Shattered
Shattergirl, Earth’s first lesbian guardian—a brilliant but aloof alien superheroine who can hurl and destroy large objects—is refusing to save people and has gone off the grid. Lena Martin, the street-smart tracker with a silver tongue and a disdain for the rogue guardians she chases, has only days to bring her home. As the pair clash heatedly, masks begin to crack and brutal secrets are exposed that could shatter them both.Themes: female superheroes · lesbian · superheroines

Shattered Details

TitleShattered
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 7th, 2017
PublisherYlva Publishing
Number of pages214 pages
Rating
GenreGlbt, Comics, Superheroes, Science Fiction, Fantasy

Shattered Review

  • Lex Kent
    June 22, 2017
    3 1/2 Stars. First I want to make clear, I'm a big fan of Winter's. I loved Requiem and The Red Files, I thought they were wonderful. Unfortunately, for me, this book was just good, not great. This book took me 3 almost 4 days to read. That is not normal for me. I mostly read a book a day, especially when it comes to Winter's other two books, I read them in one sitting. I could not put them down. Now I will admit I am sick, have a stupid summer cold. I don't read as much when I am sick, but I wa 3 1/2 Stars. First I want to make clear, I'm a big fan of Winter's. I loved Requiem and The Red Files, I thought they were wonderful. Unfortunately, for me, this book was just good, not great. This book took me 3 almost 4 days to read. That is not normal for me. I mostly read a book a day, especially when it comes to Winter's other two books, I read them in one sitting. I could not put them down. Now I will admit I am sick, have a stupid summer cold. I don't read as much when I am sick, but I was stuck at the 50% mark, and nothing was making me pick the book back up. I'm glad I finally finished it. I did like it. It just was not what I was expecting.I love sci-fi and superheroes, I could not wait to read this book. It was just not the premise, I was hoping for. It was also depressing at times. It reminded you about some of the worst in humanity. One of the reasons I love sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal, is it transports you into a different time or place. Your imagination runs wild, and you forget about what is going on IRL, for the 4 hours or so you read it. Instead, this made me think too much about what is going on right now, and how bad things could get in the next 3 1/2 years. I wanted escapism, not a feeling I could get by turning on a news show. Again this is a personal preference, so YMMV.My other slight issue, is before any other reviews came out, I thought this was also going to be a lesfic romance. It is not a romance. And even thought I knew from other reviews about the ending already, while reading the book I was not surprised. The two mains really did not have chemistry together. Yes, I'll admit there was a steamy sex scene, but being compatible in bed, does not mean love and romance. To me this book screamed the definition of friends with benefits. I just could not picture them in a long term relationship.I liked how the main superhero story wrapped up. It was a satisfying ending. Maybe a little easy, but I was happy for it at the time. I'm not sure if Winter will write a sequel. There are other YLVA authors writing books in this superhero world. I did like this enough that I will be reading those books too.While this book was not what I was hoping for, I'm still a big Winter fan. Some of my complaints are just personal preferences, or I was hoping for something different. You may end up liking this more than I did. Even though I didn't love this, it was still a really well written book, like all Winter's are. I'm still happily looking forward to her next book.An ARC was given to me by YLVA, for a honest review.
    more
  • Jem
    June 10, 2017
    I'm shattered! ...(Arghhhh.... I can't really explain why adequately unless I mention the ending, or at least strongly hint at it. So fair warning on what follows.)For an hour or so, that was all I could think about the book. I'm being too melodramatic, lol, but yeah, I don't think I've ever been this torn about the ending of a book that I really, really liked (and still do). I can't really avoid mentioning it either because if I'm making a purchasing decision, I'd like to know what I'm getting I'm shattered! ...