One of Us Is Lying
One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.Pay close attention and you might solve this.On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon's dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.

One of Us Is Lying Details

TitleOne of Us Is Lying
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 30th, 2017
PublisherDelacorte Press
Number of pages368 pages
Rating
GenreYoung Adult, Mystery, Contemporary, Thriller

One of Us Is Lying Review

  • Solomon ~ The Bookish King
    March 23, 2017
    **Thank you Netgalley, for giving me this awesome book, in exchange for an honest review.**... I LOVED this book ...It is by far the one of the best thrillerish/suspense novels I have ever read (LOL I've only read like three.) And is definitely one of my favorite releases of the year, y'all are going to LOVE this one ... hopefully.Karen McManus, you my friend, are an absolute mastermind.Plot:One of Us Is Lying starts off with five high school students who have been placed into detention due to a **Thank you Netgalley, for giving me this awesome book, in exchange for an honest review.**... I LOVED this book ...It is by far the one of the best thrillerish/suspense novels I have ever read (LOL I've only read like three.) And is definitely one of my favorite releases of the year, y'all are going to LOVE this one ... hopefully.Karen McManus, you my friend, are an absolute mastermind.Plot:One of Us Is Lying starts off with five high school students who have been placed into detention due to a cell phone scam. All five have been caught having phones that weren't their's and their real phones were in their lockers or never confiscated. It's apparent that their detention was a set up and hoax, and no one knows why. Then one student, Simon, goes to get some water during his detention time, and DIES. This all happens super fast, and you're instantly thrown into the crazy storyline.We have a jock (Cooper), modern day Mean Girl (Addy), the typical nerdy goodie goodie (Bronwyn), and bad boy (Nate.) These four have all witnessed the death of fellow class mate, Simon and only one can be the killer. But they all have their own secrets. DUN. DUn. Dun. dun.SOUNDS AWESOME RIGHT?? BECAUSE IT IS. These characters are so diverse and come from crazy different backgrounds and go through a lot of crazy crap due to the death of Simon. And just WOAH, this was a masterpiece. I honestly figured out the ending pretty early on in the story, but then a lot of things happen, and your opinion will change, and then go back and UGH I WAS EVERYWHERE TO BE HONEST. The characters will pull you along the story though. They are such well thought out characters, and they seem so real and relatable. Nothing in this book seemed far fetched at all, because I could easily see this stuff happening in any high school. You get relationship drama, and just stupid teenagers. And honestly, I live for this stuff.Something that made these characters great, is that the author breaks the boundaries of your typical high school students. The classic blonde girl who you expect to be shallow and dumb, is actually very intelligent and well rounded. She wasn't this idiot who ruined the story. The classic Jock is just ... just read it to figure it out because you won't be expecting the plot twist with him. The nerdy girl ... okay she was pretty much the typical goodie goodie. But the typical bad boy as well wasn't a complete jerk to everyone. He had depth and character, and he had a heart and I loved seeing the barriers being broke in this book.There is some slight romance in this book but it was GOOD AND WELL PLACED. It didn't seem pushed and a horrid plot device. I will go down with my ship in this series, just saying. It was perfect.Also, I know that this has been compared to the Breakfast Club .... and I've never seen that soo I definitely cannot say that it's true to that hype. BUT STILL READ IT BECAUSE IT'S SO GOOD. I cannot wait for everyone to get their hands on this when it comes out because it is a MASTERPIECE!!!!!SOLO IS OUT.
    more
  • Kelly (and the Book Boar)
    February 22, 2017
    Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ “Some people are too toxic to live. They just are.” Welcome to detention, where a princess, a jock, a brain, a criminal and . . . a gossip???? Wait, that’s not historically accurate . . . . . Have all earned a spot for violating one of the most serious rules of high school: NO PHONES IN CLASS. They’ve done the crime, now they have to do the time as well as write a 500 word essay about how technology is ruining American high schools. I Find all of my reviews at: http://52bookminimum.blogspot.com/ “Some people are too toxic to live. They just are.” Welcome to detention, where a princess, a jock, a brain, a criminal and . . . a gossip???? Wait, that’s not historically accurate . . . . . Have all earned a spot for violating one of the most serious rules of high school: NO PHONES IN CLASS. They’ve done the crime, now they have to do the time as well as write a 500 word essay about how technology is ruining American high schools. If they fail to do so, well . . . . Plans quickly change, however, when the gossip drops dead of anaphylactic shock. (He didn’t belong in the story anyway, right? The basketcase was the final member.) Now the four remaining delinquents are all suspects in his death when the questions of just how did peanut oil get in the disposable cups near the sink and what happened to all of the epi pens in the nurse’s station get raised. But there’s even more in store for these kids when the gossip’s dishy blog starts revealing secrets none of the four ever thought would get out . . . . . First, kudos to whoever was in charge for finally getting a dang blurb right. This absolutely was “The Breakfast Club Meets Pretty Little Liars.” Per usual, I was not the target audience for this selection, but hey the sun shines on an old dog’s butt every once in a while because I thought it was . . . . I suspect One Of Us Is Lying will become a bestseller P.D.Q. (that’s pretty darn quick for you young’ins) and I wouldn’t be surprised to see it optioned as a movie in the not-so-distant future either. If you read mysteries . . . like ever . . . . you'll probably see the end coming about 12 miles away, but the getting there is all the fun. Obviously this isn't a story that’s going to change anyone’s lives, but if you have a teen (or in my case a 30 year old male attorney boss) who enjoys all the guilty pleasures Pretty Little Liars has to offer on the ABC Family Channel, this will probably be a winner.ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thanks, NetGalley!
