The Girl in Between
"A deeply moving story of family, homelessness, and the ghosts that won't let us go. Haunting and unforgettable." Megan Shepherd, New York Times bestselling author of The Secret Horses of Briar Hill Told in the naive voice of a homeless girl sheltered by her mother from the world, this is a moving debut perfect for fans of David Almond, A Monster Calls, and Room. I'm invisible. Ma says I'm supposed to be so the Authorities don't get me. She goes out into the streets almost every day but I'm not allowed. I've got to stay inside the mill so they don't see me. In an old, abandoned mill, a girl and her ma take shelter from their memories of life on the streets, and watch the busy world go by. The girl calls it the Castle because it's the biggest place they've ever stayed, a home of her own like no other. The windows are boarded up and the floorboards are falling in, but for her neither of those things matter. Then developers show up, and it's clear that that their lives are about to change forever. Desperate to save their refuge from the Authorities and her mother from her own personal demons, the girl seeks out the ghosts of the mill. And with only Caretaker the old man who's slept outside the mill for decades around to answer her questions, she begins to wonder what kind of ghosts are haunting both the mill and her mother. The Girl in Between is a compelling, witty, and at times heartbreaking novel that explores themes of loneliness and grief with effortless warmth and an unforgettable voice that will stick with you long after you've finished.

The Girl in Between Details

TitleThe Girl in Between
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherKathy Dawson Books
ISBN0735228604
ISBN-139780735228603
Number of pages208 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Fiction

The Girl in Between Review

  • Becky
    May 1, 2017
    Actual rating: 2.5*'s. I'm incredibly mixed in my rating...This book is confusing to say the least - I have to say that even after finishing it I'm still extremely perplexed and confused as to what actually happened. I understand the "twist" and all, but before that I'm not exactly sure. I don't understand. I think, honestly, this book is a big question mark for me wherein it'll take a while for it to sink in and for me to genuinely soak it all up.Despite my confusion at the plot, I did enjoy th Actual rating: 2.5*'s. I'm incredibly mixed in my rating...This book is confusing to say the least - I have to say that even after finishing it I'm still extremely perplexed and confused as to what actually happened. I understand the "twist" and all, but before that I'm not exactly sure. I don't understand. I think, honestly, this book is a big question mark for me wherein it'll take a while for it to sink in and for me to genuinely soak it all up.Despite my confusion at the plot, I did enjoy this book in a strange way and I read through it all in one sitting, so it is obviously well written enough to keep me sucked in. The characters are interesting, the smaller woven plots are intriguing and the writing style is impeccable and that is certainly what kept me interested throughout. The way it is written is enthralling and keeps you interested as you read, even with the lacking plot. I think what redeems this book for me is the writing - the writing is absolutely brilliant and the way it is written kept me involved in the story. There was something utterly charming about the characters that kept me intrigued and the topic of homelessness in this novel is something that is rarely covered in YA fiction and that gripped me too; it was interesting to read something so vastly different than the norm.So, despite my lack of absorption in the plot, I think this book has a lot of promise. To be entirely honest, I think it was me that didn't quite gel with the plot as opposed to the plot being absent. I would recommend this book if the premise sucks you in! Even if the plot doesn't turn out to be your cup of tea, I think it's definitely worth it for the writing alone. Thank you to the publisher for providing me a copy for review!
    more
  • Danielle Steenrod
    May 20, 2017
    3.5 stars. Wow. That ending was not what I expected at all. This story started off slow, but once I got about halfway things started picking up. I had no idea I would be so surprised with the ending. I was a little confused as to what was going on throughout, but the conclusion clears up all that confusion. All I have to say is don't let the slow start put you off from finishing this book. The ending makes this book worth reading from beginning to end.
    more
  • Kirsty (overflowing library)
    April 2, 2017
    Not getting me at the moment but will probably come back to
  • Indianna
    April 15, 2017
    This was a very intriguing and interesting read from start to finish. A deep insight into life on the streets from a young girls POV, with an ending I did not see coming until the last chapter. Entirely full and charged with emotion, great read for 12-13+.
