Madame Zero
From one of the most accomplished British writers working today, the Man Booker Prize-shortlisted author of The Wolf Border, comes a unique and arresting collection of short fiction that is both disturbing and dazzling.Sarah Hall has been hailed as "one of the most significant and exciting of Britain’s young novelists" (The Guardian), a writer whose "intelligence and ambition are thrilling to behold" (BookForum). Her work has been acclaimed as "amazing . . . terrific and original" (Washington Post). In this collection of nine works of short fiction, she uses her piercing insight to plumb the depth of the female experience and the human soul.A husband’s wife transforms into a vulpine in "Mrs. Fox," winner of the BBC Short Story Prize. In "Case Study 2, " A social worker struggles with a foster child raised in a commune. A new mother runs into an old lover in "Luxury Hour." In incandescent prose, full of rich observations and striking clarity, Hall has composed nine wholly original pieces—works of fiction that will resonate long after the final page is turned.

Madame Zero Details

TitleMadame Zero
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherCustom House
ISBN0062657089
ISBN-139780062657084
Number of pages224 pages
Rating
GenreShort Stories, Fiction, Adult

Madame Zero Review

  • Diane S ☔
    June 3, 2017
    3.5 review to follow.
  • Victoria (Eve's Alexandria)
    July 28, 2017
    I had read two of the stories in this collection before, Mrs Fox and Evie, both of which are fizzing with sexual animal energy (although the latter is terrifyingly disturbing) and quite brilliant. The rest of the stories were excellent, with not a bad apple amongst them. My favourites were Later, His Ghost, in which a young man fights the elements in a dystopian future, and Goodnight Nobody, in which a little girl sets off to take her mum's forgotten sandwiches to her work. Highly recommended, a I had read two of the stories in this collection before, Mrs Fox and Evie, both of which are fizzing with sexual animal energy (although the latter is terrifyingly disturbing) and quite brilliant. The rest of the stories were excellent, with not a bad apple amongst them. My favourites were Later, His Ghost, in which a young man fights the elements in a dystopian future, and Goodnight Nobody, in which a little girl sets off to take her mum's forgotten sandwiches to her work. Highly recommended, as with all Hall's work.
    more
  • Latkins
    April 11, 2017
    I've read and enjoyed a few of Sarah Hall's novels, but, if anything, I think the short format suits her more. These are darkly entertaining tales of wilderness, wildness and the wild within - from a husband whose wife transforms into a fox, to a man fighting for survival in a future age when climate change has caused winds that have devastated the country (this one was set in Norwich, where I live - looking out the window now I can just imagine it!), to a girl in the 1980s contemplating the kil I've read and enjoyed a few of Sarah Hall's novels, but, if anything, I think the short format suits her more. These are darkly entertaining tales of wilderness, wildness and the wild within - from a husband whose wife transforms into a fox, to a man fighting for survival in a future age when climate change has caused winds that have devastated the country (this one was set in Norwich, where I live - looking out the window now I can just imagine it!), to a girl in the 1980s contemplating the killing of a neighbour's baby by a dog. I thoroughly enjoyed these stories, they are thought-provoking but easy to read, and they make you want to bring some animalistic wildness into life!
    more
  • Sue Williams
    June 28, 2017
    The title certainly doesn't give anything away. Madame Zero is a book of short stories, all quite different from each other. I enjoyed them all but my favorites were Mrs. Fox and also Later His Ghost. The problem I have with short stories is that I frequently want them to go on. My two favorites were no exception. I guess I will just have to craft a little more of each story for myself.I won this book from a Goodreads Giveaway.tht
    more
  • David
    July 14, 2017
    2.5 stars, a rating I feel slightly guilty about. I read Hall's first novel Haweswater the week it was published and have read all her subsequent books. I think she, along with Jon McGregor, is one of the best British writers of her (my) generation, and I credit her book The Beautiful Indifference with igniting my passion for short stories and giving me the habit of reading a short story every morning for the past five and a half years. But occasionally I just don't connect with her writing - I 2.5 stars, a rating I feel slightly guilty about. I read Hall's first novel Haweswater the week it was published and have read all her subsequent books. I think she, along with Jon McGregor, is one of the best British writers of her (my) generation, and I credit her book The Beautiful Indifference with igniting my passion for short stories and giving me the habit of reading a short story every morning for the past five and a half years. But occasionally I just don't connect with her writing - I wasn't a fan of How to Paint a Dead Man and I had a similar reaction to her new collection. I liked a few of the stories, didn't love any of them - I even did something I never normally do with a short story: I put them down mid-story and finished them the next day.
    more
  • Jenny Patton
    July 22, 2017
    This is a tricky one for me to review. Out of 9 stories I really only cared for 3. So since most of the stories just didn't do it for me, I feel like I have to rate this collection 2/5. I feel bad for giving such a low rating because there isn't a whole lot that I would consider wrong about this collection, just that it didn't really appeal to me personally. I felt that there was meant to be deeper meanings to a lot of Hall's stories but I did not have it in me to sit and ponder it while reading This is a tricky one for me to review. Out of 9 stories I really only cared for 3. So since most of the stories just didn't do it for me, I feel like I have to rate this collection 2/5. I feel bad for giving such a low rating because there isn't a whole lot that I would consider wrong about this collection, just that it didn't really appeal to me personally. I felt that there was meant to be deeper meanings to a lot of Hall's stories but I did not have it in me to sit and ponder it while reading (which is something that happens to me from time to time with certain things I read, not having the patience). I wouldn't go out and buy it and I doubt I will ever revisit it. But I'm sure others will enjoy it.
    more
  • Donna C
    July 19, 2017
    http://www.ondbookshelf.com/?p=1474
  • Vanessa
    April 20, 2017
    I really liked this volume of short stories. Each one is a single serving of entertainment. I had actually already read one of these because it was included in Reader, I Married Him: Stories Inspired by Jane EyreReader, I Married Him: Stories Inspired by Jane Eyre. If you enjoy short stories, I would definitely recommend this to you.
    more
  • Ferris
    July 18, 2017
    Run, don't walk, and read this short story collection! Unique stories, tremendous human understanding, marvelous characters, and just good reading! I will definitely check out more of this author's work. i particularly liked the story of transformation, "Mrs. Fox".
    more
  • Samm
    April 27, 2017
    I really enjoyed Mrs. Fox, Case Study 2, and One In Four. However, everything else was boring and I forgot about it as soon as I was done reading it. [Won in a Goodreads giveaway]
Write a review