Boardwalk Summer
In the town of Tranquility Bay, summer is the season of second chances... Single mother Hope Thompson has built a happy life for herself and her twins in beautiful Tranquility Bay, Washington. She doesn t dwell on her painful past especially not on the man who broke her heart all those years ago. But when Hope s beloved son needs help, she takes a desperate chance and reaches out to her children s father. Nick Fortune lives life in the spotlight as a champion race car driver. He s shocked to hear from Hope and even more surprised to learn that he s a father. He immediately heads to the Pacific Northwest to confront the past and the woman he once loved. There, on the quiet lakeshore, Nick and Hope must work together to save their son even if it means facing their complicated past for a second chance as a family."

Boardwalk Summer Details

TitleBoardwalk Summer
Author
FormatMass Market Paperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherBerkley Books
ISBN0425235157
ISBN-139780425235157
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Fiction, Womens Fiction

Boardwalk Summer Review

  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    June 24, 2017
    Release Date: June 27, 2017 Genre: Contemporary Romance. Women's FictionBoardwalk Summer is an emotionally charged novel that is bound to make readers feel love and hope in their hearts. It's not a lighthearted book by any means (looking at the cover you may think so) and readers are probably going to feel their hearts tugging while reading. I don't want to spoil what the emotional aspect of the story is, but if you absolutely NEED to know you can find it in this small spoiler (view spoiler)[ Release Date: June 27, 2017 Genre: Contemporary Romance. Women's FictionBoardwalk Summer is an emotionally charged novel that is bound to make readers feel love and hope in their hearts. It's not a lighthearted book by any means (looking at the cover you may think so) and readers are probably going to feel their hearts tugging while reading. I don't want to spoil what the emotional aspect of the story is, but if you absolutely NEED to know you can find it in this small spoiler (view spoiler)[the heroine's son has leukemia and in dire need for a bone marrow transplant so that he can live (hide spoiler)]. There is also a second chance romance within this book. I found myself really rooting for this love to blossom once again and I think many readers will feel the same. Now, while I may not have fully agreed to why these two broke up and how they came back together again (communication is key and that is really shown throughout these characters journey), but I feel like the author told it in a way that even readers who don't agree with it will look past it. Don't get me wrong, there is no cheating and no love triangles, but I felt like both of the characters SHOULD have made more of an effect especially considering how much love they had for one another prior to them drifting apart. In any event, love is messy, things can get in the way, communication can be mishandled, and mistake will get made. This is life like to me, and I very much enjoyed reading it through these characters perspective. If you enjoy slow building, second chance romances with emotionally charged story lines this is your book. I can't wait for read more by the author based on this one and will be looking for more of her releases in the future. Recommended Read ** Many thanks to the author for sending me a PB copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
    June 26, 2017
    Hope and Nick are forced to overcome many obstacles to try and help their son; it’s a life and death matter. Hope is a very private and guarded person, with her sons’ trouble Hope has been forced to become even more precautions and guarded about her life. Nick has always lived life in the fast lane; from absentee parents to fast cars and faster women, Nick are thrown a huge curve to find out he’s a dad. Boardwalk Summer is a very hope filled novel. Hope that overcome a parents worse nightmare, h Hope and Nick are forced to overcome many obstacles to try and help their son; it’s a life and death matter. Hope is a very private and guarded person, with her sons’ trouble Hope has been forced to become even more precautions and guarded about her life. Nick has always lived life in the fast lane; from absentee parents to fast cars and faster women, Nick are thrown a huge curve to find out he’s a dad. Boardwalk Summer is a very hope filled novel. Hope that overcome a parents worse nightmare, hope to reconnect with a past love, hope to move past parental betrayal. I did feel a connection between Hope and Nick, their love is still burning strong after 17 years. Their relationship was a slow burn rekindling as opposed to an intense all consuming love. The secondary cast adding a great best friend paired along with an bitter old school mother. I would have liked to see more resolution to the mother daughter relationship, however I didn’t feel cheated out of anything. Watching the road to recovery for their children and a relationship become strong again was a great novel. If you are looking for a second chance romance, grab Boardwalk Summer, it will not leave you disappointed!Review copy provided for a voluntary review.
