Gone to Dust (Gravediggers #2)
The Gravediggers aren’t exactly what they seem. They’re the most elite of the world’s fighting forces—and all they have in common is that they’ve been betrayed by the countries they’ve died for. Because they are dead. To their country, their military, and their families.Sometimes the dead do rise....Miller Darling is one of the most popular romance novelists of her time. Not bad for a woman who doesn’t believe in romance. She’s as logical as they come, and she doesn’t believe in happily-ever-afters. What she does believe in is family, so when her brother disappears, she doesn’t think twice about packing her bag and her laptop and heading out to find him.Elias Cole lived and breathed the life of a Navy SEAL. Now he’s “dead” and his hero’s honor tarnished. The only thing keeping him sane are the men who are like him—The Gravediggers—and the woman who makes his head spin. He’s never met anyone like Miller Darling. Her smart mouth and quick wit keep him on his toes, and damned if he doesn’t find that appealing.When Miller receives a package from the brother who abandoned her asking for help, it’s clear she’s in over her head with the mess he’s gotten himself into. She needs a professional, and Elias is just the man for the job. Only her brother is a former SEAL—the man who left his team to die—and Elias is more interested in vengeance than saving his life.

Gone to Dust (Gravediggers #2) Details

TitleGone to Dust (Gravediggers #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherPocket Books
ISBN1501150057
ISBN-139781501150050
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Romantic Suspense, Mystery

Gone to Dust (Gravediggers #2) Review

  • Chris Carroll
    May 31, 2017
    Awesome read!! Elias is hot!! copy rec'd for review considerationIn the first book we are introduced to Miller and Elias. The two had a few encounters and then became the topic of this book. The author has given these two some great characteristics that had me turning the pages as fast as possible.Miller, a romance novelist, has a lot of quirky tendencies but is very humorous and sometimes extreme. However, in times of stress she is actually quite calm. Plus, she has a major thing for Elias. He Awesome read!! Elias is hot!! copy rec'd for review considerationIn the first book we are introduced to Miller and Elias. The two had a few encounters and then became the topic of this book. The author has given these two some great characteristics that had me turning the pages as fast as possible.Miller, a romance novelist, has a lot of quirky tendencies but is very humorous and sometimes extreme. However, in times of stress she is actually quite calm. Plus, she has a major thing for Elias. He knows how to rock her world… then kill the moment.Elias is an angry man. A member of the elite squad of Gravediggers, his addition to the group came under questionable circumstances. Brooding, but so very capable and sexy. His heat factor shimmers on the page. Yum.Together Miller and Elias travel to extreme conditions and managed to steam up the pages quite a few times. Their connection truly is a thing of beauty.The ending leaves a lot of open questions that will hopefully be answered as the series moves forward. I’m actually not sure who the next Gravedigger to be featured will be. But with a handful of these delicious men available, it can only be a fabulous read.With a bit of suspense and a whole lot of steamy romance, this book is sure to kick off your summer reading list with a bang. While you do not have to read book one, I think it is worth it to soak up all of the swoon-worthy men the author subjects us to!Cannot wait for the next one to come!Full Review - http://amidlifewife.com/gone-to-dust-...
    more
  • Dísir
    April 22, 2017
    Elias Cole and Miller Darling have a recent and unhappy history, and it’s mostly a funny one of unfulfilled sexual tension where Elias left Miller, well, wanting. They’re brought closer together by circumstances that are odd but befitting the life of a romance author who lives inside her head when she receives a finger with a ring that says her equally oddball and irresponsible brother has gone missing. Elias is literally forced to go with Miller as she goes after her brother and the journey is Elias Cole and Miller Darling have a recent and unhappy history, and it’s mostly a funny one of unfulfilled sexual tension where Elias left Miller, well, wanting. They’re brought closer together by circumstances that are odd but befitting the life of a romance author who lives inside her head when she receives a finger with a ring that says her equally oddball and irresponsible brother has gone missing. Elias is literally forced to go with Miller as she goes after her brother and the journey is a hilarious one, peppered mostly by Miller’s fanciful imaginings that started to feel a lot like a parody of romance authors whose heads stay mostly in the clouds. I loved every minute of the banter, especially how often Miller makes Elias speechless with her overactive imagination. At the same time, Elias’s own reasons for wanting revenge lends gravity to his purpose for being a Gravedigger and I was eagerly waiting for his backstory, as I do for the rest of the motley crew. Sadly, not too much of it is given and his purpose in seeking revenge is somewhat dimmed by the end of the book, proving a disappointment as I half-expected that goal to be fulfilled. But as far as pairings go, I loved how Elias/Miller both surprised me at every turn, both with their conversations and actions that were as non-stereotypical as they could be in this genre. That they made me laugh most of the way was a fantastic bonus that helped make this book a standout. Like the first book, this one made me sit up and take note, not just because of the intrigue that’s presented here—I’ve not forgotten that the funeral parlour in an ugly town in Texas houses the world’s deadliest operatives—but also because of the direction that the story took. I’d been expecting more counterterrorist-type scenarios as it did in Deacon’s case, but that was hardly the case this time around. ‘Gone to Dust’ has a heavy focus instead on the journey that Elias and Miller took and the development of their relationship, but eschewed the details about the treasure, the myth and Justin’s ultimate fate in favour of banter and steamy sex. In fact, the story ended very soon after they yanked Justin out of his hiding place and got the bad guy, making me feel as though I was left hanging when Elias and Miller finally decided that they loved each other enough to stay together after a very brief meltdown on Elias’s side. I think I would have enjoyed it more if the ending had been less abrupt and if I’d seen more of the Gravediggers in action—there were admittedly fewer scenes with them here than in the first book—mostly because their strange relationships and quirky interactions were the highlight of this series so far. The rushed epilogue felt like a HFN without a definite plan for the future (that itself is briefly explained) but still, it would have been nicer to have ‘Gone to Dust’ more conclusively wrapped up without me feeling stunned and wondering if some pages had been missing after all. Still, it’s a memorable read and as a series that’s only just beginning to gather steam, I’m eager to see what Hart has in store next for this group of unlikely brothers. *ARC by netgalley(always grateful, mind)
