Gork, the Teenage Dragon
Fans of Harry Potter and Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy will relish this teenage dragon's spellbinding love story filled with bighearted humor and imagination."No good human won't love this dragon named Gork."—Dave EggersGork isn't like the other dragons at WarWings Military Academy. He has a gigantic heart, two-inch horns, and an occasional problem with fainting. His nickname is Weak Sauce and his Will to Power ranking is Snacklicious--the lowest in his class. But Gork is determined not to let any of this hold him back as he embarks on the most important mission of his life: tonight, on the eve of his high school graduation, he must ask a female dragon to be his queen. If she says yes, they'll go off to conquer a foreign planet together. If she says no, Gork becomes a slave. Vying with Jocks, Nerds, Mutants, and Multi-Dimensioners to find his mate, Gork encounters an unforgettable cast of friends and foes, including Dr. Terrible, the mad scientist; Fribby, a robot dragon obsessed with death; and Metheldra, a healer specializing in acupuncture with swords. But finally it is Gork's biggest perceived weakness, his huge heart, that will guide him through his epic quest and help him reach his ultimate destination: planet Earth.A love story, a fantasy, a coming-of-age story, Gork the Teenage Dragon is a wildly comic, beautifully imagined, and deeply heartfelt debut novel that shows us just how human a dragon can be.

Gork, the Teenage Dragon Details

TitleGork, the Teenage Dragon
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherKnopf Publishing Group
ISBN0375413960
ISBN-139780375413964
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, Dragons, Fiction, Science Fiction

Gork, the Teenage Dragon Review

  • Montzalee Wittmann
    May 22, 2017
    Gork, the Teenage Dragon: A novel by Gabe Hudson had my "scaly green ass" laughing throughout the hilarious antics and witty dialogue in this book. Gork, our teen dragon, is called Weak Sauce because he is different than the other dragons. Only 2" horns, faints, afraid of heights, and has an oversized heart, literally and figuratively. He is suppose to find a Queen before he graduates the academy for dragons or he has to be a slave. If he finds a Queen that will except him, he gets to go with hi Gork, the Teenage Dragon: A novel by Gabe Hudson had my "scaly green ass" laughing throughout the hilarious antics and witty dialogue in this book. Gork, our teen dragon, is called Weak Sauce because he is different than the other dragons. Only 2" horns, faints, afraid of heights, and has an oversized heart, literally and figuratively. He is suppose to find a Queen before he graduates the academy for dragons or he has to be a slave. If he finds a Queen that will except him, he gets to go with his Queen to a planet and start a new life. He has deal with bullies, nerds, mutants, and robot dragons. It is a comical, witty, tender, coming of age of age story with magical and delightful fantasy and just a hint of romance. Humor sprinkled generously!!! I giggled so much reading this book. There are so many scenes and phrases that caught me off guard that had me laughing and snorting. What a gem of a book! Thanks NetGalley, I haven't enjoyed a book like this in such a long time!
    more
  • Mike
    April 21, 2017
    Gabe Hudson has written an enjoyable adventure that follows the lovable youth of a scaly green dragon named Gork The Terrible. Within the pages of this old fashion comedic story telling tradition of fire breathing dragons and organic cybernetic robots, comes an inventive mixture of creative evolution and mortal machines that will undoubtedly tickle the biogenetic imagination and pull on the neuroanatomy heart strings of the reader. Hudson constructs an amusing dragon tradition while adding his o Gabe Hudson has written an enjoyable adventure that follows the lovable youth of a scaly green dragon named Gork The Terrible. Within the pages of this old fashion comedic story telling tradition of fire breathing dragons and organic cybernetic robots, comes an inventive mixture of creative evolution and mortal machines that will undoubtedly tickle the biogenetic imagination and pull on the neuroanatomy heart strings of the reader. Hudson constructs an amusing dragon tradition while adding his own humorous pop cultural brand of playfulness. The end product is an alternative coming of age novel filled with first loves, tormented family history, long lasting friendships and unforgettable fertile ritual missions.
    more
  • Catherine
    May 25, 2017
    a buzzfeed quiz told me to read this and i was like, ok
  • Sana
    November 8, 2016
    OMFG, IT SOUNDS SO AWESOME AND HOW?!
