Grave Ransom (Alex Craft, #5)
In the thrilling fifth book in the USA Today bestselling Alex Craft series, Alex comes face to face with the walking dead.Grave witch Alex Craft is no stranger to the dead talking. She raises shades, works with ghosts, and is dating Death himself. But the dead walking? That’s not supposed to happen. And yet, reanimated corpses are committing crimes across Nekros City.Alex’s investigation leads her deep into a web of sinister magic. When Briar Darque of the Magical Crimes Investigation Bureau gets involved, Alex finds herself with an unexpected ally of sorts. But as the dead continue to rise and wreak havoc on the living, can Alex get to the soul of the matter in time?

Grave Ransom (Alex Craft, #5) Details

TitleGrave Ransom (Alex Craft, #5)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherAce
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Fairies, Fae, Magic

Grave Ransom (Alex Craft, #5) Review

  • Mlpmom (Book Reviewer)
    June 7, 2017
    There are very few series that focus heavily on the fae that hold my interest and yet, The Alex Craft series has from the very beginning and with each new installment, I still can't seem to get enough of it. I think the blend of witch craft, a different kind of supernatural world, and of course the fae, all somehow make such an interesting read that I can't help but be sucked in by it. And while this series isn't unique in design, it does have some very unique elements and therefore, holds its o There are very few series that focus heavily on the fae that hold my interest and yet, The Alex Craft series has from the very beginning and with each new installment, I still can't seem to get enough of it. I think the blend of witch craft, a different kind of supernatural world, and of course the fae, all somehow make such an interesting read that I can't help but be sucked in by it. And while this series isn't unique in design, it does have some very unique elements and therefore, holds its own in the urban fantasy genre.With a rag tag bunch of friends and people who aren't quite friends and not quite enemies, this series really is a fun one. With old faces (yay Briar!), new adventures, and a little bit of heartbreak along the way, this was a solid addition to the series and while I still wish somethings about Alex, would finally be mentioned and cleared up, it was nice to see Alex develop her powers and use them in new unexpected ways. With an ending that was less than happily ever after, it will be interesting to see where the author takes Alex, her love interests, and her friends next. This continues to be a series that I can count on for a fun time and will always give me a bit of the unexpected and unanticipated. *ARC provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Beth
    April 16, 2017
    I really enjoyed Price’s storytelling and I love the characters, the gang is all here but I don’t see much deeper developments with anyone in particular…especially after that ending.New twists and an unexpected turn or two, that are sure to leave a few scars. Price writes vivid and colorful characters, thought provoking plots and adds an imaginative flare that keeps me coming back for more.I received this ARC copy of Grave Ransom from Berkley Publishing Group - Ace. This is my honest and volunta I really enjoyed Price’s storytelling and I love the characters, the gang is all here but I don’t see much deeper developments with anyone in particular…especially after that ending.New twists and an unexpected turn or two, that are sure to leave a few scars. Price writes vivid and colorful characters, thought provoking plots and adds an imaginative flare that keeps me coming back for more.I received this ARC copy of Grave Ransom from Berkley Publishing Group - Ace. This is my honest and voluntary review. Grave Ransom is set for publication July 4, 2017.My Rating: 4 starsWritten by: Kalayna PriceSeries: An Alex Craft Novel Sequence in Series: Book 5Mass Market Paperback: 384 pagesPublisher: Ace Publication Date: July 4, 2017ISBN-10: 0451416589ISBN-13: 978-0451416582Genre: Urban FantasyItunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/grav...Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Grave-Ransom-A...Barnes & Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/grav...Reviewed for:http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Marta Cox
    July 5, 2017
