Dating You / Hating You
All’s fair in love and work. The first standalone romance by New York Times and #1 international bestselling author Christina Lauren (Beautiful Bastard) is a sexy, compulsively readable romantic comedy that dives headlong into the thrill and doubt of modern love.Despite the odds against them from an embarrassing meet-awkward at a mutual friend’s Halloween party, Carter and Evie immediately hit it off. Even the realization that they’re both high-powered agents at competing firms in Hollywood isn’t enough to squash the fire.But when their two agencies merge—causing the pair to vie for the same position—all bets are off. What could have been a beautiful, blossoming romance turns into an all-out war of sabotage. Carter and Evie are both thirtysomething professionals—so why can’t they act like it?Can Carter stop trying to please everyone and see how their mutual boss is really playing the game? Can Evie put aside her competitive nature long enough to figure out what she really wants in life? Can their actor clients just be something close to human? Whether these two Hollywood love/hatebirds get the storybook Hollywood ending or just a dramedy of epic proportions, you will get to enjoy Christina Lauren’s heartfelt, raucous, and hilarious romance style at its finest.

Dating You / Hating You Details

TitleDating You / Hating You
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherGallery Books
ISBN150116581X
ISBN-139781501165818
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Adult, New Adult, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Adult Fiction, Fiction, Humor, Funny, Erotica

Dating You / Hating You Review

  • Cristina | CristiinaReads
    October 25, 2016
    GIVEAWAY COMING SOON!! ➳Another master piece is coming out way ladies and gents... ➳ARC kindly provided by publisher, in exchange for an honest review coming closer to release date... ➳Pre-Order Link:Amazon➳Follow Me On:Blog ♕ Instagram ♕ Facebook ♕ Twitter
    more
  • Amy (Foxy)
    May 16, 2017
    Dating You / Hating You is my first paperback read for the year. There's something about holding a book that makes it feel extra special. And the pretty cover was the icing on the cake. "Simply put, Evelyn Abbey is my former almost-girlfriend-turned-archnemesis-turned-tentative-ally whom I would now very much like to permanently seduce."If I had to pick one sentence from the book to sum it up that one would be it. Carter and Evie (or as Carter likes to call her, Evil) were an amazing couple whe Dating You / Hating You is my first paperback read for the year. There's something about holding a book that makes it feel extra special. And the pretty cover was the icing on the cake. "Simply put, Evelyn Abbey is my former almost-girlfriend-turned-archnemesis-turned-tentative-ally whom I would now very much like to permanently seduce."If I had to pick one sentence from the book to sum it up that one would be it. Carter and Evie (or as Carter likes to call her, Evil) were an amazing couple when they were together and fun to watch when they “battled” for the same position at work. These two were set up at a costume party by well-meaning friends. You know the saying about how all people in relationships want their single friends in a relationship too so they can do “couples” things together. This is one of those situations. Their mutual friends' plan is working UNTIL Carter and Evie’s companies merge and now they’re vying for the same position. All bets are off and things turn into one big circus. "And it hit me. I hate it there. I love what I do - I love you - but I hate P&D. It’s like trying to work in the middle of a dodgeball game." Gah, the things out of Carter’s mouth could make me melt. Not to say, there weren’t times when I was thinking what are you doing, Carter? But then Carter would open his mouth and say something sweet and I’d be back on his team. Dating You / Hating You is standalone contemporary romance set in the workplace. Fans of the amazing writing duo, Christina Lauren, are in for an entertaining read with this story. Enjoy this laugh out loud book. MUST READ✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦RELEASE DATE: June 6, 2017Pre-order | order: http://amzn.to/2pUdD4DSTANDALONE**Complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.** Follow Foxy Blogs at: Blog ♥ Twitter ♥ Instagram ♥ Facebook
    more
  • Jacqueline's Reads
    April 26, 2017
    4.25 Loving It / Awesome StarsEvery time I see a new book by these authors I get a tingle inside. I JUST LOVE everything they write. Dating You / Hating You is their newest standalone and I would describe it as witty, comical and a touch sassy. The thing I like about Dating You / Hating You is how well it’s written. My reading was effortless and at times it felt like I wasn’t even reading, I felt like I was a part of the story and going along for the ride. I love this low muss and low fuss kind 4.25 Loving It / Awesome StarsEvery time I see a new book by these authors I get a tingle inside. I JUST LOVE everything they write. Dating You / Hating You is their newest standalone and I would describe it as witty, comical and a touch sassy. The thing I like about Dating You / Hating You is how well it’s written. My reading was effortless and at times it felt like I wasn’t even reading, I felt like I was a part of the story and going along for the ride. I love this low muss and low fuss kind of reading. I also liked how well developed the story and the characters were. The writing wasn’t forced and the chemistry between the two main characters were off the charts. Carter and Evie meet through mutual friends at a party. They are also both Hollywood agents. I really liked that they are agents. I felt like it was a new and refreshing profession to read in a romance book. I’m not sure how realistic the storyline is because I know nothing about that world, but I felt like I learned a lot and it was just fun to read.The thing with Carter and Evie is that if you share the same profession with your significant other, there will be competition one way or another. Here’s the thing. It’s not like after they met they are at each other’s throats, there is a reason for the tension and I liked that. It didn’t come out of the blue. Everything that happens in the book happens for a reason and it made the book easy to read.Overall I really enjoyed this book and I felt like anyone could read it. It’s simply an imaginative entertaining piece of work. AN ARC was providedAMAZONReviewed as an ...