  • Joelene Weeks
    May 29, 2017
    Hilarious, cute (at least to me) adventure in finding love with the young Gork. The authors take on dragons is wholly original. These aren't your typical dragons, either as destructive creatures hording treasure and demanding maidens and being slain by knights or as respected creatures of magic and wisdom. Gork and his dragons are a very interesting alien species that have the characteristics of typical dragons with their wings and tails and scales and claws and breathing fire and just plain fie Hilarious, cute (at least to me) adventure in finding love with the young Gork. The authors take on dragons is wholly original. These aren't your typical dragons, either as destructive creatures hording treasure and demanding maidens and being slain by knights or as respected creatures of magic and wisdom. Gork and his dragons are a very interesting alien species that have the characteristics of typical dragons with their wings and tails and scales and claws and breathing fire and just plain fierceness but with an intelligence similar to humans, a more militarized society, and a huge love of poetry. Have I mentioned it's hilarious? yes? well that's cause it is lol. My only problem, and it's not much of one, was the repetition of things like "scaly green ass," the first few times it added to the humor but after that it got a little annoying. Gabe Hudson has clearly shown his talent and I'm interested to see what he does in his (hopefully very long) career. **Thanks to the publisher for inviting me to review the ARC!**
    more
  • Jenny
    June 19, 2017
    "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" is the debut novel by Gabe Hudson. "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" is about a dragon who is a member of the WarWings Military Academy of Planet Conquering, Epic Poetry Writing, and Gold Plundering for Draconum. However, Gork is not ordinary dragon he has only two horns, shy and has a lovely warm heart. Readers of "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" will follow the Gork in his quest to find a queen and reach planet Earth. I enjoy reading "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" it is different to "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" is the debut novel by Gabe Hudson. "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" is about a dragon who is a member of the WarWings Military Academy of Planet Conquering, Epic Poetry Writing, and Gold Plundering for Draconum. However, Gork is not ordinary dragon he has only two horns, shy and has a lovely warm heart. Readers of "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" will follow the Gork in his quest to find a queen and reach planet Earth. I enjoy reading "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" it is different to other books about dragons. Also, "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" is "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" is a great adventure, and it made me laugh with the antics that Gork gets up to in the book. I like the way Gabe Hudson portrayed his characters especially Gork. "Gork" is a loveable character that teens and adults will love. "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" is a great coming of age book to read not only for teens but adults would also enjoy reading this book. Also, reading "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" will help teens to realise that you do not need to be a bully or beautiful to achieve greatness. "Gork, The Teenage Dragon" is a fantasy with a little bit of romance. Gabe Hudson brilliantly intertwined dragons and machines into the story. Thanks to Knopf Publishing Group for my free copy for an honest review. I recommend this book
    more
  • Gieliza
    May 8, 2017
    OMG WHAT IS THIS AWESOMENESS? I MUST HAVE IT.
