Every Last Lie
New York Times bestselling author of THE GOOD GIRL, Mary Kubica is back with another exhilarating thriller as a widow's pursuit of the truth leads her to the darkest corners of the psyche.  "The bad man, Daddy. The bad man is after us."  Clara Solberg's world shatters when her husband and their four-year-old daughter are in a car crash, killing Nick while Maisie is remarkably unharmed. The crash is ruled an accident…until the coming days, when Maisie starts having night terrors that make Clara question what really happened on that fateful afternoon. Tormented by grief and her obsession that Nick's death was far more than just an accident, Clara is plunged into a desperate hunt for the truth. Who would have wanted Nick dead? And, more important, why? Clara will stop at nothing to find out—and the truth is only the beginning of this twisted tale of secrets and deceit. Told in the alternating perspectives of Clara's investigation and Nick's last months leading up to the crash, master of suspense Mary Kubica weaves her most chilling thriller to date—one that explores the dark recesses of a mind plagued by grief and shows that some secrets might be better left buried.

Every Last Lie Details

TitleEvery Last Lie
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherPark Row Books
ISBN0778319989
ISBN-139780778319986
Number of pages288 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Thriller, Fiction, Mystery Thriller

Every Last Lie Review

  • Norma
    March 16, 2017
    This was another enjoyable read by one of my favourite authors, Mary Kubica!EVERY LAST LIE by MARY KUBICA is an interesting, thrilling, suspenseful, and cleverly written novel that has a really engaging storyline and solid characters that grabbed my attention from the very first chapter.MARY KUBICA delivers an impressive read here told in the alternating perspectives of Clara’s investigation into the death of her husband, Nick and in Nick’s voice of his last months leading up to his accident.  T This was another enjoyable read by one of my favourite authors, Mary Kubica!EVERY LAST LIE by MARY KUBICA is an interesting, thrilling, suspenseful, and cleverly written novel that has a really engaging storyline and solid characters that grabbed my attention from the very first chapter.MARY KUBICA delivers an impressive read here told in the alternating perspectives of Clara’s investigation into the death of her husband, Nick and in Nick’s voice of his last months leading up to his accident.  The only thing that I found a little distracting was that there were no chapters separating Clara’s and Nick’s stories.  They just ran into each other and I found that I had to go back and re-read to see if I was reading Clara’s perspective or Nick’s.  Once I realized that there were no tell-tale signs to differentiate the two then I found it a little easier to follow along with the storyline and all the characters involved. (I am sure this was just a NetGalley formatting issue though and won't be like this on the actual print copy when released.) Update: Netgalley sent me an updated version of this book with Clara & Nick's perspectives clearing marked.I found it a really interesting read that explores how when are minds are so tormented with grief it can really mess with our psyche and how we ultimately perceive things as being the truth or fiction.  I could really relate to how Clara reacted to her overwhelming grief as she presented with quite a few things that I know that I would and could have done.  Can’t sleep, can’t eat, can’t think straight, can’t function normally, overactive imagination, and obsessive behaviour to name a few.To sum it all up it was an entertaining, fast-paced, and an easy read with an unexpected but satisfying ending. Highly recommend!!Publication date: July 1, 2017Thank you so much to NetGalley, Mary Kubica, and Harlequin (US & Canada) / Park Row Books for the opportunity to read an advance copy of this book for a fair and honest review.All of Brenda & my reviews can be found on our Sister Blog:http://www.twogirlslostinacouleereadi...
