Sungrazer (Outriders #2)
In a new Cold War between Earth and the colonies on Mars, when devastating weapons go missing, there's only one team you can call - the Outriders. A crack force of highly specialised super-soldiers, their clone bodies are near-immortal.When a fully-autonomous vessel with orbital strike capabilities goes missing, it's up to the Outriders to track the untrackable. But when the trail leads them to the influential Martian People's Collective Republic, the operation gets a lot more complicated...File Under: Science Fiction

Sungrazer (Outriders #2) Details

TitleSungrazer (Outriders #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherAngry Robot
ISBN0857666940
ISBN-139780857666949
Rating
GenreScience Fiction

Readers also enjoyed


Sungrazer (Outriders #2) Review

  • Anthony Eichenlaub
    June 10, 2017
    An excellent piece of military sci-fi. Despite a fairly straightforward plot, this book kept me interested all the way through with a combination of tense action and outstanding character development. I really felt interested the whole way through because the main character, Lincoln, drew me in.Note: I haven't read the first book. While I think that book might have filled in a few questions, Sungrazer stood just fine on its own. Reviewing this from a free copy via NetGalley
    more
  • John Shaw
    May 21, 2017
    With every new book Posey displayshis growing excellence as a writer.In this sequel to the breathtaking OUTRIDERSPosey takes the action and suspense up another twoor three notches.In the future Captain Lincoln Suhleads one of the United States'most deeply held secrets,the covert response team The Outriders.Tasked with responding to threats that were too classified, too dangerousto let the public know about.Often in a first strike capacityLink leads a team of uniquely gifted soldiersinto battle o With every new book Posey displayshis growing excellence as a writer.In this sequel to the breathtaking OUTRIDERSPosey takes the action and suspense up another twoor three notches.In the future Captain Lincoln Suhleads one of the United States'most deeply held secrets,the covert response team The Outriders.Tasked with responding to threats that were too classified, too dangerousto let the public know about.Often in a first strike capacityLink leads a team of uniquely gifted soldiersinto battle on the shadow war field.Exciting and brilliant.With a wonderful of realism interjected.This is the best military SFseries I have read.It takes just enough SF leeway with realityto be fun but still firmly groundedin a hard military adventure.
    more
  • SJ Higbee
    July 4, 2017
    This military science fiction adventure once more hooked me in with yet another enthralling plot in a story where the stakes aren’t just cities or countries sucked into war and devastation, but planets… Things are still very tense between Earth and the Mars’ colonies after the last kerfuffle, where our plucky black-ops team narrowly averted a disaster so when a lethally effective weapon disappears, the Outriders are the obvious choice.Military science fiction naturally requires a cracking plot – This military science fiction adventure once more hooked me in with yet another enthralling plot in a story where the stakes aren’t just cities or countries sucked into war and devastation, but planets… Things are still very tense between Earth and the Mars’ colonies after the last kerfuffle, where our plucky black-ops team narrowly averted a disaster so when a lethally effective weapon disappears, the Outriders are the obvious choice.Military science fiction naturally requires a cracking plot – and once more, Posey displays his evident skill in his smooth delivery of a storyline where we have a dual narrative – Lincoln, the captain of the Outriders is one of the protagonists, with the other protagonist being Elliot, who is operating as an undercover agent for United States National Intelligence Directorate. The pacing and ramping up the tension is well handled and I enjoyed the twists and turns, particularly the climactic finale where Elliot encounters the Outriders with mixed results.The characterisation also needs to be good in this genre as we have to care for those going into battle, because if we don’t, then it robs the story of all its tension. Linc is a likeable chap, with sufficient self-doubt and vulnerability for the reader to connect, but not too much because, after all, he is a super-soldier. We also need to identify with the rest of the squad and as this is the second book, I easily recalled all the characters and their particular quirks and skill sets. While reading this, I couldn’t help thinking that it would make a cracking TV mini-series or film.But the other major ingredient that military sci fi adventures need is plenty of techie weaponry and nifty battle tactics, which need clear explanation before all the action kicks off or the reader isn’t going to full appreciate what is going on. Posey is accomplished at slipping in the salient facts about the guns and those super-suits this crack black-ops team wear, so that in the heat of battle, we are able to follow all that is happening with no trouble. He manages this without compromising the overall pace or gathering tension of the story. Overall, this is yet again a solidly enjoyable story with some unexpected twists – especially near the end that had me reading far longer than I should have done and this one comes highly recommended.8/10
