The Sand Warrior (5 Worlds, #1)
The Five Worlds are on the brink of extinction unless five ancient and mysterious beacons are lit. When war erupts, three unlikely heroes will discover there s more to themselves and more to their worlds than meets the eye. . . . The clumsiest student at the Sand Dancer Academy, Oona Lee is a fighter with a destiny bigger than she could ever imagine. A boy from the poorest slums, An Tzu has a surprising gift and a knack for getting out of sticky situations. Star athlete Jax Amboy is beloved by an entire galaxy, but what good is that when he has no real friends? When these three kids are forced to team up on an epic quest, it will take not one, not two, but 5 WORLDS to contain all the magic and adventure!

The Sand Warrior (5 Worlds, #1) Details

TitleThe Sand Warrior (5 Worlds, #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 2nd, 2017
PublisherRandom House Books for Young Readers
ISBN1101935863
ISBN-139781101935866
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Fantasy, Comics, Childrens, Middle Grade, Adventure

The Sand Warrior (5 Worlds, #1) Review

  • Carina Olsen
    March 6, 2017
    I enjoyed this book a lot. While it wasn't perfect, it was a great read. I'm giving this graphic novel three stars, as I liked it a lot, but didn't love it. I'm curious about the next books, though. The artwork in this book is stunning. Will be full color, but wasn't that in the ARC. It was still gorgeous, though. Loved all the drawings.This book was a fast read, and I loved that. Though I do wish it had been longer, as I liked the story a lot. There are five worlds in this story. And I'm curiou I enjoyed this book a lot. While it wasn't perfect, it was a great read. I'm giving this graphic novel three stars, as I liked it a lot, but didn't love it. I'm curious about the next books, though. The artwork in this book is stunning. Will be full color, but wasn't that in the ARC. It was still gorgeous, though. Loved all the drawings.This book was a fast read, and I loved that. Though I do wish it had been longer, as I liked the story a lot. There are five worlds in this story. And I'm curious to know more about them all. The main character, Oona, is a sand dancer. Which was interesting. Loved all the sand parts. It was pretty gorgeous and exciting too.I'm not sure what to say about this story. I liked reading about the characters a lot, but I also felt like I didn't really get to know them, probably because there isn't much text in a graphic novel. Would have loved to know more about them all. Oona seemed like such an awesome girl. I loved that she was pretty clumsy at sand dancing. Though I didn't like that she got bullied because of it. Aw. But she still have friends, and she was still all kinds of awesome, and I just liked this girl a lot. Didn't fully love her, as yeah, I felt like I didn't fully know her. Then there was An Tzu, a poor orphan boy. I felt pretty sorry for him most of the time. Aw. But he was pretty amazing too. So curious about his illness. Wish I had gotten to know him much better too, though. Hmph.Then there was Jax Amboy. He was a bit boring, yet interesting too, as he isn't fully human. And I liked that a lot. He did seem like a great character, though, again, I didn't get to know him well enough. And I really didn't like how Oona treated him at first. Hmph. There were also a few other characters in this book, and I did like reading about them all. The plant people were pretty interesting, and I'm curious about them all. And the different sand types were interesting to read about, just wish I knew more. Sigh. Very curious.I liked this book a lot, but I also had some issues, which is why I didn't love it. It's not that I hated anything in the book, because I didn't, it was written pretty well and all the drawings were gorgeous. I loved the art. I just wish the story had been a bit better. I didn't care too much about it, about their worlds going under. Probably because this book was just the introduction to this series. But still, I wish there had been more details about everything. I wanted and needed to know much more about everything, about their history.Overall, though, I did like reading about Oona and the other characters. I wish this book had focused more on friendship, as I didn't see any of them as friends. They just met, I know, but I felt no connection between them at all. Aw. Hopefully that will come. I might read more about this series later, as I'm a bit curious. Huge thank you to the publisher for sending me this ARC to review while I was in Chicago. I'm glad I gave it a try. And I do think others should read it too. It's a stunning middle grade graphic novel.---This review was first posted on my blog, Carina's Books, here: http://carinabooks.blogspot.no/2017/0...
