The Sunshine Sisters
The New York Times bestselling author of Falling presents a warm, wise, and wonderfully vivid novel about a mother who asks her three estranged daughters to come home to help her end her life.Ronni Sunshine left London for Hollywood to become a beautiful, charismatic star of the silver screen. But at home, she was a narcissistic, disinterested mother who alienated her three daughters. As soon as possible, tomboy Nell fled her mother's overbearing presence to work on a farm and find her own way in the world as a single mother. The target of her mother s criticism, Meredith never felt good enough, thin enough, pretty enough. Her life took her to London and into the arms of a man whom she may not even love. And Lizzy, the youngest, more like Ronni than any of them, seemed to have it easy, using her drive and ambition to build a culinary career to rival her mother's fame, while her marriage crumbled around her. But now the Sunshine Girls are together again, called home by Ronni, who has learned that she has a serious disease and needs her daughters to fulfill her final wishes. And though Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy are all going through crises of their own, their mother s illness draws them together to confront old jealousies and secret fears and they discover that blood might be thicker than water after all.

The Sunshine Sisters Details

TitleThe Sunshine Sisters
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherBerkley Books
ISBN0399583319
ISBN-139780399583315
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

The Sunshine Sisters Review

  • Jill Croce-McGill
    May 2, 2017
    The Sunshine Sisters is the perfect Summer read! This story is about a very dysfunctional family, I mean really, what family isn't?! Ronni Sunshine, once a famous actress, was a self-centered, dispassionate mother who was never available for her 3 daughters as they were growing up. You might say she created a very toxic environment for them, because the bond they once had has now been disconnected through all the turbulence Ronni created throughout the years. The story follows each sister throug The Sunshine Sisters is the perfect Summer read! This story is about a very dysfunctional family, I mean really, what family isn't?! Ronni Sunshine, once a famous actress, was a self-centered, dispassionate mother who was never available for her 3 daughters as they were growing up. You might say she created a very toxic environment for them, because the bond they once had has now been disconnected through all the turbulence Ronni created throughout the years. The story follows each sister through their life, and you will see how each one is unique in their own way. Each creating a different life for themselves, each going down a different path. But now Ronni has called them home in hopes they will fulfill her final wishes. Ronni wants to make amends to her daughters, and she wants them to become a family again - like they should have been many years ago. Will the girls ever forgive their mother for how they were raised? Will the girls become a family again and set aside the distaste and jealousy they have for each another? Is Ronni asking the impossible? In the end, this is a very emotional story about family, forgiveness, love, finding out who you really are, self-worth, and most importantly, mother and daughter relationships.I would like to thank First to Read, Berkley Books, and Jane Green for the ARC of this book.
    more
  • Danielle
    April 20, 2017
    4.5 starsI had nearly given up on Jane Green based on her past few books. I am happy to say that with The Sunshine Sisters, she has completely redeemed herself! This book was everything I want out of a Jane Green book, and more. I loved the story and the characters, and had a hard time putting the book down. I did have a slight issue with one minor part of the story. I won't say much because I don't want to spoil it, but I felt it was a bit contrived; had it been developed more, it would have be 4.5 starsI had nearly given up on Jane Green based on her past few books. I am happy to say that with The Sunshine Sisters, she has completely redeemed herself! This book was everything I want out of a Jane Green book, and more. I loved the story and the characters, and had a hard time putting the book down. I did have a slight issue with one minor part of the story. I won't say much because I don't want to spoil it, but I felt it was a bit contrived; had it been developed more, it would have been more realistic to me. I would definitely recommend reading this one as soon as you can get your hands on it!*I received an ARC of this from the publisher in a giveaway.
    more
  • Carole (Carole's Random Life in Books)
    May 29, 2017
    dnf @ 40%I have read almost half the book and I really don't like any of the characters and don't care what happens to them. Maybe I will give it a try at some other point but it is not working for me at all right now.
  • Elizabeth of Silver's Reviews
    May 23, 2017
    FULL REVIEW ON JUNE 15.An excerpt from my review is below:"Women's fiction fans will enjoy this book because of the family drama, the regrets, the healing, and how Ms. Green addressed both family and friend relationships, as well as addressing end-of-life decisions.. 4/5This book was given to me free of charge and without compensation by the publisher and NetGalley in return for an honest review."
