Under a Summer Sky (Follow Your Heart #3)
High school art teacher Nicole Anderson is looking forward to a relaxing summer in Savannah, house-sitting and managing an art gallery for a family friend. The house is luxurious in a way that only old money could make it, and the gallery promises interesting days in a gorgeous setting. Yet it isn't long before her ideal summer turns into more than she bargained for: a snooty gallery employee who's determined to force her out, a displaced adolescent roosting in the attic, and two of Nicole's close childhood friends--who also happen to be brothers--vying for her attention. With a backdrop of a beautiful historical city, incredible architecture, and even an alleged ghost or two, combined with the opportunity for romance . . . anything can happen! Bestselling and award-winning author Melody Carlson invites readers to spend the summer surrounded by beauty and tantalizing possibilities for the future.

Under a Summer Sky (Follow Your Heart #3) Details

TitleUnder a Summer Sky (Follow Your Heart #3)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherFleming H. Revell Company
ISBN0800723597
ISBN-139780800723590
Number of pages320 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Fiction, Contemporary, Christian Romance, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Christian Fiction, Adult Fiction

Under a Summer Sky (Follow Your Heart #3) Review

  • Lindsey (Books for Christian Girls)
    June 11, 2017
    About this book:“High school art teacher Nicole Anderson is looking forward to a relaxing summer in Savannah, house-sitting and managing an art gallery for a family friend. The house is luxurious in a way that only old money could make it, and the gallery promises interesting days in a gorgeous setting. Yet it isn't long before her ideal summer turns into more than she bargained for: a snooty gallery employee who's determined to force her out, a displaced adolescent roosting in the attic, and tw About this book:“High school art teacher Nicole Anderson is looking forward to a relaxing summer in Savannah, house-sitting and managing an art gallery for a family friend. The house is luxurious in a way that only old money could make it, and the gallery promises interesting days in a gorgeous setting. Yet it isn't long before her ideal summer turns into more than she bargained for: a snooty gallery employee who's determined to force her out, a displaced adolescent roosting in the attic, and two of Nicole's close childhood friends--who also happen to be brothers--vying for her attention. With a backdrop of a beautiful historical city, incredible architecture, and even an alleged ghost or two, combined with the opportunity for romance . . . anything can happen! Bestselling and award-winning author Melody Carlson invites readers to spend the summer surrounded by beauty and tantalizing possibilities for the future.”Series: Book #3 in the “Follow Your Heart” series. (Review of Book #1, Here! and #2 Here! But can be read as stand-alones.) Spiritual Content- A couple Scriptures are mentioned & quoted; A few prayers & thanking God; A few talks about God; Mentions of God; Mentions of prayers, praying, & blessings over food; Mentions of churches, church going, & sermons; Mentions of blessings & being blessed; A few mentions of religious paintings; A mention of a godsend; A mention of a miracle; *Note: Nicole goes on a ghost tour (up to semi-detailed, but not truly scary); Many mentions of haunted houses and places (but not like at an amusement park), ghosts (some believe there are ghosts, but Nicole doesn’t), & ghost tours; A mention of feeling odd supernatural effects at a place.Negative Content- Minor cussing including: a ‘idiot’ and six form of ‘stupid’s; Some sarcasm & eye rolling; A party with adults and alcohol, only some young teens get into the vodka & get sick (barely-above-not-detailed); Drinking champagne; Many mentions of divorces, going through one, & parents fighting; Mentions of wars, battles, & deaths; Mentions of slavery & slave labor; Mentions of a house party with alcohol, shots, & a girl who had alcohol poisoning; Mentions of alcohol poisoning & throwing up; Mentions of alcohol (beer, wine, vodka, & champagne), a pub/brewery & drinking; Mentions of a possible break-in, a robbery, & intruder; Mentions of teasing, bullies, mean girls, & hatred; Mentions of jealousy; A few mentions of a murder & suicide with the son finding his parents’ bodies; A few mentions of a fire & deaths; A few mentions of injuries; A couple mentions of a suspicious murder; A couple mentions of thieves; A couple mentions of pierces & tattoos; A couple mentions of lies & lying; A mention of poison; A mention of horror films; *Note: Going to & Mentions of Starbucks; Mentions of celebrities (Goldie Hawn, Kate Hudson, Anne Hathaway, Adele, & the Kardashians); Mentions of brands (Range Rover, Mercedes, BMW, Hermès, & Ralph Lauren); Mentions of vampires; Mentions of the Munsters; A mention of Disney’s Pirates of the Caribbean. Sexual Content- two barely-above-not-detailed kisses and a semi-detailed kiss; Touches & Embraces (barely-above-not-detailed); Noticing & Smelling; a ‘hot’ and two ‘hussy’s; Many mentions of crushes, dating, dates, boyfriends, girlfriends, breakups, & exes; Mentions of noticing & attention; Mentions of falling [in love with] for someone; Mentions of flirting; Mentions of jealousy; A few mentions of a couple who was pregnant when they got married; Attention from two guys; Love, falling in love & a bit of the emotions; *Note: A few mentions of a skimpy nightgown & a man’s whistling at Nicole; A mention of a young girl wearing a bikini. -Nicole Anderson, age 29 P.O.V. of Nicole 300 pages~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*Pre Teens- One Star New Teens- One Star (and a half)Early High School Teens- Two Stars (and a half)Older High School Teens- Three StarsMy personal Rating- Two Stars (and a half)The beginning held my interest, but as the book went on I started not enjoying it as much. My main problem was that the romances felt forced. Especially with that ending—it was very rushed and quite honestly just faded out as you read the last bit. No exciting big moment, at least, in my opinion. I did liked Nicole at first, but during her interactions with the brothers, I was shaking my head at different parts. I don’t feel like she had a connection to either of them, honestly. I enjoyed the art gallery parts and found myself wishing there was more of that. It was a decently cute read—there were a lot of mentions of ghosts and haunting houses that some might not like however—but I didn’t find it to be the author’s best or anywhere near her best book(s). Link to review:https://booksforchristiangirls.blogsp...*BFCG may (Read the review to see) recommend this book by this author. It does not mean I recommend all the books by this author.*I received this book for free from the Publisher (Revell) for this honest review.
