The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
From Taylor Jenkins Reid comes an unforgettable and sweeping novel about one classic film actress’s relentless rise to the top—the risks she took, the loves she lost, and the long-held secrets the public could never imagine.Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now?Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband, David, has left her, and her career has stagnated. Regardless of why Evelyn has chosen her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career.Summoned to Evelyn’s Upper East Side apartment, Monique listens as Evelyn unfurls her story: from making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the late 80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way. As Evelyn’s life unfolds through the decades—revealing a ruthless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love—Monique begins to feel a very a real connection to the actress. But as Evelyn’s story catches up with the present, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.Filled with emotional insight and written with Reid’s signature talent, this is a fascinating journey through the splendor of Old Hollywood into the harsh realities of the present day as two women struggle with what it means—and what it takes—to face the truth.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo Details

TitleThe Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherAtria Books
ISBN1501139231
ISBN-139781501139239
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Adult, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Contemporary

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo Review

  • Gabby
    March 16, 2017
    HUGE THANK YOU to Atria Books for sending me an ARC.I can honestly say I've never read a book like this before. This story is so incredibly unique and original and heart breaking and beautiful. Taylor Jenkins Reid has been one of my favorite authors recently, and this book is even better than I imagined it would be. This is unlike any of her other books, and unlike anything I've even read. I loved reading about the scandal and craziness of being an actress in the 1950's movie scene. I loved read HUGE THANK YOU to Atria Books for sending me an ARC.I can honestly say I've never read a book like this before. This story is so incredibly unique and original and heart breaking and beautiful. Taylor Jenkins Reid has been one of my favorite authors recently, and this book is even better than I imagined it would be. This is unlike any of her other books, and unlike anything I've even read. I loved reading about the scandal and craziness of being an actress in the 1950's movie scene. I loved reading about Evelyn's romance and heart break and her incredible life story. I started reading it this morning and literally couldn't put it down, hours later I was in tears and finished the story and I feel like I'll never forget these characters and how this story has affected me. This story is so much more than just the life story of a Hollywood actress. It's incredibly moving, and emotional; everything you would expect from a Taylor Jenkins Reid novel and more.I loved everything about this book. Taylor Jenkins Reid is the queen. Full review to come closer to the release date.
    more
  • Grey
    March 8, 2017
    My first 5 star read in 6 long months. Full review to come closer to release date. My first TJR ever... I understand what everyone is talking about now!
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    February 5, 2017
    You can't imagine how excited I am about this book ❤❤❤ Taylor Jenkins Reid is one of my top authors and I love her stories ❤❤❤    
  • Arlene
    February 9, 2017
    Evelyn Hugo consumed me.... this story was fantastic!!
  • Alyssa | Swept Away By Books
    March 16, 2017
    This was so brilliantly different from everything TJR has written and she continues to grow so much with each new book. I am blown away by this story and the turns it took. What a story and what brilliant characters Reid has created and brought so fully to life.
    more
  • Jenna Friebel
    December 28, 2016
    MY HEART!!!!I hope this becomes everyone's beach read in summer 2017.
  • Jen
    March 20, 2017
    I wish Evelyn Hugo were real so I could watch her movies and fall in love with her in real life.
  • Liz Fenton
    March 20, 2017
    Another beautiful and engaging novel by TJR. I loved every word!
  • Jamie
    February 27, 2017
    There are not enough words for how much I loved this book...TJR has outdone herself. 5+ Stars.