    more
  • Dannii Elle
    April 21, 2017
    I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the author, Karen M. McManus, and the publisher, Delacorte Press, for this opportunity.After a typical day in a typical American high school, five teenagers enter detention but only four make it out alive. Simon, notorious due to his gossip-style blog that revealed all the dark and dirty secrets his fellow students never thought would see the light of day, had made many enemies. But which one would want to see him dead I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you to the author, Karen M. McManus, and the publisher, Delacorte Press, for this opportunity.After a typical day in a typical American high school, five teenagers enter detention but only four make it out alive. Simon, notorious due to his gossip-style blog that revealed all the dark and dirty secrets his fellow students never thought would see the light of day, had made many enemies. But which one would want to see him dead?The multiple perspective all provided their own angle to the plot. These all pulled together, towards the end, to turn their individual stories into one cohesive whole. Each dirty secret that was uncovered made each character less of a walking stereotype and more of a flawed, and therefore real, individual. I will admit that when I first was introduced to this cast of characters - the overachiever, the bad boy, the jock, the popular girl - I had assumed these were going to be nothing more than a set of weakly constructed and overused cardboard characters. How wrong could I be?The actual plot was a thrilling and interesting one, but it was the characters who circled it that really compelled me to keep reading. I admit that I figured out the mystery pretty quickly, but this didn't detract from my enjoyment in any way, purely because the characters. With their flaws and their individual insights they continued to interest me, and made this a very real and very suspenseful read.
    more
  • Nicole
    April 25, 2017
    "Everybody's got secrets," he says. "Right?"This book was a pleasant surprise! It was refreshing and a change from the normal young-adult contemporary. Bronwyn, Nate, Cooper, and Addy are suspects for murdering the school's gossiper, Simon. When the 5 of them were in detention, the last thing they expect is for Simon to drop dead... Unless one of them planned the whole thing. The story is told from their POVs. The nerd, the bad boy, the jock, and the princess are the most common high school ster "Everybody's got secrets," he says. "Right?"This book was a pleasant surprise! It was refreshing and a change from the normal young-adult contemporary. Bronwyn, Nate, Cooper, and Addy are suspects for murdering the school's gossiper, Simon. When the 5 of them were in detention, the last thing they expect is for Simon to drop dead... Unless one of them planned the whole thing. The story is told from their POVs. The nerd, the bad boy, the jock, and the princess are the most common high school stereotypes. Until you start to see they're more than that. Bronwyn has the highest grades, Nate was (is?) a drug dealer, Cooper is the best baseball player in school, and Addy is used to being popular, true, but they're are more than their titles. Soon, you sympathize with them but at the same time, you can't neglect anything they do/think. Everyone has secrets that they'll do anything to not let them see the light, but to what extent? Everyone is flawed. We see them transform from 1-dimentional character to teens with more developed personalities as they try to deal with everything. Bronwyn and Nate's chapter were my favorites, although I have to admit how much Addy grew on me. Cooper's were fun. Most important of all, they're real .Even though the mystery wasn't hard to figure out, it was still fun. I'm sure it's because we're seeing the bigger picture, everyone had a piece of the truth. Yet, you can't help but feel skeptical, I shouldn't like this character, he looks innocent but what if ?One of the things I liked is how this book rely on social medias, something many books set in our days ignore. It's not logical, social media is a part of everybody's life. I liked how Karen used it to create a good story. How our lives, privacy, secrets are violated. How it's so easy to uncover anything. This was a quick read, even if I have to admit that it stretched a bit too much eventually, it was fun and a page turner. I highly recommended if you're looking for something new in the YA contemporary genre. It has a bit of everything, even a little romance.This book would make a great movie! Karen M. McManus did a great job for a debut book, I'm already looking forward to her future books. ***ARC provided via NetGalley.***
    more
  • kat ♥
    March 29, 2017
    first thing first this book was very nearly un-put-downable, i just needed to know what was happening page after page, i managed to make it last a few sittings; which nearly killed me because i hate waiting to find out things and i just needed to know!!!ohooh, just gonna point out the most infuriating thing in this whole book is the cops, they are so bloody useless whether this was on purpose or not i just found them very stupid.the rest of the characters i loved, nate + addy hands down being my first thing first this book was very nearly un-put-downable, i just needed to know what was happening page after page, i managed to make it last a few sittings; which nearly killed me because i hate waiting to find out things and i just needed to know!!!ohooh, just gonna point out the most infuriating thing in this whole book is the cops, they are so bloody useless whether this was on purpose or not i just found them very stupid.the rest of the characters i loved, nate + addy hands down being my favourite out of all the characters, probably because they have the most growth?while i was reading this book i swear i had about five or six suspects of who had done it, which was amazing, i loved being kept guessing and wanting to know more. i did guess who it was towards the end but i don't care, this book did it in a way that i just loved.it's a great ya mystery and i can't wait for you all to grab your hands on it and hopefully enjoy it as much as i did : D**thank you to the publisher and netgalley for the arc**
    more
  • Emer
    February 23, 2017