    more
  • i fall in love book blog
    June 16, 2017
    Boardwalk Summer was such a sweet surprise. I was a little caught off guard by how un-put-downable it was. It reminded me a little bit of a Lifetime/Hallmark movie. It was sweet, a bit dramatic, and full of heart. And really, I didn't put this one down. It would make a great summer beach or poolside read.The cover was deceiving to me. It looks like this book should be much lighter and fluffier than it really is. I wouldn't consider the book heavy, despite the subject matter, but it does have an Boardwalk Summer was such a sweet surprise. I was a little caught off guard by how un-put-downable it was. It reminded me a little bit of a Lifetime/Hallmark movie. It was sweet, a bit dramatic, and full of heart. And really, I didn't put this one down. It would make a great summer beach or poolside read.The cover was deceiving to me. It looks like this book should be much lighter and fluffier than it really is. I wouldn't consider the book heavy, despite the subject matter, but it does have an unexpected depth to it that I really enjoyed.I was also surprised by how much I liked Kimberly Fisk's writing. I haven't read her before, but I would definitely pick up another book from her with no hesitation.I received an advance reader copy of this book that I have chosen to review.
    more
  • Linda Zagon
    June 4, 2017
    My Review I would like to thank First to Read, Berkley Books and Kimberly Fisk for the ARC (advanced reading copy) of "Boardwalk Summer" by Kimberly Fisk for my honest review.The genres for this book are Women's Fiction, Fiction and Romance.I really liked the characters in this story. Kimberly Fisk describes them as flawed, worried, insecure, fearful, brave, courageous and hopeful. These are characters that could live in our community.Hope is a single mother of two teen age twins, a boy and a gi My Review I would like to thank First to Read, Berkley Books and Kimberly Fisk for the ARC (advanced reading copy) of "Boardwalk Summer" by Kimberly Fisk for my honest review.The genres for this book are Women's Fiction, Fiction and Romance.I really liked the characters in this story. Kimberly Fisk describes them as flawed, worried, insecure, fearful, brave, courageous and hopeful. These are characters that could live in our community.Hope is a single mother of two teen age twins, a boy and a girl. She also is a teacher. When her son gets sick she reaches out and seeks her former teenage love and father of the children. Nick is now a famous Race Car Driver. He had no knowledge that he had children.Whenever the twins were little and sick, Hope would take them to the boardwalk. It was their safe place. Hope has the support of a good friend who helps in many ways.I liked so many things about this book. It is upbeat with feelings of hope. How will the twins react to meeting their biological father? How will they act when they find out he is famous. Is it possible to have second chances?I appreciate that the author discusses issues of family, friends,love and hope. I also like the positive feel in this story. Life is always about taking chances and risks.I would highly recommend this delightful enjoyable read to anyone that likes Women's Fiction and Romance.
    more
  • Maudeen Wachsmith
    May 8, 2017
    An emotional read great to include in the beach bag this summer. This book was the winner of the prestigious Golden Heart Award from the Romance I Writer's of America. Hope is the single mother of boy/girl twins, living life with her family in the Pacific NW when her son is diagnosed with leukemia. Only a bone marrow transplant will save him. But since neither she nor her daughter are matches, this means contacting her estranged mother and the children's' father, a nationally-known race-car driv An emotional read great to include in the beach bag this summer. This book was the winner of the prestigious Golden Heart Award from the Romance I Writer's of America. Hope is the single mother of boy/girl twins, living life with her family in the Pacific NW when her son is diagnosed with leukemia. Only a bone marrow transplant will save him. But since neither she nor her daughter are matches, this means contacting her estranged mother and the children's' father, a nationally-known race-car driver who is unaware of their existence. Fisk writes with emotion and poignancy, with characters that are fully fleshed out. This book is highly recommended for readers of Susan Wiggs, Kristin Hannah, Mariah Stewart, who tell wonderful stories readers want more of. I'm looking forward to her next read, and it can't come soon enough for me.
