The Greatest Challenge Of Them All (Cynster #26; Cynster Next Generation #6)
A nobleman devoted to defending queen and country and a noblewoman wild enough to match his every step race to disrupt the plans of a malignant intelligence intent on shaking England to its very foundations.Lord Drake Varisey, Marquess of Winchelsea, eldest son and heir of the Duke of Wolverstone, must foil a plot that threatens to shake the foundations of the realm, but the very last lady—nay, noblewoman—he needs assisting him is Lady Louisa Cynster, known throughout the ton as Lady Wild.For the past nine years, Louisa has suspected that Drake might well be the ideal husband for her, even though he’s assiduous in avoiding her. But she’s now twenty-seven and enough is enough. She believes propinquity will reveal exactly what it is that lies between them, and what better opportunity to work closely with Drake than this latest mission with which he patently needs her help?Unable to deny Louisa’s abilities or the value of her assistance and powerless to curb her willfulness, Drake is forced to grit his teeth and acquiesce to her sticking by his side if only to ensure her safety. But all too soon, his true feelings for her surface sufficiently for her, perspicacious as she is, to see through his denials, which she then interprets as a challenge.Even while they gather information, tease out clues, increasingly desperately search for the missing gunpowder, and doggedly pursue the killer responsible for an ever-escalating tally of dead men, thrown together through the hours, he and she learn to trust and appreciate each other. And fed by constant exposure—and blatantly encouraged by her—their desires and hungers swell and grow…As the barriers between them crumble, the attraction he has for so long restrained burgeons and balloons, until goaded by her near-death, it erupts, and he seizes her—only to be seized in return.Linked irrevocably and with their wills melded and merged by passion’s fire, with time running out and the evil mastermind’s deadline looming, together, they focus their considerable talents and make one last push to learn the critical truths—to find the gunpowder and unmask the villain behind this far-reaching plot.Only to discover that they have significantly less time than they’d thought, that the villain’s target is even more crucially fundamental to the realm than they’d imagined, and it’s going to take all that Drake is—as well as all that Louisa as Lady Wild can bring to bear—to defuse the threat, capture the villain, and make all safe and right again.As they race to the ultimate confrontation, the future of all England rests on their shoulders.Third volume in a trilogy. A historical romance with gothic overtones layered over an intrigue. A full length novel of 129,000 words.

The Greatest Challenge Of Them All (Cynster #26; Cynster Next Generation #6) Details

TitleThe Greatest Challenge Of Them All (Cynster #26; Cynster Next Generation #6)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 13th, 2017
PublisherSavdek Management Pty Ltd
ISBN1925559041
ISBN-139781925559040
Rating
GenreRomance, Historical Romance, Historical

The Greatest Challenge Of Them All (Cynster #26; Cynster Next Generation #6) Review

  • Kristina Deluise
    May 15, 2017
    WTF was stephanie thinking?we have waited 20 years for these books and this book like the first book are EXTREMELY disappointing.have you read the buccaneer books? how long, how detailed how involved, how family,how fantastic???????????????????where was the love in this book?????? or the previous book??????michael and cleo fall in love in 2 days? there is none of the cynster make him wait make him say it,there is ............. NOTHING.I just can't express my disappointment could she have even pu WTF was stephanie thinking?we have waited 20 years for these books and this book like the first book are EXTREMELY disappointing.have you read the buccaneer books? how long, how detailed how involved, how family,how fantastic???????????????????where was the love in this book?????? or the previous book??????michael and cleo fall in love in 2 days? there is none of the cynster make him wait make him say it,there is ............. NOTHING.I just can't express my disappointment could she have even put 1/2 the love from the buccaneer books into the cynster books this would have been so much better........i am sure someone else will be more specific and put it more elegantly, but maybe stephanie bowed to pressure from readers to write these books, but of all the cynster books she has ever written,these last 2 are the most disappointing ......................I am going to cry...............
