The Switch
Michael Tanner is heading home from a business trip when he accidentally picks up the wrong laptop from security. What he doesn't know is that the owner is US senator Susan Robbins, and her laptop contains top secret files that should never have been on there in the first place.And Senator Robbins is not the only one who wants the laptop back... Suddenly, Tanner is a hunted man. On the run, terrified for the safety of his family – he is in desperate need of a plan – but who can he trust?PREVIOUS TITLES:The Moscow Club; Extraordinary Powers; The Zero Hour; High Crimes; Paranoia; Company Man; Killer Instinct; Power Play; Vanished; Buried Secrets; Suspicion; The Fixer; Guilty Minds.

The Switch Details

TitleThe Switch
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherDutton Books
ISBN110198578X
ISBN-139781101985786
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Suspense

The Switch Review

  • Abby (Crime by the Book)
    February 16, 2017
    This was a work read for me, so I won't be providing a review for it. Just keeping track of it here!
  • Cat Ellington
    May 28, 2017
    Immediately after signing up for a new membership to the Penguin Random House First to Read program, and then selecting each category, or genre, if you will, that interested me, I was provided with an intriguing bundle of upcoming titles that were being offered as ARCs—galley proofs—with the request option to view. And this intriguing bundle had included the latest Joseph Finder-scribed thriller, The Switch—a novel boasting capturing cover art, in addition to a fascinating description. So, eager Immediately after signing up for a new membership to the Penguin Random House First to Read program, and then selecting each category, or genre, if you will, that interested me, I was provided with an intriguing bundle of upcoming titles that were being offered as ARCs—galley proofs—with the request option to view. And this intriguing bundle had included the latest Joseph Finder-scribed thriller, The Switch—a novel boasting capturing cover art, in addition to a fascinating description. So, eager to preread the imminent work of fiction, I excitedly requested it. And with my request for the galley approved (and queued) not much longer afterward, I would soon be engrossed in the conspiratorial plot of The Switch.. . .It certainly lived up to its interesting synopsis.Set in the dual locations of Boston, MA and Washington D.C., The Switch is a twisty-turny political thriller oozing with fear, dreadful paranoia, anxiety, and frustration. In fact, this, the latest effort from Joseph Finder, gives a whole new meaning to the old phrase, 'Big Brother Is Watching You.'The turmoil begins to unfold when, while going through checkpoint at LAX, coffee executive (and main protaganist) Michael Tanner ("Tanner" to his loved ones, including his estranged wife, Sarah) collects and repacks his effects, including an exorbitant MacBook Air, right before he boards his flight back to his home city of Boston. Michael Tanner, however, doesn't yet realize that the MacBook Air which he retrieved at checkpoint is not his own, but rather is that one of the forever L'Air du Temps scented Susan Robbins, a very prominent and powerfully influential U.S. Senator. And it is onto the ill-fated laptop that Senator Robbins has uploaded top secret government documents not intended for public knowledge—lest national pandemonium ensue.Michael Tanner doesn't realize his error of grabbing the wrong MacBook Air until he has returned home, unpacked, and settled in. It is at that moment when he powers on the computer to see the pink post-it icon indicating the laptop's owner to be one S. Robbins. Even her government-issued password has the careless senator posted. . .right on the home screen with her name. And out of impulsive curiosity, Tanner signs in to S. Robbins' MacBook Air, using the provided password, of course. Once inside, he learns that he has in his possession the property of U.S. Senator Susan Robbins. He then reads the petryifying and forbidden documents. And his reaction to what he has just learned is a reaction that is to be expected: Sheer fear. Right away, he calls one of his buddies, Lanny, who is not only a die hard conspiracy theorist, but also a well-respected journalist at The Boston Globe. Tanner shares both the details of the docs, as well as hard drive copies of the same, with Lanny—. . .And from there, the plot, as if being infused with cornstarch, begins to thicken.Everyone—from the self-loathing Will Abbott, subservient false idolator of and chief of staff to Senator Susan Robbins, to the NSA, to deadly former Marine naval infantrymen—are now on the hunt for Michael Tanner. . .in order to retrieve the loaded laptop. Even if any of them