    more
  • Wendy
    May 5, 2017
    The pink clouds on the cover of Boardwalk Summer are a bit deceiving. This book from Kimberly Fisk is certainly not only a romance-only. We meet Hope Thomson, a single mum, juggling between going to the hospital to her son Joshua, trying to console his twin sister Susan and keeping two jobs to pay for all the bills.Joshua has been diagnosed with cancer. After the first successful treatments, the cancer reappeared and this time, there is no other option than to find a donor for him. Kimberly has The pink clouds on the cover of Boardwalk Summer are a bit deceiving. This book from Kimberly Fisk is certainly not only a romance-only. We meet Hope Thomson, a single mum, juggling between going to the hospital to her son Joshua, trying to console his twin sister Susan and keeping two jobs to pay for all the bills.Joshua has been diagnosed with cancer. After the first successful treatments, the cancer reappeared and this time, there is no other option than to find a donor for him. Kimberly has done an excellent job in describing the mixed emotions for Hope. You can feel her despair, when neither she nor Susan are a compatible donor. As a mother myself, I had a hard time keeping the tears at bay. Because no one wants to think of the possibility of your child dying from cancer. And yet, Hope has to face this reality and when she breaks down in front of Nick your heart literally almost breaks as well.Nick Fortune, the father of Joshua and Susan is surprised, when his former sweetheart Hope leaves him a message to contact him urgently. He could never have guessed that he would be hearing the fact that he is a father for almost sixteen years. Wounded by Hope's betrayal by denying him his children for all those years, and shocked to hear his son may be dying, he soon learns that his way to the top in racing will come at a prize. Is he willing to pay that prize?A wonderful read. Heartbreaking, romantic and above all a mother's love to safe her children. Five out of five stars for Boardwalk Summer. And thank you FirstToRead and Berkley Books for this ARC.
    more
  • Faith89
    May 29, 2017
    received through First To Read(Penquin) for review3.5 starsI really liked the synopsis of the story. We have a second chance at love with a secret pregnancy. The story has great characters. My only exception being, Hope. It took me a while to warm up to her. She made a lot of assumptions about Nick before giving him a chance to show her who he became. I did like how she fought for her kids and tried to protect them. There was angst without being over the top dramatic. Nice read for a relaxing we received through First To Read(Penquin) for review3.5 starsI really liked the synopsis of the story. We have a second chance at love with a secret pregnancy. The story has great characters. My only exception being, Hope. It took me a while to warm up to her. She made a lot of assumptions about Nick before giving him a chance to show her who he became. I did like how she fought for her kids and tried to protect them. There was angst without being over the top dramatic. Nice read for a relaxing weekend. I loved the epilogue.
    more
  • Jessie Young
    May 18, 2017
    This is a sit and read all day cuz you can't put it down type book. The storyline is simple but so real. Characters were authentic and lifelike. Well developed throughout the story. They interacted naturally. Feelings were real not exaggerated. Deals with many issues but not in an overly dramatic way. I was hooked pretty much from the beginning and found myself rooting for the characters to "win". Great love story. Great family dynamics story. It is a quick enjoyable read. Loved it. Can't wait t This is a sit and read all day cuz you can't put it down type book. The storyline is simple but so real. Characters were authentic and lifelike. Well developed throughout the story. They interacted naturally. Feelings were real not exaggerated. Deals with many issues but not in an overly dramatic way. I was hooked pretty much from the beginning and found myself rooting for the characters to "win". Great love story. Great family dynamics story. It is a quick enjoyable read. Loved it. Can't wait to read other books by this author. I received a digital copy from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Nicole
    May 10, 2017
    I received this ARC from Goodreads giveaways. Wow! This is my first book by Kimberly Fisk and I'll be reading more! Wonderful storyline and a great pace... more to come to my review later.
  • Barb Lie
    July 6, 2017
