Heart on the Line (Ladies of Harper’s Station, #2)
Grace Mallory is tired of running, of hiding. But when an old friend sends an after-hours telegraph transmission warning Grace that the man who has hunted her for nearly a year has discovered her location, she fears she has no choice. She can't let the villain she believes responsible for her father's death release his wrath in Harper's Station, the town that has sheltered her and blessed her with the dearest friends she's ever known. Amos Bledsoe prefers bicycles to horses and private conversations over the telegraph wire to social gatherings with young ladies who see him as nothing more than an oddity. His telegraph companion, the mysterious Miss G, listens eagerly to his ramblings every night and delights him with tales all her own. For months, their friendship--dare he believe, courtship?--has fed his hope that he has finally found the woman God intended for him. Yet when he takes the next step to meet her in person, he discovers her life is in peril, and Amos must decide if he can shed the cocoon of his quiet nature to become the hero Grace requires.

Heart on the Line (Ladies of Harper’s Station, #2) Details

TitleHeart on the Line (Ladies of Harper’s Station, #2)
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherBethany House Publishers
ISBN0764212826
ISBN-139780764212826
Rating
GenreHistorical, Christian Fiction, Christian, Romance

Heart on the Line (Ladies of Harper’s Station, #2) Review

  • Amy
    March 23, 2017
    4.5 stars! Online dating meets 1890s Texas in this charming, spiritually deep, laugh-out-loud funny romance! For a while, it looked like someone may have finally toppled Levi Grant from his pedestal as my favorite Karen Witemeyer hero of all time -- I LOVED Amos Bledsoe! Atypical heroes are so swoonworthy for me! Alas, Levi's throne is still secure, but this was still a wonderful read! My full review will be posted on my website closer to the release date.
    more
  • Alyssa
    October 12, 2016
    What can I say, Karen Witemeyer is the Queen of Christian Western Fiction!!!
  • Tori
    April 1, 2017
    There's a reason I pre-order all books, unread, written by Karen Witemeyer. I have yet to read a book by her that I didn't thoroughly enjoy!! I've read No Other Will Do and the novella, Worth the Wait, both featured in the female-run town, Harper Station. This was the 2nd full length novel set in the same town. The ladies of Harper Station each have their own story of why they have searched out an all-gal town. Grace is no different. She has been in hiding since her father was murdered right in There's a reason I pre-order all books, unread, written by Karen Witemeyer. I have yet to read a book by her that I didn't thoroughly enjoy!! I've read No Other Will Do and the novella, Worth the Wait, both featured in the female-run town, Harper Station. This was the 2nd full length novel set in the same town. The ladies of Harper Station each have their own story of why they have searched out an all-gal town. Grace is no different. She has been in hiding since her father was murdered right in front of her. She works as the telegraph operator in Harper Station, where she has made some amazing friends. She has one chat friend, Amos, who she has never met in person, but has grown to know and admire via telegraph. (Picture "online dating" 1800's style...)When those who have been tracking Grace find where she's been hiding, Amos drops everything to come to her rescue. Y'all, Amos is the cutest. He's not the tough, burly, hot ranchhand or lawman. He's not a big guy, not real athletic, but what he lacks in brawn, he makes up for in heart. Grace, she was brave and feisty. I admired her fight!This book has it all: romance, mystery, wit... We also get to see Emma and Malachi, Tori and Ben, and all the ladies of Harper Station we've grown to love!! Even Helen- the biggest anti-man woman in town, does her best to help the opposite sex. <3 So, my advice to you is to pre-order this book as well. Your personal library needs it. :)
    more
  • Madison
    April 10, 2017
    Heart on the Line features a long-distance, technology-assisted romance. Yes, this is still a historical romance, with a touch of drama and excitement, set in the charming women's colony of Harper's Station. Grace Mallory has found refuge at Harper's Station. The murder of her father sent her into hiding, running from the man who wishes to silence her and retrieve the documents Grace's father secreted away. When Grace is warned by a friend over the telegraph wires that danger is heading her way Heart on the Line features a long-distance, technology-assisted romance. Yes, this is still a historical romance, with a touch of drama and excitement, set in the charming women's colony of Harper's Station. Grace Mallory has found refuge at Harper's Station. The murder of her father sent her into hiding, running from the man who wishes to silence her and retrieve the documents Grace's father secreted away. When Grace is warned by a friend over the telegraph wires that danger is heading her way she knows she must prepare. Amos Bledsoe has long been intrigued by the telegraph operator Miss G. When he overhears her issued a dire warning he races to her aid. The time together might give him a chance to