    more
  • Linda O'Donnell
    May 6, 2017
    Nothing worked; her mind continues to fade.Clara Solberg is experiencing the deep dimension of an unspeakable collision. Her husband, Nick, crashed into a tree with their four year old daughter, Maisie, in the car. He had taken her to ballet class and had picked up Chinese takeout on his way home so that Clara could stay home with their newborn son.But this horrendous collision is now within Clara herself. It's the collision of reality obliterating any sense of the normal life she and her childr Nothing worked; her mind continues to fade.Clara Solberg is experiencing the deep dimension of an unspeakable collision. Her husband, Nick, crashed into a tree with their four year old daughter, Maisie, in the car. He had taken her to ballet class and had picked up Chinese takeout on his way home so that Clara could stay home with their newborn son.But this horrendous collision is now within Clara herself. It's the collision of reality obliterating any sense of the normal life she and her children once had. Shock does terrible things to one's psyche. It has left Clara reeling in its aftermath. Fortunately, little Maisie was unhurt. Unfortunately, Nick did not survive. But Maisie is now locked into the grasp of reoccurring nightmares involving a black car and a "bad man". Soon Clara suspects that perhaps Nick's fatal accident was no accident after all. She alerts the police, but they dismiss the black car as the ramblings of a four year old.With the support of her father, Clara tries to carry on. Boppy, as Maisie likes to call him, is strained from the care of Clara's mother who suffers from dementia. Clara sees what the weight of this care is doing to him. They both are wounded deeply in different ways and down different avenues. So Clara decides to do some investigative work on her own in regard to this black car. Now here's where the story elevates to the next tier. Nick's life seems to have taken a turn down some very treacherous roads. Mary Kubica brings to life the nagging fear of lifting the veil on the hidden corners of a loved one's life. Can one handle that shocking reveal? And then what......Kubica presents a storyline pumped up with the frenzy of taking on the odds of the impossible. Can anyone really trace the finite details that led to this death? She creates the character of Clara who emulates a woman raging inside from recent death and recent birth. Clara takes this on with the impetus of both wife and mother. Love is the springboard that makes all things possible.Mary Kubica, you have a real winner here. You painted this canvas with life-like characters in life-like situations. It's a bit of a view into what drives and what motivates us to survive in such an uncertain world that can suffocate the best of us at times. Bravo, Ms. Kubica.I received a copy of Every Last Lie through Goodreads Giveaways for an honest review.
    more
  • Hannah Greendale
    May 20, 2017
    Video review to come.
  • Chelsea Humphrey
    March 8, 2017
    **Now available on NetGalley!!**
  • Melisa
    April 2, 2017
    Every Last Lie is right. So many lies. I am a huge fan of Mary Kubica's writing. It is a slow burn and the suspense creeps up on you with time. While this particular story was a bit slower than my liking, it really picked up about half way through and left me breathless and needing to know which lie precipitated this awful tragedy. And yet, I felt totally let down by the conclusion. There was so much buildup and then it flatlined for me to the point where I feel like I am missing something, some Every Last Lie is right. So many lies. I am a huge fan of Mary Kubica's writing. It is a slow burn and the suspense creeps up on you with time. While this particular story was a bit slower than my liking, it really picked up about half way through and left me breathless and needing to know which lie precipitated this awful tragedy. And yet, I felt totally let down by the conclusion. There was so much buildup and then it flatlined for me to the point where I feel like I am missing something, some hidden message that my brain didn't grasp. These characters definitely ran me through a gamut of emotions - fear, pity, sympathy, disbelief, frustration, and on and on. I loved the dual narrative of Clara (present) and Nick (near past). It really helped to build up the tension and backstory and gave a real sense of suspense. I have to say it would be no easy feat to create a storyline in this fashion, and it's very well done. All in all, the pacing and the conclusion didn't work for me with this one. I will still read each and every one of Mary Kubica's books!Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Gary
    May 21, 2017
