At the Table of Wolves (Dark Talents #1)
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy meets X-Men in a classic British espionage story. A young woman must go undercover and use her superpowers to discover a secret Nazi plot and stop an invasion of England.In 1936, there are paranormal abilities that have slowly seeped into the world, brought to the surface by the suffering of the Great War. The research to weaponize these abilities in England has lagged behind Germany, but now it’s underway at an ultra-secret site called Monkton Hall.Kim Tavistock, a woman with the talent of the spill—drawing out truths that people most wish to hide—is among the test subjects at the facility. When she wins the confidence of caseworker Owen Cherwell, she is recruited to a mission to expose the head of Monkton Hall—who is believed to be a German spy.As she infiltrates the upper-crust circles of some of England’s fascist sympathizers, she encounters dangerous opponents, including the charismatic Nazi officer Erich von Ritter, and discovers a plan to invade England. No one believes an invasion of the island nation is possible, not Whitehall, not even England’s Secret Intelligence Service. Unfortunately, they are wrong, and only one woman, without connections or training, wielding her talent of the spill and her gift for espionage, can stop it.

At the Table of Wolves (Dark Talents #1) Details

TitleAt the Table of Wolves (Dark Talents #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherSaga Press
ISBN1481487787
ISBN-139781481487788
Number of pages421 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Historical, Fiction, Science Fiction, Adult, Alternate History

