Mister Hockey (Hellions Angels #1)
Her biggest fantasy is about to become a reality. . .Jed West is Mr. Hockey. The captain of the NHL’s latest winning team, the Denver Hellions–and the hottest player on the ice—at least according to every magazine. . .and Breezy Angel. Breezy has been drooling over Jed at games for years, and he plays a starring role in her most toe-curling fantasies. But dirty dreams don’t come true, right?Then Jed saunters through the doors of her library, a last minute special guest for a summer reading event, and not only is he drop dead gorgeous up close, his personality is straight up swoon-worthy. He even comes to the rescue when she has an R-rated “Super Book Worm” costume malfunction. But when he mistakenly assumes she’s more into books than pucks, she’s too flustered to correct his mistake. And then comes a big kiss, followed by a teensy-tiny problem. Jed’s dating policy is simple: Never date a fan.So what’s a fangirl going to have to do to convince her ultimate crush that he’s become less of a perfect fantasy, and more like the perfect man. . .for her?

Mister Hockey (Hellions Angels #1) Details

TitleMister Hockey (Hellions Angels #1)
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherAvon Impulse
ISBN0062662465
ISBN-139780062662460
Number of pages256 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Adult, Sports and Games, Sports, Hockey

Mister Hockey (Hellions Angels #1) Review

  • Deniz
    June 16, 2017
    Mister Hockey sounded so promising. I mean I love hockey and I love Riley... so this had to be a winner right? I wish. This is not bad by all means. But great it ain't either. I know I expected a lot. I mean its hockey and Riley... but ... I know Riley has done better. My biggest issue: it's way to cliche. I mean basically, most cliche points were ticked here. The romance is totally insta everything. The story line is extremely predictable and most characters feel a bit formulaicYet, it is also Mister Hockey sounded so promising. I mean I love hockey and I love Riley... so this had to be a winner right? I wish. This is not bad by all means. But great it ain't either. I know I expected a lot. I mean its hockey and Riley... but ... I know Riley has done better. My biggest issue: it's way to cliche. I mean basically, most cliche points were ticked here. The romance is totally insta everything. The story line is extremely predictable and most characters feel a bit formulaicYet, it is also written by Riley. So it is well written and I found myself oddly absorbed in it. I guess it's a bit of guilty pleasure?I mean I know this is very cliche, it's cutesy and all that, but I still enjoyed reading itI blame it on Jed, who despite everything is an awesome male lead. Hot, sweet, kind hearted, a great guy and a hockey player.. oh and the right kind of alpha. What else could one possibly want? Exactly. And while we at it, let me just admit this, I am totally looking forward to Neve's story. And yeah I know it might be just as cliche and just a cutesy but eh, guilty pleasures are great fun after all.
    more
  • Gretchen (About That Story)
    June 28, 2017
    This was so entertaining and refreshing! I love it when a book unexpectedly make me laugh. I had so much fun reading this. I feel like I found a gem!Full review to come.Complimentary copy received for honest review.
  • Hollis
    June 23, 2017
    When her grandma's screech follow a few seconds later, Breezy squeezed her eyes shut. Granny Dee had found Jed West. The only hope was that he wasn't double fisting two lipstick vibrators. They'd been on sale, two for one, which seemed like a deal at the time.This was my first read by Riley but I don't think it'll be my last. While I didn't think this story, book one in her Hellions Angels series, was perfect I definitely found myself entertained but more importantly : I want that second book be When her grandma's screech follow a few seconds later, Breezy squeezed her eyes shut. Granny Dee had found Jed West. The only hope was that he wasn't double fisting two lipstick vibrators. They'd been on sale, two for one, which seemed like a deal at the time.This was my first read by Riley but I don't think it'll be my last. While I didn't think this story, book one in her Hellions Angels series, was perfect I definitely found myself entertained but more importantly : I want that second book because I want that follow up couple."All this excitement makes me want to pee."But as far as MISTER HOCKEY goes.. it was a little simple. Basically from the opening chapter (and, you know, the synopsis) we know the two conflicts that will carry the story. One being Jed West, "Mister Hockey" himself, and his concern over a head injury; and two, his number one fan, who happens to cross paths with her number one fantasy, lies -- oh, sorry, omits -- the truth about her fandom. Jed as a rule doesn't date fans and Breezy manages to keep the truth from him until that pivotal point where he finds out.. which just happens to coincide with a bit of drama. This element was probably my least favourite of the whole book. Breezy promises herself she'll come clean, gives herself a few different opportunities, but never does and.. I mean, I was meh over that whole thing. And double meh over the drama because the fact that Jed is oblivious to the truth was so painful.Anyway."I don't mess around.""Now that's a lie. Because you've been messing with my head for forty-eight hours.""Wow. That might be the worst pickup ever.""Nah. That would be the GMC Syclone. Can't tow with it. Has limited payload and no chance of ever going off-road."This was lighthearted and occasionally funny and sometimes that's all you want from a romance. It went a little silly at times, and in that kind of "yeah yeah okay" way, but I do like the trope of the famous sportsdude/musician/'insert whatever here' falling for the everyday woman. And bonus points for Breezy being built like one, too. "You really do love books.""I