    One Of Us Is Lying has a great premise. It tells the story of what happens in high school detention one afternoon. Five students walk in… but only four make it out alive. Someone is murdered.What exactly happened in that room? Was this a conspiracy to murder by the other four students? Who had the most motive?Aspersions are cast on everyone as secrets are unveiled and the criminal mastermind plays puppeteer. And I must say from the get go, I was hooked! This was the type of book where I would re One Of Us Is Lying has a great premise. It tells the story of what happens in high school detention one afternoon. Five students walk in… but only four make it out alive. Someone is murdered.What exactly happened in that room? Was this a conspiracy to murder by the other four students? Who had the most motive?Aspersions are cast on everyone as secrets are unveiled and the criminal mastermind plays puppeteer. And I must say from the get go, I was hooked! This was the type of book where I would recommend you leave reality at the door, give your brain a few hours off, grab some tasty snacks to munch and just enjoy the ride! This is what I term a popcorn book. There are no great surprises in terms of the cast of characters. There’s Bronwyn the smart girl, Addy the popular one, Cooper the jock, Simon the social outcast and Nate the bad boy… and even when the book begins to scratch beneath the surface of these outside personas what is revealed isn’t exactly surprising either! But that doesn’t really detract from the enjoyment of this high school whodunit. The pace moves along nicely, there’s a suitable amount of tension for a light read and it is all comfortably entertaining. I don’t think that anyone will be all that surprised by the ending. I am very much a reader of the gullible variety and even I pegged the big reveal very early on in the read. But I still very much enjoyed the journey to that ultimate reveal.My main issue with the ending is that I felt it should have been darker and more grounded in truth. Without wishing to spoil the culmination of the investigation into the murder, I think that it was important to further explore the motivation behind the killing and to lift this novel from simply being a popcorn thriller. It was too convenient and I think more consideration was needed to flesh out the story of why. It was too easy to lay blame and therefore have life move on unchanged and I felt it was disingenuous to the “motive”.I did however very much enjoy this reading experience and would recommend this book to anyone who likes their contemporary young-adult reads to have a little of everything.three to three-and-a-half stars*A copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the publisher, Penguin Random House UK: Children's, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    February 2, 2017
    Another pretty much one sitting read for me and an EASY 5*I loved this - clever, often tense, addictive to the ninth degree and with as many twists as a plethora of pretzels - except the twists don't always come within the mystery but just as often within the characters.So this is The Breakfast Club if The Breakfast Club was a murder mystery. That is the best way I can describe it (and for those of an age to appreciate the true genius of The Breakfast Club the highest compliment I can give it) 5 Another pretty much one sitting read for me and an EASY 5*I loved this - clever, often tense, addictive to the ninth degree and with as many twists as a plethora of pretzels - except the twists don't always come within the mystery but just as often within the characters.So this is The Breakfast Club if The Breakfast Club was a murder mystery. That is the best way I can describe it (and for those of an age to appreciate the true genius of The Breakfast Club the highest compliment I can give it) 5 students enter detention only 4 come out alive. But what happened to them? Murder? Accident? And who were they? Victim? Undeserved of their fate? And most of all, who hated them enough to want to see them dead? Well all of those questions will eventually get answered but before that we have a genius of a novel, brilliantly insightful storytelling that starts with a group of teenagers who have easy labels applied to them (the Jock, the popular girl etc etc) but over the course of the novel grow layers and flesh and bone and become actual people. The people they are...One of them may be a killer. All of them are not as shallow or as easily read as would first appear. As they enter the spotlight, not only within school gossip but also under intense scrutiny as the police investigation unfolds, the media looks on and nothing will ever be the same again. We hear from all of them and start to understand what has led to this moment, Karen M.McManus slowly but surely takes us towards the ultimate resolution, peeling back the hidden underneath of their friendships and loyalties, pushing them together and pulling them apart.It is absolutely riveting - seriously I was hooked, I really engaged with all of them and their plight - so when I say this is utterly character driven I mean that exactly. As relationships are tested, not just within the school hierarchy but within each of their families, all of them have some serious growing up to do and you watch them do just that.Not all of the reveal moments are unexpected but they are all emotionally resonant, this is not just a Young Adult mystery but an unravelling of substance and what makes us tick as people. Plus to be fair the mystery element is HIGHLY intriguing - there is also a Christiesque touch to things that really adds to the sheer joy of reading it.That's it - The Breakfast Club if Agatha Christie had written it. One Of Us Is Lying in a nutshell for me.Highly Recommended. Beautifully written and a genuine barnstormer of a page turner.
    more
  • Laurie Flynn
    October 14, 2016
    This book? Completely unputdownable. I'm totally blown away. Karen McManus's 2017 debut, ONE OF US IS LYING, is told from the perspectives of four high school students suspected for the murder of their classmate, Simon, who was in detention with them and didn't come out alive. Right away, the tension was thick and stakes were high. Which one wasn't telling the truth? Who should we believe, and why? Usually I'm pretty good at unraveling the mystery, but with this story, I seriously had no clue. I This book? Completely unputdownable. I'm totally blown away. Karen McManus's 2017 debut, ONE OF US IS LYING, is told from the perspectives of four high school students suspected for the murder of their classmate, Simon, who was in detention with them and didn't come out alive. Right away, the tension was thick and stakes were high. Which one wasn't telling the truth? Who should we believe, and why? Usually I'm pretty good at unraveling the mystery, but with this story, I seriously had no clue. I was kept guessing and second-guessing and flipping back and forth from one theory to another, only to find out I was nowhere near the truth. ONE OF US IS LYING is my kind of book. It's insanely smart, twisty, and unpredictable, with so much character growth and depth. The fact that the story is told from four perspectives adds a lot of dimension and lets the reader get into each character's head and formulate theories about who can be trusted. I'm SO excited for this book to hit shelves in 2017. It's truly unlike anything I have ever read, and I'm definitely calling myself a lifelong Karen McManus fangirl. Any writer who can mess with my head as much as she has (and so effortlessly!) has all of my respect. Captivating, sharp, and shocking, ONE OF US IS LYING is a book any lover of YA contemporary mysteries will love. And I'm not lying about that.
