Murder at the Puppy Fest (Melanie Travis, #20)
Frolicking with dogs is Melanie Travis's idea of heaven. So when she's invited to be a "puppy wrangler" at a benefit for a local dog rescue, the last thing she expects is to be chasing after a tricky killer...As a busy mom and pedigree Poodle owner, Melanie has little time to spare. Still, she doesn't mind helping out at Puppy Fest, an annual fundraiser to benefit Puppy Posse, a local dog rescue organization. Considering the venue--Belle Haven mansion, owned by wealthy philanthropist Leo Brody--it's shaping up to be the can't-miss charity event of the summer. Unfortunately, when Melanie's breeding background lands her in the doghouse with Jane, Leo's snappy daughter who runs the rescue, Melanie finds herself simultaneously managing Puppy Fest and the millionaire's hopelessly fractious family.But once Puppy Fest kicks off, Leo is nowhere to be found--until Melanie discovers his current mistress crouching over his dead body. According to police, the father of nine's severe nut allergy went into overdrive after he accidentally consumed a contaminated cookie. However, Libby, one of Leo's children and a friend of Melanie's Aunt Peg, believes someone deliberately put him down for good. And now, she's begging a reluctant Melanie to unearth the secrets hidden by the Brody pack. But the closer Melanie gets to fetching answers, the higher the stakes become--and the more she realizes that she's chasing a criminal who's been groomed to win...

Murder at the Puppy Fest (Melanie Travis, #20) Details

TitleMurder at the Puppy Fest (Melanie Travis, #20)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherKensington Publishing Corporation
ISBN1496703421
ISBN-139781496703422
Number of pages278 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Cozy Mystery, Fiction

Murder at the Puppy Fest (Melanie Travis, #20) Review

  • Linda Langford at Chatting About Cozies
    May 23, 2017
    There's mystery, fun, and laughs in the latest Melanie Travis Mystery!I always enjoy the snappy pace; the adventures of Melanie and her family; and the humor and wisdom Aunt Peg's visits bring to everyone. I love the family poodles, and the new fur-baby addition is a cutie. Ms. Berenson's dog show savvy shines through in the dedication of Melanie's family to the world of dogs and is a top attraction for me in this wonderful series because I love dogs so much.In book 20, a charity Puppy Fest even There's mystery, fun, and laughs in the latest Melanie Travis Mystery!I always enjoy the snappy pace; the adventures of Melanie and her family; and the humor and wisdom Aunt Peg's visits bring to everyone. I love the family poodles, and the new fur-baby addition is a cutie. Ms. Berenson's dog show savvy shines through in the dedication of Melanie's family to the world of dogs and is a top attraction for me in this wonderful series because I love dogs so much.In book 20, a charity Puppy Fest event becomes a homicide scene when the wealthy sponsor, Leo Brody dies. Could one of his 9 children have killed him out of greed? Mel sets a course to personally speak to each one of the offspring and see if she can outwit a traitor in the Brody family. Such an entertaining read! Feel good ending!I voluntarily read an advance reader copy of this book.