adore chocolate. I require books. They are like oxygen or water, vital to my existence."Aside from the simplistic set-up, plot, and hand-fed conflicts, I also kinda disliked some of Riley's transitions. It bugs me so hard when actions or scenes are happening one way.. and suddenly we've moved on or are ignoring the circumstances to focus on something else. Like, if I'm too busy trying to figure out if the characters went from screwing on the floor to being in a bed, or wondering when someone got dressed, I'm definitely not caught up in the dialogue or the characters. I'm too busy rereading something for clarity. But I know I'm a very detail oriented person so this kind of casual or vague use of setting or "of course they put on clothes when they left the room" logic, despite never being told it happened, might not bug other people. I just don't like doing the work for the author, y'know?RANT OVER.He woke up each morning and put on pants one leg at a time. He liked his job and was damn good at doing it, but it wasn't pulling kids from burning buildings or defending his country. Hero worship would mess with a guy's mind.Yes, so, I did like this, but didn't love it. I do intend to read on but would I recommend you rush out to read this one? If we share similar tastes or pet peeves, I'd say no. But I will say this so as to end on a good note : it was refreshing to have a hero like Jed who wasn't caught up in his own self-importance, who liked simple things, who avoided the emotional complications/relationships with fans because he wanted to be seen as something other than what he got paid to do for a living or a fantasy. He was a very real kind of person despite his fame and success and I did like reading from his perspective. If you like a man who likes real women, if you like reading about bookworms, if you like a little insta with your love, and like your romances rather uncomplicated and free of angst, this might check all your boxes. On her tombstone it would read : She came. She saw. She made it awkward.With Tor's book up next, even though he's the coach, I'm hoping for a bit more hockey in my hockey romance, though!3 "everything would be all right in the end; if it wasn't all right, it wasn't the end" stars** I received an ARC from Edelweiss and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Ambur
    June 30, 2017
    "Holy guacamole with a side of chips!"Parts of this were outrageously silly, but they definitely made me chuckle even if they were really silly! I was pretty surprised by just how quirky and silly it was at the start, so I was actually sure if I'd like it, but it actually grew on me. Breezy's euphemisms and strange sayings ended up making me laugh so much. The romance was a little rushed—it only takes place over a couple of weeks, but it was still adorable. I loved Jed and Breezy and they were s "Holy guacamole with a side of chips!"Parts of this were outrageously silly, but they definitely made me chuckle even if they were really silly! I was pretty surprised by just how quirky and silly it was at the start, so I was actually sure if I'd like it, but it actually grew on me. Breezy's euphemisms and strange sayings ended up making me laugh so much. The romance was a little rushed—it only takes place over a couple of weeks, but it was still adorable. I loved Jed and Breezy and they were so cute together!! Full review to come!
    more
  • Roxanne
    June 23, 2017
    Full review to come soon!
  • Michaelene
    July 9, 2017
    On her tombstone it would read: She came. She saw. She made it awkward.Oh my gosh, Mister Hockey was such good fun! Fun, fun, fun! I’m going to be shameless and say I picked this one up because it has a librarian as the heroine. I love librarians although I’m really biased, in truth. Lia Riley’s Mister Hockey captured Breezy’s zany optimism in a delightful way, and Jed was a good guy with a dirty side. So, what happens when the man you lust after and fangirl for drops haphazardly into your life? On her tombstone it would read: She came. She saw. She made it awkward.Oh my gosh, Mister Hockey was such good fun! Fun, fun, fun! I’m going to be shameless and say I picked this one up because it has a librarian as the heroine. I love librarians although I’m really biased, in truth. Lia Riley’s Mister Hockey captured Breezy’s zany optimism in a delightful way, and Jed was a good guy with a dirty side. So, what happens when the man you lust after and fangirl for drops haphazardly into your life? Breezy Angel is about to find out, and hallelujah, is it delish!Anyone who wanted to dismiss librarians as boring bookworms had never heard Breezy rap out “I Like Big Books and I Cannot Lie” after one Jack and Diet Coke too many—bonus points for her twerking skills.Breezy Angel is a children’s librarian, and at the last minute, she loses a guest for the summer reading event she’s holding. The last thing she expects is to see her favorite hockey star walking through the library’s door. Or for him to get close enough to discover some of her secrets…I have to say that Breezy is my fave. She’s quirky and bright, forthright and so darn funny. The scrapes she gets into are so relatable and cracked me up! She doesn’t know how to handle seeing her favorite hockey star who she has fangirled over for years. And then somehow, they keep getting pushed together and Breezy realizes she can’t let her inner fangirl out. It might just be a little bit creepy to Jed. “Why do I get the distinct impression you are throwing the game?” She laughed as one of his bean bags landed near the kiddie pool. He winked. “Because you have a brain.” That’s it. If she got any wetter she was going to require a raincoat.Jed, for his part, is such a good guy! He’s got a soft heart, and he can truly appreciate the tall, curvy librarian with energy to spare. But his hockey career might just be on the line. What better distraction than Breezy who Jed thinks isn’t a hockey fan… *snorts* Yeah, it’s like that, ya’ll. I couldn’t put this book down. The characters are so darn lovable and a breath of fresh air. I also adored the side characters. Breezy’s family of women are all hockey fans, her grandmother is a bit eccentric (I sooo want a Green Meanie!), and her sister just has to get her own book!If you’re wanting a read that just leaves you giggling and wanting more I highly recommend Mister Hockey. I need more of this colorful crew! 4.5 STARS!* I voluntarily reviewed an arc of this book via the publisher on Edelweiss*
