Wilde Like Me
Meet Robin Wilde! You'll make a friend for life and she'll take you on a journey you'll never forget ...Single mum Robin Wilde adores her six-year-old daughter and loves her job as a make up artist's assistant. She has a wonderful best friend and an auntie who is bonkers, yes, but loves her to the moon and back. But Robin has a secret. Behind the mask she carefully applies every day, things just feel ... grey. And lonely. She struggles to fit in with the school mum crew. Online dating is totally despair-inducing, and she worries every day about raising her little girl with self-confidence, courage and joy.What Robin longs for is someone (over the age of six) to share with - someone who's always on her team. After 4 years (2 months, and 15 days!) of single-mum-dom, it's time for Robin Wilde to Change. Her. Life. Exciting new opportunities are about to come Robin's way ... Perhaps a man, perhaps the chance of a lifetime ...What will Robin do with the possibilities she creates for herself? And what potential will she unlock if she takes the leap?

Wilde Like Me Details

TitleWilde Like Me
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 29th, 2017
PublisherBonnier Zaffre
ISBN1785762931
ISBN-139781785762932
Number of pages400 pages
Rating
GenreWomens Fiction, Chick Lit, Fiction, Contemporary, Romance

Wilde Like Me Review

  • Janay Brazier
    June 24, 2017
    I can't remember the last time a book made me laugh like this. If you know Louise or watch her YouTube channels then you will spot her personality coming through the pages of this debut novel. Louise is already planning book two as well. It was a fun, easy read and it's a book that would be great to read during the summer as a holiday read.
    more
  • Hayley Noble
    July 6, 2017
    I'm not really one for youtuber books, I read Zoella's debut novel and it was enough to put me off, however I really love watching Louise, and did find her passion for her book infectious!I want to start by saying how pleasantly surprised I was with this book! Don't get me wrong, it was not without mistakes - which did irritate me. I understand its a first novel, mistakes are made, etc. However, its not like Louise went down the same path as other first time authors, and considering she must hav I'm not really one for youtuber books, I read Zoella's debut novel and it was enough to put me off, however I really love watching Louise, and did find her passion for her book infectious!I want to start by saying how pleasantly surprised I was with this book! Don't get me wrong, it was not without mistakes - which did irritate me. I understand its a first novel, mistakes are made, etc. However, its not like Louise went down the same path as other first time authors, and considering she must have known she would be judged quite harshly, given the feeling towards youtubers and their book deals, I think simple mistakes could have easily been rectified and saved her a fair bit of criticism. The writing did feel a bit clunky in places, again nothing too major, just slightly irritating, especially considering she has self confessed how much help she had with editing and sorting out the story arc. Despite those small criticisms, I really did enjoy the book, I do like a chic lit to get lost in every now and then, and you could easily get lost in the story. Its not something I couldn't put down but I did really look forward to reading it. I wasn't 100% sold on the Robin Wilde character, I didn't hate her like some other reviewers, but I did find her self centered and annoying at times, but saying that, she is also very relatable. I found her feelings on motherhood very relatable too, even though I am happily married, those thoughts of failure and just wanting you child to be happy are something I think every Mother could reside with. This really is a good little read, with some true laugh out loud moments, it all very 'Sophie Kinsella' but it does work. Its not something I would rush off to tell my friends about, but defiantly fits into the beach read genre. Overall, if I was Louise, I would feel really proud of myself. Do I feel like she got an easy ride to author hood as a youtuber? Of course I do, she even admitted it herself, but I have certainly read some chic lits that were a lot worse than this, and I do think it would have been published in its own right.
    more
  • Laura
    June 24, 2017
    Book reviews on www.snazzybooks.com Wilde Like Me is a fun, light-hearted read. It follows Robin Wilde, mum of six year Lyla who's life, in her eyes anyway, is a bit of a mess. She's trying to juggle being a single mum and desperately trying to live up to the perfect examples the other mums at her daughter's school seem to set, whilst feeling pretty lonely at times.The story itself is easy to read and, at times, really funny. There were parts that really made me laugh, and parts that were a litt Book reviews on www.snazzybooks.com Wilde Like Me is a fun, light-hearted read. It follows Robin Wilde, mum of six year Lyla who's life, in her eyes anyway, is a bit of a mess. She's trying to juggle being a single mum and desperately trying to live up to the perfect examples the other mums at her daughter's school seem to set, whilst feeling pretty lonely at times.The story itself is easy to read and, at times, really funny. There were parts that really made me laugh, and parts that were a little more serious. The novel focuses a lot on main character Robin's emotions, which can often be quite up and down, and I liked that these emotions were not something to be excused or apologised for. However I wasn't sure that Robin's mental health was just due to her being lonely without a man in her life; this felt a bit too 'simple', and Robin was also so preoccupied with worrying that Lyla might be negatively affected because she's is a single mum which is a shame. I suppose that's what Robin feels is the opinions of society and I'm sure many other people sadly feel  this pressure too (I don't have any kids so I guess I can't comment on this), but it feels a bit outdated.Enough about the more serious parts - most of the novel is pretty light-hearted and humorous. Some of the story is unapologetic fluffy, and sometimes that's just what you feel like reading! Louise Pentland definitely has a knack for writing witty occurrences in an engaging way. There are some great situation that Robin gets herself into which really amused me, though sometimes she is far too hard on herself - she IS doing a great job as a mum, though she can be a bit annoying sometimes!I lost interest a bit in some of the story in the second half, but overall I feel that it's a fun read which I enjoyed, and I think this will be a popular read.Many thanks to Readers First for providing a copy of this novel on which I chose to write an honest and unbiased review.
    more
  • Vanessa
    July 13, 2017
    I love Louise. I do. I think she's refreshing, honest and relatable as a Blogger/YouTuber. But when it comes to being an author, I think she's still got some way to go.My main problem was that the character of Robin just wasn't someone I'd easily warm up to. The constant self-pitying and self-deprecating really grated my nerves. Robin had lovely, supportive friends, a loving aunt and an amazing daughter and while I understand that most people long for a partner, I just felt like Robin took it to I love Louise. I do. I think she's refreshing, honest and relatable as a Blogger/YouTuber. But when it comes to being an author, I think she's still got some way to go.My main problem was that the character of Robin just wasn't someone I'd easily warm up to. The constant self-pitying and self-deprecating really grated my nerves. Robin had lovely, supportive friends, a loving aunt and an amazing daughter and while I understand that most people long for a partner, I just felt like Robin took it too far with her "I'm nothing without a man by my side" attitude. It got a bit better in the last third of the book but the constant referencing to The Emptiness was a bit much - I feel like this was more a hint at the fact Robin was suffering from depression and should have gone to therapy for that, not that she needed a "nice man" to fix "The Emptiness". Meh.