  • Ari Zapata
    August 25, 2016
    5 stars is not even enough of a rating for this masterpiece. Firstly, thank you Atria Books for sending me this advance copy. Thank YOU Taylor Jenkins Reid, for creating Evelyn Hugo. I am so in love with her I wish she was a real life person, but you did just a fantastic job on making her life so powerful, heartbreaking and moving! It's so different from any of Taylor Jenkins Reid's books. I am a huge fan of all her books, but this one?! May be my absolute favorite! I'm sure it'll be a summer 20 5 stars is not even enough of a rating for this masterpiece. Firstly, thank you Atria Books for sending me this advance copy. Thank YOU Taylor Jenkins Reid, for creating Evelyn Hugo. I am so in love with her I wish she was a real life person, but you did just a fantastic job on making her life so powerful, heartbreaking and moving! It's so different from any of Taylor Jenkins Reid's books. I am a huge fan of all her books, but this one?! May be my absolute favorite! I'm sure it'll be a summer 2017 hit! The turns, the twist, the characters, EVELYN FREAKING HUGO! Just brilliant. The story is based on 50s-80s Hollywood era. The scandal, the backstabbing, the affairs, the fame, the glamour all intertwined to tell the actual story. And of course Monique Grant, her relationship with Evelyn and how meeting Evelyn was the best and worst thing to happen to Monique. Seems like Evelyn had this affect on people. It's such a beautiful and painful roller coaster. And it all comes down to love, family, acceptance & forgiveness. Why do such breathtaking stories have to come to an end! Ha!
    more
  • Jennifer
    March 10, 2017
    The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo better be on the top of your summer to-read list. If it's not--trust me you will want to add it! For those of you who have read the magic that is Taylor Jenkins Reid, you won't be surprised to hear that her newest novel is nothing short of amazing. But here's a surprise: It's totally different from anything she's written before. This story has the intrigue and scandal that you'd expect from anything centered around the 50s and 60s era in Hollywood but it also ha The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo better be on the top of your summer to-read list. If it's not--trust me you will want to add it! For those of you who have read the magic that is Taylor Jenkins Reid, you won't be surprised to hear that her newest novel is nothing short of amazing. But here's a surprise: It's totally different from anything she's written before. This story has the intrigue and scandal that you'd expect from anything centered around the 50s and 60s era in Hollywood but it also has much more. There's something so interesting about the sudden relationship between reporter Monique Grant and the famous actress, Evelyn Hugo. When Evelyn requests Monique out of the blue to write her biography, Monique is awestruck, suspicious and nervous. But as she listens to Evelyn tell her life story, there are many things that change for Monique. In hearing the struggles and various love stories from Hugo, Monique starts to untangle stories that are going on in her own heart. I just can't express how much I truly enjoyed this book. There are stories intertwined with the bigger plot that pull at your heart strings, there is a massively important theme about love, forgiveness and acceptance and major plot twists that you don't see coming...it's just an amazing story.
    more
  • Kelly (Belle of the Literati)
    March 11, 2017
    Well I never thought I'd see the day where I didn't fall in love with a TJR book but here we are. I'm sure I'll be the black sheep on this and I'll never understand why. I hated this book and I say that very, very infrequently. I hated every single character with the exception of maybe one but even he turned out to be a huge disappointment eventually. The plot we both simplistic yet beyond difficult to believe. Contrived and cookie cutter are also words that come to mind and will only make sense Well I never thought I'd see the day where I didn't fall in love with a TJR book but here we are. I'm sure I'll be the black sheep on this and I'll never understand why. I hated this book and I say that very, very infrequently. I hated every single character with the exception of maybe one but even he turned out to be a huge disappointment eventually. The plot we both simplistic yet beyond difficult to believe. Contrived and cookie cutter are also words that come to mind and will only make sense if you read it, no spoilers here. One major plot point had me eye rolling so hard I was convinced I would have a stroke. I also really, really, really disliked the main romance. I felt there was a huge double standard in how this relationship was portrayed based on the genders of the characters involved. This "great love" was abusive, emotionally draining, and not what love is in my opinion. While I am all for authors branching out and trying new kinds of books, this book just did not work for me in the least.
    more
  • Louise
    March 30, 2017
    WOW. I honestly can't remember the last time I loved a book as much as this. For the last 50 pages I had to keep taking breaks so that I didn't cry in public, but also because I wanted to savour every last page. Captivating, heartbreaking and addictive with a twist that will leave you reeling. If you only read one book this summer, make it this one!