    more
  • Sophie
    April 27, 2017
    An ARC has been kindly provided by Penguin Random House UK Children’s via NetGalley.com, in exchange for an honest review.4,5 starsI finished this book today “readwalking” home as I could not put it down. I just had to know!!!It was like Agatha Christies happening in high school with a Gossip Girl feel. I was deeply invested in this first work by Karen M. McManus. “It’s a great story: four good-looking, high-profile students all being investigated for murder. And nobody’s what they seem. The pr An ARC has been kindly provided by Penguin Random House UK Children’s via NetGalley.com, in exchange for an honest review.4,5 starsI finished this book today “readwalking” home as I could not put it down. I just had to know!!!It was like Agatha Christies happening in high school with a Gossip Girl feel. I was deeply invested in this first work by Karen M. McManus. “It’s a great story: four good-looking, high-profile students all being investigated for murder. And nobody’s what they seem. The pressure’s on now, Bayview Police. Maybe you should be looking a little closer at Simon’s old entries. You might find some interesting hints about the Bayview Four.”It all begins in a classroom with five teenagers serving detention. They’ve been set up. Someone planted phones in their backpacks and the teacher had a strong no phone policy. By the end of detention only four will still be alive. Simon the creator of a gossip app dies poisoned.Soon enough investigations begin revolving around the four students. Who is the murderer?Is it Cooper the good ol’boy and rising baseball star? Is it Addy the shiny blonde Barbie? Is it Nate the school drugs dealer? Or is it valedictorian and goody two shoes Bronwyn?One by one they’re questioned. One by one we uncover their secrets…They were not perfect, far from it. Unexpected alliance and quasi friendships are forged. They would never have been close before but now they’re the Murderers Gang. Framed they’re shunned by their former “so called” friends.Told with multiple POV (something usually very difficult to execute properly when writing) Karen M McManus sucked me in this mystery novel.Of course solving the murder is the main topic but not the only one far from it.The author developed themes like:- cheating to reach one’s goal;- being your own person and daring to stand out among the high school clique; -daring to be different and go against your family’s beliefs and expectations;-prejudice framing someone as the perfect scapegoat;-bullying and how our modern society feeds on gossip and scandals like some reality TV porn (media circus);-police incompetency and court system’s injustice-… all this with an omniscient narrator as background foddering little tidbits to keep rumors going strong. Gossip Girl vibes  All along I was wondering: do I KNOW my kids? I mean really know them? Could I discover similar secrets or double lives? It was a somewhat unsettling but the right kind of unsettling. The one that gives you thrills because you love being a little bit frightened.I also loved the characters development.In the beginning I couldn’t stand Addy. I found her shallow and brainless. She was a “airhead homecoming princess”. She was never able to survive without being superglued to her boyfriend Jake. Luckily for me after what happened to her she did grew-up. She unexpectedly became one of my favorite characters and ended as a kind of super ninja. Who would have guessed she would grow a backbone? Not me that’s for sure!Nate has always been this kinda charming school badboy every girl secretly dreams of. From aloof and “I don’t give a [email protected] what you’re thinking” attitude he morphed into this loyal and protective guy. The one that’s been beaten by life and doing his best to pay the bills.I guessed Cooper’s secret pretty early on. He remained the good old boy all along.Bronwyn was my second favorite character. She progressively let loose and we discovered a very smart and very determined girl. She would battle teeth and claws to protect her loved ones. She was the driving force of the gang. Thanks to her brilliant mind the mystery will be solved and not thanks to the police!Truly I can’t recommend this book enough.You want to follow all my reviews and rants? Sign up for my newsletter at: Or follow me on Facebook: Twitter:
    more
  • Andrew
    March 19, 2017
    A brain, a jock, a criminal, a princess and an outcast.I’ve heard this novel being marketed as ‘The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars’ and they’re not wrong.This book completely drew me in and I found it hard to put it down, I loved it so much. Granted, the big reveal I sort of figured out about halfway through but that didn’t stop me from enjoying what was written.It is a fantastic debut for this author and I very much recommend this to others and I encourage the author to continue writi A brain, a jock, a criminal, a princess and an outcast.I’ve heard this novel being marketed as ‘The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars’ and they’re not wrong.This book completely drew me in and I found it hard to put it down, I loved it so much. Granted, the big reveal I sort of figured out about halfway through but that didn’t stop me from enjoying what was written.It is a fantastic debut for this author and I very much recommend this to others and I encourage the author to continue writing, she has an amazing imagination. I cannot wait for this to be published and buy my own copy to put on my shelf.The only really negative thing about it is how clichéd the secretly gay person was. (view spoiler)[It was the jock, the secretly gay jock who had a girlfriend but couldn’t be open about being with a guy because of his future sporting career and father. Even though it was resolved in the end, I found it overly cliché and it would have been better and more surprising if one of the other’s had of been queer. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Tijana
    April 24, 2017
    **ARC provided via NetGalley.Yet, my craziness and lack of normal person's description in lines to come have nothing to do with that.I simply loved this messed up shit.**So, a kid gets killed.There are four suspects.All of them witnessed the death.Each one of them has a motive.Four POV.All claiming inocence.But f#ck that ish when the title says one of them is lying!!And you don't know who that is.And then you start questioning each and every detail.And then you get a book boyfriend.And then you **ARC provided via NetGalley.Yet, my craziness and lack of normal person's description in lines to come have nothing to do with that.I simply loved this messed up shit.**So, a kid gets killed.There are four suspects.All of them witnessed the death.Each one of them has a motive.Four POV.All claiming inocence.But f#ck that ish when the title says one of them is lying!!And you don't know who that is.And then you start questioning each and every detail.And then you get a book boyfriend.And then you realize you can't, because he might be a killer! But you trust him!But you can't cuz you've been knowing him for 30 pages only.Then you go nuts, not having a clue what's going on and not being​ able put the book down.Awesome story.Read it.
    more
  • Mandy
    April 12, 2017
    SO GOOD. SO GOOD. SO GOOD.review to come!