    more
  • Betty
    May 18, 2017
    I have long been a fan of Melanie Travis mysteries and recommend them highly. They follow Melanie's life as a single mother who has one son Davey. She is now happily married with two sons and 5 dogs. The information on dog problems and shows are outstanding. While there is a mystery in each book, the series isn't really a cozy. Melanie solved the mystery by herself without the help of the police. There is no sex or graphic violence.This opens with Melanie and Davy seeing someone dropped off a do I have long been a fan of Melanie Travis mysteries and recommend them highly. They follow Melanie's life as a single mother who has one son Davey. She is now happily married with two sons and 5 dogs. The information on dog problems and shows are outstanding. While there is a mystery in each book, the series isn't really a cozy. Melanie solved the mystery by herself without the help of the police. There is no sex or graphic violence.This opens with Melanie and Davy seeing someone dropped off a dog pin the road. They rescue the dog. Melanie has been asked to help at a Puppy Fest, an event to showcase adopting puppies. She meets the Brody family there. Melanie finds the Father dead in his study with a woman standing over his body. The police rule the death as an accident. One of his daughters disagree and hired Melanie to find out what happened.Was Leo Brody murdered or are the police correct? I highly recommend the book and series, especially for dog lovers.Disclosure: I received a free copy from Kensington Books through NetGalley for an honest review. I would like to thank them for this opportunity to read and review the book. The opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • LORI CASWELL
    June 27, 2017
    Dollycas’s ThoughtsA Puppy Fest sounds like a great fundraiser and a lot of fun, until the the millionaire hosting the gala is found dead and Melanie is the one that finds him with his mistress right next to his body. He appears to have had a severe allergic reaction to nuts in some cookies. (Same allergy I have.) The man, Leo Brody not only had millions, he had 3 ex-wives and 9 children and several grandchildren too. All of who will be inheriting his millions. One of his offspring believes his Dollycas’s ThoughtsA Puppy Fest sounds like a great fundraiser and a lot of fun, until the the millionaire hosting the gala is found dead and Melanie is the one that finds him with his mistress right next to his body. He appears to have had a severe allergic reaction to nuts in some cookies. (Same allergy I have.) The man, Leo Brody not only had millions, he had 3 ex-wives and 9 children and several grandchildren too. All of who will be inheriting his millions. One of his offspring believes his death was no accident and she wants Melanie to find out who did him in.A subplot involving a dog rescue also brings a new four legged friend to Melanie’s house too.I get a huge smile on my face when I start reading these stories. Melanie, husband Sam, sons Davey and Kevin, along with their Standard Poodles, Faith, Tar, Augie, Eve and Raven, make a pretty full household but they seem to have everything down to a science. Melanie and Sam are very organized because they have to be. They are pretty easy going and most of the time the boys a very well behaved. Melanie’s Aunt Peg stops by almost daily. She is a little pushy for my tastes but her heart is in the right place.In this installment, Melanie has been recruited to help wrangle puppies as they get ready for the puppy bowl, part of the Puppy Fest raising money for a local dog rescue. She doesn’t get off on the right foot with the rescue owner and is set on various errands were she meets most of the Brody family. They are quite a bunch. When their father/grandfather ends up dead she is forced to meet with each of them again. Yes, they are all suspects but she finds herself stumped as to who actually would have killed the man. The author has created very unique characters. Their tumultuous upbringing has effecting each of them in a different way.The story moves right along because Melanie and her family have a very busy life with work, soccer camp, dog shows and preparation, and general family things. Add trying to solve whether Joe Brody death was accidental or murder isn’t really her first concern, especially when she really has no skin in the game. She is not a suspect and no one she loves is a suspect, but she does love to try to solve this mysteries. But her investigation can put her and the people she loves in danger.Again Laurien Berenson’s characters and their situations keep us engaged from the very first page. The subplot I mentioned above starts the whole story and while I really enjoyed the mystery, this was my favorite part of the book. Davey wrapped himself right around my heart and when the story ended I wanted to reach right into the pages and give him a huge hug.Cozy lovers and dog lovers this book should be on your summer reading list. Whether you are a fan of the series or it is brand new to you the story can be read on its own. Warning – After that you may want to read the whole series 🙂
    more
  • Libby Mckinmer
    June 19, 2017
    Once again, author Laurien Berenson delivers a Best in Show winner! All your favorite characters are here – Melanie, Sam, Aunt Peg, the Poodles and the boys. Davey and Kevin are becoming their own characters now as they’re growing up a bit, and both participate more in this mystery, which is fun! When Melanie is asked by a Brody family member to figure out who murdered the Brody family patriarch, she digs in and starts asking questions, never anticipating where that would lead in danger to her o Once again, author Laurien Berenson delivers a Best in Show winner! All your favorite characters are here – Melanie, Sam, Aunt Peg, the Poodles and the boys. Davey and Kevin are becoming their own characters now as they’re growing up a bit, and both participate more in this mystery, which is fun! When Melanie is asked by a Brody family member to figure out who murdered the Brody family patriarch, she digs in and starts asking questions, never anticipating where that would lead in danger to her own family as she hunts down a killer. Lots of sleuthing and fun at dog shows makes Murder at the Puppy Fest a most enjoyable read. Just like all the Melanie Travis mysteries, there are enough clues scattered through the story to keep you wondering and guessing. Grab a copy of Laurien Berenson’s newest, put your feet up and enjoy! Five Stars!
