Flashback (Keeper of the Lost Cities, #7)
In this unforgettable seventh book, Sophie must let the past and present blur together, because the deadliest secrets are always the ones that get erased.Sophie Foster doesn’t know what—or whom—to believe. And in a game with this many players, the worst mistake can be focusing on the wrong threat.But when the Neverseen prove that Sophie’s far more vulnerable than she ever imagined, she realizes it’s time to change the rules. Her powerful abilities can only protect her so far. To face down ruthless enemies, she must learn to fight.Unfortunately, battle training can’t help a beloved friend who’s facing a whole different danger—where the only solution involves one of the biggest risks Sophie and her friends have ever taken. And the distraction might be exactly what the villains have been waiting for.

Flashback (Keeper of the Lost Cities, #7) Details

TitleFlashback (Keeper of the Lost Cities, #7)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 6th, 2018
PublisherAladdin
ISBN-139781481497459
Rating
GenreFantasy, Childrens, Middle Grade, Young Adult

Flashback (Keeper of the Lost Cities, #7) Review

  • Shannon Messenger
    January 1, 1970
    Since my work is done with this book, it's time to mark it as read. I can't wait for you guys to read--I hope you love it. I'll confess, I'm particularly proud of this one.Oh, and just so we're clear:WHAT THE TITLE *DOES* MEAN: Memory plays a BIG role in book 7 (which you can probably guess from certain things that happened in NIGHTFALL--please don't spoil)WHAT THE TITLE DOES *NOT* MEAN: The entire book is one long flashback. Mind you, it'd be fun to mess with you guys that way, but even I'm not Since my work is done with this book, it's time to mark it as read. I can't wait for you guys to read--I hope you love it. I'll confess, I'm particularly proud of this one.Oh, and just so we're clear:WHAT THE TITLE *DOES* MEAN: Memory plays a BIG role in book 7 (which you can probably guess from certain things that happened in NIGHTFALL--please don't spoil)WHAT THE TITLE DOES *NOT* MEAN: The entire book is one long flashback. Mind you, it'd be fun to mess with you guys that way, but even I'm not *that* evil. 🤣 (this is also not a prequel. this is the seventh book, and a continuation of everything. Calling it flashback will make sense when you read)
    more
  • Nicole
    January 1, 1970
    ahhhhhhh another bookthe feels!my heart!fitz!sophie!keefe!biana!dex!tam!linh!and of course another two years of suffering
  • ☘Misericordia☘ ~ The Serendipity Aegis ~ ⚡ϟ⚡ϟ⚡⛈ ✺❂❤❣
    January 1, 1970
    DD 13 June 2018. I want it now! Gimme my KLT fix! I don't know how this series managed to have been published under my nose without me knowing about it. I know even less how I managed to stumble upon it, ungracefully, and hardly fall in love with this world. Moarrr!💝 18 June 2018: I'm SO ready to get my hands on this one! This had better be goooood!July 2018: 5-star-prerating it: I'm invoking my right of the reader expecting the n-th sequel to a series that has already produced 6 no-nonsense 5-s DD 13 June 2018. I want it now! Gimme my KLT fix! I don't know how this series managed to have been published under my nose without me knowing about it. I know even less how I managed to stumble upon it, ungracefully, and hardly fall in love with this world. Moarrr!💝 18 June 2018: I'm SO ready to get my hands on this one! This had better be goooood!July 2018: 5-star-prerating it: I'm invoking my right of the reader expecting the n-th sequel to a series that has already produced 6 no-nonsense 5-star books... I don't think this one has any chance to be any less excellent than the preceding books.DD 30 Jan 2019. Yay!Q“Ugh, you guys have really out-sparkled yourselves with this place. (c)Q“Do you think it’s weird to punish someone for crimes they don’t remember committing?” … Alvar’s future is being decided by a past he doesn’t believe is his.”(c)Qfor the first time, she understood why people often paired the word “handsome” with “devastating.” His white-blond hair grew to a dramatic widow’s peak, adding a severity to his perfectly chiseled features. But it was his eyes that demanded the most attention. Dark as a midnight sky and shining with an intensity that could only come from millennia of wisdom.(c)QI prefer the solace of home. It’s the only place where my mind doesn’t struggle to separate what is from what used to be. (c)Q...things from our past are often more than they seem.(c)Q“The lake was so serene at night, the way it reflected the stars. It was the perfect place to let my mind rest after a long day of bending the sun.”(c)Q“It’s quite tragic to think how often crucial choices come down to our best guess.”(c)Q“Generally, the most powerful plans are also the simplest.”(c)QHe was so determined to be angry that it was honestly kind of adorable. (c)QShe’d spent weeks stressing about how little they were accomplishing, and Dex had used that same time to build secret weapon stashes? (c)Q“How many weeks do you think the new guard would last before they’d run screaming back to Gildingham?” (c)Q“Everybody out! Lord Funkyhair needs a pep talk.” (c)Q“Um, are you living a double life as a creepy Shade? Because that’s who messed me up.” (c)Q“You’re saying this is a sixth element?” Magnate Leto clarified. “Earth, wind, water, fire, quintessence, and . . . shadowflux?” …Just as fire hungers and wind breathes and water roars and earth waits. I’ve never been near quintessence, but I hear it pulses. And shadowflux dreams—hovering high above, waiting for something to capture its interest. (c)QEveryone would rather sweep the knowledge away, bury it with the other bits and pieces that don’t fit within the neat box we use to define our world. But that won’t stop it from existing. Just like it won’t stop a few brave souls from reaching for the sky, calling for that pure, raw darkness. (c)QSafe nor deadly. It is all things, waiting to discover how it will be wielded. What you do with it is entirely up to you. (c)QBut darkness is vital—and not because it teaches us to appreciate the light. It’s part of everything we know, and we’ve only begun to harness its potential. (c)QA sliver of shade on a scorching day.The first wisps of a long, quiet night.The shadow of a perfect hiding space. (c)QThere’s greatness in you, Tam. But it will never amount to anything unless you embrace it. (c)QDo you realize you look like a cornered gremlin whenever you have to talk about this?Gee, thanks.What? Gremlins are cute. (c)QThe motherly alicorn insisted on sorting through Sophie’s recent memories, catching every single one of the doubts and worries that Sophie was trying to bury. And instead of the usual flying dreams, she filled Sophie’s head with images of them galloping through the white-capped rapids of a surging river—cold water crashing into them. The currents tried to drag them under, but they kept their legs moving, kept their heads above the surface because they were stronger and faster and more powerful than anything the river could throw at them. (c)QI guess the imaginary pieces of memory are all in the imaginary box now … (с)QAnd wait a minute—I just realized we’re Legacy Buddies! We should get matching tunics that say, My Legacy Is Creepier Than Yours! Or I tried to discover my legacy and all I got was this ugly tunic! (c)QThe thing is . . . talking about it made it real. And I didn’t want it to be real. I wanted to pretend my life was as perfect as yours. (c)Q“Pretty sure he’s going to be up freaking out anyway. It’ll be way more entertaining if he’s all loopy.” (с)QBut if you forget to reach out, I swear Fitz and I will find a way to smack you with our brains. (с)QA song of weathering storms.An anthem for rising up and growing stronger. (с)
    more
  • kazually
    January 1, 1970
    sophie is literally so fucking stupid i can't i wanna die.there's so many flaws in this book, there's just too many and i don't have enough brain cells to make it into a coherent review.i actually have two brain cells though which is enough to rant about how fucking repetetetive (how spell repetitive?? i searched it up lol) this sERieS is. actually though there's literally just one group of enemies and this series has 7 books with each one being like 800 pages. okay. but i guess that's what happ sophie is literally so fucking stupid i can't i wanna die.there's so many flaws in this book, there's just too many and i don't have enough brain cells to make it into a coherent review.i actually have two brain cells though which is enough to rant about how fucking repetetetive (how spell repetitive?? i searched it up lol) this sERieS is. actually though there's literally just one group of enemies and this series has 7 books with each one being like 800 pages. okay. but i guess that's what happens when the main characters are stupid as fuck (except linh, tam, bianca, and keefe (view spoiler)[keefe was actually such a jealous repetitive bitch in this book though (hide spoiler)]) and they act like they're eleven when they're actually fifteen?? overall, i just wanna say that every book is literally the same and if you want to keep your sanity don't read this series, thanks for listening to my ted talk goodbye.ALSO THE LAST SENTENCE IS VERY DRAMATIC AND HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE OVERALL PLOT OKAY.i'm just ranting okay pls excuse. i'm very mad that i sprnt time readign this monstrosistsy of this book
    more
  • Vee Nicole
    January 1, 1970
    First to write a review! Even though none of us have read it and my page may have not of refreshed.Who else is dying of excitement????!!!!