    more
  • TheCrazyWorldOfABookLover
    May 11, 2017
    4 / 4.5 Stars xx review to come!
  • Gabby
    December 21, 2016
    2.5 starsThank you to Gallery Books for sending me an ARC.Christina Lauren is one of my favorite authors of all time, so it kills me to say I didn't really enjoy this book. I see a lot of people already comparing this book to The Hating Game but the only thing this book has in common with The Hating Game is that it's an office romance that follows a male and female lead who are competing for the same position. This book follows Evie and Carter and they are both talent agents in Hollywood, trying 2.5 starsThank you to Gallery Books for sending me an ARC.Christina Lauren is one of my favorite authors of all time, so it kills me to say I didn't really enjoy this book. I see a lot of people already comparing this book to The Hating Game but the only thing this book has in common with The Hating Game is that it's an office romance that follows a male and female lead who are competing for the same position. This book follows Evie and Carter and they are both talent agents in Hollywood, trying to find the next big thing in Hollywood. This storyline should be right up my alley because I love reading books that take place in Hollywood and involve the movie scene, but this book ended up being kind of boring....I didn't really care for either Evie or Carter in this book, and I especially didn't care whether or not they ended up together. I didn't see the chemistry between them, which is shocking because Christina Lauren has written some of my favorite fictional couples ever, but this one just didn't do it for me. Also, this story is so much more focused on the work and the business an their jobs than on the actual romance itself - which made it incredibly boring for me at times. The way Evie and Carter would pick on each other was immature and childish, in an obnoxious way that got on my nerves. And this story is so repetitive, with their love/hate relationship for each other. It got frustrating after so many times.The one thing I really liked about this book is how it talks about women vs. men in the office and the sexism that happens all the time. It really dives deep into this topic, and at times I thought it got a little too political for a new adult romance, but I appreciated it nonetheless. The ending was very predictable, I saw it coming from a mile away, and it was cheesy. I'm just completely shocked that I didn't love this. I barely even liked it. I would recommend Christina Lauren's Wild Seasons series over this, or The Hating Game by Sally Thorne if you're looking for a good office romance. Unfortunately, this one just didn't do it for me. ________________________________Before reading:A STAND ALONE ROMANTIC COMEDY FROM CHRISTINA LAUREN??Also, this kind of sounds similar to The Hating Game and I loved that book so that makes me even more excited.
    more
  • Chris Carroll
    May 21, 2017
    What a great story! Copy received for review consideration~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ There's something about the way the writing duo Christina Lauren strikes a chord with me. From the very first books I read by them, I was hooked.They have the unique ability to create memorable fun, sarcastic, sexy, witty characters that seem to become a good friend.Dating You/Hating You is their first standalone. All of the other ones have been part of a series. So it was interesting to be introduced to new ch What a great story! Copy received for review consideration~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ There's something about the way the writing duo Christina Lauren strikes a chord with me. From the very first books I read by them, I was hooked.They have the unique ability to create memorable fun, sarcastic, sexy, witty characters that seem to become a good friend.Dating You/Hating You is their first standalone. All of the other ones have been part of a series. So it was interesting to be introduced to new characters and enjoy a new fresh story.This is a classic work romance with a love-hate relationship. With their usual banter and great humor, the authors capture the essence of the competition and the fire that burns underneath. With a sexist and creepy boss (it seems like I know him so very well) and some great practical jokes, this book is a delightful escape that reads like a dream.Never one to let me down, Dating You/Hating You by Christina Lauren has all the earmarks of the perfect classic contemporary romance.