    Boardwalk Summer by Kimberly Fisk is an emotional second chance romance. Hope Thompson, is a single mom, who lives with her two children, Susan and Joshua in Tranquility Bay, Washington. Years before, Hope left her hometown to start a new life, after finding out she was pregnant, and her then boyfriend left town and never returned as promised. Hope had tried to contact the father, but unsuccessfully. She had no relationship with her mother, who pushed her away. Content and happy with her wonder Boardwalk Summer by Kimberly Fisk is an emotional second chance romance. Hope Thompson, is a single mom, who lives with her two children, Susan and Joshua in Tranquility Bay, Washington. Years before, Hope left her hometown to start a new life, after finding out she was pregnant, and her then boyfriend left town and never returned as promised. Hope had tried to contact the father, but unsuccessfully. She had no relationship with her mother, who pushed her away. Content and happy with her wonderful twins, Hope’s life takes a dramatic turn when Joshua is diagnosed with Leukemia. When there is no bone marrow match, Hope gives in and contacts her mother whom she has not seen in 16 years. Her mother hasn’t changed, and Hope must try her last resort, contact the father of the children.Nick Fortune, our hero, is a famous race car driver. When Nick is told there is a message from Hope, he decides to visit her in Tranquility Bay. Hope is shocked to see Nick after all these years, and in a short time to tell him that he is the father of her children. Nick is upset and blames Hope; she tries to explain that she tried to find him; but he walks out threatening to come back and meet them. The bitterness from Nick and the fear from Hope was very real, but they must put that aside to find a way to help Joshua. Hope was having mixed feelings, as their attraction to each other was beginning to rekindle; but she did not trust Nick, and only wanted to protect her children. Her despair is evident, and Nick will do all he can to help. When Nick turns out not to be a match, Hope falls apart, bringing them even closer. Money is no object for Nick, and he will get the best doctors for Joshua.What follows is an emotional story line, where the family, including Joshua begins to lose hope. Kimberly Fisk does a wonderful job allowing us to feel the emotional toll on each of them. I really did like all the characters in this story. I did feel that Hope, who was a wonderful mother, was a bit too hard and unbending with Nick. She does warm up later, even if she continues to not want to take risks, especially with his racing career.This is a beautiful & heartwarming story on life, heartbreak, taking risks and the different degrees of emotions throughout. Once again, Kimberly Fisk gives us an emotional story with real life issues when faced with possible death of family; you can’t help be drawn to them in this trying time. The romance between Nick and Hope was very nice, and Fisk did not let that overtake the real story. Very well written.BarbThe Reading Cafe
    more
  • Suze
    June 16, 2017
    Hope is a single mother. She raised her twins, Joshua and Susan, mostly by herself. She became pregnant at seventeen and thought she and Nick shared something special, but Nick let her down and she had no choice but to move and start over. She made a life for herself in Tranquility Bay and never thought she'd see Nick again. However, when her son's life is in danger she calls him and asks for his help.Nick is a famous race car driver. He's won many prizes and has achieved almost all of his goals Hope is a single mother. She raised her twins, Joshua and Susan, mostly by herself. She became pregnant at seventeen and thought she and Nick shared something special, but Nick let her down and she had no choice but to move and start over. She made a life for herself in Tranquility Bay and never thought she'd see Nick again. However, when her son's life is in danger she calls him and asks for his help.Nick is a famous race car driver. He's won many prizes and has achieved almost all of his goals, but when Hope calls him he feels he's missed something. They didn't keep in touch when he left her behind all those years ago and he didn't know Hope was pregnant. To his surprise he's the father of two teenagers and wants to be part of their lives. To be able to give Joshua a chance Hope and Nick need to patch things up. Will they be able to make amends for the sake of their son?Boardwalk Summer is an impressive emotional story. Hope is a sweet woman. She does everything for her kids and fights for them in any way she can. Her strength and dedication are admirable and that's something I loved about her character. She managed to deal with the heartbreak of the past and has given her children a good and warm home filled with love. I liked this heartwarming part of the story a lot. Hope has such a beautiful personality and that gives Boardwalk Summer a wonderful warm atmosphere.Nick is a kind and determined man. He once was really poor and had a bad reputation, but he managed to make something of himself and now he's rich and famous. Status isn't everything though and he finds out how much he's missed when Hope invites him back into her life. He has some tough choices to make and realizes that money isn't everything. He still has a lot to learn and discover and being with Hope and the twins broadens his horizons. There are plenty of unresolved feelings between Nick and Hope and I couldn't wait to find out if they'd manage to make things right.Kimberly Fisk writes about difficult subjects in an honest empathic way. Her main characters are going through something awful, but they never lose hope. They're realistic, but stay optimistic at the same time and I liked that attitude a lot. Boardwalk Summer is a moving story with plenty of different layers. The main characters are struggling, but they're making progress as well and I loved to see them grow. Kimberly Fisk balances this with loving and romantic scenes, which gives her story a good balance. Boardwalk Summer is a terrific story and I enjoyed reading it very much.
    more
  • Kelly (Simply Kelina) C.