    more
  • Kate's Corner in JB Attic
    June 11, 2017
    This is more my kind of book much better than book 1.I enjoyed this book a lot. Strong plot with some mystery in it and really strong characters.Miller Darling romance author. She is Tess's best friend (book one) and in Last Stop she is the town eccentric. She lives life the way she wants to and also lives more in her own world and the world that she writes in then anything else. I liked Miller but at times she whined when there was no reason to whine. There were some life and death situations a This is more my kind of book much better than book 1.I enjoyed this book a lot. Strong plot with some mystery in it and really strong characters.Miller Darling romance author. She is Tess's best friend (book one) and in Last Stop she is the town eccentric. She lives life the way she wants to and also lives more in her own world and the world that she writes in then anything else. I liked Miller but at times she whined when there was no reason to whine. There were some life and death situations and she started rambling about random shite and that she wanted her laptop. Woman you are on the run how do you think that you are going to write one word let alone finish your book. But she dealt well with the hand that she was given and is a solid heroine in my book.Elias is a Gravedigger, he died only to be reborn again. It was never planned to what happened to him but some choices are taken out of our hands. He was setup and branded a traitor all thanks to Eve just to get him on the team. As a Navy SEAL he is the best of the best. He wants revenge so although the chemistry is off the charts between our two MC his plan is to get rid of Eve Winter. His main and top priority. He tries to walk away from Miller as he doesn’t want to have the added complication of a relationship. Miller gets into a spot of bother thanks to her brother Justin who has taken on the family legacy. Finding King Solomon's treasure there is only one small problem. It's in cartel territory and you don't mess with the Black Widow and Emilio. Justin although also a Navy SEAL decides to do just that. He is fanatical about his quest for the treasure. The banter in this book is stronger than in the previous one. I think that due to the characters being different I preferred the vibe that was given off here. A very long time ago when I was younger I watched Romancing the Stone, that film from 1985 with Kathleen Turner and Michael Douglas. It had some strong vibes in relation to that. I loved that film. Ms. Hart has a unique writing style which I don’t always get on with but that is just me. When she lays off the descriptive writing and get more dialogue than I am all for it. Book 3 is out soon and I’m not convinced with the combi of who Dante will be up against. It could be interesting but execution here is the key.
    more
  • Dawn
    June 10, 2017
    Full disclosure, if you read my review of book one in this series you know my review was unsure of this series, but this is fantastic!! This is Elias and Miller's story and it's comical with action and love and loyalty. Elias is a Gravedigger and Miller is a romance author. Miller is also Tess's best friend. Miller always has running commentary in her mind and a wicked sense of humor with a laser sharp tongue that she doesn't hesitate to cut Elias with. When she receives a delivery just as she's Full disclosure, if you read my review of book one in this series you know my review was unsure of this series, but this is fantastic!! This is Elias and Miller's story and it's comical with action and love and loyalty. Elias is a Gravedigger and Miller is a romance author. Miller is also Tess's best friend. Miller always has running commentary in her mind and a wicked sense of humor with a laser sharp tongue that she doesn't hesitate to cut Elias with. When she receives a delivery just as she's trying to finish her most recent book he world is thrown into torment and adventure for real. As the guys hear what's going on the decide to go make sure the girls are going to be fine, and not a moment too soon. There is plenty of adventure and action in this romantic suspense book along with the humor. I loved every second of it. I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Pamela Lilley
    June 11, 2017
    I loved book 1 in the Gravediggers series and book 2 surpassed my expectations by being, if possible, even better even. The story was very much an Indiana Jones meets Jewel in the Nile meets Navy Seals, action romance. Apologies for the movie analogy, but if you read the book you'll see it's quite in-keeping with the story. Romance novelist and best friend of Tess Sherman, Miller Darling is sucked into the world of the drug cartels when she receives a package from her brother. Elis Cole, former I loved book 1 in the Gravediggers series and book 2 surpassed my expectations by being, if possible, even better even. The story was very much an Indiana Jones meets Jewel in the Nile meets Navy Seals, action romance. Apologies for the movie analogy, but if you read the book you'll see it's quite in-keeping with the story. Romance novelist and best friend of Tess Sherman, Miller Darling is sucked into the world of the drug cartels when she receives a package from her brother. Elis Cole, former disgraced Navy SEAL, now a Gravedigger, working under the radar saving the world from terrorists has only one thing on his mind, revenge, revenge on the one person that took away his life, Eve Winter. Oh make that two things, revenge, and trying to avoid a highly addictive, beautiful sassy romance novelist (he has no room in his life for romance). When Miller takes it upon herself to go and find her brother, Elias decides he's going to use all his resources to help her. A beautifully written, highly entertaining, fast paced, action packed rom com. I loved it. The characters are flawless, I loved both Miller and Elias, both had their own brand of crazy, Miller in particular, she was a hoot, oh and Elias had that whole, smouldering, alpha male going for him. Although this can be read as a standalone I highly recommend reading book 1 first. This is fast becoming one of my favourite series and I can't wait to see what Liliana has planned for book 3. I was provided with an advanced copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jean
    May 30, 2017
    I loved this storyline and I loved Miller (even if it was a strange name for a girl)! She was sassy and her career as a romance novelist made her one funny chick! Especially since she was the last person to believe in romance. But when she receives an unexpected package, she has no choice but to find her brother, a treasure hunter just like her parents, who apparently has pissed off the wrong people. And who better than to help but one of the Gravediggers. Namely, Elias. The one man who she crav I loved this storyline and I loved Miller (even if it was a strange name for a girl)! She was sassy and her career as a romance novelist made her one funny chick! Especially since she was the last person to believe in romance. But when she receives an unexpected package, she has no choice but to find her brother, a treasure hunter just like her parents, who apparently has pissed off the wrong people. And who better than to help but one of the Gravediggers. Namely, Elias. The one man who she craved and based her book heros on, but also the one man who left her hanging and confused.I loved them travelling together with their banter and sexual tension. I loved the whole treasure mystery and hoping to find her brother alive through clues he left through letters to Miller. It all just played out perfectly. And I have to mention the novelist side of her.....her inner thoughts, her ability to really look at people and read them through their actions and expressions...... that was awesome and enlightening!Loving this series and looking forward to the next book! I received an ARC of this book through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Monique