    I have been looking forward to reading this novel for sometime now and have had high hopes for it, so on reading it I am so pleased to be writing positive things rather than saying how disappointed I was.The latest novel by author Mary Kubica is an excellent read and succeeded in keeping me up trying to finish it in an effort to discover the truth.Clara Solberg's perfect life collapses the day her husband, Nick, and her daughter, Maisie are involved in a car crash. Nick is killed but fortunately I have been looking forward to reading this novel for sometime now and have had high hopes for it, so on reading it I am so pleased to be writing positive things rather than saying how disappointed I was.The latest novel by author Mary Kubica is an excellent read and succeeded in keeping me up trying to finish it in an effort to discover the truth.Clara Solberg's perfect life collapses the day her husband, Nick, and her daughter, Maisie are involved in a car crash. Nick is killed but fortunately Maisie survives. The Police are certain that the crash is an accident, caused by Nick speeding and apparently losing control and crashing into a tree. But when Maisie starts to have nightmares and when she mentions that there was another car involved Clara starts to think that maybe her husband was murdered.Clara is troubled and needs answers, she refuses to tell her daughter that Nick is dead and struggles to eat and sleep.Clara discovers that Nick had secrets and there are plenty of unanswered questions. She discovers that they were in a lot of debt and that Nick was gambling. Lots of unanswered questions that throw her suspicions on several people as she tries to uncover the truth behind her husbands death.The story is told in part by Clara, the here and now and Nick's tells his story in the months leading up to his death. This book is full of suspense and is a real page turner. A well written novel that is a real who-dunnit and had me guessing right to the end.I would highly recommend this novel to readers who love suspense.I would like to thank Net Galley and HQ for supplying a cop of this novel in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jennifer
    May 27, 2017
    Grief + Post-partum exhaustion = despair and paranoiaMary Kubica is one of the better suspense writers in publishing. Her latest book does not disappoint. When Clara's husband Nick dies in a car crash just days after the birth of their son, Clara works to put back the pieces of her life and discover what really happened on the road that fateful day. Kubica gives readers plenty of red herrings and lots of questions to keep us on our toes. The writing is tight and pages nearly turn themselves in t Grief + Post-partum exhaustion = despair and paranoiaMary Kubica is one of the better suspense writers in publishing. Her latest book does not disappoint. When Clara's husband Nick dies in a car crash just days after the birth of their son, Clara works to put back the pieces of her life and discover what really happened on the road that fateful day. Kubica gives readers plenty of red herrings and lots of questions to keep us on our toes. The writing is tight and pages nearly turn themselves in this fast-paced thriller.3.5 stars rounded up to 4. Thank you to NetGalley and Harlequin for a galley of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carolyn
    May 17, 2017
    Clare Solberg is home with her new four day old baby when the police knock on her door to tell her her husband Nick has died in a car accident. They tell her he was speeding and with the sun in his eyes, took a bend too fast, ran off the road and hit a tree. Fortunately their little girl Maisie survived with barely a scratch. Now Clare must face life as a single Mum with two young children.Struggling with her grief and sleep deprived looking after a new born, Clare has trouble accepting that Nic Clare Solberg is home with her new four day old baby when the police knock on her door to tell her her husband Nick has died in a car accident. They tell her he was speeding and with the sun in his eyes, took a bend too fast, ran off the road and hit a tree. Fortunately their little girl Maisie survived with barely a scratch. Now Clare must face life as a single Mum with two young children.Struggling with her grief and sleep deprived looking after a new born, Clare has trouble accepting that Nick's accident was his own fault. When Maisie starts having nightmares and talking about the bad man in a black car coming after her and her Daddy, Clare starts to believe that Nick might have been murdered.This is a bit of a slow boiler with Mary Kubica ramping up the tension gradually as Clare becomes more and more unravelled and allows her grief to take over her emotions. The narration alternates between Clare in the present tense and Nick relating the weeks leading up to his death including all the events he kept secret from Clare and this works well. I was disappointed in the ending as I expected an interesting twist or revelation so the ending we got fell a bit flat after the build up to it. Still a good read but not my favourite by Kubica. 3.5★With thanks to Netgalley and the publisher Harlequin Australia for a digital copy of this book to read and review
    more
  • JanB
    April 28, 2017
    3.5 stars Clara has just given birth to her second child when her husband Nick dies in an accident. (This is not a spoiler, it's how the book opens.) Their daughter Maisie has nightmares and terrors that leads Clara to suspect Nick's death was not an accident.Told in alternating chapters with the POV of both Clara and Nick (before the accident) the pieces of the puzzle that led up to the accident are revealed. Clara's suspicions leads her to conduct an investigation of sorts, all while she's nav 3.5 stars Clara has just given birth to her second child when her husband Nick dies in an accident. (This is not a spoiler, it's how the book opens.) Their daughter Maisie has nightmares and terrors that leads Clara to suspect Nick's death was not an accident.Told in alternating chapters with the POV of both Clara and Nick (before the accident) the pieces of the puzzle that led up to the accident are revealed. Clara's suspicions leads her to conduct an investigation of sorts, all while she's navigating new parenthood, financial