  • Mariam
    January 1, 1970
    3 1/2 stars Every time Sophie thought his name, she could hear her human parents’ voices in her mind, explaining all the reasons she should never play with fire. And yet, here she was, stepping right back into Fintan’s game. I couldn't sleep last night because I was thinking about the last 10% of the book so much. UGH. This book is really hard to rate; the first 50% was slow and tedious, and even though Sophie and Fitz's bonding time during this period was important (and appreciated!), it made m 3 1/2 stars Every time Sophie thought his name, she could hear her human parents’ voices in her mind, explaining all the reasons she should never play with fire. And yet, here she was, stepping right back into Fintan’s game. I couldn't sleep last night because I was thinking about the last 10% of the book so much. UGH. This book is really hard to rate; the first 50% was slow and tedious, and even though Sophie and Fitz's bonding time during this period was important (and appreciated!), it made me doubt the rest of the book. I was wrong to ever doubt Messenger's storytelling skills.Yes, the first half is boring, but the second half is wild and introduces the heart-stopping action readers have been hoping for. The "sitting and talking" stage that took place throughout the duration of the two previous books is over, and I expect the next book to continue the fast-paced, exhilarating plot lines. “If I fall in, you're not allowed to laugh.” “I would never. I'll even give you my cape to dry off.” What made the second half of the book far more appealing than the two previous books was the fact that (view spoiler)[ the love triangle is finally solved! Sophitz, being canon, (unless something really bad happens) makes room for more severe problems and eases tensions between the characters. Now, Sophie and Fitz are able to focus on forwarding their relationship and dealing with their demons together. Meanwhile, Keefe and Sophie's relationship becomes more defined; their friendship reminisces of old times, and I find it suits the both of them, specifically Sophie, because she is lacking that strong, platonic bond. (hide spoiler)]Speaking of platonic bonds- where in the world were Dex and Biana? Dex has been missing through big chunks of previous books, but Biana seems to have followed suit. I hope Messenger gives her an important role to play in the next book because I believe female friendships are crucial- and without Biana, Sophie doesn't seem to have any.(view spoiler)["What if I told you I stopped pressing buttons?" "I . . . don’t know what that means.""There was a moment, as the cubby was filling. Alvar was pounding on the glass, shouting things. And . . . I looked at the panel and realized one of the buttons probably opened up a drain. And I stopped pressing things."The hive scene. The greatest scene Messenger has ever written. I'm not lying when I say I was light-headed- nauseous, even- when I read this. It's this specific scene that kept me up at night because this is Fitz we're talking about. Fitz, the Golden Boy; Fitz, the boy with the teal eyes and perfect smile. His anger issues have been explored in the past few books, but it really makes an appearance in Flashback. Although I wholeheartedly agree that these darker emotions are needed in order to make Fitz a well-defined character, I find it hard to believe how much his hatred toward Alvar has increased. As a matter of fact, I noted it to be a little too intense, although it would make sense if Alvar and Fitz's relationship previous to the betrayal were explained more.A few lines after this scene, Sophie is so shocked by Fitz's actions, that, despite attempting to hold his hand, she is unable to, and runs outside to Keefe. At this point, I was worried the newly created Sophie/Fitz romantic relationship was destroyed and Messenger had intended to show how Sophie was picking Keefe. However, this was not the case, and the two eventually apologized and continued supporting each other. This is a proper relationship, and Messenger writes it well; I am eager for what she has in store for the couple."No, I’M sorry. I shouldn’t make this about me. And . . . I know there were a bunch of times yesterday when I was a total jerk and—" "Don’t. It was a horrible day. No one handles situations like that perfectly. But we got through it, and now . . . we just keep going."The ending was a little predictable, but still saddening. It works as a segue to the second "chapter" of the Sophitz relationship- Fitz choosing between Sophie or the Vacker legacy. Knowing Fitz, I have a feeling he will choose the former because he has proven himself countless times that he is loyal to those he loves. Sophie, on the other hand, has changed the elvin world countless times. I won't be surprised if she changes the world once more. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Madeleine
    January 1, 1970
    1.5/2(view spoiler)[- This book is over EIGHT HUNDRED PAGES. - Half of it takes place while the narrator is bedridden. - We do not get answers to even a quarter of the questions raised in this book, and we only get answers to ONE of the twenty plus lingering questions from previous books. - Keefe was shortchanged. As were Biana, Dex, and Linh. And Wylie. And all of the adult characters other than Elwin. - I have never seen romance derail a fantasy book's plot this badly. And I've read a lot of f 1.5/2(view spoiler)[- This book is over EIGHT HUNDRED PAGES. - Half of it takes place while the narrator is bedridden. - We do not get answers to even a quarter of the questions raised in this book, and we only get answers to ONE of the twenty plus lingering questions from previous books. - Keefe was shortchanged. As were Biana, Dex, and Linh. And Wylie. And all of the adult characters other than Elwin. - I have never seen romance derail a fantasy book's plot this badly. And I've read a lot of fantasy. - I KNEW the Neverseen were going to try to recruit Tam. I get why, but it's just unneeded. We've already had someone join the Neverseen, we don't need to go down that road again. There are also so many dangling plot threads and only two books left. - Fitz has always been a character I have struggled to like (or even just to care about). I think a big part of that is because he really isn’t likeable in the first two books (especially in Book 2), and because I’ve always felt that he has ulterior motives for pretty much everything he does (including his miraculous change of heart in Book 3). I was really hoping this book would endear him to me, but it didn’t. It’s hard for me to feel sorry for him re: Alvar given the terrible family situations the majority of the main cast has to deal with (this is even pointed out within the text). The fact that he’s the oldest main character (I’m pretty certain he’s 17 in this book) makes it even harder for me to swallow his behaviour. I say this as someone who absolutely understands how difficult is to have siblings you don’t like and feel are getting a free pass from your parents. Him making snippy comments to Keefe throughout the book (like that one about Keefe’s mom? Yeah, you don’t say that to a friend, let alone your alleged best friend) and calling Dex’s invention junk didn’t help matters.- Relatedly, I’ve always felt Fitz's dynamic with Sophie relied a lot more on telling than showing, given that she’s always had a crush on him. Nothing that happened between them felt exciting or compelling because I haven't really been shown their relationship develop, I've been told everything about their relationship. I shouldn't be checking my watch when people are confessing their feelings. - Gethen trying to cajole Fitz into killing Alvar is easily the most compelling scene in the book. If Fitz had done it, it might have made him an interesting character. - Fitz admitting to leaving Alvar to drown, however, wasn’t nearly as interesting. It happens off screen, and felt like a bit of a cop-out. And of course, Alvar isn’t actually dead. OF COURSE. And I'm sure that Fitz is going to free pass for that in the next book (because being a cute boy gets you a free pass for everything from verbal abuse to attempted murder in this series!). God forbid we actually get a nuanced discussion about morality and difficult choices!