    June 19, 2017
    Review written: June 19, 2017Star Rating: ★★★☆ Heat Rating: ☀☀☀☼☼ An Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this book was received free via Netgalley for an honest review. Note: Until about a week ago, the wrong back cover blurb was attached to this book. If my review is confusing because I am talking about Elias and not Colin, please read the updated cover blurb.Imagine my surprise when I started this book. I was trying to figure out how Colin was going to make his entrance when it was clear Miller an Review written: June 19, 2017Star Rating: ★★★½☆ Heat Rating: ☀☀☀☼☼ An Advanced Reader Copy (ARC) of this book was received free via Netgalley for an honest review. Note: Until about a week ago, the wrong back cover blurb was attached to this book. If my review is confusing because I am talking about Elias and not Colin, please read the updated cover blurb.Imagine my surprise when I started this book. I was trying to figure out how Colin was going to make his entrance when it was clear Miller and Elias belonged together. But then the back cover blurb changed and it was all made clear. Miller, Tess's best friend and romance author, got left high and dry by Elias. Let's just say she was not happy about it. And so begins Gone to Dust. The second installment of the Gravediggers series was a marked improvement over the first. The characterization was much better. There was less info-dumping. The plot didn't wait til the 50% mark to get interesting. But the pacing still dragged badly. Miller and Elias seriously had the smolder going on. They are hot for each other but Elias isn't having any of it. Until he can't hold out any more. The heat was a factor in more than one way. But there is simply no question, Elias and Miller were meant to be. They steamed up the pages even when they weren't indulging in sexy times, especially when they weren't indulging in sexy times. It was as much a mental as physical seduction. By the end of the book, I knew them. In contrast to Tess and Deacon who I never really felt I knew, Miller and Elias have great backstories. Motivations, pain, connections: each of them come into this with strong characters. They don't have arcs in the sense that they change by the end of the book, but they do find ways to be who they are with each other. This is huge!The plot was much stronger than The Darkest Corner and it was intensely personal. The very nature of the plot made it more interesting. But it was also far more morally ambiguous than in The Darkest Corner. In a way, it's a collision of three worlds: Elias's, Miller's, and King Solomon's. The way they collide is explosive, breathtaking, and deeply personal and painful for both Miller and Elias. The majority of the plot is focused solely on Miller and Elias with minimal interaction with other characters and that gives it an intensity and focus that helps to keep the character-centric aspects and helps to push the plot along. While the dominant quality of The Darkest Corner seemed to be the shadowy nature of the Gravediggers, the theme of Gone to Dust seemed to be the moral ambiguity of it. From Elias's experiences as a sniper to Eve Winters's actions to Miller's family life: there just was no black and white and mostly it was very dark shades of grey. Trust is in short supply and ruthlessness is the name of the game. Exploitation, cruelty, ends justifying the means: this is not a fair world and sometimes even the people nominally on your side are not the good guys. There was a lot of ugliness showcased here.But on top of all of that was that life is precious, take happiness while you can. And so Elias and Miller take life together.I'm eager to read Say No More, Dante's story but my heart is still with Colin. I will say though, that Gone to Dust has certainly raised my curiosity about Eve and I wonder if that curiosity will be satisfied.This review is ©June 2017 by Monique N. and has been posted to Netgalley.
    more
  • Romance Readers Retreat
    June 10, 2017
    This is the second book in Liliana Harts Gravedigger series although so far each book is about a different character. I loved this book it was so much better than the first and that was pretty good too. This is Miller and Elias's story and is told in dual pov.Miller Darling is a successful author in the sleepy town of Last Stop. Wearing her heart on her sleeve for all to see is her downfall but maybe that's the romance writer in her. Family is everything to her but with both her parents dead her This is the second book in Liliana Harts Gravedigger series although so far each book is about a different character. I loved this book it was so much better than the first and that was pretty good too. This is Miller and Elias's story and is told in dual pov.Miller Darling is a successful author in the sleepy town of Last Stop. Wearing her heart on her sleeve for all to see is her downfall but maybe that's the romance writer in her. Family is everything to her but with both her parents dead her brother is the only thing she has left aside from her friends, so when she receives a not so nice package along with a letter stating her brother is in trouble, however she very soon finds out her own life is also now in danger!In Sweeps Elias Cole, ex Seal now a Gravedigger raised from the dead and is in life debt to the secret organisation who contracted and saved him. Elias has tried to stay away from Miller and had already found the will power to reject her mid passion leaving her feeling humiliated. So why is he now sweeping in to take charge and help Miller find her brother? Can these two resist the chemistry that is radiating from both of them towards each other?I loved loved loved this book! I feel the author stepped it up a huge notch from book one. It flowed better, it was less wordy and only descriptive where really needed, but who's to say that isn't the way it was intended? Let's face it book one is always the hardest as it's where we are introduced to the majority of the characters in the series as well as follow the main characters story. This book though had everything to draw you to the characters personalities and adventures. Again as I said in book one's review the plot is a breath of fresh air because it's so original to anything else I have ever read in this genre. Miller was sassy as well as hilarious at times and Elias was just as witty in his return words but he was strong, generous and fiercely loyal to the core. I wanted and needed more of an epilogue for these two, I felt they had so much more to give to the reader. I can't wait for the next book in the series, not sure who it's about but I would love to see what makes evil boss woman Eve tick!