    more
  • Louise Lavery
    July 6, 2017
    Ahh, I had pre-ordered this and was so so excited when it arrived! I absolutely love Louise and just knew it would be a great read. It was so so funny at parts and I laughed out loud quite a few times!Such a heart warming read and actually made me feel so so good. The ending is absolutely perfect because it's so realistic. I can't wait until we meet again Robin Wilde!
    more
  • Kate
    June 29, 2017
    I was drawn to this book by the intriguing description, just by reading this I found myself wanting to find out which direction Robin's courage would take her. She sounded like such a relatable character and I couldn't wait to find out if that would be the case.The prologue was smiley and left me with a couple of thoughts - who is this perfect man and can he teach my husband how to do romance 😏.As the story continued I was introduced to Auntie Kath (a loveable whirlwind of a woman), Robin's daug I was drawn to this book by the intriguing description, just by reading this I found myself wanting to find out which direction Robin's courage would take her. She sounded like such a relatable character and I couldn't wait to find out if that would be the case.The prologue was smiley and left me with a couple of thoughts - who is this perfect man and can he teach my husband how to do romance 😏.As the story continued I was introduced to Auntie Kath (a loveable whirlwind of a woman), Robin's daughter Lyla (a fun and intelligent little girl) and Lacey (a super supportive best friend ). Who else would I meet along the way?I was definitely right about Robin being a relatable character, she had all the normal parenting concerns, many of which I couldn't help but nod my head in agreement at. The emptiness was highlighted and described beautifully, it really touched a part of me that sometimes feels the same way. It's always good to know that you're not the only one feeling a certain way, particularly when it involves your children.As I progressed further through the book I became more and more inspired by the blossoming character in front of me, I lost count of the number of times I gave Robin an imaginary fist-bump in my mind!The author's writing style was so natural, it was humorous but also incredibly insightful and it left me wanting more - I really hope to read more from Louise in the future.Wilde Like Me was a wonderfully honest tale of motherhood in all it's glory with a touch of inspiration thrown in for good measure. An absolute joy to read!
    more
  • Angela
    July 10, 2017
    This book was written by well known YouTube "guru" Louise Pentland. After all the hype about it, I was looking forward to reading it. However, I did have a few issues with it. Firstly, it was badly edited, with quite a few mistakes. Not sure if it was due to needing to get the book out quickly that they failed to go over it with a fine toothed comb, but the editing was very poor. Secondly, although Louise Pentland states that this isn't an autobiographical account of her own life, I couldn't hel This book was written by well known YouTube "guru" Louise Pentland. After all the hype about it, I was looking forward to reading it. However, I did have a few issues with it. Firstly, it was badly edited, with quite a few mistakes. Not sure if it was due to needing to get the book out quickly that they failed to go over it with a fine toothed comb, but the editing was very poor. Secondly, although Louise Pentland states that this isn't an autobiographical account of her own life, I couldn't help but hear her voice whilst reading. I think she failed in separating the Robin Wilde character from herself, and drew too much from her own life and past to make it Robin's life. Robin to me, was Louise, but with a different name. Thirdly, I cringed throughout as Robin was trying to portray a kick ass single mother, but deep down she was one of those women who always needs a man in her life to feel validated and whole, so I feel that contradicted the whole kick ass single mother thing. Finally, the over use of the word "bloody". Once or twice no problem, but the amount of times it was used throughout was overkill. There are other words she could have chosen. If I don't bloody hear that bloody word again in my life I will bloody well be happy! Overall it was a light and fluffy read, leaning more toward the amateur scale than a seasoned pro. I'm not sure I will bother with reading any new installments of Robin's life, is probably quicker to watch a 12 min video by Louise to know what happens next with Robin as it so closely mimicked her own life.
    more
  • Stacie Fields
    July 5, 2017
    I really enjoy Louise's you tube channels and was so looking forward to this book I preordered it from Amazon. I found this book tedious, trite and poorly written. The plot is weak and not much happened which would be fine if it was well written and you could just enjoy the prose. I think Louise has been let down by the editors. I think the book would have been a better read if it was more concise and didn't have so many brackets everywhere. Most of the time it was to explain things that didn't I really enjoy Louise's you tube channels and was so looking forward to this book I preordered it from Amazon. I found this book tedious, trite and poorly written. The plot is weak and not much happened which would be fine if it was well written and you could just enjoy the prose. I think Louise has been let down by the editors. I think the book would have been a better read if it was more concise and didn't have so many brackets everywhere. Most of the time it was to explain things that didn't need explanation and made it feel clunky to read. I hate read it to the end so I could review it as Louise gas been asking people to review it. Also why call a book about a selfish, jealous woman Wilde Like Me? She wasn't wild. Another thing that annoyed me were some of the conversations and internal monologue in the book. They kind of felt like paragraphs from a self help book but you were supposed to be realisations she had just come up with. The book felt quite anti-feminist as she judged and moans about all the women in her life - even when she complimented them it was kind of bitterly. I think it was written like a blog post and that chatty style works in a blog as it is only going to take 10 minutes or so to read but I don't think this style is suitable for a novel. I also think this reads as though the author doesn't actually read much fiction. I've grown tired of 'chick lit' in the last year or so but have read enough to know good women's fiction and this is not it. There are books which are equally plot less or equally formulaic but are nevertheless entertaining and well written but this book is not.My advice is download the kindle sample before you buy to see if you get on with the way it is written. Maybe you will find it okay.
