The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr
A socially challenged young woman is finally forced to find her place in the world in this breathtaking and moving debut Elvira Carr believes in crisp schedules, clear guidelines, and taking people at face value. She lives at home with her overbearing mother, who has deemed her unfit to interact with the rest of society.But when her mother has a stroke, Ellie is suddenly forced to look after herself. She quickly comes up with an ingenious way of coping with the world: the seven social rules spreadsheet.Unfortunately, Ellie soon discovers that most people don't live their lives within a set of rules. As she experiences social missteps and awkward encounters, Ellie continues to learn – about herself, and the people around her. And she'll need this new knowledge if she hopes to pave the way to living life on her own terms.

The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr Details

TitleThe Seven Rules of Elvira Carr
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherSourcebooks Landmark
ISBN1492649279
ISBN-139781492649274
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Contemporary

The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr Review

  • Sarah
    April 18, 2017
    I fell in love with Elvira Carr on page one and, 381* pages later, I was still a a fan. Frances Maynard's chronicle about Elvira has been compared to The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and The Rosie Project and both are apt comparisons. I don't know how the Brits do it, but, by golly, they can write!Twenty-seven-year-old Elvira (Ellie, Vivi, Els) has a Condition making it difficult for her to navigate the world of NormalTypicals. When her mother is hospitalized following a stroke I fell in love with Elvira Carr on page one and, 381* pages later, I was still a a fan. Frances Maynard's chronicle about Elvira has been compared to The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and The Rosie Project and both are apt comparisons. I don't know how the Brits do it, but, by golly, they can write!Twenty-seven-year-old Elvira (Ellie, Vivi, Els) has a Condition making it difficult for her to navigate the world of NormalTypicals. When her mother is hospitalized following a stroke Elvira is tasked with confronting the society from which her domineering mother has kept her largely sheltered. In order to successfully sort things out, Elvira develops a set of seven rules, a comforting system methodically designed to assist her. But even these carefully developed precepts are no match for a world where rules change depending on the situation and person you are speaking to. There is a story here, a mystery of sorts and a definite arc of progression, but I would have also been perfectly content to simply read about Elvira's day-to-day life, the structured schedule of daily tasks and rotating meal plan (Sunday is Stuffed Baked Potatoes with Leeks day) and her extensive knowledge of biscuits and their packaging. Full of heart, wit, a cast of eccentric characters, and one very endearing protagonist, The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr made me one happy reader.Grab a "cuppa" and a package of McVities digestives and be prepared to be charmed.* Number of pages in an advanced copy
    more
  • Katelyn
    December 5, 2016
    When Elvira's controlling mother has a stroke and must enter a nursing home, Elvira is left living at home alone. She has a Condition (she's somewhere on the Autism spectrum) but despite often having trouble navigating societal rules, once she no longer has her mother's limitations placed on her, she blossoms. Elvira keeps the house clean, gets the groceries, visits her mother every day and starts volunteering once a week at Animal Arcadia, an animal rescue sanctuary. She writes out the seven ru When Elvira's controlling mother has a stroke and must enter a nursing home, Elvira is left living at home alone. She has a Condition (she's somewhere on the Autism spectrum) but despite often having trouble navigating societal rules, once she no longer has her mother's limitations placed on her, she blossoms. Elvira keeps the house clean, gets the groceries, visits her mother every day and starts volunteering once a week at Animal Arcadia, an animal rescue sanctuary. She writes out the seven rules of interacting with NormalTypicals and with the help of her very British neighbor Sylvia (think Bridget Jones but with adult age children) tries to figure out the reasoning behind them. She doesn't like change, but soon she can't avoid it as she learns there was a lot more to her father (now dead) than she realized.Maynard hooked me from the start with Elvira's illuminating perspective. A very enjoyable story. Highly recommended. This would make a good book club pick.