    I always enjoy a book about Alex and the world she lives in but admit it's often hard waiting a year in between each instalment . So I cracked this baby open with glee ready to find out what new cases Tongues for the Dead would be tackling. Right from the offset Alex is dragged into an unusual situation with a soul inside a dead body that clearly doesn't belong to it! As if that wasn't spooky enough soon other animated corpses show up hell bent on theft and pretty soon Alex crosses paths with th I always enjoy a book about Alex and the world she lives in but admit it's often hard waiting a year in between each instalment . So I cracked this baby open with glee ready to find out what new cases Tongues for the Dead would be tackling. Right from the offset Alex is dragged into an unusual situation with a soul inside a dead body that clearly doesn't belong to it! As if that wasn't spooky enough soon other animated corpses show up hell bent on theft and pretty soon Alex crosses paths with the reapers whose job it is to claim those souls. You just know it's all going to go pear shaped but still Alex has to make a stand even if that means she's on the wrong side of 'Death' her lover! I love this series and yet this time it lacked a little something for me. The action and mystery was fabulous because crazy necromancers always have a lot up their sleeves and this time it's both heinous and more than a little poignant. My problem is I wanted more of 'Death' , Alex's protector and boyfriend. He has sacrificed so much for her previously that I'd really hoped they would actually get a happy ending but as this book ends I'm definitely not a happy reader.Still I do enjoy the crazy family that Alex has created and this time the gangs all here! Plus Alex is learning more about her own heritage and powers which are truly tested here . The fact that her ex lover Falin is constantly around acting as a spy for his Queen just adds to the tension and the word frenemy has never been more appropriate as Alex treads a wary path between freedom and the Fae court. Plus in this book we get a lot more of total bad ass Briar and trust me that's one scary lady. Lots of twists to keep me turning the pages but that end whilst not totally unexpected leaves me wondering just what will happen next?This voluntary take is of a copy I requested from Netgalley and my thoughts and comments are my honest and I believe fair opinion
    more
  • Ally
    January 7, 2013
    Why is the 5th book coming out BEFORE the 4th book? AGAIN with the mistakes GOODREADS, really? The look of disdain on my face right now... hmmphEDIT- They fixed it. You're welcome Goodreads
  • Shelley
    June 20, 2017
    *Source* Publisher*Genre* Urban Fantasy*Rating* 4.0*MY Thoughts*Grave Ransom is the fifth installment in author Kalayna Price's Alex Craft series. Set in the fictitious world of Nekros City, Alex is a character who is a grave witch. She can raise shades & talk to ghosts in order to solve cases. Alex and her partner Rianna run a business known as Tongues for the Dead which more often than not deals with mundane issues like finding lost things or people. The issue at hand for Alex in this stor *Source* Publisher*Genre* Urban Fantasy*Rating* 4.0*MY Thoughts*Grave Ransom is the fifth installment in author Kalayna Price's Alex Craft series. Set in the fictitious world of Nekros City, Alex is a character who is a grave witch. She can raise shades & talk to ghosts in order to solve cases. Alex and her partner Rianna run a business known as Tongues for the Dead which more often than not deals with mundane issues like finding lost things or people. The issue at hand for Alex in this story, is that the dead are walking the streets causing trouble wherever they go, and it's just in ways that you might imagine. *Full Review @ Gizmos Reviews*http://gizmosreviews.blogspot.com/201...
    more
  • RachelW (BamaGal)
    April 25, 2017
    Very nice entry to the series. Price is (so far) staying true to the tone of the previous books. The case this time...well, there's several things going on; but it starts when a young woman hires Alex to find her missing boyfriend. When Alex does find him, it's just in time to see him killed...and a female ghost pops out of his body. Alex spends most of the book working with the magical crimes agent Briar Darque. There are lots of twists and turns as they try to get to the bottom of the mystery. Very nice entry to the series. Price is (so far) staying true to the tone of the previous books. The case this time...well, there's several things going on; but it starts when a young woman hires Alex to find her missing boyfriend. When Alex does find him, it's just in time to see him killed...and a female ghost pops out of his body. Alex spends most of the book working with the magical crimes agent Briar Darque. There are lots of twists and turns as they try to get to the bottom of the mystery. There are also a lot of weird happenings that left me wondering, even as I knew it would lead back to the original case eventually. It just seemed to take an inordinately long time pulling the threads together. Still, it was all good and I enjoyed the read. It's definitely an inventive tale with very good wordbuilding.It's taken me until this book to realize what is different about this series from other series of this type. There is really not much in the way of an overarching plotline to the series; there is just a new case to be solved each book. Sure, the gang is all there; and the vagueness of the love triangle, but these things are never deeply explored. It's just the case at hand. Not that this is a bad thing, mind you; it's just an observation. There is an event at the end that portends a change in the next book; but it's something that felt a bit tacked on to keep the reader interest.