    more
  • Simona
    July 10, 2017
    I discovered Louise on YouTube about 2 years ago, when I started following some bloggers on there. I watched her videos from time to time, especially when her daughter was in them. Louise is very funny, bubbly and fresh, so when I heard she was publishing a fiction book, I got really curious.The story follows Robin Wilde, who is a single mum to 6-year-old Lyla and she works part time as a make-up artist. She is longing for a relationship and really knows what she wants. It’s not so easy however, I discovered Louise on YouTube about 2 years ago, when I started following some bloggers on there. I watched her videos from time to time, especially when her daughter was in them. Louise is very funny, bubbly and fresh, so when I heard she was publishing a fiction book, I got really curious.The story follows Robin Wilde, who is a single mum to 6-year-old Lyla and she works part time as a make-up artist. She is longing for a relationship and really knows what she wants. It’s not so easy however, to find a man like this. She also wants to be successful in her job and be more than just an assistant. She struggles to fit in with the other school mums, but she has a great best friend and aunt, who are always there for her. A great opportunity comes up and I really liked going on that journey with Robin.Louise Pentland’s writing is very natural, funny and light-hearted. I struggled with the structure of the book, the pace of the storyline didn’t make sense for me and I even lost interest at times. The interest always came back though and I was really routing for Robin. That’s probably also why I was a bit disappointed in the ending, it was not a round ending, something was missing. There will be a second book though, right?! The depth was missing for me, which is a shame, but I still enjoyed the story.It was lovely to spot Louise’s personality come through the writing, I even felt like she was there narrating the whole thing!Rating: 3.5/5
    more
  • Emma
    July 5, 2017
    This was a typical chick-lit style book featuring Robin Wilde, a 20 something year old woman stuck in a rut in her life and looking for a way out. A single mother to her daughter Lyla, she was feeling more and more out of place as her daughter grew and she had more time to herself. With a push from family and friends, she throws herself further into her career as a make-up artist's assistant and begins looking for a man to share her life with.There was nothing particularly new here but there wer This was a typical chick-lit style book featuring Robin Wilde, a 20 something year old woman stuck in a rut in her life and looking for a way out. A single mother to her daughter Lyla, she was feeling more and more out of place as her daughter grew and she had more time to herself. With a push from family and friends, she throws herself further into her career as a make-up artist's assistant and begins looking for a man to share her life with.There was nothing particularly new here but there were some suggestions of more interesting themes such as mental health awareness, sex positivity and the loneliness brought about by weaker friend and family ties, but I felt like none were explored in enough detail to particularly draw attention to this book away from other novels of a similar genre. Most of these themes were rushed or left without a real conclusion by the end of the novel, though I was interested in them being brought up and would read a potential sequel to see if more would be done with these issues.A final issue is with the writing style. As someone who has watched some of the author's vlogs and other videos, it did feel (unfortunately) quite like a self-insert. The character and the author share a lot in common and the writing style felt like a transplant of the author's recording style in her videos. While I like this style in short segments, it felt a bit much in a longer-length narrative and also made me feel like the character wasn't too well explored or developed. It took away from some of the potential humour of the situation, though I felt the interesting supporting characters did help with this. All in all, it was a good read if you are a fan of chick-lit and similar genres, and I hope that a second book will be released to tie up loose ends.
    more
  • Marie H
    July 15, 2017
    Everything in this book was a little too similar to Louise's real life, which could be a blessing and a curse, but it was mostly just a curse. I pictured Robyn as being Louise the whole time. Perhaps if I wasn't familiar with Louise's life, it would seem a little more fresh. I was disappointed that the set up and characters were so closely paralleled, because it came across quite unoriginal, and not a new, fictitious world that I could get lost in.The writing style struck me as being very inform Everything in this book was a little too similar to Louise's real life, which could be a blessing and a curse, but it was mostly just a curse. I pictured Robyn as being Louise the whole time. Perhaps if I wasn't familiar with Louise's life, it would seem a little more fresh. I was disappointed that the set up and characters were so closely paralleled, because it came across quite unoriginal, and not a new, fictitious world that I could get lost in.The writing style struck me as being very informal- far too informal. It was written like a blogpost, and it took a while to get used to. Like others have said, it just didn't flow. At one point, Louise wrote something was 'good af' which in my opinion, is simply too informal to put into a book! A respectable book, at least. It was, however, a light and easy read. I found the last few pages to be quite sweet. Some of the heavier themes, such as infertility or abuse, were brushed over very lightly and were not explored deeply enough. The book was a bit too long. I found that I took weeks to read it, because it was getting a bit boring, as not a lot was happening. If it was a bit more concisely written, that may have helped. I was a bit disappointed overall. I expected the writing quality to be better, and for the characters and events to be a bit more 'fresh,' rather than mirror images of Louise's actual life.
    more
  • Lucy
    July 13, 2017
    Absolutely amazing! And I don't just say that because I am a fan of Louise already. This really is a fantastic read, it's just so real and makes you laugh and cry along with Robin Wilde! Can't wait for the sequel!
  • Ellie
    July 20, 2017
    Full review on my blog: https://booksthatbloom.wordpress.com/...Honestly, I read this book out of curiosity rather than anything else. I watch Louise's videos and follow her blog so was interested to see how her writing style differed to her blogging style but unfortunately, it didn't. The narrative voice felt very informal, of course, this is a fairly light book but her use of words such as "bants" made me cringe. Louise has insisted that this is not an autobiographical book but I found it very Full review on my blog: https://booksthatbloom.wordpress.com/...Honestly, I read this book out of curiosity rather than anything else. I watch Louise's videos and follow her blog so was interested to see how her writing style differed to her blogging style but unfortunately, it didn't. The narrative voice felt very informal, of course, this is a fairly light book but her use of words such as "bants" made me cringe. Louise has insisted that this is not an autobiographical book but I found it very hard to separate 'Robin Wilde' from Louise Pentland - perhaps if I wasn't aware of her before hand this wouldn't be a problem.
    more
  • Meghan-Alice
    July 5, 2017
    well that was a struggle. is that one star because i love louise? 100% would i give it zero if i could/didn't love louise? 100%
  • Lizzy Seitz
    July 22, 2017
    4.25 out of 5 starsThis book reminded me of Sophie Kinsella's books, which is a great thing because I love all of the books of hers that I've read. First off, Louise is a sweetheart. When I met her back in 2015 we had a couple moments that mean so much to me which lead me to be so excited when she announced this book because it was 100% up my alley and I enjoyed it! I love the characters, especially Lyla (she made my heart smile so much) although I kept picturing her as Darcy and so every now an 4.25 out of 5 starsThis book reminded me of Sophie Kinsella's books, which is a great thing because I love all of the books of hers that I've read. First off, Louise is a sweetheart. When I met her back in 2015 we had a couple moments that mean so much to me which lead me to be so excited when she announced this book because it was 100% up my alley and I enjoyed it! I love the characters, especially Lyla (she made my heart smile so much) although I kept picturing her as Darcy and so every now and then it would be mentioned that she has dark hair and I was like oh yeahhhhh. Also from reading Life With A Sprinkle Of Glitter, I knew Louise is an amazing writer and it definitely showed in this book!The only negative thing I have to say is a small thing but means a lot to me. During the scene with Piper and Robin out for drinks at Sugar Factory there's a line about how Robin is enjoying the drinks but couldn't do this all the time because otherwise she would get.... diabetes. The moment I read that sentence I had to put the book down and step back for a moment. I am a type one Diabetic and no amount of sugar made me that way. My body just straight up stopped working. Every time that diabetes is used as a punch line or as a descriptor my heart breaks a little more. The struggle that goes into the day to day of a t1d is more than most people could handle. Just during the time I spent reading this book I've done at least 15 finger pricks/blood glucose checks, four corrections for being to high bg wise, but I also had to stop reading once to check for keytones (basically your body starts producing acid that could put you in a coma or kill you) as well as treat multiple lows with...Wait for it...Sugar.So just as a reminder, Diabetes should never be used as a descriptor of food or drink or utilized as a punch line. It's a life threatening chronic illness that has no cure. It takes so much time, energy, and money to continue living day to day. So next time you want to describe why you can't have something all the time please say you don't want to get cavities or that you want to stay healthy and fit. Because the only people that get to make jokes about diabetes, are diabetics. For me personally, and for other friends of mine in the t1d community, it's on the same level as if someone made a joke about cancer, since neither disease has a cure and many forms of it they don't know why people get it.I still would recommend this book though because of the realness to it and the wonderful story that pulled me in and even made me yell at Theo multiple times! But I just ask all people to stop using my disease as jokes and descriptions of sugar.