problems, grief, and her mother's worsening dementia. Clara is overwhelmed with grief and obsessed with finding the truth, and finds plausible reasons and evidence for a number of different scenarios. There's a feverish quality to her narrative and I felt her pain, confusion, and grief. Painful secrets her husband kept from her are uncovered and she begins to suspect different people with each revelation. The characters, including Nick, aren't always the most likable people.I found this a credible narrative of grief, as well as those crazed sleepless first days/weeks with a newborn and the exhaustion that comes with it. The suspense was more of a slow burn since Nick was already dead, but along with Clara I wasn't sure who or what was responsible for the accident and was invested in discovering the truth. This wasn't my favorite book of hers but it was a solid read for fans of the author.** I received a copy of this book via the goodreads giveaway program
    more
  • Linda Strong
    March 10, 2017
    Clara Solberg has a perfect life .... at least up until the day her husband, Nick, and her daughter, Maisie are in a car crash. Nick is killed, Maisie, fortunately, got nothing but a scratch.The accident is ruled an accident ... Nick had been speeding and apparently lost control and rammed into a tree. However, Maisie is having night terrors, leaving Clara to think that maybe her husband was murdered.Clara has to find out the truth. She can't sleep, she doesn't eat. She hasn't even told Maisie y Clara Solberg has a perfect life .... at least up until the day her husband, Nick, and her daughter, Maisie are in a car crash. Nick is killed, Maisie, fortunately, got nothing but a scratch.The accident is ruled an accident ... Nick had been speeding and apparently lost control and rammed into a tree. However, Maisie is having night terrors, leaving Clara to think that maybe her husband was murdered.Clara has to find out the truth. She can't sleep, she doesn't eat. She hasn't even told Maisie yet that her daddy is gone. Her grief is overwhelming and she's obsessed with the idea that her beloved husband was murdered.Her pursuit of truth leads her to secrets that her husband kept from her. She didn't know how much in debt they were. She doesn't know that he had begun gambling. She doesn't know that Nick fired his best friend? What else is there that she doesn't know?The story is told in part by Clara, the here and now. Nick's story is told in his voice in the months leading up to his death. This is another highly suspenseful story by this author. The story premise is cleverly written and the characters are solid. The ending was quite different from what I thought it would be.The only thing I really didn't like is that there seems to be no separation (as in chapters) between Clara's story and Nick's remembrances. They ran into each other. I would be reading Clara and then all of a sudden it would hit me that I was reading Nick. Just a tad disorienting.Many thanks to the author / Harlequin (US & Canada) / Park Row Books / Netgalley for the advanced copy of EVERY LAST LIE. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Maxine (Booklover Catlady)
    April 27, 2017
    Interesting reading. Plenty of whodunnits in this leading to an ending that sadly I had predicted and wished I had not. Full review to come. A good, solid read.
  • Laura Rash
    April 25, 2017
    Once again Mary Kubica has written a story that draws you in from the first chapter & doesn't let go until the last. I described her books today to a friend as being similar to "comfort food". You can slip into the story & lose yourself & feel like you know the characters & have been there for awhile. Loved the alternating character POV. Perfect ending. I won this copy on Goodreads:)
    more
  • Kay
    May 18, 2017
    I've been hearing about this author's books for quite a while. I took this opportunity to try this book, which will be published in late June. Unfortunately, it wasn't a good match for me. The story was interesting enough, but I had such a problem with the protagonist. Clara loses her husband in a car accident, soon after she's had her second child. Her daughter, Maisie, is in the car with her father, but unharmed in the crash. Clara, pretty much out of her mind with grief, exacerbated by recent I've been hearing about this author's books for quite a while. I took this opportunity to try this book, which will be published in late June. Unfortunately, it wasn't a good match for me. The story was interesting enough, but I had such a problem with the protagonist. Clara loses her husband in a car accident, soon after she's had her second child. Her daughter, Maisie, is in the car with her father, but unharmed in the crash. Clara, pretty much out of her mind with grief, exacerbated by recent childbirth, lack of sleep, etc., goes on a tangent to discover what actually happened. Which was fine, except her decisions were so flawed and actually dangerous that I wanted to shake her and say 'Snap out of it!'. It won't keep me from reading other books by Mary Kubica. I just had a hard time finding a character to like in the entire story.
    more
  • Tamara
    March 19, 2017
    Review to come closer to pub date.Quick thoughts:I love Mary Kubica's books and this is no exception. Twists and turns. Did someone kill Clara's husband or was reckless driving to blame? And why did Clara find a jewelry receipt in her husband's belongings? Secrets and lies. Lies galore.Recommended.