must brutally murder him to do so. Michael Tanner's once peaceful, comfortable, and love-filled life has been turned upside down and inside out. And he's now on the run. . .for his life.. . .In Michael Tanner's new reality of conspiracy, espionage, contract murders, double-dealing, and evasive technology, the question is: Who will outwit who? What Mitch McDeere is to Grisham's legendary legal thriller, The Firm, Michael Tanner is to Finder's forthcoming gem of a political thriller, The Switch. Except that Michael Tanner may actually be a fictive stand-in for the scandalous Edward Snowden, what considering the more than a few references to both WikiLeaks and the now famous (or infamous, depending on whom you ask) whistleblower. Though not as intense (where bone-chilling suspense and a faster pace are concerned) as Grisham's The Firm—due to some much slower parts here and there—The Switch still does its job of keeping the reader severally gripped. It also entails a great, on-the-edge-of-your-seat cliffhanger ending. What could have easily been a five star rating is foiled—only due to those slower parts where I got the feeling that the narrative was doing its damnest to uphold the suspense.Overall, is The Switch an effort that I would highly recommend to those lovers of conspiratorial political thrillers? Oh, absolutely.Is Joseph Finder's The Switch keen on detail, research, and character evolution?Undeniably.Is The Switch an enjoyable enough "roman à clef" that I would want to have it added to my very own vast collection of thrillers—its subgenres contained?Most definitely.• It is my kindly pleasure to thank both Dutton and Penguin Random House, as well as First to Read, for the advanced copy of "The Switch," in exchange for my honest review.Analysis of "The Switch" by Joseph Finder is courtesy of Reviews by Cat Ellington.Date of Review: Sunday, May 28, 2017
    more
  • Suzanne
    May 7, 2017
    Fast moving action plays oddly in the beginning - almost as humor rather than thriller - but settles into a reliable mystery after the first quarter. I almost missed the Keystone Cops version as the rest of the book was fairly formulaic. Timely and topical the book is a very quick read. I received my copy from Penguin's First to Read program.
    more
  • Bent Hansen
    May 3, 2017
    Joseph Finder has long been one of my favorite authors due to his ability to write really entertaining stories about ordinary people in extraordinary situations that they didn't exactly sign up for themselves.Well, in this book, two Apple laptops accidentally being switched in the airport security are the center of attention. One contains nothing of importance while the other contains highly classified intelligence documents about a secret government spying program.While some of the actions by t Joseph Finder has long been one of my favorite authors due to his ability to write really entertaining stories about ordinary people in extraordinary situations that they didn't exactly sign up for themselves.Well, in this book, two Apple laptops accidentally being switched in the airport security are the center of attention. One contains nothing of importance while the other contains highly classified intelligence documents about a secret government spying program.While some of the actions by the main character can objectively be considered careless or downright even stupid - and therefore also a little unrealistic - Finder makes sure that the story never falls apart despite its fast pace and subplots (the main character's marriage and business failing simultaneously).Finder only manages to snatch the 5-star rating due to the very last past page of the book (hehe, no spoilers here!), because otherwise the wrapping up the plot along with the unrealistic actions by the main character along the way made me want to pull it down to a big 4 stars. Joe's fans - as well as newcomers who like e.g. Harlan Coben - another master of the genre - will still love this book, I am sure.[An ARC of the book was generously provided by the publisher through the First to Read program in exchange for an honest review]
    more
  • Michael
    April 24, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book from Goodreads in exchange for a fair review.It's a quick, entertaining little thriller. It's got a few good moves, but overall follows a fairly generic thriller-path.the fatal logical flaw, however, is... spoiler: (view spoiler)[the book works hard to paint Tanner as a good guy. but honestly, a good guy would have just turned over the laptop at the onset to the Senator, and not gone looking through folders, etc. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Jacki (Julia Flyte)
    May 4, 2017