    more
  • Kirsti
    July 24, 2017
    When I went to drag in my bins yesterday, I spotted a package sticking up out of the mailbox. It looked like a book, but I wasn't expecting anything; I haven't done any orders for a while. Imagine my surprise to find I'd actually won this book from entering a Goodreads giveaway! I always idly click to enter, and having never won anything before, thought this would be the same. I was so excited when I read the letter!I have to add the fact this book was free didn't affect my opinion, once the exc When I went to drag in my bins yesterday, I spotted a package sticking up out of the mailbox. It looked like a book, but I wasn't expecting anything; I haven't done any orders for a while. Imagine my surprise to find I'd actually won this book from entering a Goodreads giveaway! I always idly click to enter, and having never won anything before, thought this would be the same. I was so excited when I read the letter!I have to add the fact this book was free didn't affect my opinion, once the excitement calmed down. I left my partner dozing on the lounge and got stuck right into this book, feeling disappointed when he came to bed around the 260th page and asked for the lights off. I was chewing through this with remarkable speed, even for me. I think it was because this genre isn't one I normally choose for myself, as well as the writing being funny and easy to relate to. I mean, I don't have a small dependent child, but just like Robin I sometimes struggle with what is 'adult' and how to keep your life on track. The other major positive is the characters. Robin herself of course, but Auntie Kath, Theo, the PSM group, Natalie, Lacey and of course Lyla all play their parts beautifully. Men and sex come into this story a lot, but there is a real focus on female friendship being equally important. I liked that.A really good chick lit style book that leaves you smiling. I liked it! Four stars.
    more
  • Courtney Stuart
    July 3, 2017
    Confession time. When news of Louise Pentlands book deal came out into public knowledge it was with trepidation that the book was pre-ordered and then suspicion when it came to reading the book itself. But those fears were unfounded; Pentland has actually written a good novel. One cannot help but feel however, that an awful lot of her own life story is found within the storyline of this book. It is written in the first person and if you are a fan of Pentland on YouTube, you can just hear her vo Confession time. When news of Louise Pentlands book deal came out into public knowledge it was with trepidation that the book was pre-ordered and then suspicion when it came to reading the book itself. But those fears were unfounded; Pentland has actually written a good novel. One cannot help but feel however, that an awful lot of her own life story is found within the storyline of this book. It is written in the first person and if you are a fan of Pentland on YouTube, you can just hear her voice coming through loud and clear. But it seems apparent that there is no ghost writer at work behind the scenes. Robin Wilde is a single mother of an effervescent five year old Lyla who is trying to figure out her place in life and what she wants to achieve with it. She has been badly treated by the significant other in her life and has been alone for five years. She is a make-up artist assistant working for a very successful make-up artist and finds great fulfilment on what she does. In fact, she would be pretty much all that and a bag of chips if only she had some self-confidence. She endures the dating scene that seems to encompass dating apps on the phone, lots of dick pics, broken promises, being stood up on important dates and all the general messiness that can be found when you are searching for a life partner.This story follows the life of Robin as she learns what a true relationship entails and what to look for in a man whilst she balances life with a young child and builds a career. There are plenty of funny moments and lots of “hey! I do that too” moments that make Robin incredibly easy to unite with and like. She talks of the pressures of fitting in, mummy-guilt, the restrictions of being a single mother and the loneliness that so many mothers feel. It’s touching in places and easily relatable. Pentland has avoided the clichés of so many novels that make the heroine too glamorous or fabulous, instead making a main character who you think could be your best friend in real life. So in the end one has to ask, is this novel going to change the course of the world and the way society behaves from here on forth? Is it going to stand the test of time and be studied by students in secondary or universities in the future? No. It’s a fluffy bit of light reading that is purely for enjoyment. But there is inherently nothing wrong with that. Sometimes it’s just what the doctor ordered.
    more
  • Becca Milsom
    July 7, 2017
    I have to say that I really enjoyed this book, was very easy to get in to and I wanted to just keep reading it.however, It's not without faults and I found quite a few mistakes (more than I usually do in books) which to be suggests poor editing and rushing. Also the timeframe did feel a bit jumbled, sometimes I wasn't clear where we were or what was happening and felt a bit distant from what was going on because of all the jumps with lack of signposting.regardless, I did really enjoy it and woul I have to say that I really enjoyed this book, was very easy to get in to and I wanted to just keep reading it.however, It's not without faults and I found quite a few mistakes (more than I usually do in books) which to be suggests poor editing and rushing. Also the timeframe did feel a bit jumbled, sometimes I wasn't clear where we were or what was happening and felt a bit distant from what was going on because of all the jumps with lack of signposting.regardless, I did really enjoy it and would recommend it, it is very easy to get in to and I loved robin wilde as a character, she was marvellous!
    more
  • Hannah Ward
    June 25, 2017
    I was intrigued to meet Robin Wilde who is the main character in this story with her cute daughter Lyla Blue, a single mum who is a makeup artist and wants to change her life, some aspects I did feel sorry for her but there were some parts I just had to snigger at. I personally thought it would of been more funny but I did enjoy it. Some of the stuff Robin's daughter Lyla comes out with though is pretty cute and you would expect that from a little one, she is rather inquisitive though. 
    more
  • Sam Morrison
    July 12, 2017
    I wasn't going to buy this book because I was wary of buying another book by a YouTuber after I'd been disappointed in the past but I was curious. Was it the best book I ever read? No. Was it terrible? Also no. I found it cute and funny, if a little predictable, I did love the characters and I enjoyed the story. I liked that Robin found happiness by finding herself and finding a career that she loved and not because she found a man. If you're looking for a cute chick-lit read for a trip, or the I wasn't going to buy this book because I was wary of buying another book by a YouTuber after I'd been disappointed in the past but I was curious. Was it the best book I ever read? No. Was it terrible? Also no. I found it cute and funny, if a little predictable, I did love the characters and I enjoyed the story. I liked that Robin found happiness by finding herself and finding a career that she loved and not because she found a man. If you're looking for a cute chick-lit read for a trip, or the beach, or just to relax with at the end of the day and turn your brain off for a bit you will probably enjoy this book. I went in to it with very low expectations but can genuinely say that it was a book that deserves to be published in it's own right and wasn't something that was published simply because it had a famous name attached to it.
    more
  • Emma Streets
    July 4, 2017
    It was such a fun book and i adore robin wilde, as a fan of louise's youtube you can tell her personality just shines through.its not the best written book but i can tell it will be so relatable to so many women out there cant wait until the next installment.
    more
  • Rosie
    July 12, 2017
    I adored this and I cannot wait to see what Louise does next if this is her debut?!
