Keeping It Hot (Breakfast in Bed, #1)
The New York Times bestselling author of Wishing for Us delivers a new novel about finding love and adventure with the sexy businessman next door.... Zoe Hart owns the coffee shop in one of the hottest upscale resorts in Florida, run by her childhood best friend, Dylan Jackson. Even though Dylan is a workaholic, he still finds time to enjoy the beautiful women who pass through his hotel all of them except Zoe. She has been in love with Dylan for years without him noticing. But with her thirtieth birthday fast approaching, she realizes she can't keep pining away for a man who doesn't show the merest sign of romantic interest in her. When Zoe launches her plan to shed her tomboy image in Dylan's eyes, she's thrilled once he starts to notice her in a whole new way. But she ll have to face the risk that seducing her best friend might come with lasting changes to their longtime friendship..."

Keeping It Hot (Breakfast in Bed, #1) Details

TitleKeeping It Hot (Breakfast in Bed, #1)
Author
FormatMass Market Paperback
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherBerkley Books
ISBN039958322X
ISBN-139780399583223
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Did Not Finish

Keeping It Hot (Breakfast in Bed, #1) Review

  • Christy
    June 13, 2017
    4 stars!!! Keeping It Hot was a sweet, sexy, and charming friends to lovers romance! I was desperately in need of a light and fun story, and Sydney Landon delivered with this book. Zoe Hart has been best friends with Dylan Jackson since they were kids. And Zoe has has a crush on him for as long as she can remember. But she’s been placed firmly in the friend-zone. Dylan just doesn’t see her that way… But she has a plan to change all that. With her other best friend Dana’s help, Zoe gets a bit of 4 stars!!! Keeping It Hot was a sweet, sexy, and charming friends to lovers romance! I was desperately in need of a light and fun story, and Sydney Landon delivered with this book. Zoe Hart has been best friends with Dylan Jackson since they were kids. And Zoe has has a crush on him for as long as she can remember. But she’s been placed firmly in the friend-zone. Dylan just doesn’t see her that way… But she has a plan to change all that. With her other best friend Dana’s help, Zoe gets a bit of make-over to catch Dylan’s attention. Dylan Jackson is the owner of a resort and a busy guy. No matter how busy he is though, he always makes time for Zoe. Zoe is one of those friends that is always there for him no matter what. She’s pretty much one of the guys and the most dependable friend he has. One night when meeting Zoe for dinner, Dylan can’t believe his eyes. What is this Zoe is wearing? Is this his best friend? When did she become so attractive? It’s safe to say that his attention has been caught. Dylan and Zoe were both lovable characters, and Zoe’s friend Dana was a hoot! She had me laughing out loud in almost every scene she was in! I liked Dylan’s brother as well. I felt a little spark between him and Dana and hoping maybe they’ll get a book down the line. Zoe and Dylan’s story was low on angst and drama, and had loads of laughs. It was an all around light and sweet story. A nice summer read!
    more
  • .Under the pages
    July 2, 2017
    Zoe Hart and Dylan Jackson have been best friends since forever and even though they’re pretty close, they still can keep secrets from each other, like the fact that Zoe has been in love with Dylan for a really long time. But he won’t take a hint. He actually sees her as a little sister. Add that to the fact that Zoe, in all her twenty-nine years of existence is still carrying around her v-card, and you have a woman in a mission to find a man who will want her.Will her all-time-crush be the one? Zoe Hart and Dylan Jackson have been best friends since forever and even though they’re pretty close, they still can keep secrets from each other, like the fact that Zoe has been in love with Dylan for a really long time. But he won’t take a hint. He actually sees her as a little sister. Add that to the fact that Zoe, in all her twenty-nine years of existence is still carrying around her v-card, and you have a woman in a mission to find a man who will want her.Will her all-time-crush be the one?-------------------Sweet sweet romance. So so good.Regarding the main characters, Zoe and Dylan are great. Zoe: a little self-doubting when it comes to men, she’s gorgeous even though she’s not aware of it and she own’s a coffee shop at Dylan’s hotel. Dylan: workaholic and owner of the hotel Oceanix in Florida, likes to spend a great time with his friends and is not used to relationships. I think that what I most loved about them was the fact that they’re simple and relatable characters. There’re no secrets or dark pasts or a relationship that didn’t end so well. There’s no drama and honestly there’s no need for that seeing as they’re funny and easygoing. When it comes to secondary characters I really loved Zoe’s mother and Dana (Zoe’s best friend). They are really funny and have no filter. Shortly, this is a sweet story with a happy ever after. This is not an erotic book but there’s obviously hot and tender sex scenes as you can expect from a virgin.This story is not filled with suspense. I think that the potential of the book comes from the characters and from the writing style of the author. The storyline is not particularly outstanding although there’s a significant plot twist. That being said, I loved it. It’s an easy read with lots of love and no drama.
    more
  • Danielle ❤️ Pretty Mess Reading ❤️
    July 20, 2017
    ***3 STARS***Let me put this book into a movie for you, yeah? Keeping It Hot, starring Zoe and Dylan, two best friends who may or may not be the sexiest couple ever. Zoe – has loved Dylan for as long as she can remember. Dylan, being a guy aka stupid, is too blind to see this beautiful and sexy who’s been in life forever. It’s not just Dylan who acts a bit stupid because Zoe does too, more on that later. Dylan is rich, handsome, and a playboy. He owns one of hottest hotels in Florida, has women ***3 STARS***Let me put this book into a movie for you, yeah? Keeping It Hot, starring Zoe and Dylan, two best friends who may or may not be the sexiest couple ever. Zoe – has loved Dylan for as long as she can remember. Dylan, being a guy aka stupid, is too blind to see this beautiful and sexy who’s been in life forever. It’s not just Dylan who acts a bit stupid because Zoe does too, more on that later. Dylan is rich, handsome, and a playboy. He owns one of hottest hotels in Florida, has women practically putting their pussy’s on a plate and offering up for free. Zoe is a sweet, beautiful woman with a heart of gold. She owns a cute little coffee shop inside of Dylan’s hotel.Zoe has the cutest, pint size employee/friend ever, Dana. I just fell in love with her. Dana is the type of friend every girl needs. She’s down for whatever and lets you know when you look fat. She’s perfect.How’s my casting? I hope it’s okay to allow you to see the movie in your head.But Zoe has a secret too. Don’t worry it’s not going to spoil anything about the book by letting you know that. . .she’s a virgin. A 29 year old virgin to be exact. I’m twenty-nine, still carrying around my V-card, and I’ve been friend zoned by the man I’ve secretly lusted after for years. – Zoe Crazy, right? I don’t know about you lot, but I damn sure won’t be standing around for no man to wise up to how wonderful I am. I lost my V-card in my teenage years. Do people normally wait that long? I couldn’t even imagine going that long without discovering the beauty of a good sex session. But that’s beside the point, this isn’t a story about me. Let’s get back to Zoe and Dylan. . .In all fairness, Zoe wasn’t without confidence. Even though she lusted after Dylan for like, ever, she still knew her self-worth and I loved that about her. Her hidden strength was also her hidden beauty. You never waited around for a man to make you a priority. To do that set a precedent for something I wasn’t will to do, not even for Dylan. – Zoe I love a woman who doesn’t put a man above herself. That’s my kind of chick.So here’s the question of the day. . .Does Dylan finally live up to Zoe’s idea of him as a lover or does he fall flat? I guess you’re going to have to read the book to find out.You may wonder why I gave this book 3 STARS if I enjoyed it so much and it’s a simple answer really. As fun as the book was to read, there wasn’t much complexity, it was simple. Not that simple is bad, sometimes a girl just needs a simple read. I just know there are better books out there which makes it hard for me to give this book a higher ratings to make it seem like it’s on par with my other 4 STAR reads.Stalk all things messy. . .Blog www.prettymessreading.comInstagram www.instagram.com/prettymessreading/Facebook www.facebook.com/prettymessreading/Twitter www.twitter.com/prettymessread
    more
  • ★ Belle The Bibliophile ★
    July 5, 2017
    I love friends-to-lovers trope as much as the next person but this one just made me so irritated. Let me explain.I honestly stay away from Ugly Fuckling turned Cinderella type of story but since this is by Sydney Landon, I thought I'd give it a shot. My issue with this book was the Hero. He's a total dick.He took the heroine for granted for so long and it took for her to grow her tits for him to actually see that? Like okay? Shallow much? Like I'm so uncomfortable with him noticing her for--quit I love friends-to-lovers trope as much as the next person but this one just made me so irritated. Let me explain.I honestly stay away from Ugly Fuckling turned Cinderella type of story but since this is by Sydney Landon, I thought I'd give it a shot. My issue with this book was the Hero. He's a total dick.He took the heroine for granted for so long and it took for her to grow her tits for him to actually see that? Like okay? Shallow much? Like I'm so uncomfortable with him noticing her for--quite literally-- her tits.It'd be fine if he treated well before that but he was such a jerk and the heroine's too much of a doormat to see that.Anyways, this is just an unpopular opinion, so don't count this book out on my account.