    more
  • Jessica
    May 12, 2017
    Since you are all well aware of my obsession with Middle Grade fiction at this point, let's go ahead and skip that. Can we instead please focus on the growing existence of Middle Grade graphic novels? I am so pleased that there are more and more of these out there, and I'm determined to champion all of them! Kazu Kibuishi's blurb had me from the moment I saw this book. So I was thrilled when I was asked to join the blog tour. Warning: there's some gushing ahead. Let's go ahead and get the small Since you are all well aware of my obsession with Middle Grade fiction at this point, let's go ahead and skip that. Can we instead please focus on the growing existence of Middle Grade graphic novels? I am so pleased that there are more and more of these out there, and I'm determined to champion all of them! Kazu Kibuishi's blurb had me from the moment I saw this book. So I was thrilled when I was asked to join the blog tour. Warning: there's some gushing ahead. Let's go ahead and get the small qualms that I had out of the way first, though. I think this graphic novel could definitely have benefited from a bit more action. It was heartening to see that the authors weren't afraid to bring the real idea of war alive on these pages. I love when MG readers aren't treated with kid gloves. However I think this book needed to move at a bit quicker of a pace. The illustrations are gorgeous, (I can't wait to actually see them all in color.) but some of the filler panels felt like a bit much. I wanted more of Oona's quest, more of their desperate rush to save the day, and just more tension in general. This first volume was missing that epic feeling that stories like this usually have for me.That being said, the characters were absolutely lovely. Oona, An Tzu and Jax were all vivid, and easy to fall in love with. I loved how each of them came from a different background. The concept of race is alive and well in this book, and the idea of racism is gently touched upon as well. It makes me happy to see authors putting these things out into the world for readers of this age group to start to digest. Oona overhears people of different worlds talking badly about people of other worlds, and making mean jokes. She sees some people get upset about what others are saying. Young readers can start to get a grasp here on unity, diversity, and especially empathy. It's an amazing thing.Add in the fact that the ending of this book has a twist I wasn't expecting, complete with a cliffhanger, and you have my complete attention. Mark Siegel and Alexis Siegel have started something beautiful and magical with the 5 Worlds series. They've opened up a dialog that I think is important, in a way that is easy to digest and a lot of fun to read! Readers, young and old alike, will love this series. My only regret is that there isn't more of Oona's story to devour yet. I NEED to know what happens next.
    more
  • Jamie Holcomb
    March 6, 2017
    Compelling characters engaged in a plot sufficiently complex that I had a liiiiiittle trouble getting the gist of it, as a professional adult reader. Something generally ecological with terrifying black sand creatures but also involving societal haves and have-nots and what it means to be "real," plus an intense sister vs. sister civil war. The first volume ends on a triumphant note but at the start of the next exciting move in Oona's bid to save the Five Worlds. Exciting.
    more
  • Rebekah
    May 19, 2017
    I HAVE TO WAIT A YEAR FOR MORE????????????Say it aint so! This novel was a DELIGHT - breathtaking art with engaging storytelling. I can't wait for more!!
  • Kate
    April 1, 2017
    This graphic novel has an amazingly unique world. Oona is a clumsy sand dancer and feels like she is good for nothing, but when her land comes under attack, she has to rise above that to become what the world needs. Luckily she has help from a poor, kindhearted boy named An and a famous sports star named Jax. This is a great read for all ages!
    more
  • Lynn
    March 27, 2017
    Very enjoyable story! I also enjoyed the art - which is saying a lot as I read this in a black and white advance galley so I had a sketchy sense of the finished book. Nice underdog story and interesting world. The few pages included with color were nicely done. I think boys and girls will flock to this.
    more
  • Sam
    March 20, 2017
    I decided to read the ARC of The Sand Warrior, not knowing what to expect, and I was blown away.The Siegel brothers have produced a world-building masterpiece for children, sure to gain popularity in the young reader graphic novel landscape only comparable to Kibuishi's Amulet. With well-rounded and lovable characters that turn into your friends, very serious and real problems happening to these people (death, betrayal, poverty), enrapturing attention to detail in the lore and machinations of th I decided to read the ARC of The Sand Warrior, not knowing what to expect, and I was blown away.The Siegel brothers have produced a world-building masterpiece for children, sure to gain popularity in the young reader graphic novel landscape only comparable to Kibuishi's Amulet. With well-rounded and lovable characters that turn into your friends, very serious and real problems happening to these people (death, betrayal, poverty), enrapturing attention to detail in the lore and machinations of these new planets and their breeds of humans, genuinely funny moments, and a story that will keep kids guessing at every turn, the first book in the 5 Worlds series is a smash hit.Lovers of Avatar: The Last Airbender and Steven Universe will rejoice. This is going to be a great selection for that hesitant reader in your family who only ever wants to read comics; give them something with the depth of 5 Worlds, and you'll nurture their inner lit-lover.
    more
  • Melissa
    March 17, 2017
    One of the best graphic novels I've read in a while. Can't wait to see how this develops.