    more
  • Lisa Morin
    May 28, 2017
    Melanie Travis is strong, independent character and in book 20 (20 books! amazing), she continues to be funny, loyal and one of my favorite protagonists.Puppy Fest is an annual charity event that the Brody family take very seriously. When Melanie returns a favor by volunteering at the event, she has no way of knowing that a simple task will put her in the middle of another murder investigation.Melanie doesn't have time to get caught up in the investigation, Davie is preparing for dog shows, Kevi Melanie Travis is strong, independent character and in book 20 (20 books! amazing), she continues to be funny, loyal and one of my favorite protagonists.Puppy Fest is an annual charity event that the Brody family take very seriously. When Melanie returns a favor by volunteering at the event, she has no way of knowing that a simple task will put her in the middle of another murder investigation.Melanie doesn't have time to get caught up in the investigation, Davie is preparing for dog shows, Kevin, her 3 year old toddler keeps her busy, as well as her family of standard poodles.When Aunt Peg volunteers Melanie to "question the family," Mel knows she better find answers, fast.I've read all of the books in this series and I always look forward to reading the next one.Ms. Berenson offers an insightful glance in to world of dog shows, while also including more twists and turns than a roller coaster.I voluntarily read an ARC of this book provided by the author.
    more
  • Kristina
    June 18, 2017
    Murder at the Puppy Fest by Laurien Berenson is the twentieth book in A Melanie Travis Canine Mystery series. Melanie Travis is driving her oldest son, Davey home from soccer practice when they see a car toss a puppy out. The pair stop and rescue the poor pooch who gets named Bud by the time they reach home (this little pup has a new home). The next day Melanie is off to help Claire Travis at the Third Annual Puppy Fest sponsored by millionaire Leo Brody. The money from the benefit goes help Pup Murder at the Puppy Fest by Laurien Berenson is the twentieth book in A Melanie Travis Canine Mystery series. Melanie Travis is driving her oldest son, Davey home from soccer practice when they see a car toss a puppy out. The pair stop and rescue the poor pooch who gets named Bud by the time they reach home (this little pup has a new home). The next day Melanie is off to help Claire Travis at the Third Annual Puppy Fest sponsored by millionaire Leo Brody. The money from the benefit goes help Puppy Posse, a dog rescue foundation (a very worthy cause). Melanie agreed to help wrangle the pups, but she did not count on finding Leo Brody on the floor in his study. Melanie immediately calls 911, but it is too late to save Leo Brody. The suspect list includes Leo's nine children and several of his grandchildren. The person who killed Brody knew his routine and about his nut allergy. Melanie had decided to not get involved in the investigation, until she speaks with Libby (thanks to Aunt Peg’s meddling). Libby Rothko, one of Leo Brody’s daughters, is confident that her father was murdered. Someone deliberately left him cookies spiked with nuts. Melanie agrees when she hears that Leo’s EpiPen was gone from his desk. Libby arranges for Melanie to talk to her siblings to help gather clues and find the culprit. Unfortunately, this does not help to narrow down the suspect list. Every single one of them had a motive to harm Leo. The killer, though, does not wish to be caught. What will the murderer due to avoid capture? Murder at the Puppy Fest is well-written and has a good pace which makes for an easy to read (and engaging) cozy mystery. I thought the characters well-developed, relatable and entertaining. The only person I am not fond of is Aunt Peg (nosy, controlling busy body). Though, she does provide some humor. I like Melanie, Sam and her two kids. It is a nice change to have a married main character (instead of someone who is dating). While Murder at the Puppy Fest is the twentieth book in the series, it can be read alone (you might find it helpful to read A Pedigree to Die For). Readers are provided the necessary background details on Melanie and her family. I give Murder at the Puppy Fest 4.5 out of 5 stars. The mystery is slightly complicated, but avid cozy mystery readers should be able to resolve it before the reveal. Other readers will be surprised when the solution is revealed. The author provides good clues to help readers solve the whodunit. It is interesting to get an inside look at dog shows. I had no idea so much went into preparing the dog and the judging criteria. I look forward to reading Wagging through the Snow when it comes out.