propose a courtship, if they can outwit Grace's pursuer. It was an absolute pleasure to return to the wonderful world Karen Witemeyer has created. Harper's Station and it's colourful inhabitants are quickly become fondly familiar. There is never a dull moment. Karen Witemeyer is wonderfully gifted at writing charming romance - heart-pounding and perfectly suited to the historical setting. Even before meeting Grace, Amos is quite smitten. And then, when he does meet her, he promptly falls head over heels. Grace is a little more reserved with her ardour (hard not to be), and takes the time to assess Amos, his character and motivation. He is not what she first expected, but he slowly proves himself to her. But it was Helen's story that captured my heart. At first I was a little unsure about what role she would play in this book. She is another resident of Harper's Station and hates the sudden influx of males. But slowly we learn more about the reasons she so distrusts men, and then she is thrust into a situation where her views are challenged. Helen's story became a pivotal aspect of the novel for me and a charming addition to Grace and Amos' story. But romance isn't the only attraction of this book. The author deftly weaves in a good dose of action and drama. The women are all strong and vibrant characters, as are the men who fall for them. I am greatly enjoying this series and can't wait to read the next instalment.The publishers provided an advanced readers copy of this book for reviewing purposes. All opinions are my own.Find more reviews, reading age guides, content advisory, and recommendations on my blog Madison's Library.
    more
  • Coffee&Books
    February 10, 2017
  • Kathleen (Kat) Smith
    April 24, 2017
    Imagine a town run completely by women! Welcome to Harper's Station, where it used to be a town ran only by women, but with the change in the times and of course the very threats that can come to the women living there, marriages have now brought men to town. With every man being held under close scrutiny, they aren't ready to allow just anyone to settle in town. Grace Mallory is the town's telegraph operator and newest member in town. In addition to her duties at the telegraph office, she spend Imagine a town run completely by women! Welcome to Harper's Station, where it used to be a town ran only by women, but with the change in the times and of course the very threats that can come to the women living there, marriages have now brought men to town. With every man being held under close scrutiny, they aren't ready to allow just anyone to settle in town. Grace Mallory is the town's telegraph operator and newest member in town. In addition to her duties at the telegraph office, she spends her late nights conversing with someone known only as "A" in Denison, a small town a few miles from Harper Station. They have gotten to know one another when all the other operators have called it a night and soon more than just friendship blossoms. Just when it seems like love has finally found a way into her heart, she receives a message she hoped would never come. "He knows where you are. Coming for you. Sorry." Grace now believes that Chauncer Haversham, a wealthy businessman she believes is responsible for the murder of her father, is now coming after her for whatever proof her father left her that would put his inheritance at risk if it is proven there is another heir. Only Grace isn't sure what proof her father has left her, only that it is placing everyone she loves at risk. Now she must run again, because the last thing she wants on her hands is the blood of another innocent person because of her.Amos Bledsoe had given up hope of ever finding a suitable match for him. It seems that the only women in town that are interested in him are too old, or simply looking for a man to provide a living for them, but Amos wants to marry for love. He believes he has found that in G from Harper Station and lately their late night conversations have gotten more personal. They have so much in common and through the months of talking with one another, he believes he has found the one God has placed in his life. Until he reads the message to G that threatens to send her running away. Can he reach her in time before she runs out of his life without even knowing her name? I received Heart on the Line by Karen Witemeyer compliments of Bethany House Publishers and Net Galley. This is the second novel in the Ladies of Harper Station series with To Wager Her Heart being the first one. I absolutely love the women characters that Karen creates, because their is a level of raw beauty, a willingness to go against the odds placed on women of the day, and a passion with a heart of God tucked inside that keeps them vulnerable. There is always some much needed laughter woven in between to keep the story interesting and the reader engaged until the very end. I love the ladies in Harper Station because they are not about to let one of their own being run out of town by the prospect of a man coming after Grace, but will they make the mistake of thinking Amos is the man coming after her and let their guard up without realizing it? Just have to pick this one up and find out how it all works out. I easily give this one a 5 out of 5 stars in my opinion.
