Girl Last Seen
Two missing girls. Thirteen years apart.Olivia Shaw has been missing since last Tuesday. She was last seen outside the entrance of her elementary school in Hunts Point wearing a white spring jacket, blue jeans, and pink boots.I force myself to look at the face in the photo, into her slightly smudged features, and I can't bring myself to move. Olivia Shaw could be my mirror image, rewound to thirteen years ago.If you have any knowledge of Olivia Shaw's whereabouts or any relevant information, please contact...I've spent a long time peering into the faces of girls on missing posters, wondering which one replaced me in that basement. But they were never quite the right age, the right look, the right circumstances. Until Olivia Shaw, missing for one week tomorrow.Whoever stole me was never found. But since I was taken, there hasn't been another girl.And now there is.

Girl Last Seen Details

TitleGirl Last Seen
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherGrand Central Publishing
ISBN145556902X
ISBN-139781455569021
Number of pages352 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Contemporary

Girl Last Seen Review

  • Kristin (KC)
    March 2, 2017
    *3.5 Stars*Girl Last Seen offers everything I look for in a thriller: mystery, suspense, an untrustworthy cast of characters, a twisty “whodunnit” plot, not to mention that eerily beautiful cover—and yet the way it was all sort of haphazardly pulled together left me slightly underwhelmed. But why not start with the positive: The characters were gritty and uncensored—in fact, so were the elements of the plot—and I love that. If you’re going to create a lost and abused, pill-popping, drug addicted *3.5 Stars*Girl Last Seen offers everything I look for in a thriller: mystery, suspense, an untrustworthy cast of characters, a twisty “whodunnit” plot, not to mention that eerily beautiful cover—and yet the way it was all sort of haphazardly pulled together left me slightly underwhelmed. But why not start with the positive: The characters were gritty and uncensored—in fact, so were the elements of the plot—and I love that. If you’re going to create a lost and abused, pill-popping, drug addicted female protagonist, I want to be able to *feel* her desperation to my core—and I DID. I felt “icky” (Amy *Foxy’s* term, All Rights Reserved;) and uncomfortable, and deeply saddened for the tragedy our heroine endured. This author knows how to breathe life into her characters, and their hopelessness was suffocating.The suspense was thickly layered, turning almost everyone into a suspect at some point, and sparked a lingering guessing game for the reader. Without giving away any spoilers—the ending was a change from most of the thrillers I’ve been reading lately, and although it closed in a way I don’t typically prefer, I will say, in this case, I was left satisfied. The not-so-postive : As alive as this story became, I didn't find myself wondering about it much or compelled to pick it back up after I’d stopped reading, and I’m not exactly sure why. The writing style was decent, but didn't leave a huge impression, and there were some undercooked scenarios in this story that appeared to hold significance but were left to dangle as loose ends. Although the structure of the plot felt a little unpolished, I do think this book has incredible potential, and would definitely recommend to those looking for a thriller with an unrefined edge. *Thanks for buddy reading this one with me, Amy (Foxy)!*Complimentary ARC provided by publisher via NetGalleyPre-review: (view spoiler)[Hooray for a NetGalley approval! I don't know about you, but I can't control my cringe when I open a NetGalley email. I hold my breath...sorta sweat...and wait for them to reject me with a swift, passive-aggressive precision (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Wendy'sThoughts
    March 4, 2017
    4.5 First Time's a Charm Stars* * * * 1/2 Spoiler FreeEvery once in a while, I will step away from my Romance Addition and read something that reminds me of all the Mystery/Thrillers, Etc. I use to gobble up like M&M's. Nothing could get my heart pumping and brain working into overdrive like a book with an intricate plot for me to figure out before the author gave all of the clues away.When Kristin(KC) posted she was thrilled to have gotten Girl Last Seen by Nina Laurin from NetGalley, I ch 4.5 First Time's a Charm Stars* * * * 1/2 Spoiler FreeEvery once in a while, I will step away from my Romance Addition and read something that reminds me of all the Mystery/Thrillers, Etc. I use to gobble up like M&M's. Nothing could get my heart pumping and brain working into overdrive like a book with an intricate plot for me to figure out before the author gave all of the clues away.When Kristin(KC) posted she was thrilled to have gotten Girl Last Seen by Nina Laurin from NetGalley, I checked out the blurb and was sold. Lucky Me, I got it and dug right in.This is a first novel and I thought it was truly solid. Laurin set the situation up and I understood from the start how deeply messed up the main character was...After all, to have been kidnapped, sexually abused and have other unspeakable things done to you for 3 years...I don't know how a child taken at 10 and released at 13 could be any different. And those things that happened to her are only the tip of this Iceberg tale. 10 years later, the main character is trying to exist. She has physical