    more
  • Carol
    May 31, 2017
    I acquired this eARC through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. I'm going to do a whole video review on this to fangirl more in depth about everything I loved about this, but just know for now that this definitely just came at me out of nowhere. I was not expecting to enjoy this as much as I did. Like this is a romance, but at the same time it is much more than that. I just really really really love this book!
    more
  • Sarah (Words With Sarah)
    March 28, 2017
    4.5 stars
  • Wendy'sThoughts
    April 25, 2017
    Twinkle, Twinkle Hollywood Agent Star...How I Wonder Who You Are...Are you the Charming, Well Accepted Carter...Moving and Grooving...Through all the obstacles put before him...OrAre you the Amazingly, Capable Evie...Against All Odds, Mover and Shaker...Willing to Fight The Good Fight She Must...Every Single Time...Twinkle, Twinkle Hollywood Agent Star...How I wonder Who You Are...Can these Stars Collide and Still Shine Bright... Dating You / Hating You - June 6th 2017For more Reviews, Free E-b Twinkle, Twinkle Hollywood Agent Star...How I Wonder Who You Are...Are you the Charming, Well Accepted Carter...Moving and Grooving...Through all the obstacles put before him...OrAre you the Amazingly, Capable Evie...Against All Odds, Mover and Shaker...Willing to Fight The Good Fight She Must...Every Single Time...Twinkle, Twinkle Hollywood Agent Star...How I wonder Who You Are...Can these Stars Collide and Still Shine Bright... Dating You / Hating You - June 6th 2017For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • Jessica (Angie & Jessica's Dreamy Reads)
    March 24, 2017
    And now for something completely different...In Dating You/Hating You, my all-time favorite writing duo delivers a standalone romance unlike anything else they've written to date. With their signature sharp wit and a storyline that I adored, Christina Lauren shakes things up with Carter and Evie's love story. Lust and attraction war with professional ambition to make for a storyline bursting with sexual tension, sharp dialogue, and tenuous emotions that held me captive. This isn't your quintesse And now for something completely different...In Dating You/Hating You, my all-time favorite writing duo delivers a standalone romance unlike anything else they've written to date. With their signature sharp wit and a storyline that I adored, Christina Lauren shakes things up with Carter and Evie's love story. Lust and attraction war with professional ambition to make for a storyline bursting with sexual tension, sharp dialogue, and tenuous emotions that held me captive. This isn't your quintessential enemies to lovers office romance. This is a story about two Hollywood talent agents who connect right away, feel an intense attraction immediately, and have steaming chemistry right out of the gate... until everything comes crashing down. When their companies merge, Carter and Evie find themselves vying for the same position, and suddenly their professional goals threaten any romantic potential before it even has a chance to begin. It's an emotional gut punch witnessing the crumbling of what might have been. But their quiet longing and their mutual internal conflict between falling in love and climbing the professional ladder make for a romance rife with humor and heartache, workplace sparring and a steamy push and pull. I couldn't get enough.This story is light and fun, sexy and maddeningly tumultuous. An office romance rife with wickedly sharp banter and ruthless sabotage, this story had me both smiling from ear to ear and knotted with nerves. But Christina Lauren also weaves this lighthearted romance novel with a profound message about the disparities between men and women in the workplace. This enemies to lovers romance hit me in all the right places with how sensual and snarky, sweet and salty it was. But it kicked me right in the gut with a heavy reminder of how much harder women have to work to get paid the same, how women are often judged more on what they wear than what they have to say. Dating You/Hating You is a delightfully smart story, a romance as sweet and heartwarming as the professional competition is ruthless, a refreshing change of pace from anything this duo has ever delivered before. The romance between Carter and Evie is as unpredictable as the dramatic plot twists and I enjoyed every bit of it.
    more
  • Jaime Arkin
    April 26, 2017
    This sounds ALOT like The Hating Game by Sally Thorne... but I might give it a try. Still on the fence.