    more
  • Book Lover
    June 9, 2017
    Miller Darling is a romance writer. She is eccentric, smart, successful, outspoken, funny, independent and makes no apologies for who she is, yet she has her insecurities too. I love her character.Elias Cole is one of the Gravediggers. He is a former SEAL. He has been intrigued with Miller since he met her. However, he knows he can never have happily ever after, so he’s not going there. When Miller discovers her brother is in trouble, Elias takes vacation time, goes against direct orders and tak Miller Darling is a romance writer. She is eccentric, smart, successful, outspoken, funny, independent and makes no apologies for who she is, yet she has her insecurities too. I love her character.Elias Cole is one of the Gravediggers. He is a former SEAL. He has been intrigued with Miller since he met her. However, he knows he can never have happily ever after, so he’s not going there. When Miller discovers her brother is in trouble, Elias takes vacation time, goes against direct orders and takes off with her to find him. This book is mostly about the developing relationship between Miller and Elias. The banter between these two provides lots of humor. I still intensely dislike Eve. Even more after what she put Elias through to get him on her team. We get to see Tess and Deacon again. Unlike the first book, there is very little team interaction in this book. I missed that.I felt like the story dragged a little at times. The ending was abrupt, leaving me with several questions. I didn’t like this one as much as the first one but I am still very interested in the series.I voluntarily reviewed an ARC provided by NetGalley. There are several inconsistencies in the book that I hope are corrected before publication.
    more
  • Samantha
    June 18, 2017
    3.5 stars review to come
  • Kimberly
    June 9, 2017
    a stronger story. RTC.
  • Book Him Danno
    June 6, 2017
    4.5 stars out of 5Book two in the Gravediggers series does not disappoint in the least. We follow Miller Darling and Elias Cole down the rabbits hole of a treasure that as consumed Miller Darlings family life. Elias Cole is a dead man waking trying to find a balance of death and life with the beautiful Miller Darling and her very interesting lifestyle. Gone to Dust is full of fun banter between the different characters readers met in book one and Darling and Coles endless sexual tension. The sto 4.5 stars out of 5Book two in the Gravediggers series does not disappoint in the least. We follow Miller Darling and Elias Cole down the rabbits hole of a treasure that as consumed Miller Darlings family life. Elias Cole is a dead man waking trying to find a balance of death and life with the beautiful Miller Darling and her very interesting lifestyle. Gone to Dust is full of fun banter between the different characters readers met in book one and Darling and Coles endless sexual tension. The story is very much a romance vs the first in the series which had more action with Romance thrown in. Gone to Dust is a lot more telling and less showing. Which throws the treasure hunt out the window toward the middle of the story and end. Gone to Dust still packs on heck of a punch but with more romance and less kick butt action scenes.The ending of the book is very rush as if the author wasn't sure what to do but wanted to keep her readers happy. Not as much action and blood as there was in the first book but this one will not disappoint readers.I am beyond excited to read the next in the series. The story is well paced, readers are giving very traditional Liliana Harts sex scenes that will have readers blush. Advance Copy from Netgalley and the Publisher. Thank you from the bottom of my heart from this Fan of the Grave Digger Series. Keep writing!!
    more
  • Navjyot
    May 9, 2017
    I met Liliana at the RT and completely fangirled. I loved the book. The relationship between Elias and Miller is amazing. All the movie references were funny. I loved the development of Miller and Tess’ friendship. Their wine sessions reminded me of me and my friends.I not sure how I felt about the story not taking place in Last Stop. I would have loved to get to know a little bit more about the residents. But the plane journey and taxi ride were funny scenes. Elias backstory was heart breaking. I met Liliana at the RT and completely fangirled. I loved the book. The relationship between Elias and Miller is amazing. All the movie references were funny. I loved the development of Miller and Tess’ friendship. Their wine sessions reminded me of me and my friends.I not sure how I felt about the story not taking place in Last Stop. I would have loved to get to know a little bit more about the residents. But the plane journey and taxi ride were funny scenes. Elias backstory was heart breaking. It made me wonder whether at some point in the series the gravediggers would be able to go back and right the wrongs.https://medium.com/@navjyotkaur/revie...