    more
  • Donna
    June 19, 2017
    How could I not have known about this series? I saw the cover and read the blurb and never realized it was part of a series. And you know what? It didn’t matter. I read this cozy mystery and enjoyed every page. The author knows and is comfortable with her characters and you will be too. The mystery kept me guessing and the characters kept me laughing. I learned a whole lot about poodles and you can be sure I will be checking out the previous books.
    more
  • JoAnn
    June 11, 2017
    I received an arc via Netgalley and this is my unbiased review.What a great little mystery. Well written with a good plot. I have not read any of the previous books but being a mystery and dog lover I certainly will be reading them. I recommend to fans of mysterys.
    more
  • RO G'ma
    May 19, 2017
    Murder at the Puppy Fest is the 20th book in Laurien Berenson’s Melanie Travis Mystery series. The author provides great background information and the characters’ histories and relationships are easy to understand. The storyline is well plotted and flows at a steady relaxed pace, and the well-developed characters are relatable. I find Ms. Berenson’s writing style to be smooth and calming, with witty statements and she sends a strong message of caring and compassion in her books. There is no lac Murder at the Puppy Fest is the 20th book in Laurien Berenson’s Melanie Travis Mystery series. The author provides great background information and the characters’ histories and relationships are easy to understand. The storyline is well plotted and flows at a steady relaxed pace, and the well-developed characters are relatable. I find Ms. Berenson’s writing style to be smooth and calming, with witty statements and she sends a strong message of caring and compassion in her books. There is no lack of suspects in this whodunit.Melanie Travis lives in Stamford, Connecticut with her husband, Sam, and two sons, Davey and Kevin, and five Standard Poodles. While running errands with Davey, he sees a car stop and toss out a dog, so they stop and rescue him. Melanie’s friend, Claire Travis, who is married to Melanie’s ex-husband, Bob, asks her to help at Puppy Fest, an annual fundraiser that benefits a local dog rescue organization, the Puppy Posse Foundation, which Leo Brody, a wealthy philanthropist, was sponsoring at his Belle Haven mansion. Leo wanted to be present at the live show and when he hadn’t made an appearance during the first half, Claire asked Melanie to look for him. Melanie finds him in his home office but he won’t be attending his event. Leo was extremely allergic to peanuts and local authorities discovered a plate of cookies with ground-up peanuts as one of the ingredients sitting on his desk. The death is ruled accidental but one of Leo’s nine children, Libby, isn’t happy with the investigation and Melanie’s Aunt Peg suggests she ask Melanie to look into what really happened to her father.I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed it.