  • Kjell (RebelBelle)
    April 26, 2017
    Whenever I see this title I keep singing One Of Us by ABBA :D
  • Karen Whittard
    February 2, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley, Penguin Random House, U.K. and Karen McManus for the opportunity to read this book for an honest review. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance reader copy of this book. You can find my review on both Goodreads and Amazon. On Goodreads from today under Karen Whittard and on Amazon under k.e.whittard from publication date. I really enjoyed this book and it really reminded me of Pretty little liars with the fact that there are four people who know how someone dies but who killed Thank you to Netgalley, Penguin Random House, U.K. and Karen McManus for the opportunity to read this book for an honest review. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance reader copy of this book. You can find my review on both Goodreads and Amazon. On Goodreads from today under Karen Whittard and on Amazon under k.e.whittard from publication date. I really enjoyed this book and it really reminded me of Pretty little liars with the fact that there are four people who know how someone dies but who killed that person. It also reminded me of Gossip Girl with the whole app thing that broadcasts everyone's mistakes and misdeminers. I really liked the way that the book was written with the chapters told by a different persons point of view and with the day and time displayed so it was a little like a diary and it also followed on in time so it moved fairly quickly. This book actually left me guessing who was the killer write up to the end. Which is something I really like in a book. I thought that the book was written really well and I really liked all the different characters. Because it was told from their differing points of view. You really got to know the characters and you felt like you knew themAnd we're acting out the book amount them. Which I really enjoyed. Five people walk into detention. The bio says they are strangers and in a way I guess they are because they don't all know each other properly. But they do know each other because they all go to the same school as there are pockets of friends who go to the detention together. So their not complete strangers to each other. Browyn is a good toe shoes with great grades who is bound for Yale. Addy the beauty queen and who is in line to make homecoming queen. Nate the criminal is on probation from dealing drugs. Cooper is a all star spots hero. Who plays in the school baseball team and is their star pitcher. And Simon who is a little bit of an outside who is the creator of their notorious gossip app. Simon has a severe allergic reaction to peanuts. When the professor steps out to deal with something the young adults are left alone in the classroom. Simon goes to get a drink and then ends up dead. This had enough suspense to keep me wanting to read more to find out what exactly is going on. They all have secrets, they all have something to hide. But which one is the killer? My decision changed so many times during this book and I was left guessing all the time. This is a really good book and I recommend it to young adults and anyone who likes a mystery who dunnit book. Happy reading everyone
    more
  • Sarah
    May 2, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Penguin Random House UK Children’s and NetGalley.) “A sex tape. A pregnancy scare. Two cheating scandals. And that’s just this week’s update. If all you knew of Bayview High was Simon Kelleher’s gossip app, you’d wonder how anyone found time to go to class.” This was a YA murder-mystery story, about a dead teen and 4 possible suspects.The characters in this were all okay, but I didn’t particularly love any of them. They were all lyin (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Penguin Random House UK Children’s and NetGalley.) “A sex tape. A pregnancy scare. Two cheating scandals. And that’s just this week’s update. If all you knew of Bayview High was Simon Kelleher’s gossip app, you’d wonder how anyone found time to go to class.” This was a YA murder-mystery story, about a dead teen and 4 possible suspects.The characters in this were all okay, but I didn’t particularly love any of them. They were all lying about something as well, so the title didn’t make much sense!The storyline in this was about a boy (Simon) dying after drinking water laced with peanut oil, whilst in detention with 4 other students. Simon ran a website which posted gossip (think Gossip girl) and had juicy secrets about all 4 of the kids in detention, meaning that they were all suspects in his murder. The pace in this was quite slow though, and I was ready for answers a lot sooner than we got them. I also guessed who was behind Simon’s death way before it was revealed.The ending to this was okay, and I was pleased that the truth came out in the end. 6.5 out of 10
    more
  • Mare SLiTsReaD Reviews
    March 9, 2017
    Thank you Netgalley for a copy of this book. I never thought I would get approved and then I did and I died a little inside from the immense happiness burning through my veins. DAMMMMMNNNNNNNNNNNNNThis is the book that you want to review right after you read the last word but you can't because you've read an arc and will ruin every single element for anyone who actually reads what I write in my reviews HA. This book gave me many a clues but i wasn't fast you guys. I kept trying to think which on Thank you Netgalley for a copy of this book. I never thought I would get approved and then I did and I died a little inside from the immense happiness burning through my veins. DAMMMMMNNNNNNNNNNNNNThis is the book that you want to review right after you read the last word but you can't because you've read an arc and will ruin every single element for anyone who actually reads what I write in my reviews HA. This book gave me many a clues but i wasn't fast you guys. I kept trying to think which one of them in that room did it. And KUDOS to Karen M McManus on this brilliant debut. It was everything I wanted and hoped it would be.Mare~Slitsread
    more
  • thelovelyshelf
    November 19, 2016
    This book was absolutely brilliant. I found it nearly impossible to put down!! I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this novel at Yallfest, and it did not disappoint. 'ONE OF US IS LYING' BLEW MY MIND, Y'ALL. There was so many plot twists (..especially that twist at the end...DANG.) that I never saw coming, and characters that I never thought i'd grow to love. I feel as if I've known these characters their whole lives (hopefully that doesn't sound creepy..). I never thought I would like this This book was absolutely brilliant. I found it nearly impossible to put down!! I was lucky enough to receive an ARC of this novel at Yallfest, and it did not disappoint. 'ONE OF US IS LYING' BLEW MY MIND, Y'ALL. There was so many plot twists (..especially that twist at the end...DANG.) that I never saw coming, and characters that I never thought i'd grow to love. I feel as if I've known these characters their whole lives (hopefully that doesn't sound creepy..). I never thought I would like this novel, because of how it switched between the four characters so frequently, but boy was I wrong!! Bronwyn, Nate, Addy, and Cooper were all so different from each other, yet they all flowed together so well. And what REALLY blows my mind is that this is the authors DEBUT NOVEL. Just...wow! Overall, ONE OF US IS LYING was a spectacular novel, and I can't wait to see what Karen McManus comes up with next. Full review to come on the blog closer to publishing date!
    more
  • Rhiannon
    April 6, 2017
    So, so, SO addictively good! I couldn't put it down.