    more
  • Krystal
    May 11, 2017
    I received an electronic ARC of this through the website firsttoread. The book was good. The writing was fine, there were no glaring errors in grammar or spelling. My issue with the book is a completely personal one. I have trouble reading about neglectful parents, abusive parents, and just in general, parents that could do better for their children. I acknowledge that it's a totally personal issue, and nothing to do with the story or the book itself. Having said that, there were times when I wo I received an electronic ARC of this through the website firsttoread. The book was good. The writing was fine, there were no glaring errors in grammar or spelling. My issue with the book is a completely personal one. I have trouble reading about neglectful parents, abusive parents, and just in general, parents that could do better for their children. I acknowledge that it's a totally personal issue, and nothing to do with the story or the book itself. Having said that, there were times when I would be reading the book and I would have to put it down due to frustration with the mother, and then I wouldn't want to pick it up again. Frustrations that I have with the book are also trivial and I don't think they bother others nearly as much. I like to have a specific setting in stories, even if it's made up, and I don't think it's ever mentioned in the book that it takes place in Dublin, even though a lot of people are under that impression. I honestly wouldn't have been able to figure that out on my own, I read it in other reviews. I'm also slightly annoyed that the girl doesn't have a name. Again, that's just a trivial little thing that bothers me more than it bothers others. True frustrations with the story itself are very minimal. We're never told why the mother leaves Gran's and drags the girl with her, which annoys me. I would like to know the mother's motivation for making her daughter live on the streets with her. Another frustration I have is the ending, which isn't to say it's a bad ending, it's just confusing. The ending first makes it sound like the mother is dead, and then it sounds like the girl is dead, and then it sounds, again, like the mother is dead, because the girl is saying that if people were watching, they would see her, with no mention of them seeing her mother. Overall, the book was good, but nothing that I would reread.
    more
  • Tori
    May 21, 2017
    ****I received a copy of this ARC as a part of Penguin's FirstToRead program in exchange for an honest review!****So many emotions. I personally know people who are like Ma in this story and it tore me up so badly watching her continue to drink, make mistakes and put her daughter in danger repeatedly and the situation with the Monkey Man just made me so mad. She couldn't get her to stop, yet couldn't leave her either, because she's just a kid. I also appreciated the naiveté of the narration, bec ****I received a copy of this ARC as a part of Penguin's FirstToRead program in exchange for an honest review!****So many emotions. I personally know people who are like Ma in this story and it tore me up so badly watching her continue to drink, make mistakes and put her daughter in danger repeatedly and the situation with the Monkey Man just made me so mad. She couldn't get her to stop, yet couldn't leave her either, because she's just a kid. I also appreciated the naiveté of the narration, because a girl who hasn't continuously had normal education or experiences wouldn't know that the Authorities would be there to help her. Any book that can make me feel such strong emotions deserves a great rating.I got a whiff of the twist super early on, but kept thinking maybe I'm supposed to think that and there will be an opposite twist at the end. Even though my original thought ended up being correct, I still enjoyed the ride of going back and forth in my mind about it. (view spoiler)[ The title is brilliant as well, because it doesn't exactly spoil the story, but can hold multiple meanings such as her being between life and death and being between safety and danger, between Ma and Gran, etc. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Liz
    May 8, 2017
    The Girl in Between is a deep and thought provoking tale about a young girl and her mother. Amazon suggests it as a good read for teens, which is probably accurate. I can see my old high school book club picking this as their monthly read. I also think an older audience would possibly find it enjoyable as well.The story explores the concepts of loneliness and the permanence of memories. I found myself being inexplicably drawn to this book – even though this is normally not the sort of thing I re The Girl in Between is a deep and thought provoking tale about a young girl and her mother. Amazon suggests it as a good read for teens, which is probably accurate. I can see my old high school book club picking this as their monthly read. I also think an older audience would possibly find it enjoyable as well.The story explores the concepts of loneliness and the permanence of memories. I found myself being inexplicably drawn to this book – even though this is normally not the sort of thing I read. I just couldn't put it down.