    more
  • Beth ~ Panda & Boodle
    July 5, 2017
    “I want to be the one who makes you believe in fairy tales.”I feel as though romance novels are fairytales… for adults. And Jed West makes a believer out of me, that's for sure. Actually, Lia Riley makes a believer out of me—and she has since I read her Off the Map series. I love her quirky humor, likable characters, sweet romance, and all of that is on display, once again, in Mister Hockey. It's an easy, Breezy book; one that can be read and enjoyed in a matter of hours, one that's likely to ma “I want to be the one who makes you believe in fairy tales.”I feel as though romance novels are fairytales… for adults. And Jed West makes a believer out of me, that's for sure. Actually, Lia Riley makes a believer out of me—and she has since I read her Off the Map series. I love her quirky humor, likable characters, sweet romance, and all of that is on display, once again, in Mister Hockey. It's an easy, Breezy book; one that can be read and enjoyed in a matter of hours, one that's likely to make you swoon and smile. It would be hard not too, I'd think. Jed is a good guy with a dirty mouth, while Breezy is awkwardly adorable and a bookworm, which made them both immensely enjoyable and easy to root for. Their banter, they fall, they fight. There's actually nothing too serious happening here, which is a good thing, IMHO. The conflict is set in place early, and the ride to the climax (heh, climax *snicker*) is a light-hearted, feel good one. As for the actual conflict itself? It's handle deftly, quickly—and added just enough drama to the story to make this reviewer very happy. All in all, Jed and Breezy set a simple but effective foundation for Ms. Riley’s new hockey series. And if it's as good as I believe it will be—based on the hints of what's to come—then I will absolutely have my one-finger at the ready for more fairytales about Hellions Angels. “You need to quit saying that. You don’t have a drop of ordinary in you. You couldn’t be average if you tried.”~ 4.5 Vixen STARS ~
    more
  • Cocktails and Books
    June 26, 2017
    I love a good hockey romance, but MISTER HOCKEY is one that fell very short with me.I liked the premise, but the execution of a romance between Jed and Breezy felt off and made it hard for me to really believe it.
  • Becky
    July 9, 2017
    A librarian meets--and dates--her hockey crush? Yes, please! :)This book was so much fun to read. I absolutely loved the beginning, when Breezy first meets Jed and can barely string two words together...and then, OMG, her costume malfunction. Absolutely too funny! Their relationship progresses along nicely, if a bit quickly, though the specter of her stalker-like "Jed closet" is always hovering in the background (and yikes, it's more than a little scary how closely I resemble Breezy's fan person A librarian meets--and dates--her hockey crush? Yes, please! :)This book was so much fun to read. I absolutely loved the beginning, when Breezy first meets Jed and can barely string two words together...and then, OMG, her costume malfunction. Absolutely too funny! Their relationship progresses along nicely, if a bit quickly, though the specter of her stalker-like "Jed closet" is always hovering in the background (and yikes, it's more than a little scary how closely I resemble Breezy's fan persona...funny, but scary. And when she's talking about where she is in her Goodreads challenge for the year? I'm pretty sure we were separated at birth). Still, they're really adorable together. Not to mention H-O-T...Certain parts of the story (Breezy's mom's turnaround, for one) seem a little bit too easy, but overall I enjoyed this story too much to really mind. I absolutely cannot wait to see what's going to happen with Breezy's sister Neve and Coach Tor in the next book, especially if Jed and Breezy are going to be hanging around... ;)Rating: 4 stars / A-I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
    more
  • Mary's Keeper Shelf
    July 7, 2017
    This is my first time reading Lia Riley, but it will not be my last. Mister Hockey is a fun, sexy and entertaining sports romance. Jed is one of the best and more popular professional hockey players, but he recently suffered brain injury and is worried it will be the end of his career. He meets quirky and funny librarian “Breezy” when he helps at a children’s event at the library. He is very attracted to her, but he doesn’t know that she is an user-fan. Breezy and Jed hit is off, and she is over This is my first time reading Lia Riley, but it will not be my last. Mister Hockey is a fun, sexy and entertaining sports romance. Jed is one of the best and more popular professional hockey players, but he recently suffered brain injury and is worried it will be the end of his career. He meets quirky and funny librarian “Breezy” when he helps at a children’s event at the library. He is very attracted to her, but he doesn’t know that she is an user-fan. Breezy and Jed hit is off, and she is over the moon about the chance to be with the man she’s had a crush on for years. Jed is a super nice guy and drop-dead sexy, and he is smitten with Breezy. She’s goofy and relatable and delightful. They make a fabulous pair, and I enjoyed how their relationship developed. Jed is dealing with some heavy stuff, and Breezy’s secret fan-status could prove a deal-breaker. If you love a little hockey mixed with your romance, you’ll thoroughly enjoy Mister Hockey.