(Arghhhh.... I can't really explain why adequately unless I mention the ending, or at least strongly hint at it. So fair warning on what follows.)For an hour or so, that was all I could think about the book. I'm being too melodramatic, lol, but yeah, I don't think I've ever been this torn about the ending of a book that I really, really liked (and still do). I can't really avoid mentioning it either because if I'm making a purchasing decision, I'd like to know what I'm getting into. So, before we go any further, take a look at the Amazon classification of the book. It says: Lesbian Fiction, Lesbian and Superheroes. Nowhere does it say Lesbian Romance (I didn't know that, lol, and also, for 98% of the book, I'd have wondered, why the hell not??). Now if I had noticed that before I dived into the book, I might have been a little less...shattered. :) The cover and the blurb pretty much lays out the entire premise of 'Shattered', so I don't need to repeat it. Much of the book is taken up by the spectacular battle of wills (not in the physical sense, but the verbal sparring) between the two main protagonists, Shattergirl, the rogue superhero and Lena, the one tasked to hunt her down. It was quite entertaining. I had a lot of fun imagining the progressively sour expressions on Shattergirl's face as she got from annoyed to irate to indignant...all the way to...murderous, as the pesky human tasked to bring her back into the fold refuses to take 'no' for an anwer. The back and forth parrying remains the most entertaining highlight of the book. (you know these two were just meant to be together!)The world building is adequate. We're given enough background and information to get us by without too many questions or raised eyebrows. This being the first of a series, I think we'll get to know more about the super beings in good time. That's not really the focus of the book though. The origin story of the Guardians may be interesting, but what really matters is why Shattergirl turned her back on mankind. And that's when the author weaves her social commentary into the story. Shattergirl isn't just a token PoC or a token anything in the book. Her being different from the 'norm', in every way she's different, serves as the most important underlying theme of the book. (...and Lena is the only one who gets her, so you just know these two were meant to be together!!)Less clear to me is Lena's story. While hers is just as intriguing, I kinda felt that it was a little too drawn out, or there was just a bit too much negative emotion wrapped up in her telling it started to give me a headache. :) I'm sure that was the author's intent though. :) I feel that there's more to the mind reading and mind blocking stuff than was tackled in the book. Maybe we'll learn more about it in the sequels? (...see they're the only two people in the world who have that connection....definitely meant to be together!!!)The ultimate political resolution to the guardian problem seemed a little too convenient and upbeat. I'd have expected such a major upheaval to have more dire or messier consequenses (e.g. war or the threat of war) but this felt like a typical romantic tale where the external background events were written around a desired happy ending for our protagonists that needed to happen by the end of the book. (...there's the ultimate proof!!!!....need i say more?)When the read percentage crept higher and higher towards 100, I was kind of giving myself a mental pat on the head for having pretty much sussed out all of the 'twists' that this author loves to pepper her books with. I thought, ha, I've finally figured this author out. I can see through her machinations now, lol. And then she hit me with that ending. Okay. Maybe I'd have seen it coming if I'd been paying more attention. Or rather, if I'd actually thought to check the genre this book was slotted under. Or more likely, if I wasn't such a hopeless romantic. Now I know there is such a thing as a Happy For Now, but this isn't it. I would have been perfectly happy with that. No...I'm afraid there's a bit of finality to it. A mutual understanding that it's gonna be a(view spoiler)["just friends" situation (hide spoiler)]. What's wrong with that, you might ask. Well, I couldn't, for the life of me, figure out why I was strung along for like, 98% of the book (and the hottest sex scene this side of the planet) on something that wasn't going to happen. To say that it's a letdown is a gross understatement! (...this is the hopeless romantic writing the review right now, so excuse the drama and the disbelief :)). If I didn't have a practical, logical side to me, I'd give this book 1 star for that. But I do, and it knows, deep inside, that the main characters (view spoiler)[aren't really going to work long term in real life. It's rather clear in the book that they're just too different intellectually and socially. (hide spoiler)]..But...but... impossible loves are the best thing ever !!!!! (view spoiler)[Couldn't they have tried a little bit harder? Fight a bit more over stuff gf's fight about. At the very least, they'd make awesome FWBs. Why not put the epilogue in the next book and let me have my fantasy... at least for now ? ;) (hide spoiler)]3.9 stars ARC from YlvaP.S. The author got me again, dammit! ;)
    more
  • Ted
    June 6, 2017
    Very entertaining. Nice to see WoC rep as well. Not gonna sugar coat it, it didn't end the way I wanted it to. Takes serious ovaries to write it the way she did. But maybe there's a second book in this Verse, dunno. The world building was extremely well done, so the ground work is there. All in all, I liked it.