    June 30, 2017
    4.75 RatingI was sent this book as part of a blog tour. Thank you to the author for allowing me to read this emotional and page turning story.Let me start by saying the cover is stunning, but it is deceiving! This involves teenage pregnancy, a bad boy, and a life changing illness for one of the characters. I would never get any of that from the cover. Also, the significance of the boardwalk will not be what you think, it is even better!I am the type of reader that has to be pulled in by the firs 4.75 RatingI was sent this book as part of a blog tour. Thank you to the author for allowing me to read this emotional and page turning story.Let me start by saying the cover is stunning, but it is deceiving! This involves teenage pregnancy, a bad boy, and a life changing illness for one of the characters. I would never get any of that from the cover. Also, the significance of the boardwalk will not be what you think, it is even better!I am the type of reader that has to be pulled in by the first few chapters, and this did just that! So much happened in chapter one alone, and I was hooked. I started this at almost midnight thinking I would not be able to get into it and would only read a chapter or two. The next thing I know I am fifty pages in and still did not want to put it down. This book was amazing. I loved the characters, the storyline, and the writing style. I found myself laughing out loud and also shedding some tears. OK!...a lot of tears! I felt so many different emotions while reading about Nick and Hope. My heart was breaking for Joshua and his family. Yet, at the same time my heart was melting when Nick was meeting his children. The only critique I have is I wish Hope did not go back to thinking about the past as much. Every time she would get close to Nick it was about how he left her in the past. I think that part was a little too overdone, and it dragged the story down just a little. This was my first Kimberly Fisk read, and I loved it. We need more! It was the perfect summer read!
    more
  • Yvonne
    May 30, 2017
    The story starts out with a woman named Hope Thompson trying to contact her estranged mother and non existent father of her twin children because the boy is really sick. Joshua the boy (a teen actually) is stuck in the hospital for most of the story and is kind of gloomy (rightfully so). The twin sister Susan is avoiding the hospital most of the story and going off with her friend. Hope does pretty much everything she can to take care of her children with out relying on others and it nearly kill The story starts out with a woman named Hope Thompson trying to contact her estranged mother and non existent father of her twin children because the boy is really sick. Joshua the boy (a teen actually) is stuck in the hospital for most of the story and is kind of gloomy (rightfully so). The twin sister Susan is avoiding the hospital most of the story and going off with her friend. Hope does pretty much everything she can to take care of her children with out relying on others and it nearly kills her to have to contact the 2 people who abandoned her in life.At this point we get to see what her mom is like by only phone calls. She is cold and distant and never asks about her Grand children. Nick Fortune whom is the kids father was Hope's high school sweetheart with dreams of becoming a famous Nascar driver. He cut ties with her so she was not able to tell him. His dreams eventually come true and somehow he randomly decides to return the call from Hope and shows up at her house. They argue a lot of the book. He thinks she did not try to tell him and she thinks he didn't want to be a part of their life. Long story short they finally get their issues straightened out. I would say more but it would give all of the story away. It was a good read and it was pretty easy to get into. I will have to hunt down some other books by this author. I received this from First to read for free in exchange for an honest review. Th e opinions in this review are 100% my own.
    more
  • kim
    May 22, 2017
    I saw this one offered as part of the Penguin First To Read program and the synopsis intrigued me. Getting a call out of the blue telling you that not only are you the father of a 15-year-old son that you never knew about, but that he needs your help, is sure to make for a good story!This is a perfect summer read for an afternoon by the pool. With no interruptions you should be able to finish this book in an afternoon, and it has everything you want from a good summer romance; conflict, steam, a I saw this one offered as part of the Penguin First To Read program and the synopsis intrigued me. Getting a call out of the blue telling you that not only are you the father of a 15-year-old son that you never knew about, but that he needs your help, is sure to make for a good story!This is a perfect summer read for an afternoon by the pool. With no interruptions you should be able to finish this book in an afternoon, and it has everything you want from a good summer romance; conflict, steam, and a happy ending. However, if you choose to take it to another level, that is also possible. This could be a great selection for a summer book club. Not only will it keep the reader entertained, but the book should lead to some great discussions. Discussion topics could include Hope’s decision to keep fact that he is a father from Nick, and the relationship of Hope with her mother, as well as many others.While the book was a little bit predictable — I was sure from the beginning of how the story would turn out — that did not detract from my enjoyment of the book. There was also an epilogue to let me know what happens in the future. The only thing I felt was lacking was more details about Heather’s mother, Clare. I would like to know if their relationship continued to evolve.Anyone looking for a good summer romance will enjoy this. NASCAR fans will enjoy it even more, as there are many details taken from the world of racing included in the novel.I received an advanced review copy of this book through the Penguin First To Read program.