    more
  • Sabby Fox
    March 14, 2017
    This book isn't going to be published for another three months, but I was lucky enough to be sent an ARC for review purposes. Written in a style that immediately drew me in, it quickly became one of the most interesting books I've read in awhile.5/5. This book has a very unique story ling unlike any other book I've read before.Monique has been contacted to write the biography of a Hollywood icon named Evelyn Hugo. Through their time spent together, Evelyn gives Monique a tell-all of her life and This book isn't going to be published for another three months, but I was lucky enough to be sent an ARC for review purposes. Written in a style that immediately drew me in, it quickly became one of the most interesting books I've read in awhile.5/5. This book has a very unique story ling unlike any other book I've read before.Monique has been contacted to write the biography of a Hollywood icon named Evelyn Hugo. Through their time spent together, Evelyn gives Monique a tell-all of her life and doesn't spare any of the juicy and scandalous details.I had no problem falling in love with all of the characters. Monique and Evelyn had a bond (albeit rocky) like I haven't seen between characters in awhile. Even the supporting characters were amazing, and I felt the love and bond between every character in the book. None of it felt rushed, and when I got to the end it was honestly a jaw-dropping ending I couldn't have even imagined.My heart broke and mended itself multiple times throughout the three days it took me to read it.This book definitely put Reid on my auto-buy list.
    more
  • Alexandra
    March 13, 2017
    My favorite book of the year so far, hands down. Review to come closer to pub.
  • Dlmrose
    March 10, 2017
    ARC 3.5
  • Tracy
    January 19, 2017
    4.5 More to come soon--
  • Ashley
    March 8, 2017
    The squee that emitted from my mouth when I was approved for this ARC. Taylor Jenkins Reid never disappoints and THE SEVEN HUSBANDS OF EVELYN HUGO was not an exception. RELEASE DATE : June 2017PUBLISHER : Atira BooksDISCLAIMER : Novel sent via NetGallery in exchange for a honest review.SYNOPSIS : Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is mo The squee that emitted from my mouth when I was approved for this ARC. Taylor Jenkins Reid never disappoints and THE SEVEN HUSBANDS OF EVELYN HUGO was not an exception. RELEASE DATE : June 2017PUBLISHER : Atira BooksDISCLAIMER : Novel sent via NetGallery in exchange for a honest review.SYNOPSIS : Evelyn Hugo is finally ready to tell the truth about her glamorous and scandalous life. But when she chooses unknown magazine reporter Monique Grant for the job, no one in the journalism community is more astounded than Monique herself. Why her? Why now? Monique is not exactly on top of the world. Her husband, David, has left her, and her career has stagnated. Regardless of why Evelyn has chosen her to write her biography, Monique is determined to use this opportunity to jumpstart her career. Summoned to Evelyn’s Upper East Side apartment, Monique listens as Evelyn unfurls her story: from making her way to Los Angeles in the 1950s to her decision to leave show business in the late 80s, and, of course, the seven husbands along the way. As Evelyn’s life unfolds through the decades—revealing a ruthless ambition, an unexpected friendship, and a great forbidden love—Monique begins to feel a very a real connection to the actress. But as Evelyn’s story catches up with the present, it becomes clear that her life intersects with Monique’s own in tragic and irreversible ways.REVIEW : I loved this book. With each book, Reid just happens to excel a little bit more - her narrative, her complexity, her characters. Each story becomes a more intricate pattern and woven tapestry that I just can't help wrapping myself in. Be sure to have some time handy, you'll want to devour this in a day. Monique is working at her daily magazine job when she is seemingly plucked out to the blue to spear head a interview with legendary film actress Evelyn Hugo. A female icon in her own right, Hugo has the talent, the sexual appeal, the husbands, and the stories to portray a star-studded Hollywood upbringing. She's been mostly silent...up until now, and she wants Monique to head up her memoirs. Struck at the chance opportunity, Monique can't help but feel there is a catch...and in Hollywood, there is always a twist ending. Dive deep into Evelyn's tumultuous career along with Monique, and experience how Evelyn got those 'seven' husbands and how love left it's invisible fingerprints along the way.I won't write too spoilery of a review because it's still so early. This novel is flawfree. A narrative that pushes boundaries, is direct, embraces femininity and sexuality and is unapologetic for it. It has the makings to be a tremendous let down but it flows beautifully. Reid has hit the nail on the head with this one, and left me so desperate for more - more Evelyn, more Monique, more fleeting tales of the flurry of love.What I loved the most was the unexpected. This novel is unexpected. It touches upon themes I won't ruin here and that are not hinted at within the synopsis. It's unexpectedness makes it beautiful and so 2017 - it's what's needed now, in this world, in this timeline. A beautiful love story, inside and out. A must read.