    more
  • Gaby
    June 20, 2017
    Review of Shattered by Lee WinterHave you ever read a book of a genre you don't like because its author is one of your favourites? Well, that's what happened to me with Shattered. Lee Winter is in my top ten lesfic authors(https://lezreviewbooks.wordpress.com/...) so, even though I don't normally read sci-fi, I had to give this one a try. I'm glad I did because it is another great book.Ms. Winter is an author who departs from the conventional lesfic stories. She did it in her second book, Requie Review of Shattered by Lee WinterHave you ever read a book of a genre you don't like because its author is one of your favourites? Well, that's what happened to me with Shattered. Lee Winter is in my top ten lesfic authors(https://lezreviewbooks.wordpress.com/...) so, even though I don't normally read sci-fi, I had to give this one a try. I'm glad I did because it is another great book.Ms. Winter is an author who departs from the conventional lesfic stories. She did it in her second book, Requiem for immortals, and she does it in Shattered again. The book blurb doesn't do real justice to the story which is understandable as being more specific would give away too much information. Without providing many details, what really surprised me about this book is the intensity of the dialogues between Shattergirl and Lena, the build up of their relationship, the depth of their emotions. I think this is where the strength of the book rests. On the other hand, I was expecting more action from this genre. Additionally, some parts of the plot, specially at the end, seemed a bit rushed or forced. But maybe the author is planning on writing a sequel and decided to leave some loose ends. Anyway, it is a great read even if you, like me, aren't a science fiction fan.Highly recommended if you don't mind a book without the typical lesfic ending. 4.5 stars rounded up to 5.ARC provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jane Shambler
    June 14, 2017
    This was a really interesting read. My first book by Winter. It is a fast paced action packed read that literally left me feeling mentally shattered. I loved it. It had a bit of everything. Sometimes I really wish these books were true. No I haven't lost my mind I just guess I wish there was more than what we have.Anyway back to the book :). It has two main characters with several characters making the story more believable. You have Lena aka Silver a serious competent tracker and Nyah a superhe This was a really interesting read. My first book by Winter. It is a fast paced action packed read that literally left me feeling mentally shattered. I loved it. It had a bit of everything. Sometimes I really wish these books were true. No I haven't lost my mind I just guess I wish there was more than what we have.Anyway back to the book :). It has two main characters with several characters making the story more believable. You have Lena aka Silver a serious competent tracker and Nyah a superhero who just happens to be a black lesbian who loves science. Who has the superhero name of Shattergirl. My childhood dreams all rolled in to one. What's not to love.The cover of the book gives it a comic book feel but I didn't buy into that. It is a story of life, a story of losses and a story of discrimination. It also talks of equality, friendship and shared experiences. It also talks of being over looked, ignored and wrongful perceptions. Now you know why I felt shattered when I finished the book. It covers a lot and in some detail I might add.I've read a few other reviews and I'll admit I agree that the ending isn't exactly what you expect. But I'll also admit I liked the end. The two leads will make better friends and companions than lovers.The story is mainly about breaking down walls and rebuilding trust amongst different people. Or in the case of this book building a new trust between different worlds. I think the author has done an excellent job combining two very different worlds into a world of trust with a positive future for all. It is well worth your time reading this book. Just be aware you may feel shattered at the end. Enjoy!*ARC provided by publisher via Ylva Publishing*
    more
  • Jane Clements
    June 10, 2017
    The superhero genre is generally a reflection of our fantasy-fuelled desire for a strong, wise and caring leader who will zoom in during our times of need and save us from the latest doom that threatens us. Superheroes are basically Earth-bound gods who can defy the laws of physics with their magic, but in spite of their might they live just to serve us mere mortals. It’s no coincidence that some of the superheroes are even based on ancient gods (Thor and Wonder Woman spring to mind).So the supe The superhero genre is generally a reflection of our fantasy-fuelled desire for a strong, wise and caring leader who will zoom in during our times of need and save us from the latest doom that threatens us. Superheroes are basically Earth-bound gods who can defy the laws of physics with their magic, but in spite of their might they live just to serve us mere mortals. It’s no coincidence that some of the superheroes are even based on ancient gods (Thor and Wonder Woman spring to mind).So the superhero genre is generally a wish-fulfilment fantasy. We know it would make us feel safe and protected to have superheroes who spend their time looking after us 24/7, but what would that be like for the superhero?In this version of our world created by Lee Winter, humans (commons) are served by a race of aliens (guardians) who crashed on Earth when their spaceship malfunctioned at the turn of the 20th century. Each alien has a unique superpower. A carefully cultivated mythology of nobility and invincibility is built up around the guardians, supported by the commons who work at the Facility.Shattergirl is one of the guardians, but she has disappeared. Lena Martin is a common tracker employed at the Facility, she is assigned to find Shattergirl and persuade her to return.I found Shattered interesting because it doesn’t follow the conventions of either the superhero genre or the romance genre. It’s a good read and strangely satisfying. Recommended.Note: I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Tara
    July 1, 2017
    Shattered is a much more thoughtful book than you might expect from a story about a superhero gone off the grid clashing with the tracker who’s been sent to retrieve her. At its center are two badass women, each who have lost faith: Lena in the guardians she once admired and Shattergirl in the humans she’s been saving ad nauseum. They’re the ultimate strong, guarded women, and as each shares their perspectives and experiences, it’s impossible not to understand exactly how they became the way the Shattered is a much more thoughtful book than you might expect from a story about a superhero gone off the grid clashing with the tracker who’s been sent to retrieve her. At its center are two badass women, each who have lost faith: Lena in the guardians she once admired and Shattergirl in the humans she’s been saving ad nauseum. They’re the ultimate strong, guarded women, and as each shares their perspectives and experiences, it’s impossible not to understand exactly how they became the way they are. They are not easy to identify with, and occasionally say and do things that mean they’re not even necessarily easy to like, but they are so clearly and cleverly drawn that it’s impossible not to admire the author’s skill in bringing them through their individual journeys to who they are by the end of the book.Full review: http://www.curvemag.com/Reviews/Move-...
