Seeking Mansfield (Seeking Mansfield, #1)
Sixteen-year-old Finley Price has perfected two things: how to direct a world-class production, and how to fly way, way under the radar. The only person who ever seems to notice Finley is her best friend, the Bertram's son Oliver. If she could just take Oliver's constant encouragement to heart and step out of the shadows, she'd finally chase her dream of joining the prestigious Mansfield Theater. When teen movie stars Emma and Harlan Crawford move next door to the Bertram's, they immediately set their sights on Oliver and his cunning sister, Juliette, shaking up Finley and Oliver's stable friendship. As Emma and Oliver grow closer, Harlan finds his attention shifting from Juliette to the quiet, enigmatic, and thoroughly unimpressed Finley. Out of boredom, Harlan decides to make her fall in love with him. Problem is, the harder he seeks to win her, the harder he falls for her. But Finley doesn't want to be won, and she doesn't want to see Oliver with anyone else. To claim Oliver's heart—and keep her own—she'll have to find the courage to do what she fears most: step into the spotlight.

Seeking Mansfield (Seeking Mansfield, #1) Details

TitleSeeking Mansfield (Seeking Mansfield, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 16th, 2017
PublisherFlux
ISBN1631631187
ISBN-139781631631184
Number of pages300 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Retellings, Contemporary

Seeking Mansfield (Seeking Mansfield, #1) Review

  • Kate Watson
    March 18, 2016
    Spoiler alert: I LOVED THIS BOOK. I wrote this book, so believe me, I know.Also, there are no real spoilers in this review. But if there were, they'd be charming and witty and you'd be so excited, I bet.
  • Fafa's Book Corner
    January 14, 2017
    Review to come :)
  • McKelle George
    March 18, 2016
    Guys, you need this book in your life. A lot of people think Mansfield Park is one of Austen's more lowkey, unobtrusive books--but Watson finds the charming core of that book and turns it into her own in a hilarious, romantic, and awesome retelling. You will love Finley. And Harlan. And everyone.
    more
  • Marguerite
    February 1, 2017
    Rating : 3.75 starswhat is it with me and the .75 stars ??Mansfield Park is probably one of my least favorite books of Jane Austen. I liked it, but Mansfield Park lacked a heroine like Emma or Lizzie. Fanny Price was dull, irritating and invisible.Finley Price was not. Seeking Mansfield is about Finley and Oliver as they grow up and find each other. It's about this shy and selfless girl who thinks she's not worth anything, and how she will manage to find her own way, love and happiness. It was a Rating : 3.75 starswhat is it with me and the .75 stars ??Mansfield Park is probably one of my least favorite books of Jane Austen. I liked it, but Mansfield Park lacked a heroine like Emma or Lizzie. Fanny Price was dull, irritating and invisible.Finley Price was not. Seeking Mansfield is about Finley and Oliver as they grow up and find each other. It's about this shy and selfless girl who thinks she's not worth anything, and how she will manage to find her own way, love and happiness. It was a heart-warming story, and I would definitely recommend it !Complete review to come later, nearer the publication date !if I don’t forget…
    more
  • Jeff
    March 19, 2016
    I beta read an early copy of this and was surprised by how much I liked it. Kate's writing was easy to get into, and even though Young Adult isn't my thing, I found her characters likably flawed and complex, and the story was one I wanted to finish. Great book.
    more
  • Carlie Sorosiak
    July 18, 2016
    1. Do you like theatre? (Go to #2)2. Do you like love stories/love triangles? (Go to #3)3. Do you like marvelous combinations of the two in a gorgeously swoon-worthy YA package? Well, you're in luck!I think you can tell by now that I thoroughly enjoyed Seeking Mansfield. I'm going to go ahead and admit at the forefront that I've never read Jane Austen. I know. Really, I know. That's craziness, and will have to be remedied at some point - but in no way did this lessen my reading experience. Becau 1. Do you like theatre? (Go to #2)2. Do you like love stories/love triangles? (Go to #3)3. Do you like marvelous combinations of the two in a gorgeously swoon-worthy YA package? Well, you're in luck!I think you can tell by now that I thoroughly enjoyed Seeking Mansfield. I'm going to go ahead and admit at the forefront that I've never read Jane Austen. I know. Really, I know. That's craziness, and will have to be remedied at some point - but in no way did this lessen my reading experience. Because there are still lines like "Laying it on thicker than the butter on Brando's abs" and there is KISSING GALORE. And I mean, kissing like: So, yeah. Finley is so easy to root for, and Oliver... oh my, Oliver. Let's just say that you'll find out. :)And the last line! The last line is PERFECTION. Basically what I'm saying is that you should add this to your TBR pile.