    more
  • Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
    July 4, 2017
    I have come to the conclusion that one of the hardest reviews to write is about a book that you totally loved. I want to tell you the whole story, I want nothing more than to spoil the whole book. I couldn’t stop reading it, I loved Keeping It Hot, I want more from Sydney Landon.Zoe was a riot in her attempts to get Dylan to notice her as more than “one of the guys”. The one man that she truly wants, has been beside her through thick and thin, has no idea that she’s still a virgin. What happens I have come to the conclusion that one of the hardest reviews to write is about a book that you totally loved. I want to tell you the whole story, I want nothing more than to spoil the whole book. I couldn’t stop reading it, I loved Keeping It Hot, I want more from Sydney Landon.Zoe was a riot in her attempts to get Dylan to notice her as more than “one of the guys”. The one man that she truly wants, has been beside her through thick and thin, has no idea that she’s still a virgin. What happens when he finds out that she is on a quest to lose it before she turn’s thirty is hysterical. She may not be comfortable with “all” the attention she is getting from the opposite sex but she knows that she finally has Dylan’s attention.What the hell is up with Zoe? That’s all that keeps going through Dylan’s mind. She is turning his world upside down and he has no idea how to handle it. OMG, she’s sexy, beautiful and catching the eye of every man that walks into the coffee shop! He can’t handle it. Then she tells me she’s a virgin and is looking for the guy to lose it to? Nope, not happening, no one gets Zoe but me. Whoa, what am I thinking? This is my buddy, my best friend, the woman who knows everything about me. How have I never noticed how hot she is? Yep, this is what we put up with throughout the whole story. Dylan freaking out and Zoe loving every minute of it. It. Was. Wonderful.I loved every aspect of this story. The way it was written. The way it was told. The way Zoe turned from the caterpillar into the beautiful butterfly. The way Dylan finally noticed what has been standing in front of him his whole life. I just had a wonderful time reading Keeping It Hot. Sydney Landon really brought the characters alive and brought us a light, fun story. I was totally lost in the story and cannot wait to see just where she is going to bring the rest of this series.Review copy provided for a voluntary review.
    more
  • Chris Carroll
    July 3, 2017
    4.5 StarsI really fell for this story. It was a darling best friend to lover romance that had the sparks flying. The author did a wonderful job with this cute romcom type romance.Dylan was an absolute doll and so oblivious to his best friend, Zoe. To him she was just one of the guys until she started shedding her outer layer. Then the humor of the story started to shine. His reactions were so funny!The story is sweet, sexy, and Dylan is so so hot. My one issue is that a 29 yr old virgin is a bit 4.5 StarsI really fell for this story. It was a darling best friend to lover romance that had the sparks flying. The author did a wonderful job with this cute romcom type romance.Dylan was an absolute doll and so oblivious to his best friend, Zoe. To him she was just one of the guys until she started shedding her outer layer. Then the humor of the story started to shine. His reactions were so funny!The story is sweet, sexy, and Dylan is so so hot. My one issue is that a 29 yr old virgin is a bit of a stretch, but the writing and story overall made this so enjoyable!.With good supporting characters that will become a part of the series, this is one not to miss. I will definitely be reading more by this author!
    more
  • Blodeuedd Finland
    July 16, 2017
    At first I wondered whether I would like Dylan. Nothing against him, it's just was he blind? But as the book progresses, nope he was not blind. Let me start from the beginning.Zoe, omg, really girl, khaki shirts and a polo shirt, and you wonder why he does see you as one of the boys. I also do not get how anyone could wear a polo shirt in Florida, since here, well if it is above freezing it is summer. But still in her clueless state she is a 29 year old virgin who works too much. I did not have At first I wondered whether I would like Dylan. Nothing against him, it's just was he blind? But as the book progresses, nope he was not blind. Let me start from the beginning.Zoe, omg, really girl, khaki shirts and a polo shirt, and you wonder why he does see you as one of the boys. I also do not get how anyone could wear a polo shirt in Florida, since here, well if it is above freezing it is summer. But still in her clueless state she is a 29 year old virgin who works too much. I did not have a prob with her being 29 and a virgin. If she wanted to save herself then good for you. Though her not even getting to second base was a bit far fetched.Dylan also worked too much. And he liked the ladies. But he is a good guy, and I liked how he appreciated his friendship with her. Also he had noticed that she was a woman, and he had thought about it, but the fugly clothes helps hide the fact she might be a hottie.The book is about her wanting to give it a go, so she turns up the heat, dresses in a few showier pieces and makes him notice her. But the question is can their friendship survive it? And can they be more?I enjoyed it.Narrator Nicol ZanzarellaI actually did have a problem here, she had a drawl or something and I just get annoyed really quickly. I had the narration on 1.8p speed to make it better and that did make it better. That way I could enjoy the narration. I guess on slower speeds it was just one of those the voice did not click things.
    more
  • Kristin
    July 6, 2017
    4.5 starsI thoroughly enjoyed this quick, fun distraction (I'm saying that a lot lately with these one day reads). But this one is THE quintessential beach read!! So glad I bought it after seeing Caffeinated Book Reviewer's review!!RTC...