    more
  • Barbara Rogers
    July 15, 2017
    Series: Devil’s Brood Trilogy #3Publication Date: 7/13/17Stephanie Laurens always entertains us with charming characters, exciting plots, and characters that you will never forget. Her words just fly off the page, grab you and pull you right into the story and don't let you go until it is done. This book is an exceptional wrap-up to the trilogy. You really can’t read this book as a stand-alone because it is part of a trilogy with an overarching mystery that must be solved for Queen and Country.T Series: Devil’s Brood Trilogy #3Publication Date: 7/13/17Stephanie Laurens always entertains us with charming characters, exciting plots, and characters that you will never forget. Her words just fly off the page, grab you and pull you right into the story and don't let you go until it is done. This book is an exceptional wrap-up to the trilogy. You really can’t read this book as a stand-alone because it is part of a trilogy with an overarching mystery that must be solved for Queen and Country.The first book featured Sebastian Cynster (Devil’s heir) and Antonia Rawlings (eldest daughter of the Earl of Chillingworth) who are sent to Kent to investigate a missive sent to Drake Varisey (Heir to the Duke of Wolverston) saying that the sender has important information he must share. As they investigate, they discover that the plot involves a large shipment of gunpowder being sent to London.The second book featured Michael Cynster (Devil’s second son) and Cleo Hendon (only daughter of the Jack and Kit Hendon of Hendon Shipping Company). The gunpowder has now reached London and Michael and Cleo have to locate it and stop the plot if they can.This book, the third and final one, features Lord Drake Varisey and Louisa Cynster (only daughter of Devil – also known as Lady Wild in the ton). Their task is to stop the gunpowder from being delivered to its final destination, identify the target and identify the mastermind behind the plot.All of these ladies are strong, bold, intelligent, and determined not to be left out of the investigation. Louisa has a long history with Drake – their families have always been friends and Louisa has always known that Drake was the one for her. Drake basically always knew that Louisa was the one for him, but he was fighting it tooth and nail because he thought that love and marriage would be a weakness in his role for the Crown. However, when Louisa insinuates herself, uninvited, into the investigation, he soon comes to value how much she can contribute.All three of the couples are featured in this book although the main focus is on Drake and Louisa. All of the couples are zipping all over London trying to investigate different aspects of the plot as well as trying to keep up their social obligations as betrothed couples.Of course, one of my favorite characters is Lady Osbaldestone who is absolutely ancient by now and has been featured in many of the Cynster novels. The mystery is intense and the target is unexpected as is the mastermind and his reasons for the plot. You’ll just have to read the story to find all of that out.
    more
  • Beth
    July 15, 2017
    I am about half way through this book and I am not sure I can finish it. Stephanie Laurens has always been one of my favorite authors, but I am going to stop automatically buying her books. The recent books, both of this triology and the Buccaneers, have left me disappointed. I struggle to like the characters and find the way she writes love scenes devoid of emotion. It is like sex is all a mind game between the H and h. I want the romance of the early Cynster novels back not the manipulative fo I am about half way through this book and I am not sure I can finish it. Stephanie Laurens has always been one of my favorite authors, but I am going to stop automatically buying her books. The recent books, both of this triology and the Buccaneers, have left me disappointed. I struggle to like the characters and find the way she writes love scenes devoid of emotion. It is like sex is all a mind game between the H and h. I want the romance of the early Cynster novels back not the manipulative foreplay I have seen in the recent books. The characters in this triology had such wonderful potential. I never thought I would find it hard to like the son of the Duke of Wolverstone, but Drake is so far not impressive. Louisa is a likeable character, but even she falls flat. Devil Cynster's sons are also flat. I have never reviewed a book before and I am sure that there are many people who could do a much better job. I gave the book a 3 because I am still interested in the families involved, but I really miss the romance, the passion, and the love of the Laurens' former books.
    more
  • Marianna Clark
    July 14, 2017
    Fabulous! After finishing Stephanie Laurens latest Cynster novel, all I can say is WOW! I first began reading Stephanie’s books about 4 years ago. The first being Devil’s Bride. I fell in love with her writing style. She has created this family that you want to become a part of any way you can. In this latest book, it is the third in the Devil’s Brood Series and wonderfully picks up where number two leaves off. This story is about Louisa (Devil’s daughter) and Drake (Royca and Minerva’s son (Ma Fabulous! After finishing Stephanie Laurens latest Cynster novel, all I can say is WOW! I first began reading Stephanie’s books about 4 years ago. The first being Devil’s Bride. I fell in love with her writing style. She has created this family that you want to become a part of any way you can. In this latest book, it is the third in the Devil’s Brood Series and wonderfully picks up where number two leaves off. This story is about Louisa (Devil’s daughter) and Drake (Royca and Minerva’s son (Mastered By Love). They are racing a clock to stop a madman and his evil plot. The story is filled with mystery, intrigue and romance. I was captivated from the beginning! I actually stayed up to 3:00 am one night because I couldn’t put the book down! Stephanie weaves the tale beautifully. Louisa is headstrong and determined and she reminds me so much of her father. Drake is equally headstrong and determined. The combination is a force to be reckoned with. Yes, it’s ultimately a love story. But, the mystery aspect of the book, and series, will capture any mystery lover! And the epilogue is absolutely wonderful! It truly comes full circle from the beginning of Devil’s Bride. I know that I now must wait patiently until 2019 for another Cynster novel, but I know it will be worth the wait! So, I highly recommend this book and series! You will not be disappointed!
