Incarnate
An ambitious and sharp-witted clinical psychiatrist turns detective when one of her patients comes under investigation for a series of brutal murders—is she a psychopath or a victim herself?Brilliant psychiatric resident Dr. Kim Patterson has one major flaw: she is too committed to her patients. Her willingness to break the rules and use unconventional methods to help her patients heal has already gotten her thrown out of several hospitals. And when Scarlett Hascall is brought into the psychiatric ward, Kim can’t resist getting involved, even if it means breaking protocol—because Kim can see what the other doctors cannot. Scarlett is suffering from a rare condition: Dissociative Identity Disorder, otherwise known as Multiple Personalities. But even Kim is at a loss when she realizes that some of Scarlett’s alternate identities are claiming to be people who have gone missing from their town. And when Scarlett’s alter identity “Izzi” knows way too much about the whereabouts of the missing Isabel Wilcox, the police begin to suspect that Scarlett may have been involved with Isabel’s disappearance. Only Kim defends Scarlett, certain of the girl’s innocence. But her new theory is a radical one, one she can hardly believe herself: What if Kim is channeling the troubled souls of these victims?With the help of local police officer Zack Trainor, Kim digs further into Isabel’s case, trying to find proof that Scarlett wasn’t involved. The more they discover, the more it becomes apparent that something strange and frightening is going on with Scarlett. Is it possible she is truly harboring lost souls? Or is Scarlett playing a twisted game with her doctors and the police?

Incarnate Details

TitleIncarnate
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherAtria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy Entertainment
ISBN1501136577
ISBN-139781501136573
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Adult, Fiction, Suspense

Incarnate Review

  • Jasmine from How Useful It Is
    June 9, 2017
    About: Incarnate is a supernatural thriller written by Josh Stolberg. It will be published on 7/25/17 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy Entertainment, imprint of Simon & Schuster, 352 pages. The genres are fiction, thriller, and supernatural. My Experience: I started reading Incarnate on 6/5/17 and finished it on 6/9/17. This book can be summed up as an exciting read! It’s twisted and unexpected. The characters are interesting and the plot is action packed. So much happening in a small town About: Incarnate is a supernatural thriller written by Josh Stolberg. It will be published on 7/25/17 by Atria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy Entertainment, imprint of Simon & Schuster, 352 pages. The genres are fiction, thriller, and supernatural. My Experience: I started reading Incarnate on 6/5/17 and finished it on 6/9/17. This book can be summed up as an exciting read! It’s twisted and unexpected. The characters are interesting and the plot is action packed. So much happening in a small town that were no dull moments reading this book. I love the cover. I like the focus on mental illness and the doctors that tend to them. I like learning about psychiatrist in this book.This book is told in third person point of view. Readers will follow two main characters Dr. Kimberly (Kim) Patterson, a psychiatrist at a hospital in a small town of Jarvis, Alaska and Zack Trainor, the town’s detective. They both have their own broken childhood memories that drives them to be the best they can be in their field, him “protect the peace” and she “protect the peace of mind.” Kim is quirky and intelligent. She’s highly devoted to her patients and often jeopardize her career in the process. Her patient is Scarlett Hascall, nineteen who have been accused of causing havocs to different people, including murder, but she says she doesn’t remember doing any of it. Mental illness plays a big role in this book as well as analyzing and solving mystery. Detective Trainor crosses paths with Dr. Patterson when he arrests Scarlet for the murder of Isabel Wilcox, a missing person because of her DNA link. The twists you won’t see coming!Despite the many medical wordings, I still enjoy reading this book. I like the mystery, suspense, and investigation process. I really enjoy the banter between Kim and Zack. Kim explore the supernatural reason to explain Scarlett’s actions and Zack is livid to the idea, yet they can’t deny their attraction. I like following the strategies taken by Kim in figuring out her patient’s sickness. I love her humor. At times, her actions are farfetched for a doctor like climbing a tree without prior knowledge or putting her life in danger to coerce a confession. The ending is twistedly good! I could not have guessed it! I recommend everyone to read this book if you are looking for a good & twisted mystery!Pro: mystery, suspense, diversity, psychiatrist, humor, twist, discuss strategies, prologue, fast paced, book coverCon: the introduction of Brad is awkward, shouldn’t be in the middle of introducing ZackI rate it 4.5 stars!***Disclaimer: Many thanks to the author Josh Stolberg, publisher Atria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy Entertainment, and Edelweiss for the opportunity to read and review. Please assure that my opinions are honest.xoxo, Jasmine at www.howusefulitis.wordpress.com for a detailed review.