  • Sam Kozbial
    April 2, 2017
    Wow! I just couldn't stop turning the pages on this one. Loved it all, and....I love it when I'm right! **UPDATED FULL REVIEW** "One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide." This blurb from GoodReads really encapsulates the essence of this book into a nice, concise statement.When the four main characters are each found with a cell phone in their bag, they earn an a Wow! I just couldn't stop turning the pages on this one. Loved it all, and....I love it when I'm right! **UPDATED FULL REVIEW** "One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide." This blurb from GoodReads really encapsulates the essence of this book into a nice, concise statement.When the four main characters are each found with a cell phone in their bag, they earn an afternoon detention. Oddly, the cell phones didn't belong to them, and while they are serving their time, one of the attendees, Simon, dies. It all appears to be a tragic accident, until the police begin investigating them for murder. The investigation uncovers some incriminating evidence. It seems Simon was planning to publish each of their darkest secrets under the guise of juicy gossip. This reveal turns them from witnesses into suspects.This was such a great reading experience for me. The story pulled me in from page one, and I just wanted to keep reading and collecting clues. I did develop a hypothesis, which ended up being correct,  (*pats self on back*) but that's half the fun when I read a mystery. I have seen that this was pitched as "Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars" and I have to say, that is a great description for this book. "'She's a princess and you're a jock,' he says. He thrusts his chin toward Bronwyn, then at Nate. 'And you're a brain. And you're a criminal. You're all walking teen-movie stereotypes." Each of the four main characters do fall into one of those typical high school cliques, but as the story plays on, we find out that there is a lot more beneath the surface of each character. They were all quite layered and well constructed. They all had such depth, and I thought McManus did a great job developing them throughout the book. I really enjoyed getting to know each of the characters as they dealt with the investigation and their secrets being revealed.I know having your deepest, darkest secrets unveiled publicly is not a positive thing, but the outcome for these characters was. Each of them was forced to admit the truth ,and face the consequences of the fallout once others learned of it. One character found her inner strength and independence, while another was able to feel more comfortable in his own skin. Two found love, while most of them found acceptance on some level. Some developed a reinforcement or renewal of family ties, but all of them experienced growth, and it was a positive growth. All four characters were a better version of themselves at the end of this book, and I always find that the mark of great YA story.Another great outcome, was that the four bonded together. This group of disparate teens became "the Bayview Four", and they were there for each other. In their quest to clear their names, they found friendship and more.And yes, there is a romance. *heart-eyes* Sorry, not sorry, but I always want a little romance. I don't care what kind of book I am reading, a little romance is always a good thing. This was a wonderful and meaningful romance, and by no means took away from the overall plot. It was well integrated, and a ship worth shipping. Seriously, at one point, about 63% through the story, the heroine goes on this rant about why she wants to try dating the hero, and it is the cutest, most adorable thing ever. I liked her already, but I loved her after that outburst.Overall: A riveting mystery filled with twists and turns, which had me hooked from page one.**I would like to thank NetGalley and the publisher for the advanced copy of this book.BLOG|INSTAGRAM|BLOGLOVIN| FRIEND ME ON GOODREADS
    more
  • Ellen
    March 21, 2017
    My ARC from Netgalley has been sitting on my kindle, and for some reason I decided that this would be the day that I started it. And boy am I glad I did. I spent the whole afternoon reading it and didn't want to put it down for anything! It's a little Pretty Little Liars, mixed with a touch of the classic outcasts becoming close and being best friends. Every single one of the main characters was complicated, with complex lives and inner worlds. The structure of the story means that we see into t My ARC from Netgalley has been sitting on my kindle, and for some reason I decided that this would be the day that I started it. And boy am I glad I did. I spent the whole afternoon reading it and didn't want to put it down for anything! It's a little Pretty Little Liars, mixed with a touch of the classic outcasts becoming close and being best friends. Every single one of the main characters was complicated, with complex lives and inner worlds. The structure of the story means that we see into the heads of each one of the main four characters, but be warned: the chapters are short, dramatic, and tend to end on big reveals. Basically, this was a really awesome twisty-turny roller coaster ride that I couldn't put down until I finished it. (Although the epilogue was more than a little cheesy. Sorry.)
    more
  • Cale Dietrich
    December 24, 2016
    I know it’s early, but I think this might just be the most unputdownable book of 2017.ONE OF US IS LYING is like if John Hughes wrote a twisty murder mystery. Think the Breakfast Club + DEATH. This is a combination that I love so much, and one that felt incredibly unique. I’ve never read a book like this, which is a bit of a surprise, as this combination works so freaking well I’m surprised no one else has gone there. And the voice! McManus is an absolute pro at this. The book is told from multi I know it’s early, but I think this might just be the most unputdownable book of 2017.ONE OF US IS LYING is like if John Hughes wrote a twisty murder mystery. Think the Breakfast Club + DEATH. This is a combination that I love so much, and one that felt incredibly unique. I’ve never read a book like this, which is a bit of a surprise, as this combination works so freaking well I’m surprised no one else has gone there. And the voice! McManus is an absolute pro at this. The book is told from multiple perspectives, all of which feel totally unique. Each POV character is lovable and suspicious to the right degree. I spent most of my time reading this being incredibly sceptical of everyone in this book, yet I still found myself falling for each of them. Still, there was always the thought in the back of my mind that they *might* just be a murderer. This push-pull was so compelling and made this book really hard to put down. This is a super fun book that I tore through because I needed to find out who did it. I think this is going to be really popular when it comes out next year.
