an honest review.I loved this book, took me to a place only dream of. The South...the beach, with small town comfort, loving neighbors..and lifelong friendships.Lainey and Bonney are summer sisters, spending their summers vacations at Say La Vie- a summer home, with the parents, and siblings, one in particular, Bonneys lifetime love, Owen...Owen is one that could never be tied down, an adventurer...in and out of Bonneys life...This book is about secrets, binds that tie each other together, and learning was that ONE thing was,is...I take a little of this book away with me, this one thing...always remember there is one more thing!Loved it, quick wonderful beach read...even though I read it in my living room! Enjoy, I know you will!
    more
  • Sandy
    May 18, 2017
    I love how Patti writes so you can feel every scene in the book. Such perfect descriptions. The book revolves around two women and the teenage daughter of one of the women, Bonny. The women have been friends since childhood from summers at the river house in the lowcountry of South Carolina. They meet once again at the river house with their own children and uncover things from their past. Bonny and her daughter also find out things about themselves, what do they need to let go of or change to f I love how Patti writes so you can feel every scene in the book. Such perfect descriptions. The book revolves around two women and the teenage daughter of one of the women, Bonny. The women have been friends since childhood from summers at the river house in the lowcountry of South Carolina. They meet once again at the river house with their own children and uncover things from their past. Bonny and her daughter also find out things about themselves, what do they need to let go of or change to find happiness. Great women's fiction with great characters in a great setting. Perfect summer read! I received an ARC of this book through First To Read.
    more
  • Amanda
    May 22, 2017
    I received a copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway. Every once in a while, I discover an author I hadn't heard of before and I'm completely blown away. This was one of those times. Patti Callahan Henry's writing is so rich and descriptive, I could see the story playing out in my head as I read. That's a gift I don't find in many authors any more. I felt as though I was living in that river house next to the characters, involved in their everyday lives, getting to know them and experiencing t I received a copy of this book in a Goodreads giveaway. Every once in a while, I discover an author I hadn't heard of before and I'm completely blown away. This was one of those times. Patti Callahan Henry's writing is so rich and descriptive, I could see the story playing out in my head as I read. That's a gift I don't find in many authors any more. I felt as though I was living in that river house next to the characters, involved in their everyday lives, getting to know them and experiencing the story right along with them. Each character offers something unique and important to the plot, and the ending was perfect. I definitely look forward to reading more from this author!
    more
  • Nada
    June 27, 2017
    For a book with "bookshop" and "water's end" in the title, the story has little to do with either. What the book does have are many elements for a story about women, family, secrets, small town life, and finding direction in life. The Bookshop at Water's End by Patti Callahan Henry is a book to be read on a casual afternoon at the water's edge. In other words, it is a nice easy summer beach read. Read my complete review at http://www.memoriesfrombooks.com/2017...Reviewed for Penguin First to Rea For a book with "bookshop" and "water's end" in the title, the story has little to do with either. What the book does have are many elements for a story about women, family, secrets, small town life, and finding direction in life. The Bookshop at Water's End by Patti Callahan Henry is a book to be read on a casual afternoon at the water's edge. In other words, it is a nice easy summer beach read. Read my complete review at http://www.memoriesfrombooks.com/2017...Reviewed for Penguin First to Read program.
    more
  • Stephanie Rollins
    June 21, 2017
    Bonny and Lainey have been running from the demons of their childhood. Then, their adult lives start to unravel. Bonny convinces Lainey to return to the beach house of their childhood to reconnect. They bring along their children, including Piper. Bonny, Lainey, and Piper need the seclusion of the beach house to figure themselves out. For too long, they have been trying to be what they are not.This book has self-reflection, sadness, many laughs, and close calls. This is one of those great summer Bonny and Lainey have been running from the demons of their childhood. Then, their adult lives start to unravel. Bonny convinces Lainey to return to the beach house of their childhood to reconnect. They bring along their children, including Piper. Bonny, Lainey, and Piper need the seclusion of the beach house to figure themselves out. For too long, they have been trying to be what they are not.This book has self-reflection, sadness, many laughs, and close calls. This is one of those great summer/beach books. The characters will long live with me. This is an awesome book.
    more
  • Jen
    May 9, 2017
    Thank you to Berkley Publishing and NetGalley for the chance to read and review this great book!Patti Callahan Henry's books are always a good go-to if you want to curl up and forget the world. Her latest, The Bookshop at Water's Edge is the perfect choice. Taking place on a slow river in the south, mom, daughter and mom's best friend all come in to their own where wishes were once made. Full of heart and mystery, this book is sure to grab you and hold on tight. Definitely add this to your summe Thank you to Berkley Publishing and NetGalley for the chance to read and review this great book!Patti Callahan Henry's books are always a good go-to if you want to curl up and forget the world. Her latest, The Bookshop at Water's Edge is the perfect choice. Taking place on a slow river in the south, mom, daughter and mom's best friend all come in to their own where wishes were once made. Full of heart and mystery, this book is sure to grab you and hold on tight. Definitely add this to your summertime TBR.
    more
  • Stephanie
    June 28, 2017
    I have been reading Patti Callahan Henry's books for several years now and I always really like them. The Book Shop at Water's End was no exception. It was a deeply felt read about love, loss, and what it truly means to be a family. It had an air of mystery (as most of her books do) and kept me reading late into the night a couple of nights in a row. This is a perfect summer read!*Thank you to First to Read for the free digital copy in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Barbara Burd
    May 16, 2017
    Patti Callahan Henry is the perfect Southern beach read author. Her descriptions of the area are so accurate you can feel the salt and sand on your face and in your toes. Exploring the dynamics of past relationships between friends and current mother/daughter relationships, the author ties together the past and present in a compelling story to solve a long ago mystery that has effected the lives of the major characters.
    more
  • Susan Sherman
    May 8, 2017
    This is a great beach read, I envied the two friends who had been best friends since they were twelve. What a wonderful thing to share all the moments of your life with a dear friend. I liked the fact that the book also included the thoughts of the 20 year old daughter. But the best character is the bookshop owner Mimi. You can kind of the predict the ending but it is still an enjoyable read.I loved all of the book quotes and the quirky daughters dialog.
    more
  • Sara Smith
    May 30, 2017
    I received a free ARC e-reader copy of this book through Random House First to Read.This is a good summer beach read. Not too intense. There is some drama between friends, between spouses, and between mother/daughter, but nothing overwhelming. I'd characterize this book as being about relationships.
    more
  • Leanne
    June 27, 2017
    I've been a fan of Patti Callahan Henry for years and was really looking forward to reading this book. While it wasn't my favorite there were some very good moments in this story of love, loss and friendship. A little too much back and forth in time and competing viewpoints for the story to really take hold for me.
    more
Write a review