- That’s the Vacker legacy? Really? Really? I’m pretty sure the Vacker legacy is low blows and "taking the easy way out", as Keefe so aptly put it. - Umber’s entire character/death reminds me of how George Lucas set Count Dooku up as this ‘epic’ villain, before unceremoniously killing him off five minutes into Revenge of the Sith. - I have a theory about what's going on between Fitz and Keefe (and Alden...) and if I'm right...oh boy...Overall: This should have been the first stepping stone to the finale, but it read like a book in the middle of a series. The plot was almost non-existent and the vast majority of the book felt like filler. The romance was a huge drag and the majority of the main cast was sidelined. Whereas the other books I have disliked (Book 1, Book 4, and Book 6) all had strong moments to balance out the bad (especially Book 4), this book didn't. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Ethence
    January 1, 1970
    I am aware that this definitely won't be a popular opinion and that a lot of people are gonna disagree with me but...PLEASE GIVE DEX AND BIANA MORE LOVE.I loved the book and have been in the fandom since Exile came out and I gotta say, I really loved the Keefe Sencen back in KOTLC and Exile better. From Neverseen, we can clearly see how much development Shannon has given Keefe. And I get that he has been flirting with Sophie since KOTLC and I honestly don't mind it but too much of anything is ne I am aware that this definitely won't be a popular opinion and that a lot of people are gonna disagree with me but...PLEASE GIVE DEX AND BIANA MORE LOVE.I loved the book and have been in the fandom since Exile came out and I gotta say, I really loved the Keefe Sencen back in KOTLC and Exile better. From Neverseen, we can clearly see how much development Shannon has given Keefe. And I get that he has been flirting with Sophie since KOTLC and I honestly don't mind it but too much of anything is never good. Maybe it's just me but I feel that there's just too much of Keefe lately and not enough Fitz, Dex, Biana lately. PLEASE GIVE US SOME GURL LOVE. Sophie technically only is close to Fitz and Keefe and ever since the infamous kiss (actually since Neverseen), Dex has been rarely mentioned unless they needed help with his abilities. I can't say much about the plot but for relationships wise, IF THE ROMANCE WAS TONED DOWN SIGNIFICANTLY AND SOPHIES PERSONAL RELATIONSHIPS WITH BIANA AND DEX ARE IMPROVED I WOULD EXPLODE WITH GIDDINESS. Also, Fitz. Keefe had his fair share (okay, not really fair) of development but IT'S TIME FITZ HAD SOME TOO. (Besides the time in exile where we literally only learnt that Fitz's default was 'angry' and that he gives gifts and are cognates with Sophie) Okay, now for the twins. I absolutely adore Tam and how he overprotects Linh because THAT IS THE MOST ADORABLE THING EVER. Linh is also an absolute cinnamon roll and no one can convince me otherwise. This series has been amazing so far and even though the love square/triangle makes it frustrating at times, the plot is amazing and the idea of the Lost Cities itself is enough to keep me hooked.SO THIS SERIES IS STILL AS AMAZING AS EVER AND IF YOU HADN'T READ IT, GIVE IT A GO. AS LONG AS THERE'S MORE LOVE BETWEEN BIANA AND SOPHIE I'M GOOD.
    more
  • J.
    January 1, 1970
    .......actual rating 2.1....*Throws book across the room, and screams in horror*Oh, sweet baby Jesus, please let this series thrive.Plot: Sophie is tired of being useless, and after a major accident that almost got Fitz and her killed, she wants to fight back. Alvar is heading back to the Vacker's home, and tension rises within the group. They learn new secretes, and the alicorns come into play. Blah. Blah.*deep breathes* I hate everyone in this book. Everyone. Even my beloved Keefe, maybe a lit .......actual rating 2.1....*Throws book across the room, and screams in horror*Oh, sweet baby Jesus, please let this series thrive.Plot: Sophie is tired of being useless, and after a major accident that almost got Fitz and her killed, she wants to fight back. Alvar is heading back to the Vacker's home, and tension rises within the group. They learn new secretes, and the alicorns come into play. Blah. Blah.*deep breathes* I hate everyone in this book. Everyone. Even my beloved Keefe, maybe a little less, but still. I hated them all. Fitz the most though. Ugh. This book was 800+ pages, and through half the book (that is 400ish pages) was Sophie and Fitz stuck in the medical center. That was all. 400 pages wasted, as nothing happened during those pages. The only thing that happened was some "great" Sophie and Fitz bonding. (gag). For the next half of the book was basically Sophie "trying" to get her strength back, but she is mostly worrying about if Fitz likes her. Oh no. What shall she do. (gags again). And when she wanted to fight back, she barely had any training. Like barely. Lame. Lame. Lame.And she always faints during battles, and acts all weak. LIKE OMG. YOU ARE SO PATHETIC. She always needs Keefe (who she is obviously hurting, as she gives him mixed signals) and Fitz to hold her hand. Aww, wee lamb. *throws up*What I hated most was how everyone was so immature, even the adults. Like I know this is a Children's book, but Percy Jackson was more mature than these clowns and they are 15-17 years old. Like the adults are so stupid, and keep getting in the way, and are worried about who's dating who. And same with the group, they are more focused on who's dating who. Like omg, stop. Sophie and her friends act like they are 11 years old, and playing heroes vs. villains. They get nothing done, and when they say they will fight back, they don't!Annnnd. The betrayal. (view spoiler)[ When Silveny basically lied to Sophie and got her in a trap, to protect her babies. I "liked" how Sophie was totally okay, with the betrayal. And basically no emotion with Tam's betrayal too. But this was so stupid. Like, when Lady Grisel asked to recruit him because of Umber died. Uhhh. Cuz that makes no sense, hun. Cause he is obvi going to go against you, because you blacked mail him and all. But ok...(view spoiler)[ (hide spoiler)]Anyway. Sophie is disgusting. I hate her. I hate her with a passion. All she was worried about who she likes. She thinks she is an amazing "pep talk" person, when really she isn't. And I hate that she has barely any confidence and the boys find that attractive. (view spoiler)[ When the ending happened and Sophie was "unmatchable", I rolled my eyes. Like great, now she can feel worse about herself. It is so annoying to see someone to put themselves down for the stupidest things. (hide spoiler)] Also, Sophie is such a dumb know-it-all.And how can Sophie like Fitz? He becomes such a jerk in this book. He is a horrible person to is so called "best friend" and is like so clingy to Sophie. And he whines, and he is such a baby. Like he is suppose to be like 17 but acts like a 10 year old. *major eye roll*. why did she have to choose him? Keefe is way better. Like way better.Overall this book was a huge disappointment. Nothing happened, no character development. And FITZ VACKER SUCKS (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Xylia
    January 1, 1970
    I can't believe I've been a fan of this godforsaken series for four years.