    more
  • Angel Hatfield
    June 19, 2017
    Miller was in her upstairs office totally in the zone writing a love scene in her new book when she heard the doorbell which really annoyed her when she had a DO NOT DISTURB sign on her front door. She ran down to her front door and not happily and lent some frustration spew on the UPS man. Miller new the mood was broke now and it could take hours to get back in the zone and start again where she had left off with her love scene. Miller decided since the mood was broke she needed a shower and so Miller was in her upstairs office totally in the zone writing a love scene in her new book when she heard the doorbell which really annoyed her when she had a DO NOT DISTURB sign on her front door. She ran down to her front door and not happily and lent some frustration spew on the UPS man. Miller new the mood was broke now and it could take hours to get back in the zone and start again where she had left off with her love scene. Miller decided since the mood was broke she needed a shower and some food. She knew she looked and probably smelt bad but when Miller was deep in writing a story she forgot about most day to day activities. Miller was not a one night stand type of woman but it had been a while the last man she thought something might start had got her hot and bothered and left her hanging- Elias Cole - by walking away. The meaning of Miller’s life was writing romances women dreamed of. Miller never expected to find that kind of love nor did she really want to. She preferred her relationships fun with great sex while they lasted and then to remain friends once the relationship was over.Miller had never had a broken heart and didn’t want one. Her parents had traveled the world and her older brother- Justin-by four years- stayed home with Miller. Now her parents were dead and the only family as well as stability Miller had was Justin. Miller knew she was a control freak , her work fulfilled her and an occasional man satisfied Miller. Tess was Miller’s best friend and they had known each other since grade school and she managed Last Chance Funeral Home. and Tess was also a newlywed. After a shower Miller went through her mail and there was a letter from her brother. But then she opened the package from the UPS man and found her brother’s ring that their father had given him before he left for the last trip their parents ever left for and as she went more into the package she found what looked to be a real human finger. Miller immediately went to Tess and she told Miller it was real. He worked at the funeral home with other hot guys including Tess’s new husband. Elias had been a Navy Seal sniper and is also a Gravedigger as was Tess’s husband. There was also a letter from Emilio Cordova who said Justin had found the King Solomon’s table and and would not tell Emilio where the table is and that is was her brother’s finger in the package . Emilio wanted Miller to go to him and convince Justin to tell him. If she did not go then Emilio would send more body parts to her, Emilio also believes that Justin has been sending clues in his letters to Miller. I absolutely loved this story. I read the first book of the series and was more than glad to read this book and loved it. I loved the plot and the action. I also hope to read the third and however many more will be in this series. The pace was great as was the writing. I loved how the Gravediggers had each other’s back even going against Eve. I loved how Elias tried to hang on his thirst for revenge but love won out over the wanting revenge. I was definitely didn’t want to to set the book down so yeah it had my attention all the way through and I also loved Miller’s smart mouth. I also loved Miller and Elias together. I loved the characters and the ins and outs of this book and I highly recommend.
    more
  • Christie72
    June 18, 2017
    OMG! Gone to Dust by Liliana Hart was an outstanding addition to the Gravediggers Series! It was another great combination of romance, adventure, and if you can believe it, humor! Miller is a romance writer, and if you read the first book in the series, Tess’s best friend. Elias is a member of the Gravediggers team, and in his former life, a Navy SEAL. Miller is working on a deadline to finish her newest novel when she gets a disturbing letter indicating her brother is in BIG TROUBLE, and his an OMG! Gone to Dust by Liliana Hart was an outstanding addition to the Gravediggers Series! It was another great combination of romance, adventure, and if you can believe it, humor! Miller is a romance writer, and if you read the first book in the series, Tess’s best friend. Elias is a member of the Gravediggers team, and in his former life, a Navy SEAL. Miller is working on a deadline to finish her newest novel when she gets a disturbing letter indicating her brother is in BIG TROUBLE, and his and her lives are in danger. Miller thinks nothing of dropping everything to find him. Elias knows she won’t last long against a powerful drug cartel, so he decides to go with her. He’s got vacation time, but it will be a complicated mission, especially considering he and Miller have a complicated past. He rejected her not so long ago, and Miller certainly hasn’t forgotten it. I love a good story with unforgettable characters, and this one has both! Miller and Elias are both EXTREMELY strong-willed and stubborn. That makes for a lot of fireworks, and you add in their chemistry and you have a situation that threatens to be explosive. You never know if they want to ravage or kill each other. You wouldn’t think a romantic thriller would be humorous, but Miller made me laugh so much! I have so many quotes highlighted that illustrate that. She and Elias really pushed each other’s buttons and certainly kept one another on their toes. However, underneath that, is a vulnerability in both of them. Each had a past that determined their future relationships. They don’t trust others easily and have never given 100 percent of themselves to anyone. I won’t go into that. It’s their story to tell readers, but I could completely understand why they didn’t trust easily. Elias’s story did nothing to thaw my feelings for his boss, Eve. The storyline was heart-pounding and full of adventure. Hart did a phenomenal job of describing the places that Miller and Elias ended up. I could clearly see, smell, and feel everything. It was awesome. I felt like I was there with them. Her talent for descriptive writing kept the pages turning for me. I never knew what twist what be in store in the next chapter…add in the story of King Solomon…and you have one heck of an adventure. I loved seeing the characters from the previous novel, and I love how she builds characters for her next novel. She leaves room not only for other characters but for her current and past characters. I wonder what their lives will be like when their allotted time will be up with Eve. And speaking of Eve, I hope Hart will give us her story. I’m so curious about what made her into the person she has become. You talk about a complicated and complex character, that’s Eve. Waiting for the next one in the series and hoping we won’t have to wait for too long.***Read and reviewed on behalf of Once Upon An Alpha******Copy provided in exchange for an honest and unbiased review***
    more
  • Leah
    June 18, 2017
    Book Review: Gone to Dust by Liliana HartI received this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I really liked the first book in Liliana Hart’s Gravediggers series so I was thrilled when I got to read the second book. I love this book even more than the first one. I love the history, archeology and drama in this book. There is also a romance that makes sense and has been building since the first book. This book took me on an adventure that made it hard to put Book Review: Gone to Dust by Liliana HartI received this book from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I really liked the first book in Liliana Hart’s Gravediggers series so I was thrilled when I got to read the second book. I love this book even more than the first one. I love the history, archeology and drama in this book. There is also a romance that makes sense and has been building since the first book. This book took me on an adventure that made it hard to put down. Miller Darling is a romance author. She is also the best friend of the town mortician who has some seriously hunky guys working for her. Miller has been attracted to Elias Cole since the first time they met. Unfortunately, their one potential hot and heavy evening ended abruptly with him leaving her unfulfilled and with lots of questions. When she gets an odd package in the mail and realizes that she has to find her brother, Miller doesn’t expect Elias to help her.Elias lives a life in the shadows. His death was faked by a classified government agency and now he has to use his SEAL training to save the world. Everything is done in secret. He can’t let anyone know about what he and his brothers do. Falling for Miller may just be his undoing. Not only can he see himself with her, but being with her means giving up his plans for revenge on the person who put himself in this position. What Elias can’t do is let Miller go after her brother on her own.As Miller and Elias set out to find her brother, we are treated to a story about King Solomon and his treasure. Interspersed with the threat of drug cartels and a trip to South America, we watch Miller and Elias build a relationship. Their relationship makes sense given how long they have known one another and the attraction that they have been fighting. As Miller might say, this book certainly reminds me of Romancing the Stone. There are definitely elements that give a nod to this great movie and the tone of this story is similar in the humorous moments that break up the intense danger. Ms. Hart is able to blend so many elements into this book. I cannot wait to see what is in store for the rest of the Gravediggers.