    more
  • Kristy
    March 17, 2017
    Ronni Sunshine has summoned her daughters home. The aging actress is ill, and she wants her daughters by her side. This, however, will be easier said than done, as her three children--Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy--are estranged, both from each other and their mother: the result of a traumatic childhood. Even Ronni will now readily admit she focused on her acting career and beauty rather than her daughters. Her constant belittlement and pressure on the girls made them turn on each other as well. Nel Ronni Sunshine has summoned her daughters home. The aging actress is ill, and she wants her daughters by her side. This, however, will be easier said than done, as her three children--Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy--are estranged, both from each other and their mother: the result of a traumatic childhood. Even Ronni will now readily admit she focused on her acting career and beauty rather than her daughters. Her constant belittlement and pressure on the girls made them turn on each other as well. Nell lives the closest to her mother, on a nearby farm, and her son River is in grad school. Middle child Meredith spent her childhood struggling with her weight, thanks to endless biting comments from Ronni; she fled to England and is now engaged. Youngest Lizzie escaped most of her mother's wrath and appears to be the "golden child": she's a successful chef and celebrity, with a TV show and line of related products, but her marriage and personal life aren't all that they seem. Frustrated by their mother's long history of hypochondria, the girls reluctantly return home, excepting to find her fine. However, it seems this time Ronni may be telling the truth: she's really sick. Can the Sunshine sisters set aside their differences? And can they ever forgive their mother? In some ways, I'm not sure why I keep giving Jane Green books a chance. I liked Summer Secrets well-enough, but was really let down by Saving Grace and Falling. I was intrigued that in her acknowledgements, Green mentions that this is the first book in while where she's felt like herself. I went in hoping that this was true, but still wary, and truthfully, this wariness may have clouded some of my thoughts and feelings about the book. Overall, this is a summery read, though it does deal with some serious subject matter. If you're looking for a book that will surprise you, this isn't it. Most of these plot points I saw coming from a few miles away; I predicted the majority of the twists and turns before they happened. And, truly, I think the ending is a foregone conclusion. Green relies a bit to heavily on some tropes, as well. Serious older sister? Check. Insecure middle sister? Check. Flighty younger sister? She's here, too, don't worry. Still, this was a fun book--despite the dark topic at its core--and I found myself compelled to read through the second half in nearly one sitting. Despite some of the transparency of the characters, I was oddly invested in their lives. The novel starts out with a brief glimpse of Ronni summoning her daughters home, then goes back in the past, allowing us to learn about the Sunshine family via various snippets from the sisters at different points in time. In this way, we sort of catch up with the family fast-forward style--it's like a cheat sheet of sorts. It also allows us to get to know each sister a bit better and explore their relationship with their mother (and other sisters). It's easy to see how much influence Ronni had on their lives and how she shaped them into the women they are today. The girls can certainly be frustrating at times. Poor, needy Meredith drove me nearly mad, with her insecurities and inability to stand up for herself. There's also a point in the book where Meredith magically cleans up after a party (everything is fixed) and later loses a large amount of weight (everything is fixed, again!). I would have liked to have seen a little more plot realism. It was also hard to see how anyone could be quite as big of a doormat as Meredith, even with her mother's influence. And, truly, Ronni is pretty bad. It's an interesting technique--learning how terrible of a mother she is after we're told in the beginning of the novel that she's sick. But, in this way, we're allowed to see how the sisters were alienated by their poor upbringing and how everyone has reached the point we are at today. Eventually, we reach the present day, with the girls learning about their mother's illness and coming to grips with reality. And, Ronni, of course, must grapple with the kind of mother she was to her children. She's a surprisingly compelling character considering how awful she was to her children, so that's a testament to Green's characterization. To me, the novel picked up a bit more in the present day time period. There were still some silly, unbelievable moments, but I truly did find myself invested in Meredith, Nell, and Lizzy (and Ronni). The book does wrap things up too easily, as I stated. It's often quite trite and cliche, so you have to go in prepared. Think Lifetime movie, wrapped up in a bow. Still, it's fun at times and certainly a quick read. Well-suited for the beach or a vacation. I received a copy of this novel from the publisher and Netgalley (thank you!); it is available everywhere as of 06/06/2017.Blog ~ Twitter ~ Facebook ~ Google+
    more
  • Linda Zagon
    April 21, 2017
    I would like to thank First to Read, Berkley, and Jane Green for the ARC of "The Sunshine Sisters by Jane Green for my honest review. The genres of this novel and Women's Fiction and Drama. Jane Green writes about a truly dysfunctional family. She describes her characters as complicated and complex for starters. This is a heavy family drama. The mother, Ronni Sunshine is an actress and reminds me of a "Mommy Dearest" type person. Totally narcissistic, and unavailable as a mother to her three dau I would like to thank First to Read, Berkley, and Jane Green for the ARC of "The Sunshine Sisters by Jane Green for my honest review. The genres of this novel and Women's Fiction and Drama. Jane Green writes about a truly dysfunctional family. She describes her characters as complicated and complex for starters. This is a heavy family drama. The mother, Ronni Sunshine is an actress and reminds me of a "Mommy Dearest" type person. Totally narcissistic, and unavailable as a mother to her three daughters, she has created a toxic environment for them. Ronni is very moody and takes it out on two of her daughters when she is having a dark day. She is constantly critical of her daughters and always complaining. The three daughters have very different personalities and have different ways of coping with their mother's temperament. This reflects in their relationships to one another and to to others. This also contributes to many life choices and their professions. An older Ronni calls her three daughters home, when she learns that her has a fatal illness. Upon reflection, Ronni wants to make amends to her daughters, and she wants her daughters to relate to one another and become a family. Is Ronni asking the impossible? How can three sisters who have been separated by choice,come together? Is it possible to show forgiveness to their mother. I love the way Jane Green writes the emotional story and discusses, family, mother and daughter relationships, self-worth, growth, forgiveness, love and hope? What does make a family? I would highly recommend this intriguing and dramatic family novel.
    more
  • Kristi Elizabeth
    April 6, 2017
    Read all my reviews on my blog at: https://brainfartsandbooks.wordpress.comI honestly don’t think there has ever been a Jane Green book I’ve ever NOT liked. Her writing style flows so smoothly and the reader feels like she is sitting right there with the characters in the book.This book, a story about three sisters raised by what I’d call an absentee mother who was focusing on her acting career rather than her daughters, is heart wrenching and happy at the same time. I absolutely loved the daugh Read all my reviews on my blog at: https://brainfartsandbooks.wordpress.comI honestly don’t think there has ever been a Jane Green book I’ve ever NOT liked. Her writing style flows so smoothly and the reader feels like she is sitting right there with the characters in the book.This book, a story about three sisters raised by what I’d call an absentee mother who was focusing on her acting career rather than her daughters, is heart wrenching and happy at the same time. I absolutely loved the daughters and their differences. What a gift to have three completely different children, all talented in their own way. We see Nell, the oldest, struggle with being a single mom to River while working and living on a farm with very little outside interaction, to Meredith who is struggling to find true love in a body that was demeaned by her mother so many times it made me want to cry, to Lizzy, the free-spirited youngest daughter, who is a famous t.v. chef in a failing marriage. The story starts with the end but it is the journey that the book takes us through to get to that end that really brings vivid color to this storyline. Each an every character was described as if he or she was being chiseled out of a block of wood. The detail from physical description to mannerisms, not to mention the background scenery, made me feel like I was watching the story as I was reading it.A beautiful story worth reading and soaking up like sunshine itself. The Sunshine Sisters.Thank you to NetGalley, Jane Green, and Berkley for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Monica
    May 23, 2017
    The best Jane Green book yet! Full review to come.