    more
  • Melliane
    June 23, 2017
    Mon avis en FrançaisMy ENglish reviewI always enjoy all the volumes of the series and I was curious to launch myself in this new volume. Well, it’s true that my memory wasn’t that good regarding the story, but I still had a great time.We therefore find Alex for a whole new story. She, who thought she already saw everything, will face many new problems. Indeed, it would seem that bodies are wandering with souls that are not theirs. And of course, Alex is often around when this happens! Passing f Mon avis en FrançaisMy ENglish reviewI always enjoy all the volumes of the series and I was curious to launch myself in this new volume. Well, it’s true that my memory wasn’t that good regarding the story, but I still had a great time.We therefore find Alex for a whole new story. She, who thought she already saw everything, will face many new problems. Indeed, it would seem that bodies are wandering with souls that are not theirs. And of course, Alex is often around when this happens! Passing from suspect to police adviser, the young woman will attract more attention than she would have liked. She will have to push her powers to the maximum to discover the truth!I enjoyed following the survey and I was curious to know the reasons for all these experiments. Everything that these bodies do seems very strange and it is true that I did not expect such an explanation. Alex also has to deal with the problems of her personal life and especially with Falin, or even Death. We know that her relationship with Death is tricky and we will see how fine the limits are as well. It was, however, a pleasure to see them both.The end of the story saddened me but I am curious to see what will happen now. A very good new novel.
    more
  • Mara
    July 9, 2017
    I wonder if the damage is going to get real sooner or later, and why they survived worse, but can't survive this...
  • Oru Citruz
    April 24, 2016
    “Al, what did you do now?” Caleb’s agitated voice asked in the message. “Why did Rianna just walk out of a castle that materialized in my backyard?”Oops. Apparently, now that I had my independent status, Faerie had moved my castle out of limbo and into my new territory: the mortal realm.-The end of book 4-I really really reaaallyyy truly need book 5. NOW
    more
  • Christina
    July 1, 2017
    Check out my review at Girls With Books
  • Nusejka
    March 29, 2013
    well, yeah, excuse me if I'm a bit sceptical about the 5th book releasing in 2016 :D
  • Gabrielle Nicole
    July 9, 2017
    Kinda disappointed with the author, I imagined that from the last book this one would have more of a flow in character development or at least the story in itself. But really this just seemed like the author was like, welp I need to keep my readers interested so let's just throw this bland book in and add just enough interest to keep them hooked till the end. Don't get me wrong though I love the story and the characters and was it entertaining, well sure. But it was just like the whole book and Kinda disappointed with the author, I imagined that from the last book this one would have more of a flow in character development or at least the story in itself. But really this just seemed like the author was like, welp I need to keep my readers interested so let's just throw this bland book in and add just enough interest to keep them hooked till the end. Don't get me wrong though I love the story and the characters and was it entertaining, well sure. But it was just like the whole book and characters where stuck in limbo, no actual growth was seen except a small trickle. (You'll have to read the book and see for yourself) just kinda tired I guess of the whole everyone walking all over her, and pretty much fucking with Alex's life. It's like she's in a rollercoaster and someone else has the controls , she's just along for the ride. Also the whole love triangle thing, getting tired of it too since there's no new information of who death is, what his end goals are, and Falin is the same story. At least Falin is marginally more involved and takes care of her but does he do it for her or because he's the queens bloody hand? I think the only thing that I was really like holy shit that's cool was the castle, wish I had my own faery castle! Also does anyone else think that Briar is an annoying bitch, god I wanted to put my fist in her face a couple times. I think literally my thoughts after I finished reading the book where, wow this book was sad, and not like oh wow it's heart wrenching sad it made me feels all sorts of emotions. No it was the bad kind of sad that made me feel like I don't really want to read the next book. If it weren't that I genuinely like Alex Craft and her world I probably wouldn't read the next , but alas I do and I'm hoping for a better 6th book.