scars she hides from the people around her... and the mental ones are only manageable with the help of chemical wonder pills. She has 2 jobs she barely is able to hold on to...and it is during a shift with her day job, she gets the shock she has been waiting for...You see when she was held captive, her abductor was very, very careful. He made sure she never saw his face, heard too much of his voice or saw anything that would help her lead the police to where she was held. When she was surprisingly let go and discovered by two policemen, she could barely speak or walk...And through all of the interviews, no matter how hard she tried... there was nothing she could give the police that would help in their investigation. So on this fateful day... a flyer of a missing girl needs posting at the store and it is our gal who must tape it to the window. She has done this before with others...always looking and checking to see if any of these children were like her...and none were until today...The face staring out at her has the same coloring, the same curls and is the same age as she was when she was taken...she knows deep down... the same man who hurt her, who took her... now has this child.When the policeman who found her by the side of the road all those years ago shows up at her second job and tells her about the missing girl...We know the hunt will begin...This will not be like the usual, though...Everyone is just too damaged... and it will be slugging through the ugly, confusing and out right evil to find all of the answers.I bought into this from the start. It had an overcast tone... nothing pretty or easy about it. I was able to feel EVERYTHING this woman felt... as effed up as it was....There were so many factors I will not share... for learning them at the pace of this story is the power in the reading. I did work out a few things but not all ahead of schedule and that is important... there was a lot of tension and complexity... nothing ever was what it seemed. If you like to be drawn in.... to feel others pain, to have your mind work to see if you could have all the facts lined up before you should...Then you will enjoy this book. To have it be a first novel and read so well was impressive. I will look for more from this author. ●•●•●•●•●•●•●•We all have seen the breaking news....Small child gone... disappeared...And the flyers have all of the details....But how would you deal if not that long ago...You were the one who was missing...Destroyed from the experience...And They Never Found Your Captor...Now there is another child gone...More Flyers and You cannot Turn Away From... Girl Last Seen-June 20, 2017A gifted copy was provided by Grand Central Publishing via NetGalley for an honest review.For more Reviews, Free E-books and Giveaways
    more
  • Nicki
    March 1, 2017
    Wow,Wow and Wow again,this is a totally riveting twist packed story that I would gladly give far more than five stars if I could and would happily recommend to anyone who enjoys reading a damn good thriller.Ten years ago Ella Santos escaped from the clutches of the monster who had kidnapped and abused her for three years.She has changed her name to Lainey and has tried really hard to get on with her life but the person who kidnapped her has never been caught and Lainey has always known that one Wow,Wow and Wow again,this is a totally riveting twist packed story that I would gladly give far more than five stars if I could and would happily recommend to anyone who enjoys reading a damn good thriller.Ten years ago Ella Santos escaped from the clutches of the monster who had kidnapped and abused her for three years.She has changed her name to Lainey and has tried really hard to get on with her life but the person who kidnapped her has never been caught and Lainey has always known that one day that person will strike again and now it's looks like he has.Olivia Shaw has disappeared from outside the entrance to her school,the right look,the right age,the right circumstances and she could be a mirror image of Lainey thirteen years ago.Lainey just wants to get on with her life but sometimes you can't move on until you confront events from your past.This gripping thriller is voiced by Lainey who understandably after everything that she has been through is a emotional wreck.She is a drug addict who has a short temper but deep down inside she is just a lost little girl who just wants to be loved.She didn't have a very nice life before she was kidnapped and it didn't get any easier after she escaped,I just hope real kidnap victims are not treated the same way that she was treated throughout the book.The characters are well developed,realistic and totally untrustworthy,the story is fast paced,packed full of twists and you have no idea what has happened to Olivia until the very last chapter.This is a very well written debut thriller that had me hooked from the gripping prologue right to the very last word and I look forward to reading more books by this author in the future.Many thanks to Grand central publishing for a arc of this book via Netgalley in exchange for a honest review
    more
  • Amy (Foxy)
    March 3, 2017