  • Kaelyn
    January 1, 1970
    QUESTIONS I *NEED* TO HAVE ANSWERED IN FLASHBACK:1. SHIPS. Who will Sophie end up with? Obviously Dex is out, but Keefe? Fitz? I don't think Tam is really in the running. Personally, I'm hoping for: Sophie x Keefe for sure, and Fitz x Linh. I'm still undecided about the rest of them. Part of me really really REALLY wants Dex x Biana to be a thing, but the rest of me thinks she'd be better with Tam, and plus, Tam seems like he likes her, and, um, this is Tam we're talking about here. But Tam and QUESTIONS I *NEED* TO HAVE ANSWERED IN FLASHBACK:1. SHIPS. Who will Sophie end up with? Obviously Dex is out, but Keefe? Fitz? I don't think Tam is really in the running. Personally, I'm hoping for: Sophie x Keefe for sure, and Fitz x Linh. I'm still undecided about the rest of them. Part of me really really REALLY wants Dex x Biana to be a thing, but the rest of me thinks she'd be better with Tam, and plus, Tam seems like he likes her, and, um, this is Tam we're talking about here. But Tam and Marella had kind of a "moment", if you can call it that, before they went into Nightfall #1, and Dex and Marella have basically no chemistry.2. SILVENY. Why is she so freaked out about Sophie visiting her? What in the world could an alicorn possibly have to do secretly? Is she, like, eating too much swizzlespice or something? Is it dangerous? Please please please let Baby Silveny be OK!!! (And also born in Flashback because the world needs another alicorn!)3. ALVAR. All I really need is an explanation.4. LADY GISELA. Why does she need Vespera's research? Why won't she let us see her face? What is her "legacy" for Keefe? What's her Archetype thing about, and what's she trying to get done?5. THE CACHES. What's in Fintan's cache that even he couldn't handle remembering? Also, I reeeally wanna see what's in Kenric's.6. KEEFE. When will Sophie figure out that he's sooo much better than Fitz in literally every way? They're "opposites attract" in literally every way. He helps her loosen up and calm down when she's tense and worried, and I honestly feel like Sophie knows Keefe better than she knows Fitz- even though she's Cognates with Fitz. Also, what emotions does he see when Sophie enhances him???7. SANDOR & GRIZEL. When will they become a couple? Also, when will Grizel make good on her favor? 'Cause I need to see Sandor dance. Preferably with the whole gang watching.8. SOPHIE'S BIOLOGICAL PARENTS. Who are they? Do we know them? Also, please please please let one of them be a Vacker. Sophie and Fitz would be perfect half-siblings.9. SOPHIE'S ABILITIES. Please tell me there aren't more of them. Or if there are, please let them make her life harder. She's got too many as it is.10. SOPHIE. When will they invent glasses for romantic blindness? This is something I need to see Dex make for Sophie. Like, NOW. BEFORE she gets her matchmaking lists, please!UPDATE: THE BOOK IS NOW OUT AND I HAVE READ IT. (view spoiler)[1. SHIPS. Welp, Sophitz has become official... kinda? There has been no actual asking out, but they admitted to liking each other. Personally, I still hold out hope for Team Foster-Keefe, but we'll see where the next book takes us. No other ships yet. 2. SILVENY. We got twins!!!!!! Wynn and Luna, who are the absolute cutest thing. Turns out the Big Scary Thing was that she was having twins and her body couldn't carry them full term- but they survived and so did the mommy!!3. ALVAR. Well we got an explanation... and a whole lotta drama. Alvar actually did lose his memory, and he really did think he was trying to be a good person again. Fitz didn't believe him. Turns out both of them were wrong. He agreed to be brainwashed, but only to get Neverseen people into Everglen.4. LADY GISELA. We still don't actually know anything. 5. THE CACHES. They were fake. Now Keefe blames himself, and he absolutely needed more guilt in his life. Yippee.6. KEEFE. Speaking of... Poor guy blames himself and has blocked himself off from everyone. I'm a lil worried about him, and a lil mad at Shannon for completely ditching his characterization. I hate to say this, but (and this is a Les Mis spoiler so skip to the next bullet if you don't wanna hear) I'm a bit concerned she'll pull an Eponine on us with him. I mean obviously someone's gonna have to die, Shannon has way too many characters to make them all well-written AND there's one more guy than girl in the Sophie Gang.7. SANDOR & GRIZEL. Pretty sure they're officially dating but no dancing yet. :(8. SOPHIE'S BIOLOGICAL PARENTS. No news.9. SOPHIE'S ABILITIES. No new ones, thank goodness. And now she has the shadowflux thingy, which makes it harder for her to do stuff. So that's good.10. SOPHIE. Ok so she and Fitz are now A Thing. Except she has commitment issues (understandable honey, you're only 15 after all. Take your time)... and matchmaking lists have been asked for and denied. (Here I would like to point out that Fitz's big deal breaker with dating is he can't handle a bad match... remember that.) I'm pretty sure the matchmaking issues are just because half of matchmaking is making sure you're not dating your cousin, which is a bit difficult if you can't tell the matchmakers who your biological parents are. So no biggie, it'll be resolved in a book or two... but will it be before or after Fitz breaks up with her over it and/or blows up at her for keeping the issue from her (which we all know she's gonna do. I mean, this is Sophie)? Ugh, I hate this entire relationship. It's borderline abusive at times and I don't trust Fitz any farther than I can throw him. And here's a link to Madeleine's review which I agree with 100% and which explains how I feel about this whole mess a lot better than I could. also her theory is terrifying but sounds pretty right.BONUS: TAM. Ugh this one hurts my poor heart. Tam does not deserve to be a) separated from Linh b) brainwashed by the Neverseen or c) trapped between two sides/ideas. It scares me that Lady Gisela has the fancy new soporodine (although I absolutely love her she's one of my favorite characters and so well written). We all know Tam's not gonna die cause there's a whole other love triangle around him and, as we saw in Flashback, Shannon is not opposed to abandoning plot in favor of romance. Sigh.FINAL VERDICT: The book was pretty poorly written, didn't answer nearly enough questions, and went completely off on the romance tangent. Also, whoever told Shannon it was a good idea to write hundreds of pages in the exact. Same. Setting. Needs to be fired. The only good news is, there's so many plot threads that have been left hanging, it's almost impossible to have this slow of a book next time around. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Ellaira
    January 1, 1970
    ❋❋❋❋❋❋❋ Spoilers for books 1-6 (all of the books before this one) below the cut ❋❋❋❋❋❋❋(view spoiler)[Update ➜ March 25, 2018We now have a cover!!!So obviously, we have Tam, Sophie, and Wylie. Or maybe Prentence? I'm feeling it's probably Wylie, though. He really looks similar to his picture in the official art. They are all wearing cloaks that are white underneath and black on top. Sophie's cloak has a pin with what appears to be wings holding it together. I'm not sure if that's a reference to ❋❋❋❋❋❋❋ Spoilers for books 1-6 (all of the books before this one) below the cut ❋❋❋❋❋❋❋(view spoiler)[Update ➜ March 25, 2018We now have a cover!!!So obviously, we have Tam, Sophie, and Wylie. Or maybe Prentence? I'm feeling it's probably Wylie, though. He really looks similar to his picture in the official art. They are all wearing cloaks that are white underneath and black on top. Sophie's cloak has a pin with what appears to be wings holding it together. I'm not sure if that's a reference to anything we know of yet so far. Sophie is wearing her gloves and a purple dress, and is throwing what I believe to be a ninja star. I don't see anything else that seems to be distinctive about their outfits. Tam appears to be shadowcasting (the best word I can think of for what they are doing, I'm not really sure) with Wylie. Wylie is a Flasher, so I guess it would make sense that he would be able to work with Tam. I think whatever they are casting is causing the image of the stairway to appear. I think the forest is separate from the image with the stairs, maybe they are creating some kind of portal there? I think the stairs place may be the same as the ones they went up before (I am terrible with names, I should really look this up), the ones where Fitz let Sophie throw his brother's award off of. However, I don't believe those had railings on them, so maybe not. I also don't really have many ideas of where the forest may be. It doesn't seem particularly distinctive.Interestingly, if you think about the staircase image as a portal to the forest and think about how Sophie appears to be coming out of it, the placement of Tam and who I guess to be Wylie doesn't make sense, unless you consider that Tam and Wylie were already at the forest and made the portal for Sophie to come through. We have seen Tam trigger the opening of a portal, or at least make the appearance of one known before, so I guess it isn't completely out of the realm of possibility. And we did hear some vague mentionings of the Vacker's ancient relative, Fallon Vacker, who could possibly be a Flasher like another one of their relatives, Orem Vacker. Update ➜ February 20, 2018This is it guys, we have a teasing title and the cover is soon to follow - who do you think will be on the cover? I'm going to place my bets on Keefe, Sophie, and Fitz.We also have some info from Shannon (which is a relief!)WE HAVE A TITLE!!!!!!!!Cover and plot description to come later (and no, I don't know when)--but just so we're clear:WHAT THE TITLE *DOES* MEAN: Memory plays a BIG role in book 7 (which you can probably guess from certain things that happened in NIGHTFALL--please don't spoil)WHAT THE TITLE DOES *NOT* MEAN: The entire book is one long flashback. Mind you, it'd be fun to mess with you guys that way, but even I'm not *that* evil. 