  • Mikki
    June 20, 2017
    There's a lot to be said for the world Gabe Hudson built for his teenage dragon protagonist. Dragons, for him, are a spacefaring species hellbent on colonizing other planets for the propagation of the species. There are plenty of inventive ideas here, and it's clear that Hudson put an incredible amount of work into fleshing out the Gork's universe.As for the writing style, I can't say I loved it. There was too much unnecessary repetition (specifically "my scaly green ass" -- the humor of it wore There's a lot to be said for the world Gabe Hudson built for his teenage dragon protagonist. Dragons, for him, are a spacefaring species hellbent on colonizing other planets for the propagation of the species. There are plenty of inventive ideas here, and it's clear that Hudson put an incredible amount of work into fleshing out the Gork's universe.As for the writing style, I can't say I loved it. There was too much unnecessary repetition (specifically "my scaly green ass" -- the humor of it wore off very quickly after the first five times, and there are many more phrases repeated on and on ad nauseum throughout the book) and all of the characters seemed to speak in the exact same Gork-y voice. For all that I do really admire the level of thought he'd put into his world-building, I'm going to admit that the book did not hold me and it became a chore to read after a while. Gork's quest to find a girlfriend lost its charm when I kept imagining him as a bratty teenage boy obsessing over a girl. I love fantasy, sci-fi, and dragons, but strangely, I don't think I'm the right demographic for this book.I received a copy of this book from NetGalley for my free, unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Sarah (Books Before Bandaids)
    May 19, 2017
    Gork is a dragon intent on finding his mate, but at WarWings Military Academy his social status and power ranking leave him less than desirable. Using impressive world building, Gabe Hudson delivers a timely message about self-acceptance. The message was unfortunately watered down by the overemphasis on Gork’s need to mate in order to be fully recognized. This coming of age story is full of comedic elements that are sure to delight. Note: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest Gork is a dragon intent on finding his mate, but at WarWings Military Academy his social status and power ranking leave him less than desirable. Using impressive world building, Gabe Hudson delivers a timely message about self-acceptance. The message was unfortunately watered down by the overemphasis on Gork’s need to mate in order to be fully recognized. This coming of age story is full of comedic elements that are sure to delight. Note: I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Andreea Marin
    May 30, 2017
    “For inside my scale green chest, there beats a grotesquely large and sensitive heart.”I hope this book gets turned into a children’s cartoon series because I would watch it with a lot of passion. Gork: the Teenage Dragon, is Gabe Hudson’s debut middle-grade fantasy novel. The narrative follows a dragon named Gork who, you guessed it, is a teenager. What’s particularly charming about this novel is its snappy humour. Gork narrates his story and in the first chapter he establishes himself as:“My f “For inside my scale green chest, there beats a grotesquely large and sensitive heart.”I hope this book gets turned into a children’s cartoon series because I would watch it with a lot of passion. Gork: the Teenage Dragon, is Gabe Hudson’s debut middle-grade fantasy novel. The narrative follows a dragon named Gork who, you guessed it, is a teenager. What’s particularly charming about this novel is its snappy humour. Gork narrates his story and in the first chapter he establishes himself as:“My first name is Gork, my middle name is The, and my last name is Terrible, and like I said, I’m a dragon, plus I’m a poet”But not before criticizing Beowulf and Tolkien to no end for their bad portrayal of dragons. He says:“Mr. Tolkien was a real low-hearted sonuvabitch.”Gork is in high school at WarWings Military Academy where he is a little different than the other dragons. He is afraid of heights, and really does have a large heart. His nickname is: Weak Sauce. His main purpose in this novel is to find himself a queen, for if he fails to do so he will become a slave forever.Maybe I read Spinster, and All the Single Ladies too closely together this year and only in the last month, but this ‘despair’ that young Gork has throughout this novel really resembled for me the pressures society put on women in the past. You must find a husband or be ridiculed as a ‘spinster’ or enslaved in various other forms. I hope I’m not reading incorrectly into this children’s book, but this is the first time I’ve read a book where the male character is forced, nay, obliged and in ardent despair to find himself a partner. While other books have shown this dynamic from a male perspective, never with such urgency, and I’ve personally never encountered it in children’s literature. Well done Gabe Hudson!Politics aside, I must return to the humour. This book is so funny. I found it funny as an adult who is quite in love with dragons and I wonder how the children would take this same humour. There’s something in his voice that echoes Lemony Snicket for me, though his publishers insist that it’s ‘Harry Potter meets Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.’ Either way, I suggest we, the readers, allow Hudson to have his own voice through Gork. I also enjoyed the ways he doesn’t shy away from swearing a little bit (never vulgar though). Highly recommend! I would also suggest that parents read this book aloud to their children, or librarians to their students at circle reading time. It’s a great bonding book! I look forward to Hudson’s future novels.