  • Bex Greenhough
    July 23, 2017
    OK reading, not much happens, few errors throughout - more of a holiday read.
  • bibliophoenix
    June 25, 2017
    I was lucky enough to be given a free copy of Louise Pentland's first novel which is quite pleasing but not without some mistakes. I will have a full review on my blog in due course and will post a link here.
  • Roksana
    July 22, 2017
    This is a simply written, light summer read. The book is about a woman named Robin Wilde, who's a divorced single mum and a make up artist. She has a low self esteem, feels lonely and struggles with depression. She has many insecurities about various aspects of her life. The story is about her personal development and overcoming her insecurities.-spoilers start here-We often find Robin admiring and sometimes envying other women in her life, glorifying them and even describing them and their live This is a simply written, light summer read. The book is about a woman named Robin Wilde, who's a divorced single mum and a make up artist. She has a low self esteem, feels lonely and struggles with depression. She has many insecurities about various aspects of her life. The story is about her personal development and overcoming her insecurities.-spoilers start here-We often find Robin admiring and sometimes envying other women in her life, glorifying them and even describing them and their lives as perfect. She often puts herself down and feels overall like her life isn't anything special. There's something missing.We soon see her longing for a man, and when she meets the oh-so-perfect Theo Salazan, who's a rich and charming guy (according to her), Robin suddenly feels better and lives the perfect life. And that's the part I really hated about the book, and I was close to stopping reading.Theo wasn't anything special dialougue-wise. I didn't like him since the beginning, and I found Robin to be slightly annoying as she went crazy over this plain man.He played with Lyla for a bit and took her out to fancy dinners, and her depression is suddenly gone she's all over him? I already started hating him when he got pissy about Lyla dirtying up his car. Robin gushed over how he didn't say anything even though he was visibly annoyed, but to me it was a sign he was an asshole. It was just too early to show his asshole side just yet.Luckily the Theo craze didn't last long, although I continued to feel annoyed whenever Robin would crawl back to him during her lowest moments. Even though he clearly wasn't worth it.The book largely varied in pace. Sometimes it would drag on and there'd be plenty of long, unnecessary descriptions of outfits and such. Other times the pace would be perfect and I'd be really into the story. But a distracting thing for me was how strangely some of the chapters were cut?For example, when one of the chapters ended on Robin downloading and using a dating app, we didn't hear anything about it until maybe 2 chapters later. Another example is at the end of the book when Natalie gives Robin a call, but we don't find out what it was about until a few chapters later as well. It was quite distracting to me and didn't flow that well.I also didn't really like how brands were used to name objects, instead of using their object names. For instance, instead of writing "car" it was written "BMW". "Spotify" instead of "music", "Ferrero Rocher" instead of "chocolate" etc. it's not that big of a deal, but thought I'd mention it.Another distracting thing was the fact that some parts of the book were very similar to Louise, her life and lifestyle. It was quite hard to ignore the similarities sometimes. And although I know Louise is writing about the things she knows and understands, I would love for her to come out of her comfort zone next time and write a bit more imaginary things, and putting herself through Robin into situations she's never been in, and try to understand that.I was afraid that the book would be about Robin being needy for a guy, then getting this perfect rich guy and either setting up a family with him, or getting a different amazing hot guy and setting up a family with that guy... and that would be the story. But no, we got a character who was struggling with the things I mentioned in the beginning, and we got to see her flourish and overcome them. We got to see her become more confident and comfortable in her own skin. And we witnessed that not through her getting a guy, and that becoming her whole world. We got to see Robin becoming all that by pushing herself out of her comfort zone and working hard for it. We got to see her become successful and brave. I don't think wanting to be with someone, feeling lonely or wishing to create a family is bad or anti-feminist. I felt lonely many times before in and wished for someone amazing to enter my life. So I could relate to Robin, especially the coming home to empty house part.Overall I think Robin is a very realistic character, and sometimes her insecurities and quirks annoyed me because I have the same ones, and I hate them about myself too. I love how in the end, she realised that's she's good enough and worth something. And that she's not all that crap as she thought she was. She was definitely a strong character and I love her lots. And anyone who says this book is anti-feminist has obviously stopped reading halfway through. Ps.I mentioned many things I didn't like about this book, but it's in hopes of Louise reading this and maybe thinking about what could be improved in the next book. Some of these things are preference-based. But maybe my thoughts would be helpful. I truly love this book and I have a feeling the next book will be even better.
    more
  • Lucy
    July 25, 2017
    Overall this book is an accurate representation of motherhood and shows not only the pros but also the struggle of being a single mum. This book I recommend to women of all ages, but especially mums. I don't have kids, so perhaps I couldn't fully understand these struggles until I am a mum but I could still empathize with them and appreciate how hard it is. This book will give you many a laugh and make you feel like Lyla is your daughter too, a glorious bundle of joy who often drops her foot in Overall this book is an accurate representation of motherhood and shows not only the pros but also the struggle of being a single mum. This book I recommend to women of all ages, but especially mums. I don't have kids, so perhaps I couldn't fully understand these struggles until I am a mum but I could still empathize with them and appreciate how hard it is. This book will give you many a laugh and make you feel like Lyla is your daughter too, a glorious bundle of joy who often drops her foot in it, but so do all kids.This book, whilst real and hilarious, I feel wasn't quite as fluid as I expect books to be. Often times, it felt like I had read chapters before as often the descriptions were similar. Also, I feel that without knowing, a reader could already work out that this was Pentland's first book. Don't get me wrong, I loved the whole career aspect and the way she worked out when she was happiest, but at the same time it felt repetitive. Also I think because I am a viewer ( and lover) of her channel, I couldn't shake the image of Robin and Lyla being Louise and Darcy no matter how hard I tried. Also Auntie Kath I saw as being Auntie Judith and I think it was almost autobiographical with some fictional scenes. However, Louise does a FANTASTIC job at making the language of characters different. Often authors characters all sound like the same person as it's being written by one person, but Louise did amazingly at making sure the voices sounded different.I can appreciate the work that went into this book also. Louise has so many things going for her to be proud of; YouTube Channel, a sprinkle of glitter book, clothing collection with SimplyBe, LouiseLive and now Wilde Like Me. Not only this but she also has raised a wonderful little girl so gracefully - although I don't know her- but it's something she does daily. She is to be praised for doing such a good job and putting her soul into everything she does.Also to end I would like to talk about the End. I think Louise did a good job at leaving the book so there's more to Robin's story and this was just one year of her life. There is more I want to know which I hope to be ready for in book 2. I loved the empowering conclusion we had from Robin that her career is what kept her going, not a man. I loved the lessons she learnt about not being self absorbed by also allowing yourself to have fun and enjoy yourself when you can. Also to appreciate those around her. Love, love LOVE the way this book made me feel. Cheers to Robin Wilde - but more so Louise Pentland.