(view spoiler)[The Girl in Between revolves around a little girl and her mother. They are squatting in an old run down mill, which the little girl considers her castle. Despite everything she has gone through and seen, she's still so innocent and naive, it's quite endearing to see.It didn't occur to me until I was writing this review, but the author never actually names the girl or her mother. It's extra food for thought considering the implications at the end. The lack of names does add to the plot, without taking anything away.About halfway through I started getting a bad feeling that there was something wrong, something that either wasn't being shown or something I was missing. It adds a subtle but very real extra layer of intensity that I really enjoyed. My gut was correct, but not in the way I was even remotely expecting or prepared for. (I'm not going to say how, for the sake of those that want to read it).There is quite a bit of repetition throughout the novel, and while it isn't necessarily annoying, I'm not sure it adds anything to the plot either. There's also some time hopping back and forth, where we'll go from the present to the past for a chapter, and then back again. These events are clearly delineated, though at a couple times they left me anxious to see what happens next (in either continuity). Despite these complaints, I found it hard to put the book down, and ended up finishing it over the weekend.On the whole I'm giving this a three and a half star rating, because while there were some flaws, the overall concept was well thought out and oddly spellbinding. (hide spoiler)]For more reviews, check out Quirky Cat's Fat Stacks
    more
  • Bonnie Plante
    May 24, 2017
    From the publisher: Told in the naïve voice of a homeless girl sheltered by her mother from the world, this is a moving debut perfect for fans of David Almond, A Monster Calls, and Room.I received an ARC through the First to Read program by Penguin Random HouseFrom the beginning, this book reminded me of Room by Emma Donoghue - most likely because the story is told through the voice of a child. It was a great story that wove in and out of the not so distant past and the present. It is the story From the publisher: Told in the naïve voice of a homeless girl sheltered by her mother from the world, this is a moving debut perfect for fans of David Almond, A Monster Calls, and Room.I received an ARC through the First to Read program by Penguin Random HouseFrom the beginning, this book reminded me of Room by Emma Donoghue - most likely because the story is told through the voice of a child. It was a great story that wove in and out of the not so distant past and the present. It is the story of a mother and daughter, who love each other fiercely even through dysfunction, addiction, poor choices and ultimately, heartbreak. It is a quick, easy read but one that stays with you even after you've read the last sentence. 4.5 stars.
    more
  • Helena
    May 9, 2017
    A powerful and moving story about living on the streets, told through the voice of a young girl. The story revolves around an old abandoned mill, where the girl is captive, as her mother does not want the authorities to find her. She suffers because of lack of food and cold, but seems to carry on regardless. She follows the world around her through a pair of binoculars. Her mother begs for food, and often spends it on alcohol She seems to use the alcohol to forget about some traumatic incident i A powerful and moving story about living on the streets, told through the voice of a young girl. The story revolves around an old abandoned mill, where the girl is captive, as her mother does not want the authorities to find her. She suffers because of lack of food and cold, but seems to carry on regardless. She follows the world around her through a pair of binoculars. Her mother begs for food, and often spends it on alcohol She seems to use the alcohol to forget about some traumatic incident in her life, which the girl cannot quite understand.A must read - if you want to know what happens!
    more
  • Gwen A.
    May 4, 2017
    I received the ARC book from Goodreads.I loved the main character in this book. Even though it's from the point of view of a young girl coming of age, adults can easily be interested in the book. Quite frequently throughout the telling of the story. The reader has to read through sections, stop, and re-read them again, and sometimes, again. That really annoyed me. Some themes throughout the novel are really, really, REALLY repetitive, nearly to the point of the reader saying, "Okay, okay! ENOUGH I received the ARC book from Goodreads.I loved the main character in this book. Even though it's from the point of view of a young girl coming of age, adults can easily be interested in the book. Quite frequently throughout the telling of the story. The reader has to read through sections, stop, and re-read them again, and sometimes, again. That really annoyed me. Some themes throughout the novel are really, really, REALLY repetitive, nearly to the point of the reader saying, "Okay, okay! ENOUGH already!"However, I did love the arc of the storyline, the authenticity of language, and the structure of the book. I did enjoy the book.