  • Stephanie
    December 18, 2016
    This sounds a lot like The Hating Game by Sally Thorne.
  • Julie Zantopoulos
    May 17, 2017
    I've never read a Christina Lauren book before so when I won this book from Gallery Books in a Goodreads Giveaway, I was super excited. I am not a massive contemporary reader but I made May Contemporary May, so I added this one to my TBR happily. I enjoyed the book, a 3 star rating for me is a book that I definitely enjoyed, but I had my issues with it as well. Let's start with the positives though, shall we?Pros:* Evie is a 30s something career woman who doesn't get lose focus or priorities jus I've never read a Christina Lauren book before so when I won this book from Gallery Books in a Goodreads Giveaway, I was super excited. I am not a massive contemporary reader but I made May Contemporary May, so I added this one to my TBR happily. I enjoyed the book, a 3 star rating for me is a book that I definitely enjoyed, but I had my issues with it as well. Let's start with the positives though, shall we?Pros:* Evie is a 30s something career woman who doesn't get lose focus or priorities just because a cute guy likes her.* There's an age difference where Evie is older than Carter and it's not mentioned negatively!* Evie has a rivalry with another woman and consciously mentions not wanting to be a woman who puts other women down or pits them against each other. I LOVED that! * Carter is respectful, he always gets consent, there's a sexy use of condoms, and he is anti-boys club in a male driven industry. * Did I mention that Carter is pretty much amazing? * There's a distinct lack of focus on what Evie looks like and a lot of mention of how sexy Carter is...which is an interesting twist. * I'm ALL for give/take but it's rare to see writers not focusing on male satisfaction during sex but there's a definite leaning towards Evie's pleasure over Carter's. *There are some seriously funny lines/moments in this book. Quirky and adorable, even. Where it fell flat:* I don't care about what being a talent agent entails. There was so much focus on their careers and how the job works that I just didn't care about.* In fact, there was a distinct lack of character backstory or depth. You only ever see Carter outside of work and even that was pretty flat. Evie is only ever outside of work with friends but always discussing work things. It made her a bit unlikeable. * I ended up rooting for the couple but honestly, as people and characters, I was entirely uninvested in their lives. I just didn't care about them much. * This book utilizes the overused miscommunication tool to cause drama/conflict and that drives me insane. * The build up to them hooking up was SO not angsty. It wasn't hate to love...it was just spark...annoyance, hate, and then BAM. There was no real smolder with these guys for me. I'm really excited to try more by these authors and see how this book compares to their other work. I'm really glad that I got to read this ARC.
    more
  • Danielle
    December 14, 2016
    This sounds freakin fabulous.
  • Kim
    May 21, 2017
    With this writing duo I have come to expect witty banter, chemistry, and some angst. This stand-alone is no exception. FULL REVIEW T COME CLOSER TO RELEASEI was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Christine (Shh Moms Reading)
    May 20, 2017
    With laugh out loud humor, bantering and antics that can't be beat, the best duo (EVER!) is back with a story of two competing Hollywood agents and their battle to save their jobs while fighting for what matters the most—love. Dating You/Hating You has it all—sex appeal, amazing dialogue and a story filled with such longing that you will immediately become so addicted that you won't be able to put the book down!Full dual review with my blog partner to come!
    more
  • Arielle ⭐ Cursebreaker ⭐
    May 6, 2017
    Huge thank you to Gallery Books, NetGalley, and Christina Lauren for giving me the opportunity to read this eARC! The following will be an open and honest review.You guys....I have seriously come to the conclusion that I will love every single thing that these two lovely ladies put out. I first read and loved the Wild Seasons books and then quickly moved onto the Beautiful Bastard series which I also devoured. They will never cease to make you laugh, cry, and blush profusely. I definitely enjoye Huge thank you to Gallery Books, NetGalley, and Christina Lauren for giving me the opportunity to read this eARC! The following will be an open and honest review.You guys....I have seriously come to the conclusion that I will love every single thing that these two lovely ladies put out. I first read and loved the Wild Seasons books and then quickly moved onto the Beautiful Bastard series which I also devoured. They will never cease to make you laugh, cry, and blush profusely. I definitely enjoyed this one in particular as it had some angst in the form both MCs, Carter and Evie (dubbed Evil), fighting for the same position at their merged company. It was an interesting take on the hating to loving trope because they had met BEFORE the chaos started and really hit it off. So that spark was there the entire time, even while the fighting commenced. Their prank war was HILARIOUS. I have not laughed out loud so many times at a book in quite awhile which was a relief after the emotional roller coaster that was ACOWAR. I'll be adding some of my favorite quotes once the book comes out but just know that I HIGHLY recommend--whether or not you've read anything by them or not, this one is a keeper.