    more
  • Melanie Kilsby
    June 14, 2017
    Under A Summer Sky was a cute summer read with fireworks and history.I am really enjoying this new NA series by Melody Carlson and gave this instalment a solid 3 1/2 stars. The development of of characters was wonderful with notes of architecture, art and history exposing the true colours of each one. Side characters were developed with great arcs too. Though, some I would have wanted to know more about. I loved how Nicole truly cared for people and saw the best in them even if they were horribl Under A Summer Sky was a cute summer read with fireworks and history.I am really enjoying this new NA series by Melody Carlson and gave this instalment a solid 3 1/2 stars. The development of of characters was wonderful with notes of architecture, art and history exposing the true colours of each one. Side characters were developed with great arcs too. Though, some I would have wanted to know more about. I loved how Nicole truly cared for people and saw the best in them even if they were horrible and treated her badly. The story itself did wrap up quickly, leaving me with some questions. And as mentioned before, I would have like to see more of some of the other characters, etc. Ghosts and ghost towns may appeal to some, but not me. However, it made me want to learn more about Savannah. Also, use of strong spirits and alcohol was unfortunate. Though I was thankful when Nicole refused it often! Plus, I was hoping that there would have been more emphasis placed on dating someone that is a Christian vs. a non-believer. Which I think could have been highlighted in this novel wonderfully. Overall, a great book and one I was happy to read for the summer. Perfect for curling up by the beach or while waiting for the summer fireworks to begin!
    more
  • Melanie
    May 10, 2017
    After reading the second book in this series earlier this year, I wasn't even sure I wanted to continue reading the series (because I really didn't care for the second book), but I decided to continue and I am glad I did! I really enjoyed Under a Summer Sky. I liked the characters. I liked how the story featured art and an art gallery. I liked the town and all the "ghosts/haunted houses" history. All in all, I really liked Under a Summer Sky. If you like contemporary romance, I think you'll enjo After reading the second book in this series earlier this year, I wasn't even sure I wanted to continue reading the series (because I really didn't care for the second book), but I decided to continue and I am glad I did! I really enjoyed Under a Summer Sky. I liked the characters. I liked how the story featured art and an art gallery. I liked the town and all the "ghosts/haunted houses" history. All in all, I really liked Under a Summer Sky. If you like contemporary romance, I think you'll enjoy this one. *I received a complimentary eBook copy via NetGalley for my honest review. As always, all thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.*
    more
  • Callie
    June 8, 2017
    I read the first book in this series a few years ago, and though the ending was rushed, I really enjoyed it. I decided to pick up this book by the same author for a light, summer read.Nicole heads to her mother's friend's house to run her gallery for the summer, and get's caught in between two sons who are vying for her attention. She goes through mishaps in running the gallery and in figuring out how her relationship with one of the sons can move forward - because doesn't he have a girlfriend?F I read the first book in this series a few years ago, and though the ending was rushed, I really enjoyed it. I decided to pick up this book by the same author for a light, summer read.Nicole heads to her mother's friend's house to run her gallery for the summer, and get's caught in between two sons who are vying for her attention. She goes through mishaps in running the gallery and in figuring out how her relationship with one of the sons can move forward - because doesn't he have a girlfriend?First I have to say that I would NOT call this a Christian book. Aside from a couple of the characters shooting up a prayer before meals a couple times, there were no faith references at all. So don't expect much in that department. I would have loved this as a clean, romantic read, but it just irks me when it's presented as a Christian book when it really isn't.There were many references in this book to the "ghosts" in Savannah, which irked me after a while. One of the characters briefly wonders if her love interest is living with someone - once again, not really representing how important following and obeying Christ should be in the lives of those who I am assuming were supposed to be following Him. But I'm only assuming that because this was presented as a "Christian" book. But it's not.That said, for what it was, I really did enjoy this book! The story was sweet, the different plot lines were all interesting. I really liked the characters, and how it all played out. The atmosphere of Savannah was described beautifully and made me want to visit. Though the ending came quickly, I didn't feel like it was as abrupt as the previous book I've read by this author. I did feel that a couple of the storylines could have been wrapped up better though, and in that sense it still felt rushed. I always feel like this author's books could use another 50-100 pages.Still, if you want a quick, light read, this book was fun, and overall I'd recommend it!Note: I received a copy of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Laura
    May 29, 2017
    UNDER A SUMMER SKY is the third book in Ms. Carlson's romance series Follow Your Heart. This one is set in Savannah, Georgia. At first I thought Nicole had no backbone, but as the story unfolded she started to develop one. I really appreciated that. Alex's young daughter, Bernie, made a nice addition to the story, and there is a love - triangle, with both Alex and Ryan vying for her affections! I wanted Nicole to choose the one I was rooting for! There is some drinking -- beer and wine -- for t UNDER A SUMMER SKY is the third book in Ms. Carlson's romance series Follow Your Heart. This one is set in Savannah, Georgia. At first I thought Nicole had no backbone, but as the story unfolded she started to develop one. I really appreciated that. Alex's young daughter, Bernie, made a nice addition to the story, and there is a love - triangle, with both Alex and Ryan vying for her affections! I wanted Nicole to choose the one I was rooting for! There is some drinking -- beer and wine -- for those who don't approve of it and don't want to read about it, and the faith message is absolutely nonexistent, but otherwise the story is sweet, clean, and nothing objectionable for those who like squeaky clean romances without a spiritual message. I think this was absolutely my favorite book of the three in the series Once Upon a Summertime, and All Summer Long and now Under a Summer Sky. All three are about girls being sent out of their comfort zones, spreading their wings, and discovering themselves and love in the process. I hope there will be a fourth book in this series. If you like sweet romances, don't miss UNDER A SUMMER SKY. A can't fail summertime romance set in the deep south. I was provided a free copy of this book. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Liz