    "Normal is something you can fake really well if you try hard enough. You have to start by convincing yourself, and everyone else will follow, like sheep over a cliff."There’s nothing normal about this story. The main character, Lainey, is an unreliable narrator. At times I wondered if she was giving us the whole truth about situations or if we were being manipulated into thinking a certain way. Lainey was taken at the age of 10 and held captive for 3 years. The story begins 10 years after she w "Normal is something you can fake really well if you try hard enough. You have to start by convincing yourself, and everyone else will follow, like sheep over a cliff."There’s nothing normal about this story. The main character, Lainey, is an unreliable narrator. At times I wondered if she was giving us the whole truth about situations or if we were being manipulated into thinking a certain way. Lainey was taken at the age of 10 and held captive for 3 years. The story begins 10 years after she was discovered and released. As a 23-year-old she’s been scouring the missing person's boards to see if any other girls are ever taken and for 10 years none have been taken. But now a 10-year-old girl is missing who meets Lainey’s captor's criteria. Immediately, Lainey is certain her captor has struck again and she’s determined to bring him down. Her captor was never found and she’s not going to let him ruin another girl’s life. “My life ended in that basement. It’s just that my body forgot to die for some reason. And I’m walking around, a body without a soul, waiting for someone to come along and pull the plug on me.”Lainey is a broken girl/woman. She’s hiding in plain sight and yet her world is clouded. Her coping mechanisms have led her on a path of drugs. She’s made some poor life choices but who can blame her after the horrific childhood she’s endured. The empowerment Lainey comes to as she tries to track down this monster and free this missing girl will have the reader journeying down the rabbit hole with her. Lainey is a frustrating character because one minute the reader will be rooting for her to make a smart move and the next the reader will want to lock her up in a psych ward so she can’t continue to harm herself. At times Lainey seemed to be a pawn in this situation. At every turn, she was either being manipulated and/or coerced into action. The whole plot twist and turns at every bend in the story. Some of my favorite parts were reading the conspiracy chat boards Lainey frequents. The users had some interesting conspiracies on what was happening with this missing girl case. And at times I felt like how this user expressed: ”Mike6669: Holy shit. This case is starting to seriously give me the heebie-jeebies.”For my romance friends, this book has zero romance in it. I repeat there’s no romance in this book. If you’re looking for a book to clean your palette I’d recommend reading this thriller. It has many plot twist that will have you flipping pages to figure out what’s on the horizon. Thank you for the buddy read, Kristin! It’s been awhile since we’ve done one … actually, it’s been too long. Girl Last Seen is a standalone thriller that takes place in Seattle, Washington. ✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦✦RELEASE DATE: June 20, 2017 Pre-order | order: http://amzn.to/2mPaKSsSTANDALONE**Complimentary copy in exchange for an honest review.** Follow Foxy Blogs at: Blog ♥ Twitter ♥ Instagram ♥ Facebook
    more
  • Carrie
    May 24, 2017
    Ten years ago a young girl, Ella Santos, escaped her captor and was rescued after being held hostage for three long years. Now Ella has grown up and changed her name to Lainey. Lainey works two jobs and struggles daily with the mental and physical scars her time in captivity left her with. One day they Lainey's worst fear comes to pass when she sees the picture of a missing girl, one that looks exactly like her ten year old self had. Lainey had wondered and watched all these years for her captor Ten years ago a young girl, Ella Santos, escaped her captor and was rescued after being held hostage for three long years. Now Ella has grown up and changed her name to Lainey. Lainey works two jobs and struggles daily with the mental and physical scars her time in captivity left her with. One day they Lainey's worst fear comes to pass when she sees the picture of a missing girl, one that looks exactly like her ten year old self had. Lainey had wondered and watched all these years for her captor to replace her in her basement prison knowing that psychopaths like that rarely stop until caught. Her memories of that time never helped catch her captor though and now Lainey fears that he has struck again and this time that little girl may just be Lainey's daughter. When starting off reading Girl Last Seen I was really thinking I was going to love this book. The author's writing and the story did have me rather engaged in the beginning of the book however somewhere along the line it went a bit downhill leaving me to rate this one at 2.5 stars. To start with I really never did care for Lainey/Ella as a character. She's a broken soul after what happened to her that has had a rough life so I really wanted to feel for her but the drinking and pill popping along with some questionable moves just rubbed me the wrong way I suppose. Then I would add that there are things within the story that never quite sit well with me along the way plus when getting to the final wrap up I just didn't see that working in my mind. Perhaps it's just me having read several really good thrillers and being a bit too critical but unfortunately this one seemed a bit flawed in the end. I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress....