    more
  • Emily
    June 26, 2017
    Thanks to First to Read for the ARC in exchange for an honest review. Boardwalk Summer by Kimberly Fisk was a great summer/beach read. A sweet story about loss, love, hope and second chances. Hope Thompson is a single mother to twins and lives in Tranquility Bay, Washington. When her son, Joshua, gets sick with leukemia and needs a transplant, Hope has to turn to two people who stopped being there for her sixteen years ago, the father of her children and her mother. Nick Fortune is a famous NASC Thanks to First to Read for the ARC in exchange for an honest review. Boardwalk Summer by Kimberly Fisk was a great summer/beach read. A sweet story about loss, love, hope and second chances. Hope Thompson is a single mother to twins and lives in Tranquility Bay, Washington. When her son, Joshua, gets sick with leukemia and needs a transplant, Hope has to turn to two people who stopped being there for her sixteen years ago, the father of her children and her mother. Nick Fortune is a famous NASCAR driver who is pursuing his eighth racing championship. Nothing is going to make him lose focus on his goal. Until he gets a message that Hope has called him. He hasn't heard from her in sixteen years and when she doesn't answer his call, he decides to pay her a visit. When he shows up at her door, Hope is unexpectedly thrown back into her old emotions and has to decide what is suitable for her and her children and should she give Nick a second chance. Emotional and tear-jerking, this story sweeps you off your feet and you can't help but cheer for the family to have a happy ending.
    more
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    June 6, 2017
    At first glance you’d think this is going to be another simple romance novel, perfect for summer time and the beach. Well, you’d be a little bit right but it’s not just a simple romance novel.Fisk does provide tender love scenes wrapped amidst some tough topics such as single parenting, balancing work-family life, and worst of all a very sick child dealing with cancer of all things especially when it’s not as simple as it first appears.As a mother I felt like I had bonded with the character of H At first glance you’d think this is going to be another simple romance novel, perfect for summer time and the beach. Well, you’d be a little bit right but it’s not just a simple romance novel.Fisk does provide tender love scenes wrapped amidst some tough topics such as single parenting, balancing work-family life, and worst of all a very sick child dealing with cancer of all things especially when it’s not as simple as it first appears.As a mother I felt like I had bonded with the character of Hope as I could feel what she was going through trying to keep it all together while watching her child go through something she couldn’t fix. Fisk does a remarkable job of creating realistic situations and emotions so you are fully drawn to these characters and the trials they face.You’ll feel your heart break at times then swell with hope and love at others because above all else this is the sweetest love story of them all, what a mother will do for her child and THAT makes it perfect to read this season.
    more
  • Jayne
    July 1, 2017
    This is the second book I have read by Kimberly Fisk. She is an awesome writer! This is the best book I have read this summer! I enjoyed the book from beginning to end. I cried a few times while reading this book. The story has made me think about how precious life is. We will move heaven and earth to help our children be healthy. We never can give up trying to help the doctors find a cure. Ms. Fisk handle a difficult health problem with such class and dignity. She reminds us we can never give This is the second book I have read by Kimberly Fisk. She is an awesome writer! This is the best book I have read this summer! I enjoyed the book from beginning to end. I cried a few times while reading this book. The story has made me think about how precious life is. We will move heaven and earth to help our children be healthy. We never can give up trying to help the doctors find a cure. Ms. Fisk handle a difficult health problem with such class and dignity. She reminds us we can never give up hope. We don't know what tomorrow will bring. But, we have to be kind and keep trying. Always be kind to everyone. This story was one with love woven from the beginning to the end. It is a story of difficult mother and daughter relationships. There is a unrequited teenage love. There is the love of best friends. And the love of a man for his children and their mother. I truly think this is the best book of the summer. You will not be disappointed. Give the book a chance and you too will be happy that you read this book!
    more
  • Sherry
    May 10, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book for an honest review.Hope Thompson and Nick Fortune were high school sweethearts. They made plans for the future. Nick left to start on the dream with plans to return for Hope. Instead, Nick didn't return and Hope found herself pregnant and alone. She ended up moving across the country and raising twins by herself. Sixteen years later, a medical emergency has Hope reaching out to Nick for help. This was not a light, easy summer read. It was a very emotional story o I received an ARC of this book for an honest review.Hope Thompson and Nick Fortune were high school sweethearts. They made plans for the future. Nick left to start on the dream with plans to return for Hope. Instead, Nick didn't return and Hope found herself pregnant and alone. She ended up moving across the country and raising twins by herself. Sixteen years later, a medical emergency has Hope reaching out to Nick for help. This was not a light, easy summer read. It was a very emotional story of family and second chance love. I enjoyed watching Nick begin to build a relationship with the twins and the building relationship between Nick and Hope. A good read I would definitely recommend to others.
    more
  • Janice
    July 3, 2017
    they were teenage lovers; he left town to make his fortune and it took a lot longer than he thought it would. She finds out she is pregnant and is kicked out by her mother. Sixteen years later her son (fraternal twins) has cancer and needs bone marrow. Hope contacts Nick who is furious she didn't contact him as soon as she knew she was preggers. He is not a match but the evil grandmother is. Granny does the transplant and disappears from the book.
    more
  • Aimee Cooper
    May 22, 2017
    Great story I enjoyed my advance copy, thanks!