    more
  • Samantha Kay
    July 7, 2017
    Mister Hockey, the first book in Lia Riley's new Hellions Angels series, was an exceptional romance. I really didn't know what to expect from a sports romance from Lia since I'm more used to her small town romances, but she nailed it just like all her other books. This romance truly was amazing. I really connected with Breezy and Jed and their love story was pretty much every fangirl's dream and it made me feel all the things which I loved so much. But as much as I loved the love story in this b Mister Hockey, the first book in Lia Riley's new Hellions Angels series, was an exceptional romance. I really didn't know what to expect from a sports romance from Lia since I'm more used to her small town romances, but she nailed it just like all her other books. This romance truly was amazing. I really connected with Breezy and Jed and their love story was pretty much every fangirl's dream and it made me feel all the things which I loved so much. But as much as I loved the love story in this book, it was was the small little side things that really made this story a win for me such as the interactions with Breezy's family and the way that Jed dealt with his head injury. It rounded out the story and made it even more satisfying and in the end made this romance my top favorite of all of Lia's books.
    more
  • 2kasmom
    June 20, 2017
    Briana AKA Breezy has a sister who brings her hottest fantasy to her library to fill in for another celebrity guest. He is everything she has always wanted. Too bad she is told by everyone around her she can never win a man like him.Jed is happy to fill in for his coach. Meeting Breezy is like a breath of fresh air. He has no idea she is his biggest fan. Is it possible to have too much in common? One of my favorite lines from this fantastic book is: "Mirror, Mirror on the Wall, I am Sexy, Screw Briana AKA Breezy has a sister who brings her hottest fantasy to her library to fill in for another celebrity guest. He is everything she has always wanted. Too bad she is told by everyone around her she can never win a man like him.Jed is happy to fill in for his coach. Meeting Breezy is like a breath of fresh air. He has no idea she is his biggest fan. Is it possible to have too much in common? One of my favorite lines from this fantastic book is: "Mirror, Mirror on the Wall, I am Sexy, Screw You All." Lots and lots of humor in this story. Full of serious heat, hijinx, and lots of heartwarming moments this is a book for all romance lovers. There is something in here for everyone. I cannot wait for the next book in the Hellions Angels series. ***This ARC copy was given in exchange for an honest review only.
    more
  • Amber Hughes
    June 17, 2017
    Imagine meeting the biggest fantasy of your dreams. That star sports player who you'd never in a million years think you'd meet in person. But that's what happens when Breezy Angel meets Jed West, captain of the Denver Hellions NHL team. And it's so better much better than she could have imagined. Jed West...*sigh* He may be the star player of his team, but there's much more to him. He's kind, caring, and oh so into Breezy Angel. He likes everything about her, especially her curves.Breezy, head Imagine meeting the biggest fantasy of your dreams. That star sports player who you'd never in a million years think you'd meet in person. But that's what happens when Breezy Angel meets Jed West, captain of the Denver Hellions NHL team. And it's so better much better than she could have imagined. Jed West...*sigh* He may be the star player of his team, but there's much more to him. He's kind, caring, and oh so into Breezy Angel. He likes everything about her, especially her curves.Breezy, head of the children's section of the local library (which I love) is all about the books and hockey of course (the women in her family are die-hard hockey fans), but she doesn't let Jed in on a little secret that she's his biggest fan. She's got the Jed West memorabilia to prove it. She doesn't want him thinking that is the only reason she's into him. Because after meeting him and sharing some hot kisses, she knows it goes way beyond that. But Jed has secrets of his own and it could be what tears them apart.Breezy's family hasn't always been supportive of her and she's been in the shadow of her "perfect" sister (who's a sports columnist). She loves her sister and her family, she just wishes her family, especially her mother could see how special she is too. She does have an awesome 90 year old grandma, who I loved!Hot chemistry, sexy scenes and a couple I was rooting for from the beginning, Mister Hockey is a great start to the Hellions Angels series. I can't wait to read Breezy's sister Neve and the head coach's story!
    more
  • Belinda
    June 20, 2017
    Wow this was good!!!
