The Lake Effect
lake effect | n.The effect of any lake, especially the Great Lakes, in modifying the weather in nearby areasIt’s the summer after his senior year, and driven, focused Briggs Henry is ready to leave behind his ex-girlfriend, his comically aggressive grandmother, and his parents’ money troubles for Lake Michigan and its miles of sandy beaches. He’s lined up a summer job working as a personal assistant and living in a gorgeous Victorian on the water—exactly the kind of house Briggs plans to buy his parents once he’s a multi-millionaire. But when he arrives, his boss, the eccentric Mrs. Bosic, tells him to get dressed for her funeral. Uh . . . It’s the first of many funerals they’ll attend this summer—to hilarious and eye-opening effect. Add to this a new set of friends-cum-enemies-cum-friends-again, and Abigail, the mysterious girl next door on whom Briggs’s charms repeatedly fail, and “the lake effect” is beginning to take on a whole new meaning.

The Lake Effect Details

TitleThe Lake Effect
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherDial Books
ISBN0803740522
ISBN-139780803740525
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult Contemporary

The Lake Effect Review

  • Sophia
    July 12, 2017
    This book is the perfect summer read. You can tell by just looking at the cover, but the story within proves the summer theme. This novel was like none other. It wasn't the classic YA contemporary plot, making this plot very unique and interesting to read. I found myself laughing during the duration of this book frequently. The voice behind the writing of Briggs was amazing. Speaking of Briggs, he has the personality that is funny, yet he is respectful. He was an excellent main character to foll This book is the perfect summer read. You can tell by just looking at the cover, but the story within proves the summer theme. This novel was like none other. It wasn't the classic YA contemporary plot, making this plot very unique and interesting to read. I found myself laughing during the duration of this book frequently. The voice behind the writing of Briggs was amazing. Speaking of Briggs, he has the personality that is funny, yet he is respectful. He was an excellent main character to follow, and I loved how relatable his personality and work ethic was. It was great to follow a main character who is successful and ambitious. Read the full review here---> http://www.futuremedicalleaders.com/2...
    more
  • Lori (Pure Imagination)
    January 17, 2017
    I really love Erin's books! This is now one of my most anticipated of 2017. I can't wait to read it!
  • Heidi
    July 17, 2017
    Four stars: A fun, quirky coming of age book with terrific friendships and interesting life lessons. Briggs Henry has just graduated from high school. His summer plans include a job as a personal assistant for an elderly lady who lives on the beach of Lake Michigan. Even if he has to wait on an old lady, he will be at the beach, and everything is better at the beach. Once at the beach, Briggs meets the eccentric Mrs. Bosic, a Serbian lady who has a strange habit of attending funerals. As the sum Four stars: A fun, quirky coming of age book with terrific friendships and interesting life lessons. Briggs Henry has just graduated from high school. His summer plans include a job as a personal assistant for an elderly lady who lives on the beach of Lake Michigan. Even if he has to wait on an old lady, he will be at the beach, and everything is better at the beach. Once at the beach, Briggs meets the eccentric Mrs. Bosic, a Serbian lady who has a strange habit of attending funerals. As the summer progresses, Briggs makes new friends, learns some life lessons and comes away a changed young man. What will Briggs learn on the beach?What I Liked:*I went into Lake Effect expecting a funny, romantic story, what I got was something outside my expectations and far more enjoyable. Even though this features a small romance, the romance is not the highlight of the story. Instead this one is all about family, friends and the relationships we forge in life and how they change us. I loved the heart and the humor in this one. *The best part of the story hands down is Mrs. B. At eight five, she is still going strong. I loved her so much. Mrs. B is from Serbia, and she still hasn’t completely mastered the English language. She is always mixing up words, which is so darn funny. Plus, she likes to attend funerals so she can get ideas on how to plan her own. She has her quirks, but deep down, she is kind, compassionate and wise. She knows a thing or two about life and love, and she is dead on when it comes to relationships. I would recommend reading this for Mrs. B alone. *For all you romance lovers, there is a small romance. It is subtle and slow, and it never overtakes the story. I liked that. I also