    more
  • Becky
    July 22, 2017
    Just finished this last night and feel a little bit... underwhelmed? I did quite like the feeling of familiarity, but unfortunately, this seemed to be a flaw in some ways. After watching Louise for the last 5 years I can see how much of herself she's poured into the book. Many, many bits of it had me thinking about specific, more personal vlogs and while reading, it was hard not to have my mind drift and make connections to events she's shared from her own life and link certain characters to her Just finished this last night and feel a little bit... underwhelmed? I did quite like the feeling of familiarity, but unfortunately, this seemed to be a flaw in some ways. After watching Louise for the last 5 years I can see how much of herself she's poured into the book. Many, many bits of it had me thinking about specific, more personal vlogs and while reading, it was hard not to have my mind drift and make connections to events she's shared from her own life and link certain characters to her own friends and family that she features in her videos. For me, it was difficult to separate the character, Robin, from the author. The voice in my head while reading was Louise's. It was too hard not to when I'd flick a page and see "good egg", haha. The only difference in my mind is that Robin has different coloured hair and isn't plus sized. Aside from that, I struggled to shake the autobiographical feeling. The book was written in around 6 months, which is apparently very speedy and is reflected in the mistakes that myself and others have found. Considering the negative opinions around "Youtuber Books" I'd have thought there'd be more attention to detail. Certain events in the book weren't given enough exploration and lacked the desired depth. Bits that I feel should've contained more emotion barely had any and I was left wanting more.Overall though, from a feminist perspective, it's an uplifting read and I found myself enjoying the female empowerment that was sprinkled into the pages. If you're a fan of Lousie, I'm sure you'll enjoy Wilde Like Me, even a smidge. Louise's humour translates well and I even expressed an audible giggle at one point. Relatable and light hearted, the read for when you don't want anything too full on.
    more
  • Catherine Furfaro
    July 21, 2017
    Originally published on my blog: Witch Plus CatDNF @ 138 pagesI couldn’t finish this book; I was liking how I could relate with being a mum just like the main character, Robin Wilde, but anything after that I just couldn’t stand reading anymore.At first, I felt sorry for Robin Wilde, her life has become lonely, being a single mum and trying to be the best she can. But after a while (this might sound mean), I didn’t care anymore. I don’t care how every woman you know, you happen to look up to, ho Originally published on my blog: Witch Plus CatDNF @ 138 pagesI couldn’t finish this book; I was liking how I could relate with being a mum just like the main character, Robin Wilde, but anything after that I just couldn’t stand reading anymore.At first, I felt sorry for Robin Wilde, her life has become lonely, being a single mum and trying to be the best she can. But after a while (this might sound mean), I didn’t care anymore. I don’t care how every woman you know, you happen to look up to, how perfect they are and yours is the complete opposite. Stop feeling sorry for yourself, and stop assuming that everyone has a perfect life.It was become petty, and I started to think petty thoughts.I know the author is best known as a YouTuber, but I rather not hear it brought up over and over again, I get it already.Whoever edited or proof-read this book should be fired. Everything was jumping from one thought to the next, it didn’t flow nicely.Saying all that, I might pick this book up again, and listen to myself before I started this book; don’t think of who the author is and just appreciate the book on its own.
    more
  • Katherine
    July 22, 2017
    Having seen and read some of Louise's blog and YouTube channel, I saw this book and was intrigued by its pretty and unusual front cover. This book was really fun - with lots of motivation and uplifting moments. It shows what raising a child as a single mother is like and all the complications that come with it. Robin is fierce, determined, yet very obviously human and emotional just like the rest of us, making her character very true to life. Lyla (her daughter) is adorable and comes out with ma Having seen and read some of Louise's blog and YouTube channel, I saw this book and was intrigued by its pretty and unusual front cover. This book was really fun - with lots of motivation and uplifting moments. It shows what raising a child as a single mother is like and all the complications that come with it. Robin is fierce, determined, yet very obviously human and emotional just like the rest of us, making her character very true to life. Lyla (her daughter) is adorable and comes out with many things that sell her as a small child too, because the book must be in part written from experience. The plot was good, some twists and turns that I definitely had not expected, and exciting. I never really knew what was going to happen next. The humour was brilliant, and in many cases highly relatable (I am not a parent, but some of the scenes about the PSMs - Posh School Mums - brought back memories for me too!) I found the ending slightly confusing, as a cliffhanger/preview scene from right at the front of the book (before chapter 1) was never really explained - i.e could have had different meanings.Other than that, I really enjoyed the book and would be very interested to read more about Robin or just more from Louise.
    more
  • Megan Prior
    July 19, 2017
    Despite skeptisicm surrounding so called 'youtuber books', I'd say it's a disservice to yourself to avoid this book because you think you'd have to be a previous fan of the author to enjoy it. This is a lovely summer read, accessible for Louise's fans and those outside the youtube sphere. The protagonist, Robin Wilde, is immediately endearing and empathetic. She shares all, the good, the bad, and the embarassing ('mummy's special haircut'). She feels real, and her acceptance of herself and her l Despite skeptisicm surrounding so called 'youtuber books', I'd say it's a disservice to yourself to avoid this book because you think you'd have to be a previous fan of the author to enjoy it. This is a lovely summer read, accessible for Louise's fans and those outside the youtube sphere. The protagonist, Robin Wilde, is immediately endearing and empathetic. She shares all, the good, the bad, and the embarassing ('mummy's special haircut'). She feels real, and her acceptance of herself and her life (and the times where she struggles to) is both uplifting to the reader and a comfort. We see her come to the realisation that others have their own narratives and stories- though sometimes these can coincidentally serve to benefit Robin and drive the plot in a slightly 'deus ex machina' type of way. However, this is only once and understandable in crafting a story. Overall, I believe that this is a comforting and fun read, that is made all the more impressive by being the author's first novel. It is warm, and definitely from the heart.