    more
  • Amanda
    July 5, 2017
    SO GOOD. Like, want to re-read it right meow. 😂
  • Minx -The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    April 14, 2017
    Alex Craft and her partner Rianna run the Tongues for the Dead detective agency and Grave Ransom starts out with Alex taking on the agency’s first missing persons case. Alex and Rianna have a pretty good business going and balance each other out nicely. Rianna is the spell caster and raises shades mostly, while Alex takes on cases that don’t involve using her grave witch, able to see/feel/speak to the dead, capabilities.All grave witches take a hit on their eye sight when they use their powers b Alex Craft and her partner Rianna run the Tongues for the Dead detective agency and Grave Ransom starts out with Alex taking on the agency’s first missing persons case. Alex and Rianna have a pretty good business going and balance each other out nicely. Rianna is the spell caster and raises shades mostly, while Alex takes on cases that don’t involve using her grave witch, able to see/feel/speak to the dead, capabilities.All grave witches take a hit on their eye sight when they use their powers but for Alex it is magnified. In addition to being a grave witch Alex is also a plane weaver, able to see onto different planes of reality, and that combination is harder on Alex’s eyes. In fact, in some cases uses her grave witch powers gives her temporary blindness. As if that were not enough it was also recently discovered that she is Fae as well. There is a lot going on with this character.Her client, Rachel, is a teenager that has hired Alex to find her missing boyfriend. This should have been an easy enough task. With the help of her partner’s skills in spell casting, Alex is able to use a charm that allows her to track the boyfriend. Nothing about this missing person case makes any sense as from the start Alex feels as if the charm is sending her in two different directions. As it turns out, this is no easy missing persons case. There is foul magic in play and Alex is up against a necromancer that will stop at nothing to achieve their goal.If things weren’t tough enough, brought in to investigate the crime of who is using reanimated corpses to commit robberies across the city, Briar Darque of the Magical Crimes Investigation Bureau enlists the assistance of Alex in the most heinous way. Forced into a tumultuous partnership with Briar which quickly becomes a two for one deal when Falin steps in to provide protection for Alex. He is under an obligation to his Queen to make sure that no harm befalls Alex and when it becomes apparent that Briars actions put Alex in harm’s way he is forced into the position of her bodyguard. Between you and me though, I think he does not really mind at all 😁.Now Alex must work with the authorities to solve the mystery of why people are being raised from the dead in order to carry out the whims of a sinister mastermind. This is a foe that will tax the limits of Alex’s strength as well force her into challenging what she believed was the extent of her abilities. Through this testing, it becomes clear that Alex is stronger than she ever knew. With the aid of her friends and her boyfriend, Death, Alex embarks on a dangerous quest to get to the bottom of this mystery.There is a bit of a backstory with this novel. Alex is Fae but she has been given independent status but it also comes with her past “sometimes” lover Falin being forced to reside in the castle that was given to Alex. This castle has been annexed out of limbo and into the mortal realm which is now connected with the house that Alex has lived in for the past several years. She has a current love interest, known as Death, but they are breaking all the rules by being together. All of this is woven throughout the story but really the main plot of the book is the case. Everything else just adds to the story.I really liked that Grave Ransom did not get bogged down by trying to add too much extra material. I liked the idea of the castle being both in the mortal realm but still connected to the fae realm. I loved the ideas that had been introduced there but I wish that part had been developed more. I would have loved to have seen what happened with the gardens. The ending was not what I expected but it did leave room for future avenues for the story to turn down. Grave Ransom definitely kept my interest with the action and storyline development but left me with little in the way of emotional feels. Overall, it is a good read that has a fabulous mystery that keeps you guessing until the final reveal.This review is based on a complimentary book I received from NetGalley. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no way affected my review or rating.Want to read and excerpt? Find this review and more at The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    more
  • *~*Lauren from Saints & Sinners Books*~*
    April 20, 2017
    It’s been a few days since I finished Grave Ransom, and I am still left with a little confusion on how I feel about this book. On one hand, it was great to see Alex and her magic back in the forefront of the story. The fourth left me a little wanting after such a long time away from Alex and company’s adventures. I put a lot of hope on stake for this series on Grave Ransom. It delivered for the pieces I had hoped to see come back into the central part of the story, but one particular scene has It’s been a few days since I finished Grave Ransom, and I am still left with a little confusion on how I feel about this book. On one hand, it was great to see Alex and her magic back in the forefront of the story. The fourth left me a little wanting after such a long time away from Alex and company’s adventures. I put a lot of hope on stake for this series on Grave Ransom. It delivered for the pieces I had hoped to see come back into the central part of the story, but one particular scene has left me a little lost. Since I received this book so early, I don’t want to comment directly on the piece that I didn’t like. Instead, I will let readers reserve judgement on their own. The only comment I do wish to make is that this particular part seemed like a cop out on something that has been building for four books. The abruptness of it has left me somewhat jaded and unsure what to think going forward. Does it mean this is the last Alex Craft book for me? No because I love this series and I want to see where it all ends just like any devoted reader. My only hope is that with the next book my questions will find absolution.