appreciated that it didn’t suffer from any unnecessary drama and there weren’t any love triangles. It is a simple romance that evolves from a friendship that was built on conversation and trust. *Briggs, the main character, comes off as pretentious at first. His life focus is on getting to college and making lots of money after he lived the fall out of his parents losing almost everything. He believes he is charming and witty, and that old woman love him. Thankfully, Briggs grows and changes throughout the story, mostly thanks to his relationship with Mrs. B. He also learns a thing or two about funeral etiquette. I loved the way he changed, especially at the end when it came to his Grandma Ruth. I also appreciated his reevaluation of his future goals and his ideas about careers and money. *The majority of the book focuses on family and friend relationships. Briggs through the summer, begins to see his familial relationships differently, especially when it comes to his Grandma Ruth and his dad. Briggs had never had a good relationship with Grandma Ruth as she is a brisk, no nonsense woman, however, things change, and for me the highlight of the story was the way Briggs finally got his grandma at the end. I loved that this book was all about relationships instead of a summer romance. *The book is full of humor. There were plenty of laugh out loud moments, whether they came from Mrs. B mixing up her words, or Briggs making an ass out of himself at a funeral. I loved the quirkiness of the story. *The end is just right. It ends in a good place, with hope and promise for the future. No cliffhangers or anything ridiculous, which is so refreshing in YA. And The Not So Much:*Even though I liked that the romance was subtle and simple, I never felt the connection. It lacked spark and chemistry. I wish that it had been better. *The story does not flow well, and that is due to the choppy way it is put together. There are way too many chapter breaks. Most chapters are only a few pages long, with some being only a paragraph or so. It made the book disjointed. *I loved the break through scene with Briggs and Grandma Ruth near the end, I wished that there had been more with them. The Lake Effect was a surprise for me. I went into this one expecting a typical YA summer romance read, but what a got was a coming of age book with heart and humor. I adored Mrs. B, and I highly recommend checking this out to experience her quirkiness. The one draw back to the book was the choppiness of the story execution. Still it is a laugh out loud read, perfect for summer. I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions are my own, and I was not compensated for this review. [email protected] Day Ramblings.
    more
  • Alexa
    July 9, 2017
    Quirky, funny and just that little bit of heart to make me feel for this main character! While I didn't love it as much as I loved McCahan's Love and Other Foreign Words, I still thought it was a good read. I particularly liked the way it was simply about a summer -- all the new elements in one's life, the moments exclusive to your summer experience, the way people/situations can change you.
    more
  • Amanda
    December 20, 2016
    The blurb had me at "For fans of Nick Hornby..." Also, the cover is perfect.
  • Nicole Hewitt
    July 9, 2017
    This is one of those perfect summer reads—the type of book you can read all in one sitting on a sunny morning (which is exactly what I did!).What Fed My Addiction:Good balance of light tone and heavy topics. This book covers some serious topics like death, chronic illness, class differences and family pressures, but Briggs’ voice is light and funny enough to make the read enjoyable rather than plodding. Plus, there are some really funny circumstances and secondary characters in this book. I foun This is one of those perfect summer reads—the type of book you can read all in one sitting on a sunny morning (which is exactly what I did!).What Fed My Addiction:Good balance of light tone and heavy topics. This book covers some serious topics like death, chronic illness, class differences and family pressures, but Briggs’ voice is light and funny enough to make the read enjoyable rather than plodding. Plus, there are some really funny circumstances and secondary characters in this book. I found myself laughing out loud several times while reading this book, and chuckling for much of the rest of the time. Somehow this made the serious parts of the book that much more effective—I also found myself tearing up a few times.Briggs. Briggs isn’t a typical snarky teenage YA voice; he’s more sardonic and self-deprecating, which makes him very relatable. It was hard not to be on his side, even when he was messing things up (which he sometimes was). When things got bad for him, I felt his pain, and I laughed with him—a lot.Mrs. B. I ADORED every