Escape Velocity (Dire Earth Duology #2)
Part two of a thrilling action-adventure sci-fi duology featuring indomitable characters, incredible worlds, and plenty of rip-roaring action and thrills! Out of the frying pan and into the fire, Captains Skyler Luiken and Gloria Tsandi (and their respective crews) have smashed through the deadly Swarm Blockade, but now find themselves scattered around the planet Carthage and the space stations that she holds in her orbit. Their mission is now twofold: destroy the military compounds of the nefarious alien overlords and find a way back home to Earth. Standing in their way are a race of horrifying aliens aided by incredible weapons and technology. Low on supplies and with intermittent communication, the surviving humans must rely on all of their cunning, strength, and plain old good luck to turn the tables and overcome their foes.

Escape Velocity (Dire Earth Duology #2) Details

TitleEscape Velocity (Dire Earth Duology #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherDel Rey Books
ISBN0553391348
ISBN-139780553391343
Number of pages415 pages
Rating
GenreScience Fiction, Apocalyptic, Post Apocalyptic, Fiction

Escape Velocity (Dire Earth Duology #2) Review

  • Kevin Kelsey
    July 1, 2017
    **Review to come**
  • Dianne
    June 7, 2017
    Skyler is back, Gloria is back, the crews are back and the Swarm Blockade has been breached! A few minor details they have all landed scattered across the planet Carthage and its space stations, a little battered, a little bruised and in a lot of trouble. Getting back to Earth? Not looking like they will be making the one thousand light year journey without a ship. So why not take out the nasty aliens on their own turf? Sounds like a plan for fools or heroes, but our space travelers are not fool Skyler is back, Gloria is back, the crews are back and the Swarm Blockade has been breached! A few minor details they have all landed scattered across the planet Carthage and its space stations, a little battered, a little bruised and in a lot of trouble. Getting back to Earth? Not looking like they will be making the one thousand light year journey without a ship. So why not take out the nasty aliens on their own turf? Sounds like a plan for fools or heroes, but our space travelers are not fools…Hang on tight as we blast off once again with Jason M. Hough and his latest outer space nail biter, ESCAPE VELOCITY. Talk about being rocketed right into the story! Our heroes don’t even know if they can breathe the air for sure…and just how long will their suits continue to protect, hydrate and feed them? Weapons, what about weapons, what will work, what won’t, how long will they last as they play hide n seek with the enemy on their own turf? Only good old human ingenuity and the will to succeed and survive keep our heroes moving, in search of missing crewmen and a way off the galactic Hell they find themselves in.Jason M. Hough has another richly detailed, action-packed story that is a pure adrenaline rush from start to finish! There will be no fly-on-the-wall voyeurism, you WILL become part of the story, the action and the true brilliance that is ESCAPE VELOCITY, and you won’t be able to help it. Truly a gem from the stars and beyond!I received an ARC edition from Del Rey in exchange for my honest review.Series: The Dire Earth Cycle - Book 5 -Duology Book 2Publisher: Del Rey (June 27, 2017)Publication Date: June 27, 2017Genre: Science FictionPrint Length: 432 pagesAvailable from: Amazon | Barnes & Noble For Reviews & More: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Chris
    June 7, 2017
    I was given a preview copy of this book by netgalley, which was great as I would definitely have bought this book. I'll give my review of this together with the first book, injection burn. These books are exactly what the 80's action movie taglines were made for "high octane", "adrenaline rush" etc. I was a huge fan of the dire earth cycle books, with an author I hadn't heard anything about. The story was complex and I grew to love the characters. In the new duology, if you haven't read the firs I was given a preview copy of this book by netgalley, which was great as I would definitely have bought this book. I'll give my review of this together with the first book, injection burn. These books are exactly what the 80's action movie taglines were made for "high octane", "adrenaline rush" etc. I was a huge fan of the dire earth cycle books, with an author I hadn't heard anything about. The story was complex and I grew to love the characters. In the new duology, if you haven't read the first books, the character definitions would be very light. I didn't get immersed into the story so much as sucked into the action. These books were fun!Like all good action movies, you have to suspend your belief somewhat as the coincidences and unlikely escapades are beyond the usual scifi incredibility, but I read the two books in a few days, and they were not that short, so I definitely enjoyed them. if you loved the first books, these aren't the same, but you'll still enjoy the read.
    more
  • Mark Gardner
    May 23, 2017
    The only expectation I had for Escape Velocity was that it was the conclusion to the Dire Earth Duology, and that it had a badass captain on the cover. If you read my review on Tuesday, you already know that I seriously liked Zero World, so I had high expectations for the Dire Earth Duology.I think that book two is the better of the two books. The floundering that I had felt in book one was gone, replaced by familiarity. Some of the clunky surreal sequences I was left scratching my head in the f The only expectation I had for Escape Velocity was that it was the conclusion to the Dire Earth Duology, and that it had a badass captain on the cover. If you read my review on Tuesday, you already know that I seriously liked Zero World, so I had high expectations for the Dire Earth Duology.I think that book two is the better of the two books. The floundering that I had felt in book one was gone, replaced by familiarity. Some of the clunky surreal sequences I was left scratching my head in the first book reached fruition in book two.The dangling plot from Injection Burn is wrapped up in Escape Velocity, and if Jason Hough decided to write more in the same universe, I’d be an eager reader. I’m probably going to read the Dire Earth Cycle, and I look forward to meeting Jason at the 2017 Phoenix Comicon this weekend. I’m giving Escape Velocity four and a half stars over Injection Burn’s four.
    more
  • Susan
    June 24, 2017
    Escape Velocity is part of the Dire Earth series. This should not be read as a standalone. There is a lot of violence, it is a Alien military thriller, so it might not be suitable for more sensitive readers. This is a military thriller so much of the storyline revolves around fighting and military tactics.The book blurb adequately describes the storyline so I'm not going to repeat all of that info here. This is a military thriller filled with aliens who are based on what was the original earth p Escape Velocity is part of the Dire Earth series. This should not be read as a standalone. There is a lot of violence, it is a Alien military thriller, so it might not be suitable for more sensitive readers. This is a military thriller so much of the storyline revolves around fighting and military tactics.The book blurb adequately describes the storyline so I'm not going to repeat all of that info here. This is a military thriller filled with aliens who are based on what was the original earth planet and the warriors who are fighting for the survival of their earth and all of humanity. As usual, everything is not as it seems. I look forward to reading more of this series.I received a copy of this book from NetGalley and Del Rey books. I chose to write a review for other readers.
    more
Write a review