    more
  • Susannah Ortiz
    March 22, 2016
    I read an earlier draft of this book and devoured it! Even with 3 small children clamoring for my attention I couldn't put it down! As an avid YA reader and devoted Jane Austen fan I can say with assurance that this is a fun, delightful book! The characters are well developed and the storyline is well paced. Can't wait to read this book in all of it's published glory!
    more
  • Kirsti (Melbourne on my mind)
    January 14, 2017
    4.5 stars. Review to follow.
  • Rosalyn Eves
    February 13, 2017
    I'm a sucker for Jane Austen retellings (even the bad ones), so as soon as I heard the premise for Seeking Mansfield, I wanted to read it. Mansfield Park is a tricky adaptation in any case--Fanny Price is one of Austen's quieter heroines, and I'm never entirely comfortable with the pygmalion vibes I get from the way Edmund Bertram takes pride in shaping Fanny's tastes.In Seeking Mansfield, Kate Watson brilliantly updates Austen's classic for a modern audience and improves on the creepy vibe from I'm a sucker for Jane Austen retellings (even the bad ones), so as soon as I heard the premise for Seeking Mansfield, I wanted to read it. Mansfield Park is a tricky adaptation in any case--Fanny Price is one of Austen's quieter heroines, and I'm never entirely comfortable with the pygmalion vibes I get from the way Edmund Bertram takes pride in shaping Fanny's tastes.In Seeking Mansfield, Kate Watson brilliantly updates Austen's classic for a modern audience and improves on the creepy vibe from the original. Finley Price is quiet and determined and content to stay out of the limelight, like Fanny Price, but many of the similarities end there. Finley pursues her love of theater while caring for her adopted aunt. She knows her own mind. She's strong and spunky.And in love with her foster brother, Oliver Bertram. She's content to savor their best friend relationship--until two of Hollywood's hottest new stars, Harlan Crawford and his sister Emma, move in nearby. Suddenly, Finley finds Emma pursuing a not-reluctant-enough Oliver and Harlan is increasingly interested in her. If Finley wants to claim what she really wants, she has to step out of the shadows and claim the spotlight for once.I thought the characters were smart and fun and I loved the tricky relationships--Finley and Oliver, Oliver and Emma, Harlan and Finley. I'm not a fan of love triangles unless they're well done, and this one was (though technically, it's more of a love-square) particularly believable in the different evolutions. A fun, romantic, thoughtful read.
    more
  • Emily Murphy
    February 12, 2017
    If you love Austen (as I do) and slow-burning romances (as I do), then you will love this book (as I did!) The word "charming" was invented to describe SEEKING MANSFIELD. A clever, sweet retelling peppered with pop culture, Shakespeare, and--of course--Austen references. Really enjoyed this one!
    more
  • Stephanie
    January 10, 2017
    Overall, I really enjoying Seeking Mansfield. I liked the characters and the romance and the message of self-worth and standing up for yourself. It was an easy and addicting read. Though I thought the middle of the story dragged a little bit with too much teen angst, it did pick back up and I really enjoyed it. I think fans of Mansfield Park would be happy to read this re-telling. Full Review to come.
    more
  • Emily
    March 18, 2016
    I beta read an early version of this book and it was wonderful. Can't wait for it to be released!
  • Tamara
    March 18, 2016
    This is the debut novel by my fabulous and talented sister-in-law. I cannot wait to read it!!
  • Cherylkinsgmail.Com
    March 27, 2016
    I can't wait to read this book!