    more
  • Allison
    October 21, 2016
    Super compelling and compulsively readable..... Loved the Breakfast Club vibe to this. (Murder Club, y/y?) Loved all the characters, wanted to smush them to my bosom, etc. I finished this in two sittings. God bless breakneck pacing and short chapters. That FINAL TWIST AT THE END. Longer, less all over the place review later....
    more
  • Hannah
    March 25, 2017
    ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review This quote is liable to change by the publication date but it's so perfect I had to include it. I don't know why it's so hard for people to admit that sometimes they're just assholes who screw up because they don't expect to get caught Actual rating 4.5 This was so good! I'm really pleased. The mystery is strong- I did just about figure it out before the big reveal but there are more than enough twists and turns and confusing aspect ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review This quote is liable to change by the publication date but it's so perfect I had to include it. I don't know why it's so hard for people to admit that sometimes they're just assholes who screw up because they don't expect to get caught Actual rating 4.5 This was so good! I'm really pleased. The mystery is strong- I did just about figure it out before the big reveal but there are more than enough twists and turns and confusing aspects to keep you going and I'm sure a decent amount of people will guess wrong. (view spoiler)[ I never believed it was any of the four protagonists, possibly partly due to the first person narration so that really only left a couple of options (hide spoiler)]. The backstories and character development were all really well done too, I loved all four of them for different reasons. I think Addy is my favourite at the end, she grows so much and has a real journey of self discovery which was just lovely to watch unfold. (view spoiler)[ I didn't like Jake from very early on, when he made Addy get changed to go to the beach but I never imagined it would end up with him framing her for murder then trying to kill her himself. What a wanker. (hide spoiler)] Bronwyn was brilliant, intelligent and flawed and confused but her backstory was the weakest and although I like her, I feel much more intensely for the other three. Nate was really interesting- his story was so intense and constantly changing. I loved his relationship with Bronwyn and I ship it so hard it's ridiculous. (view spoiler)[ I am choosing to believe they end up together after going to see Insurgent. (hide spoiler)] Cooper's story was beautiful and heartbreaking and life affirming and I love him. The epilogue (view spoiler)[ where they're all still supporting each other (hide spoiler)] made me cry. I honestly don't really feel like there are any weaknesses in this. The mystery is slightly far fetched but still believable, the characters are brilliant, it's well written and paced perfectly.
    more
  • twelvejan [Alexandria]
    January 31, 2017
    Thank you Netgalley/Penguin Random House for this wonderful, 4.5 stars read! We DARE you to not like this book... - Netgalley Well, challenge accepted; and gladly defeated. I can vouch for that. To date, not one reader has disliked it, and more than that, every single person has completely and utterly LOVED it. Come on, when you see an emailer that raves about an upcoming book, you cannot NOT request for it. And that was exactly what I did.Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive... Thank you Netgalley/Penguin Random House for this wonderful, 4.5 stars read! We DARE you to not like this book... - Netgalley Well, challenge accepted; and gladly defeated. I can vouch for that. To date, not one reader has disliked it, and more than that, every single person has completely and utterly LOVED it. Come on, when you see an emailer that raves about an upcoming book, you cannot NOT request for it. And that was exactly what I did.Five students go to detention. Only four leave alive...I was at the edge of my bed. I gave up my sleep to find out who the killer is. And damn, was it not worth every sleepless second! Told in the perspectives of the four suspects, we got to learn more about them. Their secrets, their shame, their pride. Since I started the book, my mind go into overdrive; trying to read in between the lines and the lies, trying to spot things that were implied and not said, going around, and around trying to narrow down the suspects. I just HAD to find out who the murderer is. And it doesn't hurt that I was shipping the two suspects hard!One of Us is Lying looks into the lives of five individuals. Five individuals who exists everywhere in the world in any high school. People whom you could relate to because they were either you, your best friend, your enemy, or the bully who always picked on you. It examines the issues of cyber-bully, gossips that ruin people, slights that break individuals. A snub to one meant an ignominy to another. I forgot to mention that after reading this, I fell asleep and had a nightmare of me getting caught in a murder mystery happening in MY school (workplace). I am that into the story!In short, I'll say grab it when it comes out on May 30th!Conclusion: Fast-paced cos it's easy to read and just so bloody intriguing you just HAD to get answers STAT!
    more
  • Hollie (hollieblog)
    March 8, 2017
    I received an eARC from Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review.I'm not really sure why I'm surprised that I enjoyed this. Granted, I don't read very many murder mysteries, especially ones that have a 'Breakfast Club' twist on them, but I genuinely thought this was a strong debut with great character development.And that's what it was really, a character study which held a lot of truth and realism about the stereotypes and pressures of being a student in high school. There are cliq I received an eARC from Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review.I'm not really sure why I'm surprised that I enjoyed this. Granted, I don't read very many murder mysteries, especially ones that have a 'Breakfast Club' twist on them, but I genuinely thought this was a strong debut with great character development.And that's what it was really, a character study which held a lot of truth and realism about the stereotypes and pressures of being a student in high school. There are cliques and sub cultures you're supposed to fit into, as well as expectations of you and who you're supposed to be. But this story really hit home that you do not have to be what anyone says you're supposed to be, and yet you can still succeed. Being yourself is more important than that.While I thought the story was slow in the beginning, it really grew on me as we were introduced more to the characters. Four students watch a fifth die during detention, and one of them is lying about who did it. We continue on from the murder to see the consequences of being a suspect in a murder inquiry, and how they find out the killer, but also how the situation changes them and their lives forever. I especially found Cooper (the jock) and Addy (the princess) to have the most character development as well as the strongest voices, but Bronwyn (the brains) was clearly the lead character and yet her POVs were sometimes the weakest.An exciting debut with an interesting twist, with great characters and an important message!
