The Weight of Night
On most days, the wilderness gave me peace. But not tonight.In a land sculpted by glaciers, the forest is on fire. Thick smoke chokes the mountain air and casts an apocalyptic glow over the imposing peaks and vistas of Montana’s Glacier National Park. When firefighters are called in to dig firebreaks near the small town bordering the park, a crew member is shocked to unearth a shallow grave containing human remains.Park Police Officer Monty Harris is summoned to the site to conduct an excavation. But with an incendiary monster threatening to consume the town, Monty seeks help from Gretchen Larson, the county’s lead crime scene investigator.While the two work frantically to determine the true identity of the victim, a teenager suddenly disappears from one of the campgrounds in Glacier. Could the cases somehow be connected? As chances for recovery of the missing boy grow slimmer and the FBI finds only dead ends, Gretchen and Monty desperately race to fit all the pieces together while battling time, the elements, and their own unresolved inner conflicts.The Weight of Night is the latest novel in an award-winning series which “paints a moving picture of complex, flawed people fighting to make their way in a wilderness where little is black or white” (Publishers Weekly). It is a gripping tribute to the power of redemption set against one of America’s most majestic and unforgiving landscapes.

The Weight of Night Details

TitleThe Weight of Night
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherAtria Books
ISBN1501156233
ISBN-139781501156236
Number of pages416 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Environment, Nature, Suspense