  • Michelle
    March 21, 2017
    Wow.... Such a beautiful story.**might have light spoilers....?**OK. It did take a bit to get into, for me. But once I got into it, it was hard to put down.This book has & had opened up alot of emotions for me. Set me to thinking. About every thing. Most especially where my life isn't going.... I felt connected to each of the Sunshine Sisters & Ronni. I felt what & how they felt. I laughed & cried with them. (And, boy, did I shed alotta tears & laughter). I understood where e Wow.... Such a beautiful story.**might have light spoilers....?**OK. It did take a bit to get into, for me. But once I got into it, it was hard to put down.This book has & had opened up alot of emotions for me. Set me to thinking. About every thing. Most especially where my life isn't going.... I felt connected to each of the Sunshine Sisters & Ronni. I felt what & how they felt. I laughed & cried with them. (And, boy, did I shed alotta tears & laughter). I understood where each came from. I loved each & every single one of them. Ronni surprised me most of all. I'm proud of her & admire her courage & bravery & her love for her children (even tho she was pretty shitty to them....) She was a diva til the end.I admire all of the sisters for their love for each other. Their willingness to be sisters, a family, again. The course & bravery each had as their lives changed & transitioned.A beautiful, heartwarming story. A definite re-read.Received this book as a Gr Giveaway.
    more
  • Mary
    May 19, 2017
    Cheers to The Sunshine Sisters!! I always love reading Jane Green's books. Green's latest offering is probably my favorite of her novels. I read 200+ pages in one sitting. For me, that's a big deal. I've been recovering from surgery (that's a book in itself!) and I've had a little more time to read. I've also had visitors, which I love and appreciate, and post-op appointments. Hated to put this book down. The constant interruptions. Urgh.You know how it is. Ya just get so annoyed when a great re Cheers to The Sunshine Sisters!! I always love reading Jane Green's books. Green's latest offering is probably my favorite of her novels. I read 200+ pages in one sitting. For me, that's a big deal. I've been recovering from surgery (that's a book in itself!) and I've had a little more time to read. I've also had visitors, which I love and appreciate, and post-op appointments. Hated to put this book down. The constant interruptions. Urgh.You know how it is. Ya just get so annoyed when a great read has to be temporarily sidelined. I started this book the day before Mother's Day and it really was an excellent choice, given the holiday. Ronni Sunshine is nothing like my mother but I do have three siblings, and I'm the middle child. I wasn't always. I used to be the baby. Until I was 18 and graduating from high school, making my Bal Masque debut. (Hey! I'm a southern gal. We still do cotillions.) There was my beautiful forty-three year old mother, eight months pregnant, glowing, and stealing my thunder. The following month, along came the new "Baby Sister", a name my father (I'm his favorite!) fondly called ME. Suddenly, this gorgeous baby girl stole our hearts and just like that I became the middle child. I was always confident, had lots of friends (voted Class Favorite every year of high school), and I was attractive. But, Baby Sister, well, she is stunning!! Can do no wrong, even though she's mischievous. Baby sis is a United States soldier, in charge of military honor funerals. Though she be but little, she is fierce! - ShakespeareSo, Baby Sister reminded me of Lizzy, the youngest Sunshine sister and her mother's perfect child. (Coincidentally, Baby Sister IS Mom's favorite. No doubt about it.) My oldest sibling, my brother, has succeeded at everything he's laid his hands on. A jack-of-all-trades. He built a giant, modern mansion, his dream home, with his own two hands. Oh, yes!! He did!!! He's not even an architect! He's an I.T. Specialist and the BEST around. Dave is also lead singer in a pretty popular local band. He's a musician at heart. Of course, he's great!! Best big brother a girl could have, even though I kicked him out of my hospital room for talking too much. Sorry, bro. Seriously. I guess my brother is a combination of both Nell, the oldest Sunshine sibling- who's quiet and reserved, and the ever-successful Lizzy. Then, there's me. I'm Meredith, the middle child. Oh! I'm so Meredith, the people pleaser. Don't want to disappoint anyone, but I realize that I cannot please everyone. I surround myself with those that love and accept me, with all my shiny faults. And, the first person I reach for, after my beautiful husband, is Baby Sister. When I was hospitalized for emergency surgery two and a half weeks ago, Baby Sister was there bright and early every morning, stayed the entire day, soldiering through arctic temperatures in my room, sitting mostly in the dark because I refused light and tv. She held my hand when I expressed fear of dying. She made necessary phone calls. My mother was out of town, worried sick. Baby Sister was both sister AND mother. She's my biggest cheerleader, my best friend. She's my sunshine sister on the darkest of days. This story resonated so much feeling in me. As I mentioned, my mother is nothing like the selfish, over indulged Ronni Sunshine. Is Mom pampered? Yes! My dad, my wonderful, amazing big guy, provided his family with love and so much more. Dad is nothing like Mr. Sunshine. Unlike the Sunshine Sisters, I've enjoyed a comfortable, close relationship with my siblings and unconditional love from a set of parents I'm blessed to have. However, Jane Green evokes powerful meanings and memories of family. I appreciate her stories. They're so real. Although some of her characters have no right to ask for love or forgiveness, in the end, it's about family, a bond that can never be broken. My family made me who I am. I would be lost without them. This story made me appreciate each member of my family so much more. Thanks, Jane Green! Another winner. I wouldn't mind visiting the Sunshine Sisters in the near future. Surely there is much more to their story. Quick afterthought: I originally gave this book four stars. After thinking about the effect it had on me, I decided it was well worth five stars. So, yeah...five sun-shining stars!!!!! * I received a DRC through Penguin's First to Read program for review. Rambling thoughts are my own.
