Buns (Hudson Valley, #3)
Clara Morgan is living the dream, if you can call rebranding hotels that are desperate for a new life and running any kind of marathon a dream. Which she does. But the career she loves and the endurance races that keep her adrenaline pumping have kept her too busy to put down any roots. Growing up in foster care, she’s never been able to establish traditions of her own, which may be why she’s fascinated by the rituals that generations-old family resorts are known for. She’s especially interested in the Bryant Mountain House, and not just for their secret recipe for the yummy, gooey, can’t-get-enough-of Hot Cross Buns….Archie Bryant, the man with the Buns, is fifth generation and one-day-owner of the charming yet run-down Bryant Mountain House in Bailey Falls, New York. He’s determined to save his family’s legacy from the wrecking ball the old-fashioned way—by gritting his teeth and doing what needs to be done. There’s no way Archie will be influenced by the new hotel branding expert his father brought in to turn one hundred and fifty years of tradition on its head just to attract a faster, younger, slicker crowd. But when some of Clara’s ideas start bringing in new, paying customers, Archie can’t deny that she may have just given him a shot at keeping his resort open.It’s sticky, it’s messy, it’s sweet, it’s Buns.

Buns (Hudson Valley, #3) Details

TitleBuns (Hudson Valley, #3)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 23rd, 2017
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN150111817X
ISBN-139781501118173
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreRomance

Buns (Hudson Valley, #3) Review

  • Wendy'sThoughts
    December 3, 2015
    February 24, 2017....So just to give a bit of an update...We have learned....Clara Morgan never had the personal experience of Family Traditions...Of a Home...and Hearth...She does have Grit, Smarts and a Talent for Updating and Resurrecting...The Grand Hotels and Manors around the Country...Now Archie Bryant is steeped in Tradition....Fifth Generation of a place where it has lost its draw...Even the famous Sticky Buns can't bring in the needed clients....Our Gal wants free rein...To make the c February 24, 2017....So just to give a bit of an update...We have learned....Clara Morgan never had the personal experience of Family Traditions...Of a Home...and Hearth...She does have Grit, Smarts and a Talent for Updating and Resurrecting...The Grand Hotels and Manors around the Country...Now Archie Bryant is steeped in Tradition....Fifth Generation of a place where it has lost its draw...Even the famous Sticky Buns can't bring in the needed clients....Our Gal wants free rein...To make the changes needed to save the day...What both didn't count on....Was how good His Buns were....(Up Coming Cover is PERFECT, promise!) BUNS Release May 23rd 2017 ●•●•●•●•●•●•●•December 15, 2015Don't Know who...Don't Care...Why, you may ask???It's Clayton, Hudson Valley and that is enough for me...For now... For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • Jacqueline's Reads
    March 21, 2017
    4 Hot Hot Hot Buns StarsBuns is a standalone and is part of the Hudson Valley series. Man, I really wish the cover had Archie’s face because nothing is sexier than a man in glasses, especially tortoise shell ones. Heart Eyes and all.Buns is a bit different from the other books because this one is set up in a hotel. I really liked the new change of scenery. Clara goes to different jobs across the states to give businesses a face lift. She puts companies back in the positive again. Her newest job 4 Hot Hot Hot Buns StarsBuns is a standalone and is part of the Hudson Valley series. Man, I really wish the cover had Archie’s face because nothing is sexier than a man in glasses, especially tortoise shell ones. Heart Eyes and all.Buns is a bit different from the other books because this one is set up in a hotel. I really liked the new change of scenery. Clara goes to different jobs across the states to give businesses a face lift. She puts companies back in the positive again. Her newest job is a hotel, a hotel Archie will inherit one day and is currently running. I adore Archie, everything about him. I love his name, I love his glasses and I love his stiff personality. I found him very readable and he brought something different to the book. Clara was a tough cookie. She is very strong and VERY independent. At times I wanted to shake her because she is all about doing things on her own and proving herself.I really enjoyed the storyline in Buns. I found it cute that Clara was hired to help Archie’s hotel. I loved that they interacted daily and had these cute little “fights” over the littlest things. It brought some nice tension between the two. If you are a fan of the series, you will not be disappointed because the characters from the previous books do make an appearance. An ARC was provided Nuts #1 REVIEW | AMAZONCream of the Crop #2 AMAZON | REVIEWBuns #3 AMAZON
    more
  • Sharon ∞❥ is an angst book junkie ❥∞
    October 26, 2015
    gotta be Clara's book...looking forward to reading about her sexy farmer hotel owner! ;)
  • T's Book ~ Tanja
    March 8, 2017
    Just when I thought I couldn't love this series more! Perfection! Review to come.ARC READ Follow us on  KT Book ReviewsTwitterFacebookPinteresttumblrYouTubeBook Babblers
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    December 5, 2016
    ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡
  • Lady Heather
    September 27, 2016
    That feeling you get when you've been approved to review an ARC you've been waiting patiently and desperately to read. "A copy of this book has been provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review."