    more
  • Laura
    July 7, 2017
    This book was beautifully empowering. First of all, the beginning was great. I was automatically hooked & needing to read more, which I think is SO important! Wilde Like Me can be added to the 'okay just gonna read a chapter before bed... just one more... okay fine I'll read one more then stop' list haha. I couldn't for the life of me detach my arms from the pages. One thing I really love about Louise (SprinkleOfGlitter) is her humour. And I'm so glad that Louise (Author) could add that to h This book was beautifully empowering. First of all, the beginning was great. I was automatically hooked & needing to read more, which I think is SO important! Wilde Like Me can be added to the 'okay just gonna read a chapter before bed... just one more... okay fine I'll read one more then stop' list haha. I couldn't for the life of me detach my arms from the pages. One thing I really love about Louise (SprinkleOfGlitter) is her humour. And I'm so glad that Louise (Author) could add that to her novel, because it made it that much more relatable and enticing! I died laughing at the whole 'pink snake' situation with her daughter Lyla. Which leads me to another essence of Robins story that I adored. Lyla. Even though the book is about Robin, I loved getting to see the innocence of Lyla. Her inappropriate tales, and actions brought a special light to the book! Overall, I'd consider this book as a powerful, beautiful and sensational piece of work that deserves all the recognition it receives! Fabulous!!
    more
  • Rosie
    July 14, 2017
    So I bought this book as I love Louise, no other reason. I didn't hate it but I did have a few problems - mainly the amount of brackets and exclamation marks made it feel chunky to read. I also don't think there was enough character description. I couldn't picture robin as anything but Louise and I think although she wanted to write a book about being a single mum she should have created more separation to make the reader really picture something that wasn't her. I also wanted the domestic viole So I bought this book as I love Louise, no other reason. I didn't hate it but I did have a few problems - mainly the amount of brackets and exclamation marks made it feel chunky to read. I also don't think there was enough character description. I couldn't picture robin as anything but Louise and I think although she wanted to write a book about being a single mum she should have created more separation to make the reader really picture something that wasn't her. I also wanted the domestic violence story that happened in New York to have more depth - why start something to just have it end like that?! However I did enjoy it. It was easy to read and I did find myself invested in Robin's story and it was genuinely funny in parts. I'm not a mother, but I think if I was I'd relate to the honesty about parenting and I thought the empowering message about working mothers is a good overriding theme. I'll definitely read the second book but hope it reads less like a fan fiction - please Louise lose the exclamation marks and brackets.
    more
  • Ross Duffy
    July 2, 2017
    This was a great read! Louise really developed her characters well and also the plot was fantastic. I love all the characters and love the story as a whole. I need more Robin Wilde!
  • Laura Clarke
    July 8, 2017
    Eagerly anticipated this debut novel by Louise Pentland after enjoying her YouTube channel. The book reads as though Louise is telling you the story herself. Her use of zeitgeist language places this novel very much int he here and now. It was easy to read and keep up with plot. It had me guessing a few times and left me wanting more when I finished it. I was sad that it was over and hope there is a book two on the horizon. I feel Louise may have played it safe with this first book and can imagi Eagerly anticipated this debut novel by Louise Pentland after enjoying her YouTube channel. The book reads as though Louise is telling you the story herself. Her use of zeitgeist language places this novel very much int he here and now. It was easy to read and keep up with plot. It had me guessing a few times and left me wanting more when I finished it. I was sad that it was over and hope there is a book two on the horizon. I feel Louise may have played it safe with this first book and can imagine her further books might delve a bit deeper - because I think she can go deep and be a bit more raw - there were glimpses. Robin is likeable and relatable even when you are not a Mum, but of the same age as her (as I am). This gives a refreshing look at life as a 30 something woman on the dating scene and that was a treat to read and have a few 'ah, it's not just me!' moments. I would recommend this book to any female in her 30s.
    more
  • Scarlett
    July 20, 2017
    I have been a fan of Louise Pentlands YouTube channel for a few years and when I heard she was releasing a book I was dying to read it. Fair to say, Wilde Like Me didn't disappoint. It is a feel good book, giving readers a positive outlook on life and how to deal with 'The Emptiness'. The characters are relatable, Robin a single parent dealing with the everyday struggles of parenting, employment, travelling, dating and feeling a little low. I loved the plot as it is based on reality and everyday I have been a fan of Louise Pentlands YouTube channel for a few years and when I heard she was releasing a book I was dying to read it. Fair to say, Wilde Like Me didn't disappoint. It is a feel good book, giving readers a positive outlook on life and how to deal with 'The Emptiness'. The characters are relatable, Robin a single parent dealing with the everyday struggles of parenting, employment, travelling, dating and feeling a little low. I loved the plot as it is based on reality and everyday life, making it feel like I was chatting to a friend about their life rather than reading a novel. The book is filled with little pockets of comedy which will make you laugh out loud! I definitely will be recommending this book to my friends and family, I've passed it on to my mum actually! I'm super excited to read the second one, which she will soon be writing. A great book written by a great author.
    more
  • Kara
    July 9, 2017
    I always struggle to finish a whole book without forgetting about it or losing interest so it was lovely to read a book from start to finish! The book is structured in chapters and parts with the month given so you know where in the year it is and you can follow Robin's journey throught a year which is really nice as she changes but you can still tell it is Robin. I loved reading about Robin and Lyla's relationship and how Robin will do whatever it takes to make Lyla happy. Robin seeks approval I always struggle to finish a whole book without forgetting about it or losing interest so it was lovely to read a book from start to finish! The book is structured in chapters and parts with the month given so you know where in the year it is and you can follow Robin's journey throught a year which is really nice as she changes but you can still tell it is Robin. I loved reading about Robin and Lyla's relationship and how Robin will do whatever it takes to make Lyla happy. Robin seeks approval from many people at the start and it is sad to read about this but it was nice to see her get stronger as a person on her own without the help of a boyfriend. I liked reading about Robin's career and how she works really hard to impress her boss which pays off. Overall the book flows very well and it is an exciting read with twists and turns and trips abroad!
    more
  • Breanne Chambers
    July 11, 2017
    I was a little skeptical when I started; books that chronicle everyday life aren’t usually my cup of tea. The typical outline of books like these are that the main character, usually devoid of adventure or mystery in their life, falls in love with someone who seemingly is the answer to all their problems, encounters complications that result in not being able to be with said problem solver, and ends with a predictable and timely turn of events which leads to the lovely couple living happily ever I was a little skeptical when I started; books that chronicle everyday life aren’t usually my cup of tea. The typical outline of books like these are that the main character, usually devoid of adventure or mystery in their life, falls in love with someone who seemingly is the answer to all their problems, encounters complications that result in not being able to be with said problem solver, and ends with a predictable and timely turn of events which leads to the lovely couple living happily ever after. Or they don’t, in which case once the reader finishes the book, they spend the rest of the day ugly crying into an empty box of Double-Stuffed Oreos. It’s exhausting. But this book is different. Rather than following the conventional formula of what I like to call “daily dish” writing, Pentland writes with honesty on a range of topics that span from love and motherhood, to loss and divorce. I found that rather than being an emotional rollercoaster that leaves the reader feeling like they need a vacation to unwind, Wilde Like Me is more like a warm blanket on a rainy day. You can read the rest of my review of Wilde Like Me and other books on my blog, http://thecrowdedbookshelf.com/ if you like! Please feel free to leave a comment about what you thought about the book!