    more
  • Kathy
    June 13, 2017
    This is the second Melanie Travis book I have read, and I enjoyed it as much as the first one. This time, we find Melanie helping out at a local puppy fest, the annual “baby” of Leo Brody, a wealthy philanthropist. During the day-long event, Leo dies from eating a cookie made with peanuts, to which Leo has a severe allergy. Though everyone seems satisfied that this is an accidental death, one of Leo’s children engages Melanie to investigate the family members to determine if the death really was This is the second Melanie Travis book I have read, and I enjoyed it as much as the first one. This time, we find Melanie helping out at a local puppy fest, the annual “baby” of Leo Brody, a wealthy philanthropist. During the day-long event, Leo dies from eating a cookie made with peanuts, to which Leo has a severe allergy. Though everyone seems satisfied that this is an accidental death, one of Leo’s children engages Melanie to investigate the family members to determine if the death really was accidental, if family members have any ideas who the murder may have been and, finally, if any family member was responsible or involved in this death. While Melanie investigates this death, a second line of the story follows the adoption of a new dog, a mutt, found abandoned on the side of the road, Melanie’s almost 13-year old son’s work on and participation in the showing of his own young poodle, and the ever interesting, and, often funny, antics of her family. This is a delightful story, though, because of it prominent secondary side, almost not a real cozy mystery. Nevertheless, the author has blended both parts well, giving the reader an entertaining mystery/tale of the family’s daily life during this short interlude as well as of the mystery of Leo Brody’s death. The story flowed smoothly and quickly, capturing me from the very beginning, when Melanie and her young son, Davy, find Bud, an abandoned dog on the side of the road, and Davy, being the almost 13-year old he is, immediately decides Bud is a new member of the family clan and his own dog, without anyone’s input or consultation. As the story progressed, I was hard pressed not to fall in love with both of Melanie’s young sons, Davy, almost 13-year old, and Kevin, the chubby, totally accepting and adorable 3-year old, both of whom play a solid role in the story. In addition, the four poodles the family owns as well as the new dog Bud were irresistible. It was refreshing to see this modern, loving, normal family in action. There were no fancy moves or events in their lives. Contrast this family to that of Leo Brody, where nothing is normal or beyond believable, in the lives of his nine grown children and several grandchildren. Each of these characters was unique in his/her own way, and added to the colorful picture of this dysfunctional family presented throughout the book. Melanie solved the mystery herself, without any interference or help from the authorities. The plot was rather simple, yet complex enough to hold the reader’s interest. Though not really a cozy mystery (the mystery is only half this story), this book is similar to a cozy and can easily be considered one. Like cozies, it is an enjoyable book to pick up as a summer vacation, beach or relaxing read. I highly recommend it to any reader who enjoys or is looking for a fantastic, quick, easy read, or for anyone who enjoys and/or loves dogs. This will definitely fill the bill. I received this from NetGalley to read and review.
    more
  • KyBunnies
    June 28, 2017
    Normally I hate anything dealing with the breeding of domesticated animals for profit. I have even thought that people go into breeding dogs/cats/rabbits just for profit with no care for what happens afterwards. After reading the Melanie Travis series my thoughts on that has changed. I still do not know much about specific breeders but the clubs portrayed in the books puts a different light on everything. Not all breeders are bad and then the clubs actually help to rehome dogs. Yes I know these Normally I hate anything dealing with the breeding of domesticated animals for profit. I have even thought that people go into breeding dogs/cats/rabbits just for profit with no care for what happens afterwards. After reading the Melanie Travis series my thoughts on that has changed. I still do not know much about specific breeders but the clubs portrayed in the books puts a different light on everything. Not all breeders are bad and then the clubs actually help to rehome dogs. Yes I know these books are a work of fiction. However I also know the author has shown dogs and I do believe she is using personal experience/knowledge in these stories. I enjoyed this story. I do feel this story was shorter in length than some of the others. No idea if this is true. It has been several months since I finished book 19. I admit I did not feel closure with the ending. It feels like the suspects got away with murder. Yes readers find out who-done-it. But there was no arrest. Or is there was one it was not in the story. I started this series because the author is in my home state. I have learned more about dog shows than I ever wanted to know. But I can honestly state that it was an interesting learning process. Granted I will never care if my dogs have any type of championship attached to their name. But it is nice to know that it is attainable if I ever desire to go that route with my preferred breed, basset hound. I will keep reading this series. It is high enjoyable. Book purchased at Kobo.
    more
  • Catherine
    June 28, 2017
    I was initially reluctant to start this series since I knew it was about dog shows and I know nothing about dog shows nor have I ever owned a dog. All of that has changed now that I have read the 20 books in this series. Well, not ALL of it ... I still don't own a dog. But I feel like an expert on dog shows now! What I love about these books: they are well-written, keep you guessing, and very addictive. You will get hooked on the characters, including the dogs. I think what I like best about the I was initially reluctant to start this series since I knew it was about dog shows and I know nothing about dog shows nor have I ever owned a dog. All of that has changed now that I have read the 20 books in this series. Well, not ALL of it ... I still don't own a dog. But I feel like an expert on dog shows now! What I love about these books: they are well-written, keep you guessing, and very addictive. You will get hooked on the characters, including the dogs. I think what I like best about the books is that they have a good dose of humor in addition to each being a good mystery and just well-developed books in general. They are, in short, FUN to read. Entertaining, enjoyable books. I look forward to the further antics of Melanie, Aunt Peg and crew!