  • Mary
    February 2, 2017
    A strong start to a new graphic novel series. There is a lot of information in the first half of this book so it can be a little confusing. I can't wait to see this in full color.
  • Munro's Kids
    May 31, 2017
    I know you're not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but as soon as I saw this one come into the bookstore I knew it was gonna be good. AND IT WAS! Cool magic system at play? Check. Fleshed out characters that come from different backgrounds? Yup. Imminent war on the horizon that a band of preteens have to stop by going on a super awesome adventure that's totally unplausible but full of conflict and adventure? Oozing out of every single page. 5 Worlds is like a love child between some elemen I know you're not supposed to judge a book by its cover, but as soon as I saw this one come into the bookstore I knew it was gonna be good. AND IT WAS! Cool magic system at play? Check. Fleshed out characters that come from different backgrounds? Yup. Imminent war on the horizon that a band of preteens have to stop by going on a super awesome adventure that's totally unplausible but full of conflict and adventure? Oozing out of every single page. 5 Worlds is like a love child between some elements of Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind with Avatar: the Last Airbender. I think the biggest selling point of middle school fiction is the campy idea that "kids can save the world (with absolutely no realistic consequences) which 5 worlds takes and runs with like a class of 5th graders after an ice cream truck. You have a predicament that all the adults are trying to solve (lighting the beacons) but they can't because all adults are horribly opinionated and dysfunctional, so you need a spunky young hero (Oona) who sucks at what's expected of them (sand dancing) because of public family image (her super talented sister) (view spoiler)[ so said hero has to run away to save his or her homeland (The Sandcastle) and realizes in the first leg of the trip that he or she is the "chosen one" (page 146-150) who is not the most qualified for being a hero, but is the hero that the world needs. (hide spoiler)] This plot synopsis probably sounds boring since every single novel (including those of the graphic type) uses this guideline. But I love it. There's a reason why almost every story in existence uses it. The problem is though, once someone spoils you with the blueprints of what makes a tasty plotline (like what I did just now) you can break down novels and predict what's gonna happen next as you're reading. Which is what I did while I was reading 5 Worlds. I'm assuming that young readers who pick up this book won't have 15+ years of consuming TV shows, books, and comics like I do, so this "hero's quest" plotline will still be new and enticing. So if I was surprised with some plot twists such as...(view spoiler)[ 1.) Jax Amboy is not a real boy he's an illegal android. 2.) Oona Lee's sister Jessa Lee is a commander for the evil Toki Kingdom 3.) Vector is a possible "chosen one" along with Oona Lee and Jessa Lee, which makes them this exclusive club of "chosen ones" able to relight the beacons.(hide spoiler)] I also wish that the book was longer but that's my fault because I suck at prudence and temperance when it comes to reading things I like. And I might go bonkers if the sequel's actually gonna come out next year because I want it sooner.-Jan
    more
  • Barbara
    May 13, 2017
    This is a promising start for a middle grade science fiction graphic novel series. There are five worlds that are close to their last gasp, and their fate lies in some most unlikely hands, those of three youngsters. Oona Lee has potential, but she just cannot control her sand, and often finds herself stumbling around or failing when she attempts to do so. An Tzu is barely squeaking by from day to day, and he has an illness that causes parts of him to disappear slowly. Jax Amboy has many fans bec This is a promising start for a middle grade science fiction graphic novel series. There are five worlds that are close to their last gasp, and their fate lies in some most unlikely hands, those of three youngsters. Oona Lee has potential, but she just cannot control her sand, and often finds herself stumbling around or failing when she attempts to do so. An Tzu is barely squeaking by from day to day, and he has an illness that causes parts of him to disappear slowly. Jax Amboy has many fans because of his athletic prowess, but there is something surprising about him. The worlds created here are fascinating and seem ripe for exploring issues of good and evil and the expectations and limits we place on others. Not only did I find the Oona and her new friends to be well developed, but I also enjoyed some of the secondary characters such as the green-friendly Fern and Meadow. When Oona finally connects the dots and harnesses her inner sand warrior so that she can light the beacon and save the day, she does so with grace and determination even while facing an unexpected enemy who tries to thwart her in her efforts. The images and colors are lovely and make readers feel as though they are far from home. It will be interesting to see what tests the trio will face in the next installments.