    more
  • Rosemarie Grainer
    July 14, 2017
    A great ending to an intriguing trilogyIf you want to read this book, you really must read the two previous books: The Lady by His Side and then An Irresistible Alliance first. This book has excitement and adventure right from thee start. Even better are the 2strong main characters of Drake (Royce Wolverstone's heir) and Louisa (Devil Cynster's grande dame in training). These two are great together. The storyline is action packed, but we still got to watch them grow and develop. You see the 4 ma A great ending to an intriguing trilogyIf you want to read this book, you really must read the two previous books: The Lady by His Side and then An Irresistible Alliance first. This book has excitement and adventure right from thee start. Even better are the 2strong main characters of Drake (Royce Wolverstone's heir) and Louisa (Devil Cynster's grande dame in training). These two are great together. The storyline is action packed, but we still got to watch them grow and develop. You see the 4 main characters from the 2 previous books, but you also see characters from the original Cynster series, as well as from other series that Stephanie Laurens has written. Now I want to go Bach and reread all those as well. Read the other 2 books first and then hang on, because this one is a wild ride that keeps you on the edge of your seat and guessing for the whole story. Enjoy!
    more
  • Carole
    July 26, 2017
    Didn't hate it, didn't love it. Just had trouble being really engaged with story and couple - not sure if it is because she has done the same relationship themes over and over and she just has the children in this generation essentially taking over the roles of their parents, without having their own identity or unique backstories. Sorry but I just did not feel as engaged as when I read the Bastion Club Series which is on my All Time Favourites List. Final Rating: 3 Stars, but don't know if I li Didn't hate it, didn't love it. Just had trouble being really engaged with story and couple - not sure if it is because she has done the same relationship themes over and over and she just has the children in this generation essentially taking over the roles of their parents, without having their own identity or unique backstories. Sorry but I just did not feel as engaged as when I read the Bastion Club Series which is on my All Time Favourites List. Final Rating: 3 Stars, but don't know if I liked it enough to re-read...
    more
  • Barbara
    July 18, 2017
    Easily a third or more longer than it should be. I actually was contemplating two stars! (Unheard of from me for a S.L. book!) Am half through now and it finally has gotten good...quite good. On balance, though, 3 stars. I was flat bored through the first half. I have learned to barely skim the sex scenes, and that generally leaves a decent "action-adventure" story. The series is worth reading.
    more
  • Cindy
    July 15, 2017
    This book was the third in a trilogy, but it was not necessary to read the earlier two versions as this one did have a pretty good synopsis of the action and characters to bring one up to date. I have all of the Cynster books, and possibly all of Ms. Laurens' books, but her easy familiarity with the British aristocracy and history, along with the dynamic characters and their family ties, really helps bring one into the story. I usually read her novels in one long setting and this one was no diff This book was the third in a trilogy, but it was not necessary to read the earlier two versions as this one did have a pretty good synopsis of the action and characters to bring one up to date. I have all of the Cynster books, and possibly all of Ms. Laurens' books, but her easy familiarity with the British aristocracy and history, along with the dynamic characters and their family ties, really helps bring one into the story. I usually read her novels in one long setting and this one was no different. I was not able to guess the primary villain in advance, but the motives fit the character. I really enjoyed the hints of Louisa's life between her debut and the current time, with a year as lady in waiting turning out to be pivotal at one point. The older generation is also aware of the passing of the torch to their children and handle it in a very sympathetic manner. Devil and Royce are never going to sit quietly back, but you can see their pride and knowledge of both the young men and ladies taking center stage. I highly recommend Ms. Laurens' books. My only regret is the increasing cost of the print books as I still prefer paper to electronic books.