At the Table of Wolves (Dark Talents #1) Review

  • Kathleen Basi
    June 30, 2017
    (Note: I was offered an uncorrected galley proof of this book in advance of publication, for purposes of an honest review.)Kay Kenyon's "At the Table Of Wolves" begins with a premise: the trauma of World War I released previously hidden talents among some people--talents which an ascendant Nazi Germany is keen to exploit for military purposes. Not exactly superpowers, but certainly beyond the ordinary.Kenyon's protagonist is Kim, born British, raised in America, and now returning to her birthpla (Note: I was offered an uncorrected galley proof of this book in advance of publication, for purposes of an honest review.)Kay Kenyon's "At the Table Of Wolves" begins with a premise: the trauma of World War I released previously hidden talents among some people--talents which an ascendant Nazi Germany is keen to exploit for military purposes. Not exactly superpowers, but certainly beyond the ordinary.Kenyon's protagonist is Kim, born British, raised in America, and now returning to her birthplace in possession of "Spill"--a gift that means in her presence, people will often "spill" their deepest secrets.She's working for the British government. So is her father, although he's so deep undercover, he appears to Kim to be pro-German. But she's new and not really a spy--she's just a Talent they're working with, to see what applications her power might have. Uninitiated and untrained, she finds herself in the middle of a mission to prove a conspiracy between a member of her own governmental unit, without realizing just how deep is the hole into which she's venturing.The tension in this book never lets up, and as the mystery unravels, one painstaking step at a time, the misunderstandings between Kim and her father get more tightly knotted. It's beautifully plotted and beautifully written.Being a member of a family full of superhero fans, the concept drew me immediately, but as a writer of contemporary women's fiction, I appreciated how realistically the "extra" element was handled. No one is impaling people with ice shards from their hands or blasting fire from their eyes; Kenyon's concept of Talents is easy to imagine happening in the real world.One of the most enjoyable books I've read in the past year.
    more
  • Elena
    May 11, 2017
    A young woman must go undercover and use her superpowers to discover a secret Nazi plot and stop an invasion of England.YES, PLEASE.
  • Mike CRrow
    July 11, 2017
    I love this book. It takes place mostly in the English countryside in the 1930's when the impact of Nazi Germany was being felt across Europe. It is a great mixture of genres that makes me think of some of my favorites, Downton Abbey, Foyle's War and The Force Awakens. It is also a very human story of family, friends, truth and purpose. The strong fantasy component is natural and believable and draws you into this new world. The heroine is empathetic and kind, like the friend we all want to conf I love this book. It takes place mostly in the English countryside in the 1930's when the impact of Nazi Germany was being felt across Europe. It is a great mixture of genres that makes me think of some of my favorites, Downton Abbey, Foyle's War and The Force Awakens. It is also a very human story of family, friends, truth and purpose. The strong fantasy component is natural and believable and draws you into this new world. The heroine is empathetic and kind, like the friend we all want to confide in. These normal human qualities have "bloomed" into a talent called the "spill". The bloom is growing in this new world for many people with many different talents, creating a paranormal version of this period of history. As the story unfolded in this new world and my understanding of talents grew I found myself racing to see this conflict of talents and purposes and to see how the talents were manifested in this new history.
    more
  • J. Mellinger
    July 24, 2017
    Great WWII FictionAs a history buff who has an interest in the WWII era, I read quite a bit of WWII fiction. This novel takes that era of history and adds the interesting aspect of X-Men like powers into the story.The world building Kay Kenyon does for her novels is incredible. It is obvious that she did quite a bit of research on the subject of Britain in the days prior to the outbreak of WWII. The characters are very well written and are quite believable even while unbelievable events are occu Great WWII FictionAs a history buff who has an interest in the WWII era, I read quite a bit of WWII fiction. This novel takes that era of history and adds the interesting aspect of X-Men like powers into the story.The world building Kay Kenyon does for her novels is incredible. It is obvious that she did quite a bit of research on the subject of Britain in the days prior to the outbreak of WWII. The characters are very well written and are quite believable even while unbelievable events are occurring all around them. The addition of historical events and people only adds to the great world Mrs. Kenyon has created in this new series of novels.I would highly recommend this novel and the future novels to fans of fantasy, as well as fans of WWII history.
    more
  • Jessica Galimore
    July 30, 2017
    Gripping, historical spy thriller with a touch of fantasy!I’ve never read such a blend of genres, and Kay Kenyon weaves them together artfully and seamlessly. This tale of a reimagined pre-WWII is incredibly believable, even with the intriguing “Talent” abilities that have appeared in part of the era’s population. In a race to uncover Germany’s secrets to exploit and weaponize Talents, Kim Tavistock finds herself in more mysterious and increasingly-dangerous situations that keep the reader on a Gripping, historical spy thriller with a touch of fantasy!I’ve never read such a blend of genres, and Kay Kenyon weaves them together artfully and seamlessly. This tale of a reimagined pre-WWII is incredibly believable, even with the intriguing “Talent” abilities that have appeared in part of the era’s population. In a race to uncover Germany’s secrets to exploit and weaponize Talents, Kim Tavistock finds herself in more mysterious and increasingly-dangerous situations that keep the reader on a page-turning binge. I highly recommend this book, and it will leave you looking forward to the rest of the series.
    more
  • Ari Baronofsky
    July 23, 2017
    Two caveats:1. I won an ARC of this book through a contest at Barnes and Noble. 2. The editor is someone I'm friendly with. X-Men meets Tinker Tailor is a decent enough elevator pitch for this book, I suppose, but it sells things a bit short. Wolves is really it's own unique entity, and trying to describe it as a combo of other things is a bit of a disservice. Great characters with believable personalities and drives, great settings, and a story that's a bit of a slow burn, but draws you in. It' Two caveats:1. I won an ARC of this book through a contest at Barnes and Noble. 2. The editor is someone I'm friendly with. X-Men meets Tinker Tailor is a decent enough elevator pitch for this book, I suppose, but it sells things a bit short. Wolves is really it's own unique entity, and trying to describe it as a combo of other things is a bit of a disservice. Great characters with believable personalities and drives, great settings, and a story that's a bit of a slow burn, but draws you in. It's tone sort of reminds me of Jo Walton's Farthing, at times. Probably because of the British high society aspects. Give it a read, you'll be glad you did.
    more
  • Nightwing
    June 13, 2017
    So, what if all of a sudden people started exhibiting psychic talents? And what if there's a war happening, and the Nazis look to be winning? And, so maybe, just maybe, these newly-talented people could help? But, which side are they on?This is the world we are thrust into in At The Table of Wolves by Kay Kenyon. Eat well, and have something handy to drink, before you start this book, for you will not put it down once you start reading. It grabs you by your soul and doesn't let go until the very So, what if all of a sudden people started exhibiting psychic talents? And what if there's a war happening, and the Nazis look to be winning? And, so maybe, just maybe, these newly-talented people could help? But, which side are they on?This is the world we are thrust into in At The Table of Wolves by Kay Kenyon. Eat well, and have something handy to drink, before you start this book, for you will not put it down once you start reading. It grabs you by your soul and doesn't let go until the very last word.When is the next one?!?!?!
    more
  • Louise Marley
    July 31, 2017
    Fascinating and imaginative novel of the run-up to the Second World War in Great Britain. Full of spy details and British color, the plot starts slowly (my favorite way) so the reader gets to know the characters and then rockets off with the highest of stakes for all concerned. Beautifully written and plotted. Highly recommended!
    more
  • Kallierose
    July 23, 2017
    A solid start to a new series. I look forward to reading more, and am wondering if future books will follow the same characters or a different set.
Write a review