    more
  • Claire (not Danvers)
    January 11, 2017
    THIS IS THE BEST DECISION I'VE EVER MADE SO FAR (THIS YEAR). I definitely enjoyed reading this book! This is like The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars wrapped up into one! The best part? This line reminds me of The Secret History: "...were some kind of hiphigh school murder club without a care in the world." What can I say? This book's version of The Breakfast Club is being framed for murder after the basket case had died from peanut allergy. The question is... who did it? Who was lying? THIS IS THE BEST DECISION I'VE EVER MADE SO FAR (THIS YEAR). I definitely enjoyed reading this book! This is like The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars wrapped up into one! The best part? This line reminds me of The Secret History: "...were some kind of hiphigh school murder club without a care in the world." What can I say? This book's version of The Breakfast Club is being framed for murder after the basket case had died from peanut allergy. The question is... who did it? Who was lying?Believe me, the answer may shock some of you (maybe not).This was definitely a fun and exciting read. I highly recommend it!**HUGE THANKS TO THE PUBLISHER FOR APPROVING MY REQUEST IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. This review (and others) will be posted in my book blog
    more
  • Rachel Solomon
    October 24, 2016
    There couldn't be a more spot-on comparison for this book than The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars. Karen McManus's skillful debut follows four relative strangers thrown together in detention with the creator of their school's gossip app, and when he dies in front of them, they're all suspects. I loved each character's distinct personality and voice (four first-person POVs are hard to pull off, but McManus nails them!) and while the mystery kept me guessing, I was equally invested in th There couldn't be a more spot-on comparison for this book than The Breakfast Club meets Pretty Little Liars. Karen McManus's skillful debut follows four relative strangers thrown together in detention with the creator of their school's gossip app, and when he dies in front of them, they're all suspects. I loved each character's distinct personality and voice (four first-person POVs are hard to pull off, but McManus nails them!) and while the mystery kept me guessing, I was equally invested in the characters' emotional arcs. In particular, Addy -- the "princess" who has spent all of high school defined by her popular jock boyfriend -- had an extremely empowering journey. McManus touches on so many issues without ever coming across as preachy: stereotyping, entitlement, mental health, sexuality, and more. You won't be able to put down this twisty, fast-paced debut!
    more
  • A.V. Geiger
    November 29, 2016
    Five high schoolers go into detention. Only four come out alive. That's the irresistible set-up in One Of Us Is Lying, a twisty contemporary YA mystery (I was lucky enough to read an ARC). The four survivors take turns narrating, and they all have a motive to commit the crime. The tension mounts as their secrets come out, and the narrators race to solve the mystery before someone ends up taking the fall for a crime they didn't commit. The whole concept is executed perfectly, with four unique cha Five high schoolers go into detention. Only four come out alive. That's the irresistible set-up in One Of Us Is Lying, a twisty contemporary YA mystery (I was lucky enough to read an ARC). The four survivors take turns narrating, and they all have a motive to commit the crime. The tension mounts as their secrets come out, and the narrators race to solve the mystery before someone ends up taking the fall for a crime they didn't commit. The whole concept is executed perfectly, with four unique characters and buckets of suspense. This book will keep you guessing over which characters to trust... and which one of them is lying. Brilliant!
    more
  • Anna Priemaza
    January 8, 2017
    Wow. Just… wow.ONE OF US IS LYING is a murder mystery that's chock full of characters you want to hug. Everyone has a secret. Everyone has made mistakes. Everyone is just so wonderfully human and flawed.I constantly wanted to hug everyone, and at the same time, I was suspicious of everyone. An author who can accomplish that… well, let's just say I'll be reading everything Karen McManus writes ever.
    more
  • Liz Overberg
    March 28, 2017
    4.75 stars! I really liked it!This was a well-written mystery. The clues came along at just the right pace to not make the "big reveal" totally obvious. I did guess "whodunit" fairly early on, but I still really enjoyed the book and couldn't put it down, because there was more to the story than the mystery. Serious page turner material with reluctant reader potential here, people.The narrative is comprised of the voices of the four main characters / persons of interest. Each voice was unique and 4.75 stars! I really liked it!This was a well-written mystery. The clues came along at just the right pace to not make the "big reveal" totally obvious. I did guess "whodunit" fairly early on, but I still really enjoyed the book and couldn't put it down, because there was more to the story than the mystery. Serious page turner material with reluctant reader potential here, people.The narrative is comprised of the voices of the four main characters / persons of interest. Each voice was unique and well-developed. My favorite was probably Bronwyn because I relate to her the most. I think many readers would identify with at least one of the protags.Serious praise for the author for sending amazing positive messages all over the place. She touches on everything from friendship to honesty to self-esteem, sex, sexual orientation, communication, controlling relationships, independence, suicide, sibling bonds, drug-addicted parents, gossip...The list goes on! And for every single topic or issue there is authentic growth and, like, avalanches of learning and positive behavior. The characters say what they're feeling to each other, and I LOVE seeing that modeled in a book for teenagers. It feels authentic, too. (Not like a cheesy after school special.)The book went on a little long, which is why I'm dinging it a quarter of a star. Highly, highly recommended for school libraries! Great for murder mystery fans who like a real mystery more than violence. Recommended with reservations for middle school. There's some adult content, but in general the messages are positive and it's pretty PG-13.
    more
Write a review