    more
  • Lester Allen
    July 22, 2017
    It's time for the next generation to keep England safe.I enjoyed best to read in order. The Lady by his side, An Irresistible Alliance and then this book. We know and loved their parents and now I know and love the second generation of Cysters. The same action and excitement is here and the romance is there and more. Don't miss it
    more
  • Danielle
    July 15, 2017
    I really loved the last book. It was great to finally read Louisa's story and get to know her character. I liked the way that she was invaluable to Drake's mission, and that he grew to accept that. The mission's culmination was fascinating! I was very satisfied after finishing this book. :-)
    more
  • Patricia
    July 22, 2017
    This book continues the mystery started in The Lady by his Side and An Irresistible Alliance. All three were great reads. In this book, the mystery ends, and what an ending it was! Author always gets me involved in her stories.
  • Pj Wright
    July 25, 2017
    I expect Cynster to winThere is nothing I enjoy more than a author I am able to read for years. I've enjoyed Stephanie Laurens since Devil fell into my hands. I've got every book in every series. I also have one signed author copy, makes me very happy
    more
  • Sharon App
    July 15, 2017
    The Greatest ChallengeThis completes the Latest Cynster family saga. This trilogy keeps you guessing as to is behind a nefarious plot to the Crown as well as the continuing romance between Louisa and Drake. Will they save the day? You'll have to read it to find out.
    more
  • kathy kemmerer
    July 24, 2017
    Love all these stories!This story was Drake and Louisa's story what an adventure to that took place! Excitement to the end and a very happy ever after! Can't wait for more next generation storied!!💕
  • Laraine Croall
    July 13, 2017
    FantasticFantastic as all of Lauren's books are. Once started you do not quit until finished. She weaves the plot sand totally holds your attention until the very last page and word. This has been an excellent series
  • Michelle Schneider
    July 20, 2017
    good end to the trilogy
  • Michele bookloverforever
    July 13, 2017
    Imagine a marriage between a cynster and a varisey!
  • Polly
    May 25, 2017
    I really enjoyed Michael's story. Excitement from page one.
  • Susan H Garris
    July 19, 2017
    Louisa and DrakeThe love story of Louisa and Drake and the end of the mystery of the mastermind and the gunpowder. I love Stephanie Laurens and the Cynster tales.
  • Maryann Mckain
    July 25, 2017
    A must read!I have enjoyed reading every book in the Cynster books, absolutely love series. These are a must read from beginning to end.
  • Michelle
    July 24, 2017
    A great end to the trilogy. Loved it.
  • Theresa Hurley
    July 17, 2017
    Another great one! Love reading about the new generation of Cynsters! Really enjoyed this with Drake and Louisa! Fitting end to this set!
  • Susan Jackson
    July 16, 2017
    This was an improvement over Michael and Cleo's story. I enjoyed Drake/Louisa. Her Lady Wild moniker though - I was wondering throughout why she had it because I didn't think she did anything WILD.
  • Angie
    July 24, 2017
    A little thin on story compared to the other two.
  • Talia Cotton
    July 19, 2017
    I was sooo excited to read Louisa's book. But it was a let down. The story focused more on the gun powder plot than the romance. Not my favorite!!
  • Barbara Literski
    July 27, 2017
    Love wins outLove, love reading Stephanie Laurens books about the Cynster family!! This book also had the son of the infamous Duke of Wolvertone, Drake. Along with Sebastian , Michael Cynster, Antonia Rawlings, Cleo Hendon the 5 are working on a mystery that includes 10 barrels of gunpowder. This book has all 5 but now includes now Louisa Cynster, sister to Sebastian and Michael. The six work thru the mystery. There is so much happening that all I can say is read the book. It is hard to put down Love wins outLove, love reading Stephanie Laurens books about the Cynster family!! This book also had the son of the infamous Duke of Wolvertone, Drake. Along with Sebastian , Michael Cynster, Antonia Rawlings, Cleo Hendon the 5 are working on a mystery that includes 10 barrels of gunpowder. This book has all 5 but now includes now Louisa Cynster, sister to Sebastian and Michael. The six work thru the mystery. There is so much happening that all I can say is read the book. It is hard to put down!
    more
Write a review