  • Krysti
    February 22, 2017
    Did Seeking Mansfield Just Out Swoon Mansfield Park?!The answer is YYYAAASSS!!!! I am, admittedly, a huge Austenite, but Kate Watson made me fall in love with Bertram and Crawford even more than Jane Austen herself did. Which if you haven't read Mansfield Park yet, that is SERIOUSLY saying something. This book was a true pleasure from beginning to end, and I absolutely loved it.MY RATING: FIVE STARS*Warning! This review may contain spoilers if you have not yet read Mansfield Park*I read a lot, A Did Seeking Mansfield Just Out Swoon Mansfield Park?!The answer is YYYAAASSS!!!! I am, admittedly, a huge Austenite, but Kate Watson made me fall in love with Bertram and Crawford even more than Jane Austen herself did. Which if you haven't read Mansfield Park yet, that is SERIOUSLY saying something. This book was a true pleasure from beginning to end, and I absolutely loved it.MY RATING: FIVE STARS*Warning! This review may contain spoilers if you have not yet read Mansfield Park*I read a lot, A LOT of Austen retellings. I'll admit that I've got a bit of an Austen addiction. There are a lot of great adaptations of Austen's work out there, but this one is truly something special. It not only stays true to the original text, it IMPROVES upon it. Yes. I said it. JASNA is probably considering revoking my membership this very second, but I dare them to read this book and tell me that I'm wrong.So let's talk about what Watson does better than Austen. There are two chief criticisms that Mansfield Park typically receives. First, that Fanny Price is a weak leading lady. And second, that Edmund Bertram is overly protective of her, telling her what to do and treating her like a damsel in distress.Instead of repeating those same "mistakes" in Seeking Mansfield, Watson has created brilliant character arcs for both Finley and Oliver that break them out of those molds and make them appealing to a 21st century audience.As I previously mentioned Watson also made me fall in love with both Crawford and Bertram in a way that Austen just couldn't in Mansfield Park. Watson does a much better job of showing that people are not just good or bad, that we're all complex, and she develops her characters accordingly. Because of that, I was legitimately rooting for Crawford for a big section of this book, which I never would have guessed going in.If you're familiar with Mansfield Park, you'll be able to guess the major plot points here, but it's the way that Watson takes us from point A to point B that is just so completely enthralling. She also has some wonderful nods to the original Mansfield story that will be so much fun for fans of Austen's work to discover.Thanks so much to NetGalley and Flux Books for granting me this eARC in exchange for an honest review.COVER RATING : FOUR STARSI really like this cover. The color scheme is lovely and I love that they included the theater in the background, since it's such a critical part of Finley's development and history.SWOON RATING: FIVE STARSSo much swoon in this story. I am still absolutely blown away by Watson's ability to make me fall in love with both of the leading men in this story. She makes them so much more complex and relatable and even gives us a glimpse into Bertram's POV, which just made me love them both all the more. Watson truly nailed the romance element in this retelling.
    more
  • Sara
    March 5, 2017
    Austen retelling plus theater - I've waited months for this book and can count myself among the lucky early readers. I rather like Austen's Mansfield Park, and Watson puts a fantastic contemporary spin on the story. Even if you've never read a word of Austen, you'll fall for Finley, her world, and everyone in it.