  • Jennifer
    March 26, 2017
    * A review copy was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review * ~ 5 More Than Friends Stars ~I absolutely love a Syndney Landon book.I know when I pick up a book by her that I will get swept away in the story and fall in love with characters. She has never disappointed me. I always know that I will end up with a huge smile on my face after reading one of her stories.Keeping It Hot was no different. This is a Friends to lovers story told in Dual POV in the th * A review copy was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review * ~ 5 More Than Friends Stars ~I absolutely love a Syndney Landon book.I know when I pick up a book by her that I will get swept away in the story and fall in love with characters. She has never disappointed me. I always know that I will end up with a huge smile on my face after reading one of her stories.Keeping It Hot was no different. This is a Friends to lovers story told in Dual POV in the third person. It was a fun and entertaining read without a lot of excess drama. There was just enough to keep the reader interested and turning the pages. Her books always flow perfectly and the pace is always spot on. She always gives the story and characters enough depth that you don't feel like you are missing something but also doesn't way it down with too much information.In this book we follow Dylan and Zoe. (We met Dylan and his family briefly in Betting On You.) This is completely a standalone so you don't have to read that book first. I was just mentioning it so if Dylan Jackson and his Resort, The Oceanix, sounded familiar you'd know why. Zoe and Dylan have been Best Friends since they were kids, but Zoe has been secretly in love with Dylan for years and wants more. As she is approaching 30 years old, she realizes she needs to do something about it. She enlists her friend Dana to help and they work to make Dylan finally see Zoe as more than a friend. Will Dylan finally look at Zoe as the woman she is and not just as a friend?? Can these two cross that line and still get their HEA?? Read this book to find out.I enjoyed meeting Dana (Zoe’s friend) and Ash (Dylan’s brother) in this book. I have a feeling there might be something there between these two….or at least I am hoping. I look forward to reading more books in this series. I also loved the banter between Dana and Dylan…..they had me laughing on more than one occasion. I loved how Dana had Zoe’s back and was also able to talk her friend off the ledge when needed.This is definitely a book for anyone who is a fan of the friends to lovers stories. If you haven’t read anything by Sydney Landon yet, then this book is the perfect introduction to her writing. And if you are already a fan of her work, you don’t want to miss this first book in her newest series.Follow Us at :: Book Bitches Blog | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • ☕ Kimberly
    May 29, 2017
    This was my first read by Landon who reminds me a bit of Jill Shalvis and Lauren Blakely. Told in dual perspectives, Landon immediately pulled me in their story. Zoe owns a coffee shop, so of course, I immediately loved her. Zoe is that best friend who is gorgeous but wears unflattering clothes. She goes to work in khakis and a golf shirt matching what other hotel employees wear. When she spends time with her BFF Dylan she wears sweat pants and t-shirts. Zoe isn't real confident about herself, d This was my first read by Landon who reminds me a bit of Jill Shalvis and Lauren Blakely. Told in dual perspectives, Landon immediately pulled me in their story. Zoe owns a coffee shop, so of course, I immediately loved her. Zoe is that best friend who is gorgeous but wears unflattering clothes. She goes to work in khakis and a golf shirt matching what other hotel employees wear. When she spends time with her BFF Dylan she wears sweat pants and t-shirts. Zoe isn't real confident about herself, despite her business success. So as she approaches her thirty birthday she decides things need to change. With encouragement from her friend and employee Dana, she has a complete makeover. Bye-bye pony-tail and seven-day packs of cotton underwear.The set-up was perfect and I enjoyed being inside Dylan's head as he takes in Zoe for the first time. Landon did a fantastic job of allowing the reader to experience all the reactions and thoughts. I love how cool Zoe played it, even if she was only following advice. I laughed and smiled as the storyline moved towards the inevitable.The romance delivered the perfect blend of sweet and heat. From conversations, foreplay and tangled sheets, Landon scorched my kindle and had me swooning for Dylan. Both characters felt genuine and it was clear these two know and care for each other. The drama was kept to a minimum due to level headed Zoe and a suspense thread.Secondary characters really rounded out this tale and added humor, snark, and meddling. Asher, one of Dylan's siblings has me quite curious and Dana is off the charts hilarious from her love life to snark. Just wait until you meet Zoe's mom. I laughed so hard I had tears.  I loved all the one-liner zings, teasing, and banter that developed between all of the characters. It flowed wonderfully and endeared me to them.As for the Breakfast in Bed series, Landon has me excited.  We get a little hint of another possible romance and I can hardly wait. KEEPING IT HOT left me smiling with its unrushed and satisfying ending. This review was originally posted at Caffeinated Book Reviewer
    more
  • Ivy Deluca
    July 21, 2017
    2.5 starsIt was a bit meh for me. I liked some elements of this story but alot of it was pretty familiar and the characters weren’t that strong. Jealousy and possessiveness can be fun, if there’s something more to the romance. Zoe and Dylan’s relationship felt unbalanced from the start (she was ALL into him and he was oblivious to her) and never quite clicked all the way for me. Perhaps because she never felt like a priority to him. But it’s cute and there some decent story developments and som 2.5 starsIt was a bit meh for me. I liked some elements of this story but alot of it was pretty familiar and the characters weren’t that strong. Jealousy and possessiveness can be fun, if there’s something more to the romance. Zoe and Dylan’s relationship felt unbalanced from the start (she was ALL into him and he was oblivious to her) and never quite clicked all the way for me. Perhaps because she never felt like a priority to him. But it’s cute and there some decent story developments and some good banter (mostly with secondary characters) that gave this fairly standard virgin trope-based romance a bit of oomph at the end. If you’re into virgins/friends to lovers/duckling into (kinda) swan stories, you may enjoy this more than I did.**ARC provided by publisher via netgalley for review**For more reviews, visit
    more
  • Emma
    June 30, 2017
    3.5/5Keeping It Hot is the first in a spin-off series from Sydney Landon's Danvers series with some familiar faces getting their own stories. Zoe own the coffee shop located in the Danvers building so we get to see the familiar characters we know and love in fleeting cameo appearances adding connection to the new series. Zoe is a wonderful character, career-driven, a loyal friend and eternally optimistic but the one thing that evades her positivity is her romantic aspirations. The thing, or rath 3.5/5Keeping It Hot is the first in a spin-off series from Sydney Landon's Danvers series with some familiar faces getting their own stories. Zoe own the coffee shop located in the Danvers building so we get to see the familiar characters we know and love in fleeting cameo appearances adding connection to the new series. Zoe is a wonderful character, career-driven, a loyal friend and eternally optimistic but the one thing that evades her positivity is her romantic aspirations. The thing, or rather the person holding Zoe back from having an intimate relationship is her best friend, Dylan; and the fact taht Zoe has been in love with him for as long as she can remember. Unfortunately, her tomboy persona and style have entrenched firmly within the friend zone. With 30 fast approaching Zoe decides it's time to take action once and for all, either she will alter her relationship with Dylan or she will be able to move forward with her life without regret of what could have been. Enlisting the help of her friend and employee, Dana, Zoe alters her image to something a little more feminine.Dylan is a workaholic, and has always insisted he doesn't have time for relationships because he can't make the time to give them the attention they require. While Dylan loves Zoe in his own way, her androgynous appearance has allowed him to place her safely within a box so he doesn't think about her sexuality. Zoe's makeover throws Dylan for a loop as he can't help but notice just how amazing Zoe really is. Revelations add to Dylan's desire and caveman possessiveness of Zoe. It is obvious Dylan and Zoe belong together, they have a deep understanding that comes from their years of friendship, however, the road to happiness is never without it's hurdles. the biggest challenge for Dylan and Zoe is Dylan's inability to delegate, business always come first. I loved watching Zoe's confidence grow with her image transformation, embracing her femininity as opposed to suppressing it. Her boast in self-esteem also makes Zoe realise that she deserves to be a priority in someone's life rather than coming in second best. Ultimately, Dylan has to be able to compromise in order to hold onto the once in a lifetime relationship with Zoe or risk losing her altogether. I really liked how the peripheral character provided a brilliant support system for Zoe and Dylan including taking control when required. The path has been set for the next book in the series and I am keeping my fingers crossed to see if I am right in my assumptions as to who will be in the spotlight. 