    May 29, 2017
    I received this book in exchange for a review, as part of the book tour for this novel. My corresponding blog post will be published 13 June, 2017 @ https://janepedia.com/carlsonm-uass/.I originally rated this 3/5 stars, but I feel that's being too generous. There are so many issues with this book I don't understand why it was published before these were addressed—but then, don't I? Award-winning and/or best-selling authors carry with them a particular privilege which allows them to publish any I received this book in exchange for a review, as part of the book tour for this novel. My corresponding blog post will be published 13 June, 2017 @ https://janepedia.com/carlsonm-uass/.I originally rated this 3/5 stars, but I feel that's being too generous. There are so many issues with this book I don't understand why it was published before these were addressed—but then, don't I? Award-winning and/or best-selling authors carry with them a particular privilege which allows them to publish any book, figuratively speaking, for the sole purpose of publishing a book (for the author) and bringing in sales (for the publisher).I'm not new to Christian fiction—there are many well-written novels our their featuring characters with agency. This book is not one of those; it's more the nth draft everyone up and decided they were tired of reading and send to the publishers.I have more things to say, but for now, this is the gist:1. The diction does not vary. You can find better diction and varying sentence structure on Facebook, reading your uber religious elder relatives' statuses. This book resembles mom blogs more—except I can't even say this in good faith, because it feels like an insult to all mommy bloggers everywhere.2. Nicole has no agency. I'd be lying if I said she was role-model material and insulting all role models everywhere—and I'm not even behind the idea of putting people up on pedestals and looking up to them for #inspo or to be influenced. The plot drives her, and all conflict is external. Feelings come out of nowhere, and anytime either brother is in site for the first half of the book, she only thinks with her vagina. It's 2017. Where are the women who aren't boy-crazy middle-schoolers, growing all jealous within two seconds of meeting a guy?! Geez, girl—no wonder your ex-boyfriend was more into his music.A part of me was to blame this on the Bible Belt Christian lifestyle, but Nicole is from Seattle—she's not from the Bible Belt, yet she's acting exactly like a Bible Belt-raised thoroughbred Christian woman: only thinking about breeding.It made me—and continues to make me—want to bang my head against the wall because of the ridiculousness that is the entirety of Nicole: we get it, okay? You want a man, because you've been single for almost six months, and it's driving you cray-cray. But that doesn't mean you need to wait on men hand-and-foot, be there at every man's beck-and-call, and/or be afraid to stand up for yourself!Fiction like this is a major issue because:3. Christian women are not weak. We don't need society to see us this way, especially not when they already view women as a whole as "weak". We aren't dependent on men; we can take care of ourselves, thank you very much. We don't need to continue to write stereotypes to win over a crowd who seemingly likes this, because it does more harm than good. If we want change, we need to write the change. Disney fairy tales are not real life, and we need to stop treating them like such. I get this is for adults, but oh, my gosh, a kindergarten student could read this and write a much better story.Because she lacks agency—and any personality other than judging everyone and everything (despite Carlson writing how Nicole is rarely judgmental), and thinking with her ovaries—Nicole is everything but relateable.My corresponding blog post will be published 13 June, 2017 @ https://janepedia.com/carlsonm-uass/
    more
  • Rebecca
    May 9, 2017
    "It's a great opportunity, but - " . . . . .High school art teacher Nicole Anderson finds herself being persuaded to fly cross country from Seattle, Washington to Savannah, Georgia in order to house sit and manage an old family friend's art gallery for the summer? Not the quiet summer she had anticipated, but interesting nonetheless. Settling in to the Graham's lovely home, Nicole finds that some things never change; for instance, the sibling discord between the Graham's two sons, Alex and Ryan, "It's a great opportunity, but - " . . . . .High school art teacher Nicole Anderson finds herself being persuaded to fly cross country from Seattle, Washington to Savannah, Georgia in order to house sit and manage an old family friend's art gallery for the summer? Not the quiet summer she had anticipated, but interesting nonetheless. Settling in to the Graham's lovely home, Nicole finds that some things never change; for instance, the sibling discord between the Graham's two sons, Alex and Ryan, who were Nicole's seasonal childhood friends. Alex is obviously interested in his parent's lovely house sitter, although currently wading through his own divorce proceedings, and while Ryan seems to pick up their friendship quite easily, word has it that he is practically engaged to a beautiful young doctor in town.Somewhere between juggling a surly co-worker, befriending Alex's teen daughter, and selling quite a few valuable paintings, Nicole is finding herself quite at home in Georgia's infamous "ghost town". Will her stay in the south be permanent or was this just a pleasant summer in Savannah? Enjoy this light, banter-filled romance, with intriguing glimpses of a lovely city that should be everyone's vacation destination.I received a copy of this book from the publisher. The opinions stated are entirely my own.
