Besieged (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #0.3, 4.7, 8.6)
Harry Dresden meets American Gods in this collection of all-new stories set in the bestselling world of The Iron Druid Chronicles, starring 2,000-year-old Irishman/Druid, Atticus O’Sullivan.The Iron Druid Chronicles is a hilarious and action-packed urban fantasy set in a modern world in which all the gods of every pantheon are alive and well, as in American Gods; its hero is a smart-mouthed, buttkicking magician, like Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden. But it’s told in a smart, witty, unforgettable voice that’s all Kevin Hearne—a star in the fantasy world. This addictive and wildly imaginative series stars hero Atticus O’Sullivan: a handsome, tattooed Irishman who looks like a young rock star, but is in actuality a 2,000-year-old Druid with extraordinary magic powers. In Besieged, Atticus’ adventures throughout history are told in a collection of nine new and original short stories.

Besieged (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #0.3, 4.7, 8.6) Details

TitleBesieged (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #0.3, 4.7, 8.6)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherDel Rey Books
ISBN0399181733
ISBN-139780399181733
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Audiobook

Besieged (The Iron Druid Chronicles, #0.3, 4.7, 8.6) Review

  • Kristie
    February 27, 2017
    Interestingly enough, I am not a big fan or either Harry Dresden or Neil Gaiman, but I really enjoy the Iron Druid series. This is why I do not like title dropping in the book blurbs. I wish people would stop doing that. It never works out well for the book. Either you skip it because you didn't like the books mentioned or you read it, but you're disappointed by the comparison. Besides, why compare this book to others when the series is solid enough to stand on its own? I'm still going to read t Interestingly enough, I am not a big fan or either Harry Dresden or Neil Gaiman, but I really enjoy the Iron Druid series. This is why I do not like title dropping in the book blurbs. I wish people would stop doing that. It never works out well for the book. Either you skip it because you didn't like the books mentioned or you read it, but you're disappointed by the comparison. Besides, why compare this book to others when the series is solid enough to stand on its own? I'm still going to read this one, but in spite of the comparison because I already know that I enjoy the series.
    more
  • Baige Bell
    February 19, 2017
    I HATE that the synopsis compares this so heavily to Dresden. Dresden takes itself so seriously that it is absolutely insufferable. Atticus O'sullivan is always done in good humor and tongue in cheek fantasy tropes. He isn't getting beaten to near death every fifteen pages and expected to save the entire universe by the end of every book. It's much more light hearted and therefore much more bearable than Dresden's constant whining about the paper cut a random ass kid in Saudi Arabia got while re I HATE that the synopsis compares this so heavily to Dresden. Dresden takes itself so seriously that it is absolutely insufferable. Atticus O'sullivan is always done in good humor and tongue in cheek fantasy tropes. He isn't getting beaten to near death every fifteen pages and expected to save the entire universe by the end of every book. It's much more light hearted and therefore much more bearable than Dresden's constant whining about the paper cut a random ass kid in Saudi Arabia got while reading Nicodemus' manifesto that Harry believes he absolutely should have prevented and then goes on for about fifteen pages with a laundry list of all the suffering he should have prevented while simultaneously explaining Bob the "spirit of intellect" skull and the Unseelie accords for the 17th time. Yeah. Atticus doesn't do any of that.
    more
  • Jessica Rodrigues
    December 8, 2016
    Cover Owen looks like a weird mashup of my husband and my dad -- not at all what I was expecting. Haha.Review to follow closer to publication date.received via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review
  • Joy Smith
    May 23, 2017
    These nine stories have assorted characters narrating. I liked the Atticus and Oberon (his Irish wolfhound) stories the most. And one character's story contains adult content. (Cuddle Dungeon) The stories vary in location and time periods, with a variety of supernatural beings, including werewolves and other shape changers, vampires, ghouls, demons, witches, gods and more with lots of magic, adventure, danger, and mayhem (blood and guts, etc.). Atticus O'Sullivan is a Druid from Ireland; he's be These nine stories have assorted characters narrating. I liked the Atticus and Oberon (his Irish wolfhound) stories the most. And one character's story contains adult content. (Cuddle Dungeon) The stories vary in location and time periods, with a variety of supernatural beings, including werewolves and other shape changers, vampires, ghouls, demons, witches, gods and more with lots of magic, adventure, danger, and mayhem (blood and guts, etc.). Atticus O'Sullivan is a Druid from Ireland; he's been around for 2,000 years so he's had time to visit other places and times; there are apprentice Druids also, and their training is interesting, especially when they learn to communicate with animals. Atticus tells some of the stories from his past to his apprentice, Granuaile. I liked their relationship and repartee. Oberon's point of view is fun, but only Atticus can hear his remarks. There is interesting background info too, which I always enjoy. As I said, I liked the Atticus stories the best; there are references to him in other stories. So there's lots of choices, and I think the reader will enjoy most of them. I haven't read any of the novels, but I see the series is coming to an end with Scourged (2018).