    more
  • Online Eccentric Librarian
    July 12, 2017
    More reviews (and no fluff) on the blog http://surrealtalvi.wordpress.com/ The DNA of Jay Posey's Outriders is all 007 - from the catchy name (GoldenEye, anyone?) to the cloak and dagger spy plot, this is Bond for the modern age and with an ensemble cast. Though some would label this military sci fi, the operations that the Outriders perform are often planetside and involve infiltration rather than 'pew pew' action. In essense, this is Spy Fi. But it's very easy to follow, has an interesting ca More reviews (and no fluff) on the blog http://surrealtalvi.wordpress.com/ The DNA of Jay Posey's Outriders is all 007 - from the catchy name (GoldenEye, anyone?) to the cloak and dagger spy plot, this is Bond for the modern age and with an ensemble cast. Though some would label this military sci fi, the operations that the Outriders perform are often planetside and involve infiltration rather than 'pew pew' action. In essense, this is Spy Fi. But it's very easy to follow, has an interesting cast of characters, and each book ends on a complete subarc.Synopsis: An AI-driven 'deep cover' military assault ship has gone rogue and the Outriders are brought in track down who took it over and from where. Their mission will take them from contraband haulers in space to a remote Martian science station. And what they find is that someone is very invested in destroying the peace between the Martians and the Earth Coalition.Although Sungrazer had a different story arc than Outriders, the two stories are connected loosely by the end. I always appreciate with there is a larger mystery to be solved over multiple books in the series - a bigger picture amidst all the small battles that the Outriders face. Because this read like a World War II Occupied France spy novel, it was a bit slower than the previous book. Not terrible but also missing a lot of the action that kept the first book so riveting.Posey likes to introduce a side character whose path will converge later in the story. It's always interesting to see how such a random series of events/person eventually collides with an Outriders mission. But until that happens, it can be baffling reading about a spy wine-ing and dining a target and then the next chapter having exploding airlocks and finding horrific hidden cargo.In all, I am enjoying Posey's series mostly because it really isn't Military Sci Fi so much as Spy Fi. That's not a bad thing but I'm admittedly not a big fan of spy books or the James Bond series in particular. As well, this is very American jingoistic that grates a bit in a sci fi.  Reviewed from an advance reader copy provided by the publisher.
    more
  • Nick
    June 22, 2017
    Kicks an astonishing amount of ass. A perfect follow-up to the military spec-ops Outriders, now with even more espionage and armoured action!
  • Janet
    July 1, 2017
    I liked the action scenes in this book, but found a lack of transition between them that just made it lack some flow. I think the world needs a little more explanation of the different government factions (or my memory of the first book was not sufficient) to better understand the stakes of the book. But it's a perfectly amicable summer beach read.
    more
  • Josh
    May 27, 2017
    In the future, mankind has colonized Mars and conquered the stars. Artificial intelligence is at its highest point of evolution and death is a mere concept rather than a certainty.A secret black ops unit known as the Outriders is put into action to recover a gone-rogue autonomous weaponize spaceship. Last known coordinates place it in the vicinity of Mars - with tension already on high between Mars and Earth, having the autonomous ship in control of the wrong hands could spark a war between the In the future, mankind has colonized Mars and conquered the stars. Artificial intelligence is at its highest point of evolution and death is a mere concept rather than a certainty.A secret black ops unit known as the Outriders is put into action to recover a gone-rogue autonomous weaponize spaceship. Last known coordinates place it in the vicinity of Mars - with tension already on high between Mars and Earth, having the autonomous ship in control of the wrong hands could spark a war between the two planets. The