    more
  • JoJo
    April 25, 2017
    4.5/5Grace Mallory, a telegraph operator has found a safe haven in Harper’s Station, a colony run by women. After the murder of her father she’s sent into hiding to preserve the documents her father risked his life to save, and hide from the man who wants to make those documents disappear. When her life is in danger she must prepare to keep everyone in the town safe. Amos Bledsoe, a fellow telegraph operator strikes up a friendship with Grace through the wire. When he finds out that her life is 4.5/5Grace Mallory, a telegraph operator has found a safe haven in Harper’s Station, a colony run by women. After the murder of her father she’s sent into hiding to preserve the documents her father risked his life to save, and hide from the man who wants to make those documents disappear. When her life is in danger she must prepare to keep everyone in the town safe. Amos Bledsoe, a fellow telegraph operator strikes up a friendship with Grace through the wire. When he finds out that her life is in danger he’ll stop at nothing to help her. Will a long distance friendship turn into something more? If you take online dating and put it in 1890’s Texas you’ll get the story of Grace and Amos. They never met in person but they were slowly falling for each other. Both were insecure about meeting in real life wondering if their appearance would satisfy their imagination. The thing I liked most about the romance is that it wasn’t based on physical attraction, it was based on actually getting to know a person based on their intellect and personality. Helen’s story captured my heart. She is a tough women who doesn’t trust men but when she found a wounded man she put her prejudices aside and did everything in her power to help him. I really enjoyed this book. I liked reading about a colony run by women. The inhabitants of Harper’s Station are such wonderful, strong, inspiring women.The men who fall for them compliment their personalities and support them in any way possible. Karen Witemeyer is the queen of Christian Historical Fiction in a Western setting. The way the author intricately describes her characters makes you feel as if you can look into their souls. The character development is wonderful because it shows how a person changes when they put God at the centre of their lives. This book has a great dose of romance, friendship and action to keep you on your toes and enjoying the ride the whole way through. I would recommend all of Karen Witemeyer books to anyone who loves a historical fiction and romance novels. I received an ARC of this book by the publisher via NetGallery.
    more
  • Sarah
    April 8, 2017
    I always enjoy Karen Witemeyer books. She draws characters very well! I loved Amos the noble geekcharming and Grace was the shy but strong cutie to match him. The charming yet sinister bad guy was really easy to dislike. I admit I cringed at the treatment he was willing to dish out. It just is so hard to believe people can be that evil, but we know they can. Grace was a very faithful lady and had such strength to deal with her situation and the events that proceed. I adored the women Harper Sta I always enjoy Karen Witemeyer books. She draws characters very well! I loved Amos the noble geekcharming and Grace was the shy but strong cutie to match him. The charming yet sinister bad guy was really easy to dislike. I admit I cringed at the treatment he was willing to dish out. It just is so hard to believe people can be that evil, but we know they can. Grace was a very faithful lady and had such strength to deal with her situation and the events that proceed. I adored the women Harper Station even though this was my first introduction to them. I haven't read the first book yet. (I plan on getting my hands on that one soon!). I apreciated the healing that comes with the seconary love story that was progressing as the story unfolds.Another great book from a favorite author!
    more
  • Lisa
    April 23, 2017
    This was really a cute Christian, western romance. Grace and Amos independently feel that together they might make a perfect pair. That inkling is tried and tested when danger descends upon them. As they deal with each challenge that comes at them their true colors are shown. Karen Witemeyer infuses Heart On the Line with her delightful charm. And I love how naturally she includes and applies references to faith in God and shows how His word can be applied in the challenges that come. Well, this This was really a cute Christian, western romance. Grace and Amos independently feel that together they might make a perfect pair. That inkling is tried and tested when danger descends upon them. As they deal with each challenge that comes at them their true colors are shown. Karen Witemeyer infuses Heart On the Line with her delightful charm. And I love how naturally she includes and applies references to faith in God and shows how His word can be applied in the challenges that come. Well, this certainly means another visit to Harper's Station for book three.
    more
Write a review