  • Chanpreet
    March 17, 2017
    This book was such a surprise. I know very well how Alice Clayton can mix romance and humor. I've enjoyed it time and time again. I also know she can write emotion. I think I've seen it most in this series. While Nuts and Cream of the Crop had the trifecta, there was just something about this book that got to me. I'm going to have to do some thinking, but I'll be back once I've got my thoughts together. I will say that this was the best book to end this series, even though I would love to read m This book was such a surprise. I know very well how Alice Clayton can mix romance and humor. I've enjoyed it time and time again. I also know she can write emotion. I think I've seen it most in this series. While Nuts and Cream of the Crop had the trifecta, there was just something about this book that got to me. I'm going to have to do some thinking, but I'll be back once I've got my thoughts together. I will say that this was the best book to end this series, even though I would love to read more about these characters, as always.
    more
  • Shayna
    March 15, 2017
  • Dragana
    August 12, 2016
  • Yodamom
    March 9, 2017
    Who doesn't like buns ?- this is on NG I requested fingers crossed
  • Brittany
    March 9, 2017
    A good time as always. A little more on the less comical side than I'm used to with Alice Clayton. But nonetheless a great romance book.
  • Danielle from Short and Sassy
    March 22, 2017
    I loved this book!! Out of the entire series, this by far has been my favorite book!! Funny, sweet and an awesome read!!
  • Margie's Must Reads
    March 19, 2017
    Alice Clayton is the QUEEN OF ROM-COM!!
  • Rachel (TheShadesofOrange)
    March 19, 2017
    4.0 StarsFull review to closer to the publication on May 23, 2017.I highly recommend the entire Hudson Valley series to readers looking for fun, feminist romance novels full of food, farmers and frisky fun! I requested this book from Netgalley. As always, my opinions are my own.
    more
  • Talina at Sassy & Dangerous
    March 17, 2017
    Review to come!
  • Bea Sterling
    March 29, 2017
    Buns (Hudson Valley #3)Alice Clayton⭐⭐⭐⭐Alice Clayton never cease to be awesome. She works her magic in every book.Clara is workaholic and very good at her job, and recently she got an offer for a promotion if she did well on this last project. Little did she know promotion is the last thing she will be seeing. Archie and his family's hotel had been successful up until their hotel business is not in demand anymore and it is Clara's job to make it busy again. These two are two can't stand each ot Buns (Hudson Valley #3)Alice Clayton⭐⭐⭐⭐Alice Clayton never cease to be awesome. She works her magic in every book.Clara is workaholic and very good at her job, and recently she got an offer for a promotion if she did well on this last project. Little did she know promotion is the last thing she will be seeing. Archie and his family's hotel had been successful up until their hotel business is not in demand anymore and it is Clara's job to make it busy again. These two are two can't stand each other, they couldn't agree on anything. No one wants to loose in an arguement and no one is yielding. The sexual tension is undeniable but it won't be professional if anyone yielded to the lust, especially Clara if she's vying for partner. But soon they cannot take it anymore, these two caved and it was beyond awesome. Little did Archie know that Clara has a commitment issue and at first he did not understand it. On the other hand Archie was still hung up on his dead wife's passing he couldn't bear losing even his wedding ring. They agreed to keep it platonic, just physical not attachments and definitely no falling in love. How will their relationship blossom will be up to you to read. Their story is a journey in falling and finding love once again, getting hurt but it will be worth it. Exciting and hot steamy love making on this book making sure to keep your beds warm at night. Who doesn't love a red head nerd hottie?! Come on ladies! Grubs up for this book it'll be worth it. *wink****HEA, no cheating found in this book, and it's all a good laugh (well technically I cried once so...)*******ARC KINDLY PROVIDED FOR AN HONEST REVIEW***
    more
  • Blodeuedd Finland
    March 22, 2017