    Michael Tanner is a frequent business traveller for his coffee company. Whilst going through airport security, he accidentally picks up the wrong laptop. When he gets home he realises the error but (unlikely plot point #1) isn't too concerned about getting his own laptop back, because he only uses it when travelling and has nothing of importance on it. Because the owner of the laptop in his possession has (unlikely plot point #2) left her password on her computer, Tanner is able to log into it. Michael Tanner is a frequent business traveller for his coffee company. Whilst going through airport security, he accidentally picks up the wrong laptop. When he gets home he realises the error but (unlikely plot point #1) isn't too concerned about getting his own laptop back, because he only uses it when travelling and has nothing of importance on it. Because the owner of the laptop in his possession has (unlikely plot point #2) left her password on her computer, Tanner is able to log into it. The laptop belongs to a US Senator who is in possession of highly confidential Government documents. At this stage Tanner (unlikely plot point #3) doesn't attempt to contact the Senator's office to return it to its rightful owner. Instead, as he gradually realises how desperate the Senator's staff are to retrieve the laptop, he begins to understand that even knowing about the existence of the files could put him into danger.This is an okay thriller, but it's one that's built on too flimsy a base. Tanner's actions simply aren't credible. The plot has some topical points to make about privacy and about Russian interests in US security but they are bundled up in a plot that is simply too drawn out and implausible.I received a copy for review from Net Galley.
    more
  • Kathleen
    May 26, 2017
    Most of the books that I am drawn to are literary fiction, but sometimes I need an escape or vicarious thrill. This book filled the bill. It is a true page-turner with a number of exciting turns.At first I thought, it was unlikely that the senator would have had the hubris or stupidity to take the action that sets everything in motion--- especially after Hillary Clinton's problems referred to in the book. However, the more I thought about politicians repeatedly making the same sexual and politic Most of the books that I am drawn to are literary fiction, but sometimes I need an escape or vicarious thrill. This book filled the bill. It is a true page-turner with a number of exciting turns.At first I thought, it was unlikely that the senator would have had the hubris or stupidity to take the action that sets everything in motion--- especially after Hillary Clinton's problems referred to in the book. However, the more I thought about politicians repeatedly making the same sexual and political bloopers over and over, I accepted it. However, the epilogue ( which in terms of plot was a nice touch) was harder to swallow. I found it difficult to believe that the password would still be attached especially since Tanner mentioned he had memorized it. Even if the sticky note with the password was still attached through everything, I couldn't believe the thieves would not have found it and tried it out.(I have never bought used electronics, but I checked on Ebay and sellers always describe what is working etc.)Nevertheless, I enjoyed the book and finished it in 2 days.
    more
  • Pattyh
    May 4, 2017
    Thank you First to Read for the opportunity to preview The Switch by Joseph Finder. I really like Joseph Finder's books. Although I was disappointed in The Fixer, he is back in form with The Switch. He writes about the "every day Man" who gets involved in situations that are not " every day common".The Switch starts with Michael Tanner, an self made man who sells specialty coffee, on his way home to Boston. He accidentally picks up the wrong laptop. He discovers that it is no ordinary laptop - t Thank you First to Read for the opportunity to preview The Switch by Joseph Finder. I really like Joseph Finder's books. Although I was disappointed in The Fixer, he is back in form with The Switch. He writes about the "every day Man" who gets involved in situations that are not " every day common".The Switch starts with Michael Tanner, an self made man who sells specialty coffee, on his way home to Boston. He accidentally picks up the wrong laptop. He discovers that it is no ordinary laptop - this belongs to a US Senator. There is highly secretive information concealed in it, and he quickly learns that there are no lengths to which someone will go to retrieve it - even killing for it!From start to finish, this novel will have you on the edge of your seat. Fast paced and suspenseful. Characters are believable, locale is descriptive, and readers will be taken on a thrilling ride. Very good - RECOMMEND!