    more
  • Chris N
    May 14, 2017
    Miller Darling's family have been chasing the treasure of King Solomon as long as she can remember. Her parents died chasing treasure and her brother has taken up their mantle searching for a golden table that belonged to King Solomon, which supposedly hold power. Miller is a writer who has distanced herself fom chasing treasure. When her brother gets abducted by a South American drug lord hunting down the same table, Miller gets dragged into danger to save her only remaining family member. Elia Miller Darling's family have been chasing the treasure of King Solomon as long as she can remember. Her parents died chasing treasure and her brother has taken up their mantle searching for a golden table that belonged to King Solomon, which supposedly hold power. Miller is a writer who has distanced herself fom chasing treasure. When her brother gets abducted by a South American drug lord hunting down the same table, Miller gets dragged into danger to save her only remaining family member. Elias is a former SEAL who trained with Justin, Miller's brother. While he holds no love for Justin he does have felling some for Miller. He has tried to bury his feelings for Miller he can't let he go into danger alone to save her brother. Miller and Elias have danced around the feelings they have for each other. Elias tries not to get involved with her as his life is now dedicated to taking down Eve who forced him into becoming a Gravedigger. Miller doesn't do long term relationships due to her erratic writing schedule and life. As they travel deeper into the Triangle Islands to save Justin they can't contain their feelings for each other any longer.This book is part Indiana Jones, a smattering of Romancing the Stone and the high tech gadgets that would make James Bond jealous! It's fast paced and James packed with action! Loved watching Miller develop from a relatively minor character in the previous book to the powerhouse that she is. I have to admit I enjoyed this book more than the first as there is more action in it. A fantastic read and a strong second in the series.ARC provided by Netgalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Judy
    June 15, 2017
    After reading book 1 and all the creepiness of a funeral home (it was still a good book creepiness included), I was afraid to read this book. However, after reading this book, I understand totally why book 1 had to be the way it was. Gone to Dust, in my opinion, was a lot better than book 1 was!Miller is an author, and Tess (from book 1) is her best friend. When Miller is writing, the whole world could end and she wouldn't know it until she's done. However, when an insistent door bell ringing, e After reading book 1 and all the creepiness of a funeral home (it was still a good book creepiness included), I was afraid to read this book. However, after reading this book, I understand totally why book 1 had to be the way it was. Gone to Dust, in my opinion, was a lot better than book 1 was!Miller is an author, and Tess (from book 1) is her best friend. When Miller is writing, the whole world could end and she wouldn't know it until she's done. However, when an insistent door bell ringing, even when she has a Do Not Disturb sign on the door, breaks her train of thought and she has vowed to kill whomever it is! It's the UPS guy delivering a package that she has to sign for. When she opens the package, her head is spinning and she rushes over to see Tess.Elias is part of the Gravediggers and when him and the guys are listening in to a conversation Tess is having with Miller, it's the beginning of this nail biting, on the edge of your seat story!!Elias is put with Miller to try and find her brother, which is just part of his job. Except he has a small history with Miller. This is going to be an illegal (as far as Eve is concerned) mission that he shouldn't be on because it's with Miller. However, Elias knows Justin from his SEAL days, so he's going, like it or not.4.5 stars!! I loved this story! The bantering and chemistry between Miller and Elias was off the chart! While reading this story, I could tell the author put in a good amount of research and the story was very well written! I look forward to reading more of the Gravediggers series!!Reviewed on behalf of Once Upon An Alpha
    more
  • Nikki Brooks
    May 30, 2017
    We're back in Last Stop, the littlest hot bed of special ops!Miller is the best friend of Tess (Book 1). She loves that her friend has found love with the hot but steady Deacon. If only her own love life was so exciting! She's a Romance author after all, who doesn't really believe in relationships because they will never be as perfect as those in her head! Add in a frustratingly brief encounter with Elias and this is one pent up, about to blow, female! When her brother goes missing and a certain We're back in Last Stop, the littlest hot bed of special ops!Miller is the best friend of Tess (Book 1). She loves that her friend has found love with the hot but steady Deacon. If only her own love life was so exciting! She's a Romance author after all, who doesn't really believe in relationships because they will never be as perfect as those in her head! Add in a frustratingly brief encounter with Elias and this is one pent up, about to blow, female! When her brother goes missing and a certain package is delivered, she feels herself slipping down the rabbit hole into her family's obsession with King Solomon, something she has done everything to avoid.Elias can;t believe he almost lost focus on his revenge plan against Eve. He needs to keep himself and his "little head" under control and away from the tempting Miller. But when they realise who deep in trouble her brother is, he is the only one who can go with her and try to keep her safe.A brilliant madcap romance, think Romancing the Stone on steroids! Add in a waaaay to friendly AI, how may have her digital eye on Elias and a cartel with a far reach and this is an adventure to take your breath away. Miller is in no way cut out for the spy life! But she adapts well and even with all her phobias she woman's up and gets the job done. My only frustration was not finding out why Elias had such a hatred for Eve, far deeper that even Deacon and the other Gravediggers. But I am hooked on this series. Brilliant mix of almost small town romance, super secret spies and fraught emotional tensions! Wunderbar!!!