    It was the cover, I had seen those other two around and I just had to read this one for the cover. I did read the first book in her red head series, that one was funny, this one did not have that humour.Anyhow. Clara is sent to save a hotel. She was very focused, loved her job and wanted to do it right. And she has issues, she has been in foster care and now she is all I dare not love. Sometimes I wish there was a book where the mains did not have issues ;)Archie thinks she has too many ideas (e It was the cover, I had seen those other two around and I just had to read this one for the cover. I did read the first book in her red head series, that one was funny, this one did not have that humour.Anyhow. Clara is sent to save a hotel. She was very focused, loved her job and wanted to do it right. And she has issues, she has been in foster care and now she is all I dare not love. Sometimes I wish there was a book where the mains did not have issues ;)Archie thinks she has too many ideas (even though they are all good ideas but he is stubborn). And he has issues too, but he let go of those faster than her.These two fight, oh but the tension is there and they just want to rip each other's clothes off. But they fight, then there is passion and they will fall in love, stubbornly ;)A nice romance, with buns, those yummy buns...I am talking about the ones you bake! I mean hello
    more
  • Alihyland
    March 25, 2017
    This series just keeps getting better and better. Clara and Archie's story was absolutely lovely. Ms. Clayton has an uncanny ability to combine vulnerability with strength and humor with drama. She has never done it better than in Clara and Archie's tale. I am sad to think this is the final book in the series-but if it is-it's a wonderful way to conclude it.
    more
  • Witchy Richey's Booktastic Reviews
    March 21, 2017
    I can't stop reading. I have a million things to do but I just can't. Alice, Archie and Clara have consumed me! Applause! Full review to come. Arc received from netgalley.
  • Donna
    March 19, 2017
    A fun installment in this series ... I love this whole group! Clara is a great addition. Her & Archie have fabulous chemistry. My only wish is that her backstory, while included in her own internal dialogue, would have been discussed more.Lucky for me, the Catskills aren't that far. Maybe I'll plan a trip to visit soon.Thanks to NetGalley for the ARC in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Rebekah
    March 18, 2017
    Such a sweet read and a perfect round off to the series. I immediately fell for Archie and enjoyed watching him and Clara get to know each other. I particularly loved how strong Clara's character is - one might even say Bossy! ;) The growth and learning they go through together is real and I was there with them every step of the way.
    more
  • Denise - Shh Mom's Reading ™
    January 4, 2017
    http://amzn.to/2jat21S
  • eatbookseatworlds
    March 9, 2017
    Oh. My. GEEEE. This book, however impossible it may seem, surpasses the others in the series as the best, most awesomest one yet.Clara is pretty much everything I love in a heroine. She's kick-ass, amazing at her job, loyal to her friends, but has serious attachment and self-esteem issues, thanks to being abandoned/unwanted by pretty much everyone in her life before age 15. She's a wanderer, used to uprooting her life after every consulting job. She is complicated and nuanced, both likeable and Oh. My. GEEEE. This book, however impossible it may seem, surpasses the others in the series as the best, most awesomest one yet.Clara is pretty much everything I love in a heroine. She's kick-ass, amazing at her job, loyal to her friends, but has serious attachment and self-esteem issues, thanks to being abandoned/unwanted by pretty much everyone in her life before age 15. She's a wanderer, used to uprooting her life after every consulting job. She is complicated and nuanced, both likeable and difficult.Archie is in many ways Clara's polar opposite. He has practically visible roots dug into his family's generations-old resort. I love his old-fashioned perspective, as well as the fact that he's surrounded by employees that are like family.When these two get together, the air is practically combustible. Their meet-cute is hilarious (think near-death experience), and their hatred-to-heat is awesome and believable. I love the cameos by other characters in the series. Basically, I can't think of anything I'd change about this story.5 stars.*I received a review copy from the publisher/author via NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.*
    more