moment of Mrs. B in this story. She is hilarious with her quirky personality, “interesting” activities, and Serbian accent (and occasional funny mispronunciations).Friendships! Briggs has lots of friendships, old and new, in this story. I loved the interactions between him and his friends because they felt very real—the joking between them was really natural and fun. This book really highlights friendship in a positive way.Fantastic ending. To me, this book ended in the perfect way (some people might be a little disappointed in some aspects, but I thought it was the ideal ending for this book). The very last page left me smiling!What Left Me Wanting More:Not super attached to the romance. Weirdly (for me), the romance in this book was possibly the least interesting part to me. I’m typically most connected to the romance in a book like this, but that wasn’t the case here. Don’t get me wrong, I liked Briggs and Abigail together, and I was intrigued by Abigail’s mysterious disappearances (I pretty much guessed the issue, but I have a sister-in-law who has similar circumstances, so that helped). But I just wasn’t any more invested in the romance than I was in any other aspect of the book, and possibly less so—which is odd for me, but fitting for this story.Funny and poignant, The Lake Effect is the type of book you can easily get lost in. I give it an easy 4/5 stars.***Disclosure: I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was given and all opinions are my own.***
    more
  • Chaitra
    July 27, 2017
    A few weeks ago, I went into the teen section of my library's overdrive and checked out a number of books. I can't remember why, quite possibly because I was expecting that the adult section would be updated that day and it wasn't and I really wanted to download some books. As a result I've probably read more YA books in the past couple of weeks than in the whole of last year. And they've not really been the kind of books to change my mind about YA. But this book surprised me. It isn't really th A few weeks ago, I went into the teen section of my library's overdrive and checked out a number of books. I can't remember why, quite possibly because I was expecting that the adult section would be updated that day and it wasn't and I really wanted to download some books. As a result I've probably read more YA books in the past couple of weeks than in the whole of last year. And they've not really been the kind of books to change my mind about YA. But this book surprised me. It isn't really the rote YA book I've come to expect. It is a summer book, it is a coming of age, and it is a sort of romance with a manic pixie dream girl. Except, Briggs is relatable. He has his flaws but he also has charm, and he's genuinely nice. There aren't any antagonists, the kids are mostly sweet. Even when they have spats, it's understandable and they make up nicely anyway. The manic pixie dream girl isn't really. She's sweet. It is poignant in parts and very funny in others. Mrs. B is lovely, and her idea of window-shopping for funerals is hilarious. I liked this book. It doesn't change my mind about YA as a whole, because I did read a whole lot of books I didn't like, but it was refreshing to read this one.
    more
  • Christina (Confessions of a Book Addict)
    July 9, 2017
    Briggs Henry is a real catch. He is a good student, college-bound, good-looking and comes from a caring family. He works a part-time job, plays on sports teams, and helps his grandmother out whenever he can. He's the picture perfect kid. He gets a job for the summer helping out an elderly Serbian woman who has a big Victorian house on Lake Michigan. Perfect job, right? He gets to help her out all summer while enjoying the lake lifestyle. This is coming at a good time for Briggs, because lately h Briggs Henry is a real catch. He is a good student, college-bound, good-looking and comes from a caring family. He works a part-time job, plays on sports teams, and helps his grandmother out whenever he can. He's the picture perfect kid. He gets a job for the summer helping out an elderly Serbian woman who has a big Victorian house on Lake Michigan. Perfect job, right? He gets to help her out all summer while enjoying the lake lifestyle. This is coming at a good time for Briggs, because lately his life has been super stressful. His parents put a lot of pressure on him and his girlfriend recently dumped him, so a summer at the lake sounds perfect. His new employer, Mrs. B, is a no nonsense type of old lady who has him doing a variety of chores as well as escorting him to all of her appointments and funerals. While living on the lake, he meets his next door neighbor, Abigail, who challenges him in every way. Erin McCahan's The Lake Effect is summer reading at its best.Read the rest of my review here: http://www.confessionsofabookaddict.c...