🤣 (this is also not a prequel. this is the seventh book, and a continuation of everything. Calling it flashback will make sense when you read) Sidenote, it just occurred to me that Psychic/Livie was also (probably?) in the Black Swan before Sophie was born. So we can add that to the list of possible suspects: Squall/Mrs. Diznee, Wraith, and Blur. I think it would be pretty cool if Squall was Sophie's mother because then Sophie would also be biologically related to Edaline (because Mrs. Diznee is her sister). Although, that might make things between Sophie and Dex quite awkward. (Watch, the book will end right before we learn who her real parents are - Shannon please do not do that!)Update ➜ December 30, 2017:I say it many times, that I hate people who review unreleased books, but I allow myself this one exception because Shannon Messenger never fails to deliver. My excitement is definitely a 5/5 stars!Among the many unanswered questions: (spoilers for all previous books, of course)1. Why is Lady Gisela hiding her face? Obviously, she most likely has gruesome scars, but I intensely suspect that there is some deeper motivation.2. Silveny's panic. Why was she so panicked and secretive that one time when Sophie tried to contact her? I know this has kind of drifted to the back burner in light of some more....immenent issues, but it still remains a mystery unsolved. 3. Sophie's biological parents. We've been teased at this since basically the beginning of the series. I know its probably being withheld until it is significant to the current state of the plot but I REALLY NEED TO KNOW OKAY!! We do know that her parents don't know who the other parent is. And its pretty much confirmed that it isn't Kenric, Jolie, Tiergan, Prentence, and Mr. Forkle (I think but I don't 100% remember??). They were probably in the Black Swan at the time of her....creation, I guess you could call it. So far, of characters we know, that includes Squall/Mrs. Diznee and whoever Blur is. Also, he did mention that Enhancer was naturally a part of her genome and he decided to keep it, so maybe she's related to a character with that ability. 4. Sophie's other abilities. So far we've got Telepath, Enhancer, Polygot, Teleporter, and Inflictor. We also know that it most likely isn't something extremely volatile, like Pyrokinetic. It sounds like she does have at least one other ability, from Mr. Forkle's cryptic answer to her when she asked. 5. Alavar. I don't really know what else to say about this. It's almost completely certain that he isn't faking his memory loss, so what/who caused it, and why exactly did they decide to leave him for dead? Can his memories be triggered or are they gone forever? And this will definitely be a difficult situation to deal with in this next book. Is it morally acceptable to punish someone for something that they don't remember? Will he be just as manipulative and awful without his memories, meaning that his terrible person tendencies are deeply embedded in his character, or will he be different without them?6. What is in the caches? Its nigh time that we get at least one thing out of those darn caches that were so hard won. Obviously, there will be information about Vespera.7. Prentence. GUYS, THIS IS IT, HE'S FINALLY HEALED!!! But.....of course, it's complicated. Will he return to himself to be able to tell the Black Swan about what exactly happened before his arrest and mind break? Will he even be able to deal with his wife's death, son's torture, and all of their lost years? 8. Vespera What is the intent of her experiments, and why was Gisela so interested in them? I've wanted to punch her in the face for being such a stubborn pain in the butt for most of the book and I know I'm not alone in that. We do know it has something to do with human emotions and the capacity for violence so it already sounds quite unpleasant. Also, how does Fallon Vacker factor into this?9. Biana. I know she's going to survive, but how will this change her personality and the group's chemistry as a result? Also, I'm hella proud of her. And Linh. And Tam. And Dex. And Fitz. And yes, even Keefe. 10. Keefe in general. Will we find out why he is so in tuned with Sophie's emotions in particular? And the rest of his hidden memories? And his "legacy"? Gisela made some loose references to what it actually may be but I don't really think its as simple as being Nightfall (either one of them) or a book or something. It seems to carry a lot more weight than even that.11.What is Fintan's plan? Of course, it is never really what's expected. We can't really get an idea at the moment, and even if we did it would probably be wrong I'm guessing. 12. Marella's secret. Will this become public now, because of the events at Nightfall? And what will that do to her? Is there hope for progress with the Pyrokinetic ability? I mean, tbh, trying to making people with a dangerous, hard to control ability just ignore it sounds like a recipe for disaster to me personally, at least try to teach them to control it at the very least. It seems as though Bronte will be accepting at the very least, as he already knows about it. Also, there was a tease at what happened to Marella's mom as far as her sanity goes, and it seems that she was involved with the Black Swan in some way before it happened?13. Will Sandor x Grizel happen? I really hope it does. Speaking of which, Sophie owes Fitz a dance as well as Sandor owes Grizel one, so dance party in the near future?14. Fitzphie or Keephie? The romantic tension has definitely been rising, between the Dezphie incident, Fitz's very frequent gifts, and Ftiz's determination to find out what her secret is. Personally, I think both Keefe and Fitz have feelings for Sophie, and Sophie has an intense crush on Fitz and doesn't exactly know what to feel about Keefe. Sidenote, Biana most likely has a crush on Keefe. Or Dex?? Idk this is confusing. Maybe even Tamphie might be a thing?? Who knows, I have a feeling things are about to get very romantically interesting in the next book.15. Will this be the last book? I'm assuming the "confirmed another 2 books" includes Nightfall and Untitled, so could this be the last book? And if not, I assume there will be one more book after this and no more. I don't want to think about that. HOWEVER, there is a lot of room for spin-offs in this universe, because let's face it, there are still so many unanswered questions about the very rich universe of these books and their characters that could definitely be answered and expanded upon.16. Damel I like the guy's personality, but something about him just feels off. I think it was one of his comments about a past wash he has done although I don't completely remember. But I am suspcious. We do know the Neverseen have a Telepath, and presumably a Telepath trained in washing. Connection? Maybe. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Daphne
    January 1, 1970
    This is the first time I've felt a bit meh about these books, which made me sad.It was still a good book, entertaining and captivating as all the others, but there were a few things that made me less enthusiastic about the book than normal.First of all, I think the pacing in this book wasn't very good. It started pretty well, but then after some action it dragged and dragged on for a while. (view spoiler)[ The scenes in the hospital were tedious, and I didn't like the whole deal with the echoes. This is the first time I've felt a bit meh about these books, which made me sad.It was still a good book, entertaining and captivating as all the others, but there were a few things that made me less enthusiastic about the book than normal.First of all, I think the pacing in this book wasn't very good. It started pretty well, but then after some action it dragged and dragged on for a while. (view spoiler)[ The scenes in the hospital were tedious, and I didn't like the whole deal with the echoes. It felt kind of like the author realized she had made Elf medicine too powerful and needed to think of this very complex reason why Sophie had to stay in the hospital for a while. (hide spoiler)]Then there was also the fact that this book introduced a lot of new elements, which made it feel less cohesive and a little messy. I'm not sure how relevant this will all be in the long run, and I had a hard time getting myself to care about it. (view spoiler)[ I didn't care for Sophie's new bodyguard group, and didn't really feel like the troll stuff was all that interesting, even when it came up in the story's conclusion. (hide spoiler)]My biggest gripe is probably the romance. I've never been a fan of how it was handled in these books. There was a love square (now triangle) that Sophie seemed somewhat aware of but never really acknowledged, and even now that some stuff has started happening, she keeps seeming willfully oblivious. Not only that, but the plot keeps providing reasons why she can't just be together with one person, when it's obvious the two like each other. (view spoiler)[ I'm not particularly fond of the Sophie/Fitz ship, but then again I don't think I'm very fond of Sophie/Keefe either. I like her relationship with them both, but I prefer to explore them in a platonic way rather than focus on the crushes. That said, there's no good reason why Sophie and Fitz aren't just dating, when it's so clear they like each other and they even said so in this book. It feels to me like the author doesn't want them to get together yet, but keeps having to invent reasons to keep that from happening. (hide spoiler)] Another problem I had with this aspect of the story was that Sophie barely seemed to get any time with her friends that aren't potential love interests. (view spoiler)[ Dex is again largely missing from this book, as he seems to have disappeared a little since getting over his crush on Sophie. It's like he's not important anymore now that he's not a 'candidate' for the position of Sophie's boyfriend. (hide spoiler)] For example, I would love to see her interact more with her female friends, or Wylie or Tam. But that barely seems to happen. That all said, I still did enjoy the book. For such a long book, I flew through it and really wanted to keep reading and see what was happening. But I think that's largely because I've grown invested in the characters over the past books, and not so much the plot of this particular book. I do feel sad that I now have to wait for the next one, though. I am really curious where the plot goes after this, but I hope it's a bit more focused. This book felt a little like a filler in some places, even though it did introduce a lot of new information as well.