    more
  • Lori L (She Treads Softly)
    July 10, 2017
    The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr by Frances Maynard is a very highly recommended look into the life of a twenty-seven year-old neuro-atypical woman.Elvira Carr lives a very restricted life with her authoritarian, overbearing mother. She does tasks for her mother in their home and she goes to the store. Elvira follows the rules. She enjoys biscuits, has amassed a lot of information about each kind, and collects the packages. She also takes what people say at face value, which can be troubling.When The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr by Frances Maynard is a very highly recommended look into the life of a twenty-seven year-old neuro-atypical woman.Elvira Carr lives a very restricted life with her authoritarian, overbearing mother. She does tasks for her mother in their home and she goes to the store. Elvira follows the rules. She enjoys biscuits, has amassed a lot of information about each kind, and collects the packages. She also takes what people say at face value, which can be troubling.When her mother has a stroke and Elvira is suddenly on her own, she knows she needs to make sure she is adapting and fitting into a world she has little experience navigating through. She sets up a meal schedule. She keeps the house clean. Her neighbor Sylvia helps her follow the bus schedule to visit her mom and expand her understanding of the world. When she takes a computer class and actually buys a computer, Elvira discovers that there are groups online of people just like her who find ways to fit into the world of Normal-typical people.This is when Elvira writes her list of seven rules that will help her move around the world without getting into trouble and perhaps even have her differences go unnoticed. Sylvia helps refine and explain areas Elvira questions. The rules help Elvira understand the world and some of the troubling questions she has about her life with her mother and father.The seven rules are:Rule 1: Being Polite and Respectful is always a Good Idea. Rule 2: If you Look or Sound Different, you won’t Fit In. Rule 3: Conversation doesn’t just Exchange Facts - it Conveys how you’re Feeling. Rule 4: You learn by making Mistakes. Rule 5: Not Everyone who is Nice to me is my Friend. Rule 6: It’s better to be too Diplomatic than too Honest. Rule 7: Rules change depending on the Situation and the Person you are speaking to.The writing is quite good. The narrative has Elvira experiencing a number of challenging incidents and her reactions are realistic and sometimes heartbreaking. Elvira will have your full support and devotion as she works out a way to live among the normal-typical people and their figures of speech that can be so troubling and difficult to understand. The only minor quibble I had with it was the convenience in the plot that her mother was wealthy enough to have a trust fund set up for Elvira so she could stay in her home. It worked for a heartwarming fictional story, but was a tab-bit too fortunate and opportune in the real world.This is a wonderful, touching, and charming, novel about a young woman, likely on the Autism spectrum (although it is never specified), and how she figures out a way to cope in the real world of normal-typical people. You can tell that author Maynard works with adults with learning disabilities as she handles her character with an insight and compassion that sets this book apart from many others. It can be favorably compared to The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and Be Frank With Me. The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr would be an excellent choice for a book club.Disclosure: My review copy was courtesy of Sourcebooks.
    more
  • Krepde
    July 6, 2017
    A beautifully penned insight and an education in the importance of empathy.
  • Alissa
    June 12, 2017
    I was rooting for Elvira. This is perfect for those who enjoyed "The Rosie Project" or the "Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime." In addition to Ellie's coming of age story there's a good subplot regarding unraveling family secrets. You'll laugh at some of her observations and you'll get a bit teary at some of the tougher situations she finds herself in, but all along you'll be rooting for her.
    more
  • Cheryl
    January 18, 2017
    Elvira Carr lives with her controlling mother but one day suddenly finds herself living alone when her mother has a stroke and must be put into a nursing home. Elvira (Ellie) is not like other people; her mother says she has a "condition" (Ellie is autistic). She doesn't understand many social behaviors and is frequently baffled by figures of speech. To cope with her new independence, she creates a list of seven rules that will help her navigate through society. With the help of her neighbor Syl Elvira Carr lives with her controlling mother but one day suddenly finds herself living alone when her mother has a stroke and must be put into a nursing home. Elvira (Ellie) is not like other people; her mother says she has a "condition" (Ellie is autistic). She doesn't understand many social behaviors and is frequently baffled by figures of speech. To cope with her new independence, she creates a list of seven rules that will help her navigate through society. With the help of her neighbor Sylvia she tries to figure out the complexities of other human's behavior, sometimes with hilarious and awkward outcomes.This was a wonderful story and it gives terrific insight into how autistic people think and why they find "NormalTypical" people so confusing. Ellie is a character you can't help but love.
    more
  • Jennie
    June 12, 2017
    An insightful view into the life of an adult woman with a condition that appears to be on the Autism spectrum, although it is never specified. This book has been compared to the Rosie Project but I believe this is a view from a different angle into the adult world of Autism. We watch Elvira deal with daily life and the complexities of "normal" conversation which is challenging for someone who deals in literal and only truths. The scenes tended to abruptly change and sometimes it took me a couple An insightful view into the life of an adult woman with a condition that appears to be on the Autism spectrum, although it is never specified. This book has been compared to the Rosie Project but I believe this is a view from a different angle into the adult world of Autism. We watch Elvira deal with daily life and the complexities of "normal" conversation which is challenging for someone who deals in literal and only truths. The scenes tended to abruptly change and sometimes it took me a couple of sentences to realize that time or location had changed. I wonder if the author was in some way using this technique to have the reader thrown off a little (figure of speech) to be able to better sympathize with Elvira. Definitely a book to add to your collection and pass on to other readers.
    more
  • Kim
    July 23, 2017
    Charming, touching, and entertaining. Most people can relate to Ellie in some way or another, even if it is only her biscuit addiction! It is always a pleasure to read about a character discovering independence. Independence is something most of us take for granted along with other small things in life. Ellie's rules have made me rethink my own behaviors when socializing or engaging with others. I probably could stand to be more of a listener and less of a talker. Sometimes we all forget to ask Charming, touching, and entertaining. Most people can relate to Ellie in some way or another, even if it is only her biscuit addiction! It is always a pleasure to read about a character discovering independence. Independence is something most of us take for granted along with other small things in life. Ellie's rules have made me rethink my own behaviors when socializing or engaging with others. I probably could stand to be more of a listener and less of a talker. Sometimes we all forget to ask how others are feeling, or to be polite in these trying times.