    more
  • Quetzi Fernald
    May 23, 2017
    Ronni Sunshine, a self absorbed, narcissistic semi-famous Actress has summoned her 3 daughters to their childhood home for a life changing announcement. Nell who is a very physical being but when it comes to feelings shuts down, Meredith whom her mother spent a lifetime drilling into her that she could be beautiful if only she lost weight, is a successful Accountant who moved to England to escape her mother & is now engaged to a loathsome controlling business associate , & then there's t Ronni Sunshine, a self absorbed, narcissistic semi-famous Actress has summoned her 3 daughters to their childhood home for a life changing announcement. Nell who is a very physical being but when it comes to feelings shuts down, Meredith whom her mother spent a lifetime drilling into her that she could be beautiful if only she lost weight, is a successful Accountant who moved to England to escape her mother & is now engaged to a loathsome controlling business associate , & then there's the spoiled baby of the family, Lizzy who is a celebrated Chef with her own TV show & is known for her pop - up dinners on rooftops & on farms all over the area. The Sunshine sisters have a, to say the least, complicated & somewhat volatile relationship with each other. Of course they became who they are thanks to Ronni, especially when she was wearing "the veil." Can these sisters be together under the same roof for a couple of days without killing each other? This is a fantastic Summer read or any other time of the year. You'll find it has a smorgasbord of emotions that will make you laugh cry or even feel hate! I won THE SUNSHINE SISTERS' book with an awesome beach bag filled with all kinds of goodies along with 2 other books which I plan on reading ASAP. Dig in, but set aside time to finish this novel in one sitting. It is SO worth it!
    more
  • Judy Collins
    May 25, 2017
    Review to follow.
  • Susan Peterson
    May 18, 2017
    The Sunshine Sisters is a compelling book that you will not be able to put down until you've reached the very end...so don't plan on getting a lot done while you're reading this book! Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy are the daughters of Ronni Sunshine, a narcissistic actress who was a disinterested mother. The sisters are as diverse as three people can be, but they all bear the scars and burdens of growing up with a volatile mother and an absent father. I loved how the story was told in flashbacks, wa The Sunshine Sisters is a compelling book that you will not be able to put down until you've reached the very end...so don't plan on getting a lot done while you're reading this book! Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy are the daughters of Ronni Sunshine, a narcissistic actress who was a disinterested mother. The sisters are as diverse as three people can be, but they all bear the scars and burdens of growing up with a volatile mother and an absent father. I loved how the story was told in flashbacks, watching the girls grow up, as they navigate a world with the emotional baggage they carry with them. The dynamics between the sisters are at times difficult and hurtful, and it was interesting to watch as their relationships with each other, with their mother, and with their significant others evolve. The Sunshine Sisters is heartfelt and honest; a powerful story about families, and how, even through the pain, they are better off together than apart.
    more
  • Gabriela
    April 28, 2017
    Pedí este libro por su hermosa portada y porque la sinopsis pintaba bien, sorpresa la mía, sólo el prólogo me pareció interesante.Ronni Sunshine egoísta y egolatra, nunca me agradó y la odié desde el principio, un personaje que no evolucionó para nada (view spoiler)[obligar a las hijas a presenciar su suicidio solo lo confirma (hide spoiler)], luego tenemos a Nell (conformista), Lizzy (egoísta, egolatra y para agregar también con nulos valores morales como Ronnie ) y Meredith (la de baja autoest Pedí este libro por su hermosa portada y porque la sinopsis pintaba bien, sorpresa la mía, sólo el prólogo me pareció interesante.Ronni Sunshine egoísta y egolatra, nunca me agradó y la odié desde el principio, un personaje que no evolucionó para nada (view spoiler)[obligar a las hijas a presenciar su suicidio solo lo confirma (hide spoiler)], luego tenemos a Nell (conformista), Lizzy (egoísta, egolatra y para agregar también con nulos valores morales como Ronnie ) y Meredith (la de baja autoestima, que piensa en agradar a todos por tener un poquito de amor), todas han sido personajes realmente insoportables. Es una lectura fácil sin embargo la trama no me pareció bien desarrollada, lo único bueno que hizo Jane Green fue darle un final distinto a la vida miserable que llevaban las hermanas Sunshine.
    more
  • Sunshine
    April 8, 2017
    I received an ARE of this book on NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions/thoughts expressed are my own.More like four and a half stars.I always find books that thread and weave together throughout the characters’ lives and how they grow to be fascinating. It is nice to read a novel with forward motion.The book opens with Ronni and her three grown daughters at the tail end of Ronni’s life. She is in pain and wanting to end her own life.Then we are tak I received an ARE of this book on NetGalley from the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions/thoughts expressed are my own.More like four and a half stars.I always find books that thread and weave together throughout the characters’ lives and how they grow to be fascinating. It is nice to read a novel with forward motion.The book opens with Ronni and her three grown daughters at the tail end of Ronni’s life. She is in pain and wanting to end her own life.Then we are taken back toward the early days of Ronni’s career as a B-movie Hollywood actress. We see her life and choices and realize she is very self-absorbed and not a great mother. We are shown the lives of her daughters- Nell, the eldest, Meredith, the middle child, and Lizzy, the youngest. We see the way they all react to their Monthers tantrums: Nell withdraws, Meredith tries to appease, and Lizzy makes light and refuses to find the situation serious.The characteristics and ramifications of their upbringing make themselves known as the girls mature.Nell falls in love early and has a son by her high school sweetheart. She then moves to a farm where she works and raises her son; the owner of the farm seeing Nell as if she were her own daughter.Meredith has weight problems and buries her feelings with food until she can’t feel anything anymore and then eventually goes through a weight loss diet ending up with her having a one night stand with her sleezy art teacher that makes her feel bad all over again.Lizzy after going through a rough start as a rebellious teen recovers and makes her way toward a career as a chef with her own featured TV show and everything.The sisters get in contact with each other sporadically, not enough communication occurs but plenty of hurt feelings do occur with each lady not being able to