    more
  • Nancy McFarlane
    May 21, 2017
    Kim Patterson is a brilliant clinical psychiatrist. But, she has several characteristics which could end her career. She cares too much about her patients and gets way more involved than is considered professionally proper with certain patients whom she really connects with. And, she continually breaks the rules if she thinks doing so is in her patient’s best interest. On top of that she is hiding a secret relating to her past which could cloud her judgement regarding her newest patient – 19 yo Kim Patterson is a brilliant clinical psychiatrist. But, she has several characteristics which could end her career. She cares too much about her patients and gets way more involved than is considered professionally proper with certain patients whom she really connects with. And, she continually breaks the rules if she thinks doing so is in her patient’s best interest. On top of that she is hiding a secret relating to her past which could cloud her judgement regarding her newest patient – 19 yo Scarlett Haskell. Scarlett is linked to the disappearance of another young woman because she knows things that only someone close to Isabel could know; however Scarlett swears she has never met Isabel. Kim – though hypnosis, which is not allowed by the hospital – discovers that Scarlett suffers from Dissociative Identity Disorder, or multiple personalities. Things get even more complicated when Kim starts to believe her identities are the souls of people who have disappeared from the area. With the help of Police Officer Zack Trainor Kim starts playing detective, but soon Zack loses faith in her diagnosis and starts believing that Scarlett is guilty and has totally hoodwinked Kim. Incarnate is a thrilling psychological mystery with a touch of paranormal and a whole lot of unanswered questions. The end was truly a surprise and one I didn’t see coming.
    more
  • Jan
    June 30, 2017
    I would like to thank NetGalley for an advance copy in return for an honest review. Dr Kim Patterson is a psychiatrist who is completely devoted to her patients. Some say too devoted. But when she meets a girl who is suspected of being involved in a missing persons case, Kim thinks that this patient is suffering from multiple personalities. But as she works with the girl, she sees that the patient has an unnatural knowledge of the lives and deaths of her alternate personalities (alters). Could t I would like to thank NetGalley for an advance copy in return for an honest review. Dr Kim Patterson is a psychiatrist who is completely devoted to her patients. Some say too devoted. But when she meets a girl who is suspected of being involved in a missing persons case, Kim thinks that this patient is suffering from multiple personalities. But as she works with the girl, she sees that the patient has an unnatural knowledge of the lives and deaths of her alternate personalities (alters). Could this girl actually be harboring the souls of these missing persons?I really enjoyed this book. The idea of souls jumping to living people until their murders are solved was a new and intriguing idea for me. I like Kim and some of the other characters. It was also informative about how hospitals work, particularly how residents are treated during their time at the hospital. I sort of hated for the story to end. I wanted to find out all about the other alters. If you like a mystery that is a bit creepy, this one is for you.