    more
  • Carli
    July 13, 2017
    Let's be clear, this IS a summer romance, but the narrator is a guy. Briggs has graduated high school after doing everything that his parents expected of him. He is hired to help an elderly woman in South Haven, MI over the summer, and he definitely gets more than he bargained for. I laughed out loud - for real - a LOT during his book. I cried a little too. These 400 pages flew by and I am sad that the story is over. Excellent.
    more
  • Stephanie
    June 18, 2017
    Loved this one. Perfect mix of heart, humor, and honesty. Go read my full review at Forever Young Adult.
  • Bee {Quite the Novel Idea}
    July 5, 2017
    Not DNF'ing it just yet, but putting it on hold for a while until I can get a physical copy. Because it reads really slow on my ereader since it's a PDF file. Will come back to this, for sure.
  • Winyen
    July 18, 2017
    I liked being in Briggs' head, and the writing was quite enamoring. It gave me so little and also so much, in the way that I feel like I should hand this to an English teacher and say, "Here. Lead some classroom discussions. Unpack this."
  • Lisa of Hopewell
    May 23, 2017
    Found at https://tanglednbooks.blogspot.com/20...
  • Mary H
    July 14, 2017
    3? 3.5? I don't know. I liked it, but I don't know how strong of a book it is? I am majorly conflicted.
  • Michelle
    May 22, 2017
    Reading this book was like coming home the first summer after college and sitting down and listening to your friend tell their summer story. Its sweet and you are totally in because sometimes there is nothing like sitting down and talking to your friend.There is a special magic around summer you know? I wonder if kids who go to year round school have this same feeling. For those of us who didn't, even as adults our bodies and spirits are engrained to believe in the special magic of summer. Its t Reading this book was like coming home the first summer after college and sitting down and listening to your friend tell their summer story. Its sweet and you are totally in because sometimes there is nothing like sitting down and talking to your friend.There is a special magic around summer you know? I wonder if kids who go to year round school have this same feeling. For those of us who didn't, even as adults our bodies and spirits are engrained to believe in the special magic of summer. Its transformative properties. Its like new years when you think you can become this whole new person starting the very next day. That is what this book is. Briggs is this guy who has some issues that are only unidentified by him and his parents. Everyone else can tell immediately what his problem is. If you met Briggs on the street you would probably think he was a pretentious tool, but that is the thing about a nice book. We learn that behind the veneer, tools can be nice people too. They can also be holding onto hurts. Briggs believes in the magic of the lake and its ability to make all his internalized worries wash away in one summer. He makes you want to believe it again too. Or remind you that you never stopped.This book makes you smirk constantly in the very best way. You smile to yourself. It is the kind of book that when you are reading it on the bus, people want to know what you are reading because you have such a indeterminable smile on your face.Mrs. B who I initially thought was going to be super annoying ends up being a delight and she warms your heart. Frankly I found her philosophy on funerals inspiring. There are also some great, for any age life lessons in this book. Like how do we deal with major changes? Is determination enough to make your dreams come true? Who did I plan my future for?Overall if you are just looking for something to make you smile I would say pick up this book.
    more
  • Cambear
    June 10, 2017
    DNFSometimes a book sounds great, but within a few chapters, you can tell it's not for you. I don't really know if this is a good or bad book, but I know it isn't my style.It's written in first person so a reader needs to be comfortable with the storyteller's voice. In this case, Briggs was too brash/smug/full of himself so I really didn't want to follow his adventures. Other readers may not feel the same, I just know I couldn't stick with it.Thanks to Dial for providing a copy of the book for r DNFSometimes a book sounds great, but within a few chapters, you can tell it's not for you. I don't really know if this is a good or bad book, but I know it isn't my style.It's written in first person so a reader needs to be comfortable with the storyteller's voice. In this case, Briggs was too brash/smug/full of himself so I really didn't want to follow his adventures. Other readers may not feel the same, I just know I couldn't stick with it.Thanks to Dial for providing a copy of the book for review.