    more
  • Alisha Tarran
    January 10, 2017
    Okay, so I knew I was going to love this, because hello....Mansfield Park retelling! Plus you know...theatre. I love theatre! But having not read Mansfield Park, I wasn't entirely sure what to expect! Seeking Mansfield takes us on quite the rollercoaster ride. I started out shipping Finley and Oliver, then Finley and Harlan, and then Finley and Oliver again, and feeling every emotion in between. I felt angry on Finley's behalf about how she was treated by people, sad, the book made me laugh. I w Okay, so I knew I was going to love this, because hello....Mansfield Park retelling! Plus you know...theatre. I love theatre! But having not read Mansfield Park, I wasn't entirely sure what to expect! Seeking Mansfield takes us on quite the rollercoaster ride. I started out shipping Finley and Oliver, then Finley and Harlan, and then Finley and Oliver again, and feeling every emotion in between. I felt angry on Finley's behalf about how she was treated by people, sad, the book made me laugh. I was rooting for Finley the entire way through, I'm not going to lie, I wanted her to succeed! I love how the author made me really like Oliver, and then the love triangle started and I started to be like "nah go away Oliver, Harlan all the way!" because Oliver was off with Emma. Then I wasn't too sure about Harlan in the beginning but then I ended up really liking him but I knew Oliver and Finley where going to end up together and I was like..how am I going to get over this?! I ship her and Harlan so bad because Oliver went off with Emma and was kind of douchey a time or time. I mean I understand why he was, I think we've all been in Oliver's position, but Finley goes through so much it made me sad that he was avoiding her. ANYWAY. I really liked Harlan, and I really liked Emma, she was such a good friend to Finley, and the author made me love them and then they finally showed their true colours. I was like "No it's fine, it'll be fine, nothing dodgy is going on here" And then New York happened and I was like DAMN IT. But before that whole part, I started to really like Oliver again and damn. I got completely tangled up and lost in this triangle and kept switching sides. I really did love how the book ended though! The romance brings the warm and fuzzies, the book is well written, and the characters spring to life as you read! Even the ones you don't like, like Juliette -_-
    more
  • Anna Priemaza
    January 27, 2017
    It's taken me a while to write this review because every time I've thought about SEEKING MANSFIELD, I've spiraled into deep contemplation over my feelings about love triangles. (Not joking. True fact.) Because I don't like love triangles. (I know, I know, blasphemy.) So why, then, did I adore the love triangle (more of a love square, really) in this book?!?In SEEKING MANSFIELD, Finley Price is living with her best friend Oliver and his family, because her Hollywood actor dad is dead and her abus It's taken me a while to write this review because every time I've thought about SEEKING MANSFIELD, I've spiraled into deep contemplation over my feelings about love triangles. (Not joking. True fact.) Because I don't like love triangles. (I know, I know, blasphemy.) So why, then, did I adore the love triangle (more of a love square, really) in this book?!?In SEEKING MANSFIELD, Finley Price is living with her best friend Oliver and his family, because her Hollywood actor dad is dead and her abusive, alcoholic mother is in jail. Finley and Oliver are, of course, each secretly in love with each other. But then famous actor siblings Emma and Harlan move in across the street, and of course, Emma starts flirting with Oliver, and Harlan starts flirting with Finley, and hello complicated love square that I should have been rolling my eyes about but instead was completely invested in. Sometimes I was cheering for Finley and Oliver, sometimes for Finley and Harlan, sometimes for Emma and Oliver.Here's the thing about this love square: it wasn't the result of the usual indecisive character who leads two different people on because how could she possibly choose between them when she can't even decide what cereal to eat for breakfast! (I warned you love triangles aren't my thing.) This love triangle/square wasn't about indecisiveness at all, but about how people change and grow, and how their relationships and the things they need from others can change and grow right along with them--or not. And I loved it.SEEKING MANSFIELD was a delight from start to finish, full of humour and wit, lovable characters, and heart. I definitely recommend it.
    more
  • Amanda
    February 6, 2017
    First, a huge thanks to NetGalley for an ARC of a book that basically killed me dead with all the feels.Second, do you like angsty swoon? Like ALL THE ANGSTY SWOON? Then this book is for you!! I can't even properly describe the amount of feels I had while reading this book. I'll write more when I read a properly published version (oh you bet I'll be buying a fancy published copy of this book and rereading it fortnightly).Kate Watson, you're my hero.