    more
  • Heather andrews
    March 26, 2017
    I guess you could say when it came to Zoe, Dylan was protective of her...“Who was looking at her?” He snapped, then winced when she gave him a triumphant look. Dang, I walked right into that one. Time for some damage control. “Meaning I hope no one was bothering her. Some of the guests can be overly friendly, but she can handle herself.” There are times I don't think Dylan hides his excitement well, “vabe, if you don’t stop talking about it, I’m going to come in my pants. I’d be thrilled to rece I guess you could say when it came to Zoe, Dylan was protective of her...“Who was looking at her?” He snapped, then winced when she gave him a triumphant look. Dang, I walked right into that one. Time for some damage control. “Meaning I hope no one was bothering her. Some of the guests can be overly friendly, but she can handle herself.” There are times I don't think Dylan hides his excitement well, “vabe, if you don’t stop talking about it, I’m going to come in my pants. I’d be thrilled to receive your first blow job, so by all means, lead the way. You’re running the show.” I loved this book, zoe had so much patience when it came to Dylan, the man was just clueless at times.
    more
  • Jo
    July 6, 2017
    Friend, lover n husband & wife.It's not easy but I seen in real. My grade school friends did it now sharing a happy n big lovely family.I always jealous what they shared but I knew it wasn't easy especially when both of them were long distance. She moved to Vancouver in junior n his was in Sydney, somehow they did it n now sharing their happy life in Hong Kong.D & Z knew each other for a long long time but until she was 29 n move her step towards him. It may not work if Z not in good loo Friend, lover n husband & wife.It's not easy but I seen in real. My grade school friends did it now sharing a happy n big lovely family.I always jealous what they shared but I knew it wasn't easy especially when both of them were long distance. She moved to Vancouver in junior n his was in Sydney, somehow they did it n now sharing their happy life in Hong Kong.D & Z knew each other for a long long time but until she was 29 n move her step towards him. It may not work if Z not in good looking n having a killing body, believe me, if she is ugly, i m sure D never be hers. Dana was right about men, n love her wild mind so much.
    more
  • Divya
    July 4, 2017
    It was an okay read for me. I didn't like how Dylan was instantly turned on the second he saw Zoe all dolled up to go out on a date, considering how he had never even thought about her when she wore her regular clothes and was her real self in front of him. Just shows how much his dick leads him. And this happens in the second chapter itself. "Did someone die?" he finally asked, thinking maybe she'd been to a funeral or something. Why else would she be wearing a dress? Like I said. Dick. [Suffic It was an okay read for me. I didn't like how Dylan was instantly turned on the second he saw Zoe all dolled up to go out on a date, considering how he had never even thought about her when she wore her regular clothes and was her real self in front of him. Just shows how much his dick leads him. And this happens in the second chapter itself. "Did someone die?" he finally asked, thinking maybe she'd been to a funeral or something. Why else would she be wearing a dress? Like I said. Dick. [Suffice to say, people might not agree with me. This is just what I think. Also, I'm probably in the minority.]Not much character development happens. Just a quick and easy read.
    more
  • Karen
    July 4, 2017
    I'm always amazed that such a great guy would have a best friend who was so skeazy. Zoe's friend Dana was risque but not skeazy. Otherwise, fantastic story. Asher seems interesting.....
  • Alex
    July 5, 2017
    I really thankful to the author for writing this clear blurb! I mean it! No sarcasm!Doormat + manho.Saved my time and low rating. I respect honesty!
  • Kimberly
    June 29, 2017
    Meh. Quick easy read, but nothing spectacular.
  • Sandy S
    July 5, 2017
    About the book: Release Date July 4, 2017Zoe Hart owns the coffee shop in one of the hottest upscale resorts in Florida, run by her childhood best friend, Dylan Jackson. Even though Dylan is a workaholic, he still finds time to enjoy the beautiful women who pass through his hotel all of them except Zoe. She has been in love with Dylan for years without him noticing. But with her thirtieth birthday fast approaching, she realizes she can't keep pining away for a man who doesn't show the merest sig About the book: Release Date July 4, 2017Zoe Hart owns the coffee shop in one of the hottest upscale resorts in Florida, run by her childhood best friend, Dylan Jackson. Even though Dylan is a workaholic, he still finds time to enjoy the beautiful women who pass through his hotel all of them except Zoe. She has been in love with Dylan for years without him noticing. But with her thirtieth birthday fast approaching, she realizes she can't keep pining away for a man who doesn't show the merest sign of romantic interest in her. When Zoe launches her plan to shed her tomboy image in Dylan's eyes, she's thrilled once he starts to notice her in a whole new way. But she’ll have to face the risk that seducing her best friend might come with lasting changes to their longtime friendship..."•••••••••••REVIEW: KEEPING IT HOT is the first installment in Sydney Landon’s contemporary, adult BREAKFAST IN BED erotic, romance series. This is thirty four year old Florida resort owner Dylan Jackson, and twenty nine year old coffee shop owner Zoe Hart’s story line. The BREAKFAST IN BED SERIES is a spin off from the author’s DANVER’S series but you do not have to have read the previous series to understand or follow KEEPING IT HOT.Told from dual third person perspectives (Zoe and Dylan) KEEPING IT HOT focuses on the friends to lovers relationship between coffee shop owner Zoe Hart, and ‘Oceanix’ Resort, Florida owner Dylan Jackson. For most of their life Zoe and Dylan have been best friends but for Zoe their friendship has long passed the ‘best buddies’ stage to a woman who has fallen in love with a man who considers her one of the guys. Desperate to make Dylan see her as more than just ‘friends’ our heroine enlists her co-worker Dana Anders to bring her from frumpy to wow. Enter Dylan Jackson, the man who has no clue that his best friend has been in love with him for a number of years. What ensues is the building romantic relationship between Dylan and Zoe, and the potential fall out when Dylan’s workaholic lifestyle leaves little time for the woman he loves.Zoe has never considered herself ‘one of the boys’ but actions speak louder than words as our heroine begins to understand that her relationship with Dylan Jackson may remain in the friends zone if she doesn’t up the stakes, anytime soon. Dylan has never looked at Zoe as anything more than his best friend and confidant but seeing Zoe in a different light has Dylan throwing caution to the wind when a drunken Zoe reveals a secret she has kept for far too long.The relationship between Zoe and Dylan is one of friends to lovers; a relationship that comes to fruition when Dylan offers Zoe one night of passion, no strings attached realizing that neither one will come away the same when all was said and done. The $ex scenes are intimate, erotic, and intense. We are introduced to Dylan’s brother Asher Jackson; his friend and buddy Josh; his PA Lisa Merck, Zoe’s bestie and co-worker Dana Anders, as well as Zoe’s mother Vivian and her significant other Marcus There is definite palpable sexual energy between Asher and Dana-their story is next in ROOM FOR TWO(February 2018). I am looking forward to any potential story line for all of Dylan’s brothers: Rhett at the Miami Oceanix, Luke in St. Croix Oceanix, and Asher in the Charleston Oceanix. The back and forth banter, and sexual innuendos is great especially between Zoe and Dana, as well as Dylan and his brother Ash.KEEPING IT HOT is a fun and sexy read; a lighthearted and heartwarming story of $ex, romance and love between best friends who finally discovered what it is each has been missing all of their lives. The premise is energetic and engaging; the romance is passionate, inspiring and provocative; the characters are realistic and playful. KEEPING IT HOT is my first Sydney Landon book but it will not be my last.Copy supplied for reviewwww.thereadingcafe.com