    more
  • Lindsay
    July 31, 2017
    I recieved an ARC of The Lake Effect by @erin_mccahan from @kidlitexchange for a review and my honest opinion. And my honest opinion is that everyone should read this book! I easily give it ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐/5 stars! Briggs is an 18-year-old with a plan. A big plan. He just graduated high school and is heading to college in the fall to earn his MBA degree so he can make lots of money and 'be rich'. In the meantime, he has taken a job as an assistant to an elderly woman who has a large house on the shores of I recieved an ARC of The Lake Effect by @erin_mccahan from @kidlitexchange for a review and my honest opinion. And my honest opinion is that everyone should read this book! I easily give it ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5 stars! Briggs is an 18-year-old with a plan. A big plan. He just graduated high school and is heading to college in the fall to earn his MBA degree so he can make lots of money and 'be rich'. In the meantime, he has taken a job as an assistant to an elderly woman who has a large house on the shores of Lake Michigan. The job entails working on 'Mrs. B's' house, fixing things for her and driving her to the many funerals she has to attend. The next door neighbor, Abigail, is a smart and secretive girl whom Briggs decides he must figure out and befriend.Over the course of the summer, as Briggs spends time with the ecentric Mrs. B, the mysterious Abigail and a gaggle of new friends, he starts to question his big plans. Are his college and career plans what he has always wanted, or what has always been expected of him? In the company of new people who view the world differently than his family and old friends, Briggs starts to wonder what it is he really wants for himself.There are so many aspects of this book to love. The writing is so modern and so '18-year-old'. I found myself laughing out loud many time throughout the book both at the plot and the characters who were just plain humorous. As Briggs makes new friends and starts to form a relationship with Abigail, I got those 'feels' back from when I was that age. The underlying pieces of the plot such as pressure from family, death and love provided some heavier substance to an otherwise light read, but I found it to provide great balance between heavy and light. This coming-of-age tale is so very real: laugh, cry, fall and get back up kind of stuff. I loved it so much and recommend it to anyone!Thank you to the publisher and @kidlitexchange for an ARC of The Lake Effect. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Christina
    July 5, 2017
    Loved this book! It has a lot of humor, but that's the icing on the cake of the charming characters, fun summer beach setting, and changing relationships that fill up the story. Briggs is excited to begin his new summer job, just after high school graduation, as a personal assistant and handyman to an elderly widow living alone in a giant house on the beach in South Haven Michigan. He figures he'll save money for college and meet new friends to help him get over his breakup with his girlfriend. Loved this book! It has a lot of humor, but that's the icing on the cake of the charming characters, fun summer beach setting, and changing relationships that fill up the story. Briggs is excited to begin his new summer job, just after high school graduation, as a personal assistant and handyman to an elderly widow living alone in a giant house on the beach in South Haven Michigan. He figures he'll save money for college and meet new friends to help him get over his breakup with his girlfriend. He has his life planned out--get a law degree and make lots of money, and never live in a "shoebox" like the years his family had to after his dad lost all of their money from investments gone wrong. He comes from a family of overachievers, and his relationships with his high expectations father and his stern no-hugging no-affection-of-any-kind grandmother Ruth give him stomach knots at times. But he's going to have a great time on the beach all summer; he's used to working with older people from his time volunteering at a nursing home, so he can handle this--but "Mrs. B." throws him for a loop the minute he meets her and she asks him to take her to her funeral! Between translating her hilarious English vocabulary gaffes and thick Serbian accent, trying to avoid embarrassing faux pas at various funerals, and figuring out what's up with the mysteriously intriguing quiet girl next door--who seems to be totally immune to his charms and also disappears for days on end--Briggs has quite a full summer. And that's not even mentioning the changes that will happen to Briggs and his family as the sunny days go by. Mrs. B is the quirkiest old lady I've read in a book in a long time, loved her character! And seeing how she and Abigail both affect Briggs' character was enjoyable to read. This is a great book for fans of summer romance and fans of books that are full of heart, a little drama, a little sadness and a lot of chuckles.Up til now I've always thought of "the lake effect" as something that happens in winter: the wind off the Great Lakes causes huge snowfalls near the shore. But now I will forever think of the *summer* lake effect, as well! "Over and off," everyone!