    more
  • Maggie
    February 24, 2017
    Taylor Jenkins Reid is one of my favorite authors, but this story didn't immediately appeal to me. Old Hollywood is nice and all, but I wasn't really excited to dig into this story. But I won a copy on Goodreads (thank you) and a month or so after getting the ARC, on weekend where lots of snow was predicted, I figured I would give it a try. The story is mainly about Evelyn Hugo, but also about Monique, the writer Evelyn wants to publish her memoirs. At first I thought I would want to know more a Taylor Jenkins Reid is one of my favorite authors, but this story didn't immediately appeal to me. Old Hollywood is nice and all, but I wasn't really excited to dig into this story. But I won a copy on Goodreads (thank you) and a month or so after getting the ARC, on weekend where lots of snow was predicted, I figured I would give it a try. The story is mainly about Evelyn Hugo, but also about Monique, the writer Evelyn wants to publish her memoirs. At first I thought I would want to know more about Monique, but I liked that the story focused on Evelyn. This story is really about female empowerment and how Evelyn, who had no power at a time when women were powerless, tried to create the life she always wanted. Evelyn says it and Monique says it, and Evelyn is a complicated character who makes tough decisions and isn't very easy to like. A true female antihero is hard but Taylor Jenkins Reid did a great job here. It's not always an easy story to read and there were tears, but it's absolutely worth picking up. There are really powerful takes on gender, power, relationships, money, and probably lots of other things that I missed.
    more
  • Ann
    January 12, 2017
    I have to admit that this book isn't my normal read. The story is fantastic and the writing is both heartbreaking and direct and clear. Monique is a junior writer for an elite women's magazine and is hand chosen by The famous Evelyn Hugo to write an article. The editors want to send someone more seasoned but Evelyn insists it's Monique or no interview. Monique is at a low point in her life, her husband has left her and she thought she would be better established in the writing world by now. It t I have to admit that this book isn't my normal read. The story is fantastic and the writing is both heartbreaking and direct and clear. Monique is a junior writer for an elite women's magazine and is hand chosen by The famous Evelyn Hugo to write an article. The editors want to send someone more seasoned but Evelyn insists it's Monique or no interview. Monique is at a low point in her life, her husband has left her and she thought she would be better established in the writing world by now. It turns out Ms. Hugo wants Monique to write her biography, not just a magazine article. As they spends weeks reviewing Evelyn's life, Monique learns more about herself and her family. She learns the difference between love and being in love. Wish there were more stars, the story is unforgettable and it should be on everyone's summer reading pile. Can't wait to pick up a hard copy for my permanent library. I have read severaly of Taylor Jenkins Reid's books and have enjoyed them all. If you're looking for a new author to try, give this one a go.
