Cosmic Commandos
In this graphic novel adventure for readers of Hilo and Roller Girl, a pair of twin brothers accidentally bring their favorite video game to life and now they have to find a way to work together to defeat it. Jeremy and Justin are twins, but they couldn t be any more different from each other. Jeremy is a risk taker who likes to get his hands dirty; Justin prefers to read, focus, and get all his facts straight before jumping in. But they do have one important thing in common: They both love video games. When Jeremy wins a cereal-box charm that brings his favorite video game to life, villains and all, he finds that he s in way over his head. Justin knows everything there is to know about the rules of the game he read the handbook, of course and Jeremy isn t afraid to try new things. Can these two mismatched brothers work together to beat the video game that has become their life?"

Cosmic Commandos Details

TitleCosmic Commandos
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherDial Books
ISBN1101994487
ISBN-139781101994481
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Fantasy, Childrens, Science Fiction, Family

Cosmic Commandos Review

  • Susan
    June 24, 2017
    it has potential. I can see what kind of kid I'm going to recommend it to, and they are gonna love it!
  • Stephanie Tournas
    July 11, 2017
    Identical twins Jeremy and Justin couldn't be more different. Jeremy is impulsive and action oriented. Justin is thoughtful and a bit nerdy. Jeremy wants his brother to leave him alone, especially, to "stop looking like [him]." When Jeremy finds that a cereal box decoder ring gives him powers, and that Cosmic Commandos video game baddies are coming to life, he assumes that he'll win on his own. As the game gets harder and Jeremy struggles to beat the evil Skorn at increasingly difficult levels, Identical twins Jeremy and Justin couldn't be more different. Jeremy is impulsive and action oriented. Justin is thoughtful and a bit nerdy. Jeremy wants his brother to leave him alone, especially, to "stop looking like [him]." When Jeremy finds that a cereal box decoder ring gives him powers, and that Cosmic Commandos video game baddies are coming to life, he assumes that he'll win on his own. As the game gets harder and Jeremy struggles to beat the evil Skorn at increasingly difficult levels, he also fights against the help his brother offers him, until too much is at stake. A humorous and appealing drama between brothers, as well as a battle of good vs evil. I love that the book cover is modelled on a cereal box, promising "whole grain excitement," "8 essental zarks and ba-dooms" and "2,304 laughs." Funny and action-packed, with great bold illustrations and lots of great Batman comics-like onomatopeia.
    more
  • Katriela Knight
    July 15, 2017
    We all love Chris Eliopoulos! This book really encompasses his heart along with his talent. These amazing twins based on his own twins will capture your heart while they take you on a wild adventure. Who doesn't love the idea of wish rings bringing superpowers for good! I strongly suggest this book for any child, young or old!
    more
  • Steph
    July 29, 2017
    I love this illustrator's work in Brad Meltzer's ORDINARY PEOPLE CHANGE THE WORLD series, and I do have kids will really enjoy this graphic novel. I don't know that it did much for me, but I still think this guy draws some great stuff!
  • Sarah
    July 8, 2017
    The artwork is a blatant cross between Charles Schultz and Bill Watterson. the message is more preachy than Roald Dahl, and the hero is a stupid, lazy, selfish, cruel bully. Thankfully, it was a short book, so it was over quickly.
  • Ann
    July 31, 2017
    This was cute. Not as good as Hilo, but kids who enjoy that series will probably like this.
  • Billie
    May 5, 2017
    Dear authors: Graphic novels for kids do not have to be blatantly message-y. It's okay for them to be just for fun sometimes. This should have been one of those times.
  • Engel Dreizehn
    May 11, 2017
    ARC....it was fun to read through. More for the juvenile demography but it was playful, appeal to them and the art style is hyper active in expressions and such.
Write a review