    more
  • Debra
    May 24, 2017
    Clara Solberg's life gets turned upside down when her husband and their four year old daughter, Maisie are in a car crash. Her husband, Nick, had taken Maisie to her ballet practice, picked up Chinese food and was on his way home when his car hit a tree, killing Nick but leaving Maisie unharmed.Clara is not willing to believe that her husband's death is accidental. Her daughter is having nightmares about a bad man being after them. A bad man who may have been following then that tragic night. Cl Clara Solberg's life gets turned upside down when her husband and their four year old daughter, Maisie are in a car crash. Her husband, Nick, had taken Maisie to her ballet practice, picked up Chinese food and was on his way home when his car hit a tree, killing Nick but leaving Maisie unharmed.Clara is not willing to believe that her husband's death is accidental. Her daughter is having nightmares about a bad man being after them. A bad man who may have been following then that tragic night. Clara, who has recently given birth to the couple's second child is sleep deprived and full of grief. She is fueled by the need to know the circumstances surrounding her husband's death.This book is told through both Nick and Clara's point of view/perspectives. Through Clara's POV the reader gets a glimpse on how she is coping with her husband's death and the "truths" she uncovers surrounding her husband, his dental practice, their finances and his relationships with others. Through Nick's perspective, we see a man hiding secrets from his wife. He's not a bad guy. He is a man who wants to protect his wife from feeling stress while she is pregnant, so he is not forthcoming with the truth. Nick plans to come clean - to tell her everything. He just never seems to find the time to sit her her down and tell her everything. He also makes decisions without his wife's knowledge. What will happen when she finds out the truth? How will he dig himself out of the hole he has dug? What happens when your good intentions spiral out of control?What really worked for me was the alternating perspectives of Nick and Clara. This book was a fast easy read which kept my attention the entire time. Kubica kept the plot, secrets and revelations coming at a very good pace. I had to keep reading to find out what lies and what truths would be revealed. As the story progresses, the book turns into a page turner as the truth finally comes out. Clara and the reader eventually learn the truth about Nick's accident.This is a good book for those who enjoy a good mystery/thriller without an graphic scenes/language/gore, etc. I received a copy of this book from Harlequin/Park Row books and Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.See more of my reviews at www.openbookpost.com
    more
  • dluvsbooks
    April 1, 2017
    This morning I was greeted with an email from goodreads announcing I won Every Last Lie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The Good Girl is one of my very favourite books and I was eagerly anticipating anything new from her and here it is. Yah me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you sooooo much goodreads:)
    more
  • Latanya
    May 27, 2017
    DNF'ed.May return later.
  • Jennifer
    May 7, 2017
    Every Last Lie is a standalone suspense/mystery thriller.The book alternates chapters between Clara (28 year old mother of two small children) and Nick (her husband). Clara's chapters take place in the present. And Nick's chapters take place a few weeks before.The book begins with Nick being in a car accident. We find out how Clara deals with everything to do with her husband and the accident. We get Nick's perspective in alternating chapters. But his chapters start a few weeks before the accide Every Last Lie is a standalone suspense/mystery thriller.The book alternates chapters between Clara (28 year old mother of two small children) and Nick (her husband). Clara's chapters take place in the present. And Nick's chapters take place a few weeks before.The book begins with Nick being in a car accident. We find out how Clara deals with everything to do with her husband and the accident. We get Nick's perspective in alternating chapters. But his chapters start a few weeks before the accident and move forward till the night of the car crash.This was a very interesting way to tell the story. Clara finds out so much about her husband that she did not know. And we find out a lot from Nick's chapters too.I thought that both Clara and Nick were very interesting characters. Clara was pretty much a mess dealing with the accident, a new baby and another child. Plus there was a lot going on with her parents. I liked how the author let us piece together the full story bit by bit. Nick was also compelling. At times I wasn't sure whether to love him or hate him. But I liked how his chapters gave us a much better insight into the story.The book definitely got very exciting towards the end. And I could not turn the pages fast enough, as I was desperate to find out what had happened to cause the car crash.To me the ending is everything. And while I found the last lines of the book to be perfection I am not sure if I was completely satisfied with the rest of the ending. We did get a lot of answers and that made me happy. But I still had a few questions that I wish had been addressed. But overall a good mystery.Thanks to netgalley and Harlequin (US & Canada)/ Park Row Books for allowing me to read this book.