    more
  • Cookie6102
    March 12, 2017
    I was fortunate to win an advance reader's edition from a Goodreads Giveaway and I eagerly anticipated diving into this book months in advance of its release date. I have been a fan of Taylor Jenkins Reid's other novels and I was not disappointed with this one either! It is a departure from her previous work and I felt like I had been transported to another time. The story follows the life of a classic Hollywood movie star, Evelyn Hugo, as she tells her life's story to a young reporter named Mon I was fortunate to win an advance reader's edition from a Goodreads Giveaway and I eagerly anticipated diving into this book months in advance of its release date. I have been a fan of Taylor Jenkins Reid's other novels and I was not disappointed with this one either! It is a departure from her previous work and I felt like I had been transported to another time. The story follows the life of a classic Hollywood movie star, Evelyn Hugo, as she tells her life's story to a young reporter named Monique Grant. Grant has been specifically chosen by Evelyn to write her tell-all, and we eventually learn why Monique was the chosen one. There exists a hidden connection between the writer and the movie star, which makes for quite a revelation later in the novel. Readers learn of all the sacrifices and calculating decisions Evelyn made on her rise to the top. But did her success come at too great a cost to her own personal happiness? The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo is a riveting tale that captures readers from the beginning and does not let them go!
    more
  • Paul Pessolano
    March 24, 2017
    “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” by Taylor Jenkins Reid, published by Atria Books.Category – Fiction/Literature Publication Date – June 13, 2017.To say that this book is fascinating is an understatement, although the book may not be for everyone because it touches on some sensitive subjects it is none the less a read one will not soon forget.Evelyn Hugo pulls herself up out of a troubled childhood and follows her mother’s dream to make it big in Hollywood. She connives, as she will most of he “The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo” by Taylor Jenkins Reid, published by Atria Books.Category – Fiction/Literature Publication Date – June 13, 2017.To say that this book is fascinating is an understatement, although the book may not be for everyone because it touches on some sensitive subjects it is none the less a read one will not soon forget.Evelyn Hugo pulls herself up out of a troubled childhood and follows her mother’s dream to make it big in Hollywood. She connives, as she will most of her life, to get herself to Los Angeles. She finds herself in a town and business that most of us hear about and wonder if it is really true. Evelyn makes her way to the top by cementing alliances with people that will further her career. She goes through seven husbands, several she loved and several for convenience. It is in telling her true story to a hand-picked journalist that she reveals her real life and her one true love.It is in the telling of her story that the reader learns of the true Evelyn Hugo, stories not only shocking but very revealing. A novel that will keep the reader captivated from beginning to end.
    more
  • Nancy
    January 4, 2017
    Thanks Netgalley for a digital ARC.I did not love this book. I understood why the story had to be the way it was because of the underlying drive of Evelyn Hugo. The writing is, as usual, amazing. The author is masterful at communicating emotion and circumstance. I didn't like any of the characters except, perhaps, Harry. I felt dirty after reading it. A lot of the subject matter was uncomfortable for me. The basic premise is that Evelyn Hugo, an American born Cuban girl, is driven to be successf Thanks Netgalley for a digital ARC.I did not love this book. I understood why the story had to be the way it was because of the underlying drive of Evelyn Hugo. The writing is, as usual, amazing. The author is masterful at communicating emotion and circumstance. I didn't like any of the characters except, perhaps, Harry. I felt dirty after reading it. A lot of the subject matter was uncomfortable for me. The basic premise is that Evelyn Hugo, an American born Cuban girl, is driven to be successful in Hollywood. Her success is often attached to who she is married to. Each marriage outlines a different relationship. They are all complex yet very, very different. This book is slightly graphic in parts and may include sexual scenes both hetero and homosexual in nature.
    more
  • Mary Lynn
    March 1, 2017
    Good beach read.
  • Willa
    March 22, 2017
    I really appreciated the introspection of Evelyn in not just her career, but also in her intersectional identity. The author talked about it all - race, sexual orientation, etc.
  • Susan Daugherty
    March 26, 2017
    3 1/2 stars
  • Melissa
    March 20, 2017
    Review to come closer to publication date in RT BookReviews, will post here when live.
  • Alice
    March 18, 2017
    Goodreads giveaway winner...Thank you!
  • Kerri
    March 17, 2017
    3.5 stars.
  • Andrea Mai
    March 16, 2017
    This is one of the best books I've read in a very long time. I didn't want it to end!!
Write a review