Readers also enjoyed


The Weight of Night Review

  • Christa
    January 26, 2017
    Christine Carbo has quickly become a must read author for me. I loved her first two books, and this one was even better! She writes wonderful characters, engrossing storylines, and stunning settings.Her books really come alive for me, and I can't get through them fast enough.In this one, the Glacier National Park area is experiencing devastating fires, and Monty Harris is called upon when human bones are discovered. With help from crime scene investigator Gretchen Larson, the bones are excavated Christine Carbo has quickly become a must read author for me. I loved her first two books, and this one was even better! She writes wonderful characters, engrossing storylines, and stunning settings.Her books really come alive for me, and I can't get through them fast enough.In this one, the Glacier National Park area is experiencing devastating fires, and Monty Harris is called upon when human bones are discovered. With help from crime scene investigator Gretchen Larson, the bones are excavated. Soon they have another emergency to deal with - the disappearance of a teenager. As new information surfaces, Monty and Gretchen work to piece together what is happening in the area.Monty is still dealing with the disappearance of his best friend at age twelve in this one, and we also learn of Gretchen's heartbreaking past. These two characters who carry so much baggage are very sympathetic, and I wanted the best outcomes for them.Living in Montana, it is wonderful to me that Carbo gives such an accurate feel to the area. Her settings almost seem like another character.I am already eagerly awaiting the next installment featuring Monty Harris. Thanks to the publisher and NetGalley for providing an ARC in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Cheryl
    May 3, 2017
    "After the vanishing of a child, the web that family members build to sustain themselves is so fragile."This is the third book in the Glacier National Park mystery series. I've read the other two - THE WILD INSIDE and MORTAL FALL - and, while both of the prior books were good, this one is my favorite by far.There's a lot going on in this story and it is action-packed. First of all, a number of out-of-control wildfires threaten the park and its inhabitants, both human and animal. Then buried huma "After the vanishing of a child, the web that family members build to sustain themselves is so fragile."This is the third book in the Glacier National Park mystery series. I've read the other two - THE WILD INSIDE and MORTAL FALL - and, while both of the prior books were good, this one is my favorite by far.There's a lot going on in this story and it is action-packed. First of all, a number of out-of-control wildfires threaten the park and its inhabitants, both human and animal. Then buried human bones are discovered - of course in the path of one of the fires. And THEN a young boy disappears. Whew...Glacier Park Police Officer Monty Harris is working on getting fire and evacuation news out to people when he's called in to investigate a shallow grave and the bones that were accidentally discovered by one of the firefighters. He calls in Gretchen Larson, the county’s lead crime scene investigator, to help with the recovery of the skeleton. And things haven't settled down from that when a young camper goes missing.The story is told in alternating chapters by Monty and by Gretchen so we really get to know these two interesting characters in more depth. Both have back stories that really add to the story.I like this series a bunch. It reminds me, as I've written before, of the Anna Pigeon series by Nevada Barr that takes place at different national parks across the U.S. and also the Joe Pickett series by C.J. Box about a Wyoming game warden. All three of these series are strongly written, with in-depth character development and authors that have the ability to describe beautiful country so it's easy to visualize.I received this book from Atria Books through Net Galley in exchange for my unbiased review.
    more
  • Jen
    January 24, 2017
    I've read all three of Carbo's novels set in Glacier National Park and each one has been better than the last.The Weight of Night combines a gripping plot, compelling characters, and beautiful, descriptive prose. Both Monty Harris, a Park Police officer, and Gretchen Larson, crime scene investigator, were featured in Mortal Fall, Carbo's second novel. The narrative In The Weight of Night switches back and forth--from Gretchen's point of view to Monty's.The book begins with Gretchen's memories of I've read all three of Carbo's novels set in Glacier National Park and each one has been better than the last.The Weight of Night combines a gripping plot, compelling characters, and beautiful, descriptive prose. Both Monty Harris, a Park Police officer, and Gretchen Larson, crime scene investigator, were featured in Mortal Fall, Carbo's second novel. The narrative In The Weight of Night switches back and forth--from Gretchen's point of view to Monty's.The book begins with Gretchen's memories of Norway--evocative descriptions of her hometown and the fjord make visualization easy. She also, as early as the second paragraph, mentions her problems with sleepwalking, a REM behavior disorder that "takes sleepwalking to absurd levels." She awakes that morning to find that all the books on her bookshelves have been removed and stacked in rows. Although this is the first evidence of an episode in five years, Gretchen begins reviewing her strategies for dealing with her problem.Chapter 2 is from Monty's pov and his overview of the fire situation. He meets with the head of one of the fire crews and is present when the firefighters digging a fire break uncover buried skeletal remains. Gretchen Larson is called in for the excavation and preservation of the remains, but is forced to do a hurried job when the wind changes direction and an evacuation of the area is required.Before leaving, Gretchen's examination of the remains leads her to suspect the victim is a young male. Her remark stirs up memories of the disappearance of Monty's best friend when they were fourteen.In the midst of the evacuations necessitated by the separate fires that threaten large areas of the 1,583 square mile park, a boy is reported missing from his parents' camp site. Gretchen continues the investigation of the bones, and Monty works with the search for the missing boy.Tightly plotted, the narrative moves from Gretchen to Monty as they work on the two investigations, but there are also underlying stories being revealed. Although Gretchen was a secondary character in Mortal Fall, this novel largely belongs to her. Her REM behavior disorder is a fascinating element in the novel, her descriptions of her beloved Norway are evocative. That there is a tragedy in her life is revealed in the first chapter, and her gradual revelations are riveting.Highly Recommended.Read in Jan.; blog post scheduled for May 17, 2017.NetGalley/Atria BooksCrime/Suspense. June 6, 2017. Print length: 304 pages.
    more
  • Linda
    January 28, 2017
    If you are a fan of C. J. Box's, Joe Pickett, I urge you to try this wonderful series by Christine Carbo.This book has it all, wildfires in Glacier National Park, unearthed bones with signs of a possible homicide, and a little boy who has wandered away from his family's campsite. Join Park Police Officer Monty Harris and CSI Gretchen Larson as they race against the clock and Mother Nature to find a missing child and find out what evil lurks in this beautiful place while fighting their own demons If you are a fan of C. J. Box's, Joe Pickett, I urge you to try this wonderful series by Christine Carbo.This book has it all, wildfires in Glacier National Park, unearthed bones with signs of a possible homicide, and a little boy who has wandered away from his family's campsite. Join Park Police Officer Monty Harris and CSI Gretchen Larson as they race against the clock and Mother Nature to find a missing child and find out what evil lurks in this beautiful place while fighting their own demons and feelings for each other.This book is set to be published in June, 2017 so please grab each of the others in this series and see how much you too will enjoy.Highly recommended!
    more
  • Carrie Schmidt (Reading is My SuperPower)
    April 18, 2017
    4 1/2 stars TOP PICK
Write a review