fully express their reasoning to the other.Their mother, Ronni, after years of complaining about dizzy spells and feeling weak becomes bedridden after awhile. Her daughters are confused because for years upon years she would claim illnesses for the attention. The drama of it all.Ronni continues to chase her youth, trying to make herself look as young and beautiful as she once did but then she discovers she has ALS at the age of 65. Not wanting to wait for the disease to progress and make her deteriorate even more, she agrees to an interview with a reporter/documentary filmer.Ronni tells him of her plans to take her own life and he latches onto a story he can run with.After her daughters are all called home, she explains to them that she is “waiting for the results” even though she already knows her diagnosis. She wants her daughters to reconnect and be able to lean on each other once she is gone. After a lot of squirreling away of her pain medicine, Ronni estimates she can push her daughters to become close by proximity. She invites them to stay the week it will take to “get the results” and says maybe two weeks. Each woman makes the decision to stay and after Ronni goes to lay down the daughters all discuss that they think this time their mother really isn’t faking.Every character motivation is explained and described so you as the reader can easily understand why the characters went in the direction they did; even if you yourself wouldn’t make the sane decisions in their shoes.I noticed a very odd running theme all throughout the first half of the book. Many of the characters either had affairs or they themselves were cheated on. It just seemed like an odd common thread in the lives of such a vast majority of the characters. I am not sure if Ms. Green was trying to garner sympathy for those cheated on and understanding for the cheaters, but it just struck me as a bizarre element to keep adding in.I also found it to be extra padding to tell and not show what was happening. There seemed to be a lot of repetition in storyline.Overall, however, the details were nice additions and the story/plot clipped along at a nice pace.The culinary aspects were lovely features; the food titles and dishes were (pardon the expression) extra icing on the cake.For being a “beach read” I can happily note that it did not have a “bubblegum” feel to it. (What I mean by that is that the novel was written for mature women and not condescending to the audience. I have sadly come across a few “bubblegum” reads and they always sadden me because talking down to your target demographic is never a good thing.)A smart, at times a little over emotional, well-rounded story of the love and affection between sisters as well as the bonds between family.I feel like the author wanted to bring some awareness to Lou Gehrig’s disease in having her character have it. Stating the early signs of the disease-dizziness, nausea, falling, tingling, pins and needle feelings…and that all blood tests and results came back normal. I did a little bit of research on my own and yes those are the early symptoms and part of why ALS is often difficult to diagnose. Ms. Green did her homework here. It is scary to note that Ronni, the character, started exhibiting symptoms ten years(!) before finally being diagnosed.It is sad to read about how ALS winds up just taking away everything. The ability to move from paralysis and the inability to breathe or eat unaided. Truly scary stuff.I recall a few years back, as I’m sure many of you do, “The Ice Bucket Challenge”, sometimes called the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge. If you didn’t know about this, it was is an activity involving the dumping of a bucket of ice and water over a person’s head, either by another person or self-administered, to promote awareness of the disease amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS, also known as motor neuron disease or amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.) Donations were raised for further research. A common stipulation was that nominated participants, via social media tagging, had 24 hours to comply or forfeit by way of a charitable financial donation. Many participants did both.I also loved that the relationships in this were varied and a more accurate portrayal of different lifestyles and choices. That read as true and came across well in the characterizations.The sisters all come together and work out their various issues. Ronni does take her own life but before she does, she has conversations with each of her daughters and tells them the things she admired about them; the fact that she is very sorry for her mistakes.Various parts felt a bit over-written, a little over-the-top, but the story as a whole worked very well.It was a worth-while read and I would recommend it to anyone looking or a great story to sort of lose themselves in this summer.(One thing to note: I don't really understand the beach cover art as a vast majority took place on a farm, some took place in London, and some took place in New York among other locals. I think the marketing here is trying to drive home the idea of "beach read" hard. I'm not saying it's not a nice cover, I'm just saying I don't think it really matches the story.) This fulfills the "Beach Read" component of my Sunshine Rising 2017 Book Challenge.I referenced this work on my channel:YouTubeRead about other books I have reviewed here:Blog
    more
  • Cheryl
    May 28, 2017
    Ronnie Sunshine - actress, narcissist, mother, grandmotherRonnie Sunshine loves the adulation of her fans. She loves being in the spotlight. The love that she has for herself makes it almost impossible for her to find room in her heart for her three daughters - athletic Nell who dreams of owning her own farm; plump Meredith who has great artistic talent but lacks the self-confidence to find the right person to love; and Lizzie, the spoiled youngest daughter who is most like her mother and is now Ronnie Sunshine - actress, narcissist, mother, grandmotherRonnie Sunshine loves the adulation of her fans. She loves being in the spotlight. The love that she has for herself makes it almost impossible for her to find room in her heart for her three daughters - athletic Nell who dreams of owning her own farm; plump Meredith who has great artistic talent but lacks the self-confidence to find the right person to love; and Lizzie, the spoiled youngest daughter who is most like her mother and is now a renowned TV chef and restauranteur.The three sisters have gone their own ways over the years, not close to each other or to their mother. And now they get calls from their mother saying she wants them all to come home to see her - and reluctance isn't a strong enough word to express how they feel about this.I've enjoyed author Jane Green's stories in the past and this family drama is another I'm glad I read. Fully explored characters, a few characters that were unlikable (which I always enjoy), and a storyline that brought tears and laughter made this an interesting, engaging read.I received this book from Berkley Publishing through Net Galley in exchange for my unbiased review.