    more
  • S.E. Anderson
    June 2, 2017
    What an odd but riveting book!As I started to read the novel, I thought "ok, this is not for me. Probably someone in High School or Middle School would like it more." But then, the book was stuck in my hand: I couldn't put it down, and even after finishing the book i can't put my finger on why!The world building was spectacular. What's not to love about technically advanced Dragons with spaceships? Gork is witty and fun, and his world is interesting and totally off the wall crazy. It's great! I What an odd but riveting book!As I started to read the novel, I thought "ok, this is not for me. Probably someone in High School or Middle School would like it more." But then, the book was stuck in my hand: I couldn't put it down, and even after finishing the book i can't put my finger on why!The world building was spectacular. What's not to love about technically advanced Dragons with spaceships? Gork is witty and fun, and his world is interesting and totally off the wall crazy. It's great! I loved the creativity there.But the plot wasn't my cup of tea, and the ending got me a little confused. The author has a habit of repeating himself/certain plot points that made me eye-roll. Yet I'm still unsure about a few things? I have questions!But there was just something I couldn't connect with, and I bet other readers will instead latch on and go crazy about it. It was a good book, but just not my type, personally. I would seriously recommend this to teens 8th-10th grade!
    more
  • Caroline
    June 26, 2017
    DNF @ 10%.Thanks to the author, publisher, and NetGalley for the chance to read this book. Unfortunately it was NOT for me. I love dragons, but dragons in space took things a little too far for me. I suppose I should have known I'd hate it just from the comparison to The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy - which I hated. *shrugs* Cool cover though.
    more
  • Emily Moore
    May 31, 2017
    One Luscious Fantasy ReadBeowulf and The Hobbit got sooo much wrong about dragons. But thankfully for us, Gork is here to set us all straight here on Planet Earth. He’s on a mission to find his Queen, make some eggs, fly across the universe and conquer some planets. Gork is a fantastically fun read that reminded me a lot of an 80s high school movie. You’ve got our nerdy, cape-wearing hero with a Will to Power rank of Snackalicious. Fribby, the best friend who is also a robot. Rucinta is the lusc One Luscious Fantasy ReadBeowulf and The Hobbit got sooo much wrong about dragons. But thankfully for us, Gork is here to set us all straight here on Planet Earth. He’s on a mission to find his Queen, make some eggs, fly across the universe and conquer some planets. Gork is a fantastically fun read that reminded me a lot of an 80s high school movie. You’ve got our nerdy, cape-wearing hero with a Will to Power rank of Snackalicious. Fribby, the best friend who is also a robot. Rucinta is the luscious love interest. And a whole bunch of people who want Gork dead. In fact, he’s only got about a .1% chance of making it out alive. Being 16 is hard and Gork reminded me of that. Entertaining and whimsical. This is the fantasy book that stands out from the pack.Thwack-ThwackI'm providing this review in return for an ARC through NetGalley.
    more
  • Melissa McGuire
    June 14, 2017
    This is not a book about dragons I was expecting. It was even better. These dragons have spaceships and a lot of robots. This a a cute love story kinda thing. The dragonette that Gork ended up giving his crown to did not surprise me at all I knew it would be her from the beginning but the ending did surprise me a bit. I really enjoyed this book it kept me intrigued
    more
  • Melissa
    May 25, 2017
    I received an advance copy of Gork! The teenage dragon from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. I really wanted to like this book; I had some high hopes going in the synopsis sounded amazing and I LOVE dragons. However I guess my own high hopes were to blame since I could just not get into this story. While there was some excellent world building, and the stories pace was good. It is a coming of age story and has some good messages about friendship, bullies, and self-acceptance. Overal I received an advance copy of Gork! The teenage dragon from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. I really wanted to like this book; I had some high hopes going in the synopsis sounded amazing and I LOVE dragons. However I guess my own high hopes were to blame since I could just not get into this story. While there was some excellent world building, and the stories pace was good. It is a coming of age story and has some good messages about friendship, bullies, and self-acceptance. Overall I just could not get into the narrative voice of this tale.
    more
  • Courts & Castles Books
    May 29, 2017
    Review on Instagram @courtsandcastlesbooks
  • Bekka
    May 14, 2017
    Weirdly wonderful and wonderfully weird! I've never read anything like it!