    more
  • Stephanie Tournas
    May 28, 2017
    Young Oona Lee is a student at the prestigious Sand Dancer Academy on Mon Domani, the center of culture and history of all the five worlds. As everyone reminds her, she is not nearly as successful as her big sister, who is now missing. When another planet, Toki, tries to conquer Mon Domani and destroy the precious life there, Oona knows she has to act fast to find her sister and save her world. She teams up with An Tzu, a slum-dweller, and Jax Amboy, a superstar athlete, and the three set out ac Young Oona Lee is a student at the prestigious Sand Dancer Academy on Mon Domani, the center of culture and history of all the five worlds. As everyone reminds her, she is not nearly as successful as her big sister, who is now missing. When another planet, Toki, tries to conquer Mon Domani and destroy the precious life there, Oona knows she has to act fast to find her sister and save her world. She teams up with An Tzu, a slum-dweller, and Jax Amboy, a superstar athlete, and the three set out across the 5 worlds to save them all. High fantasy with complex magic and societies. Gorgeous illustrations in a truly beguiling color palette, with diverse characters and non-stop action and adventure. Although Oona and her friends are fighting Toki's plans for world domination, peace and environmental preservation are the aims of the young people. Readers will find the characters and their quests relatable and exciting.
    more
  • Teresa Bateman
    May 16, 2017
    Here's the first book in a lovely new graphic novel series. Mix a seemingly untalented sand dancer with a street-smart urchin and a star athlete with a secret, then toss in an invading army, and you have the makings of an interesting plot. Can Oona's dance light the beacons and save the world...or worlds? Can she find her sister, who she believes to be much better at dancing them herself? Can she figure out what is going on? Can the reader figure it out? The artwork is wonderful--flowing and gor Here's the first book in a lovely new graphic novel series. Mix a seemingly untalented sand dancer with a street-smart urchin and a star athlete with a secret, then toss in an invading army, and you have the makings of an interesting plot. Can Oona's dance light the beacons and save the world...or worlds? Can she find her sister, who she believes to be much better at dancing them herself? Can she figure out what is going on? Can the reader figure it out? The artwork is wonderful--flowing and gorgeous. The plot is interesting, but perhaps they felt the artwork conveyed more of it than it actually did because I found it occasionally hard to follow. And with sand as the theme shouldn't there be a little more grit in the artwork? Nevertheless I found the book captivating and know it will find a ready audience in my students.
    more
  • Kelly Tillman
    May 13, 2017
    The art is beautiful. The story is great! I've been the book twice already and can't wait for Book 2. The main character, Oona Lee is a Sand Dancer, a clumsy Sand Dancer. Her sister was the Best Sand Dancer on the planet, but ran away on Beacon Day, the special day when the beacon on the planet is lit. Turns outs, no one wants the beacon lit, this includes the Planet Toki which invade Oona's home planet, disrupts the lighting ceremony and takes guardians of the beacon hostage along with the Quee The art is beautiful. The story is great! I've been the book twice already and can't wait for Book 2. The main character, Oona Lee is a Sand Dancer, a clumsy Sand Dancer. Her sister was the Best Sand Dancer on the planet, but ran away on Beacon Day, the special day when the beacon on the planet is lit. Turns outs, no one wants the beacon lit, this includes the Planet Toki which invade Oona's home planet, disrupts the lighting ceremony and takes guardians of the beacon hostage along with the Queen's Bones. Oona escapes with a street urchin named An Tzu and star athlete Jax Amboy. Together, they are on a mission to lit the beacon and save Oona's home planet of Mon Domani. But there is more to the story than Oona and her friends know and it's just the beginning. Excellent book for children. Will be waiting patiently for Book 2.