    more
  • Jasmine
    June 28, 2017
    Wow wow wow! This is my first book by Lee Winter and I have to say I am a major fan already and madly in love with her writing style. Madly. I need to read their other books NOW.I was definitely skeptical about this book - I'm not really a superhero kind of person. But this book is so so much more than that. Shattergirl (Nyah), one of the fifty original Guardians to come to earth, has gone off the grid, living in a cave and scaring off locals who get too close. Lena is a tracker, the best in the Wow wow wow! This is my first book by Lee Winter and I have to say I am a major fan already and madly in love with her writing style. Madly. I need to read their other books NOW.I was definitely skeptical about this book - I'm not really a superhero kind of person. But this book is so so much more than that. Shattergirl (Nyah), one of the fifty original Guardians to come to earth, has gone off the grid, living in a cave and scaring off locals who get too close. Lena is a tracker, the best in the world, and her job is to find Guardians gone rogue and bring them back by any means necessary. She's tasked with bringing the elusive superhero back to the Facility and back to work. Shattergirl doesn't come easy, and the two women learn that there is more below the surface than the previously though for both the broody superhero and the mistrustful tracker. If you're looking for every page to be action packed, you might find this book a little lacking. There was a lot of talking, soul searching, emotional growth, much more than action scenes. I loved it though. It was absolutely fascinating and a brilliant and eye opening social commentary. The action scenes sprinkled throughout the novel were however brilliantly written, I could see them happening with such clarity it was like watching a movie. An emotionally charged and moving action movie. The absolute best of both worlds. I also was expecting more traditional romance, which it wasn't, but I was in no way disappointed. Lena and Nyah were simply two people who needed each other, physically and emotionally, who needed to meet and connect and learn and grow and heal. Beautiful, just beautiful.And from a totally shallow standpoint the two leading ladies were hot stuff. Six pack abs, scaling mountains, saving the world, muscles, more muscles...need I say more?Clear your expectations because this book far surpassed any of mine and you will be in for an extremely pleasant surprise! Enjoy! I received an ARC from YLVA in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Aj Smith
    June 14, 2017
    I was a touch sceptical about this book at the start as superhero stories are not my style but I love the work of Lee Winter so I was happy to give it a try, (if you haven't already, go and read The Red Files, Flashbang and Requiem for Immortals; all awesome.) It took me a while to get into the book, the opening salvo of tech, aliens and trackers didn't exactly grab my attention but before long it became less science fiction and more a novel about two people trying to find themselves. Lena is th I was a touch sceptical about this book at the start as superhero stories are not my style but I love the work of Lee Winter so I was happy to give it a try, (if you haven't already, go and read The Red Files, Flashbang and Requiem for Immortals; all awesome.) It took me a while to get into the book, the opening salvo of tech, aliens and trackers didn't exactly grab my attention but before long it became less science fiction and more a novel about two people trying to find themselves. Lena is the 'Facility's' top trackers, charged with bringing in alien guardians who are off reservation or who are believed to have had a mental breakdown. The public at large believe that the guardians are immortal and perfect and to maintain this image, any of them who show any weakness have to be silenced and hidden from view. Shattergirl is one of the original guardians, referred to as the Founders and she has disappeared from view, refusing to perform her duties and far more importantly refusing to show up for PR purposes! Lena is dispatched to bring her back, leading to a titanic clash of wills. Take the time to leave aside the comic book style dressing if you want and just focus on the wonderful story underneath, it's not hard to enjoy the wonderful characters and their interactions. Basically, buy and read this book!
    more
  • Andrea
    June 30, 2017
    *I received an ARC from the publisher in exchanged for a honest review*I usually don't like Sci-Fi stories and don't read them but I was intrigued because of the author. I enjoyed reading the story and the characters - however the ending was not what I expected - to say the least. All in all it is definitely worth reading it and I would recommend it to not only Sci-Fi-Fi fans.