    more
  • Jessica (a GREAT read)
    July 11, 2017
    I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest and voluntary review. I was in no way compensated for this review.I am happy to see that the Alex Craft series is back in action! Kalayna Price is an amazing author and I always love returning to her worlds. Grave Ransom is the latest adventure Alex and her friends partake in, and let me tell you, there are zombies!! Okay, they’re considered reanimated corpses, but come on, it’s zombies!! Naturally I couldn’t really remember what’ I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest and voluntary review. I was in no way compensated for this review.I am happy to see that the Alex Craft series is back in action! Kalayna Price is an amazing author and I always love returning to her worlds. Grave Ransom is the latest adventure Alex and her friends partake in, and let me tell you, there are zombies!! Okay, they’re considered reanimated corpses, but come on, it’s zombies!! Naturally I couldn’t really remember what’s happened with Alex lately. Even though I’m back on track with being a year in between reads, this was before my notorious notetaking! Thankfully, though we do get some continuance of personal details with characters, this is still a series where every book is a fresh start. At least in the continuity area, the series continues to have a one and done mystery per book with just a few little things that carry over through each book, so my memory loss isn’t the death of me with this one, thankfully! LOL!Alex soon discovers that there’s someone around town who is raising shades and putting them into other dead bodies. Basically ghosts are inhabiting bodies that aren’t their own and are running errands for this mysterious necromancer. When Alex also takes a case to locate a missing person, a teenage boyfriend from the girlfriend who says he’s gone missing, she’ll quickly learn that the cases are related. And as more and more reanimated bodies continue to show up, committing crimes, no less, the hunt for the alleged necromancer takes underway.I love how fresh and different this series is! It’s not like any other I’ve read before. And I read a lot of paranormal books! Lol! It’s sad to say that the Urban Fantasy genre is slowly dying down. It had its heyday a few years back and I was in heaven! And then suddenly the books all started coming out less and less. Sometimes it’s authors wanting to write something different after so many years and other times it’s due to low sales. This saddens me. I frequent between my YA and adult read and seeing a lack of Urban Fantasy books, the genre that I turned to once I saw a lack of Paranormal YA books, kills a piece of my soul. It’s just not fair. But I am pleased that I have series that are still in the running like the Alex Craft series!This is Urban Fantasy at its purest! You have a kickbutt heroine who’s got a bit of snarky side—which is my personal favorite kind of trait, a world filled with magic, there’s ghosts, fae, Death! It has so many wonderful paranormal elements! The plots are always engaging and are always more than what they appear to be at surface glance! There’s great relationships between friends and lovers. Alex is still trying to make a relationship with Death work, while also knowing her former lover, Falin, still works for the faery queen! It’s rife with tension.Also being Urban Fantasy, the romance and its many complications, is only a vague part of the story. And this is why I turned to Urban Fantasy all those years ago. I kept finding Paranormal Romance books and expected Urban Fantasy out of them instead they always surrounded the plot on the romance, here in Urban Fantasy the romance is merely an element of the story. Although, that being said, I was kind of upset Death wasn’t around more. Sure he’s busy being an agent of Death and all. And it’s not that I was looking for the “lovin” moments, but just Death himself. But as I recall he was an infrequent visitor to Alex’s life which can be a problem.Alex continues to navigate her newfound fae nature (that might have been more than a few books back, but it does seem she’s still learning the ropes and is coming into her own) with her friends beside her. She’s adapted to some of the new things pretty well, though sometimes the urge to say “thank you” still comes up! I know I would likely never be able to get over that one! I was raised to be polite, what can I say?! LOL!Grave Ransom is the latest in the incredible Urban Fantasy series, Alex Craft, by Kalanya Price! This is not one to be missed for it’s an epic and smashing read! I cannot wait to read more from this series as Kalayna has already been cemented as one of my favorite authors years ago with her other series Haven! Overall Rating 4.5/5 stars