  • Amber
    June 6, 2017
    On the younger side of YA, but it had a dragon narrator and was laugh out loud funny at times. I received an ecopy of this book through Netgalley; however, my opinions are my own.
  • Tabi Card
    May 26, 2017
    Why not.
  • Elana
    June 7, 2017
    Note: I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This book is written from the perspective of a somewhat bratty, very hormonal teenage dragon. Hudson captures that viewpoint perfectly. I guess I'm just not into somewhat bratty, very hormonal teenage dragons. I get that all the characters are scaly and green (asses and other parts), so the repetition got on my nerves a little bit. The book seems to be well written for a young adult audience. I'm not part o Note: I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This book is written from the perspective of a somewhat bratty, very hormonal teenage dragon. Hudson captures that viewpoint perfectly. I guess I'm just not into somewhat bratty, very hormonal teenage dragons. I get that all the characters are scaly and green (asses and other parts), so the repetition got on my nerves a little bit. The book seems to be well written for a young adult audience. I'm not part of that crowd. All in all, a good book that just isn't for me.
    more
  • Rosie Rizk
    May 16, 2017
    To summarize this book, I'd say it's about a society of technologically advanced dragons seeking world domination, but the main focus of the book is on this one dragon finding a mate. What I didn't like was the focus of the story - which was Gork trying to ask his "queen" to mate with him - (kinda like asking a girl out to prom) all the while revving himself up, since he's such a loser for a dragon. If this is supposed to be YA, it's a very disturbing focus. Because Gork is a dragon instead of h To summarize this book, I'd say it's about a society of technologically advanced dragons seeking world domination, but the main focus of the book is on this one dragon finding a mate. What I didn't like was the focus of the story - which was Gork trying to ask his "queen" to mate with him - (kinda like asking a girl out to prom) all the while revving himself up, since he's such a loser for a dragon. If this is supposed to be YA, it's a very disturbing focus. Because Gork is a dragon instead of human teen, it does read better than a human teen looking to mate, but still - the idea is just wrong. I didn't like the writing style either. It felt like I was watching an annoying superhero movie with lots of screaming and hyper people. But that's just the feeling I got, and everyone has their own preferences.On the other hand, I was really impressed with the way the author developed the world setting and other plot lines hidden behind Gork's search for a queen. It's really well written with great ideas, but the way it was all conveyed ruined it for me. I hope others appreciate it though. It's definitely a unique work. I think if you like graphic novels, you'll enjoy reading this. There are no graphics, but the style reads at a similar pace.Disclaimer: I received a free copy through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Rosemary
    June 29, 2017
    Gork's a dragon, but don't even think about mentioning Smaug to him. He's not happy at all with the way dragons are portrayed in Earth fiction, and he's here to set the record straight. So begins the story of Gork: teenage dragon, student at WarWings Academy, orphaned on Earth during his parents' mating mission and raised by his scientist grandfather, Dr. Terrible.Starting off on Crown Day - the day dragon and dragonette cadets at the Academy agree to be mating partners - Gork has one goal in mi Gork's a dragon, but don't even think about mentioning Smaug to him. He's not happy at all with the way dragons are portrayed in Earth fiction, and he's here to set the record straight. So begins the story of Gork: teenage dragon, student at WarWings Academy, orphaned on Earth during his parents' mating mission and raised by his scientist grandfather, Dr. Terrible.Starting off on Crown Day - the day dragon and dragonette cadets at the Academy agree to be mating partners - Gork has one goal in mind: to get the luscious Runcita Floop to wear his crown and agree to be his queen. The problem? His nickname is Weak Sauce, his Will to Power ranking is Snacklicious (if you're a gamer, think of Will to Power as a CON/DEX/overall attractiveness level) and he's got a bad habit of fainting when he's scared. If Runcita says yes, she and Gork will go off in his spaceship and find a planet to conquer together. If Gork can't sea the deal, he's doomed to be a slave.Gork has a heck of a day ahead of him: Dean Floop - his intended's father - hates him; his sadistic grandfather is on the run from the Dean, he's being hunted down by a group of WarWings cadets that have murder on their minds, and the Trenx, a fellow cadet who had similarly low ratings, has seemingly blossomed overnight. Before the day is out, Gork will have to survive and learn some hard truths about his family. He'd better keep his best friend - a robot dragon named Fribby - by his side.Gork is an out-there novel. It's a page-turner, and Gork is an endearing first-person narrator, if a bit single-minded in focus. He's obsessed with mating, but he is a teenager, after all. He refers a lot to his "scaly green ass" a lot, which gets tedious. Gork's story uses fantasy to tackle some very real points: bullying, friendship, self-esteem, and falling in love. It's a much deeper novel than the title "teenage dragon"encompasses; it's a fantasy, a YA romance, and a coming of age story.