    more
  • Leah
    March 1, 2017
    ***I received a copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.***SUMMARY:Finley Price wants nothing more than to be accepted into the summer Mansfield theater program and to prove herself as a director. But first, she must prove to herself that she has what it takes. Over the course of a couple months, she's forced to confront both her past and her present to discover the Finley of her future.---------REVIEW:As a Jane Austen retelling, I really wanted to like this book, but ultimately I co ***I received a copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.***SUMMARY:Finley Price wants nothing more than to be accepted into the summer Mansfield theater program and to prove herself as a director. But first, she must prove to herself that she has what it takes. Over the course of a couple months, she's forced to confront both her past and her present to discover the Finley of her future.---------REVIEW:As a Jane Austen retelling, I really wanted to like this book, but ultimately I couldn't. The general plotline of the novel was executed well, I thought, and it succeeded in modernizing the story for contemporary audiences, but the overall novel and reading experience was unsatisfactory and, at times, harmful and insensitive.One issue was that there are a few instances of body shaming, the most notable being:"Quick, check the guy in the track pants," Harlan said. Finley's eyes found him in the relection. "That's a Twobuttian if I've ever seen one."The train doors closed and Finley and Harlan returned to more normal positions. She looked away but couldn't keep from chuckling. "There's no such thing as Twobuttians.""Are you sure? That dude's packing at least four butt cheeks into those pants.""You're awful."There is absolutely no need for this comment. It was said by one of the more unpleasant characters in the book, which I suppose could have been a way to show more of his negative qualities, but it is not called out or corrected by Finley, the main character. In fact, she goes along with it, though she doesn't verbally contribute to the fat shaming, indicating that fat people are a joke and thus there's no issue with Harlan's comment.The most prominent problem within the novel, however, had to do with Finley's ethnicity (biracial; part Brazilian, part white) and disparaging comments about Latinx people/countries in general. The first instance comes to us within the very first chapter:"Besides, he [her father] was going by Peres when he performed there. I doubt they'll make the connection.""Pedeez." He mimicked her pronunciation.Now we have no way of knowing whether or not Finley had asked him to stop before, but here we have the other main character (and ultimately, love interest), Oliver, mocking the way her accent sounds when she pronounces the name. It just seems like an unnecessary and dismissive comment to have. It could have easily been removed from the text--it has no purpose other than to reinforce that it's ~foreign~.The next instance comes in chapter two:Then Harlan huffed. "Look at her, Emma. She probably doesn't even speak English. Tu hablas lamou?" he asked, belaboring the words. Condescension oozed from his tone, snapping Finley from her daze.I mean, I think this one's pretty self-explanatory in why it's an harmful. I believe the author meant it as a way to immediately show Harlan as an ass, since this is the first time Finley and the readers meet him, but this really was not the way to go about that. Watson could have shown us he behaves badly without being racist.Then there's the matter of Finley's current job:"We're very proud of how hard-working Finley is."Finley blushed, and her cheeks only got redder when Juliette opened her mouth again. "Yes, Finley's the hardest working janitor in the city."--Fifteen minutes later, Finley was in her custodial uniform, even though her shift didn't start for an hour. The oversized, worn gray shirt was almost comforting. It reminded her of her place.Having one of only two POC characters (the second being Finley's older brother, Liam) placed in such a subservient position--not to mention the fact that Finley is basically the maid for the Bertrams and essentially a nurse for Mrs. Bertram--is irresponsible stereotyping at best, and further acts to denigrate them. Especially when written by a white author. I understand that Watson was attempting to stay true to the original plotline of Jane Austen's story, but she failed to take into account the ramifications of doing so with a WOC as the main character.There were other instances that I noted, and as I'm not Latina myself, I can only imagine what other microaggressions I may have missed that could potentially be harmful for Latinx readers. This, ultimately, is what led me to rating the book so lowly.(Note to any Latinx readers seeing this review: Please, if I've overstepped in speaking here, or I've misrepresented something as harmful that may not be, don't hesitate to let me know.) TRIGGER WARNINGS FOR THIS NOVEL INCLUDE: anti-Latinx racism/microaggressions, body shaming/fatshaming, mentions and descriptions of past child abuse, alcohol and drug addicted parent, verbal abuse, cheating (multiple instances), gaslighting
    more
  • Gina Denny
    March 25, 2017
    I am the very first person to say that I am tired of Jane Austen retellings (as I write my own fairy tale retellings, but that's beside the point) and so I have to admit that I was even a little nervous about this one, despite it being something other than Pride and Prejudice. Since I know basically nothing about Mansfield Park, however, it turns out that this reads like a fully contemporary novel. It has NONE of the annoying "retelling" traits: characters with out-of-time names, odd turns of ph I am the very first person to say that I am tired of Jane Austen retellings (as I write my own fairy tale retellings, but that's beside the point) and so I have to admit that I was even a little nervous about this one, despite it being something other than Pride and Prejudice. Since I know basically nothing about Mansfield Park, however, it turns out that this reads like a fully contemporary novel. It has NONE of the annoying "retelling" traits: characters with out-of-time names, odd turns of phrase, implausible familial relationships, awkward pacing because "that's how the story has to go". Instead, Watson has kept the parts of the story, the parts of the character that matter, and discarded the pieces that don't make sense. What's left is a completely swoon-worthy, heartbreaking YA romance about a theater kid who figures out how to stand up for herself. Throw in some famous ex-child star neighbors, a kissy-face boy, and genuine snort-worthy one-liners, and that's this book.