  • Marla
    May 30, 2017
    Heartwarming story that brought joy to my heart. I loved all the characters and felt like I was right there with them through all the struggles.
  • Kristen Johnson
    May 6, 2017
    Boardwalk Summer is more than a second chance romance story - it's a story about learning from our past, owning up to our mistakes, and starting anew. Hope hasn't had an easy life, being a single mother of twins, one who is also estranged from her mother. She's fierce and determined so when her son has a serious problem, she's willing to do just about anything, including the one thing she should have done years ago, inform the father. Nick loves his life as a racecar driver, it had been his drea Boardwalk Summer is more than a second chance romance story - it's a story about learning from our past, owning up to our mistakes, and starting anew. Hope hasn't had an easy life, being a single mother of twins, one who is also estranged from her mother. She's fierce and determined so when her son has a serious problem, she's willing to do just about anything, including the one thing she should have done years ago, inform the father. Nick loves his life as a racecar driver, it had been his dream forever, so achieving it was a great thing. But there's something missing in his life too, even if he doesn't fully realize it. So when he discovers that not only does he have children, but one of them has a problem, it's a lot to work thorugh for him, but also something he's excited about. While Nick and Hope have a lot to work through between themselves, and a lot of worries for their son, they find that their love for each other never really went away. As they work together to help their son, work through the pain of their past, they find a way to come together, to forgive each other, and make a new family together.
    more
  • Jun
    May 5, 2017
    Goodreads Giveaway
  • Laura
    May 25, 2017
    Hope is a single mother raising her twins in a small town. When her son needs help, she has no choice but to reach out to the man who abandoned them when they needed him most. Nick is a famous race car driver who wanted to make something of himself before returning home for his first love. When he learns that Hope's children are his, he's determined to make a place for himself in their lives. But can both of them let go of past hurts in order to move forward?This was a book about second chances, Hope is a single mother raising her twins in a small town. When her son needs help, she has no choice but to reach out to the man who abandoned them when they needed him most. Nick is a famous race car driver who wanted to make something of himself before returning home for his first love. When he learns that Hope's children are his, he's determined to make a place for himself in their lives. But can both of them let go of past hurts in order to move forward?This was a book about second chances, family, and forgiveness. I cried and I laughed. I loved this story and couldn't put it down. This was my first book by this author but it definitely won't be the last.*This is my voluntary review of an advanced reader copy*
    more
  • Mary
    March 30, 2017
    Boardwalk Summer, Kimberly Fisk's newest book - released June 27, 2017 - was eagerly anticipated after her debut romance novel, Lake Magic, was released in 2010.Like other reviewers, I found Boardwalk Summer nearly impossible to put down.The author skillfully blends real life challenges with the kind of romance dreams are made of. Hope, a single mother of teenage twins, is the kind of heroine everyone can identify with. She's authentic and flawed, but also has all the qualities most of us like t Boardwalk Summer, Kimberly Fisk's newest book - released June 27, 2017 - was eagerly anticipated after her debut romance novel, Lake Magic, was released in 2010.Like other reviewers, I found Boardwalk Summer nearly impossible to put down.The author skillfully blends real life challenges with the kind of romance dreams are made of. Hope, a single mother of teenage twins, is the kind of heroine everyone can identify with. She's authentic and flawed, but also has all the qualities most of us like to believe we have ... strength, courage, intelligence, and beauty.Every great romance novel has a great hero. Nick Fortune is that!! Kimberly Fisk developed a character who is compassionate, strong, vulnerable, kind, passionate, handsome, successful, understanding, dedicated, focused ... I can admit I definitely have a "book crush" on Nick Fortune! If you remember and love "Matt Farrell" from a 1992 classic romance novel, Nick Fortune will capture your heart!Boardwalk Summer will remain on my bookshelf in a prominent spot to be read again and again. Well done, Kimberly Fisk!
    more
Write a review