    more
  • Liz Barnsley
    March 5, 2017
    Right so stand by for a really subjective review of this book its mostly personal perhaps due to over saturation. SO first of all the rating I give this book in actuality is 2.5* and that is all because the writer has skill. Talented prose building, for anyone new to psychological thrillers (or for those who just love them for whatever reason) a definitely intriguing and page turning story and Nina Laurin has a great eye for characters. But I'm bored of the same old excuses and reasons to move t Right so stand by for a really subjective review of this book its mostly personal perhaps due to over saturation. SO first of all the rating I give this book in actuality is 2.5* and that is all because the writer has skill. Talented prose building, for anyone new to psychological thrillers (or for those who just love them for whatever reason) a definitely intriguing and page turning story and Nina Laurin has a great eye for characters. But I'm bored of the same old excuses and reasons to move the plot along. Or rather to hold off on allowing anything to be solved until the finale. Our main protagonist is once again a pill pushing loner with poor judgement skills due to a childhood trauma. And her mobile phone keeps dying. Every time her "thoughts slipped away from her" or she couldn't think straight or something happened and she immediately drank or did something stupid I wanted to stab this book with a fork. Whenever (and it happened more than once but she didn't learn) she had no battery in her phone I wanted to stab the book with the knife as well as the fork. I was stabby I tell you. And it took me away from the (honestly really fascinating) original premise. That of 2 girls years apart who may or may not be connected to one monster. I know that "victims" often grow up to have problems but it seems to be such a well worn plot device that you begin to feel that nobody who suffered a trauma ever went on to be a well adjusted member of society who actually could cope in any practical or realistic fashion when life threw them another curve ball. And we all know that's not true. Plenty do. There is no right and wrong. I understand that maybe that's not so interesting to write about I'm sure it could at least be attempted - but every book like this I've read since the girl phenomenon started, it feels like the main character is either too doped up to have any common sense or has turned themselves into a kick ass ninja killer type. There are no levels anymore. No nuances. Now of course NONE of this is the fault of this particular author who writes extremely well and is just after all telling the story she wants to tell. So I feel I should be sorry that this one annoyed me but I'm afraid it did. And I have to be honest therefore when reviewing it.The good news? It has a small level of unpredictability and a certain amount of redemption for Lainey and a really good thrilling ending to it. The writing flow is lovely and if I hadn't spent a lot of the read randomly growling at the bits of cliche I reckon it would have been a much higher rating from me. If you love psychological thrillers go for your life - Girl Last Seen has all the elements you need for a good one, the writing is taut and atmospheric, if this was the first of this type of novel I'd read I doubt I'd be complaining at all.I'll certainly read the next novel from this author.This one? Probably wrong read wrong time. But sometimes that's how it goes.
    more
  • David
    April 9, 2017
    A great debut thriller from Nina Laurin! Don't miss it!!
  • Charisma
    March 18, 2017
    "In the books and movies, the broken girl always dies at the end. Sometimes she's allowed one final heroic act, one last snarky line before she goes out. Maybe she sacrifices herself to save the real hero, or maybe her death is just a meaningless accident, an afterthought. But she always dies, because she's too tarnished to live."My first ARC! *sparkle*What makes Girl Last Seen unique in the slew of Girl books is that it's as much a character study as it is a suspense. It's the "psychological" i "In the books and movies, the broken girl always dies at the end. Sometimes she's allowed one final heroic act, one last snarky line before she goes out. Maybe she sacrifices herself to save the real hero, or maybe her death is just a meaningless accident, an afterthought. But she always dies, because she's too tarnished to live."My first ARC! *sparkle*What makes Girl Last Seen unique in the slew of Girl books is that it's as much a character study as it is a suspense. It's the "psychological" in psychological thriller (especially since, just like the Girl title, the label is slapped on everything from horror to romance these days). It has the twists and turns, a few juicy reveals, the explosive ending you expect of a suspense, but its greatest strength IMHO is the main character, Laine. She's had a rough life from the start, and as she's dragged into the investigation into Olivia's disappearance, it only goes from bad to worse for her. Like a couple of other reviews here said, I felt EVERYTHING she was feeling, to the point where it took me past my comfort zone. I'm not the world's fastest reader, but I finished the book in a couple of nights, because I HAD to know that Laine makes it out alive and that Olivia is brought back safely. **Thanks to the author for providing a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Kyle Robertson
    March 1, 2017