    more
  • Diana
    July 14, 2017
    Wow this is so good. Touching, heartbreaking, and hits a bit too close to home. (Kept wondering about my son's future while reading this). Told from Elvira's POV, it felt stilted and weird at first few chapters, but I decided to go on and man, I didn't regret it. I rooted hard for Elvira and hoped everything would go on her way. Gave me an insight to the autistic/Aspergian mind.
    more
  • Debbie Berris
    July 17, 2017
    I loved this book about the growth of a young woman with autism who breaks out of the limiting life her mother envisioned and created for her. Every person on the spectrum is unique and Elvira is a wonder to get to know. We all have rules we live by that help us to cope and Elvira copes well beyond her initial forays into the 'neuro-typical' world. Read this and see what we all have in common.
    more
  • Claudia
    July 2, 2017
    Elvira is a young’s woman that has autism, she lived all her life with her controlling mother, until one day, after her mother ‘stroke, she creates seven rules that will help her navigate through society. This is a sweet story about how an awkward young autism woman, who doesn’t understand the world around her, navigates trough life. Is a bit slow but I highly recommend it.
    more
  • Toni
    July 4, 2017
    I spent the entire book feeling anxious for Elvira, who has a "condition" (Aspergers?) and finds herself suddenly having to live on her own after her overbearing mother has a stroke. She goes on quite a journey but discovers that she is a lot stronger and more capable than her mother let her believe.
    more
  • Lucy
    July 19, 2017
    I really finished it on the 14th. Couldn't put it down. It's a charmer in a unique way.
  • Suzie
    July 24, 2017
    Learning about how Elvira interacted with the world has opened my eyes more to those with "conditions" or special needs. It was interesting, angering, and touching. Really glad I read it. The ending was sort of sudden and uneventful otherwise it was very well written and paced.
    more
  • Casie
    July 21, 2017
    Read this! It is such a good book.
  • Tracy
    January 8, 2017
    Lovely. Was worried there wouldn't be anything new to this theme, but Maynard paints a unique character in Ellie that will make readers smile and occasionally smack the people around her.
  • Angela
    May 1, 2017
    A sweet and satisfying story of a young woman who has autism coming into her own as she juggles the simultaneous burdens of adjusting to life after her mother's debilitating stroke and piecing together the puzzle of her father's mysterious past. A bit slow-going, but you will root for the heroine and want to see her through to the book's conclusion. Recommended.
    more
  • Ronnie Turner
    July 22, 2017
    The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr is a novel which will stick in your mind long after reading, stalking your thoughts as you go about everyday life. One being, groceries shopping. I couldn’t help but think of Elvira while I was browsing the biscuits section in Tesco. (You’ll see why if you read this novel.) She really does stick in your mind. I loved her from the very first page. She is one of the sweetest, memorable characters I’ve ever come across. And when I finished the book, I couldn The Seven Imperfect Rules of Elvira Carr is a novel which will stick in your mind long after reading, stalking your thoughts as you go about everyday life. One being, groceries shopping. I couldn’t help but think of Elvira while I was browsing the biscuits section in Tesco. (You’ll see why if you read this novel.) She really does stick in your mind. I loved her from the very first page. She is one of the sweetest, memorable characters I’ve ever come across. And when I finished the book, I couldn’t help but wish there was a sequel.27-year-old Elvira Carr’s life takes an unexpected turn when her mother suffers a stroke and is taken into hospital. So far there has been no need for her to navigate the pitfalls and missteps of society but now faced with a frightening path stretching out before her, Elvira makes a list of seven imperfect rules. Along with tips and advice and the aid of her friendly neighbour, the rules will guide and ease her into a world where she will have to interpret life’s signs and signals on her own, all the while trying to solve a family mystery.You can’t help but root for Elvira throughout this novel. At times touching, others heartbreaking, it will grip you right up to the end. Elvira is one of the kindest, loveliest characters I’ve ever had the pleasure to read about. Her personality will enamour you, her strength and courage fixing your eyes to the engrossing prose. A tender, beautifully told story that will leave an Elvira-shaped impression in your mind even as you begin to read the next novel on your To-Be-Read pile.A story about casting aside the bonds of a old life and finding a new path, tailored to your wants and needs, hopes and dreams. Marvellous.Charming. Moving. Clever.I received my review copy via the publisher
    more
  • Kym Lucas
    April 18, 2017
    Enjoyed this book, which I received as an ARC from the publisher. Reminded me a bit of the "Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time," but only because it's written from a sinus perspective. You'll root for Elvira as she learns to make her way in a world she doesn't quite understand. Well worth a read.
    more
Write a review