    more
  • mlady_rebecca
    July 6, 2017
    She stared at me a moment, and then a smile cracked across her face. “I like you, Craft. Not that I’m about to gossip about shoes or purses or whatever girlfriends talk about.” “I often discuss dead bodies with my best girlfriends.” Briar looked like she might choke on her coffee. I shrugged. “My best girlfriends include a medical examiner, a prosecutor, and a grave witch.” And my best guy friends were a soul collector and an assassin. We sure sounded like a morbid bunch, huh?***As the book open She stared at me a moment, and then a smile cracked across her face. “I like you, Craft. Not that I’m about to gossip about shoes or purses or whatever girlfriends talk about.” “I often discuss dead bodies with my best girlfriends.” Briar looked like she might choke on her coffee. I shrugged. “My best girlfriends include a medical examiner, a prosecutor, and a grave witch.” And my best guy friends were a soul collector and an assassin. We sure sounded like a morbid bunch, huh?***As the book opens, Alex is sitting at an outdoor cafe with her medical examiner bestie when she sees a man walking across the street who hits her radar as dead. She follows him into a museum only to get trapped with him in a magical theft ward. Trapped in close proximity to a walking corpse, her grave sense frantically reaches for the dead, only to find a soul under the man's skin, and not the soul that belongs to the body in front of her. Her gift evicts the soul and when the ward is taken down, the body collapses. The soul ferried off to where souls go by a soul collector. Just to reconnect to the series, this is an open universe where magic abounds, similar to Kim Harrison's Hallows. Alex is -- to the mortal world -- a wyrd witch, a grave witch, her gift a kind of intrinsic magic which much be used. Think Anita Blake, though necromancer has a completely different flavor in this series. Alex is in reality fae and a planeweaver -- an individual able to influence all planes of reality.In the last book Alex inherited a castle existing in a fold of space that is both faerie and mortal realm. Her old home lies empty, a mere atrium for the entrance to the fold in space containing her castle.In ye old love triangle, Death is largely absent, though the book opens with them officially a couple. Falin, on the other hand, is largely present, though relegated to friend/colleague/bodyguard.Enjoyed returning to this series.
    more
  • Cassandra
    July 10, 2017
    My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 Unicorns - I really liked it!!! ***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!! Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book!This is the 5th book in the series, but it is the first book in the series that I’m reading! It is for adults only due to the content.This is a pretty cool world filled with different magics, fae, witches, ghosts, zombies, and more. I think I would have liked this even more My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 Unicorns - I really liked it!!! ***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!! Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book!This is the 5th book in the series, but it is the first book in the series that I’m reading! It is for adults only due to the content.This is a pretty cool world filled with different magics, fae, witches, ghosts, zombies, and more. I think I would have liked this even more if I had read the rest of the books in this series because I would a lot more about the world and the characters’ histories. This world is very unique to anything else I’ve read. Alex seems to have very bad luck because it seems she is always in the wrong place at the wrong time. She definitely gets into some sticky situations and uses her creativity to get out of them. Alex is an amazing character, and I felt her emotional rollercoaster along the way. I don’t want to give the story away because I think it shouldn’t be spoiled for other readers.Kalayna has a knack for creating unique worlds that I want to read more about! Her writing is descriptive and makes the story come alive. I can’t wait to see what comes next!I recommend this to any paranormal reader who wants a unique world filled with magic and mystery!