    more
  • Trish
    June 13, 2017
    Nicole Anderson is teaching art in Seattle when she gets an opportunity to spend a summer in Savannah. A family friend offers her the chance to housesit for the summer and mind her art gallery while she is on vacation. Nicole's summer turns out to be very exciting - with interesting work in a beautiful, historic city and with romantic possibilities involving two old friends, who happen to be brothers.I grew up in a family that was originally from Savannah, and I lived there as a little girl. I a Nicole Anderson is teaching art in Seattle when she gets an opportunity to spend a summer in Savannah. A family friend offers her the chance to housesit for the summer and mind her art gallery while she is on vacation. Nicole's summer turns out to be very exciting - with interesting work in a beautiful, historic city and with romantic possibilities involving two old friends, who happen to be brothers.I grew up in a family that was originally from Savannah, and I lived there as a little girl. I always say that part of my heart will always be in Savannah, and this book made me long to spend time there! Melody Carlson did a wonderful job capturing the unique charm of this city, with old stories (including a couple of ghost tours), historic houses and architecture, and some of my favorite places like Forsyth Park and The Pirates House restaurant.Nicole is a very likeable character. She is a kind person who wants to help others, including a struggling teenage girl who is part of the family she is housesitting for, and a decidedly difficult gallery coworker. I really liked her relationship with Ryan, which started as an old friendship.Under a Summer Sky is a sweet, heartwarming novel, and it makes a wonderful summer read. I recommend it for fans of women's fiction and contemporary romance ... especially in a unique, picturesque setting. I have not read the previous books in this series, but Under a Summer Sky worked well as a standalone novel.
    more
  • Lisa at Farm Fresh Adventures
    June 20, 2017
    This one was better than the previous book in the series and was interesting. I have wandered through small art galleries before so I liked seeing what happens "behind the scenes". And of course--Savannah! Mmmm.
  • Helen
    June 15, 2017
    Under a Summer Sky, written by Melody Carlson, is book 3 in the Follow Your Heart series. Nicole Anderson is a high school art teacher who has recently broken up with her boyfriend and is feeling stuck in her job. Just before the end of the school year, her mother makes a visit to her classroom. Her mother has made arrangements for Nicole to go to Georgia and watch her friend Vivian's home and co-manage her art gallery while Nicole and her husband go on a long cruise. Nicole has just days to get Under a Summer Sky, written by Melody Carlson, is book 3 in the Follow Your Heart series. Nicole Anderson is a high school art teacher who has recently broken up with her boyfriend and is feeling stuck in her job. Just before the end of the school year, her mother makes a visit to her classroom. Her mother has made arrangements for Nicole to go to Georgia and watch her friend Vivian's home and co-manage her art gallery while Nicole and her husband go on a long cruise. Nicole has just days to get everything ready.Nicole and her family are friends with Vivian's family. They use to go on vacations together, so Nicole knows Vivian's boys. But they are all grown adults now and have not seen each other for years. Vivian's husband comes from old money and their home is beautiful and Nicole is looking forward to spending the summer there. What she does not expect is to find herself caring for Vivian's granddaughter as well.Nicole has never worked in an art gallery before and finds herself struggling to work with Vivian's employee, Amyra. Amyra is an ex-girlfriend of one of Vivian's sons. Vivian's son's encourage Nicole to fire Amyra.This is a great contemporary romance story. Set in the south, the story gives some background to the area as well as southern traditions. This is a fun book to read for enjoyment. This story can easily be read on a lazy weekend. Even though it is part of a series, it is a stand alone novel. The story line and characters are well developed. The story of a summer romance as an adult seems different to me. As well as having a parent make your summer plans to start immediately after school is over, for the majority of the summer. This is not realistic to me. But overlooking that, it was a fun read. This is also considered a Christian fiction story. The Christian aspect of the story is very light. This is more a good clean romance story. I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishing. I have chosen to write an honest review.
    more
  • Jennifer
    June 17, 2017
    I'm a southern girl at heart, so I confess that I am drawn to stories set in the South - particularly Savannah and other coastal Carolina settings - so that was what initially piqued my interest in Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson. The story, however, is what drew me in - this is a light-hearted, easy read, picturesque in its descriptions, and the characters are well drawn. I particularly enjoyed the spunky Bernie, Vivian Graham's granddaughter who shows up in a most unexpected way. I think I'm a southern girl at heart, so I confess that I am drawn to stories set in the South - particularly Savannah and other coastal Carolina settings - so that was what initially piqued my interest in Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson. The story, however, is what drew me in - this is a light-hearted, easy read, picturesque in its descriptions, and the characters are well drawn. I particularly enjoyed the spunky Bernie, Vivian Graham's granddaughter who shows up in a most unexpected way. I think Nicole's story would resonate with many - feeling stuck in a rut, and wanting a change. Having a new opportunity drop in your lap is a life saver, and for her, a life changer.  As a high school teacher, you know she's no pushover, but she finds more resolve in dealing with the delightfully nasty Amyra and in connecting with and caring for the semi-abandoned young Bernie. In the praise shown above, Publishers Weekly describes it as "winsome" and I think that is the perfect adjective for the book: sweetly or innocently charming and engaging. This is a sweet romance story.While the book is categorized as Christian, I didn't find it heavily interwoven with faith or scripture or preaching of any sort. Prayers are said before meals, and there is just a general goodness - nothing racy so that you couldn't pass on to Grandma to read. (Assuming yours isn't like my Grams, who loved her Harlequin romances, but that's another story.) I admit, the trust that Vivian, the gallery owner, put in Nicole - despite that she was an old friend of Nicole's mother - was pretty strong for someone she hadn't seen in years, and the ending left me with a few questions unanswered, but it didn't affect how I enjoyed the story. This was a fun novel, perfect for a summer read. Under a Summer Sky is the third book in the Follow Your Heart series but works well as a standalone book - and I'm looking forward to going back to read the first two in the series because this one was so charming.I was provided a copy of the book for review purposes. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Jaquelyn Scroggie
    June 9, 2017
