The Reluctant Queen (The Queens of Renthia, #2)
Everything has a spirit: the willow tree with leaves that kiss the pond, the stream that feeds the river, the wind that exhales fresh snow . . . And those spirits want to kill you.It’s the first lesson that every Renthian learns. Not long ago, Daleina used her strength and skill to survive those spirits and assume the royal throne. Since then, the new queen has kept the peace and protected the humans of her land. But now for all her power, she is hiding a terrible secret: she is dying. And if she leaves the world before a new heir is ready, the spirits that inhabit her beloved realm will run wild, destroying her cities and slaughtering her people. Naelin is one such person, and she couldn’t be further removed from the Queen—and she wouldn’t have it any other way. Her world is her two children, her husband, and the remote village tucked deep in the forest that is her home, and that’s all she needs. But when Ven, the Queens champion, passes through the village, Naelin’s ambitious husband proudly tells him of his wife’s ability to control spirits—magic that Naelin fervently denies. She knows that if the truth of her abilities is known, it will bring only death and separation from those she loves.But Ven has a single task: to find the best possible candidate to protect the people of Aratay. He did it once when he discovered Daleina, and he’s certain he’s done it again. Yet for all his appeals to duty, Naelin is a mother, and she knows her duty is to her children first and foremost. Only as the Queen’s power begins to wane and the spirits become emboldened—even as ominous rumors trickle down from the north—does she realize that the best way to keep her son and daughter safe is to risk everything. Sarah Beth Durst established a place of dark wonder in The Queen of Blood, and now the stakes are even higher as the threat to the Queen and her people grows both from within and beyond the borders of Aratay in this riveting second novel of the Queens of Renthia series.

The Reluctant Queen (The Queens of Renthia, #2) Details

TitleThe Reluctant Queen (The Queens of Renthia, #2)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 4th, 2017
PublisherHarper Voyager
ISBN006241335X
ISBN-139780062413352
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