    more
  • R.F. Gammon
    January 1, 1970
    WELL THEN.Probably 3.75 stars (it was too long and THAT WHOLE THING AT THE END WAS NOT OKAY AT ALL, plus MY KEEFE CHILD WAS NOT IN THIS ENOUGH AND NO ONE CARES ABOUT HIM ANYMORE (view spoiler)[thanks to stupid Fitzphie (hide spoiler)]) but still really really good. Not my favorite of the series, that's all xD Buddy read with Nicole Dust!
    more
  • Briana Fatovic
    January 1, 1970
    I’m depressed. This was my number one most anticipated release of the year, and I was heavily let down. The first 100 pages were a solid ⭐⭐⭐. The next 600 pages ⭐. The last 100 pages ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐. And although I really don’t like Fitz as a person, I was excited to see him have to to deal with the consequences of him “killing” Alvar. I was pumped: “Finally! A main character that has somewhat negative traits other than anger!” Alas, Alvar just had to escape; which I kind of think is a cheap shot on the r I’m depressed. This was my number one most anticipated release of the year, and I was heavily let down. The first 100 pages were a solid ⭐️⭐️⭐️. The next 600 pages ⭐️. The last 100 pages ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️. And although I really don’t like Fitz as a person, I was excited to see him have to to deal with the consequences of him “killing” Alvar. I was pumped: “Finally! A main character that has somewhat negative traits other than anger!” Alas, Alvar just had to escape; which I kind of think is a cheap shot on the reader. I’m pretty over Alvar’s story line, especially since he just sucks #worstsonever . I believe that if Fitz was forced to face guilt over killing Alvar, he would have become a much more complex and interesting character, and a character I have stood to read about. But no, he’s innocent, as is every mother F-ING member of Sophie’s group. [5] Things I Hate About [Flashback]1. FITZPHIE: So.Much. Annoying. Romance. If you couldn’t tell, I ship Keefe and Sophie, and this book is basically a Team Foster-Keefe nightmare. The chemistry between Fitz and Sophie feels so forced. Like Fitz has no characteristics other than getting mad and being attractive.2. FILLER: This is very obviously a filler book. The cliffhanger at the end sets the reader up for an interesting story in book 8, but ultimately leaves book 7 to be full of nothing. There is at least 200 of Sophie in the hospital. And it was her-moping. This book was a BIG YAWN.3. DEX: Dex? Who’s that? I miss book one, where Dex actually got to be a part of the story. He was such a sweet cinnamon roll of a character and now he’s thrown in as a major side character. Give at least 100 pages of Fitz to Dex; he deserves it a lot more. For example, Dex possesses actual character traits. What? That’s a thing?! Because after reading this book, I’ve realized the only characters with an actual personality are Dex, Keefe, Tam, and (I guess) Sophie. So, either give me more of them, or give me character arcs DIRECTLY relating to the other characters, having nothing to do with their sibling.4. PERFECT CHARACTERS: Ok, I think I was reading about this in my KOTLC discord chat, but I can’t not talk about this. This kind of relates to what I talked about in the opening, but everyone in Sophie’s main group possesses no negative qualities. Absolutely. None. The characters face immense grief about stupid things that never come up in the story again after a chapter, yet after a battle where two of the Neverseen die, they’re unfazed. Someone got a scratch? WE MUST TRAIN UNTIL WE DIE. Speaking of training, it was absolutely useless. I was excited to see Sophie and her friends being badasses, but was instead greeted with hospital scenes.SOPHIES RESPONSE TO THIS LINE: “So I just wanted to say: you don’t have to act like it’s a secret. Because it’s not. Never really has been, honestly. I’ve been waiting for you guys to figure it out for years. I am pretty sure our whole group has, between all the blushing and the cute little gifts and the ‘look at us, aren’t we the cutest cognates ever?’ and the ‘let’s stare into each other’s eyes and do some trust exercises,’ and the ‘ teal is my favorite color in the whole world but no one realizes why’ “ (676)I read this this and thought: BIG FACTS.What was Sophie’s response?“‘Wow. Okay. Not sure why you’re being such a jerk about it, but...’”Sophie.ARE YOU KIDDING ME.In conclusion, Flashback was a big rip in the chat.2/26/18 Ok so I’m still on book two and I already spoiled half the series but I just want Sophie and Keefe to be together OK?!?! And WE HAVE A DESCRIPTION3/12/18COVER!!!!!!!!4/30/18I was about to start this with “ok so” again, and then I realized that my writing skills having plummeted since last semester because I haven’t written an essay or anything in 5 months and I can’t pronounce anything anymore but whatever.Ok, enough about me. 800 PAGES. I’m shooketh. @shannon messenger, if you wanted to send me an ARC of this, I would very much appreciate #icantwaitfivemonths
    more
  • Project Moonlark
    January 1, 1970
    Tbh, it wasn't quite as good as the others... [Note: this spoiler is something about a ship] (view spoiler)[Honestly, the Sophitzness just seemed SO cliche and this was the first time in the whole series when Sophie was kind of getting on my nerves. I mean, she was CONSTANTLY thinking about Fitz throughout the ENTIRE book, and it's WAY too late now to develop their relationship like this. Sophie and Keefe have a SUPER strong relationship, and it would've been much better if she decided to make T Tbh, it wasn't quite as good as the others... [Note: this spoiler is something about a ship] (view spoiler)[Honestly, the Sophitzness just seemed SO cliche and this was the first time in the whole series when Sophie was kind of getting on my nerves. I mean, she was CONSTANTLY thinking about Fitz throughout the ENTIRE book, and it's WAY too late now to develop their relationship like this. Sophie and Keefe have a SUPER strong relationship, and it would've been much better if she decided to make THEM almost kiss instead of Sophie and Fitz. I feel like Sophie and Fitz's relationship is mostly based on appearance... (hide spoiler)] Also, the ENTIRE first half of the book was Sophie in the Healing Center. The second half was really good though, and I LOVED (view spoiler)[Sophie's 4 new bodyguards ;) (hide spoiler)]. Also, the scene with (view spoiler)[Silveny giving birth to the twins (hide spoiler)] was SO good, and it's good to see (view spoiler)[Stina (hide spoiler)]'s character developed a bit more. I also thought that (view spoiler)[Tinker's workshop (hide spoiler)] sounds SO cool!!! :D I'm going to end this review right here because I'm going to find a way to get to that place...