    more
  • Rachel
    July 1, 2017
    Sydney Landon kicks off a new series with Keeping it Hot and it’s a laugh out loud fun contemporary read that will have you glued to the pages and ready for more. I’m a huge fan of this author and I was not going to pass up the opportunity to read a new book from her. That said I kind of accidentally read the whole book in one sitting. Whoops, sorry, so not sorry. It was so damn good I have zero regrets doing it. I absolutely loved it.If you have read the Danvers series (if not, why haven’t you? Sydney Landon kicks off a new series with Keeping it Hot and it’s a laugh out loud fun contemporary read that will have you glued to the pages and ready for more. I’m a huge fan of this author and I was not going to pass up the opportunity to read a new book from her. That said I kind of accidentally read the whole book in one sitting. Whoops, sorry, so not sorry. It was so damn good I have zero regrets doing it. I absolutely loved it.If you have read the Danvers series (if not, why haven’t you?!?!, it’s awesome), you will be familiar with the Jacksons. The uber hot brothers who own and run a series of hotels. Well this time out we get Dylan’s story and believe me, you will want to read it.I admit that the friends to lover’s trope is one of my favourites. So imagine my excitement when this pops up. Oh this story was so much fun to read. Watching Dylan literally sweat it out over his best friend was a hoot. Seeing them not only cross the line but obliterate it….priceless.Dylan and Zoe are so good together it’s ridiculous. Seriously, they are the epitome of perfect for each other. If only it didn’t take them so long to realise it. But I guess when you have been friends for so long, it’s hard to change gears into more. But when a determined Zoe decides it’s time to get her man’s attention, well change is good don’t they say?I adored Zoe and especially her drive to finally go after the man she’s been in love with forever. Seeing her change into the real Zoe and gain confidence only made me love her more. Plus her eagerness to learn new things sexually had me cheering her on. Okay and maybe cringing on her behalf after a lunch turned into more. (and maybe laughing at her expense too as she deals with the fallout)It’s a no brainer that I would love Dylan, he’s a Jackson (did I mention they are all UBER HOT?), loyal, hard-working and about to have his well-ordered life turned upside down by his best friend and it’s so unbelievably fun to see it happen. Seeing him realise that his bestie is actually a desirable woman and one he wants desperately, was to use it again, priceless. Add in some seriously alpha moves by Dylan, a caustic but hilarious friend (every woman needs a friend like Dana) a playboy brother who actually gives sound relationship advice and helps with the big HEA grovel (so adorable) and the kind of bone deep need every woman wants from her significant other and you have an excellent way to kick off a new series, one that every contemporary romance reader needs to read in my opinion. I can’t wait for the next book.
    more
  • Beth ~ Panda & Boodle
    July 3, 2017
    Had he wasted years when he’d had the perfect one for him by his side all along? Not so long ago, I read a book by Sydney Landon that happened to be book nine in a series. I liked it, a lot, but admittedly, I felt slightly overwhelmed by a backstory I wasn't familiar with. So, when I saw Keeping It Hot was book one, I knew I had to get my hands on it… Y'all, I am SO glad I did. It was what I hoped it would be—what I expected after having enjoyed the way Ms. Landon wrote Wishing For Us—and it lef Had he wasted years when he’d had the perfect one for him by his side all along? Not so long ago, I read a book by Sydney Landon that happened to be book nine in a series. I liked it, a lot, but admittedly, I felt slightly overwhelmed by a backstory I wasn't familiar with. So, when I saw Keeping It Hot was book one, I knew I had to get my hands on it… Y'all, I am SO glad I did. It was what I hoped it would be—what I expected after having enjoyed the way Ms. Landon wrote Wishing For Us—and it left me giddy at the thought of getting in on this series on the ground floor, so to speak. Dylan and Zoe have been best friends for years, and the way the author moves them effortlessly from that relationship to lovers was delightful. Though I took a little umbrage at the fact it took a makeover to make Zoe beautiful in Dylan’s eyes, I loved their chemistry. His reactions and uncertainty. The way it made him see her consciously, and realize what he'd been missing. But most of all, I loved Zoe, and her friendship with Dana. Their interactions were both heartfelt—friends helping friends, no matter what—and hilarious, and absolutely the highlight of this book. Having said that, though, there were so many other things to recommend this book. Dylan has brothers, so oof, there's more of that deliciousness to come, and there's so much simplicity, angst-free joy in this book that it is incredibly easy to read. And though I maybe wished for the ending to be a little slower, I closed this book having loved it—and loving that this is just book one of (I hope) many. All was fair in love and war and this might be a little of both before it was over with. ~ 4.5 Khaki STARS ~
    more
  • Dana
    July 10, 2017
    Oh my goodness, such a fun summer read!! I love Sydney Landon! She's one of my "pre-order" authors that I pre-order without even reading the description and I'm never disappointed! Keeping it Hot was just another perfect example of this! Dylan and Zoe were so perfect for each other and I love how Zoe, (with the help of her friend, Dana ☺) went about getting her best friend to notice her as someone other than "one of the guys"!!I can always count on Sydney Landon to provide just what I need, when Oh my goodness, such a fun summer read!! I love Sydney Landon! She's one of my "pre-order" authors that I pre-order without even reading the description and I'm never disappointed! Keeping it Hot was just another perfect example of this! Dylan and Zoe were so perfect for each other and I love how Zoe, (with the help of her friend, Dana ☺️) went about getting her best friend to notice her as someone other than "one of the guys"!!I can always count on Sydney Landon to provide just what I need, when I need it!! 💜
    more
  • Kathy Taylor
    July 5, 2017
    Another Amazing Series BeginsSydney Landon never fails to wow! Her amazing Danvers Series has spun off into the first, of what I hope will be many, in the Breakfast in Bed Series. The Jackson family and the Oceanix resorts first peeked my interest in the Danvers novella, Betting on You. Now, the Jackson family is taking the spotlight in this new series. Set at the Oceanix Resort in Pensacola FL, Keeping it Hot features Dylan Jackson and his best friend Zoe Hart. Zoe has long loved Dylan as more Another Amazing Series BeginsSydney Landon never fails to wow! Her amazing Danvers Series has spun off into the first, of what I hope will be many, in the Breakfast in Bed Series. The Jackson family and the Oceanix resorts first peeked my interest in the Danvers novella, Betting on You. Now, the Jackson family is taking the spotlight in this new series. Set at the Oceanix Resort in Pensacola FL, Keeping it Hot features Dylan Jackson and his best friend Zoe Hart. Zoe has long loved Dylan as more than a best friend. Could Dylan see her that way? I felt a friendship with Zoe before the end of the first chapter. I enjoyed seeing the course her life took in a few short months and far too few wonderful chapters. I loved watching Dylan show his true colors, in some good and some bad ways. I'm looking forward to seeing which Jackson, at which Oceanix Ms. Landon introduces us too next. As with all of the works by Sydney Landon (The Danvers Series and the Lucian and Lia Series) this earns a well deserved 5 stars and my sincere thanks!