    more
  • Robin
    July 16, 2017
    Really good. I think I liked this the best of the series so far. Also liked the personal stuff at the end. We'll see how things go with the Queens Hands. :)
  • Annika
    March 6, 2016
    I started reading this series when it was first published. And I waited for Grave Visions for years! Then, when it was *finally* published and I had the book in my hands I put off reading it, was kind of over this series to be honest. So when I got the opportunity to read an ARC for this book I decided that I needed to re-read (and read) all the previous books in this series so I’d have the first clue what was going on. And honestly? I didn’t really like any of the books all that much anymore. T I started reading this series when it was first published. And I waited for Grave Visions for years! Then, when it was *finally* published and I had the book in my hands I put off reading it, was kind of over this series to be honest. So when I got the opportunity to read an ARC for this book I decided that I needed to re-read (and read) all the previous books in this series so I’d have the first clue what was going on. And honestly? I didn’t really like any of the books all that much anymore. They were just so much better the first time aroundWhich means going into this one I didn’t have any high expectations. But I’m happy to say, I was pleasantly surprised with this book! I really enjoyed it. It’s probably my favourite yet in the series. I really liked the plot in this book, it was something new to me so I was engrossed in it. But best of all – no Falin-Death triangle drama! Both were present in the book, but no drama. I am, always have been and always will be Team Death, so I always want much more of him in the books and this one was no exception to that, I want more Death!Ok so enough of that, on to something I didn’t like. Alex is really starting to get on my nerves. She just keeps on using people to do her bidding and help her out, time after time. But she never really seem to do anything for them in return. I mean all of her friends bend over backwards to help her, breaking rules and what not and she never really cares or acknowledges it or even try to mend the rifts that forms.There were some twists and turns in this book, some that will leave repercussions to come in the next few books. And to be honest I haven’t decided what to think about it yet. Right now I’m reluctantly surprised, but on another hand I’m also surprised that I am surprised (if that makes sense).I’m looking forward to see what the next book brings.I was provided with an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Zuzana
    January 27, 2017
    Pátá Alex Craftová už má obálku. Po té jízdě ve čtvrtým dílu se na pětku moc těším.
  • Rozus
    October 9, 2016
    OMG JULY 2017???????????? I'M SOO HAPPYmy only hopeALEx AND FALIN are endgame i love the cover!!!!!!!!
  • Bambi Unbridled
    June 29, 2017
    I'm so glad that Kalayna Price is writing again, because I love the mix of fae and magic that she has created in the urban city of Nekros. In this latest installment, Alex's investigation into a missing person lands her smack in the middle of a criminal conspiracy using necromancy to further their interests. Alex and the soul catchers seem to be the only ones who can see the problem with the dead bodies walking around, so of course it will be up to her to figure things out and hope she doesn't g I'm so glad that Kalayna Price is writing again, because I love the mix of fae and magic that she has created in the urban city of Nekros. In this latest installment, Alex's investigation into a missing person lands her smack in the middle of a criminal conspiracy using necromancy to further their interests. Alex and the soul catchers seem to be the only ones who can see the problem with the dead bodies walking around, so of course it will be up to her to figure things out and hope she doesn't get dead in the process. One pesky little problem with this investigation is that Alex has a uninvited and unwanted hanger-on in the format of Briar - the over-aggressive agent of the MIB. Briar never goes anywhere without being heavily armed with magical spells and cloaking, and we get to meet her mysterious partner in this installment. I hope we see more of him in the future because I think he could be quite the interesting character. With Briar tagging along, there isn't much room left for Alex to get help from her usual friends. Falin was around quite a bit, but the rest of the gang only appeared in cameo for the most part.The kinks haven't gotten quite worked out with Alex's castle and its new location, but it will provide an interesting aspect to future stories. I do hope it brings more of the fae aspect into the story as I love the world building that is necessary for Faery.I was sad that the romance has continued to back slide, as I felt like Death and Alex were the ultimate star-crossed lovers scenario. I thought by this book, they would begin strengthening their relationship. Alas, it was not to be. I am definitely interested to see what is going to play out for our characters in the future. I love how the world and our heroine are evolving, and I think this is a series that could play out into the foreseeable future.I voluntarily reviewed an advanced copy of this book that I received from the publisher, Ace Books.