    The description for this book is chilling. This is a dark psychological thriller with plenty of suspense, and I believe this will be one of the most talked about books this year. Nina Laurin has an excellent writing style and descriptive imagery that grabs you from the prologue and never lets go. She taps into the main characters thoughts and shares them as an internal narration throughout the book. The character development is extensive and very well done. I believe this is Laurin's debut thril The description for this book is chilling. This is a dark psychological thriller with plenty of suspense, and I believe this will be one of the most talked about books this year. Nina Laurin has an excellent writing style and descriptive imagery that grabs you from the prologue and never lets go. She taps into the main characters thoughts and shares them as an internal narration throughout the book. The character development is extensive and very well done. I believe this is Laurin's debut thriller, and I look forward to more reading more novels from her. The first big plot twist that I didn't see coming comes about 10% into the book. Definitely an "oh boy" moment. As the book progresses, Lainey (Laine) gets pulled deep into the investigation of the current abduction. The detective on the current case was involved in Laine's abduction a decade before. She is naturally apprehensive about getting involved in the new case, and the detective also voices his concerns against it. Laurin does an excellent job portraying Laine's internal struggles with her past, and her many coping mechanisms to deal with her past and the present situation. A series of plot twists ensue that will keep you guessing, because nothing is as it seems. Laine scrambles to keep up and desperately tries to stay in front of the dangers around every corner. She soon comes to the startling realization that she's all alone again, and her desperation and determination intensifies. Before long her past and present worlds collide and crash down around her, and she must scramble to figure out a way to resolve things before it's too late. The conclusion is shocking and explosive. I hope this book will be adapted into a movie, but of course there is no way the movie could match the caliber of the novel. I would recommend this book to fans of suspense and psychological thrillers. I received this as a free ARC from Grand Central Publishing on NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Corinne
    April 8, 2017
    4.5 Very strong debut, reminded me a little bit of SHARP OBJECTS so if that's your thing, I highly recommend it. Laurin is good at making you care about difficult people--every time I was ready to hate Lainey, something was revealed about her that made me root for her again. I figured out the culprit halfway through, but there's still a nice twist or four down the road.
    more
  • Melissa
    March 27, 2017
    https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...Laurin's book is disturbing and suspenseful. It is fast paced, yet the reader is able to enjoyably watch things unfold. The ultimate resolution is a bit muddled, but provides a great twisty ending that will satisfy. Ella/Laine isn't written as a very sympathetic character, but the reader can't help but have some sympathy that she is the result of the terrifying things that have happened to her. Her reactions are very realistic for her situation, and add si https://www.rtbookreviews.com/book-re...Laurin's book is disturbing and suspenseful. It is fast paced, yet the reader is able to enjoyably watch things unfold. The ultimate resolution is a bit muddled, but provides a great twisty ending that will satisfy. Ella/Laine isn't written as a very sympathetic character, but the reader can't help but have some sympathy that she is the result of the terrifying things that have happened to her. Her reactions are very realistic for her situation, and add significantly to the tale.Twenty years ago, Ella Santos disappeared. She reappears years later. Now, Olivia Shaw is missing. Ella, who now goes by the name Laine, is drawn to these types of cases, but Olivia's hits too close to home — she looks almost exactly like Laine did as a child when she went missing. Laine starts to experience some frightening things, and she discovers an eerie connection to Olivia. What happened to Laine when she was a child, and can she help to find out what happened to Olivia?
    more
  • Sarah (Workaday Reads)
    May 25, 2017
    I'm not quite sure what to make of this book. It didn't quite match what I expected, but it definitely affected my mood, so points for that.Lainey's life has been tragically hard, and she's had a hard time recovering. She's full of despair and self-hate, and this comes through quite clearly. She often seems lost, and looks to pills to ease the pain. Her unhappiness is palpable in the writing, and this is the main strength of the story.The actual plot is a little convoluted, but doesn't reach min I'm not quite sure what to make of this book. It didn't quite match what I expected, but it definitely affected my mood, so points for that.Lainey's life has been tragically hard, and she's had a hard time recovering. She's full of despair and self-hate, and this comes through quite clearly. She often seems lost, and looks to pills to ease the pain. Her unhappiness is palpable in the writing, and this is the main strength of the story.The actual plot is a little convoluted, but doesn't reach mind-blown status, so ends up feeling just a tad flat. There are several cliched elements (like the ever dying cellphone battery) that feel clunky and lazy. The actual whodunit mystery was interesting, but I never really felt super concerned about knowing the result, I never got that invested in it.Overall, this was an interesting book with great character portrayal, but felt a little flat in the plot department. That makes it a hard book to rate, as I can't really decided if I loved it or disliked it.