    more
  • Patty Wilderman
    July 2, 2017
    Oh My!  I really loved this book.  It was a great mix of sex, comedy and romance.  The characters in it were really interesting.  I loved the plot of the unnoticed best friend.Zoe owns a coffee shop in her best friend Dylan's hotel.  She has been in love with him for years, only to be in the friend zone.  She really wants Dylan to notice that she could be more than a friend.  When Zoe listens to Dana (her girl BFF) and changes the way she dresses, she gets her Dylan to sit up and not only take n Oh My!  I really loved this book.  It was a great mix of sex, comedy and romance.  The characters in it were really interesting.  I loved the plot of the unnoticed best friend.Zoe owns a coffee shop in her best friend Dylan's hotel.  She has been in love with him for years, only to be in the friend zone.  She really wants Dylan to notice that she could be more than a friend.  When Zoe listens to Dana (her girl BFF) and changes the way she dresses, she gets her Dylan to sit up and not only take notice, but drives him to the edge of insanity.  I love the comradery between Dylan and Zoe.  Zoe seems to be a very straight forward person, except when it comes to telling Dylan how she feels.  I loved Dylan's brother Ash and Dana's chemistry.  I am hoping that the author will think of putting out a book with them in it.  I have heard good things about this author.  I am told that this is a series, so I am definitely looking to find more books with some of these characters.  They seem to be so much fun. If you love fun-loving individuals with sass and loyalty, then you will love this book.  I recommend checking this book and others by Sydney Landon.  I really don't think you will be disappointed.  I know I wasn't.*ARC provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • Renee
    June 18, 2017
    Good book. I liked Dylan a lot. He was aloof to Zoe, her obvious attraction to him and her appearance. I can see this as a series, which I think is in the works. Dylan's family runs a lot of resorts and each family member has their own resort that they run. Only downfall is its sort of typical and predictable Fast read though
    more
  • Carol Oliveira
    July 5, 2017
    Actual rating: 3.5 stars.
  • Courtney Hagel-Swinson
    July 5, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoyed this quick friends to lovers romp. I'm usually not a fan of virgins but Zoe made it believable. I loved Dana; she was the perfect sidekick. I hope we get her story next since it seems like there's some possible chemistry between her and Asher! Dylan was swoon worthy and his protectiveness of Zoe was so endearing. My only complaint was that their HEA came a little too easy. I would have enjoyed a little more angst but still this is a great read!ARC provided in exchange for an I thoroughly enjoyed this quick friends to lovers romp. I'm usually not a fan of virgins but Zoe made it believable. I loved Dana; she was the perfect sidekick. I hope we get her story next since it seems like there's some possible chemistry between her and Asher! Dylan was swoon worthy and his protectiveness of Zoe was so endearing. My only complaint was that their HEA came a little too easy. I would have enjoyed a little more angst but still this is a great read!ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Ashley
    April 20, 2017
    ARC provided by NetGallyI am sucker for friends to lovers stories! I couldn't put this down once I started. I have to say we all need a best friend like Dana, she keeps it real and tells it like it is. Zoe has in been in love with her best friend Dylan for years and he has never noticed her. Now that she is closer to thirty she realizes its now or never. The only question is how to do you get him to finally notice you as the woman you are and not as just one of the guys? That's where Dana comes ARC provided by NetGallyI am sucker for friends to lovers stories! I couldn't put this down once I started. I have to say we all need a best friend like Dana, she keeps it real and tells it like it is. Zoe has in been in love with her best friend Dylan for years and he has never noticed her. Now that she is closer to thirty she realizes its now or never. The only question is how to do you get him to finally notice you as the woman you are and not as just one of the guys? That's where Dana comes in, she is funny and the best friend a girl could have. It's time for Zoe to change the way she dresses and show off she has. After being gone for work Dylan is finally home and going to spend time with Zoe. He has always seen her as one of the guys per say. She is someone he can tell everything to and just be himself. When he sees Zoe in a dress at first he does't recognize her but when he does he finally realizes how stunning she is. He his having a hard time not starring at her. Their relationship is sweet and being best friends first they know each other better than anyone else. For a while Dylan fights his attraction to Zoe and wants her to go back to the way she was before. When he does finally give into what he feels for Zoe all bets are off. I really enjoyed this friends to lovers story and can't wait for the next in the series.
    more
  • Ⓐlleskelle - teamSøren♗ ⊲I like big b00ks⊳
    April 21, 2017
    I received an advance copy in exchange for a review. It doesn't influence my opinion.More reviews and book talk at : You can find me here too ☞
  • Becky S
    April 2, 2017
    I received and ARC from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. I haven't come across a Syndey Landon book I didn't like, and this one did not disappoint either. While it is a spin off of characters from another series, one doesn't have to read the other books (although I highly recommend them!) to enjoy this one. The original Lucian and Lia series is a bit steamier than this one, and I liked that it was spread across several books. I think this story had potential to do the same, but I und I received and ARC from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. I haven't come across a Syndey Landon book I didn't like, and this one did not disappoint either. While it is a spin off of characters from another series, one doesn't have to read the other books (although I highly recommend them!) to enjoy this one. The original Lucian and Lia series is a bit steamier than this one, and I liked that it was spread across several books. I think this story had potential to do the same, but I understand the target market for the book is probably a little different. Mass paperback buyers will like the writing style, story line, and development. Right up there with her Danver's series!
    more
  • Elizabeth Swain
    March 30, 2017
    Zoe and Dylan's story is so amazingly hot! I am going to enjoy this series so much! You pretty much have the girl next door in love with her childhood best friend. She has been in love with this amazing specimen of a man her entire life. Dylan treats Zoe as his safety net Bestie. When the sexy girl within comes out to play, Dylan cannot keep away and he doesn't want to either. Dylan's only problem is that he works way too much, so he must decide to prioritize and figure out how to keep her first Zoe and Dylan's story is so amazingly hot! I am going to enjoy this series so much! You pretty much have the girl next door in love with her childhood best friend. She has been in love with this amazing specimen of a man her entire life. Dylan treats Zoe as his safety net Bestie. When the sexy girl within comes out to play, Dylan cannot keep away and he doesn't want to either. Dylan's only problem is that he works way too much, so he must decide to prioritize and figure out how to keep her first! With the new characters, I am looking forward to this series very much!