    more
  • Katherine Jensen
    June 11, 2017
    Another great read by Lee Winter. I loved how she explored what happens when superheroes don't really want to be superheroes. The character development of Lena and Nyah was fantastic. Lee did a great job of examining their strengths and weaknesses. I would highly recommend this one!ARC received from Ylva in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Eve D'Alton
    June 10, 2017
    This is my first go at reading Lee Winter's novels. Growing up as a total comic book geek, I loved the idea of a reluctant, out, black superhero as a lead character. The book definitely did not disappoint. Absolutely amazing.Around the turn of the 20th Century, an event no one expected to happen in their lifetime occurred...aliens landed on the lawns of Westminster claiming refugee status. An agreement was put into place whereupon the aliens would act as Guardians around the world; superheroes t This is my first go at reading Lee Winter's novels. Growing up as a total comic book geek, I loved the idea of a reluctant, out, black superhero as a lead character. The book definitely did not disappoint. Absolutely amazing.Around the turn of the 20th Century, an event no one expected to happen in their lifetime occurred...aliens landed on the lawns of Westminster claiming refugee status. An agreement was put into place whereupon the aliens would act as Guardians around the world; superheroes to protect and live alongside the human race. 150years later, that is having its tole on the guardians and Shattergirl, and many of colleagues try and walk away from the agreement. Lena Martin, a stubborn and independent human "tracker" is assigned the task of finding Shattergirl and bringing her back into the fold by any means necessary.The two find some common ground and realise the injustices in the world around them in a great allegory of our current political and social climate. The many and the few, populism and humans' destructive nature as ideas are so well illustrated in a way that only this type of storytelling can do. The author doesn't ram it down your throat but allows the reader to find the parallels on their own. Truly artful story telling and can't wait to read the next two upcoming novels in the series by other authors.Brilliant! Couldn't fault it even if I wanted to!This is my first go at reading Lee Winter's novels. Growing up as a total comic book geek, I loved the idea of a reluctant, out, black superhero as a lead character. The book definitely did not disappoint. Absolutely amazing.Around the turn of the 20th Century, an event no one expected to happen in their lifetime occurred...aliens landed on the lawns of Westminster claiming refugee status. An agreement was put into place whereupon the aliens would act as Guardians around the world; superheroes to protect and live alongside the human race. 150years later, that is having its tole on the guardians and Shattergirl, and many of colleagues try and walk away from the agreement. Lena Martin, a stubborn and independent human "tracker" is assigned the task of finding Shattergirl and bringing her back into the fold by any means necessary.The two find some common ground and realise the injustices in the world around them in a great allegory of our current political and social climate. The many and the few, populism and humans' destructive nature as ideas are so well illustrated in a way that only this type of storytelling can do. The author doesn't ram it down your throat but allows the reader to find the parallels on their own. Truly artful story telling and can't wait to read the next two upcoming novels in the series by other authors.Brilliant! Couldn't fault it even if I wanted to!
    more
  • Karen
    June 20, 2017
    This was not the book I thought it would be. Lee Winters definitely surprised me. Shattered is ostensibly about a black lesbian superhero, Shattergirl, who refuses to “superhero” any more. She has disappeared from sight so Lena, an elite tracker of missing superheroes, is sent to find her. When Lena does find Shattergirl (real name Nyah), that’s where the meat of the story takes place. This story is about developing friendship and learning to think for oneself, at least on Lena’s part. It’s a re This was not the book I thought it would be. Lee Winters definitely surprised me. Shattered is ostensibly about a black lesbian superhero, Shattergirl, who refuses to “superhero” any more. She has disappeared from sight so Lena, an elite tracker of missing superheroes, is sent to find her. When Lena does find Shattergirl (real name Nyah), that’s where the meat of the story takes place. This story is about developing friendship and learning to think for oneself, at least on Lena’s part. It’s a really interesting story that kept my attention to the end. I was surprised by the ending, though. It wasn’t a typical romance ending. I enjoyed how Lena gradually learns Shattergirl’s history and how they both come to a grudging liking and respect for one another. Nyah or Shattergirl has some hidden qualities that Lena slowly discovers. Lena’s respect and friendship for Nyah lead her to question her own abilities and history, and also to take down the establishment. The superheroes are humanized (despite not being human) and fallible. The secondary characters are developed enough to add to the story without taking it over.Like I said, the ending surprised me but it makes sense for the protagonists. I enjoyed this unusual take on superheroes and I can't wait to read the next superhero installment. I was given an ARC for an honest review.
    more
  • Fleppy85
    June 11, 2017
    I received an ARC for an honest reviewUsually, fantasy books and books about superheroes are not my cup of tea, the same goes for movies or TV series. But hey, this a book was written by Lee Winter so I decided to give it a try. After the first chapter I thought: Oh dear, this is so not yours, you have no clue about this fantasy stuff and it doesn't interest you a tiny bit. In fact, you're getting annoyed and bored. So I put the ebook reader aside for a day and continued the next day, willing to I received an ARC for an honest reviewUsually, fantasy books and books about superheroes are not my cup of tea, the same goes for movies or TV series. But hey, this a book was written by Lee Winter so I decided to give it a try. After the first chapter I thought: Oh dear, this is so not yours, you have no clue about this fantasy stuff and it doesn't interest you a tiny bit. In fact, you're getting annoyed and bored. So I put the ebook reader aside for a day and continued the next day, willing to give it a real chance. The second chapter made me smile and after the third chapter I was hooked. The conversation between Lena and Nyah pulled me into the book and I wanted to know more: more about what had happened to Nyah and why was Lena the way she was? In the end, even Lena learnt something new about her and the scene between her and Nyah on the roof terrace was cute. It was not exactly the ending I thought we'd get but it was perfect. At least it felt so to me.