    more
  • Rachel
    March 27, 2017
    Not sure why Goodreads hasn't added a 1/2 star option yet...Can someone get on that?? 3.5 Stars for Girl Last Seen.When Olivia Shaw goes missing, Lainey Moreno knows that she must help find her. After seeing the missing person flyer with Olivia's picture, Lainey knows the person who kidnapped her 13 years ago is the without a doubt the same person that took Olivia. Lainey will go to any length to find Olivia, after all she is a spitting image of Lainey.Quick read full of suspense and thrills. I Not sure why Goodreads hasn't added a 1/2 star option yet...Can someone get on that?? 3.5 Stars for Girl Last Seen.When Olivia Shaw goes missing, Lainey Moreno knows that she must help find her. After seeing the missing person flyer with Olivia's picture, Lainey knows the person who kidnapped her 13 years ago is the without a doubt the same person that took Olivia. Lainey will go to any length to find Olivia, after all she is a spitting image of Lainey.Quick read full of suspense and thrills. I found this book a bit slow to start, however about 1/3 of the way through it really picked up for me. There were points in the plot where I was totally on the edge of my seat (Lainey in her childhood home, all alone in the dark). Definitely keeps your interest. I didn't see the end coming either. BIG plot twist. Thanks to Netgalley and the Publishers for an e-ARC. :)
    more
  • Adriana Arrington
    April 10, 2017
    Debut author Nina Laurin has created a stunning dark and gritty thriller. Just when you think you know what's going to happen next, Laurin veers hard left and takes you down an unexpected and intriguing path. The plot is full of twists and sure to keep you turning pages late into the night.Main character Lainey is, first and foremost, a survivor. But the three years she spent suffering under the hands of a sadistic kidnapper left their mark on her, both physically and mentally. Now a young adult Debut author Nina Laurin has created a stunning dark and gritty thriller. Just when you think you know what's going to happen next, Laurin veers hard left and takes you down an unexpected and intriguing path. The plot is full of twists and sure to keep you turning pages late into the night.Main character Lainey is, first and foremost, a survivor. But the three years she spent suffering under the hands of a sadistic kidnapper left their mark on her, both physically and mentally. Now a young adult, she is appalled to learn that another young girl has gone missing...and that this girl's case bears some remarkable similarities to hers. She's enlisted to help in the hunt for the missing girl and must face hard truths about her own past that threaten to consume her.The effects of Lainey's abuse and resulting PTSD filter into every aspect of her life. She self-medicates her intense anxiety with drugs (prescription and otherwise) and keeps her distance emotionally from those around her. The author handles Lainey's mental state with deft compassion and truth. At no point do you pity Lainey, but you always empathize with her. Lainey is raw and real, and you flinch every time she makes a bad mistake while understanding exactly why she's doing it.GIRL LAST SEEN is character-drive suspense at its finest. You suspect everybody and trust nobody. Exactly what I want in a psychological thriller. Highly recommend.*I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Nancy McFarlane
    April 16, 2017
    Lainey Moreno is definitely not your typical protagonist. She is honestly not very likeable and you keep thinking that she should just get over her traumatic past and get on with her life. However, there is still some goodness left in Lainey as she decides she has to find out what happened to Olivia. A child who disappeared at the same age as Lainey was when she was kidnapped. Considering what you discover about Lainey’s past you have to wonder how she even manages to face each day – but she doe Lainey Moreno is definitely not your typical protagonist. She is honestly not very likeable and you keep thinking that she should just get over her traumatic past and get on with her life. However, there is still some goodness left in Lainey as she decides she has to find out what happened to Olivia. A child who disappeared at the same age as Lainey was when she was kidnapped. Considering what you discover about Lainey’s past you have to wonder how she even manages to face each day – but she does, and you will be outraged, saddened, surprised and heart broken by the ending.