    more
  • Kaitlyn Ennis
    April 2, 2017
    Mary Kubica has done it again!I really liked this novel. It was fast paced, suspenseful, and had really great characterization, which it heavily relied on. And this was the first time an author wrote a four-year old in a totally believable and realistic way. Maisie was great, and she was so easy to fall in love with. Every Last Lie is a story about grief, marriage, and how much we know about the people closest to us. After her husband, Nick, unexpectedly dies a few days after the birth of the Mary Kubica has done it again!I really liked this novel. It was fast paced, suspenseful, and had really great characterization, which it heavily relied on. And this was the first time an author wrote a four-year old in a totally believable and realistic way. Maisie was great, and she was so easy to fall in love with. Every Last Lie is a story about grief, marriage, and how much we know about the people closest to us. After her husband, Nick, unexpectedly dies a few days after the birth of their second child, Clara must learn how to go on with her life, while caring for a newborn and raising an energetic, insightful four year old. And to top it all off, the car accident that killed her husband may not be an accident at all. The story alternates between Clara's present day point of view, and Nick's months leading up to his accident and what unravels are a multitude of secrets that make you question who is actually wrong. While Nick is not all he appears to be, everything he does in the months leading up to his death are for the good of his family, or what he thinks is best for his family. I really liked both Clara and Nick, although they both had flaws, and I think this is why the novel was so good to me. It relies on the reader's opinion of both these characters, and in that, this one succeeded for me. And I really, really liked the ending. Unconventional, and surprising, but for entirely different reasons than I expected. Definitely worth reading when it's released in June!
    more
  • Suzze Tiernan
    April 23, 2017
    I love Mary Kubica's books, but this wasn't one of my favorites. Although it was a page turner, it wasn't as satisfying to me as her novels usually are.
  • Angie Crabtree-Liezel's Book Blog
    April 8, 2017
    I'm reading Every Last Lie for the second time and it's like my first. This book is consuming me. My mind. My dreams. Just like truth consumed Clara. Brilliant, Mary! Just brilliant!!This book is a roller coaster of sharp twist and turns that will leave you on the edge of your seat not knowing what's going to happen next. When you think you have the bad man figured out, wrong, think again. He's not who you expect. Clara looses her husband tragically and suddenly. The events that follow his death I'm reading Every Last Lie for the second time and it's like my first. This book is consuming me. My mind. My dreams. Just like truth consumed Clara. Brilliant, Mary! Just brilliant!!This book is a roller coaster of sharp twist and turns that will leave you on the edge of your seat not knowing what's going to happen next. When you think you have the bad man figured out, wrong, think again. He's not who you expect. Clara looses her husband tragically and suddenly. The events that follow his death have you wondering what's real and not real. What's a lie and not a lie. Who's a friend and not a friend. Whether you can even trust your own mind. Don't miss out on the book that everyone will be talking about this spring! Every Last Lie is a beautiful, yet suspenseful, dark at times book that you just can't put down!
    more
  • Bethany Clark
    April 25, 2017
    This book had my mind pulled in 6 different directions OR MORE! One minute I seriously thought I had it all figured out and then BAM Mary took the book back in another direction.Character wise they have amazing depth. I will say that throughout the book I was not a fan of Nick. For as much as he said that he loved Clara, I wanted to smack some sense into him. The lies and the back handed acts that he got himself into were mind blowing. And the fact that he hid every detail from his wife blew me This book had my mind pulled in 6 different directions OR MORE! One minute I seriously thought I had it all figured out and then BAM Mary took the book back in another direction.Character wise they have amazing depth. I will say that throughout the book I was not a fan of Nick. For as much as he said that he loved Clara, I wanted to smack some sense into him. The lies and the back handed acts that he got himself into were mind blowing. And the fact that he hid every detail from his wife blew me away. You have a wife and a daughter and baby on the way, get it together!There are so many different story lines going on here from the tragic accident to theft and a blast from the past with a little medical malpractice thrown in to bring it all together.I really couldn't wait to see what would happen next and I was sad when it came to an end.
    more
  • Alan
    April 24, 2017
    I received this book as a Goodreads Giveaway. One of the best books I have read in awhile. I could not stop reading as more information about what really happened is exposed each chapter from both Clara's and her dead husband's perspective. You can feel her grief and confusion as she struggles to cope with her husband's death, and how her mind cannot accept what has happened. With many possible outcomes, I raced to the end to find out what really occurred. Excellent storytelling.
