A Fading Sun
In this new paranormal fantasy series, a powerful woman who can see the dead must choose whether to forge a new path for herself and her family…. “The problem with ghosts is that they don’t quite realize that they’re dead.”Voada Paorach can see the dead. It is a family trait, but one that has had to remain hidden since the Mundoan Empire conquered her people’s land three generations ago. But this ghost isn’t the same as the others she has glimpsed, the lost souls she has helped to find their way to the land beyond life. This ghost demands that Voada follow a new path, one that will mean leaving behind everything and everyone she has known and loved.Voada will come to understand the power that her people possess, but she will also learn the steep price that must be paid for such a gift.Fast-moving and intense, A Fading Sun explores grief, sacrifice, ambition, and the forging of personality in the crucible of war.

A Fading Sun Details

TitleA Fading Sun
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherDaw Books
ISBN0756411211
ISBN-139780756411213
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Ghosts

A Fading Sun Review

  • Melanie
    June 18, 2017
    ARC provided by Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review. “The problem with ghosts is that they don’t quite realize they’re dead.” A Fading Sun is a paranormal, yet spiritual, revenge story that really displays the consequences of war. Our main protagonist, Voada, is from a tribal clan that was long conquered by the Mundoans. Now, Voada lives among them, in a place of power, where many of the less fortunate defeated people work as servants and slaves. Voada married a Mundoan man w ARC provided by Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review. “The problem with ghosts is that they don’t quite realize they’re dead.” A Fading Sun is a paranormal, yet spiritual, revenge story that really displays the consequences of war. Our main protagonist, Voada, is from a tribal clan that was long conquered by the Mundoans. Now, Voada lives among them, in a place of power, where many of the less fortunate defeated people work as servants and slaves. Voada married a Mundoan man who is kind, and gentle, and everything she could ask for in a husband. Together they made two children who they love more than life itself. Yet, Voada never forgets the way of her ancestors and she has a gift that constantly reminds her of her roots. Voada can see and communicate with ghosts. It is a family trait that she must keep hidden from all the Mundoan people. Voada will help these lost souls find their path so they are not stuck lingering in our world. The gift she has is easy to keep secret, until she meets a ghost who she is unable to communicate with, because it wants to help her find a new path. Then one frightful day, Voada has no choice but to follow the ghost who is unlike any other she's met before. Voada's life changes completely while she is trying to learn the gift from her defeated people. All while a new war is beginning to ensure that the clans will never rise up and defeat the Mundoans. Voada is forced to take a side, learn more about her gifts, and fight, or lose everything she's ever loved.Trigger warnings: graphic violence and promises/threats of rape.This story wasn't bad by any means whatsoever. In fact, I really enjoyed the first third of this book and didn't want to put it down. Unfortunately, once Voada began her journey, my interest declined and continued to decline until the last few chapters of the book. If what I said above interests you, you will probably totally enjoy this; it just wasn't for me for some reason. “Hearts are fickle muscles. They can lead you to be rash and too quick” Blog | Twitter | Tumblr | Instagram | Youtube | Twitch
    more
  • Kelly
    July 2, 2017
    Review to come on B&N soon.
  • Austine (NovelKnight)
    July 5, 2017
    So. From my understanding, A Fading Sun, is a play on history and mythology, combining the likes of Boudica, a Celtic queen, and her battles mixed with the paranormal. Which is pretty awesome because Boudica is seriously cool as a historical figure and one I don't see represented, even loosely, in fiction very often.But... that's where my excitement started to fade.First off, this book is described as a paranormal fantasy and while there are paranormal elements included, I would consider it a cl So. From my understanding, A Fading Sun, is a play on history and mythology, combining the likes of Boudica, a Celtic queen, and her battles mixed with the paranormal. Which is pretty awesome because Boudica is seriously cool as a historical figure and one I don't see represented, even loosely, in fiction very often.But... that's where my excitement started to fade.First off, this book is described as a paranormal fantasy and while there are paranormal elements included, I would consider it a closer attempt to the epic high fantasies I've read akin to Lord of the Rings. And by "attempt" I mean that the author was kind enough to include a detailed glossary at the back of titles and people (it's seriously extensive), and completely unnecessary. Why? I didn't care enough to bother to check it. Instead, it seemed like more of an excuse to use hard-to-pronounce names in the vein of fantasy (and also one of the things that drives me nuts about the genre).Not that I really felt anything for those characters listed beyond their names on the page, going through the motions. I never connected.Following the glossary, there's a note about the book and its historical inspiration that I thought somewhat amusing, where it's insisted that it's VERY loosely based, except that it becomes VERY clear from the beginning where the influence lies. That's not a bad thing, mind you. I'm all for alternate histories and re-tellings and all that good stuff. But this seemed like an attempt to be fairly original by changing names of real-world places and events and I could tell.To be honest, I probably paid far more attention to these things than I normally would have because I wasn't really hooked on the story. The first third of the book moved slowly, laden with info dumps and leaving me waiting and waiting for something to happen. And when that pace finally did pick up, the story fell into the predictable nature of the genre. The problem with reading fantasy (a LOT) is that I no longer tend to enjoy those tropes as much as I would have if I read it less frequently. Or perhaps I'm just more critical of work because of it.This isn't to say this was a bad book, exactly. I can't say I found it an entirely enjoyable experience reading it as it proved more of a struggle than not, but I can appreciate it as a spin on history if I think of it that way, versus a paranormal fantasy as it's described. If you have an interest in history, specifically Boudica and her conflict with Romans, you may find A Fading Sun an interesting read.