    more
  • Kelly
    June 5, 2017
    **I voluntarily read this ARC**I definitely have mixed feelings about this one. Overall it was interesting, and I loved Kevin and the dogs. The mystery was really good until it got to the motive. I also really didn't like Aunt Peg's attitude towards mutts, but I liked that pound puppies were a big part of the book.
    more
  • Betsy
    June 29, 2017
    Is it murder or an accident? Melanie stumbles on a body for a new adventure filled with puppies and mayhem! Laurien Berenson delivers again!
  • Sarah
    June 21, 2017
    Book 20 in the series.I'm not a regular reader of the series, so I can honestly say that you don't have to have read the rest of the books to follow along on this one.Like all the Melanie Travis books I have read, this is a fun one. The story was fast-paced and a quick read, and of course, there are puppies! I love Melanie and her family, especially the Poodles, (though it still perplexes me why Poodle is capitalized....) and even Aunt Peg. My only minor complaint is the sort of wishy-washy reso Book 20 in the series.I'm not a regular reader of the series, so I can honestly say that you don't have to have read the rest of the books to follow along on this one.Like all the Melanie Travis books I have read, this is a fun one. The story was fast-paced and a quick read, and of course, there are puppies! I love Melanie and her family, especially the Poodles, (though it still perplexes me why Poodle is capitalized....) and even Aunt Peg. My only minor complaint is the sort of wishy-washy resolution to the murder mystery. I can't say much else without it being spoiler-y. Suffice it to say, I prefer a more definitive ending.*I voluntarily reviewed an ARC of this book provide by the publisher via NetGalley.*
    more
  • Barbara Tobey
    June 19, 2017
    A delightful cozy mystery with dogs at the heart of it. Family dynamics also play a huge role. One loving and fun family; the other not. Lot of dog show details, but not so much that it bogs down the plot. The publisher provided a copy via NetGalley for my voluntary review. Nice series.
    more
  • Ann
    June 12, 2017
    This is book 20 in the Melanie Travis series and it has certainly come a long way. Dog lovers will enjoy Melanie and her family as they show Standard Poodles in competition. As always her husband Sam, sons Davie and Kevin and her Aunt Peg are all prominent in the story. This book has Melanie volunteering at a local animal shelter fundraiser and finds a rich contributor dead from an allergic reaction. Lots of tips for dog handlers and grooming.
    more
  • Leith Devine
    May 28, 2017
    Thanks to Kensington Books and NetGalley for the ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.I've always enjoyed the Melanie Travis books and Murder at the Puppy Fest delivers the same interesting mystery with delightful dogs that I've come to expect. This is the 2oth (!) book in the series, and can be read alone, but the other books help fill in the backstory.Melanie Travis is a divorced and remarried mom who loves dogs and dog shows. Her son Davey shows one of their poodles at dog shows, Thanks to Kensington Books and NetGalley for the ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.I've always enjoyed the Melanie Travis books and Murder at the Puppy Fest delivers the same interesting mystery with delightful dogs that I've come to expect. This is the 2oth (!) book in the series, and can be read alone, but the other books help fill in the backstory.Melanie Travis is a divorced and remarried mom who loves dogs and dog shows. Her son Davey shows one of their poodles at dog shows, assisted by her knowledgeable and acerbic Aunt Peg. In this book, Melanie is helping out at Puppy Fest, a charity dog rescue event at the private home of Leo Brody, a wealthy philanthropist with 9 adult children and numerous grandchildren from 3 different wives. The children are in constant conflict with one another for Leo's attention and presumably for his inheritance.After Melanie finds Leo dead, she is enlisted by her Aunt Peg and Jane, one of Leo's daughters, to solve the murder. She must interview all his children and many of his grandchildren while juggling her family and multiple dog shows at the same time. None of his children tell the whole truth, and they point the finger at one another, leaving Jane frustrated and annoyed until she gets a glimpse of the truth. She gets too close for comfort to the killer in the process, which alarms her friends and family. All in all, a very satisfying mystery.The plot moves along swiftly and Laurien Berenson's writing is crisp and easy to read. Her characters are relatable and amusing. I enjoyed the behind the scenes look at dog shows, and she clearly has a lot of experience with dog grooming and showing techniques. It was very interesting. I didn't guess the identity of the murderer, and the conclusion was convincing.I recommend Murder at the Puppy Fest, as well as all the other Melanie Travis books.