    more
  • annodluvsbks
    April 25, 2017
    I've read two previous books by this author but this one is my favorite so far. When Clara's husband is killed in a car wreck she's convinced that it wasn't an accident especially since their young daughter survived with only a scratch. I was totally engrossed in this story from the start. I felt every emotion she was feeling. My heart broke for Clara as she kept discovering things along the way and also dealing with a four year old and a new born. An emotional journey that hit all the right not I've read two previous books by this author but this one is my favorite so far. When Clara's husband is killed in a car wreck she's convinced that it wasn't an accident especially since their young daughter survived with only a scratch. I was totally engrossed in this story from the start. I felt every emotion she was feeling. My heart broke for Clara as she kept discovering things along the way and also dealing with a four year old and a new born. An emotional journey that hit all the right notes with me.Many thanks to First Reads giveaway for providing my ARC of this book. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Judy Collins
    March 25, 2017
    Another Winner! Review to follow.
  • Barbara Nelson
    February 23, 2017
    Mary Kubica did it again! This book brings you in right away until the last moment. What a page turner!
  • Sheri Summit Pullen
    February 10, 2017
    Excellent
  • KC
    April 14, 2017
    I would like to thank NetGalley, Park Row Books, and Mary Kubica for the advanced digital copy in exchange for an honest review. Clara Solberg and her husband seem to have it all. A lovely home, a preschool aged daughter and infant son, and a successful dental practice. One evening coming home from his daughter's ballet recital, Nick and Maisie crash into a tree. Tragically, Nick dies and Clara is left to pick up the pieces. She becomes obsessed with the idea that her husband was run off the roa I would like to thank NetGalley, Park Row Books, and Mary Kubica for the advanced digital copy in exchange for an honest review. Clara Solberg and her husband seem to have it all. A lovely home, a preschool aged daughter and infant son, and a successful dental practice. One evening coming home from his daughter's ballet recital, Nick and Maisie crash into a tree. Tragically, Nick dies and Clara is left to pick up the pieces. She becomes obsessed with the idea that her husband was run off the road. Was it the mysterious woman that had a restraining order against her husband, her violent neighbor, or someone closer to the family? Clara finds herself immersed in a mystery with many suspects, uncovers secrets that surround her husband, and finds the determination and shear will to uncover the truth.
    more
  • Patty
    April 3, 2017
    Every Last LieByMary KubicaWhat it's all about...Nick and Clara are involved in raising and supporting their young family...toddler Maisie and infant son Felix. Nick is a dentist who has a struggling practice. Money is tight and he is not making wise decisions about his family's future. One day...on the way home from Maisie's ballet class...the unthinkable thing happens and lives are changed forever. Clara gets an idea in her head about the course of events leading up to this event and life gets Every Last LieByMary KubicaWhat it's all about...Nick and Clara are involved in raising and supporting their young family...toddler Maisie and infant son Felix. Nick is a dentist who has a struggling practice. Money is tight and he is not making wise decisions about his family's future. One day...on the way home from Maisie's ballet class...the unthinkable thing happens and lives are changed forever. Clara gets an idea in her head about the course of events leading up to this event and life gets even more erratic. Why I wanted to read it...This author's books are always so good. They are filled with questions and doubts and weird turns of events. Clara has to be exhausted from childbirth and in addition to that there are money worries. Why did Nick cancel his life insurance? She also has her parents to worry about...an absent minded father and a mother with dementia. There are neighbor issues and old girlfriend issues and best friend issues...there are quite a few issues in this book...all which need to be sorted and understood by Clara. What made me truly enjoy this book...I loved all of the mysteries in this book...the black car, the muddy footprints, the mystery necklace. They all made sense and tied the series of events together quite neatly and finally explained what really happened to Nick. Poor sweet Nick...Why you should read it, too...Readers who love a really good mystery with tons of unique characters...should enjoy this book. Fondly...Patty
    more
  • Donna Taylor
    April 20, 2017
    This is her best book to date, and yet the last three were a pure delight! This is a writer to watch, as she is going to do some incredible literally things. The writer is young, talented, and has kept me on the edge of my seat for four books in a row. Few writers I know can keep that pace without an okay book in the mix. Congrats to the writer on doing it again, and again, and again, and yet again!!!!
    more
Write a review