    more
  • Kathryn
    June 22, 2017
    Right off the bat, A Fading Sun comes off as pretentious. After the table of contents (which lists all of the long-winded chapter titles) you get a map of England... I mean Albann. Just in case we needed to check it now and again so we're SURE we know where in England- I mean Albann, we are. Also, at the back of the book, you'll find a list of characters and place names (with pronunciations) just in case! Just in case! Just in case you *really* needed to know the names of the 4 horses that Lucie Right off the bat, A Fading Sun comes off as pretentious. After the table of contents (which lists all of the long-winded chapter titles) you get a map of England... I mean Albann. Just in case we needed to check it now and again so we're SURE we know where in England- I mean Albann, we are. Also, at the back of the book, you'll find a list of characters and place names (with pronunciations) just in case! Just in case! Just in case you *really* needed to know the names of the 4 horses that Lucien drives who I can't actually remember even being named in the story. I was going to give Mr. Leigh the benefit of the doubt if this was his first book but he's been writing for longer than I've been alive so I have no pity.The first several (pretentiously titled) chapters are full of long-winded paragraphs where we are given buckets of backstory. Instead of immersing us in the world and story, like a nice dip in the pool, we are instead victims of the ice bucket challenge as world building pummels us from all sides. We are given a handful of 'celtic' words that need defining (again in chunky paragraphs that serve no purpose EXCEPT to define the word for the reader). One of the fake-Romans (sorry, I meant Mundoans) is involved in a same-sex romantic relationship, a fact which is repeated over and over just in case the reader forgot since the last time these characters appeared. The pace of the book picks up around 100 pages but by that point there are very few surprises waiting around the corner and the following 200 pages of the book are just watching tropes fall into place.
    more
  • Henry Lazarus
    July 27, 2017
    In a conquered land Voada Paorach is the wife of the local native leader. The Mundoa have ruled most of Albann (think England under the Romans) for a century. The Mundoan Emperor sends a general to conquer the rest of the Island finally but the Cateni have those among them who can draw magic from the spirits of older magic users, Draoi.. Voada would have done nothing about the spirit that visits her until her husband dies, and the Mundoan leader sends her children into slavery and leaves her for In a conquered land Voada Paorach is the wife of the local native leader. The Mundoa have ruled most of Albann (think England under the Romans) for a century. The Mundoan Emperor sends a general to conquer the rest of the Island finally but the Cateni have those among them who can draw magic from the spirits of older magic users, Draoi.. Voada would have done nothing about the spirit that visits her until her husband dies, and the Mundoan leader sends her children into slavery and leaves her for dead. In A Fading Sun (paper from DAW), Stephen Leigh tells how Voada, led by the spirit, crosses into Cateni land to train how to use the spirit powers, and then how she leads a rebellion to free her people. And how her anger and one of the ancient spirits she uses, pushes her beyond her limits. Interesting. Review printed by Philadelphia Weekly Press
    more
  • Sarai Henderson
    July 12, 2017
    This book started off interesting. You find out that two women in this family an see ghosts. Alright, I like ghosts. They see ghosts all over the place, but the author doesn't elaborate on these ghosts and that's when I kind of lost interest in them. They were put on the back burner for me even though they were supposed to be a big part of the book.The author had a good concept, but it read more like a historical fiction than a fantasy to me. I felt like this one fell short to me, even though I This book started off interesting. You find out that two women in this family an see ghosts. Alright, I like ghosts. They see ghosts all over the place, but the author doesn't elaborate on these ghosts and that's when I kind of lost interest in them. They were put on the back burner for me even though they were supposed to be a big part of the book.The author had a good concept, but it read more like a historical fiction than a fantasy to me. I felt like this one fell short to me, even though I had high expectations.Received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.
    more
  • Bree
    July 21, 2017
    Somewhere between 3 and 3.5. Little slow at the beginning, picked up towards a 4 in the middle and then slowed down again towards the end and eventually just petered out. On the plus side. I will say that this book had a very unique magic system not quite like any I've ever seen before, so that was very interesting to explore. But unfortunately my interest in the story as a whole died out towards the end and I don't find myself much motivated to read the sequel.
    more
  • LOURDES (ChaptersWeLove)
    July 1, 2017
    Surprisingly GOOD! I loved the characters especially Savas and Orla. Voada was a great strong protagonist.Review to follow.
Write a review