    more
  • Quirkyreader
    May 9, 2017
    I received this book as an ARC from Penguin. First the bad; this story is set in Ireland, but to make it more "familiar" to American readers some of the vernacular has changed. It was a bit jarring reading the story and having the narrative interrupted by an American phrase instead of the original turn of speech used in Ireland.The good; the story is about a mother who fears that she will be separated from her child. The mother deals with substance abuse so some of her choices aren't exactly the I received this book as an ARC from Penguin. First the bad; this story is set in Ireland, but to make it more "familiar" to American readers some of the vernacular has changed. It was a bit jarring reading the story and having the narrative interrupted by an American phrase instead of the original turn of speech used in Ireland.The good; the story is about a mother who fears that she will be separated from her child. The mother deals with substance abuse so some of her choices aren't exactly the best.Try and find this story when it comes out and be suprises.
    more
  • Marla
    May 16, 2017
    This book is sad in so many different ways. It shines a spotlight on addiction, parenting on the streets, the relationship between a mother and daughter and how drugs can make someone selfish. No child should live on the streets. I kind of suspected the ending but not until I had about 40 pages to read. Definitely recommend this book. It was such a good story. I received a copy from Penguin Random House First To Read Program.
    more
  • Just_me
    May 4, 2017
    A very thought provoking book. A few to many 'grown up' topics to share with my 10 year old at the moment but I thouroghly enjoyed the read, especially with the unexpected twist.With thanks to Toppsta and the publisher for an ARC for me to read and review.
    more
  • Angela
    May 28, 2017
    It reads like no other short story you've ever read in a full length novel. A heartbreaking, tragic viewpoint of homelessness, addiction, and alcoholism from a young girl. It's imaginative, 6th sense-ish and soul shattering in less than 300 pages. This one will stay with me for a long time.
    more
  • CallMeSensei (Jordan)
    May 17, 2017
    I'm about 100 pages in and this isn't really grabbing my attention. The writing is kind of simple and the MCs thoughts are kind of all over the place. Not sure this one is for me.
  • Michele
    June 1, 2017
    Wow! Love!
  • Ruth
    May 8, 2017
    3.5/5 stars. Full review now live on my blog:https://purelavender.wordpress.com/20...
  • Lindsay
    May 13, 2017
    I received access to the galley for free through the First to Read program, in compliance with FTC guidelines.Although I wasn't a huge fan of this book, it really stuck with me for a long time after I finished reading it. The writing style emphasized the narrator's innocence, which makes the whole story more heartbreaking. The story jumps back and forth between their lives before and after they came to the castle. This book deals with some very tough topics like homelessness, addiction, and loss I received access to the galley for free through the First to Read program, in compliance with FTC guidelines.Although I wasn't a huge fan of this book, it really stuck with me for a long time after I finished reading it. The writing style emphasized the narrator's innocence, which makes the whole story more heartbreaking. The story jumps back and forth between their lives before and after they came to the castle. This book deals with some very tough topics like homelessness, addiction, and loss, but the ending left me with some hope for their futures, even with that twist.
    more
  • Jessi
    May 2, 2017
    This book was very intriguing and mysterious. I can see why some people would be absolutely enthralled by it, and I did want to know what the mystery was, but I was put off by the writing style. It just didn't mesh well with me. The ending did surprise me and left me thinking "wow" but overall I just didn't love this book.
    more
  • Jen
    May 6, 2017
    Rating and review pending.
  • Brittany
    May 7, 2017
    This novel drew me in immediately, and left me feeling sometimes heartbroken, sometimes hopeful. I felt it a bit reminsicent of Shirley's Jackson's We Have Always Lived in the Castle. There is an undulating creepiness and feeling of paranormal underlaying this story. This novel is narrated by a young girl, who's mother is obviously troubled, facing addiction and homelessness. She is led to believe that the "Authorities" are going to seize her from her mother and current life, so the girl lives i This novel drew me in immediately, and left me feeling sometimes heartbroken, sometimes hopeful. I felt it a bit reminsicent of Shirley's Jackson's We Have Always Lived in the Castle. There is an undulating creepiness and feeling of paranormal underlaying this story. This novel is narrated by a young girl, who's mother is obviously troubled, facing addiction and homelessness. She is led to believe that the "Authorities" are going to seize her from her mother and current life, so the girl lives in a state of high alertness, fear, and isolation. The plot twist at the end, I didn't expect, but without giving too much away, there is something very not right with this mother-daughter relationship. Would recommend as paranormal young adult.
    more
  • Jennifer
    March 24, 2017
    At Reading Rants: http://www.readingrants.org/2017/03/2...
Write a review