    more
  • Ann
    June 20, 2017
    In Shattered Lee Winter has written another set of living, breathing characters. I want to sit and have a cup of klava with Shattergirl and Lena. The action is exciting, the setting is gorgeous, the twists are entertaining. Everything about this book makes me want to sit down and read it again. I am not a superhero kind of person- I don’t do comics, I don’t watch the movies, I’m not into the superhero oeuvre. Shattered, however, is much more than a superhero book and Shattergirl is my kind of su In Shattered Lee Winter has written another set of living, breathing characters. I want to sit and have a cup of klava with Shattergirl and Lena. The action is exciting, the setting is gorgeous, the twists are entertaining. Everything about this book makes me want to sit down and read it again. I am not a superhero kind of person- I don’t do comics, I don’t watch the movies, I’m not into the superhero oeuvre. Shattered, however, is much more than a superhero book and Shattergirl is my kind of superhero- much more than an heroic set of special abilities. If you are familiar with Lee Winter’s other books, Shattergirl only resembles those in the well-developed characters, the beautifully described settings, the complex emotions, and the intelligent plot twists. Highly recommended, Lee Winter again delivers the high quality I expect from her.
    more
  • Maritza
    June 25, 2017
    I received an ARC from Ylva Publishing in exchange for an honest review.A great read! I loved the action and the story!Herein lies the story of two women, Shattergirl, a missing, burned-out superhero and, Lena Martin, a paid superhero tracker with demons of her own, who is determined to get Shattergirl back in the public eye, and back on the job. In 1916, Shattergirl and forty-nine other humanoid aliens came to earth in search of a new home as their planet was destroyed by meteorites. Because th I received an ARC from Ylva Publishing in exchange for an honest review.A great read! I loved the action and the story!Herein lies the story of two women, Shattergirl, a missing, burned-out superhero and, Lena Martin, a paid superhero tracker with demons of her own, who is determined to get Shattergirl back in the public eye, and back on the job. In 1916, Shattergirl and forty-nine other humanoid aliens came to earth in search of a new home as their planet was destroyed by meteorites. Because they demonstrated "superhuman powers" they were able to strike a deal with mankind which required that they serve as "guardians," in exchange for asylum. The unforeseen consequences of this deal is what leads Shattergirl and others like her to flee the public eye and abandon their role as guardian.A century later Lena is one of many trackers tasked with finding and bringing in "absentee" guardians, by persuasion, manipulation, or coercion, whatever works. She resents the guardians, and has a degree of contempt for them. She relishes her ability to track them down and bring them to heel. Lena is called upon to bring in Shattergirl, not just to resume her role as guardian but to participate in the Centennial celebration of the Founders Landfall.During her efforts to bring Shattergirl Lena is reminded how poorly mankind's most powerful people treats those who were less powerful, those who were different. Her eyes are opened to the unjust and unwelcome consequences of celebrity, how mankind's deal with the Founders determined just who was "entitled" and who wasn't.Lee Winter has given us a novel full of action and provocative thought. In response to a question from a journalist regarding her sexuality, Shattergirl actually asks By what right do you ask me this? What right do we the public have to any celebrity's private life? This is merely one of the provocative ideas addressed so thoughtfully, clearly, and succinctly in this novel.Both Lena and Shattergirl learn and grow and it is a pleasure to read.
    more
  • Colleen Corgel
    June 10, 2017
    This is a book that combines the fun of a superhero read with some hard hitting ideas about how being a superhero actually feels about the people they are bound to save. Especially if that hero never wanted to be one in the first place. As usual, Lee Winter's characters are delightful, and are drawn with a myrad of emotions. I always found Winter's humor to be spot on, even during darker points of her novels, and Shattered made me laugh out loud more than a couple of times. Lena's and Nyah's fir This is a book that combines the fun of a superhero read with some hard hitting ideas about how being a superhero actually feels about the people they are bound to save. Especially if that hero never wanted to be one in the first place. As usual, Lee Winter's characters are delightful, and are drawn with a myrad of emotions. I always found Winter's humor to be spot on, even during darker points of her novels, and Shattered made me laugh out loud more than a couple of times. Lena's and Nyah's first encounter were particularly delightful. This novel follows a couple of superhero tropes, and works to subvert them on occasion. Nyah, in particular is a walking subversion, and the lessons she teaches Lena are poignant and heartbreaking. The names that are given to the guardians are comical, and Lena even discovers some interesting things about the costumes the guardian are required to wear. There is a a large amount of commentary about the current world affairs as well. One question that keeps propping up is if people should demand others with exceptional abilities to save them. This is a hard question to ask and answer; Lee Winter does a lot of asking, but leaves it up to the readers to answer it. I enjoyed reading this first book of Ylva's superhero line, and look forward to reading more. It does a decent job being entertaining while mixing in real world commentary that is sobering. Some if it is a little heavy handed, but this is a minor complaint. *I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Danie
    June 20, 2017
    I was given this ARC by the publisher in exchange for an Honest Review.Superheroes and Lesbians. Sign me Up!!Of course, the book is written by Lee Winter, so, it's much, much more complicated than that, but, as a one line blurb, I'd go with Superheroes and Lesbians, Woo!!It's the story of Lena. She's a 'tracker' whose job it is to bring back wayward superheroes who have powers. I thought that the world building behind these heroes and the world, in general, was really cool. (And it wasn't just a I was given this ARC by the publisher in exchange for an Honest Review.Superheroes and Lesbians. Sign me Up!!Of course, the book is written by Lee Winter, so, it's much, much more complicated than that, but, as a one line blurb, I'd go with Superheroes and Lesbians, Woo!!It's the story of Lena. She's a 'tracker' whose job it is to bring back wayward superheroes who have powers. I thought that the world building behind these heroes and the world, in general, was really cool. (And it wasn't just a current world either, it went back into history as well). It's one of the many things in this book world that I'd love to read more about in short stories or other novels.But, in the current world, a superheroine called Shattergirl has been missing for awhile and the previous trackers have not found hide or hair of her.So, Lena, who's the best one, gets sent after the elusive superhero.Her chase and usual tricks used against the heroes don't quite go as they usually do with the other heroes she's convinced to come back to civilization, and that's when the novel gets super awesome interesting.There's also a Cyclone thrown in as well as each of the main characters are explored in awesome detail throughout the book.It probably would have been a five-star novel if I had personally liked the ending more, but, unfortunately, I didn't love it.Still, it was a good book and as I said at the beginning of the review, Lesbians. Superheroes! Woo!!