  • Mari
    June 28, 2017
    Reading the blurb of this I was excited for a new hockey romance and to check out a new author. Sadly, it fell short for me in some ways more than others. It was actually pretty ok and likable with a hero like Jed. Who can't like a hot, kind and sweet guy. Add to that great hockey player the kind of guy that you crush on but can't believe is real. To be honest a little too good to be true maybe? The first meeting between him and Breezy had promise, it was funny and cute but the many cliches made Reading the blurb of this I was excited for a new hockey romance and to check out a new author. Sadly, it fell short for me in some ways more than others. It was actually pretty ok and likable with a hero like Jed. Who can't like a hot, kind and sweet guy. Add to that great hockey player the kind of guy that you crush on but can't believe is real. To be honest a little too good to be true maybe? The first meeting between him and Breezy had promise, it was funny and cute but the many cliches made it go downhill from there. Jed is pretty much a huge deal hence the Mister Hockey moniker and well Breezy is a huge fan. Scratch that number one obsessive fan. Not that she will admit as much as she says she will. Jed is at that point where he is thinking after hockey life after a injury of sorts. With the no fan dating rule and Breezy (and fam) being one well and we know that's where the drama starts. That whole denial/ omission thing got old fast. The likable and pretty down to earth hero makes it at least better.It's quite readable, you need a fluff every now and then. It's a pretty insta the whole vibe but pleasant enough. The writing is enjoyable at least. That whole sports fan is very relatable to me, I just recently read a similar premise and liked it a lot hey it does happen. In this case I wasn't sure how much Breezy separated her love for the man or the image till later on. I do enjoy this trope though, athlete/celeb falling for a normal person really and Breezy was certainly that and then some. Plus Granny is a such a blast.It's entertaining no doubt, the hockey player meets super fan. I didn't quite feel much for them together though maybe cause I got why they did fall for the other. I do have to say liked the book well enough to want to read Neve's story. Since it's involves a coach I'd like more hockey as well, this was understandable cause of Jed's situation. I would also read Lia Riley again just to get a better picture. If you're looking for a easy, light hearted, and fun romance this works well.*** ARC provided by Edelweiss for an honest review ***
    more
  • C.J. Butcher
    July 9, 2017
    Everyone who knows me just a little bit, knows I lurve me some hockey. What this book didn't have in it...was hockey!! However, I found that the plot, humor, and characters made up for that. I didn't get to feel the action on the ice through words, but I got a whole lot more. I got to read a story about Breezy (who could be any girl...she could be me) and I loved that. She's not your size 5 model that has perfect skin and makes no mistakes. She's a clumsy, 1950's pinup version of the every girl Everyone who knows me just a little bit, knows I lurve me some hockey. What this book didn't have in it...was hockey!! However, I found that the plot, humor, and characters made up for that. I didn't get to feel the action on the ice through words, but I got a whole lot more. I got to read a story about Breezy (who could be any girl...she could be me) and I loved that. She's not your size 5 model that has perfect skin and makes no mistakes. She's a clumsy, 1950's pinup version of the every girl model that we can ALL relate to. Jed is the insecure hockey player that's having some physical problems because of his job. He's facing something that every hockey player faces at one time or another. Should he retire now while the going is good and he still has all his mental capacities or should he continue playing until he gets hurts to the point he doesn't get up? It's a real life predicament that he's facing and at the most inopportune time he meets Breezy, who is everything he didn't know he wanted and does. What follows is awkwardness, a brilliant love story and some mistaken drama thrown in for good measure. A crazy family that will leave you going...yep, that's just like my own family. I'm on pins and needles waiting for Neve and Tor's story because even though Lia is new to me - this definitely won't be my last book!! She knows how to write awesome one liners and RomCom! This is actually more of a 4.5 star read to me than a 4. I was given an ARC from the publisher/author in exchange for an honest review. All opinions expressed are my own and do not reflect anyone else's.