    more
  • Ms. Yingling
    May 8, 2017
    Basically, this is "only tweens can save the world" in graphic novel format. High fantasy, with requisite bullying of the ones who will save the world. Fans of Stevenson's Nimona or the Faith Hicks The Nameless City will adore this, but my graphic novel readers tend to like the easy-to-read graphic novels like Squish: Super Amoeba, and my fantasy fans turn up their nose at graphic novels. It doesn't help that graphic novels tend to be expensive, fall apart easily, and have a weird smell from the Basically, this is "only tweens can save the world" in graphic novel format. High fantasy, with requisite bullying of the ones who will save the world. Fans of Stevenson's Nimona or the Faith Hicks The Nameless City will adore this, but my graphic novel readers tend to like the easy-to-read graphic novels like Squish: Super Amoeba, and my fantasy fans turn up their nose at graphic novels. It doesn't help that graphic novels tend to be expensive, fall apart easily, and have a weird smell from the ink that gives me a headache. I will let the public library buy these.
    more
  • Candice
    May 27, 2017
    I am not into graphic novels and this middle grade novel really didn't change my mind. I tried to read it as if I was in the age range of a middle grader and I am not too sure they would understand what was going on. The limited wording was a bit too much in its' sci-fi details.I did like the art style and the coloring but not enough to want to read another addition.I gave this book 1 crown.*I received an unsolicited ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. The artwork was not complete I am not into graphic novels and this middle grade novel really didn't change my mind. I tried to read it as if I was in the age range of a middle grader and I am not too sure they would understand what was going on. The limited wording was a bit too much in its' sci-fi details.I did like the art style and the coloring but not enough to want to read another addition.I gave this book 1 crown.*I received an unsolicited ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. The artwork was not complete.
    more
  • Kelcey
    May 24, 2017
    OMG I am absolutely in love. This one is phenomenal. It feels like an awesome epic fantasy but in glorious color and illustration and very approachable to all. Oona is so charming, An Tzu is so steadfast yet unsure, and then there's Jax, the celebrity who is not what we think. A great story with lots of commentary and so much to look forward to. Those captains at the very end look like a trio of awesome. The next book can't be here soon enough!
    more
  • Sesana
    May 9, 2017
    The setting is pretty cool, and I really like the art. Unfortunately, there just isn't quite enough character building for me to get really attached to anybody, likable as the heroes all are. But the sand manipulation (that I can't help but think of as bending) is fun, and I like that there's some sense of mystery in the central narrative. I definitely plan to continue this series.
    more
  • Dylan
    May 31, 2017
    I was happy to see several new graphic novels on the shelves and immediately picked them up and read them and boy oh boy is this book a treat. The thing that really makes this book stand out is its art: the character design and the world in which the characters live are beautiful. The story is fine, too. A great addition to the shelf of any fan of children's graphic novels.
    more
  • Hannah
    May 23, 2017
    Loved this as a graphic novel for young readers! I myself picked it up for the art, but the story is pretty good as well. Can't wait to suggest it to some young readers who are just getting into comics.
  • Kayla Edgar
    May 24, 2017
    I really enjoyed the fantasy and sci-fi mixed design of this beautifully illustrated graphic novel about a magical adventure of friendship, an epic destiny and finding the confidence to believe in yourself.
  • Chris
    May 18, 2017
    Excellent complexity of character, plot, and setting, with plenty of adventure and excitement to boot. Nicely illustrated. Looking forward to more.
  • Yoomi
    May 17, 2017
    Middle grade readers who loved the Amulet series and Zita the Spacegirl will definitely be interested in this!
  • Sam Bloom
    May 9, 2017
    3.5 stars; great world-building/storytelling, but a little over-busy visually at times. Finished book may be easier to follow? (I read a mostly black/white ARC)
  • Heather Bee
    May 27, 2017
    I'm not usually big on graphic novels, but I've always loved Matt's illustrations and I really liked this book! I'm looking forward to the sequel!
  • Michele Knott
    May 23, 2017
    Complex story, one you will want to pay close attention to as you read. Great adventure and mystery. Big cliffhanger. Hand this to fans of AMULET.
  • Clare Vaughn
    May 10, 2017
    I adored this book, it was so fun and the gorgeous artwork and compelling characters kept me hooked all the way through. If you liked Avatar the Last Airbender, you'll like this :)
  • Betty
    May 15, 2017
    Good graphic novel for upper elementary or older. Published in 2017. Next volume not yet out.
  • Amanda at Nerdification Reviews
    May 23, 2017
    The hardcover edition of this is really nice quality. What I enjoyed most about it was the colors.
  • Heidi
    June 2, 2017
    Argh. Now I have to wait for the sequel.
Write a review