    more
  • Brenda
    May 31, 2017
    This is the first Melanie Travis Canine Mystery I have read. Joining at book 20 could be difficult but that was not the case.Melanie's family breed and show Standard Poodles, a tradition her Aunt Peg started. Melanie's helping at Puppy Fest, an annual fundraising event sponsored by Leo Brody to support the Puppy Posse, a group who find homes for unwanted pets. Melanie finds Leo Brody dead in his home office. His massive family provide a huge suspect pool. When Melanie is asked to help prove Leo' This is the first Melanie Travis Canine Mystery I have read. Joining at book 20 could be difficult but that was not the case.Melanie's family breed and show Standard Poodles, a tradition her Aunt Peg started. Melanie's helping at Puppy Fest, an annual fundraising event sponsored by Leo Brody to support the Puppy Posse, a group who find homes for unwanted pets. Melanie finds Leo Brody dead in his home office. His massive family provide a huge suspect pool. When Melanie is asked to help prove Leo's death was not an accident she finds herself juggling her family life with some dangerous people.A cozy who-done-it where I didn't guess the culprit.
    more
  • Laura Salas
    June 29, 2017
    This is the first Melanie Travis book I've read, but I think it stands alone pretty well. I really enjoyed the family storyline and the dog show storyline. The mystery storyline, however, didn't grab me that much. There wasn't any compelling reason, really, for Melanie to be looking into it, and when she takes her young son with her to question family members (the obvious suspects), I had to lower my estimation of her intelligence, a lot! I was halfway through this book when a library book came This is the first Melanie Travis book I've read, but I think it stands alone pretty well. I really enjoyed the family storyline and the dog show storyline. The mystery storyline, however, didn't grab me that much. There wasn't any compelling reason, really, for Melanie to be looking into it, and when she takes her young son with her to question family members (the obvious suspects), I had to lower my estimation of her intelligence, a lot! I was halfway through this book when a library book came in, and I set this one aside to read the library book. I did come back to this one, but not with any sense of urgency. The mystery part sort of plodded along, and there wasn't much of a surprise when it came to its resolution.Note: Review copy provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Peggy
    June 30, 2017
    Murder At the Puppy FestLaurien Berenson has hit another one out of the park,or should I say out of the show ring.Melanie Travis,is drafted by her ex's new wife,to help out the puppy fest,that's sponsored by Leo Brody.One of the richest people in town. When Leo does not show up at the fest,even when it's held in his own ballroom.Claire sends Melanie to find him,she finds him alright. Leo is face down on the floor of his office with a woman bending over him. Leo has gone to that big puppy fest in Murder At the Puppy FestLaurien Berenson has hit another one out of the park,or should I say out of the show ring.Melanie Travis,is drafted by her ex's new wife,to help out the puppy fest,that's sponsored by Leo Brody.One of the richest people in town. When Leo does not show up at the fest,even when it's held in his own ballroom.Claire sends Melanie to find him,she finds him alright. Leo is face down on the floor of his office with a woman bending over him. Leo has gone to that big puppy fest in the sky.Leo has been married four times,and has given life to nine children. When one of them,Libby,asks Melanie to talk to her other eight siblings,things get a bit confusing and drives Melanie nuts.Great read
    more
  • Jeanne O'donnell
    May 11, 2017
    I didn't love this one as much as the others. I'm not quit sure why other than her family not involved as much with humor. If you had never read her before I'm not sure you would know much about the dogs' personalities
  • WHPL Reference
    June 27, 2017
    Find it at the West Hempstead Public Library http://encore.alisweb.org/iii/encore/...
Write a review