    more
  • Diane Lynch
    July 4, 2017
    Mister Hockey (Hellions Angels #1) by Lia Riley Librarian, Breezy Angel, is stunned when the man of her dreams (and literally in her dreams) walks in as a guest reader at her event. Denver Hellions team captain, Jed West, is the hottest player in the NHL.  One thing lead to another and they have an amazing kiss.  The only problem is, Jed doesn’t date fans. This story is suitable for adult audiences. Mister Hockey is an entertaining start to the Hellions Angels series.  There are realistic obstac Mister Hockey (Hellions Angels #1) by Lia Riley Librarian, Breezy Angel, is stunned when the man of her dreams (and literally in her dreams) walks in as a guest reader at her event. Denver Hellions team captain, Jed West, is the hottest player in the NHL.  One thing lead to another and they have an amazing kiss.  The only problem is, Jed doesn’t date fans. This story is suitable for adult audiences. Mister Hockey is an entertaining start to the Hellions Angels series.  There are realistic obstacles and occurrences. The plot was witty and believable.  Lia Riley character development was noteworthy.  Jed is an interesting individual.  He is getting older and understandably concerned about a recent injury that he received in game seven of the Stanley Cup Finals.  He has a complicated relationship with his family.  I appreciate that he wants to be in a relationship with someone who treats him like a regular person.  Breezy is a likable character.  She is funny and sweet.  Her visuals are amusing.  She feels like she has lived I her sister Neve’s shadow, but still has a good relationship with her.  I appreciated Breezy’s insights on her relationship with Jed.  It was interesting how she went from fan girl to girlfriend.  I could totally understand why she would be embarrassed to admit that she had a crush on Jed.  I liked the realization that he is a person like everyone else. I like how Breezy and Jed met.  I also, love that helps her at her house.  They are compatible in many thought-provoking ways.  MISTER HOCKEY is a well-written and fun read.  The story flows well and is easy to follow.  This is the first book that I have read by Lia Riley.  I enjoyed her writing style.  I plan on following this series.  I’m looking forward to Nave Angel’s and Coach Tor’s story next in HEAD COACH expected to be released in November 2017.  I voluntarily reviewed an advance reader copy of this book.
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    June 30, 2017
    I'm not sure what I expected going in to Mister Hockey. I think that we all approach these books with a certain idea of how things are going to play out, right? It's a sports / hockey romance so we expect some chest thumping bromance and testosterone-filled ice antics wrapped up in a filmy sort of angst that keeps our hearts gripped throughout the whole story.This isn't that kind of book. I mean - it's not that my heart wasn't gripped, because - make no mistake - it was. However, it is light on I'm not sure what I expected going in to Mister Hockey. I think that we all approach these books with a certain idea of how things are going to play out, right? It's a sports / hockey romance so we expect some chest thumping bromance and testosterone-filled ice antics wrapped up in a filmy sort of angst that keeps our hearts gripped throughout the whole story.This isn't that kind of book. I mean - it's not that my heart wasn't gripped, because - make no mistake - it was. However, it is light on the hockey (which is appropriate given the way Jed's storyline plays out), and there's not much by way of bromance or overly-testosterone filled displays of manliness. But, you guys? Don't count Mister Hockey out because this story is adorable. And it did grip my heart in a light, gentle way that kept smiles on my face and flutters in my belly the whole way through.I loved Jed and Breezy! From their adorably funny meet-cute to the sweet way they connected with each other. This is a fast paced, light read that touches on some more serious issues without ever losing its "feel good" vibe. I completely fell for Breezy's quirky, adorkable personality and the way she sort of knocked Jed for a loop while quickly stealing his heart. The story is funny, and sweet, and I really loved every minute.This a solid series starter, and I'm already half in love with book two (it sounds like there's a heck of a story there!) - so it's safe to say that Mister Hockey was a hit (er....goal?) for me! ~ Shelly, 4 Stars
    more
  • Romantic Reads and Such
    July 8, 2017
    Poor Breezy!  She meets her biggest crush in quite an embarrassing manner, but Jed (like us) can only be charmed by her.  She’s fun loving, funny and so very real.  Every time something awkward happens I just want to give her a hug. Jed knows there is a version of himself that most people see and it is so appealing to be seen as just a guy.  A hot, sexy guy but just a guy.  He’s got a lot on his plate between family pressure and some issues with his career, so having found Breezy gives him that Poor Breezy!  She meets her biggest crush in quite an embarrassing manner, but Jed (like us) can only be charmed by her.  She’s fun loving, funny and so very real.  Every time something awkward happens I just want to give her a hug. Jed knows there is a version of himself that most people see and it is so appealing to be seen as just a guy.  A hot, sexy guy but just a guy.  He’s got a lot on his plate between family pressure and some issues with his career, so having found Breezy gives him that bright spot that he needs at a difficult time. You can totally relate to both Jed and Breezy – why he wants to be seen as him and how she ends up hiding her fan status from him.  You know that it isn’t going to go well, that something is going to happen to blow things out of the water.  The best you can do is hope that Jed gets his act together and figures out what a great catch he has in Breezy.  I have to say that he does do pretty well for himself  :)  (Can’t wait to see what comes next … Riley has set us up for quite the doozy of a stand off between Breezy’s sister and Jed’s coach!)*** I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book. All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s. ***