    more
  • Whispers From
    June 13, 2017
    Miller is a romance writer who is beautiful., eccentric, and a little crazy. Her brother was a SEAL but now he is out searching for Solamon's treasure. She gets a package in the mail with a finger and ring. She knows the ring was her brother's because it is passed down from father to son for generations. She runs to her best friend Tess, the mortician, and shows it to her. There was a letter from a drug cartel that wants her to bring the ring and her brother's letters or he's dead.Elias is a dea Miller is a romance writer who is beautiful., eccentric, and a little crazy. Her brother was a SEAL but now he is out searching for Solamon's treasure. She gets a package in the mail with a finger and ring. She knows the ring was her brother's because it is passed down from father to son for generations. She runs to her best friend Tess, the mortician, and shows it to her. There was a letter from a drug cartel that wants her to bring the ring and her brother's letters or he's dead.Elias is a dead man walking. He was a former SEAL but now he is one of the GRAVEDIGGERS. An elite ops group that fights terrorism and works in the funeral home. He has been attracted to Miller since he first saw her but his life is not his own and he wants revenge on the person who had him killed and brought back.When Miller is almost kidnapped, the team saves her and Tess in the nick of time. Now she knows about them and their operation. She plans to meet the drug leader to get her brother back but the team can't let her go alone, so Elias is assigned to go with her. Against the orders of Eve, the woman who made them who they are and their boss. They are now on a race to save her brother and stay a step ahead of the cartel. I absolutely loved this story. It's funny with some sexual tension, bad guys, a treasure and two people who can't stop the attraction between them. I could not put this story down. It'll will keep you turning the page till the very end. *received a copy from netgalley *
    more
  • Reviews by the Mrs.
    May 17, 2017
    This is the second book in the Gravedigger series which is releasing this summer. I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced copy from Netgalley. Miller is an accomplished romance writer living in Last Stop, Texas alongside Elias, a member of an elite undercover group known as the Gravediggers. Miller receives a curious package in the mail and soon discovers her brother has gone missing after beginning a search for a priceless artifact. Elias begrudgingly agrees to help Miler find her brother This is the second book in the Gravedigger series which is releasing this summer. I was fortunate enough to receive an advanced copy from Netgalley. Miller is an accomplished romance writer living in Last Stop, Texas alongside Elias, a member of an elite undercover group known as the Gravediggers. Miller receives a curious package in the mail and soon discovers her brother has gone missing after beginning a search for a priceless artifact. Elias begrudgingly agrees to help Miler find her brother and the tension between the two continues to grow as the mission goes on. I actually enjoyed this storyline more than the first book in the series. The mission in this book was as equally developed as the romance, which for me was not the case in the first book. The romance between Miller and Elias felt very natural and very steamy. The characters in this series are what pulled me in and kept me interested. I have a deep fondness for strong and sassy female characters which both Miller and Tess personify. The Gravediggers are a harmonious team but also showcase their unique individual attributes and stories. I enjoy that as the series continues, we get more insight into each respective character. This series is just plain fun and entertaining; perfect poolside read for the upcoming summer 🏖
    more
  • Anima
    June 12, 2017
    The perfect thrill ride for the second Gravedigger book. Miller, romance writer and best friend to Tess (mortician in book one), has heard her brother is in a bit of trouble and needs her help. Seems her family has been predestined to look after the treasures of King Solomon but Justin got mixed up with a cartel. Elias, sexy SEAL with a major crush on Miller, must help her find Justin. The book reminds me of Romancing the Stone but with far better chemistry and sarcastic witty humor. The gadgets The perfect thrill ride for the second Gravedigger book. Miller, romance writer and best friend to Tess (mortician in book one), has heard her brother is in a bit of trouble and needs her help. Seems her family has been predestined to look after the treasures of King Solomon but Justin got mixed up with a cartel. Elias, sexy SEAL with a major crush on Miller, must help her find Justin. The book reminds me of Romancing the Stone but with far better chemistry and sarcastic witty humor. The gadgets the Trident guys have are far better than Bond could ever imagine. Miller is a great heroine with smarts, humor and a love for movies that rivals no one. Elias has a deep dark past that I believe we will visit again, maybe he gets his revenge. I was offered an ARC through Netgalley and wrote my review voluntarily.
    more
  • Dana Alma
    June 17, 2017
    4.5 StarsGone to Dust is an unfaltering adventure! Miller shines as the eccentric and passionate writer. Her character draws you in, forging a friendship with readers. Her unique quirks and commentary are the marrow of a true writer's artistic en-devours. If Hart's intentions were to portray a genuine writer via Miller, she achieved her goal and then some. Miller brings to mind many of my writerly friends throughout this story. A family history that reaches back to the times of Solomon relinquis 4.5 StarsGone to Dust is an unfaltering adventure! Miller shines as the eccentric and passionate writer. Her character draws you in, forging a friendship with readers. Her unique quirks and commentary are the marrow of a true writer's artistic en-devours. If Hart's intentions were to portray a genuine writer via Miller, she achieved her goal and then some. Miller brings to mind many of my writerly friends throughout this story. A family history that reaches back to the times of Solomon relinquish quite the story. Miller and Colin are resplendent! The romance and energy levels in this story are primo! I couldn't help but be reminded at times of Romancing the Stone. The second installment in the Gravediggers series delivered. I can't wait to read the next book in the series.
    more
  • Debbie
    June 19, 2017
    This is the first book I have read by this author and I have to say I was not impressed. I have not read the first book. Perhaps I would have enjoyed this one more if I had. At least that way I would have understood more what the Gravediggers are and how they came to be.
    more
  • Amy
    May 5, 2017
    I received this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.Enjoyable installation of the Gravediggers series. Loved watching Elias and Miller work things out. The ending felt a little rushed - but it was still good.