    more
  • Angy Potter - Collector of Book Boyfriends
    March 21, 2017
    5 Million StarsImagine Beautiful Bastard + Tangled but with different plots and less bastard people hahahhaThe best of the best!!!Full review to come!!
  • Alisa
    March 18, 2017
    3.5 stars Evie and Carter meet at a party of mutual friends. They are immediately attracted to one another but they're not sure they will be able to date. Both are celebrity agents in Hollywood and their jobs are time consuming and demanding. The two put aside their concerns and go on one fantastic and sexy date. They are both thinking this may end up going somewhere when they find out they're going to not only be co-workers but will be competing for the same job. What follows is a series of bad 3.5 stars Evie and Carter meet at a party of mutual friends. They are immediately attracted to one another but they're not sure they will be able to date. Both are celebrity agents in Hollywood and their jobs are time consuming and demanding. The two put aside their concerns and go on one fantastic and sexy date. They are both thinking this may end up going somewhere when they find out they're going to not only be co-workers but will be competing for the same job. What follows is a series of bad behaviors and unresolved sexual tension.I enjoyed the overall plot and both of the main characters. The book is told from both of their points of view so it helps you to understand why each of them do they things they do and make the decisions they make. Some of the things they do to each other were laugh out loud funny. My only complaint really is that I didn't feel a big romantic connection between the two of them. I liked them both as individuals but I wasn't necessarily rooting for them to get together. I was more interested in how they were going to deal with the work situation and their horrible boss. There a host of side characters and all of them were well written and they enhanced the story but did not overwhelm it. Carter's friend Michael Christopher was especially entertaining. I've read this is going to be a standalone. I don't know if that's true or not. I kind of hope not because Carter's brother Jonah would be a great MC of his own book.On a more serious note, I appreciated the look the author's take in regards to workplace harassment and how there are often different rules in place for male employees than females ones. (It should be noted Carter is not the harasser and a big part of the plot is him becoming aware of it and finding his place in standing up for his female co-workers).While I did enjoy this there was something missing that would make it a great read. I liked it but didn't love it. This is the first time I've actually read a book by this author. All the other books of theirs I've done on audio. I think that is a great modem for their books that are told by both MC's. They use both a guy and girl narrator and it really draws me in. I think that's what threw me off a bit and made me not love this book as much as I have the other books of theirs I have read. Still......a good read and one I'd recommend.**ARC received in exchange for an honest review**
    more
  • Gretchen (About That Story)
    March 26, 2017
    This was so entertaining! There are so many laugh-out-loud moments, a lot of ups and downs, and drama and tension mixed in. I loved watching Carter and Evie navigate their relationship through it all. Seriously fun read!Full review to come.Complimentary copy received for honest review.
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    November 3, 2016
    ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡
  • Ginger at GReadsBooks.com
    April 9, 2017
    This is something different for Christina Lauren, but it still has that irresistible witty banter I love between two characters. Throw in the fast-paced, glamorous life of a Hollywood agent & that push/pull factor this writing duo excels so well at, & you've got yourself a five-star read!