    more
  • Melissa
    March 6, 2017
    Kate Watson’s sparkling YA romance, SEEKING MANSFIELD—a riff on Jane Austen’s 1814 novel, Mansfield Park— centers on 16-year-old Finley Price, the theater-obsessed daughter of deceased movie star Gabriel Price, who is sent to live with her godparents, the Bertrams, after her father’s death. While in the care of the Bertram family, Finley meets teen heartthrob Harlan Crawford and his movie-star sister, Emma. Emma soon falls for Finley’s BFF Oliver Bertram, much to Finley’s dismay. Although Finley Kate Watson’s sparkling YA romance, SEEKING MANSFIELD—a riff on Jane Austen’s 1814 novel, Mansfield Park— centers on 16-year-old Finley Price, the theater-obsessed daughter of deceased movie star Gabriel Price, who is sent to live with her godparents, the Bertrams, after her father’s death. While in the care of the Bertram family, Finley meets teen heartthrob Harlan Crawford and his movie-star sister, Emma. Emma soon falls for Finley’s BFF Oliver Bertram, much to Finley’s dismay. Although Finley has never expressed her feelings for Oliver, she knows she cares for him deeply. What she doesn’t know is that the feeling is mutual. Later, when Harlan Crawford expresses his feelings for Finley, she has to make a choice: Does she continue to pine for Oliver—or embark on a romance with Harlan? A delightful and satisfying YA debut!
    more
  • Jess (Cozy Corner Reader)
    March 10, 2017
    Big thanks to Flux publishing and NetGalley for an ARC copy for reviewThis was a delightful book with a new generation Jane Austen retelling for YA fans. It definitely has me wanting to read the original. This story had me laughing, excited, sad, with the occasional eye roll, and happy for these characters. I also loved how Kate incorporated theater into mix, which is awesome because I really love play productions and Broadway.The main girl, Finley was very likeable, down to earth, and dedicated Big thanks to Flux publishing and NetGalley for an ARC copy for reviewThis was a delightful book with a new generation Jane Austen retelling for YA fans. It definitely has me wanting to read the original. This story had me laughing, excited, sad, with the occasional eye roll, and happy for these characters. I also loved how Kate incorporated theater into mix, which is awesome because I really love play productions and Broadway.The main girl, Finley was very likeable, down to earth, and dedicated when it came to her passion of theater. I enjoy reading about characters who strive to reach their dreams. Then there is Oliver, her supportive best friend. He is sweet and has her best interests at heart, but I'll be honest and say that I wasn't impressed with some of the things he did when it came to the new girl, Emma. Speaking of which, the siblings, Emma and Harlan, I didn't like them, and my gut feeling was right. It did slow down a bit in the middle, but the ending well made up for it and I was happy with how things turned out.