  • Zita
    May 20, 2017
    An exciting, sexually tense and dangerous adventure…This is the second book in the Gravediggers series. You wouldn’t think a romance author would be a pessimist but Miller Darling is, she writes love stories but doesn’t believe in the happy endings in real life. Her parents were archaeologists obsessed with the story of King Solomon and the Queen of Sheba to the extent they neglected their children leaving Miller to be raised by her older brother who eventually succumbed to the same obsession. W An exciting, sexually tense and dangerous adventure…This is the second book in the Gravediggers series. You wouldn’t think a romance author would be a pessimist but Miller Darling is, she writes love stories but doesn’t believe in the happy endings in real life. Her parents were archaeologists obsessed with the story of King Solomon and the Queen of Sheba to the extent they neglected their children leaving Miller to be raised by her older brother who eventually succumbed to the same obsession. Writing the tale of the two aforementioned ill-fated lovers Miller is interrupted by the delivery of an unexpected package. The horror she finds inside sends her running to her best friend, the recent wife of a Gravedigger. She’s shocked at the secrets she learns yet glad of the assistance in finding her brother, nothing will stop her from tracking him down, she’s the only one who can decipher the clues in his letters. That Elias is the one chosen to assist/protect her doesn’t sit well, she hasn’t forgiven him for his previous behavior.Former Navy SEAL Elias Cole is a Gravedigger who was purposefully disgraced before his fake death was implemented and he awoke to his new life. He’s a man with seething anger out for revenge against the coldest woman he’s ever met, the team’s boss. He knew Miller’s brother in the service, the chemistry he has with Miller is scorching but he can’t let any woman interfere with his plans for retribution. Being the Navy SEAL of the team he’s undeniably the best suited to track down another SEAL. He doesn’t want to do so because it means being with Miller but he can’t let her go alone. They set out against the explicit orders of his superior who may or may not allow them to continue.Take two people with explosive chemistry who want nothing to do with each other for differing reasons forced together to search for a missing SEAL, a boss that could turn against them at any given moment, add in a valuable historical treasure that many want to find and you have an exciting, sexually tense and dangerous adventure, the Gravediggers meet Romancing the Stone. I loved this addition to the series. The characters were intriguing, the dialogue was entertaining, the plot was engaging and suspenseful, complex with twists and turns that grabbed my attention and didn’t let it go. The dual points of view gave us insight into the characters tumultuous states of mind. This was a great read, this reader is already looking forward to the next book.An advanced reading copy was obtained from the publisher via NetGalley.
    more
  • Mandy
    June 19, 2017
    Expanding the world of The Gravediggers. This novel gives the sidekick, Miller, a chance to shine as the female lead.
  • The Book Disciple (Samantha)
    June 20, 2017
    Gone to Dust is book 2 in the gravediggers series and focuses on Elias, the former Navy SEAL and Miller, the romance novelist. I really liked Miller in book 1 because she is quirky and spunky. She is also sarcastic and intelligent. Her and Elias had some sparks, but Elias leaves her high and dry after a makeout session that leaves her 1/2 undressed on her front porch. So, to say Miller loathes Elias is an understatement. Her hurt her pride and her libido so she is extra snarky when he is around Gone to Dust is book 2 in the gravediggers series and focuses on Elias, the former Navy SEAL and Miller, the romance novelist. I really liked Miller in book 1 because she is quirky and spunky. She is also sarcastic and intelligent. Her and Elias had some sparks, but Elias leaves her high and dry after a makeout session that leaves her 1/2 undressed on her front porch. So, to say Miller loathes Elias is an understatement. Her hurt her pride and her libido so she is extra snarky when he is around.Miller's parents were treasure hunters. They spent their lives looking for relics from King Solomon until they died in a plane crash. Justin, Miller's older brother, joined the Navy, but has now left the military and is continuing his parents research. Then Miller gets a package from Justin and her world changes. She has to save him, and to do that, she needs John Cena (seriously, that is who she keeps asking for!). Cena isn't available but the Gravediggers are.Gone to Dust reminded me a bit of Indiana Jones meets James Bond meets Get Smart. You have the history and treasure hunting aspect of Indiana Jones, which I always find fascinating. You have the spy stuff that is reminiscent of Bond, and the bumbling antics of Miller and Tess that remind me of Get Smart! Its an odd sort of blend, but it works. The Darkest Corner, book 1, was not what I expected. The suspense and danger were less heavily featured and the story was more like a Stephanie Plum book until the end. Its not a bad thing, but it was unexpected. So, going into Gone to Dust, I had a better idea of what to expect. I love the friendship and camaraderie between Tess and Miller. Books that include positive female friendships are always welcome!The relationship between Miller and Elias is really kind of a hate to love story. They are both attracted to each other on a physical level, but push the other away for various reasons. This leads to some great banter and some even more amazing monologues from Miller!While you could read this as a stand alone, you might be a little confused about the Gravediggers. Gone to Dust gives a little background, but not a lot so you might be a little confused.If you love an enemies to lovers trope with a dash of danger and a bit of treasure hunting, Gone to Dust will keep you entertained for a weekend read!  POV: 3rd Tears: no Trope: treasure hunting, secret identity Triggers: none Series/Standalone: stand alone within a series Cliffhanger: (view spoiler)[no (hide spoiler)] HEA: (view spoiler)[yes (hide spoiler)]East of Redemption by Molly E Lee, books by Susan Stoker, Laura Griffin, Cynthia Eden...then you will probably like Gone to Dust!  Gone to Dust  See full review on The Book Disciple
    more
Write a review