    more
  • Amber Love
    July 8, 2017
    If you haven't read this yet, do, because you're missing out greatly!I literally read the majority of this book in one sitting because I was so immersed in Robin and Lyla and basically the whole story! Robin is a single mother who has been through a lot, and is continuously doubting herself as a mother but also a person. Through some terrible dates and some fantastic job opportunities Robin is able to break through her doubts and become the person and the mother that she always was deep down bef If you haven't read this yet, do, because you're missing out greatly!I literally read the majority of this book in one sitting because I was so immersed in Robin and Lyla and basically the whole story! Robin is a single mother who has been through a lot, and is continuously doubting herself as a mother but also a person. Through some terrible dates and some fantastic job opportunities Robin is able to break through her doubts and become the person and the mother that she always was deep down before everything happened to bury her. Supported by her aunt, her best friends and some new friends, Robin and Lyla's journey is a funny, sometimes sad, but also very relatable. The cover work is stunning. If you couldn't guess, I love this book. Louise Pentland, wrote an amazing novel and I'll probably read anything else she ever writes again!
    more
  • Alice (most ardently alice)
    July 2, 2017
    Review originally posted here: https://ardentlyalice.wordpress.com/2...Robin Wilde is many things. She is a single mother of one (her five-year-old Lyla Blue), a talented Make-Up Artist Assistant, a beautifully independent, intelligent woman, a cracking friend and, like most of us, a little bit lost and a little bit lonely. Her journey navigating the Posh School Mum's is done with hilarious flair and the tender topics of The Emptiness are done with such a careful, insightful touch that offers up Review originally posted here: https://ardentlyalice.wordpress.com/2...Robin Wilde is many things. She is a single mother of one (her five-year-old Lyla Blue), a talented Make-Up Artist Assistant, a beautifully independent, intelligent woman, a cracking friend and, like most of us, a little bit lost and a little bit lonely. Her journey navigating the Posh School Mum's is done with hilarious flair and the tender topics of The Emptiness are done with such a careful, insightful touch that offers up such a key perspective you or someone in your life will have experienced.I really loved this book and the character of Robin Wilde. It was a light-hearted, cosy read, but it really hit with some core themes that I would love Louise to explore more in the sequel/rest of the series. As a stand alone, it's funny, heartwarming writing and, whilst not perfect, really focuses in on the struggles of single parenting. There are sad, low moments for Robin, but it also really highlights the empowerment that can be found in kicking arse and being a team of just you and your child — separation doesn't have to be synonymous with 'failure' or 'broken home' as long as there's still a lot of love in the important places.There's been a lot of discussion, and perhaps criticism, around Louise doing a self insert with Robin Wilde, but I think it's simply a case of writing what you know. Some authors create abstract worlds with layers upon layers, and some are a little more stripped back than that. Yes, Louise is/has been a single mother and I'm sure experienced much of the hardships Robin deals with in the book, but that doesn't take away from how great this book is in terms of representing those real life arcs in people's lives. I've read a lot of women's fiction of women not knowing what to do with their lives, or, on the flip side, having meet-cutes straight out of a Nicholas Spark movie, and I think give credit where credit is due for something with a little more grit. 'Wilde Like Me' has real raw moments, wrapped up in quick wit writing.
    more
  • Aaron Griffiths
    July 12, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoyed this book as a whole. I found myself connecting with the characters quickly and easily and whilst reading I got a good understanding of each one and what they were going through. From the start of the book, I automatically disliked the character of Theo and gained the impression that he was a bit "Shady" from his first entrance, and I was absolutely right.I felt as if certain details in the book were brushed over and left me feeling as if I wanted to read more about certain I thoroughly enjoyed this book as a whole. I found myself connecting with the characters quickly and easily and whilst reading I got a good understanding of each one and what they were going through. From the start of the book, I automatically disliked the character of Theo and gained the impression that he was a bit "Shady" from his first entrance, and I was absolutely right.I felt as if certain details in the book were brushed over and left me feeling as if I wanted to read more about certain characters and their back story a bit more. However, this could be explained further in any potential sequels Louise might write in the future. Overall, I found myself not being able to put this book down once I had picked it up, and I read the majority of it in one sitting. Well Done Louise!
    more
  • Stephanie Ince
    July 12, 2017
    I can't tell you how much I loved this book! It was my holiday read and therefore if I was at home I probably would have read it a bit quicker as all I wanted to do was keep reading. I bought Zoella's book and couldn't even finish it and thought this would be the same but after reading several reviews and seeing It was aimed towards more of the older generation I thought I would give it a go and I'm so glad that I did. This book follows the life of Robin Wilde - she is a single mummy facing toug I can't tell you how much I loved this book! It was my holiday read and therefore if I was at home I probably would have read it a bit quicker as all I wanted to do was keep reading. I bought Zoella's book and couldn't even finish it and thought this would be the same but after reading several reviews and seeing It was aimed towards more of the older generation I thought I would give it a go and I'm so glad that I did. This book follows the life of Robin Wilde - she is a single mummy facing tough challenges but obviously done in a way with slight humour. I loved Robin Wilde more and more throughout the book, and loved how she learned to love herself and realise that she could get through life's bumps. I would definitely recommend this book to young adults/adults.
    more
  • Joanne Gaylor
    June 27, 2017
    I enjoyed this book and its positive message about finding your own strength. It's about a single mother, Robin Wilde, who has a 6 year old daughter, Lyla, and works part-time as a make-up artist. She experiences what she calls The Emptiness, a kind of grey cloud she can't escape from which makes it difficult for her to make new friends or be motivated. She is lonely and wishes she was in a relationship. We follow Robin through the year where she decides to make changes in her life. There are s I enjoyed this book and its positive message about finding your own strength. It's about a single mother, Robin Wilde, who has a 6 year old daughter, Lyla, and works part-time as a make-up artist. She experiences what she calls The Emptiness, a kind of grey cloud she can't escape from which makes it difficult for her to make new friends or be motivated. She is lonely and wishes she was in a relationship. We follow Robin through the year where she decides to make changes in her life. There are some great characters, each with their own story - her best friend, desperately hoping for a baby and her beloved aunt, coping after the death of her husband. There is a lot of humour as well as she deals with the yummy mummies at the school gate. With many exciting opportunities for Robin you can't help rooting for her as she finds that self-belief makes all the difference.
    more
Write a review