    more
  • Cheesecake
    June 28, 2017
    Been a while since I read this series but I remember it fondly. It's not as dark as Neil Gaiman's American Gods. I don't know about the Dresden stuff....Sure wish it wasn't so expensive though! $15.99 on Kindle for less than 300 pages. Sheesh!!
  • Cressa
    May 22, 2017
    I received an advance copy from Net Galley in exchange for a honest review. I adore the Iron Druid Chronicles. The only thing that would have made this absolutely perfect would have been a short story from Oberon's point of view.
  • Damian Brennan
    May 15, 2017
    I have been a devoted reader of the Iron Druid series. It has the right blend of adventure, well developed characters, snarkiness, mythology, wit and drama. Besieged is a collection of short stories involving the main characters of the series. Atticus gets more pages but Granuille, Owen, Perun (god of thunder) and others get their own turns in the spotlight. The stories are spread out across approx 1,300 years of history and fill in gaps in our understanding of the main players. The latter stori I have been a devoted reader of the Iron Druid series. It has the right blend of adventure, well developed characters, snarkiness, mythology, wit and drama. Besieged is a collection of short stories involving the main characters of the series. Atticus gets more pages but Granuille, Owen, Perun (god of thunder) and others get their own turns in the spotlight. The stories are spread out across approx 1,300 years of history and fill in gaps in our understanding of the main players. The latter stories are more current and set the stage for the upcoming conclusion of the series. Here's a brief synopsis of the stories:The Eye of Horus - Atticus is visited by the Morrigan and sent on a mission that will take him to the Library of Alexandria and change the course of his life. One note for Kevin Hearne - the Morrigan is one of my favorite characters from the first few books. I wish she could have been a bit more fleshed out in this short story.Goddess at the Crossroads - Atticus tells the story of how he met a drunken Shakespeare, saved his life and changed Western literature.The Demon Barker of Wheat Street - This is a repeat tale. Atticus and Granuille visit her old home town and run into a host of demons who are using a carnival to feed their unholy appetites. The notes indicate that this story has been updated from the original version but, having read the previously published version a while back, I didn't notice much of a difference.Gold Dust Druid - Play stupid games, win stupid prizes. When will people learn that summoning demons rarely goes well. Gold rush era San Francisco suffers biblical consequences.The Bogeyman of Boora Bog - It turns out that not all druids make for good neighbors. Owen goes Dirty Harry and winds up meeting a young Atticus in old-school Ireland.Cuddle Dungeon - Gods get their freak on. This is very much an adult short story.Blood Pudding - Granuaile has the spotlight to herself in this story. Vampires can't be trusted and it's up to her and some thick necked mercenaries to remind some Polish vampires that they aren't at the top of the food chain. Hunted to Devils - Own and Atticus team up with Owen's new apprentices to prevent the extinction of Tasmanian devils. Mayhem ensues.The End of Idylls - The Morrigan pays Atticus a visit and let's him know that the end is nigh. Loki is on the move and Lucifer is his new bff. Fun time is over and he has the talk with Oberon.