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 24, 2017
    This book is classic Jane Green in all the best ways-multifaceted characters, an idyllic setting, and a story about the complexity of family and personal relationships. The Sunshine Sisters brings together three sisters who have drifted far apart, mostly due to their contentious relationship with their difficult mother, Ronni. But now Ronni needs them to come back together, and despite the complications in their relationships with both her and each other, Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy all return hom This book is classic Jane Green in all the best ways-multifaceted characters, an idyllic setting, and a story about the complexity of family and personal relationships. The Sunshine Sisters brings together three sisters who have drifted far apart, mostly due to their contentious relationship with their difficult mother, Ronni. But now Ronni needs them to come back together, and despite the complications in their relationships with both her and each other, Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy all return home at their mother's call, and from there will start to discover and heal the things that have fractured them, and find the things that bind them. Perhaps the only complaint I have about this story is that I just wasn't done with it when it ended. Jane Green enthusiasts will find lots to like here, and if there is somehow a women's fiction reader out there who hasn't discovered her yet, this may be a great place to start. I found that The Sunshine sisters combined the maturity of the writing in her other more recent books with the style of her earlier books, which will be welcomed by new readers and old fans alike. Advance e-galley provided by Netgalley and the publisher for an honest review.
    more
  • Kim
    May 28, 2017
    The Sunshine Sisters by one of my favourite authors is a great summertime beach read. Aging actress Roni Sunshine is dying and her final wish is to bring her three estranged daughters back home to not only reconcile but also to assist her in dying.All three women have problems of their own and none are to keen on coming home. But when they do they each will realize that things aren't always as they seem and life is full of changes.I received this advanced copy from Net Gallery in exchange for an The Sunshine Sisters by one of my favourite authors is a great summertime beach read. Aging actress Roni Sunshine is dying and her final wish is to bring her three estranged daughters back home to not only reconcile but also to assist her in dying.All three women have problems of their own and none are to keen on coming home. But when they do they each will realize that things aren't always as they seem and life is full of changes.I received this advanced copy from Net Gallery in exchange for an honest review. I would fully recommend this book to anyone who enjoys family drama, a good beach read and isn't afraid to shed some tears.
    more
  • Jeannine
    April 27, 2017
    I received my copy of this book from the publusher as an ARC. I have not been paid for my review.I have a love/hate relationship with this book. It is the first book I have read by Jane Green. This is a story about a family of sisters coming back together after a bumpy childhood. Some parts of the book seemed to skip over parts of the story, while other parts contained way too many unnecessary details. If you are up for a breezy read that contains a few racey scenes, then this is for you.
    more
  • Patty
    May 15, 2017
    The Sunshine SistersByJane GreenWhat it's all about...The Sunshine Family...Ronni...an uncaring almost cruel movie star mother...with an uncaring father and dysfunctional daughters...Nell, Meri and Lizzy...born in that order. Nell was kind of ignored, Meri was the middle chubby sister and Lizzy was the "baby"...the beauty who got everything she ever wanted. The results of this kind of parenting are that Nell doesn't feel as though she belongs anywhere...Meri feels overweight, unloved and unattra The Sunshine SistersByJane GreenWhat it's all about...The Sunshine Family...Ronni...an uncaring almost cruel movie star mother...with an uncaring father and dysfunctional daughters...Nell, Meri and Lizzy...born in that order. Nell was kind of ignored, Meri was the middle chubby sister and Lizzy was the "baby"...the beauty who got everything she ever wanted. The results of this kind of parenting are that Nell doesn't feel as though she belongs anywhere...Meri feels overweight, unloved and unattractive and Lizzy just feels as though she can get away with anything. So...we have a sister with tons of confusion about her sexuality, a sister with issues of self worth and a sister who doesn't really care about anyone but herself. So...what happens when Ronni becomes ill and is determined to do something about it? Something unexpected? Something that she wants her daughters around for? Well...that's what this book is all about and why this book is so good. It will be a masterful beach read that no one can put down! Why I wanted to read it...I love Jane Green books...her trademark is adding a bit of London to her novels and adding dysfunctional characters that the reader...most readers...love to dislike.What made me truly enjoy this book...Lots of quirky characters are in this book plus tons of quirky relationships...Billy and Dreadful Derek and Greta and Sean and just really tons more. These characters add dysfunction and interest to the book and enhance and inhibit the lives of Nell and Meri and Lizzy.Why you should read it, too...Readers who love Jane Green's style and way with characters should have much fun with this one!
    more
  • Jane Sibley
    April 16, 2017
    This is the second book I have read by an author I love that I wasn't that impressed with. A little disappointing that I sadly cannot give a more positive review. At least the characters were interesting and endearing. The plot had some good moments but over all it was rather shallow and one thing I'm not keen on is a new love interest for everyone just popping up like magic barely after they have left the last. Unfortunately in my opinion it was just another easy read for a lazy day. Thanks to This is the second book I have read by an author I love that I wasn't that impressed with. A little disappointing that I sadly cannot give a more positive review. At least the characters were interesting and endearing. The plot had some good moments but over all it was rather shallow and one thing I'm not keen on is a new love interest for everyone just popping up like magic barely after they have left the last. Unfortunately in my opinion it was just another easy read for a lazy day. Thanks to NetGalley and Berkley Publishing Group for an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review. Publishing date June 6 2017.
    more
  • Laura Crotty
    May 12, 2017
    For those of you who have read Jane Green before you will not be disappointed by her newest book The Sunshine Sisters. Green's story about the Sunshine Sisters and their lives as the children of actress Ronni Sunshine, and then their lives as the adult children of Ronni was very compelling. I felt the complexities of the storyline brought in many aspects that held my interest and kept me reading until the very last page. Each sister brings to the storyline her own story as a child of Ronni. You For those of you who have read Jane Green before you will not be disappointed by her newest book The Sunshine Sisters. Green's story about the Sunshine Sisters and their lives as the children of actress Ronni Sunshine, and then their lives as the adult children of Ronni was very compelling. I felt the complexities of the storyline brought in many aspects that held my interest and kept me reading until the very last page. Each sister brings to the storyline her own story as a child of Ronni. You will be rooting for their well deserved happiness by the end of the story. I highly recommend this latest book of Jane Green. I wrote this honest review in return for an advances reader copy of this book.