  • Ginny Littlefield
    March 15, 2017
    I received this arc via netgally for an honest review.As usual Alice Clayton did not fail to deliver. This book was full of humor, passion and love, and the story-line kept you invested until the very end.Clara Morgan is living the dream, if you can call rebranding hotels that are desperate for a new life and running any kind of marathon a dream. Which she does. But the career she loves and the endurance races that keep her adrenaline pumping have kept her too busy to put down any roots. Growing I received this arc via netgally for an honest review.As usual Alice Clayton did not fail to deliver. This book was full of humor, passion and love, and the story-line kept you invested until the very end.Clara Morgan is living the dream, if you can call rebranding hotels that are desperate for a new life and running any kind of marathon a dream. Which she does. But the career she loves and the endurance races that keep her adrenaline pumping have kept her too busy to put down any roots. Growing up in foster care, she’s never been able to establish traditions of her own, which may be why she’s fascinated by the rituals that generations-old family resorts are known for. She’s especially interested in the Bryant Mountain House, and not just for their secret recipe for the yummy, gooey, can’t-get-enough-of Hot Cross Buns….Archie Bryant, the man with the Buns, is fifth generation and one-day-owner of the charming yet run-down Bryant Mountain House in Bailey Falls, New York. He’s determined to save his family’s legacy from the wrecking ball the old-fashioned way—by gritting his teeth and doing what needs to be done. There’s no way Archie will be influenced by the new hotel branding expert his father brought in to turn one hundred and fifty years of tradition on its head just to attract a faster, younger, slicker crowd. But when some of Clara’s ideas start bringing in new, paying customers, Archie can’t deny that she may have just given him a shot at keeping his resort open.
    more
  • Didi
    March 25, 2017
    Lookie da cover! Buns indeed, eh! ;-)
  • Stacia- Three Girls and a Book Obsession
    March 23, 2017
    3.5 stars --Buns is the 3rd book in the Hudson Valley series, but it can be read as standalone. Although, I don't recommend that because the first two books in the series were amazing! I was a little disappointed with this book compared to the other two. It didn't have the humor, wit, and sexy character connection that Nuts and Cream had. Plus the title wasn't really relevant to the book- other than the fact that they sell hot crossed buns at the hotel where Archie works.
    more
  • Jenny
    March 22, 2017
    I laughed so hard at one point in this book that I had to set my e-reader done. I just love Alice Clayton. I want to be her best friend. Whenever she releases a new book I have to clear my schedule because I know I'll want to read it right away and not put it down until I'm finished.
    more
  • Cindy
    March 22, 2017
    Hot Cross Buns - a spiced sweet bun eaten for dessert. Perfect description of this book! Sweet and spicy! Loved this addition to the Hudson Valley collection. ❤❤
  • Heather andrews
    March 15, 2017
    Archie really has his hands full with Clara, literally and figuratively, “oh, we’re gonna talk about that, Mr. Bryant ,” I said, arching my eyebrow, “especially how you took matters into your own hands up there. And by matters, I’m speaking specifically of my ***.” Archie sometimes ends up in awkwarded postioning when he and Clara have conversations, "...he was worried, anxious, and still frozen. “You want to tell me, or my boob?” He snorted, his breath warm on the very boob in question." I love Archie really has his hands full with Clara, literally and figuratively, “oh, we’re gonna talk about that, Mr. Bryant ,” I said, arching my eyebrow, “especially how you took matters into your own hands up there. And by matters, I’m speaking specifically of my ***.” Archie sometimes ends up in awkwarded postioning when he and Clara have conversations, "...he was worried, anxious, and still frozen. “You want to tell me, or my boob?” He snorted, his breath warm on the very boob in question." I loved this book Archie and Clara butted heads so many times, and it was entertaining.
    more
  • Lori
    March 20, 2017
    I would read anything Alice Clayton writes. She has the perfect mix of humor and romance. Love this series- keep them coming!
Write a review