    more
  • Ellie CJ
    January 13, 2017
    Jane Austen is a timeless author, but rewrites of her works always seem to work out well, in one way or another. This is no exception. Mansfield Park always translates well to the modern world, and I really loved the concept of Finley coming into her own and finding her courage, and in that way 'earning' her Mansfield (a prestigious theatre college).Of course, the trusty love square that's going on is somewhat of a cliche, but it's one that just pushes the story on and on. I did get very frustra Jane Austen is a timeless author, but rewrites of her works always seem to work out well, in one way or another. This is no exception. Mansfield Park always translates well to the modern world, and I really loved the concept of Finley coming into her own and finding her courage, and in that way 'earning' her Mansfield (a prestigious theatre college).Of course, the trusty love square that's going on is somewhat of a cliche, but it's one that just pushes the story on and on. I did get very frustrated closer to the end, though, as I realised that everyone was just being completely and utterly stupid. Although, that is true to a lot of fiction, and I always get far too absorbed in my own personal preference of pairings to pay that much attention to what the characters might want themselves.Finley is actually a really likable character, although she does seem a little Mary Sue-ish to start off with. She's a little too shy to have any characteristics that I, as a reader, can instantly identify with, but I did start to see that coming through.I loved her story, though, it seemed slightly unreal but also wholly believable. The characters were somewhat hard to keep track of until later on - there was a lot of character introduction all at once which confused me quickly. Emma and Harlan were both,,, Interesting. To me, they were the characters you love to hate - the ones there to provide the extra features and tension. They endeared themselves to me as time went on, again, but to begin with they just flat out annoyed me. Emma is the better of the pair, to me, a 'posh' girl, but one with a massive heart that just makes her a lovely friend. I had a bit of a crush on her, honestly.In all, I found the ending really satisfying. I loved the way that it ended and it made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside, like a real happily ever after.
    more
  • Dani
    January 14, 2017
    I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you NetGalley and Flux for allowing me a sneak peek. "No sweetie, I think he's his own damsel. You're his armor. If he keeps you close enough, he can wear your problems instead of facing his own." -Kate Watson, Seeking MansfieldFor those of you who don't know, Seeking Mansfield is a retelling of Jane Austen's Mansfield Park. Although, the title is pretty self-explanatory. I jumped in head first and started reading this book I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you NetGalley and Flux for allowing me a sneak peek. "No sweetie, I think he's his own damsel. You're his armor. If he keeps you close enough, he can wear your problems instead of facing his own." -Kate Watson, Seeking MansfieldFor those of you who don't know, Seeking Mansfield is a retelling of Jane Austen's Mansfield Park. Although, the title is pretty self-explanatory. I jumped in head first and started reading this book without actually reading Mansfield Park. So I had pretty much no idea what was going on. The book was great. I was sometimes confusing, but most of the part was pretty enjoyable. If you have read any of Jane Austen's books, you would know that Austen loves to add numerous characters to her stories. This is no different, the amount of characters was some time difficult to follow. I had to go back once in a while to verify who certain person was. As for Finley as a heroine, she was weak and annoying. Don't get me wrong, I liked the story, but I am the kind of person who appreciated a strong heroine. Finley was very shy and sentimental. Towards the end, she seemed somewhat more confident, but I think she was still lacking in the though chick department. The love triangle , Harlan-Finley-Oliver had my emotions all over the place. I didn't know which ship to rule for. Although the ending was everything and I was really happy how things unfolded.
    more
  • Aubrey Marie
    January 12, 2017
    I received this copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was a great quick read. It definitely pulled me out of a reading slump. The characters develop and grow throughout the book and it intertwines so many other issues into a love story. I felt my self invested in this book and can't wait to see more from this author!
    more
  • Jessica
    January 11, 2017
    Wow. 5 brilliant stars.Mansfield Park is my least favorite Austen novel (kind of a relative term for this Austenite), but I just adored this adaptation of it. Finley is the modern Fanny Price we all need. And Oliver was just so, so swoony.Full review to come closer to publication.I received an ARC from the publisher via NetGalley. No monies were exchanged.
    more
  • Ms.Kim
    January 7, 2017
    A smart modern adaptation of Mansfield Park. The characters had depth, especially the Crawfords, who were surprisingly likable (until they weren't). I loved Uncle Thomas and Aunt Mariah. And of course, Oliver :)
  • Nina Rossing
    January 15, 2017
    One of the better contemporary reimaginings of Jane Austen novels I've read.A bit long and it has a few underdeveloped characters, but it's still a captivating read.
  • Nicki K.
    January 7, 2017
    Review to come closer to release date. . . SPOILER ALERT: It's amazing *wink*
Write a review