    more
  • Phyllis
    May 28, 2017
    Michael Tanner thought he was having problems when his wife left him and his cold roast coffee business started tanking. When his laptop and a senator’s were accidentally switched at an airport, he found out that life threatening problems were added to the mix. The senator’s laptop contained classified information she was not supposed to have and her aide was determined to save her position and possible presidential run at all costs. This means Tanner should never be able to talk about the class Michael Tanner thought he was having problems when his wife left him and his cold roast coffee business started tanking. When his laptop and a senator’s were accidentally switched at an airport, he found out that life threatening problems were added to the mix. The senator’s laptop contained classified information she was not supposed to have and her aide was determined to save her position and possible presidential run at all costs. This means Tanner should never be able to talk about the classified government program. As Tanner tries to evade the aide, hired killers and government agents, he goes on the run not knowing who to trust. The Switch has lots of twists and intriguing characters. I’d love to read a sequel with Michael Tanner and government agent Earle in it. Thanks to First to Read for the advance copy.
    more
  • Kevin
    May 8, 2017
    I loved this plot and love all Joseph's books - I have often wondered what would happen if my laptop bag got mixed up with someone else. Well this is the beginning premise for the Switch. An unsuspecting business owner got his Macbook switched with a powerful US Senator. As Michael the business owner tried to figure out who to return the computer to he discovers High security clearance documents on it. Meanwhile Will the Chief of Staff for the Senator is charged to find the missing computer no m I loved this plot and love all Joseph's books - I have often wondered what would happen if my laptop bag got mixed up with someone else. Well this is the beginning premise for the Switch. An unsuspecting business owner got his Macbook switched with a powerful US Senator. As Michael the business owner tried to figure out who to return the computer to he discovers High security clearance documents on it. Meanwhile Will the Chief of Staff for the Senator is charged to find the missing computer no matter what it takes. Will makes the mistake of not being honest when he first approached Michael. Michael becomes suspicious and off we are on an adventure that becomes life threatening to Michael. In the meantime Will becomes more and more desperate raising the ante to get the computer back.I give this 4 stars as this is another solid book written by the author.
    more
  • Sherri Lewis
    May 5, 2017
    *** I received an advanced copy of this book from the First to Read program in exchange for my honest review ***What if you were to accidentally switch laptops at the security checkpoint at the airport? And what if you discovered classified information on the laptop that would throw your entire world into a tailspin? Michael Tanner goes from successful businessman to fugitive as soon as he opened the MacBook and logged in with the post-it note he discovered in the case. What started as a mere qu *** I received an advanced copy of this book from the First to Read program in exchange for my honest review ***What if you were to accidentally switch laptops at the security checkpoint at the airport? And what if you discovered classified information on the laptop that would throw your entire world into a tailspin? Michael Tanner goes from successful businessman to fugitive as soon as he opened the MacBook and logged in with the post-it note he discovered in the case. What started as a mere query to find the owner to the laptop turns into Tanner having to run for his life. This book was a roller coaster ride from start to finish. I couldn't put it down. This is definitely a must read!
    more
  • Trevor
    May 18, 2017
    A simple error, see's laptops switched at an airport, with one belonging to a Senator with classified information on, people's lives will change for ever!! In a world of mistrust and paranoia, both parties end up making silly choices and escalating a simple mistake, into a world of trouble and danger. This is a good book that moves at a nice pace, with some I interesting characters.
    more
  • Greg
    May 19, 2017
    Received on the First Read program and was glad. Very enjoyable book with good twists and turns.
  • Judy Collins
    May 7, 2017
    Review to follow.
  • Patricia
    May 14, 2017
    I was given the opportunity to preview this book by First to Read. It is highly recommended with a good plot, fast pace and realistic subject.Anyone looking for a good mystery would enjoy.
  • Jay
    April 5, 2017
    I finished this one but a full review is going to be coming up in a future issue of Mystery Scene magazine. I will say that I was disappointed.
  • Jennifer
    April 23, 2017
    Another thrilling read by Finder, a series of swift changes as the story alternates between the perspectives of the two primary characters: the man who has the item that the other one desperately needs back. Throw in a senator, a hitman, and the NSA, and you've got yourself an engaging game of cat and mouse. Every time you think "okay, there's no way out" ...there is. Well-written with plenty of changes in direction that keep you wanting to read "just one more chapter."
    more
Write a review