    more
  • mrsj
    July 6, 2017
    It's definitely worth the wait and a very good read.I've always love Alex and her world of weird.When I first got this book, I was worried that I am still stuck in a book slum.After chapter 2..I'm hooked and it's This book has the capability to suck you in and make you feel like you are right in the book together with Alex and make you feel every single emotion for Alex.And then there's Death .There wasn't much but it's enough. The uncontactable boyfriend.The forbidden relationship. The things It's definitely worth the wait and a very good read.I've always love Alex and her world of weird.When I first got this book, I was worried that I am still stuck in a book slum.After chapter 2..I'm hooked and it's This book has the capability to suck you in and make you feel like you are right in the book together with Alex and make you feel every single emotion for Alex.And then there's Death .There wasn't much but it's enough. The uncontactable boyfriend.The forbidden relationship. The things that go through Alex's mind.The smile that hide so much pain for Alex and Death. It hurts and it's heartbreaking.For Alex. And for Death.For many times, I wish Ms Price will write from Death's point of view.The struggle, the emotion, the love he felt for Alex.Anything to read on what's on his mind too.He said to Alex "No running, remember?" but then (view spoiler)[ he has to leave her (hide spoiler)] ....It had left me heartbroken. Not sure what to expect in Book 6 other than more dead people or more weird but I will wait patiently for it.And yes.Chocolate could fix anything. I'm gonna get myself some chocolate before I pick up another book again.
    more
  • Janna
    June 15, 2017
    YES! Alex is back and better than ever!Alex Craft is a grave witch and private eye, specializing in raising the dead and kicking some serious metaphysical butt.I've been anxiously awaiting the release of this book and nearly fell off my chair when I saw the Netgalley approval. After doing a little dance around my living room, I immediately jumped into this book and proceeded to snarl at anyone who dared to disturb me. I kept checking the percentage at the bottom of the screen, wanting to draw ou YES! Alex is back and better than ever!Alex Craft is a grave witch and private eye, specializing in raising the dead and kicking some serious metaphysical butt.I've been anxiously awaiting the release of this book and nearly fell off my chair when I saw the Netgalley approval. After doing a little dance around my living room, I immediately jumped into this book and proceeded to snarl at anyone who dared to disturb me. I kept checking the percentage at the bottom of the screen, wanting to draw out the experience and not willing the story to end.The author, Kalayna Price, is one of my favorite Urban Fantasy authors -- right up there with Kim Harrison, Patricia Briggs, Laurell K. Hamilton, Chloe Neill, Karen Marie Moning, and Christina Bauer. If you enjoy any of those authors, you should definitely check out Kalayna Price's books.The world-building in this series is phenomenal, with more intricacies to discover in each and every book. I love the inclusion of Faerie, the courts, and the different planes of existence (including the Land of the Dead). Although we didn't get to see much of Faerie this time around, the story was excellent and action-packed. I loved seeing all of the characters again and the progression of their relationships.The plot was a little bit predictable, but it didn't lessen my enjoyment of the book. I was a little surprised that Alex wasn't able to figure things out a bit sooner... after all, she seems to be a catalyst for all the excitement around her. We also were introduced to a new character -- Briar's partner -- and I have to admit, I'm curious to learn more about him. I can't help but wonder if we'll be seeing him in future books?We also said goodbye to another character... and although I cried at this part... it made sense. Only future books will tell us if it's permanent or temporary. *sniff* Dammit. I wasn't expecting it when it happened, especially because I loved that character. I won't tell you who... you have to read it to find out.So yes... this is one installment of the Alex Craft series that you won't want to miss. I fell in love with this series years ago when I first stumbled upon it. Now, here we are... five books in... and I'm just as excited with each new installment today as I was back then. That's no easy feat to keep the momentum going after five books. I can't wait for the next one!If you enjoy Urban Fantasy books, I *strongly* recommend this series. You're seriously missing out if you haven't added them to your library. On a side note -- these books really aren't intended to be read as standalone books. There's so much rich backstory and so many memorable characters that you won't want to miss... so make sure you start with the first book -- Grave Witch.Happy Reading!This review was originally posted on The Novel Lady.*Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy provided by Berkley Publishing Group via NetGalley with the sole purpose of an honest review. All thoughts, comments and ratings are my own.
    more
  • LAB☺
    July 18, 2017
    This is a great series and even with the wait we had between books it is worth it. Price is a great writer and you can really visualize what's going on in the story and there are no plot holes or "convenient" twists to make things work. Its obvious events are really thought out and tied together well. I was a little sad at what happened at the end but hey its fiction and just makes me look forward to the next book even more.
    more
  • Kerris
    July 14, 2017
    Jako vzdy skvely dil :P
  • Susan
    July 24, 2017
    In love with this series.
  • Stan
    July 15, 2017
    An complex atory that flows well.
  • Sibil
    June 19, 2017
    review to come
Write a review