stakes are high for this crack team of specialists. This is the second book in the Outriders series by Jay Posey yet it's new reader friendly. The only thing I really missed out on having not read book one was the group dynamics but that's easy enough to pick up. There are a couple of scenes that reference earlier assignments and one in particular which looks to have a big influence on the teams command yet the author packs enough backstory to make it work. Sungrazer has a semi military science fiction feel to it, however, the espionage angle is what worked best for me. I love the cloak and dagger and there's a healthy dose of it here, particularly on Mars which fits into the plot nicely. Overall Sungrazer is an enjoyable read that suffers from long sequences of seemingly inconsequential dialogue and chapters that pay too much attention to the teams downtime which made it feel like the book was treading water in patches. Despite the pitfalls, fans of series like The Expanse should eat this up, as well as those already familiar with the series. 3/5 stars.
    more
  • Elaine Aldred
    July 25, 2017
    In the future, Earth and its colonies on Mars are locked in a Cold War, where it would take little to make them commit to open warfare. When a dormant and powerful super weapon, Sungrazer, is suddenly awakened, then disappears, it’s up to the Outriders, a special team of super-soldiers to solve the problem of finding and neutralising Sungrazer. But first they have to navigate a tricky path around a political faction which is up to no good as far as peace between Earth and Mars is concerned.Sungr In the future, Earth and its colonies on Mars are locked in a Cold War, where it would take little to make them commit to open warfare. When a dormant and powerful super weapon, Sungrazer, is suddenly awakened, then disappears, it’s up to the Outriders, a special team of super-soldiers to solve the problem of finding and neutralising Sungrazer. But first they have to navigate a tricky path around a political faction which is up to no good as far as peace between Earth and Mars is concerned.Sungrazer is an example of Machiavellian scheming rubbing shoulders with military might and ingenuity, as the Outriders (a specialist black ops military team) are sent to deal with yet another political hot potato.Like the first book in the series, Outriders, Jay Posey knows how to grab your attention from the very first sentence and hold it. Sungrazer opens as the spy, Elliot Goodkind, appraises the life-threatening situation he has just walked into and how he’s going to try and extricate himself with little more than brazen banter and the minimum of fuss. Posey’s prose makes sure you invest in Elliot very quickly, and you’re on board in the same way you would be for a character in a classic spy novel. The switch to the military part of the plot is equally as fascinating as the writing takes a slight change in tempo and the dialogue shifts to the back and forth of a group of people who know they can rely on each other.What lifts Posey’s writing above so many other military science fiction novels in the market is the way in which the Outriders work as a team by pooling their intellectual and physical resources to analyse both the political overview of a situation, as well as focusing on the type of detail required for an on-the-ground, close combat resolution of a problem. Posey’s skills as a narrative designer really come to the fore in the way the prose dovetails with credible dialogue to drive the plot along at a good pace. This enables the reader to get a real sense of the different personalities and rapidly connect with the characters even if they’ve not encountered them before.As with the Outriders the plot is nail biting and you’re left waiting for the next instalment.Outriders was courtesy of Angry Robot.
    more
  • John Carter McKnight
    July 7, 2017
    A letdown from its excellent predecessor. This one had far too much tactical detail for my tastes: frequent scenes of 15-20 pages that could be summarized as "the team broke into the warehouse." Eliminate all that, and you've got a solid, but very short, spy story. Still, I continue to be interested in the shadowy Earth/Mars cold war, and the "phantom menace" mastermind emerging as the team's adversary. I'll keep reading, but a little less second-by-second realism, please?
    more
  • Sontaranpr
    July 18, 2017
    A ship that doesn't exist has been stolen by people who shouldn't have known about it to use for reasons unknown. Our won't stay dead protagonists return for a secret agent adventure along with powered armour boarding action goodness. Good plans go bad and bad plans don't work out as expected.Fun times.
    more
  • Fiannawolf
    July 27, 2017
    That feeling when the 2nd book is even better then the first.
  • Sarah
    July 19, 2017
    3.5 stars
Write a review