    Under a Summer Sky is the third book in the Follow Your Heart series. I have read the second book in this series and do not feel it is necessary to read the previous books to enjoy his one. Melody Carlson took me on a fun adventure to the south to visit Savanna, Georgia. It was interesting learning about a part of the country I have never visited, but now would love to. The thought of Southern boy charm doesn't hurt either. I had fun imagining what it would be like to get swept away into a summe Under a Summer Sky is the third book in the Follow Your Heart series. I have read the second book in this series and do not feel it is necessary to read the previous books to enjoy his one. Melody Carlson took me on a fun adventure to the south to visit Savanna, Georgia. It was interesting learning about a part of the country I have never visited, but now would love to. The thought of Southern boy charm doesn't hurt either. I had fun imagining what it would be like to get swept away into a summer of luxury with some good looking old friends vying for my attention. This story follows Nicole as she leaves home during the summer to manage a family friends art gallery.Nicole is in a rut. Being a art teacher used to be so much fun, but lately it seems like she is stuck. When an opportunity arises for her to take off for the summer, she is weary. The more she thinks about getting away, the better it sounds. After arriving she worries she is in over her head. Being an artist doesn't mean you can run an art gallery, but she is going to give it her best shot. The Graham brothers she knew when she was younger are all grown up now. Living in their parents house, she runs into both of them often. Between running the art gallery and its feisty employee, Nicole has her hands full. Is she meant to be with one of these men, or does she belong back home in Seattle?I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a quick summer read. It's the perfect book for vacations where you can pick it up right where you left off without having to back track. I enjoyed getting to know the characters. This book isn't packed with scriptures or situations where faith is leaned on, but I still enjoyed it. I received a copy of this book from Revell Publishers in exchange for my honest opinion. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Pam
    June 21, 2017
    “Under a Summer Sky” is one of those books that one should pick up when in need of a relaxing read. It would be perfect for summer vacation whether at the beach, in the mountains, or in your own backyard. I would probably classify it as a “feel good romance”.Many of us have been there – stuck in a rut with our lives – maybe because we’ve been hurt, or maybe afraid, or possibly even apathetic or depressed. Whatever the reason, Nicole Anderson found herself is a similar place when her mother arbit “Under a Summer Sky” is one of those books that one should pick up when in need of a relaxing read. It would be perfect for summer vacation whether at the beach, in the mountains, or in your own backyard. I would probably classify it as a “feel good romance”.Many of us have been there – stuck in a rut with our lives – maybe because we’ve been hurt, or maybe afraid, or possibly even apathetic or depressed. Whatever the reason, Nicole Anderson found herself is a similar place when her mother arbitrarily arranges for her to spend the summer helping out an old friend in her art gallery in Savannah. It also happens that the trip across the country puts her in contact again with the friend’s two sons who Nicole remembers from vacations the families spent together during her childhood.With its memorable characters and engaging plot, “Under a Summer Sky” was just what I needed as a break from historical romance and intense suspense novels. It was fun seeing Savannah through Nicole’s eyes and the interaction between Nicole and the other characters was entertaining. It didn’t take me very long to decide which brother Nicole should choose and it became more evident at the story progressed.Not an overtly Christian novel, “Under a Summer Sky” is squeaky clean and would be appropriate for teens. There are several examples of how to treat others and doing the right thing. I can always count on Melody Carlson for an entertaining read with a few life lessons subtly inserted into the plot.I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book provided by Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. A favorable review was not required and all views expressed are my own.
    more
  • V. Palmer
    June 13, 2017
    How many of you have ever picked a book to coincide with a particular time of the year or a season of your life? No? Just me? ;-) Well, for the bookish nerds who do that from time to time - because sometimes we just do - then Melody Carlson's latest novel is for you!Nicole is a high school art teacher who is stuck in life like paint under fingernails. When her mom arranges for her to house sit and manage an art gallery for a family friend, Nicole reluctantly agrees. However, it turns out to be j How many of you have ever picked a book to coincide with a particular time of the year or a season of your life? No? Just me? ;-) Well, for the bookish nerds who do that from time to time - because sometimes we just do - then Melody Carlson's latest novel is for you!Nicole is a high school art teacher who is stuck in life like paint under fingernails. When her mom arranges for her to house sit and manage an art gallery for a family friend, Nicole reluctantly agrees. However, it turns out to be just what she needed! As Nicole immerses herself into Savannah life, old friends resurface and long wondered "what ifs" are finally answered. And, boy, am I a fan of answered questions!Under a Summer Sky is a light, sweet romance sure to give you all the fireflies! This is a clean romance that is perfect for the person(s) in you're life who are new to Christian Fiction. It's clean, sweet subtleness makes it a wonderful crossover book. Also, Melody Carlson does an excellent job of catching the flavor and history of Savannah; I felt like I was there! Four Stars - A light, summer read! Under a Summer Sky is the third book in Melody Carlson's Follow Your Heart Series, but you do not need to read the first two books, Once Upon a Summertime and All Summer Long, since the stories do not build on each other.I received a copy of Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Kelly Bridgewater
    June 21, 2017
    Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson is a quick read with an interesting plot. From the first chapter, I was drawn into the story of Nicole as she finished up the school year as an art teacher and moved into the position of an art gallery manager. I enjoyed spending time with Nicole and watched as she took over the art gallery and tried to be a mother figure to Bernie, Alex's daughter. Alex and Ryan are the sons of the owner of the art gallery. While I haven't seen the plot done in another book Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson is a quick read with an interesting plot. From the first chapter, I was drawn into the story of Nicole as she finished up the school year as an art teacher and moved into the position of an art gallery manager. I enjoyed spending time with Nicole and watched as she took over the art gallery and tried to be a mother figure to Bernie, Alex's daughter. Alex and Ryan are the sons of the owner of the art gallery. While I haven't seen the plot done in another book, it did bring images of Jennifer Aniston working in the art gallery in The Break-up. The romance is downplayed a lot. Nicole does have two brothers trying to grab her attention, but I don't remember Nicole ever falling in love with one over the other and listening to her internal dialogue about her emotions. This wasn't a typical romance novel is that respect. I really enjoyed that to be honest. Sometimes in contemporary romances, the feelings can be up-played so the reader really understands the feelings of the characters. If you aren't a fan of deeply spiritual romance novels, but love to be swept away in a romance, than this might be the book for you. Carlson really doesn't lay on the spiritual elements. This would be a good book for fans of secular romance books. Overall, this was a quick read that I didn't mind spending a couple of hours with.I received a complimentary copy of Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson from Revell Publishing, and the opinions stated are all my own