    more
  • Rachael Orman
    June 25, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads.This is my first book by this author and I can tell you I would definitely pick up another one. The story was very well written with two characters that seem so different at first until you really start to see who they are inside. I will admit that there were times in this book that made me hate humanity because while the story is fictitious, it is also very true. And I can totally see this type of thing happening if another I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads.This is my first book by this author and I can tell you I would definitely pick up another one. The story was very well written with two characters that seem so different at first until you really start to see who they are inside. I will admit that there were times in this book that made me hate humanity because while the story is fictitious, it is also very true. And I can totally see this type of thing happening if another lifeform were to come to our planet. HOWEVER, I loved that the characters were able to help each other deal with some dark memories and hard things that had kept them from really living life.I can't say that I'm 100% happy with the ending, but it was still a happy one and fitting for the characters and story. I do want to also make a small note about the cover because it does make it seem somewhat silly and comic book-ish, but the story really is so good.
    more
  • Della
    June 21, 2017
    Wow. Double wow! It is 4:30 in the morning and I just finished Shattered. I could not put this book down once I started it. My only negative comment about this book is that the cover is a bit cheesy and does not convey the depth of the story and the characters Lena and Nyah. Ms Winter is a gifted writer who asks important questions of her characters and then supplies the impressive answers. This is one of those books I will reread over the years to come to find the little nuggets of gold in this Wow. Double wow! It is 4:30 in the morning and I just finished Shattered. I could not put this book down once I started it. My only negative comment about this book is that the cover is a bit cheesy and does not convey the depth of the story and the characters Lena and Nyah. Ms Winter is a gifted writer who asks important questions of her characters and then supplies the impressive answers. This is one of those books I will reread over the years to come to find the little nuggets of gold in this carefully crafted story.You do NOT need to be a Sci Fi fan or super hero nerd to fall in love with this novel. If you love wonderful writing and thought provoking dialogue this is a novel for you. I would give this 6 stars if I could!
    more
  • Jaie
    June 25, 2017
    This is my first book by Lee Winter and I LOVED it. So, I do read a lot of comics so the superhero genre isn't unfamiliar with me. This was more of a fantasy though in that it was set in a world slightly different to our own, you know there are alien superheros. I was not expecting so much of the social commentary that was in this book, and it flowed in the story and was powerful. The characters were well developed, the world building was solid. The pace of the story was consistent and felt righ This is my first book by Lee Winter and I LOVED it. So, I do read a lot of comics so the superhero genre isn't unfamiliar with me. This was more of a fantasy though in that it was set in a world slightly different to our own, you know there are alien superheros. I was not expecting so much of the social commentary that was in this book, and it flowed in the story and was powerful. The characters were well developed, the world building was solid. The pace of the story was consistent and felt right. I personally thought the way it ended was perfect, hopeful. *I received an ebook ARC in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • MiskaCZ
    June 25, 2017
    ARC from YlvaI must confess that June was a "superhero month" for me. Supergirl, Wonder Woman and than came Shattergirl.I really liked the flow, it was less a romance but more a insight of a superhero live and what means privacy to them. Shattergirl "Nyah" is on the run and tracker "Lena" should bring her back to serve the world. Conversations of the main characters are witty and entertaining and it show the strong and weaknesses of both. I really liked the book because it is a good picture of t ARC from YlvaI must confess that June was a "superhero month" for me. Supergirl, Wonder Woman and than came Shattergirl.I really liked the flow, it was less a romance but more a insight of a superhero live and what means privacy to them. Shattergirl "Nyah" is on the run and tracker "Lena" should bring her back to serve the world. Conversations of the main characters are witty and entertaining and it show the strong and weaknesses of both. I really liked the book because it is a good picture of the selfish society we are currently living in.