    more
  • Jennifer Margeson
    May 6, 2017
    4.5☆this may be Jane Green's best novel to date! I received an advanced reader copy from First to Read and was thrilled since she is one of my go to authors, despite my up and down reviews of her novels.the characters are well developed, and she describes both the mother-daughter and sister-sister dynamics or relationships well. I thought the pieces could have been woven together a little more evenly to make the story flow more smoothly. overall this is a lovely story that reads quickly - and an 4.5☆this may be Jane Green's best novel to date! I received an advanced reader copy from First to Read and was thrilled since she is one of my go to authors, despite my up and down reviews of her novels.the characters are well developed, and she describes both the mother-daughter and sister-sister dynamics or relationships well. I thought the pieces could have been woven together a little more evenly to make the story flow more smoothly. overall this is a lovely story that reads quickly - and an ending that left me very satisfied
    more
  • Jan
    March 12, 2017
    This is a very intense subject that all parents need to reveal to themselves. it is written masterfully, unveiling many troubles of today's parenting woes. A wonderful read that would give any parent and/or child something to think about! Absolutely loved it!
    more
  • Debbie Kerch
    May 8, 2017
    Jane Green’s, The Sunshine Sisters is the emotional story of a three estranged sisters coming home to be with their mother during her final days. Ronni Sunshine, a movie actress has had some limited success in her career. Recognized and adored by many, Ronni loves the spotlight and the adulation of her adoring fans, but all of this self-absorption and egotism comes at a cost. Her marriage eventually dissolves due to countless affairs and her daughters become adept with coping with her mood swing Jane Green’s, The Sunshine Sisters is the emotional story of a three estranged sisters coming home to be with their mother during her final days. Ronni Sunshine, a movie actress has had some limited success in her career. Recognized and adored by many, Ronni loves the spotlight and the adulation of her adoring fans, but all of this self-absorption and egotism comes at a cost. Her marriage eventually dissolves due to countless affairs and her daughters become adept with coping with her mood swings but not without a price. Nell, the eldest has learned to hide her feelings and cuts herself off to others emotionally, Meredith learns to swallow her feelings with excess food and Lizzy, a wild young version of her mother, practically raises herself. Trying to please their mother while avoiding her wrath, the girls eventually grow up, grow apart and in due course leave home. As time goes by the sisters live successful lives, but remain distant from one another. Nell manages a large farm while raising her son solo, Meredith becomes an accountant while engaged to a man she doesn’t love, and Lizzy now a mom, becomes a famous chef, but is unfaithful to a spouse she claims to love. Soon the sisters’ world comes crashing down with a phone call from their mother asking them to return home. Once reunited she reveals she has ALS and is dying, but plans to hurry the process and desires her girls by her side. In the time she has left Ronni hopes to make amends to her daughters for all the years of neglect and hopes with all her heart the Sunshine sisters can become reacquainted and learn to love each other again. With time running out for their mother, the sisters are forced to confront the past in order to forgive their mother and embrace a bright new future together.What I liked about Jane Green’s The Sunshine Sisters is her strong female characters. Ronni is a formidable woman that made me scream one minute and cry the next. Nell made me want to shake her to elicit emotion while Meredith made me weep with her lack of self-worth and untapped potential. Lizzy though beautiful and talented made me want to shake some sense and sensitivity into her because she was too much like her mother. I was pleased that despite their regrettable upbringing the sisters forgave their mother and accepted her shortcomings and found their way back to each other and connected like they couldn’t growing up. What I didn’t like about The Sunshine Sisters was the excessive coarse language and occasional racy scene. I don’t feel it added anything to the storyline and at times was excessive and took away from the characters and the emotional drama of the story which stood on its own. The Sunshine Sisters is a story of love and forgiveness in the most difficult of circumstances. It’s a story of what it means to be family during good times as well as bad.I want to thank Berkley Publishing Group via NetGalley for an advanced copy of Jane Green’s The Sunshine Sisters by Jane Green for a fair and honest review.Book Matron
    more
  • Vox
    May 27, 2017
    Of all her acting jobs, motherhood was Ronni Sunshine's least successful part.For one thing, none of her pregnancies were planned. In fact, her last one, with Lizzy, cost her a potentially award-winning role. Her three daughters are not so much children for her to tend as props and, far more often, targets. Nell, the oldest, learns to keep quiet and retreat, something she puts into life-altering motion when she leaves home at the first opportunity. Middle child Meredith, the people pleaser, stri Of all her acting jobs, motherhood was Ronni Sunshine's least successful part.For one thing, none of her pregnancies were planned. In fact, her last one, with Lizzy, cost her a potentially award-winning role. Her three daughters are not so much children for her to tend as props and, far more often, targets. Nell, the oldest, learns to keep quiet and retreat, something she puts into life-altering motion when she leaves home at the first opportunity. Middle child Meredith, the people pleaser, strives to do just that: please her mother. But Ronni finds her lacking, particularly when it comes to her looks. Meredith is a little overweight, something Ronni points out at every opportunity. Like Nell, Meredith leaves home as quickly as she can, only unlike Nell, she doesn't move within an hour - she flees to London. The baby of the family, Lizzy, learns that the best revenge is to remain defiantly unaffected.Now, with the girls in their thirties and early forties, Ronni has beckoned them home. Disease-ridden, she is not above using that as a means of manipulating her daughters into an extremely rare visit. One reason for the command: Ronni wants a documentarian to film her waning days, and she would like Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy to partake.Jane Green treads familiar territory with the premise of this book: the remote, uninvolved mother; the three disparate and detached sisters; even a father who emotionally and physically abandons his daughters upon a remarriage. Despite the sense of cliché, Green gives her story some jolts of freshness, largely with Lizzy. She's the only one who faces ugly truths about herself and sets out to do something about them. She is selfish, spoiled, and entitled, and once she realizes and accepts this, she recognizes that she has to change some things. Nell and Meredith neither face nor conquer such a dramatic shift, yet their familiarity feels comfortable. You've seen them before, but you welcome them again here. The men in this book fare poorly, largely because they are straight out of Central Casting, the most egregious of which is the girls' father.Despite the sense of unoriginality, this is an enjoyable book to read. Green uses the setting of Westport, Connecticut, quite purposefully, putting the Sunshine women close to healing waters. Yes, you will feel as if you've read this story before, but encountering it through the eyes of Jane Green makes it a wonderful summer read.