    more
  • Kate
    June 17, 2017
    The beginning of this book was amazing. I've been struggling lately to get into books and this one was easy to enjoy. Melody Carlson is a well known author and her story of Southern Savannah was, well. smooth as butter. Sweet as sugar, etc. I really enjoyed meeting the characters and seeing their summer unfold... but as I got to the end of the book, there were a lot of unanswered questions and unsolved mysteries and I began to question: How will the author wrap everything up in 50? 20? 5 pages? The beginning of this book was amazing. I've been struggling lately to get into books and this one was easy to enjoy. Melody Carlson is a well known author and her story of Southern Savannah was, well. smooth as butter. Sweet as sugar, etc. I really enjoyed meeting the characters and seeing their summer unfold... but as I got to the end of the book, there were a lot of unanswered questions and unsolved mysteries and I began to question: How will the author wrap everything up in 50? 20? 5 pages? By the end of the book something changed. It felt rushed. If felt like the author was struggling to cram a 60 page ending in about 7 and because of that, there was something missing. I have enjoyed Melody Carlson's books in the past, and to be honest thoroughly enjoyed reading probably 80% of the book, I would give it a 5, but the ending was pretty crummy. (To clarify, not from a plot perspective but just the way that it was written).To me its odd that the ending was so weak because of how much she has written, surely she has editors and things to guide her, etc but perhaps she was rushed for a deadline. In any case, I think that I cant justify giving this book more than a 3.5 rating. It is a good book but I wouldn't give it to a friend.
    more
  • Haley
    June 17, 2017
    This is a great summer read. Literally. If you are looking for a cute, easy romance to read on a hot (or cold) summer day, you need to pick up this book. I am not joking.I am not really sure what to rate this book. It had its ups and its downs.I think the most annoying thing was the two brothers. I honestly don’t like it when there is one brother who is super nice and pretty much perfect. But, the other brother is totally the opposite. I mean, can’t there be a story where both brothers are cool This is a great summer read. Literally. If you are looking for a cute, easy romance to read on a hot (or cold) summer day, you need to pick up this book. I am not joking.I am not really sure what to rate this book. It had its ups and its downs.I think the most annoying thing was the two brothers. I honestly don’t like it when there is one brother who is super nice and pretty much perfect. But, the other brother is totally the opposite. I mean, can’t there be a story where both brothers are cool and the reader likes both of them. I like it when I don’t know who the main girl is going to end up with after reading the first three chapters.Anyway, enough of my ranting.As for the rest of the book, it was really sweet. I really hope that Melody writes another book in this series about some of the other characters in this book, but I am not sure if that will happen.The cover is really pretty. I am going to give it…3 stars. It sets the mood pretty much immediately for the story.As for the book, I am going to give it 4 stars. To anyone who is looking for a summer, sweet read, find this book at your local library or bookstore!Title: Under a Summer SkyAuthor: Melody CarlsonAuthor’s Website: http://www.melodycarlson.com/ I received this book from the Revell Division of the Baker Publishing Group for this review.This review is written in my own opinions and words.
    more
  • Kris
    June 10, 2017
    Melody Carlson is one of my long-time favorite authors and this was a great quick read. That being said, there were a few flaws in my opinion...I thought seemed as though Amyra's severe hostility & then 180° switch seemed unrealistic w/o outside prompting from another source. Nicole's sudden backbone in dealing w/ her also seemed to come out of nowhere for the amount of intimidation she initially felt in dealing w/ Amyra.Also, the interactions of the triangle between Ryan, Nicole and Alex se Melody Carlson is one of my long-time favorite authors and this was a great quick read. That being said, there were a few flaws in my opinion...I thought seemed as though Amyra's severe hostility & then 180° switch seemed unrealistic w/o outside prompting from another source. Nicole's sudden backbone in dealing w/ her also seemed to come out of nowhere for the amount of intimidation she initially felt in dealing w/ Amyra.Also, the interactions of the triangle between Ryan, Nicole and Alex seemed a little childish. Who knows that could just be that I'm no longer reading these books in my 20's.This actually didn't come to mind until reading another review, but it would have been nice if the book had been extended to include the return of the parents for nicely tied up ending.**Oh, and the editing geek in me just has to point out that on page 190 of the book when Nicole is musing about Ryan & Cassidy she says, "In fact, they hadn't even hugged." referring to Ryan & Cassidy's interaction the first time she met Cassidy. However, on pg.161 where Cassidy approaches Ryan and Nicole, it says, "She hugged him, then peered at Nicole."
    more
  • Just Commonly
    June 16, 2017
    Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson is very similar to the other books in the series, a light summer read that stands alone. It's charming in the fact that it brings readers on a trip, and provide a little comic relief with the fun-filled banter between the brothers, and with our main girl, Nicole. In this book, we journey to Savannah, Georgia, enjoying the lovely setting, and bringing us full on into summer mode.The romance was light-hearted, yet I think it tailors to a specific audience and t Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson is very similar to the other books in the series, a light summer read that stands alone. It's charming in the fact that it brings readers on a trip, and provide a little comic relief with the fun-filled banter between the brothers, and with our main girl, Nicole. In this book, we journey to Savannah, Georgia, enjoying the lovely setting, and bringing us full on into summer mode.The romance was light-hearted, yet I think it tailors to a specific audience and the subtle and not-so-subtle stereotypical references of southern Christian ladies can come off brash. However, it doesn't take away from the overall dynamic of the story, which really was sweet.This review first appeared on Just Commonly blog.Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author/publisher. I was not required to write a positive review, and have not been compensated for this. This is my honest opinion.