    more
  • Jen Hanson
    July 13, 2017
    What is my final review?First off, thank you to Netgalley and Atria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy Entertainment for allowing me to read this advanced review copy for an honest review. The Characters? The story takes place in Jarvis, Alaska, USA. The main characters are Dr. Kim Patterson and Detective Zack Trainor. The author did an excellent job giving dynamic and multi-dimensional characters. They are neither "all good" nor "all bad." In other words, this author gave characters with "issues." I lik What is my final review?First off, thank you to Netgalley and Atria/Emily Bestler Books/Alloy Entertainment for allowing me to read this advanced review copy for an honest review. The Characters? The story takes place in Jarvis, Alaska, USA. The main characters are Dr. Kim Patterson and Detective Zack Trainor. The author did an excellent job giving dynamic and multi-dimensional characters. They are neither "all good" nor "all bad." In other words, this author gave characters with "issues." I like that. I love the sarcastic, witty, and intelligent mind of Dr. Kim. I really appreciated her character.  I enjoyed the detective's quick charm and the fact that he can cook a good meal. But he was a strong enough character to match the fearless Dr. Kim. For this section, I gave the author a 5/5 for character development.The Plot(s)?The plot is Dr. Kim Patterson is treating a patient, Scarlett for DID (dissociative identity disorder) and things get a little interesting when a another young girl, Isabelle turns up dead. Thus two worlds collide as Dr. Kim Patterson and Detective Zack Trainor spar off with each other. He wants to solve the murder of Isabelle and she wants to protect Scarlett from Detective Zack and the rest of the world. Overall, I gave the author a 4/5 for this. There were some unresolved issues with the "alters," I wished the author would have cleared up. Writing?This book is written in third person, past tense. I want to say omniscient because the story focuses on three characters. Overall the writing was excellent. I didn't struggle with anything and it almost flowed like water. There is no redundancies, no sounding like a broken record. Thank you, to the author for that! Anyway, I struggled with the commas. There were commas in weird places. For instance this line... "Why do you think Brad's innocent?", I'm... I believe that was in chapter 6 when I found that little error. Hopefully they correct that before it's released. It started great until I came to chapter 6. That will be my only complaint. The author didn't kill me with adjectives. I love the writing style. I gave the author a 4/5 for writing.Formatting?No complaints. No weird lines, and I did receive the entire book. I gave a 5/5 for this section.Book Cover?The author has two or more book covers. As I'm researching his book covers, yes, they all pertain to this novel. 5/5 stars. That brings the total of each category:  5+4+4+5+5=23 or 4.6 for a total round-up of 5.0 stars. What are my personal thoughts?The author did a great job. I can't wait to read future works from this author. And I read this book in one day. It's a good read. We have proper use of mental health. The author didn't exploit the mentally ill. And this little quote sticks out in my mind..."To make the world see that just because someone's mind operates a little differently from the norm, it doesn't mean they aren't capable of living full, rich lives." --Dr. Kim PattersonFor someone like me to read something like this, it means the world to me. Yes, this author deserves five stars. --I'm just another asshole with an opinion
    more
  • Marc Parijs
    July 4, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book through Goodreads.I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it to other readers.The end of the story took me by surprise. I had not seen that coming.
  • Carole
    June 7, 2017
    Really 3.5 ratingI love paranormal mysteries. That was the draw to this book. Kim Patterson is a psychiatric resident trying to prove herself at her new hospital. When asked to interview a young woman in the psych ward, she is intrigued. Scarlett has been brought in after attacking her boss, but she has no memory of the incident. What she does seem to recall are details involving other disappearances of people she never knew. She also seems to have a connection to another teenager who recently v Really 3.5 ratingI love paranormal mysteries. That was the draw to this book. Kim Patterson is a psychiatric resident trying to prove herself at her new hospital. When asked to interview a young woman in the psych ward, she is intrigued. Scarlett has been brought in after attacking her boss, but she has no memory of the incident. What she does seem to recall are details involving other disappearances of people she never knew. She also seems to have a connection to another teenager who recently vanished. So the story line sounds good and I liked the characters, but! Nothing stuck. I would put the book down and forget what it was about. I say a book is great when I am thinking about it after I have been reading it. I kept walking away from this one. Which is why it took me awhile to review it. Reading it was fine, but afterwards it just faded away. I would still recommend it because of the plot . I just wish it was shorter and more tightly written. That may have helped.
    more
  • Marykaye
    May 22, 2017
    Kim Patterson is no ordinary psychiatrist. She breaks the rules, if it will benefit her patient, even if it means losing her job. One patient, named Scarlett, has multiple personalities, due to traumatic events, including murder. Kim unravels the truth, putting herself and career at risk. Kim also has a hidden dark secret, that affects how she handles situations and relationships. This book has lots of surprises and twists, and a ending you will not see coming.I received this book free from Goo Kim Patterson is no ordinary psychiatrist. She breaks the rules, if it will benefit her patient, even if it means losing her job. One patient, named Scarlett, has multiple personalities, due to traumatic events, including murder. Kim unravels the truth, putting herself and career at risk. Kim also has a hidden dark secret, that affects how she handles situations and relationships. This book has lots of surprises and twists, and a ending you will not see coming.I received this book free from Goodreads for a honest opinion.
    more
Write a review