    more
  • Ambur
    May 30, 2017
    Well I had to take a pause while reading this one because of some blog tours, but I'm so glad that I was able to get back to DATING YOU / HATING YOU! I definitely didn't want to stop reading either times that I picked it up and it was constantly making me chuckle, gasp, grin, and smirk. While it wasn't my favourite Christina Lauren book, and I'd probably give it a 4.5 rather than a 5 (but I love this writing duo so I'm always going to round up for them :P), I did love Evie and Carter and their s Well I had to take a pause while reading this one because of some blog tours, but I'm so glad that I was able to get back to DATING YOU / HATING YOU! I definitely didn't want to stop reading either times that I picked it up and it was constantly making me chuckle, gasp, grin, and smirk. While it wasn't my favourite Christina Lauren book, and I'd probably give it a 4.5 rather than a 5 (but I love this writing duo so I'm always going to round up for them :P), I did love Evie and Carter and their story was fantastic! The things that held me back for this one honestly had to do with the fact that I've loved their Beautiful series and Wild Seasons series so much. This is the only place I'd take off that half a star. Both series have a wide cast and the further you get into the series, the more you love all of the characters and that's what I missed here. The characters were all fantastic and vibrant and I loved them, but I would've loved more of them! I wanted more of Steph, Michael and their daughter, Morgan. I wanted more Amelia and Daryl...and maybe to know more about Eric, too. I think I've just been spoiled by their other books that way or maybe they're so skilled at writing compelling side characters that I want all that I can get. HahaAs far as the romance goes, it wasn't quite what I expected actually. I was expecting a dynamic similar to Beautiful Bastard, but that's not even close. Evie and Carter had fantastic chemistry. They did great banter, had some adorkable flirtations going on, and were just downright amazing together. I was expecting them to have a hate-to-love type story but it was more new fledging lovers to reluctant rivals, which I actually really enjoyed. It made their dynamics really interested and I loved seeing them come together. ;)Overall, I absolutely adored this romance and while I could've done with more moments with the side characters, I was extremely happy with Evie and Carter as a couple!!!Full review to come...it'll probably be pretty similar to this, but with some editing when I'm not about to fall asleep. :p
    more
  • Chanpreet
    May 15, 2017
    I've just finished this book and I'm a little shaky and on edge. I don't know if it's because of the coffee I had this morning or the adrenaline flowing while I was reading, but if I don't get my thoughts out now, they aren't going to be 100% authentic. I will have the benefit of time to process, but I can always come back and add any nuances or feelings I miss, but I'm getting off track.I'll be honest, I haven't read a Christina Lauren book in some time. These ladies are fantastic writers, but I've just finished this book and I'm a little shaky and on edge. I don't know if it's because of the coffee I had this morning or the adrenaline flowing while I was reading, but if I don't get my thoughts out now, they aren't going to be 100% authentic. I will have the benefit of time to process, but I can always come back and add any nuances or feelings I miss, but I'm getting off track.I'll be honest, I haven't read a Christina Lauren book in some time. These ladies are fantastic writers, but with so much time in between their releases, I find myself falling out of a series and then not finding my way back, or re-reading the books from their series that just do it for me EVERY. SINGLE. TIME (Beautiful Bastard & Beautiful Player). And I know I'm missing out on some other amazing stories, and hopefully I'll find my way to them. But I knew, from just looking at this cover and then reading the blurb, this book was going to be something special and amazing. And I was right. One thing Christina Lauren write amazingly well is chemistry and attraction. Even when you feel like other emotions and feelings have supplanted what was once prominent and glaring, they still manage to keep a connection going that just gets stronger with each word, action, and page turned. Evie and Carter almost set fire to the pages. And it's wonderful to read and see them dance around whatever they might be feeling, but then when things change at work, it really throws a wrench into what was developing between them. And even though I liked both of them a lot, I wanted both of them to emerge victorious from the gauntlet thrown at them, which rarely happens in real life, so thank goodness this was fiction because it made a HEA of even a HFN a possibility. But I really enjoyed seeing them try and work through their budding rivalry and attraction to get to something real. Christina Lauren did a fantastic job at writing a slow burner.I absolutely love Evie. She works hard, loves what she does, and plays fair for the most part. She's a straight-shooter in a world where it's hard to be one. And Carter? I could totally see why every woman and even men in that office were swooning over him. I mean he's charming and personable, and a quick study. He also has an interesting set of ethics that for the most part is on the up and up. And I just could not get enough of those two! Together, or separate, I loved reading about them. Even more so when they were with their friends. I know their fictional, but both Evie and Carter had a great set of friends, who were willing to be the voices of reason when needed, back up, or in cahoots for shenanigans. Besides adoring most of the characters in this book, I absolutely hands down loved this story. It's not just about two people who have a connection outside of work having to deal with vying for the same job, but it's also about the attitudes many of the people who make the movies and TV shows we see in real life have. I won't lie, it was hard reading even in a book, how some women are treated by their counterparts, male and female. And even has hard to see how women dealt with it. I personally am a huge fan of my romance having a dash or more of realism. It can still be an escape, but also eye-opening. Kudos to Christina Lauren for giving me some gravitas with my romance, and hopefully to a lot of other people as well. And hats off to them at writing a great slow-burn romance as well. I do hope to see more books featuring some of the characters I met in this book, like Daryl, Amelia, Rose, and Eric, but this book has just reminded me why I love Christina Lauren's books and I am super excited about the books they have coming out next!