    more
  • Wednesday Stanley
    July 10, 2017
    So I have to start out by saying it feels like its been forever since I've read anything by Mrs. Riley. But as soon as I heard that she was coming out with a hockey series I knew I had to jump on those. I love hockey themed romance stories. I have to say that this book turned out to be so much more than I expected. It was light and sweet, at the same time being smexy. Also this book was hilarious and I mean that in the best possible way. I guess I could say it was corkey and had me laughing thro So I have to start out by saying it feels like its been forever since I've read anything by Mrs. Riley. But as soon as I heard that she was coming out with a hockey series I knew I had to jump on those. I love hockey themed romance stories. I have to say that this book turned out to be so much more than I expected. It was light and sweet, at the same time being smexy. Also this book was hilarious and I mean that in the best possible way. I guess I could say it was corkey and had me laughing throughout. I loved Jed.... Jed West.... Not only is he the captain of the Hellions, he's actually a decent sweet, kind, caring guy. I liked how normal he seemed even though he was a hockey player.Oh my, Breezy Angel, I just loved her. She just cracked me up and I loved her normalcy also. She was the sweet, normal, caring, nerdy librarian who just happened to love hockey. I absolutely loved this book and it had me laughing more than I expected (as mentioned above). I can't wait for more from this series!!!!I'm giving this book 4.5 Stars out of 5!!!!***I received an ARC of this book from Tasty Book Promotions via Eldwiss for my honest opinion***
    more
  • Bff Book Blog
    July 10, 2017
    I loved this book! Mister Hockey by Lia Riley is a fun and flirty, super sweet rom-com! It reads like a Hallmark movie and I loved every second of it. This is a really quick read. I skated through the pages and adored every silly and sassy minute!Jed West, God’s gift to hockey, walks out of Breezy Angel’s dreams and right into her library. Soon, he’s in her house and in her bed. They are crashing family picnics and revealing all their secrets. The connection they share is powerful, fast, and qui I loved this book! Mister Hockey by Lia Riley is a fun and flirty, super sweet rom-com! It reads like a Hallmark movie and I loved every second of it. This is a really quick read. I skated through the pages and adored every silly and sassy minute!Jed West, God’s gift to hockey, walks out of Breezy Angel’s dreams and right into her library. Soon, he’s in her house and in her bed. They are crashing family picnics and revealing all their secrets. The connection they share is powerful, fast, and quickly burning up the sheets. I told a friend tonight that Mister Hockey is a perfect palate cleanser. If you need a quick, light-hearted enjoyable story to reset your reading mojo, give Mister Hockey a tryout. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I can’t wait for the release of Head Coach, the next book in the Hellions Angels Series! An advance copy of this book was received from the author. Receipt of this copy did not impact the content or independence of this review. The book received a 4.5 Rating and BFF Book Blog also uses a set of icon ratings. This book received additional icons for: butterflies, funny, romance, steamy, supporting characters and sweet.
    more
  • Jessica
    July 10, 2017
    Arggghhh!!! I’m going to be honest. Mister Hockey wasn’t my favorite book by Lia Riley. I didn’t hate it or anything – I just had a few things that stuck in my claw BUT as crazy as it sounds, I absolutely suggest checking this entertaining as hell couple out.Jed and Breezy share a hilarious and fast paced romance. It’s charming and I found myself feeling a bit swoony. I liked them together and I thought it was fun experiencing them falling in love together.  I thought they shared a special conne Arggghhh!!! I’m going to be honest. Mister Hockey wasn’t my favorite book by Lia Riley. I didn’t hate it or anything – I just had a few things that stuck in my claw BUT as crazy as it sounds, I absolutely suggest checking this entertaining as hell couple out.Jed and Breezy share a hilarious and fast paced romance. It’s charming and I found myself feeling a bit swoony. I liked them together and I thought it was fun experiencing them falling in love together.  I thought they shared a special connection.So what were my issues and why would I recommend a book that I did not freaking love?!Here is where I will struggle with writing my review.  It wasn’t one giant flaw or problem – I just didn’t love the book.  However, I thought the writing and character development was excellent. Jed and Breezy are passionate and lovable. Their story cute as well as sexy – it really is a engaging and appealing read.So even though Mister Hockey wasn’t the perfect book for me, I would definitely recommend meeting Jed and Breezy because their romance might be right for you.