    more
  • It Starts with a Book
    June 12, 2017
    What a book! This book was really good and I liked it very much. Nicole was a great main character. There was only a few times I was angry at her but those were minor scenes. I liked one brother over the other. I don’t want to give any thing away but I was extremely happy when Nicole ended up with the brother I liked.There were a few down falls in this book but nothing major. For example, Nicole sometimes just left her work place during work hours to help customers look at other art galleries or What a book! This book was really good and I liked it very much. Nicole was a great main character. There was only a few times I was angry at her but those were minor scenes. I liked one brother over the other. I don’t want to give any thing away but I was extremely happy when Nicole ended up with the brother I liked.There were a few down falls in this book but nothing major. For example, Nicole sometimes just left her work place during work hours to help customers look at other art galleries or go to their houses to pick out paintings that would go with the house. That part had me cringing because I would never just get up and leave while I was on the job, getting paid. That was unrealistic to me. Other than those details, I liked the story.I would absolutely recommend this book, especially for a summer time read.Title: Under a Summer SkyAuthor: Melody CarlsonAuthor’s Website: http://www.melodycarlson.com/I received this book from the Revell Division of the Baker Publishing Group for this review.This review is written in my own words and is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Penny
    June 10, 2017
    Under the Summer Sky is a delightful story, filled with great characters. Nicole Anderson takes a risk for the summer. She's a brave soul to step into a situation on the opposite coast from where she lives. And her summer is anything but quiet. As soon as she arrives in Savannah, her life is turned upside down. But I love that she meets it head on. The teen she finds in the attic adds a different dimension to the story and shows Nicole's sweet, caring side. The disgruntled employee brings out Ni Under the Summer Sky is a delightful story, filled with great characters. Nicole Anderson takes a risk for the summer. She's a brave soul to step into a situation on the opposite coast from where she lives. And her summer is anything but quiet. As soon as she arrives in Savannah, her life is turned upside down. But I love that she meets it head on. The teen she finds in the attic adds a different dimension to the story and shows Nicole's sweet, caring side. The disgruntled employee brings out Nicole's smart side, and the brothers give her a chance to be the beautiful woman she's grown up to be. I enjoyed the setting in beautiful Savannah and the story Melody Carlson wove around Nicole's adventure. This is a perfect summer read—at the beach, by the pool, in your chair in the air conditioning. Melody Carlson is one of the best writers I've read. Nicole's story might just encourage you to find an adventure of your own.
    more
  • Rene
    June 16, 2017
    I have read several of Melody Carsons other books, and enjoyed them. Under a Summer Sky was no different! The story line will suck you in, and before you know it you will be finished! Although this book is the third of a series, it can definitely be read as a stand alone. The characters are well developed, and easily imagined! The story is set in beautiful Savannah, Georgia. I love the southern background and descriptions in the book. I've never visited Savannah before, but now I feel as though I have read several of Melody Carsons other books, and enjoyed them. Under a Summer Sky was no different! The story line will suck you in, and before you know it you will be finished! Although this book is the third of a series, it can definitely be read as a stand alone. The characters are well developed, and easily imagined! The story is set in beautiful Savannah, Georgia. I love the southern background and descriptions in the book. I've never visited Savannah before, but now I feel as though I could close my eyes and be there. This is considered a Christian fiction book. But to me, there was very little reference to faith and Christian values. I would say it's a great, clean contemporary romance book. I rate this book a 4/5 stars! I recommend this book to women who enjoy contemporary romance! I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review. All opinions expressed here are true and my own.
    more
  • JaneReads
    May 31, 2017
    Review can be found here.Nicole is expecting to spend her summer break from teaching painting, but an unexpected invite to manage an old family friend’s art gallery turns her world upside down. She suddenly finds herself travelling from Seattle to Savannah, learning the gallery world, dealing with a testy co-worker, reconnecting with brothers Alex & Ryan, and mentoring the teenage daughter of one of the brothers. She is definitely outside of her comfort zone. How will she handle the challeng Review can be found here.Nicole is expecting to spend her summer break from teaching painting, but an unexpected invite to manage an old family friend’s art gallery turns her world upside down. She suddenly finds herself travelling from Seattle to Savannah, learning the gallery world, dealing with a testy co-worker, reconnecting with brothers Alex & Ryan, and mentoring the teenage daughter of one of the brothers. She is definitely outside of her comfort zone. How will she handle the challenges that come her way and can she follow her heart?I thought a lot of expectations were placed on Nicole without much explanation, but she was a trooper and handled everything nicely. Nicole grew throughout the book, at the beginning she was letting people tell her what to do but by the end she was able to stand up for herself and go after what she wanted (while still being nice).As she is reconnecting with the two brothers, one she had crush on and one she thought was a nerd, she begins to see them in a different light than she did when she was younger. Feelings develop for one but nothing can happen because of current circumstances or are things really as they appear? This was an enjoyable read set in a beautiful town. There were moments of lighthearted entertainment and moments where I wanted to give some characters a shake. The teenage daughter definitely added some flare. There was one brother I liked so much more than the other. I especially enjoyed the scenes between Nicole and the brother I liked. The ending frustrated; as much as I was pleased with the way last scene played out I found the ending to be very abrupt. I would have liked to have more closure, such as what happens with Nicole and the gallery?