    more
  • Kathy (My Nook Books and More)
    May 8, 2017
    Dating You / Hating You is a sexy and funny romance. I loved Evie and Carter!Evie and Carter are Hollywood talent agents and workaholics. Working at competing agencies should make them instant enemies but sparks fly and they take a chance on their attraction. That is until their agencies merge and change their chemistry to awkwardness. As they vie for the same position it turns to a war that puts an end to their romance. But can they ignore their intense attraction to save their jobs? You’ll hav Dating You / Hating You is a sexy and funny romance. I loved Evie and Carter!Evie and Carter are Hollywood talent agents and workaholics. Working at competing agencies should make them instant enemies but sparks fly and they take a chance on their attraction. That is until their agencies merge and change their chemistry to awkwardness. As they vie for the same position it turns to a war that puts an end to their romance. But can they ignore their intense attraction to save their jobs? You’ll have to read Dating You / Hating You to find out (and trust me you don’t want to miss this)!If you’ve never read a book from Christina Lauren you are in for a treat. Dating You / Hating You has steamy romance and witty banter. I could not put this book down! I thought the story had the right combination of tense drama and hilarious scenes. Evie and Carter as enemies lead to hilarious pranks and as lovers there were hot sex scenes. Along the way was a lovable cast of supporting characters (Amelia, Daryl, Michael Christopher and Steph). I had a great time reading this book and can’t wait to read more from these authors. I recommend this to fans of romantic comedies.I received this book as a member of the XOXperts, XOXO After Dark’s official street team, in exchange for an honest review. Visit XOXOAfterDark.com for the best in romance, urban fantasy and women’s fiction.
    more
  • Desirae (Dee)
    May 31, 2017
    *arc provided for an honest and unbias review*I feel like I have a sour taste in my mouth when I say this but I did not like this book. It was not the level of perfection you expect from the writing duo Christina Lauren. it lacks the heat, which isn't really an issue, but the story drug on and at a lot of times was boring. and I think that may be the first time I've ever said that about a CL book. I mean it didn't totally miss the heat... there was moments like this. . “Holy shit.” I make some g *arc provided for an honest and unbias review*I feel like I have a sour taste in my mouth when I say this but I did not like this book. It was not the level of perfection you expect from the writing duo Christina Lauren. it lacks the heat, which isn't really an issue, but the story drug on and at a lot of times was boring. and I think that may be the first time I've ever said that about a CL book. I mean it didn't totally miss the heat... there was moments like this. . “Holy shit.” I make some garbled sound of agreement, unable to complete the connection between my brain and words. “I think I just found religion.”I found many times during the book that I just started skimming. so much of the story line felt a lot like fluff and I just didn't care about whatever was being provided. I just read the parts where the characters talked. even that started to get a little old. you can only jump back and forth between hating someone and wanting someone so many times before I lose interest. I did however love the school yard pranks they played on each other. they did make for good funnies. the dick boss though, that was one that kept making me so mad. frustrated. not only because of the truth of it, but because it was never ending and no one ever stood up for Evie. I don't know. that just bother me.
    more
  • Natasha at Book Baristas
    March 28, 2017
    looovveelyyy!!! more words to come!
  • Amanda D.
    March 11, 2017
    For right now, all I can say is that I think this might be my favorite CLo book yet.
  • Kelly
    April 7, 2017
    AHHHH, I won a Goodreads giveaway for this book! Can't wait until it arrives in the mail.
  • Miss Rail
    April 9, 2017
    The blurb sound like "The Hating Game" by Sally Thorne...I really hope the actual book will not have that same vibe...After the release in June, I'll wait for reviews of people who've read "The hating game" and I'll not get mad before that...@_@
Write a review