    more
  • Mary
    July 1, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. I love hockey and hockey romances. While this story does involve hockey, it occurs during the off-season. As in, they just won the Cup. There are a lot of strings and plot twists in this book and I feel the author just scratched the surface of most of these. The story with Jed and his brother's football injury could have been explored in more detail, giving a strong insight to the injuries that athletes face that have both I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. I love hockey and hockey romances. While this story does involve hockey, it occurs during the off-season. As in, they just won the Cup. There are a lot of strings and plot twists in this book and I feel the author just scratched the surface of most of these. The story with Jed and his brother's football injury could have been explored in more detail, giving a strong insight to the injuries that athletes face that have both short and long term effects on both the athlete and their families.Breezy's issues stem from her lack of self-confidence and her mother's belief that she never applied herself as much as she could. When Breezy decides to make a major life decision her mother's all flowers (literally) and roses. I did like the book and will probably read the next book in the series, because hey, I love hockey, but I hope the next book delves a little deeper into the issues that face the couple.~~Wicked Reads Review Team~~
    more
  • Julie
    July 1, 2017
    Breezy Angel has to be one of my favourite characters I've read this year, she certainly lived up to her name, she was a "breezy" breath of fresh air and tons of fun.She's loved by her family and her sister brings her dream fantasy to her library as a celebrity guest. Gee Wiz, she's in heaven! It's a shame she could never win a guy like him, but every one says so. Jed has a great time at the library and Breezy is a big part of it. He doesn't want the day to end, and circumstances make it a very Breezy Angel has to be one of my favourite characters I've read this year, she certainly lived up to her name, she was a "breezy" breath of fresh air and tons of fun.She's loved by her family and her sister brings her dream fantasy to her library as a celebrity guest. Gee Wiz, she's in heaven! It's a shame she could never win a guy like him, but every one says so. Jed has a great time at the library and Breezy is a big part of it. He doesn't want the day to end, and circumstances make it a very interesting day indeed. And not the last he see's of Breezy Angel.There's some stellar lines from Breezy, her messy hair was described as "bow-chic-wow-wow-honey-dip-chocolate-chip doop" and more crazy humour. Theirs lots of laughs, steamy sessions and endearing moments that bring on a sigh. There's something for everyone in Mister Hockey, it's a very enjoyable romance/comedy and I'm looking forward to the next book in the series.
    more
  • Donna
    July 5, 2017
    The story of a hockey player, Jed West and a librarian, Breezy Angel. (Really?) I guess that the most un-sexy job that the author could think of was a librarian. So the author names her Breezy (Briana) and makes her a klutz, but still sexy. (Ha!) Of course she ends up with a hot hockey player that visits her library. (Right!) And of course he knows that she is different from all his other women and feels like he is falling for her! (Double right!!) Sorry, but I can't recommend this book.Mister H The story of a hockey player, Jed West and a librarian, Breezy Angel. (Really?) I guess that the most un-sexy job that the author could think of was a librarian. So the author names her Breezy (Briana) and makes her a klutz, but still sexy. (Ha!) Of course she ends up with a hot hockey player that visits her library. (Right!) And of course he knows that she is different from all his other women and feels like he is falling for her! (Double right!!) Sorry, but I can't recommend this book.Mister Hockey by Lia Riley will be available July 11, 2017 by Avon Impulse, an imprint of Harper Collins. An egalley of this book was made available by the publisher in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Kelley
    July 8, 2017
    I've been a Lia Riley fan since her debut series OFF THE MAP. When I heard she was going to write a hockey romance? Guess who snapped up a review copy faster than a defenseman could slap shot a puck back across center ice? *RAISES HAND*If you're looking for a deep, twisty, tug at your heart strings romance novel? This isn't it.If you're looking for a light, breezy (ha! Pun intended), flirty, fun, summer beach read? This is your book.The chemistry between the characters is lovely.The banter is gr I've been a Lia Riley fan since her debut series OFF THE MAP. When I heard she was going to write a hockey romance? Guess who snapped up a review copy faster than a defenseman could slap shot a puck back across center ice? *RAISES HAND*If you're looking for a deep, twisty, tug at your heart strings romance novel? This isn't it.If you're looking for a light, breezy (ha! Pun intended), flirty, fun, summer beach read? This is your book.The chemistry between the characters is lovely.The banter is great and some had me laughing out loud.This is a fun, lighthearted book--one I highly recommend and I look forward to book #2!*I received a complimentary ARC in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Rachel
    July 1, 2017
    I love fangirl dates famous person romances. :))))
  • Ashley
    June 16, 2017
    So good. Review to come later.
  • Megan
    June 16, 2017
    Jed. West. Oh. Yes.
  • Nalla Reads
    July 4, 2017
    Review coming soon to NallaReads.com!
Write a review