    more
  • Mya Gray
    January 1, 1970
    Spoilers ahead!AHHHHHHHHHHHH. THIS WAS AMAZING. SOPHITZ. HAPPENED. I have been waiting for this moment for 2 years and 3 months. I can’t even describe how happy I am. I ran around my house screaming and sobbing tears of joy. I still can’t believe it happened. I’m so glad Fitz finally told her. I was crying because I thought she was actually going to give up on him before he got to tell her. This book was so good! I love how the action started early in the book. And even though Sophie and Fitz we Spoilers ahead!AHHHHHHHHHHHH. THIS WAS AMAZING. SOPHITZ. HAPPENED. I have been waiting for this moment for 2 years and 3 months. I can’t even describe how happy I am. I ran around my house screaming and sobbing tears of joy. I still can’t believe it happened. I’m so glad Fitz finally told her. I was crying because I thought she was actually going to give up on him before he got to tell her. This book was so good! I love how the action started early in the book. And even though Sophie and Fitz were stuck in the healing center for weeks, it wasn’t boring. And YES, SILVENY HAD TWINS!! Back to Sophitz though. The scene Fitz told her was so perfect. Shannon did such an amazing job writing it. And THAT ENDING. Whaaaaaaaaat? I mean, it’s not that surprising, and the Vacker name is already being ruined by Luzia. And Alvar. But I reallyyyyyyy hope she finds out her parents in the next book so she can be matched. Overall I couldn’t have been happier with this book!!!🎉😱❤️😍😁
    more
  • Sage Elizabeth
    January 1, 1970
    1.) Keeper of the Lost Cities ★★★★★2.) Exile ★★★★★3.) Everblaze ★★★★★4.) Neverseen ★★★★★5.) Lodestar ★★★★★6.) Nightfall ★★★★★6.1.) Nightfall: Keefe Short Story ★★★★★WE KNOW THE PLOTSORT KFWHO IS GOING TO FACE A DANGERWHAT IS WORSE THAN THE NEVERSEENWHAT MERMORIESWILL WE FIND OUT HER PARENTSINEEDTHISNOWFLASHBACKWAIT WJDBSJXOK BREATHE SAGEBrEAtHe sAGe
    more
  • The Book Valkyrie
    January 1, 1970
    Shannon Messenger never disappoints!A little too much Fitzphie for my taste, but still a great read!!#teamfosterkeefe
  • Lillian Fonseca
    January 1, 1970
    I neeeeeeeeeeeed this book. I finished Lodestar, such a cliffhanger! I need to find out what happens to her family! P.S. Sophitz for life!
  • Thobe
    January 1, 1970
    I can't believe I'm saying this, but, honestly, I'm a little disappointed. No, I'm a lot disappointed. There wasn't enough action and I didn't see enough of the characters. But the one thing going for it that almost made me give it more stars is that it had me emotionally involved. Like, a lot. AAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!! Like, Alvar is now one of my favorite characters. I love him a lot. I've never hated Fitz more in my life. He's brainless. And so is Sophie. And the only thing that stopped me from givin I can't believe I'm saying this, but, honestly, I'm a little disappointed. No, I'm a lot disappointed. There wasn't enough action and I didn't see enough of the characters. But the one thing going for it that almost made me give it more stars is that it had me emotionally involved. Like, a lot. AAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!! Like, Alvar is now one of my favorite characters. I love him a lot. I've never hated Fitz more in my life. He's brainless. And so is Sophie. And the only thing that stopped me from giving it 3.5 stars was the climax. Now watch out because I'm about to go on a super long rant with spoilers that include why I hated this book.*SPOILER AHEAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!*(view spoiler)[ OH. MY. FREAKING. HECK. STUPIDEST. THING. EVER. Sophie literally has no brain. But, believe it or not, there's another brainless creature that is even stupider. His name is Fitz. If he hadn't been a baby about going back to Everglen when Alvar was going to be moved there, none of the stupid crap would've happened. And Sophie didn't seem one bit bothered when he was going to murder his brother in cold blood, or when he murdered his brother in cold blood. Yes, he was their enemy. And yes, they had been training to fight and kill people. But he still shouldn't have KILLED HIS BROTHER when they just as easily could've captured him and possibly gained information. BRAINLESS. And then there's all the stupid Fitzphie crap and the fact that WE HARDLY SAW KEEFE, RO, and DEX and pretty much any other important supporting character AT ALL. RIDICULOUS. I just wasn't looking forward to a book that was entirely about Fitz and Sophie in the Healing Center. Though I loved seeing Elwin there. But there's my point. We hardly saw any supporting characters. One thing I liked was her new set of bodyguards. Not that you ever see them. But I hate Sophie and Fitz so much and I hate their brainless characters so much, that I've decided I don't even care anymore. They're perfect for each other because they're both brainless. Keefe deserves someone way better. Leave the world-saving to him, Ro, Tam, and Dex. They're the only people who actually get stuff done. There. I'm done. Enjoy my rant. (hide spoiler)]Oh, and also, the Fitz pages were super disappointing.
    more
  • Haley
    January 1, 1970
    Ummm I’m Team Foster-Keefe....so this book really wasn’t for me. It’s was just Fitzphie Fitzphie Fitzphie. It took up half the book! This book didn’t have much action besides when the Neverseen did the shadowflux and at the end when Tam had to join the neverseen to save the Alicorns. I mean Silveny did have twins and the survived. It was a pretty good book, but I hope Sokeefe works out in the end.And I forgot but do you think Alden and Keefe made a deal or something? Remember how they looked at Ummm I’m Team Foster-Keefe....so this book really wasn’t for me. It’s was just Fitzphie Fitzphie Fitzphie. It took up half the book! This book didn’t have much action besides when the Neverseen did the shadowflux and at the end when Tam had to join the neverseen to save the Alicorns. I mean Silveny did have twins and the survived. It was a pretty good book, but I hope Sokeefe works out in the end.And I forgot but do you think Alden and Keefe made a deal or something? Remember how they looked at each other and it just seems like Keefe let Fitz have Sophie.
    more
  •  Lorien Rhys ~ Live for tomorrow
    January 1, 1970
    Quite honestly, I enjoyed Flashback LOADS better than Nightfall. The characters were actually busy doing something instead of standing around and twiddling their thumbs and doing absolutely nothing of importance. Really, most of the content in Nightfall could be taken out and it wouldn’t affect the story. Number one rule of writing (as deemed by my peers): if you write a scene and it won’t affect the story, take it out. That, my dears, is what you call a filler. (If I am wrong, please tell me) A Quite honestly, I enjoyed Flashback LOADS better than Nightfall. The characters were actually busy doing something instead of standing around and twiddling their thumbs and doing absolutely nothing of importance. Really, most of the content in Nightfall could be taken out and it wouldn’t affect the story. Number one rule of writing (as deemed by my peers): if you write a scene and it won’t affect the story, take it out. That, my dears, is what you call a filler. (If I am wrong, please tell me) And yes, though I found it painful that some 300+ pages (or is it 400....), the story was interesting. Now, here comes the doom train.The stinkin VACKER LEGACYWell to start off with, the “VACKER LEGACY” has always been thought of as very sinister, at least that’s how Alvar described it in Neverseen. But I was really disappointed when the “VACKER LEGACY”, this legacy that we were all curious about, turned out to be about a secret (view spoiler)[HIVE IN EVERGLEN THAT LUZIA VACKER HID FOR WHATEVER REASON (hide spoiler)]This big reveal of the “VACKER LEGACY” was seriously so disappointing you have no idea. Now, if Mrs. Messenger were to add a few more secrets of the “VACKER LEGACY”, THAT would be VERY appealing. I just hope she doesn’t build up all this tension of the “VACKER LEGACY” for nothing. NeverseenOkay. When you have a insane group, you should probably live up to those standards. Not just attack our beloved heroes with slithery shadow powers. Yes. That scene at the beginning was very terrifying and I actually thought a few important characters were going to actually DIE i.e. Dex. But later on, the Neverseen never pose a HUGE threat. Other than being the ones to reveal the “VACKER LEGACY”. They weren’t even worth dwelling over because they really showed up once and another time, and that was it. They weren’t the evil maniacs we knew them to be throughout the series. The Neverseen was just in the book.... to be in the book. Sure, they played a part with Alvar, but it was his decision in the beginning. I get it, it may have to do with the fact that elves can’t handle violence, but wouldn’t the Neverseen have figured out a way to move around that? Otherwise, why even bother be the crazy group? I dunno, but the series seems to be going downhill? Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy it just as much as the next person, but there’s just something about this whole series that I can’t put my finger on.FitzMan, oh man. We really need to work on your anger issues. I get it, you’re mad at your brother, but don’t be always known as that one rager kid in a series. -_- It’s just painful for 99% of us Keeper fans. Especially when some of us want to support you with Sophie but man, your attitude... Yes, I’m sure most of you are probably praising the Lord right now. As much as it hurts my soul, Fitz just isn’t a good character. I should’ve realized this in Exile, but I thought that maybe things would be better and he would actually GROW. But nope. He hasn’t. And his anger issues are just as ferocious as in Exile. The only characters that develop in a good way is Dex and Keefe. Yes. Not the Mary Sue Sophie but them. They are the most precious characters in the series and why Sophie didn’t have the brains to be closer to them, is a mystery. Even when Keefe actually shows his affection, not through trinkets and gifts, Sophie seems to appreciate the gifts (Fitz) than the way Keefe cares for her. Yeesh. I’m getting too mushy over here.Last minute thoughtsIf you were to not read Nightfall and dropped right into Flashback, you wouldn’t miss a thing. Yes. The Alvar situation is kind of crucial, but it’s that important. Most of Nightfall doesn’t even matter, in case that wasn’t clear before. Especially when our dear ol’ Sophie never seems to actually develop. Yeah she convinces Sandor to give her battle training but yipeedeedado. Our MC wants to throwing ninja stars at enemies.Whoo! You show them Sophie! I really couldn’t feel more sorry for a character than Sophie. She’s fifteen, finally confirmed in Flashback, but she still acts and thinks like she’s twelve. Honestly, Sophie isn’t growing, she’s just. . . agh. She’s a pain and a terrible character for us to read. Let’s all be honest, we’d rather be reading about Keefe than Sophie.Let’s not deny it. Keefe is just more compelling than Sophie. He goes through struggles that matter for the plot. If Mrs. Messenger actually switched the POV to Keefe, I wouldn’t be upset. Sophie is just stale. Keefe is vibrant and alive. Thank you for your attention.