    more
  • Devin
    June 23, 2017
    I wasn't sure what we were going to get with this book of "super heroes". What we do get is a wonderful story of two people finding each other and then laying each other's souls bare to the bone to be able to understand themselves and make a fresh start in life. I loved the twists and turns throughout the book. The characters are very well fleshed out and you really have no idea where things are going to go from minute to minute. This is a well thought out, well written book and you will not wan I wasn't sure what we were going to get with this book of "super heroes". What we do get is a wonderful story of two people finding each other and then laying each other's souls bare to the bone to be able to understand themselves and make a fresh start in life. I loved the twists and turns throughout the book. The characters are very well fleshed out and you really have no idea where things are going to go from minute to minute. This is a well thought out, well written book and you will not want to put it down.
    more
  • Linda Carroll
    July 1, 2017
    Before writing this review is read others review of the book and I just have to say - I LIKED THE ENDING. No it wasn't what I had initially expected but I think it was better. Okay about the story, I won't reiterate the summary (lots of other reviews for that). Not your typical superhero story but rather a look at what it would really be like to live as a superhero. I really enjoyed the story and would recommend it to anyone else who likes this type of tale and also to anyone who just likes a di Before writing this review is read others review of the book and I just have to say - I LIKED THE ENDING. No it wasn't what I had initially expected but I think it was better. Okay about the story, I won't reiterate the summary (lots of other reviews for that). Not your typical superhero story but rather a look at what it would really be like to live as a superhero. I really enjoyed the story and would recommend it to anyone else who likes this type of tale and also to anyone who just likes a different story once in awhile.
    more
  • S B
    July 1, 2017
    Another really good book from Lee Winter. She writes interesting, nuanced characters with a bit of backbone. Requiem for Immortals was one of my favourite books last year.Shattered is about super heroes and is a bit sci fi which isn't my usual cup of tea but I still enjoyed this book.Not a romance really but the relationship did move the plot along.Can't wait for Lee Winter's next effort, whether a sequel to shattered or a whole new gang of characters.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest Another really good book from Lee Winter. She writes interesting, nuanced characters with a bit of backbone. Requiem for Immortals was one of my favourite books last year.Shattered is about super heroes and is a bit sci fi which isn't my usual cup of tea but I still enjoyed this book.Not a romance really but the relationship did move the plot along.Can't wait for Lee Winter's next effort, whether a sequel to shattered or a whole new gang of characters.I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Lisa Beavan
    June 21, 2017
    I like Superheroes, I like reading lesfic, so I thought I would try Shattered. It has two fascinatingly complex leading characters in Leah and Nyah, who meet under trying circumstances and begin to talk and open up to each other. It's funny, sad, thought provoking, has a little action and some romance. As many have said, the ending was not as I expected, but thinking about it after my initial 'oh', Winter's ending is so much better for Leah and Nyah. Well worth a read.I was given an advance revi I like Superheroes, I like reading lesfic, so I thought I would try Shattered. It has two fascinatingly complex leading characters in Leah and Nyah, who meet under trying circumstances and begin to talk and open up to each other. It's funny, sad, thought provoking, has a little action and some romance. As many have said, the ending was not as I expected, but thinking about it after my initial 'oh', Winter's ending is so much better for Leah and Nyah. Well worth a read.I was given an advance review copy by Ylva in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Emma
    June 23, 2017
    genre: general fictionlength: 69,000 words, 17 chapters+ epiloguemain characters:Lena Martin aka Silver, trackerShattergirl, guardian aka Nyah, botanistsetting: The Facility, Socotra Island, Lena's apartment building- a surprisingly serious story about humanity and in a way quite depressing- the dialogue was amazingly well done- a few good plot twists- will definitely read other books by Lee Wintercover: excellent, well related to the plotbook rating: 4 starseARC by Ylva Publishing
    more
  • Virginia
    June 25, 2017
    What happens when superheroes don't want to be superheroes? Can they have any sort of satisfying life? Will the regular human population accept their decision? With humor, intelligence and action Lee Winters explores just those questions. Excellent character development, witty dialogue and an action packed storyline make for another satisfying well written book from Lee Winter.I could have saved words - its brilliant, read it.ARC received from Ylva in exchange for honest review.
    more
  • Dipali Vallabh
    June 22, 2017
    Brilliant book! Excellent character study which really made me think that the life of a superhero isn't all roses. Not what I was expecting (& I'm quite gutted as I'm a traditional HEA girl) but I would highly recommend this book as it's unique view is so different.I will definitely look out for more books from this author.
    more
  • Patti
    June 25, 2017
    I was provided the opportunity by Ylva Publishing to review this book. At first I thought this would be a female super hero saves the world storyline. You do not go far into book before you realize it is more of a, "grass is not always greener" and how stereo types cause more harm than good. A great YA read.
    more
Write a review