    more
  • Megan Barnes
    July 5, 2017
    Zoe Hart is living the dream as an owner of a coffee shop in an upscale resort on the Florida Gulf Coast. She’s got a spunky coworker in Dana and is best friends with the smoking hot resort owner…who she has been in love with since grade school. With her 30th birthday coming up, Zoe has one mission, Operation: Make Dylan Fall in Love With Her.Dylan Jackson works hard and plays harder. With the upcoming expansion of his successful resort Oceanix, his work load continues to increase but he can alw Zoe Hart is living the dream as an owner of a coffee shop in an upscale resort on the Florida Gulf Coast. She’s got a spunky coworker in Dana and is best friends with the smoking hot resort owner…who she has been in love with since grade school. With her 30th birthday coming up, Zoe has one mission, Operation: Make Dylan Fall in Love With Her.Dylan Jackson works hard and plays harder. With the upcoming expansion of his successful resort Oceanix, his work load continues to increase but he can always count on his best friend Zoe to keep him relaxed when the stress gets to be too much. Except Zoe went out and got a new wardrobe and now Dylan is having a “hard” time (wink wink) keeping his thoughts strictly platonic where Zoe is concerned.I’m a sucker for best friends-to-lovers romances so this book drew me in right away. Zoe is fed up with being single at 29 but has only had eyes for Dylan. I applaud Zoe for finally going after something she wants, especially since it could be detrimental to their friendship.As basic as it sounds, sometimes something as simple as a wardrobe change does a wonder for a woman’s confidence (and may catch the eye of a special someone). Once Dylan finally recognized his desire for Zoe, the relationship progressed in what felt like a natural way. Now don’t get me wrong, Dylan was not without his flaws but, underneath it all, While Zoe was still the most important person in his life.“She looked incredible. Which stirred up all kinds of conflicting emotions for him. He was stunned that he’d never noticed exactly how gorgeous she was before. And strangely proud of how she’d blossomed into a beautiful butterfly. He also felt fiercely protective.” ~ DylanI appreciated how the author made the transition from friends to lovers. As Zoe and Dylan realized their feelings for each other have changed over time, they must work through the resulting changes in their relationship. And let me tell you, I wanted to reach in and shake them both at times throughout the book.I think one of my favorite characters in the whole novel was Zoe’s best girl friend, Dana. The girl was a hoot! The things that came out of her mouth had me laughing out loud. But what I really appreciated was the confidence she instilled in Zoe. She always pushed Zoe to dream for more and not settle for anything less than she deserved. And with the interactions with Dylan’s brother Asher, I cannot wait to read Dana’s book (which is the next novel in the series).For my first book by this author, I would definitely call it a win. I’d highly recommend to any fans of Sarah Morgan or Jamie Beck. It’s a fun, summer read while laying on the beach. And if you’re not on the beach, all the talk of the resort will make you want to be!
    more
  • Michel Reinhard (Smut Book Junkie Reviews)
    July 5, 2017
    Sydney Landon just released the first book, Keeping It Hot, in her new Breakfast In Bed series.This is a friends to lovers romance. Zoe has been permanently friend zoned by Dylan. Reaching thirty and still being a virgin is disheartening until she takes control of the situation with a little help from her friend. Reaching for the prize turns into a game of cat & mouse chase, miscommunications, and some downright funny moments.While the title of this book implies hot, I found it to be a bit Sydney Landon just released the first book, Keeping It Hot, in her new Breakfast In Bed series.This is a friends to lovers romance. Zoe has been permanently friend zoned by Dylan. Reaching thirty and still being a virgin is disheartening until she takes control of the situation with a little help from her friend. Reaching for the prize turns into a game of cat & mouse chase, miscommunications, and some downright funny moments.While the title of this book implies hot, I found it to be a bit luke worm. It safely followed the typical romance formula. That formula is fine when the characters stand out and make it their own. These two stayed in the safe zone. I had trouble connecting with both Zoe and Dylan. I felt they were a tad too predictable. I would of liked to see more of their individual thoughts and personalities come into play. I would of liked more steamy dialogue between the two. I would of liked hotter foreplay in a verbal way.Overall Keeping It Hot by Sydney Landon was an enjoyable quick read.
    more
  • Emily
    June 14, 2017
    Zoe and Dylan have been friends since childhood. However, Zoe has been in love with Dylan for as long as she remembers while he thinks of her as just one of the guys. With the help of her friend Dana, she undergoes a major makeover and makes him see the woman she has become. The friends to lovers storyline always makes for a fun read. I will admit, I am not usually thrilled when authors use the makeover hook- the superficiality of the hero only noticing the heroine after some cosmetic changes bu Zoe and Dylan have been friends since childhood. However, Zoe has been in love with Dylan for as long as she remembers while he thinks of her as just one of the guys. With the help of her friend Dana, she undergoes a major makeover and makes him see the woman she has become. The friends to lovers storyline always makes for a fun read. I will admit, I am not usually thrilled when authors use the makeover hook- the superficiality of the hero only noticing the heroine after some cosmetic changes bugs me. But, Landon makes it work and gives some depth to Dylan's interest beyond lusting after her revealed outer beauty. Dylan, although being the typical alpha character, also had some sensitivity which softened some of his missteps while navigating his changed relationship with Zoe. I also really liked Zoe's character. Even while pining for Dylan, she did not let him walk all over her and let him know when she was unhappy. As always, Landon did a masterful job in shaping a sizzling chemistry between her characters. Great read!
    more
  • Jeannie
    July 12, 2017
    Zoe Hart and Dylan Jackson have been friends since middle school, they spend time together, and have always been there for each other, but as Zoe is about to turn 30 she puts a plan into action to make Dylan notice her, because she wants more than just his friendship.With the help of her friend Dana, Zoe changes her appearance and begins to tease and entice Dylan who has only ever viewed Zoe as his best friend. When he sees her at the coffee shop she owns in his hotel he's caught off guard by he Zoe Hart and Dylan Jackson have been friends since middle school, they spend time together, and have always been there for each other, but as Zoe is about to turn 30 she puts a plan into action to make Dylan notice her, because she wants more than just his friendship.With the help of her friend Dana, Zoe changes her appearance and begins to tease and entice Dylan who has only ever viewed Zoe as his best friend. When he sees her at the coffee shop she owns in his hotel he's caught off guard by her change in appearance and begins to see Zoe as a desirable woman and not just as his best friend. Can two best friends make a relationship happen? With work and family and friends getting in the way? I liked this book, but didn't love it. I enjoyed the characters and their witty banter. Three middle of the road stars 👍🏽
    more
  • Treena
    July 8, 2017
    1.5 starsThis is a familiar trope that has been done before. And the book's blurb tells you all that you need to know about the MC's. Childhood bestfriends. She's been in love with him for years. He doesn't realize it. She gets a makeover. He notices her. They fall in love. The end.Truthfully, I've read better books that are based on the same story arc. It's not bad; but I'm not keeping it on my Kindle.P.S. I was drawn to this book primarily because I really liked the design of the cover. I thou 1.5 starsThis is a familiar trope that has been done before. And the book's blurb tells you all that you need to know about the MC's. Childhood bestfriends. She's been in love with him for years. He doesn't realize it. She gets a makeover. He notices her. They fall in love. The end.Truthfully, I've read better books that are based on the same story arc. It's not bad; but I'm not keeping it on my Kindle.P.S. I was drawn to this book primarily because I really liked the design of the cover. I thought it was sleek, smart, and designed well. But I wish that story matched how neat and cool the cover is.