    more
  • Debbie
    May 30, 2017
    Ronni Sunshine came to America to be a movie star. She never quite got where she wanted to be, I don't think, although she was definitely famous and a star. At home, though, to her three daughters (Nell, Meredith & Lizzy) she was a bit of a "mommie dearest" at times. Self-centered and narcissistic are not great qualities in a mother.The book goes back and forth in time, and you do have to pay attention a bit to keep up.But the here and now is, Ronni has been diagnosed with ALS and summons he Ronni Sunshine came to America to be a movie star. She never quite got where she wanted to be, I don't think, although she was definitely famous and a star. At home, though, to her three daughters (Nell, Meredith & Lizzy) she was a bit of a "mommie dearest" at times. Self-centered and narcissistic are not great qualities in a mother.The book goes back and forth in time, and you do have to pay attention a bit to keep up.But the here and now is, Ronni has been diagnosed with ALS and summons her three daughters home for her final days. They get there, not knowing she is ill, to find out she wants them to stay for several days and at the end of that time, she plans to take her own life. None of the girls want to take part in that, and try to come up with ways to make her see it isn't the best idea.We watch all three women struggle, not only with their relationship with their mother and the thought of losing her, but struggle with life, and love, and coming to terms with themselves. They are very different and have grown apart, but we watch as life pushes them back together and makes them all deal with themselves and each other.I enjoyed reading this book and found it an interesting story of family, life and love.Thanks to Netgalley & Berkley Publishing for allowing me an ARC copy of this in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Yvonne
    May 30, 2017
    Once you get past the first chapter of the book we see the beginning of the story Where Ronni Sunshine is a Hollywood actress and her family life. We see her three daughters Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy. Throughout the story the story changes narrators, so we see everyone's life from their point of view. Nell is the oldest and has learned how to keep away from her mothers anger. She ends up a teen mother and does everything to keep herself from being her mother and makes sure her son is her main fo Once you get past the first chapter of the book we see the beginning of the story Where Ronni Sunshine is a Hollywood actress and her family life. We see her three daughters Nell, Meredith, and Lizzy. Throughout the story the story changes narrators, so we see everyone's life from their point of view. Nell is the oldest and has learned how to keep away from her mothers anger. She ends up a teen mother and does everything to keep herself from being her mother and makes sure her son is her main focus in life. Meredith took the brunt of her mothers anger. She mostly settles for whatever her way rather than trying for more. Lizzy is the baby and the most like Ronni and she got away with everything when she was a child and teenager. As an adult Lizzy still behaves horribly. In the end everyone changes and things are not so dreary. Nell was my favorite character in this book. The ending for her was something I did not see coming but it was great to see her happy. In the end Ronni did try to make up for her short comings. There was a bit of a time jump and the story is not a life is all sunshine and rainbows kind of story. It was an interesting book. I would read another book by this author. I received this book for free to read from First to read for exchange for an honest review. The opinions in this review are 100% my own.
    more
  • Joanna
    May 13, 2017
    Thanks to Net Galley, I was able to read an advanced copy of this novel which will be published in June.Jane Green is an author I have been reading for many years. Her stories are lighthearted chick lit and The Sunshine Sisters follows the vein of chick-lit, but her subject matter has gotten a little heavier. Luckily, everything works out in the end – as one would expect in a Jane Green novel.The Sunshine sisters – Nell, Meredith and Lizzy – grew up with an actress mother, Ronni Sunshine, who wa Thanks to Net Galley, I was able to read an advanced copy of this novel which will be published in June.Jane Green is an author I have been reading for many years. Her stories are lighthearted chick lit and The Sunshine Sisters follows the vein of chick-lit, but her subject matter has gotten a little heavier. Luckily, everything works out in the end – as one would expect in a Jane Green novel.The Sunshine sisters – Nell, Meredith and Lizzy – grew up with an actress mother, Ronni Sunshine, who was self-centered, materialistic and who could be cruel, especially to her daughters. After their difficult childhoods, they each move away from their mother and their sisters. Suddenly, they are all summoned back to their mother’s home and shockingly, they all go.While there, they learn that their mother is dying and that she wants to connect the three of them in her last days before an assisted suicide. The sisters all go through grief and anger, but also seem to grow and reflect on the mistakes they have each made in their relationships and lives.Read the rest of my review: https://whatwouldjoannaread.wordpress...
    more
  • Gail
    May 21, 2017
    I received an ARC and offer this fair review in exchange.Family relationships are complicated. Marriages are challenging. This is a story of family & relationships.  Broken & healing.The Sunshine sisters are three.  Oldest child, middle child, and youngest.  They grew up with a self-absorbed actress mother.  Each trying to find their way in the world while desperately wanting the absent love of their mother.  Each daughter reacted differently to their mother's neglect in childhood.  But I received an ARC and offer this fair review in exchange.Family relationships are complicated. Marriages are challenging. This is a story of family & relationships.  Broken & healing.The Sunshine sisters are three.  Oldest child, middle child, and youngest.  They grew up with a self-absorbed actress mother.  Each trying to find their way in the world while desperately wanting the absent love of their mother.  Each daughter reacted differently to their mother's neglect in childhood.  But each left home as quickly as she could, drifting apart from their mother and each other.  The reader knows from page one that the mother will soon die.  She brings her daughters home together hoping to see her them reunited and forming a lasting relationship before she dies.  For the daughters it becomes a journey of long overdue self-discovery and that life is whatever you choose to make it.Death bed conversations are a bit trite for me.  It would be nice if dying could be as perfect a scene as that.  But as with Green's other books, there's a life lesson to be learned here even if the story is a bit overdone. 
    more
Write a review