    more
  • Pascale
    June 11, 2017
    This was a lovely, sweet story. I could tell it was a Christian story by the tone of the writing, even though there wasn't anything overly religious written in it. I actually prefer Christian romances that have subtle tones, such as this one, rather than preachy overtones. The ending came on very suddenly and I did feel that was too bad as it was all leading up to a relationship but then it was over before anything developed. I felt it should have been a bit longer, or at least there should have This was a lovely, sweet story. I could tell it was a Christian story by the tone of the writing, even though there wasn't anything overly religious written in it. I actually prefer Christian romances that have subtle tones, such as this one, rather than preachy overtones. The ending came on very suddenly and I did feel that was too bad as it was all leading up to a relationship but then it was over before anything developed. I felt it should have been a bit longer, or at least there should have been an epilogue. There is no mention of the future, of the couple coming back from their cruise, nothing. It just ends. It is a stand-alone. I would rate this 4.5 stars. I did enjoy it very much as I read it and I would recommend it.
    more
  • Ashley
    June 12, 2017
    When I saw this book was by Melody Carlson, I knew I needed to adjust my expectations. Unlike a lot of the authors I regularly read, her books tend to be a "lighter" read. And while it was definitely a lighter read, it was more substantial and enjoyable than I'd anticipated. The characters felt like they were real people - they had depth and wee relatable. The circumstances they found themselves in seemed believable. My one "complaint" is that the characters who professed faith were almost apolo When I saw this book was by Melody Carlson, I knew I needed to adjust my expectations. Unlike a lot of the authors I regularly read, her books tend to be a "lighter" read. And while it was definitely a lighter read, it was more substantial and enjoyable than I'd anticipated. The characters felt like they were real people - they had depth and wee relatable. The circumstances they found themselves in seemed believable. My one "complaint" is that the characters who professed faith were almost apologetic about their faith - as if they felt they needed to defend the fact that they wanted to pause and pray before a meal. Overall, though, I enjoyed the story and would recommend it as a good beach read this summer.
    more
  • Nikki
    May 8, 2017
    Nicole an art teacher house sits and manages the art gallery of a family friend for the summer. Growing up with and vacationing with the sons Ryan and Alex, she had a crush on one while thought the other was a nerd. All grown up after not seeing each other for a few years she soon has a change of heart about both. All this while dealing with the teenage daughter of one of the brothers and a difficult co-worker at the gallery. I spent a summer in Savannah a few years ago and I love the imagery an Nicole an art teacher house sits and manages the art gallery of a family friend for the summer. Growing up with and vacationing with the sons Ryan and Alex, she had a crush on one while thought the other was a nerd. All grown up after not seeing each other for a few years she soon has a change of heart about both. All this while dealing with the teenage daughter of one of the brothers and a difficult co-worker at the gallery. I spent a summer in Savannah a few years ago and I love the imagery and places that I recognized.I would classify this as a beachy read. I liked the book but found that it ended abruptly. The goal was arrived at,the end. I received this book free from NetGalley and Revell for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Amy
    May 25, 2017
    Under A Summer Sky: A Savannah Romance is book three from Melody Carlson's Follow Your Heart series. Nicole Anderson is hoping to have a relaxing summer in the beautiful southern town of Savannah, Georgia. She stays in a home full of luxury and charm and takes a job at a local gallery. She quickly realizes the relaxation turns to stress! Unwelcome guests, bullies, two brothers wanting her attention, and even ghosts. What else could happen?I liked Under A Summer Sky. I definitely enjoyed the sett Under A Summer Sky: A Savannah Romance is book three from Melody Carlson's Follow Your Heart series. Nicole Anderson is hoping to have a relaxing summer in the beautiful southern town of Savannah, Georgia. She stays in a home full of luxury and charm and takes a job at a local gallery. She quickly realizes the relaxation turns to stress! Unwelcome guests, bullies, two brothers wanting her attention, and even ghosts. What else could happen?I liked Under A Summer Sky. I definitely enjoyed the setting and thought Melody Carlson's descriptions of the city were perfect and vivid. The plot and twists were great and I was not sure what I would find on the next page.I thought the book to be a good, clean, and fun read and enjoyed it. I would give it four stars.
    more
  • Sarah
    June 17, 2017
    I really love books by Melody Carlson. I usually have high recommendations, but I struggled to connect with this book. The characters did not grab me and I felt that the storyline was unrealistic. I wasn't in love with the Ghost situations at the museum and I just couldn't get into the book, nor stay in the book. I think this book may speak to other readers, but it wasn't my cup of tea. I do recommend many of Melody Carlson's books, especially The Christmas Joy Ride but this wasn't it for me. I I really love books by Melody Carlson. I usually have high recommendations, but I struggled to connect with this book. The characters did not grab me and I felt that the storyline was unrealistic. I wasn't in love with the Ghost situations at the museum and I just couldn't get into the book, nor stay in the book. I think this book may speak to other readers, but it wasn't my cup of tea. I do recommend many of Melody Carlson's books, especially The Christmas Joy Ride but this wasn't it for me. I give this book 3/5 stars. Thank you to the publisher for providing me a complimentary copy. All reviews and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Michelle Castaneda
    June 6, 2017
    Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson is the story of Art Teacher Nicole Anderson. Nicole is still reeling from a painful breakup when her mom volunteers her services to help run an art gallery in Savannah. There, she reunites with a childhood crush and his brother, and conflicting feelings soon appear. I have long been a fan of Melody Carlson and I really enjoyed this book. It is a fun, light read that is perfect for the beach at summertime. It is great if you need a feel good read. I received a Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson is the story of Art Teacher Nicole Anderson. Nicole is still reeling from a painful breakup when her mom volunteers her services to help run an art gallery in Savannah. There, she reunites with a childhood crush and his brother, and conflicting feelings soon appear. I have long been a fan of Melody Carlson and I really enjoyed this book. It is a fun, light read that is perfect for the beach at summertime. It is great if you need a feel good read. I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Natasha Polak
    June 20, 2017
    As usual, Melody Carlson has a way of drawing me in to find out what happens to her cast of characters! With a very vivid description of life in Savannah, her latest novel was just the type of quick read I was looking for without it being too cheesy. Although it took a bit to get the story moving, overall I loved it!
    more
Write a review