    more
  • Jake
    June 30, 2017
    A promising beginning, a tedious middle, a good climax and a nice ending. I didn't love it, but I can see it striking a chord with certain audiences. Might be destined to be a future cult classic. Might also be the best cover art of the year so far.The best part? Dragon high school is kinda like human high school, but more, shall we say, metal. Like, if your a human high school student, you would be in a heap o' shit for assaulting your school's security guard. But if your a dragon, going into a A promising beginning, a tedious middle, a good climax and a nice ending. I didn't love it, but I can see it striking a chord with certain audiences. Might be destined to be a future cult classic. Might also be the best cover art of the year so far.The best part? Dragon high school is kinda like human high school, but more, shall we say, metal. Like, if your a human high school student, you would be in a heap o' shit for assaulting your school's security guard. But if your a dragon, going into a threat display towards the chief of security and blasting his cage with a firebolt is the kind of thing that's encouraged. It'll probably even score you some points with the luscious dragon babes! Fine print: This was an ARC and might differ from the final product.
    more
  • Darcy Rohwer
    June 28, 2017
    A strange little book. The story takes place almost entirely over one day, but with 1 million flashbacks. There was a fair amount of telling instead of showing (vaguely irksome). The first half of the book feels a little like TV show writing (small episodes of mayhem with little connection to the over arching plot) in fact the whole book felt like a 2 season TV show. First season is weird one off episodes tentatively attached & then the 2nd season rushes to fill in the actual plot. Its a fun A strange little book. The story takes place almost entirely over one day, but with 1 million flashbacks. There was a fair amount of telling instead of showing (vaguely irksome). The first half of the book feels a little like TV show writing (small episodes of mayhem with little connection to the over arching plot) in fact the whole book felt like a 2 season TV show. First season is weird one off episodes tentatively attached & then the 2nd season rushes to fill in the actual plot. Its a fun and interesting premise though & the language is enjoyable.
    more
  • Andrew Campbell
    June 27, 2017
    Lots of world-building, naming of and describing fantastical things that are assumed to be amusing and just... aren't. Was annoyed with the narrative voice by the third chapter, and found the stated goals and obstacles of Gork's quests arbitrary and dull.Also: A sassy space robot? Really?Maybe if as a kid I'd played D&D ? Best- and yet faintest -praise I can give: would be more interesting as a video game.
    more
  • Greg Zimmerman
    June 24, 2017
    Basically fine. Probably 3.5. Often laugh-out-loud funny, sometimes guffaw-worthy, and then some eye-rolling. In need of some trimming and tightening, especially in the latter half.
  • Liz Overberg
    June 30, 2017
    At first, this book is delightfully funny with a Douglas Adams / Piers Anthony vibe. Then it goes on about 250 pages too long.
  • Christopher
    May 24, 2017
    This just never quite worked for me, but damn I wanted it to. Love the idea. Maybe my own high hopes are to blame here.
Write a review