The Reluctant Queen (The Queens of Renthia, #2) Review

  • Taylor Robinson
    December 31, 2016
    I really, really need this. Like, RIGHT NOW.
  • Lexie
    March 2, 2017
    We got a bit til this comes out so I'll just say these things:- what's more important, protecting your family with your power or protecting the world so they are safe?- what price do family ties take? - Is there a moral right when both sides are struggling equally?- there is always a third option. the world is not black and white, the world is not made of such simplistic categories. Always find the third option that works best for you.
    more
  • Idil
    October 18, 2016
    As long as Merecot is in this one, I'm happy.
  • Cassie James
    September 20, 2016
    Thanks to the publisher for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review, This doesn't in any way influence my thoughts and opinion on it. The Reluctant Queen is one of my most anticipated reads of 2017. I have been looking forward to it ever since the explosive ending of The Queen of Blood. I was not at all disappointed by it. The writing, style, characters and content is just as lush and imaginative as that of it's predecessor. From the very beginning, it is engrossing and engaging. It b Thanks to the publisher for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review, This doesn't in any way influence my thoughts and opinion on it. The Reluctant Queen is one of my most anticipated reads of 2017. I have been looking forward to it ever since the explosive ending of The Queen of Blood. I was not at all disappointed by it. The writing, style, characters and content is just as lush and imaginative as that of it's predecessor. From the very beginning, it is engrossing and engaging. It begins months after the ending of The Queen of Blood. Daleina is now Queen and ruling the land is no easy feat with the many obstacles in the way. As Queen, especially one who has many enemies who'd love to see her dead, She set about proving her formidability. This leads to her performing a great feat that demands tight control over the spirits. The spirits are very interesting creatures, Their savagery, power and hatred has always fascinated me (though not the fact that they could be murdering little monsters at times). Control over them is quite taxing as Daleina comes to find out despite her enhanced power. Unfortunately, Daleina is diagnosed with the False Death an incurable ailment that is detrimental to her health and life. Handling the spirits require a lot of will, power and control which can further weaken her state of health. The Queen's champion are forced to hasten up their search for Heir Candidates. Salvation once more comes from the hand of the ever reliable Ven who decides not to damn the inexperienced younglings at the Academies and find a candidate the old fashioned way, wandering aimlessly into towns and villages hoping for a miracle to present itself. This much needed miracle comes in the form of a caring mother called Naelin whose power over many spirits makes her very valuable. But Naelin is reluctant to be a Candidate because of the short life span the job often causes. Not wanting to leave her children motherless, she resisted. One thing I simply adore about this series is the writing, It's just so vivid it could be a movie. The words are woven together smoothly and expertly in a way that makes the books a masterpiece. Naelin is a great character, Everything about her is just astonishing. From her adorable Mama Bear characteristics to her earth shattering powers (literally) to her strength and vulnerability, You just can't help but admire her. Her transformation from an untrained powerful woman to who she's meant to be is one you don't want to miss. Her trials from the beginning will make you feel for her and cheer for her. Her storyline is just as fascinating as that of Daleina's. All the characters have various storylines that made the book altogether a great read. The many point of views made it more comprehensive. It's so easy to devour the pages because of how easy it flows. This series is definitely one of the best the fantasy genre has to offer. It has a bit of just about everything, action, adventure, monsters, magic, romance, twists and turns, absorbing storyline and superb characters. The Reluctant Queen is undoubtedly epic and another worthy installment in the amazing series. Towards the ending, a lot of things happened. A shocking betrayal and Many twists and turns, some I saw coming and some I couldn't. It all made a satisfying ending for the book especially the reappearance of Queen Merecot who was up to no good as usual. I can't wait for the next book in this amazing series, Sarah Beth Durst has woven an amazing world with characters who you won't wat to let go of. The Reluctant Queen is one book you don't want to miss, venturing once again into Aratay is one journey you're going to love.P.S: Bayn should win the award for best pet/guard/companion of the year, He's just so freaking lovable.P.P.S: There's something romantic going on between Ven and Naelin and it's amazing, deep and sensual. Can't wait to see what the future has in store for those two.
    more
  • Jennifer Kelley
    January 10, 2017
    Better than the first!
  • Laura Valentine
    January 27, 2017
    Decent sequel with a switch in main character but very similar in structure to the first book. Was hoping for something more/different.
  • Jenelle
    January 23, 2017
    ****Thanks to Edelweiss for an advanced copy of this title****Review to come closer to release day.
  • Crystal (Kris)
    January 20, 2017
    The MC from the first book is dying? We have a new MC? This is so very interesting. Looking forward to this one!
  • Louissha Murel
    April 9, 2017
    When you learn that our little girl, Daleina, is dying:I don't know if I will still read this even though I added it to"to read" shelf. I'm not hating but I just can't understand authors who do this. We loved Daleina in book one, we followed her adventures, then in the next book she is being replaced. She's dying.I don't even know. I was hoping that the whole series will be about her (how sell fight those spirits, or wars, plots against her, etc.) and Ven. I'm not used to seeing Ven training som When you learn that our little girl, Daleina, is dying:I don't know if I will still read this even though I added it to"to read" shelf. I'm not hating but I just can't understand authors who do this. We loved Daleina in book one, we followed her adventures, then in the next book she is being replaced. She's dying.I don't even know. I was hoping that the whole series will be about her (how sell fight those spirits, or wars, plots against her, etc.) and Ven. I'm not used to seeing Ven training somebody else! I hope I'll not be disappointed if I do read the book.
    more
  • Kristen O'Daly
    March 25, 2017
    4.5 Great series
  • Jessica
    April 25, 2017
    I didn't know what to except when I went into this one. You guys know that for the most part I don't read book synopsis. I just dive right into the story. Especially when its books to series that I die hard loved. This one was one of those. I started reading not knowing what the story was really about and man was it a doozy!! This one pick up 6 months after the events of book one and let me tell you man you are in for the time of your life! This book made me feel a range of emotions from crying, I didn't know what to except when I went into this one. You guys know that for the most part I don't read book synopsis. I just dive right into the story. Especially when its books to series that I die hard loved. This one was one of those. I started reading not knowing what the story was really about and man was it a doozy!! This one pick up 6 months after the events of book one and let me tell you man you are in for the time of your life! This book made me feel a range of emotions from crying, to laughing, to just plain not being able to form words out of my mouth. I had nothing about what twist happened. I didn't see it coming and well I DIDNT SEE IT COMING!!! It was something that I wouldn't have guessed if you would have given me the option! This book was just so mind blowing! We learn so much more about the world of Renthia in this story as well as make new friends. Ok so I just read the synopsis of the book so I know what I can and cannot tell you. And as you guessed that synopsis really GIVES A LOT AWAY!! If you haven't read DONT just don't its better to be surprised!! Ok so the plot for this one centers around our beloved Queen Daleina finding out that she is dying from I have to say a really interesting disease. (Cant delve into that its a spoiler!) But anyway on goes the search to find a new heir! And of course our leading Champion Ven finds one who doesn't want to be found. I have to say that I really loved that this new person was not a child. She was a grown woman. I asked the author and both Naelin and Ven are around their mid 30's or so. I really loved their romance in this one and hope that it expands in book three. We find out other things in this story as well. The ending was out of this world and that I pretty much have called since the beginning. It centers around Byan I won't say more than that. But I CALLED IT!! I call dibs on that one!! The world building is lush with even more spirits and descriptions. I hope that in book three we journey to new lands. This was a wonderful continuing story about a world that I slightly wish I lived in. As long as I well didn't get torn apart by spirits cause that would be no fun. I can't wait for the next book to come out and I can't wait for everyone to read this one. Book in a PinchMagic, Romance, Twists, and Betrayal! Go Into This One Knowing Expect the unexpected!
    more
  • Regina
    April 21, 2017
    I want to read this......but like, the idea of Daleina dying puts me off since I've gotten so attached to her from Book 1. Dally goes through hell and survives everything from watching her friends get slaughtered to become Queen. And the author plans to off her in favor of a new protagonist just like that? I'll wait to see what the reviews will say but I think I might opt out of this one. I just can't bear the idea that Daleina might die already after being crowned not too long ago. I was hoping I want to read this......but like, the idea of Daleina dying puts me off since I've gotten so attached to her from Book 1. Dally goes through hell and survives everything from watching her friends get slaughtered to become Queen. And the author plans to off her in favor of a new protagonist just like that? I'll wait to see what the reviews will say but I think I might opt out of this one. I just can't bear the idea that Daleina might die already after being crowned not too long ago. I was hoping to see her grow into her role as Queen and handling her powers in the unique way she always has. Plus I wanted her to be strong when meeting Merecot again, not dying!
    more
  • Angelique The Gilded Pages
    April 23, 2017
    Wow. This was even better than the first one. Review to come.
  • kerrycat
    April 23, 2017
    RTBR review to come
Write a review