    more
  • Judy Lesley
    May 12, 2017
    A review copy received through the Amazon Vine Voices program and Random House/Del Rey. Thank you.Fans of the Iron Druid series will appreciate this collection of nine short stories because Atticus and others fill in the blanks about some of the things which happen in the novels but might not be completely explained. Each story begins with the author, Kevin Hearne, stating who the narrator will be and exactly where that particular story falls within the series. If you have not read any of this s A review copy received through the Amazon Vine Voices program and Random House/Del Rey. Thank you.Fans of the Iron Druid series will appreciate this collection of nine short stories because Atticus and others fill in the blanks about some of the things which happen in the novels but might not be completely explained. Each story begins with the author, Kevin Hearne, stating who the narrator will be and exactly where that particular story falls within the series. If you have not read any of this series, some of the information given here will help you grasp what the novels are about and help you make a decision about whether or not to begin reading the first novel. These are the titles of the nine stories and a very brief synopsis of each:The Eye of Horus - Atticus tells the story of his journey to Egypt to the Great Library of Alexandria.Goddess at the Crossroads - Atticus and William Shakespeare meet Hecate.The Demon Barker of Wheat Street - fair goers get to choose between heaven and hell at the Kansas Wheat Festival.Gold Dust Druid - a demon is loose in San Francisco feeding off of greed.The Bogeyman of Boora Bog - Owen Kennedy explains how he met Siodhacan O'Suilebhain (Atticus) and took him on as apprentice.Cuddle Dungeon - narrated by Perun, an old Slavic thunder god. No synopsis because of spoilers.Blood Pudding - Granuaile has finished her apprenticeship and is ridding Poland of vampires.Hunted to Devils - curing a genetic disease in Tasmanian devils.The End of Idylls - a vague "story" to set up the next novel.All of the stories were good and there was only one I had read before, The Demon Barker of Wheat Street, even though I have not read the anthology Hearne says that story appears in. (This story does appear as a short story in digital format but I can't find it on the records for my Kindle.) On page 94 there is some very funny and interesting conversation between Atticus and Oberon (an Irish wolfhound) about book reviewers. Oberon is giving Atticus very low star ratings for the story he is telling. I found that whole sequence very amusing. So, yes, I did read the book!So read this collection to get yourself ready for the next adventure with the Iron Druid. Evidently we are going back to the land of ice and snow.
    more
  • Nathan Trachta
    June 8, 2017
    I'll open by stating I received this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for my review, no strings attached. I did this because I've read many of Mr. Hearne's Iron Druid books and wanted to see how this one was. Rather than being a complete single story Besieged is a series of short stories that are either new or previously published and modified. Because of this the writing style is a little different between stories and the tie between short stories is only Atticus, Oberon (I always shake my hea I'll open by stating I received this book from Amazon Vine in exchange for my review, no strings attached. I did this because I've read many of Mr. Hearne's Iron Druid books and wanted to see how this one was. Rather than being a complete single story Besieged is a series of short stories that are either new or previously published and modified. Because of this the writing style is a little different between stories and the tie between short stories is only Atticus, Oberon (I always shake my head that the king of the Fey from A Midsummer Nights Dream is a dog), and Granuaile. As you read the stories you realize that while a timeline is provided (at the start of each story Mr. Hearne tells us which Iron Druid book it's near) there's suffciient "wobble" in the timeline that I became distracted with trying to remember the general events from the book. Story wise I felt hit and miss with them; loved it because it reminded me of some of the earlier Iron Druid books or miss because the characters seemed very 2 dimensional and "forced" compared to other Iron Druid books. While the good stories made me want to rate this 4 stars+, the less "polished"/"forced" ones gave me a weak 2 star rating.
    more
  • Ron
    June 29, 2017
    Are you looking for a nice Iron Druid fix? Then you are in luck! Besieged has nine short tales set in the Iron Druid universe. Two stories ("The Demon Barker of Wheat Street" and "Goddess at the Crossroads") have appeared elsewhere, but that still leaves seven brand-spanking new stories. Atticus narrates five tales, Owen does two, and Granuaile and Perun does one apiece. There tales of Egyptian adventures, Shakespearean inspiration, Gold Rush fun, and a very strange BDSM tale. If you are an Iron Are you looking for a nice Iron Druid fix? Then you are in luck! Besieged has nine short tales set in the Iron Druid universe. Two stories ("The Demon Barker of Wheat Street" and "Goddess at the Crossroads") have appeared elsewhere, but that still leaves seven brand-spanking new stories. Atticus narrates five tales, Owen does two, and Granuaile and Perun does one apiece. There tales of Egyptian adventures, Shakespearean inspiration, Gold Rush fun, and a very strange BDSM tale. If you are an Iron Druid fan, do not miss this book, or you will regret the lost opportunity to hear old and new tales. Just don't greedy like Oberon with the sausages and read them all in one sitting!
    more
  • Glennis
    June 21, 2017
    Review to come
Write a review