    more
  • Laura Rash
    April 30, 2017
    Wow! What a damn good thriller! About the last 40 pages I couldn't turn them fast enough! Excellent story that grabbed me from the first chapter & left me racing to finish! Honestly hard to believe this is a debut! Thanks to the author and Grand Central publishing for this early copy in exchange for review.
    more
  • Sue Fernandez
    March 6, 2017
    Thank you to NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing for an e-Arc of this title in exchange for an honest review. I was worried this book might be too dark for my taste, and it was chilling, but not dark to the point I was put off by it. I was caught up immediately, and it had surprises coming several times through the plot. I suspect this will be a best seller, and I'm glad to have had the opportunity to read it. Highly recommended if you like suspense and psychological thrillers.
    more
  • Blagica
    May 29, 2017
    A great debut thriller from Nina Laurin! Don't miss it!! Nina has a way with words that makes this book impossible to put down. I love a good thriller so this was amazing. Laurin has a way of making this a fast paced read while still giving the reader a chance to indulge and digest the information that is beautifully presented. Ella/Laine is not really a character that you can have sympathy for. Yet there are bits and pieces of a broken girl that you will find yourself dying to understand. The s A great debut thriller from Nina Laurin! Don't miss it!! Nina has a way with words that makes this book impossible to put down. I love a good thriller so this was amazing. Laurin has a way of making this a fast paced read while still giving the reader a chance to indulge and digest the information that is beautifully presented. Ella/Laine is not really a character that you can have sympathy for. Yet there are bits and pieces of a broken girl that you will find yourself dying to understand. The story is dark and twisty and you can’t help but continue to turn pages to see how it all plays out. 13 years ago, Ella disappeared without a word, daughter to a junkie no one even looked for her. Laine goes on a roller coaster ride trying to piece her past together to try and give a little girl a future. I cannot go into many details on plot without giving it away but if you are looking for a book to get lost in this is your book. Thank you to Netgalley the author and the publisher this was awesome.
    more
  • Ellen
    May 21, 2017
    I received this book "Girl Last Seen" from Netgalley for my honest review. Olivia Shaw goes missing and Lainey Moreno has this strange feeling because she was once missing also. Lainey used to be Ella and she was kidnapped when she was 10 and released when she was 13. Something seems familiar to Lainey about the missing girl Olivia. Lainey is a broken women for what has been done to her and she wants to find Olivia before the same thing happens to her. I did like the book and it was a fast read. I received this book "Girl Last Seen" from Netgalley for my honest review. Olivia Shaw goes missing and Lainey Moreno has this strange feeling because she was once missing also. Lainey used to be Ella and she was kidnapped when she was 10 and released when she was 13. Something seems familiar to Lainey about the missing girl Olivia. Lainey is a broken women for what has been done to her and she wants to find Olivia before the same thing happens to her. I did like the book and it was a fast read. There were some expected turns in the story and I did not guess who the kidnapper was.
    more
  • Paula
    May 9, 2017
    Actually 3.5 stars...wish that were an option! This is a disturbing book....but it kept me guessing right till the end. Well written dialog, quick read and a page turning thriller.
  • Sally Nimmo
    March 21, 2017
    Decent read, but if like me, you've read a ton of thrillers (ok, I'm showing my age) it's pretty run of the mill. And I found the reveal to be a big stretch. I think this writer has potential. It kept my interest, but at best I can only give this effort 2.5 stars.Thanks to NetGalley for the opportunity to read and review.
    more
  • L
    May 26, 2017
    If you like The Girl on the Train you're going to love this one! I've read many novels about missing people, but never one from this perspective. An imperfect but sympathetic heroine. A suspenseful, unpredictable plot. I couldn't put it down!
  • Meagan
    March 17, 2017
    I received this book thanks to NetGalley, but having briefly lived in Seattle, every time anything setting related was mentioned, it was odd. Like, the girl went missing in a part of town where every car entering is recorded by video cameras. Which could you know, come in handy.
    more
  • Kim Bamber
    March 6, 2017
    Thank you Netgalley and Grand Central Publishing for the ARC in exchange for an honest review. I really enjoyed this novel. The main character is so flawed you want to not like her but you know her story and empathize with her fight to be normal. I ended up caring for her and hoping she would become someone better and she does. Lots of damaged complex characters for you to love, and a great suspense story.
    more
Write a review