    more
  • Didi
    May 26, 2017
    Reviewed for Night Owl Reviews Picking up a book from a new-to-me author is like laying a bet on something; it could go either way, or it'd be a close call. Barely. What drew me to Sydney Landon's “Keeping It Hot” - aside from that charming book cover - was the blurb. I love a good friends-to-lovers trope and the blurb seems to promise an appealing read. I hate to be proven wrong, but it turned out I don't enjoy the story as much as I thought I would. “Keeping It Hot" is the first of the new B Reviewed for Night Owl Reviews Picking up a book from a new-to-me author is like laying a bet on something; it could go either way, or it'd be a close call. Barely. What drew me to Sydney Landon's “Keeping It Hot” - aside from that charming book cover - was the blurb. I love a good friends-to-lovers trope and the blurb seems to promise an appealing read. I hate to be proven wrong, but it turned out I don't enjoy the story as much as I thought I would. “Keeping It Hot" is the first of the new Breakfast in Bed series. It is set in a fictional resort in sunny Florida. The story was alternately told from Zoe and Dylan's POVs, though - given the amount of naivety and cluelessness between the two of them - they almost felt the same to me. I mean, both MCs were likable enough. It's just the way they thought to do something then ended up acting the opposite that was rather exasperating to me. Not only that, what one character did to the other felt too uncomfortably close to manipulation, good intentions notwithstanding. Granted, the result was a quite a hoot to read, but I just couldn't set aside all those plotting and measurments from my mind. Another thing I didn't expect - though perhaps should've been glaringly obvious from the title - was the number of steamy scenes on page. I'm game for graphic description and all; but I guess I expect more from a couple of childhood friends learning their way in love land than a series of awakened sexual thoughts. Plot wise, it was somewhat predictable: the revelation, mucking up followed by remedy, the climax before the closing. That said, this book is an entertaining read decorated with a riot of witty characters. In fact I have a hunch a couple of supporting characters from this book will star in their own story in the following installment of the series. And given the vibes I got from their meeting in this book, it would be a story I would want to read…perhaps even more so than I did this introduction to Sydney Landon's writing."Copyright Night Owl Reviews"
    more
  • Karen Bowman
    July 18, 2017
    Fantastic This is book one in a new series. In this book we are reintroduced to Dylan and Zoe. They are best friends but Zoe has been in love with him forever. Dylan has been in love with her to but as a best friend or so he thought! It took Zoe's friend Dana who convinced her to change her wardrobe and branch out stop waiting for Dylan let him see what he was missing. She reluctantly agreed and it didn't take long! Add their chemistry some humor and of course in true Landon fashion fear of losi Fantastic This is book one in a new series. In this book we are reintroduced to Dylan and Zoe. They are best friends but Zoe has been in love with him forever. Dylan has been in love with her to but as a best friend or so he thought! It took Zoe's friend Dana who convinced her to change her wardrobe and branch out stop waiting for Dylan let him see what he was missing. She reluctantly agreed and it didn't take long! Add their chemistry some humor and of course in true Landon fashion fear of losing what you really want to open your eyes and take action. If book I e is any indication I cannot wait for book two!
    more
  • Michal Inbar
    July 7, 2017
    This started as a five star rating and Dived down after half of the book.I did not like the hero nor the heroine. He was an arrogant ass who among other stupidities noticed the heroine's femininity for the first time, after years of platonic friendship with, because she started to show some cleavage.Ahemm...shallow much, dude?And the heroine, she was too weak and needy to handle his selfish behavior. Forgiving him left and right for pissing all over her because she feared he'll dump her.Pathetic This started as a five star rating and Dived down after half of the book.I did not like the hero nor the heroine. He was an arrogant ass who among other stupidities noticed the heroine's femininity for the first time, after years of platonic friendship with, because she started to show some cleavage.Ahemm...shallow much, dude?And the heroine, she was too weak and needy to handle his selfish behavior. Forgiving him left and right for pissing all over her because she feared he'll dump her.Pathetic woman ..Well alrighty then, you wean some you lose some.I'll wait for Asher's and Dana's story.
    more
  • Musing
    July 21, 2017
    Another wonderful Sydney Landon edition Keeping it Hot was a wonderful read. Filled with lovable new characters, more gorgeous-yet of course, daft-men, and sweet romance, this was another hottie. Can best friends move their 'take it as it comes' friendship to 'we should make more time' relationship? Two busy people. Two possibilities. Survive or dive. I'll leave it for you, the reader, to find out the rest. But if you've loved each Danver series book as I have, you'll love this new series too. Q Another wonderful Sydney Landon edition Keeping it Hot was a wonderful read. Filled with lovable new characters, more gorgeous-yet of course, daft-men, and sweet romance, this was another hottie. Can best friends move their 'take it as it comes' friendship to 'we should make more time' relationship? Two busy people. Two possibilities. Survive or dive. I'll leave it for you, the reader, to find out the rest. But if you've loved each Danver series book as I have, you'll love this new series too. Quick, fun, and delectable reads with a dash of tension thrown in too. Enjoy!
    more
  • Rough Draft Book Blog
    April 2, 2017
    Keeping It Hot by Sydney LandonZoe and DylanFANTASTIC AND FUN!This story is so charming and witty! I have loved Sydney Landon’s words since starting the Danver’s series. This one is no different. It’s packed full of humor, suspense, and sexy times.Zoe is so damn adorable! I love this little spitfire. She’s smart, fun, and sexy, but Dylan only sees the smart and fun part until Zoe takes matters into her own hands… well, hers and her friend Dana’s! Two heads are better than one for sure!Dylan is a Keeping It Hot by Sydney LandonZoe and DylanFANTASTIC AND FUN!This story is so charming and witty! I have loved Sydney Landon’s words since starting the Danver’s series. This one is no different. It’s packed full of humor, suspense, and sexy times.Zoe is so damn adorable! I love this little spitfire. She’s smart, fun, and sexy, but Dylan only sees the smart and fun part until Zoe takes matters into her own hands… well, hers and her friend Dana’s! Two heads are better than one for sure!Dylan is all kinds of sexy, but so darn blind when it comes to Zoe. It kinda made me angry at times, but the torment he goes through at her transformation is oh so good! I love to see these hunks squirm a bit, makes for a humorous storyline! The supporting character cast is pretty small, but decent. Dana is Zoe’s employee and good friend. She is definitely the fuel to the flames that have slowly shrunk, but just add Dana to the mix and wha-lah, instant hotness! Zoe’s Momma is pretty good in this department as well. There are some undesirable characters, but I’ll let you experience them on your own! So as usual, Sydney wrote a fantastic, funny, and loveable story. The characters are profound and funny, the storyline exciting, and the dialogue flows with ease. There is much tension that leads to an excellent climax. You won’t be disappointed. Come on, it’s Sydney Landon! Her words will cradle you, rock you gently, and let you down somewhat easy!
    more
  • Michelle Eriksen
    July 8, 2017
    Keeping it Hot is a fairly light read, but had my attention from the first few pages. Dylan is overworked and likes to party on his down time, but he is Zoe's best friend and when she decides she wants more from their relationship he had better watch out. I loved the characters in this story, the comedic whit of the report between them will drag you right into the think of things. I couldn't put this one down.
    more
  • Amanda D.
    May 13, 2017
    Not a huge fan of the friends-to-lovers trope, but I'm a sucker for characters in the food industry.Man, there is so much talking. Too much. I wanted to know more about what the characters were thinking, rather than just explaining things on end. Plus, the hero was kind of gross with how he took the hero for granted, always expecting Zoe to be on call for him.
    more
  • Amanda
    July 5, 2017
    This was a good quick read. The characters were well rounded and relatable but the store was predictable. If you have read and enjoyed the Danvers series by Sydney Landon then you will enjoy this book. I do have a small complaint about the writing due to the phrase "friends don't let friends" being used multiple times throughout the book.
    more
Write a review