    more
  • mylibraryofdreams
    January 1, 1970
    Persönliche Meinung«“What’s your middle name, again? Something with an E?“„Elizabeth,“ Sophie confirmed. „What’s yours?“„It’s `Nope`-as in nope, we’re so not going there.“»Ich muss gestehen, dass dies der bisher schwächste Band der Reihe war. Die ersten 400 Seiten haben sich sehr laaaange gezogen und in denen ist fast nichts passiert. Es war nicht langweilig und hatte trotzdem tolle Momente, aber ich dachte einfach nur: wann geht’s dann mal los?Aber als es dann losging... holly guacamoly! Schlag Persönliche Meinung«“What’s your middle name, again? Something with an E?“„Elizabeth,“ Sophie confirmed. „What’s yours?“„It’s `Nope`-as in nope, we’re so not going there.“»Ich muss gestehen, dass dies der bisher schwächste Band der Reihe war. Die ersten 400 Seiten haben sich sehr laaaange gezogen und in denen ist fast nichts passiert. Es war nicht langweilig und hatte trotzdem tolle Momente, aber ich dachte einfach nur: wann geht’s dann mal los?Aber als es dann losging... holly guacamoly! Schlag auf Schlag!«“Tinker considers questions tob e far more valuable than answers, so it’s rare to get an actual explanation. »Dex snorted. « Huh, I wonder what that’s like. »„I know,“ Sophie agreed. „We’re so used to everyone telling us everything we want to know the second we want to know it- how will we ever handle that kind of vagueness a mystery?“Mr. Forkle sighed. „I suppose I walked into that one.“»Es kommen so viele neue Geheimnisse dazu und ein paar alte werden sogar gelüftet! Die Geschichte nimmt nochmal eine ganz andere Wendung ein, wir bekommen noch mehr neue Charaktere (welche ich meeega cool finde! Besonders Tarina! Und Bo! Hahahahaha) hinzu und es passiert auch noch etwas ganz, ganz tolles, was mich gleichzeitig zum quietschen und zum Weinen gebracht hat. Aber mehr sag ich nicht dazu! Allerdings hat sich der Band doch eher wie ein sehr langer Füller angefühlt und ich hoffe, das Band 8 wieder etwas mehr vorwärts macht. Ich kann es kaum erwarten zu sehen, wie es weitergeht!«“Here,“ he said, placing another candy on her tongue. „Better?“„Kinda.“The second bite did the trick-until Keefe’s voice called from the doorway, „Dude, are you guys feeding each other?“»4,5/5Fazit: Leider ein bisschen sehr lange
    more
  • Eva
    January 1, 1970
    Note: Direct spoilers will be hidden, but the whole of the review will contain small details about pacing and my opinions on the writing. Certain aspects of the story will be alluded to.I finally read it! I must say, it was not my favorite KotLC book. I believe there were 289 pages spent in the hospital wing, so it did drag in parts. Not that Mrs. Messenger is beginning to have a shortage of ideas, because this books brought plenty of new things to the table. But, it was written in such a way th Note: Direct spoilers will be hidden, but the whole of the review will contain small details about pacing and my opinions on the writing. Certain aspects of the story will be alluded to.I finally read it! I must say, it was not my favorite KotLC book. I believe there were 289 pages spent in the hospital wing, so it did drag in parts. Not that Mrs. Messenger is beginning to have a shortage of ideas, because this books brought plenty of new things to the table. But, it was written in such a way that all the action was packed into one part, and the rest just dragged along. I believe I would have enjoyed this book more had the action been spread out more throughout the entire book, and the hospital wing time has been written in a shorter length. Action needs to be evenly dispersed throughout the book; this book had a small burst of action, then a long time of recovery and preparation, and then the rest of the action packed into the last parts of the book.That being said, this book was not like I was afraid it might be: a repeat of Nightfall. Characters rise and fell, relationships were strengthened in some ways and lessened in others, and new characters were introduced. Aspects of the elvin world previously unseen were brought to light, and Shannon Messenger made some bold moves that many fans may dislike. One of my favorites of these moves (I actually predicted this before reading it) was (view spoiler)[that Tam was forced into joining the Neverseen. (hide spoiler)] I mean, not everything can be perfect, can it? It was aspects like this that gave this book a different edge than Nightfall.When reading this book, you will only appreciate it as a true Keeper fan like myself. Power through the parts that drag, because the action will come! And enjoy the book for what it is: a small part of a larger story that is so much more than one book could hold. As part of the series, it is a necessary piece.
    more
  • Lily
    January 1, 1970
    Only Shannon Messenger could confine character to bedrest for a third of an 800 page book and could still get me to finish the book. Not that I’m too happy about finishing it though! I mean, hello! This was NOT what I signed up for! You’re NOT supposed to have Sophie start dating............him!!!!! There’s still hope though, right??? I mean lots of times first loves don’t work out even though it seems they might...and Keefe is still super awesome, always there for her.....right????? Please don’ Only Shannon Messenger could confine character to bedrest for a third of an 800 page book and could still get me to finish the book. Not that I’m too happy about finishing it though! I mean, hello! This was NOT what I signed up for! You’re NOT supposed to have Sophie start dating............him!!!!! There’s still hope though, right??? I mean lots of times first loves don’t work out even though it seems they might...and Keefe is still super awesome, always there for her.....right????? Please don’t keep it this way, Shannon! I’m BEGGING you. My poor Keefe......
    more
  • Maya W
    January 1, 1970
    DEFINITELY worth the wait! Flashback did not disappoint with action, plot twists, and romance- and it didn’t hurt that the ship I’ve been rooting for finally sailed! I wish I didn’t have to wait a year for the next book!!
  • Charis Rae
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 STAR RATING.
  • LunaLovegood
    January 1, 1970
    Me: *whale noises* IT WAS SO GOOD!!! LOOOOVVEEEE ITTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!P.S. ship sophitz
  • Kate Willis
    January 1, 1970
    I kinda like this blurb... The bolded part has me intrigued! Maybe some more things will come to light in this book. ;)
Write a review