    more
  • Natalie
    July 25, 2017
    This book was, honestly okay! I don't mean that in a super negative way, as I hate giving bad reviews on books, but it was far from my favorite. Honestly, I struggled with the main character/narrator. For 90% of the book, he was hard to connect with and too cocky. It was nice to see him change towards the end, but only because of major life changes he had to face. I felt like the author didn't take enough time for me to connect with any of the other characters and that all the major events waite This book was, honestly okay! I don't mean that in a super negative way, as I hate giving bad reviews on books, but it was far from my favorite. Honestly, I struggled with the main character/narrator. For 90% of the book, he was hard to connect with and too cocky. It was nice to see him change towards the end, but only because of major life changes he had to face. I felt like the author didn't take enough time for me to connect with any of the other characters and that all the major events waited until the end to happened all at once. The first 3/4 of the book was kind of dry and uneventful. What I did love about this book was the character Vesna, the Serbian old lady. The dialect used for her was perfect and made me wish to know a real life Vesna.
    more
  • Rebecca
    July 31, 2017
    Sweet book. It did seem a little weird to make all those chapters though. Page breaks would have worked some of the times. But you do get used to it. I liked it all. Mrs. B was great. I only was confused by his dad. He seemed like a total jerk. But then it seemed like maybe he was just supposed to be a silly dad and we weren't supposed to take him seriously. And then all the stuff at the end with the money further made me think he was a huge jerk. So. That was confusing.
    more
  • Cathy
    July 27, 2017
    Erin McCahan consistently has produced sweet, funny stories with characters to care about, and this is no different. I laughed, I smiled, I felt for Briggs and those around him. I think I and all other readers just adore Mrs. B. I bought this book right away without blinking because I’ve been so happy with McCahan’s other two: I Now Pronounce You Someone Else and Love and Other Foreign Words. As always, I look forward to more in the future.
    more
  • Lauren
    June 27, 2017
    After reading this interview I really want to read this one! It doesn't hurt that I loved Erin's debut YA novel back in '09.
  • Caitlen
    July 22, 2017
    This book wrecked me. I've been sitting here for the last half hour since I finished it just in a stupor with tears steaming down my cheeks. It was just so relatable in so many ways. Overall it was a very funny, cute read but as can be expected with most books like this, the ending just takes your emotions and rips them to shreds.
    more
  • Sophie
    July 17, 2017
    Funny, sweet, and an extremely quick read! I live just north of South Haven and it was so cool to read my town being referenced in this book! So many other places that I recognize too :) I enjoyed the characters -- especially Mrs. B; they were all very fun to read about. Highly recommended - especially if you live in West Michigan too!
    more
  • Denise Crabtree
    July 28, 2017
    Loved, loved, loved this book! Great characters, excellent writing, and laugh out loud funny. You will love Briggs, Mrs. B., and their love story--really!
  • Kristel
    July 25, 2017
    Hovers on the edge of "new adult." Really refreshing.
  • Laceymaxwell
    July 25, 2017
    Just ok. I love South Haven and we visit every summer, so that was nice. The oldLady character is really funny and sweet, but the rest of it was pretty blah. It was also in need of some editing!
  • Sarah
    July 24, 2017
    A quick wonderful read. I loved this charming book.
  • Jenny Staller
    May 12, 2017
    My complete review of this book will be available in the June issue of VOYA.
  • Mike
    July 19, 2017
    Lake Michigan beaches are the true catch! Great, quick YA read perfect for capturing a little mobile Lake Michigan summer "lake effect" wherever you may be.
Write a review